Reading Reviews From Member: Dark Whisper
  
426 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dark WhisperAn Inconvenient Repercussion: Chapter 1

17th May 2015:
Treacle Tart,

Oh, my darkened stars. ;(

This is the best Blaise story that I've ever read. So good, my dear. And so very dark.

It is terribly sad, especially that his mother made no pretense about her true feelings. It is heartbreaking not only feeling unloved, but knowing it without a doubt.

I am happy that the Malfoys had helped him and showed him some caring in his life.

But at the end... Wow! He killed her? I really didn't expect that at all. An accident involving him, maybe, but you floored me. It shows how, even though he might seem normal and even an upstanding citizen in becoming a Healer, deep down he was deeply scarred and messed up. I am truly amazed at this sad and tormenting story.

You did an outstanding job with his character. You made him complicated and truly amazing. I've always liked Blaise, but now I want to hug him.

I can totally see him in front of Aurors or the court, as you said. She was a murderess and hateful to him his entire life. Of course, he would have no remorse. Outstanding story!

Bravo and 10/10 again.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi Dark Whisper!

Thank you again for another lovely review.

I'm so glad that you liked this story. Blaise was a hard character for me to write and this one really took a lot out of me. I think I re-wrote this at least 4 times, so it means a lot to me that this is the best Blaise story you've ever read.

I wanted his mother to be a brutal character. She has zero maternal instinct and is solely concerned with keeping up her cash flow.

The Malfoys were a light in the darkness that was his life. I think if it wasn't for Narcissa's care, Blaise might've lost hope a long time past.

Blaise was definitely deeply scarred by his mother's actions. I don't think it's possible to escape that level of abuse without damage. I think part of him just snapped at the end.

Thank you so much for all of your lovely comments and encouraging words.

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #2, by Dark WhisperThe Duet Of Pansy And Draco: Cantata

17th May 2015:
Treacle Tart,

Oh, you ARE a Draco fan! LOL! This was so clever and creative. And he is so MEAN! He probably deserved every hateful thing she told him.

The gargoyles reminding him of Pansy?! Hahaha! I almost beat my fist into the couch and kicked my heels, that was so funny! LOL! XD

Oh, but when he said he probably should've cared when she kept coming back and instead saw it as any easy bed. Gah! I wanted to kick him!

But I did like how you pointed out that the last time, she had said and did things that went too far. Sometimes, when lines are crossed, it really is 'too far.'

Anyhow, this was just perfect. I love how it was NOT their wedding in the end. You wrote this little twist so very well.

Excellent 10/10! High marks for writing Draco as the gorgeous user that he is.

Loved it! Bravo!
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi Dark Whisper,

Thank you so much for this unexpected surprise. :D

I am most certainly a Draco fan. He's one of my very favorite characters to write. He's a main character in both of my WIP novels, this story, and I have a short story in the works as well.

I'm so glad you found some humour in some of the comparisons he made. I wanted him to be really snarky, but in an amusing sort of way.

I think the relationship between Pansy and Draco isn't exactly as either of them paints it. Part of me likes to think that Draco might've cared at least a little bit or else why hassle with her. Easy beds are easy enough to find without much fuss, so he'd really have no reason to come back to her otherwise. On the opposite end, I don't think it's all flowers as Pansy paints it either. I feel that the truth lies somewhere in the middle.

I'm happy to hear that you liked the twist as well. I had a hard time figuring out how exactly to do it without giving the story away too early on, so it's a relief to hear that it worked out alright.

Thank you again for such lovely words. It was such a treat to log on and find this review.

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #3, by Dark WhisperUgly Eloise: Chapter 1

17th May 2015:
Treacle Tart,

Awe, this was very sweet. Pansy was terrible. I'm so glad Draco was cheating on her. LOL!

So many have a low self-esteem, its such a shame that they cannot see how precious they are.

Justin seems awesome. I love his character. And I love his confession.

I like how you gave her something to excel at (chess) and how you incorporated Ron as well. He would brag of his skills, wouldn't he? Haha.

Great job on this little one-shot.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi Dark Whisper,

This was one of the very first things that I wrote after joining the forums. It was for the Valentine's Challenge (2015), so I thought I'd give something semi-fluffy a shot. This is by no means my strongest genre, so it was a bit of a struggle.

I agree that too many people have issues with self esteem. I really wanted Eloise to be easy to relate to in that regards. I think by the end, she is able to see a bit more of her own worth though.

