Reading Reviews From Member: Dark Whisper
  
420 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Flesh Memory

21st September 2014:
Wow, well, I have to say congratulations for finishing a really cute, thoughtful, and smart novel. Honestly, I think your idea of the pen pal project with people of different backgrounds in the hopes that they would get to know each other is brilliant.

I loved the couples that you put together.

I really enjoyed all of the questions and answers and thought it amazing to involve your readers and integrate them into your story.

As far as timing, well, I certainly understand that real life gets in the way constantly. But it really shows your character in perseverance and dedication to finishing this huge project to the finish line.

Congratulations!

I know that I sort of review-bombed you over this last week, but don't worry about responding. I know how much time they can take!

For this chapter, I loved how you tied it all together with his asking "the" question. It was adorable and perfect!

Anyway, again, congrats on sticking it out and leaving a great finished story on the Archive. You should be quite proud of your awesome achievement!

Bravo! Take a bow!
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Oh my gosh. You are the best. I certainly don't mind the review-bombing(love the phrasing). I've had a very stressful few weeks and this weekend was particularly bad, so it was a joy to take a break and read your reviews. So, thank you for giving me a wonderful break. I'm so glad you liked the story. It took forever and then some to finish it, but I would hate to be one of those authors, that start stories, promise they will finish them, and then never do. I've fallen in love with some stories that will never be completed. I couldn't do that, it feels like lying to my readers. Anyway, glad you enjoyed it, thank you so much for reviewing along the way and not just at the end. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Pranks and Reveals

18th September 2014:
"His subtlety was amazing." Haha! You made me laugh out loud, as your sarcasm is amazing! XD

And of course, "I'm gonna kill Blaise." Haha! LOL!

Such a cute and wonderful chapter that you gave us! I loved the question/line that was used for this in almost admitting that he loved her. Awesome! Very creative!

Reading on...
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thank you! Laughing is always a good thing, happy to help. :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Turnabout

18th September 2014:
Love the little twists and tricks and the scheming. And of course Draco is guilty of pulling these things on Blaise for years. It sounds just like him to be doing those things.

Very cute chapter. All of the pieces to your puzzle have fallen into place wonderfully.

Great job again,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you felt it matched with Draco's character. It's just something I felt he would do. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Before The Dance

16th September 2014:
Wow, that is definitely creative motivation for Draco in not wanting to dance with Ginny. Ha!

And you really have some serious house unity going on. You've got everyone going with people they normally wouldn't, which is really unique!

Great job,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks! That was a major push for the pen-pal program: house unity. So I tried to incorporate it where possible.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Brain Teasers

16th September 2014:
Oh... and the beans are spilled, so they say. Great little reveal in this chapter. You did it so well and smoothly.

And awe... he's "scary." Boo. :( And he's right to say that asking about his family is more than she can chew. I'm surprised he said as much as he did.

Can't wait to see what you have in store for your readers... :)

Wonderful job,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, glad it meets your approval.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: A New Plan

16th September 2014:
Oh, you are melting my heart with Damien's letter about Slytherin not being the worst thing in the world. There's almost an apology for his house that just makes my heart melt. That is so very touching.

I love how you characterized Draco as one that is beginning to have feelings for what seems like 2 different women, but wants to be very careful about not starting anything until he knows for sure.

I also love how you are successfully building their relationship (in pen and in person).

As always, great job...
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm glad you like the slow-ish build-up. I don't generally like the stories that jump right into it, I don't feel they are realistic, or as realistic as Dramione's can be.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Just Keeping Busy

16th September 2014:
Awe... this chapter was very sweet.

I love that she actually named Draco Malfoy in her letter to Damien. Haha! That was brilliant.

I think my favorite line was him apologizing for possibly over-stepping some friend boundary. That was a bit of an "awe" moment for me. I loved it.

I love his casual openness with her, making her comfortable and relaxed. And I love your idea of having an argument with a portrait about his hair. XD So funny!

This chapter is so endearing and sweet. Great job!

Reading on...
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review, I'm so glad that you're liking this story.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Separation Anxiety

12th September 2014:
Oh, I do love Oreos in milk. Darn it, I'll have to pick some up at my next grocery store trip. And now I'll think of Draco when I eat them, thanks to you. LOL!

And oh, this chapter was so sad. I lost my father in June, so your funeral scene hit home... Amazing Grace and all. ;( Honestly, I had to hurry through it or cry through it.

I loved that Draco was there, holding her hand. Love it!

Beautiful job...
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: I'm so sorry about your father. I can only imagine what that must be like. I wrote the scene as a parallel to my great uncle's funeral that year, he was like a grandfather to me. Trust me, I cried the whole time I was writing it. I hope your pain gets easier with time.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Crying on Christmas

12th September 2014:
I love all of your gift giving, especially the jewelry box... so endearing and touching and a really good idea.

And I just loved Damien's letter. It is so heart-felt and worrisome of who he is. And dare I say he is humble and seems shy when writing that it is the most "him" than anyone has ever seen. That's a really powerful line and I love it sincerely!

Also loved the "Tea Obsessed Freak." LOL!

Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Haha, glad this chapter spoke to you in some way. Thanks so much for continuing to review.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: The Belle of the Ball

12th September 2014:
I love your vivid descriptions as you paint a gorgeous winter scene.

And really, Draco oozing sex appeal. He does this so effortlessly... a natural born heartbreaker.

Lovely written chapter...
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Awww, thanks. I'm so glad you liked it. Thank you for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Going Home

12th September 2014:
Oh, I love how Damien writes of the highlights of his days... how lovely!

And I am so glad she is going to the winter ball in white. Stunning!

And her mother is right... she shouldn't miss a ball in her 7th year. I agree.

Author's Response: I'm glad you agree, being a senior in college I'm getting that same feeling a lot: 'but this is my senior [insert activity here]'. This experiences are important. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Friends and Comfort

12th September 2014:
Awe... poor Hermione. I'm so happy that this has brought them closer. He was so sweet to comfort her even though he really didn't know what was wrong.

High marks on the sweetness scale. :)

Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks! Sweetness is one of my favorite things. Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Getting Closer

11th September 2014:
You write their back and forth banter like a true pro. The characterizations are hilarious and the insults are fantastic.

I cannot help but think Draco just hinted at his own true feelings when he accused her of being in love with him. LOL!

I'm so glad he vaguely cleared things up. Haha! But then was beautifully sincere about her magical abilities. Wonderful job, I might add!

Anyway, I need to go to bed soon, but will return for more. Bravo on this awesome storyline.

You don't know how many times I've wanted to get back to your story, but time has eluded me. Sorry about that!

Much success,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thank you for this amazing review, you've made my week. It's ok that time got away from you, it did for me too, since it took me so long to finish this story. I'm just glad you came back. I'm happy that you like it. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Dark WhisperAfternoon Dust: Afternoon Dust

18th July 2014:
I know, right!? There are almost none of this pairing. I have one that I might write and wanted to know what was out there. They are difficult to find because they are not a pairing that you can search easily. Ugh.

Anyway, I loved your descriptions in this. It really is beautiful and I LOVED how you portrayed Scorpius... like buying a car just to see the reaction of his grandfather's face. LOL! Perfect Malofy-ism for sure.

I liked how you had Victoire keeping her ground. I'm sure it would be extremely difficult when a Malfoy wants you/ actually says he loves you. I mean, seriously! Especially when you mention how she wasn't sure when love for Teddy faded. :(

Thanks so much for writing/posting this story. I'm off to try to find more ScoVic.

Anyway... great job on this wonderfully descriptive, extremely well-written one-shot. I could see it happening like I was watching a movie... a rare thing.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I adored having Scorpius as a Muggle connoisseur back then too, it seems 8D It's about time the Malfoys had a little rebel.

Victoire making a firm choice was very important for me. Though bittersweet, someone in that triangle had to make a choice, and it would be like Victoire, who takes care of Teddy, to make that choice--even in the face of Malfoys with shiny cars! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Dark WhisperBound To You: Bullet Proof, Nothing to Lose, Fire Away, Fire Away.

12th July 2014:
This is terribly romantic. And I think you know what I mean about "terrible." It's another word for fantastic.

He's been breaking the contract all this time... YES! YES! YES! And of course she is trying to deny it so that it won't hurt as much. But alas, you can't control what a heart feels. And love is felt deep and remains, despite everything.

But oh and Pansy has to ruin everything yet again with the news of a Malfoy child.

But what of her child? Oh, no, is right.

Well, you have successfully penned an awesome Dramione and I applaud you for the love and the relationship in this fic. Congratulations on your success so far.

You certainly know how to leave a reader wanting more.

Bravo again...
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #16, by Dark WhisperBound To You: If You Were Dead Or Still Alive, I Don't Care, I Don't Care

12th July 2014:
Narcissa being sick and having to get back with Pansy is an intriguing and amazing twist!

"Scratching an itch?" I will say it for Draco, "Ouch, that cut deep." Wow!

Her words were chilling, really. And wow, he admitted their love, even if she didn't. He is so right... it radiates from her.

Oh, my, somehow I knew you were going to break your readers' hearts in this one. We did get our Dramione action fix, but it was bittersweet.

I LOVE that Draco wants her and admits that what they have has turned into more than they ever expected.

Bravo,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #17, by Dark WhisperBound To You: I Got Him Where I Want Him Now

12th July 2014:
Oh boy, I just knew Blaise's little almost comment was going to spell trouble.

And really, this is going to get sad, isn't it? They had spent so much time getting to know each other and finally enjoy each other... and now Pansy Malfoy had to come in and ruin a good thing.

I am glad they had that little conversation about having children though, even if he didn't want to talk about it. It was really great characterization on your part to include this.

I seem to keep repeating myself, but I am really enjoying your story.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #18, by Dark WhisperBound To You: We've been here too long.

12th July 2014:
She is right, neither of them is really ready. And I was right! He did have more clubs! LOL! I KNEW it!

It is wonderful they haven't done "it" yet. It is heartwarming, really.

Jumping out of airplanes now? Oh my stars, No! He is right... this is getting ridiculous. LOL! I can totally see his sense of reason coming out.

Oh, the blood pumping and the rush. I'm sure it is an amazing thing and without her, he never would've done these crazy exhilarating things.

This really is an enjoyable read. Great job!

Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #19, by Dark WhisperBound To You: Do You Wanna Touch Me?

12th July 2014:
Ah yes, the rest of day off, sounds wonderful, but I'm with Draco on bungie jumping. Slyterins such as Draco and I believe this activity to be quite unnecessary and risky. We don't generally do this type of thing. But if freedom is what Draco experienced, then so be it. But for me, it is a NO! Haha! LOL! XD

Their date seemed to be really promising and your story gets more and more hot as you go. The temperature in the room is heating up and then cooling down, poor things. ;) It certainly has been a fun roller coaster to read.

Another great chapter, reading on...

Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #20, by Dark WhisperBound To You: Curse of Curves

12th July 2014:
What happened in New Orleans? Wow, you are making us wonder. You will probably mention it in future chapters. That's just impatient me talking. :)

And, as they say... a picture is worth a thousand words. And I can totally see how having a picture of him looking at her "in that way" is in her personal collection.

"Love? Marriage? Children?" Yes, but not from him. LOL! Perfect writing, dearie. Perfect.

I must say, that I do the rules. Agreeing to be girlfriend/boyfriend sounds wonderful... but the no discussing of love or marriage is quite interesting indeed... but of course never believing they would actually fall for each other.

Ah, the conundrum enfolding... Dramione awesomeness, I suspect.

Great job on setting this up. And my, my it is sizzling in her apartment.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by Dark WhisperBound To You: Rocket Queen

12th July 2014:
Well, oh my magical stars, whew! That was a lot to take in.

I'm pretty sure I've actually seen these pictures on the internet that you are describing in full detail! That she was taking these gorgeous pictures makes them all the more meaningful and sexy! LOL!

This was really a great chapter of Dramione action that we love.

Dressing rooms are usually tight quarters and him wanting Hermione in that moment (and not the model given to him) was extremely hot on the sizzle scale.

And her apologizing? Oh, boy... wonder what he is going to say about that? You leave your readers hungry for more.

Great job,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by Dark WhisperBound To You: Angels With Even Filthier Souls

12th July 2014:
Hermione owning and actually riding a motorcycle? That's different. I can totally see her going rock-climbing, skydiving, and the like. She was accustomed to an adrenaline rush, most certainly, and her becoming a thrill-seeker makes total sense.

You say that she couldn't believe the things he was saying... Me either! Wow! He is quite forward and bold at what he wants. Sheesh!

I do love her verbal response though. She does (and should) have standards! LOL! She must at least like the guy... and well she doesn't like him. Or at least she wouldn't admit anything else at the moment. X)

Great job,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by Dark WhisperBound To You: A Little Less Sixteen Candles, A Little More Touch Me

12th July 2014:
Wow on Draco killing his own father! *gasp* That is quite a picture you painted for us and it is a little shocking and really sad, actually.

And Hermione seeing it firsthand is tragic as well... and she KNOWS what happened.

I am glad that he turned and was a spy. I like this characterization of him.

I happen to agree with Ginny on Malfoy being a total babe. LOL! I recall seeing the 3rd movie and said out loud... "He's gorgeous!" XD

Anyway, it seems you have written him as being interested in Hermione and you are right... she is in trouble. What woman wouldn't be? :)

Great 2nd Chap,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #24, by Dark WhisperBound To You: Shoot Me Again, I Ain't Dead Yet

12th July 2014:
Hello there. I've been wanting to read this story for a long while and thought I'd go ahead for the House Cup Reviews this year. I do love Dramione. :)

You have set the stage really well for this beginning chapter. Los Angeles, California is a really long way from home.

And I would be shocked as she is astseeing Malfoy standing right in front of her. Of all Magical people in the world... it is him!

She is smart to stay away from Chris and hope he doesn't cause too much trouble in the future.

I really liked her being a photographer. It sounds like you know how to get a great picture from someone. It sounds like you have experience in this field, at least that's my guess.

Great job on this first chapter...
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #25, by Dark WhisperMy Brother: The Stages of Grief

12th July 2014:
Ah, this one-shot was really full of the emotions of loss. Trust me when I say that I can totally relate, especially the emptiness of someone's home. Their belongings are there, but they are not and it is a terrible lonely feeling when you know they won't be back. ;(

At the beginning when he thought of going back to Hogwarts, it seemed a definite "no." But I'm so glad that with time, he was getting on that train and choosing to keep living.

I think it is wonderful that he is taking Colin's camera with him. It may have been Colin's prized possession, but now it will be precious in his brother's hands.

I think your story did really well with the 'Over-coming Adversity' theme, but could just as easily been the "Eternal bonds of Friendship" as well. Both are quite fitting.

As you said, he will never forget...

Great job on this tragic, emotional piece.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi again!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm so happy that you liked this story! The emotions were really important to me here, and I really wanted to show what it was like to go through the stages of grief. I'm glad you liked that progression and the symbolism of him taking Colin's camera with him when he returned to Hogwarts. I'm glad you liked this! Thank you so much for this review!

--Emily


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>