Justin always seemed like a nice guy to me in the books. I know he had a moment where he disagreed with Harry, but after that he came around. I thought he might be the right person to start building Eloise up.

I definitely felt like Eloise being a chess champ fit the bill. She strikes me as being quite clever and a bit reserved.

I think Ron would most definitely be a bit of a braggard, where as a shy Eloise might not mention it at all.

I'm happy that you enjoyed this little foray into fluff.

Thank you so much for stopping by to read!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #4, by Dark WhisperRose: Unrequited

10th February 2015:
Aditi,
"As untouchable as its thorns." LOVE this line, dearie. It is just gorgeous.

And I love how you ended it with letting go of the rose he had nurtured.

Can't help but wish she felt "something" for him other than friendship... at least a little deeper. And even though you never mention her point of view, maybe she felt a little of the same about him... his untouchable thorns.

Sad indeed... and I do love a good sad story!

Great job,

Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your review really made my day. I am happy you liked it, even the ending =) As for Rose's point of view - well I'd say she never did feel anything more towards him, and if she did, she never realised it. Thank you so much =)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Dark WhisperHidden Things: Hidden Things

14th December 2014:
Dearest Elysium,

You've always been one of my favorite authors and an inspiration to me. You set the bar so high with your mature, descriptive, smart writing. Your past stories have left me with this sense of... "I wanna write like THAT." And this one-shot is no exception, of course.

I'm sure you already know that you have that "it" factor that skyrockets you to a higher level than most and I wish you much success on your Original Fiction.

If you are indeed "back" then allow me to open the doors to Hogwarts and announce your presence as a true pro. "Everyone heed and get out of the way." :)

Your fiction is simply beautiful. "Blood of My Heart" remains my all-time-favorite and I recommend it whenever someone asks.

Thank you for posting this "old" story. Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: You are far too lovely! Thank you so much for this wonderful and uplifting review. "Blood in My Heart" is the piece I'm most proud of, so that really does mean a lot. Thanks for being such a fab support!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Dark WhisperAgony: Agony

9th November 2014:
Wolfgirl17,
Oh my stars, this was wonderful! Truly, it kept getting better and better with ever glimpse into their past, building and building, getting more heartbreaking with every paragraph.

This storyline is amazing and I actually got teary-eyed at the end there, which is hard for me to do. I think it was the revelation that they loved each other coupled with the understanding of why he left (protecting her). He left because he loved her... which is just so sad! And I do love a good, well-written, sad Dramione. It's what I write and love to read.

Also loved that you mentioned that Ron was there for her and knew it wasn't his child, but was raising her anyway. Wonderful Ron moment there.

Thank you so much!
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hey Dark Whisper,

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed it. This one was a little heart-wrenching to write so it's nice to know I'm not the only one affected =)

I'm really glad you liked it and thank you so much for taking the time to review!

xx-Wolfgirl17


 Report Review

Review #7, by Dark Whisper(the trick is to) keep breathing: deep breaths

8th November 2014:
Hello BookDinosaur,
Well, this was so sad to read. :(
I always thought that it was Andromeda who lost the most during the war... her husband, daughter, son-in-law, her sister, and her grandson is to be raised by Harry. So sad!

And really, how does someone survive that much grief? Just keep breathing, really... one breath at a time.

Good job on this short little one-shot!
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Ahhh, hello my speed-dating partner! ♥

I'm sorry! :( I hope it didn't surt too badly. And yeah, I definitely agree with you - Andromeda lost her family when she married Ted, and then she lost Ted and her daughter and her son-in-law, and I just find her to be a super fascinating character to play around with. :D

Yes, absolutely, and if you haven't you should definitly listen to the song by Garbage, I love it so much

Thanks so much for the lovely review, Dark Whisper! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Dark Whisperfalling away with you: falling away with you

16th October 2014:
This was really, really lovely. And honestly, it had a realistic ending. I'm glad that Draco came to his senses, really. Sometimes we do things that we don't want to do BECAUSE we love someone. Even though it hurts, it is what is best. I know this is from her point of view, but I think I feel more sorry for Draco. I suppose that is because I'm older and can relate to his position in this case.

I really loved how you portrayed Ron freaking out, but Draco not fighting, because he knew he was right and as a father, had ever right to have his voice be heard (rather loudly).

I love the idea of art bringing them together.

Wonderful portrayal here. Bravo!
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi Dark Whisper!

Wow, thank you so much for this surprise review as it really did make my day! I'm so glad that you liked the ending because even though I loved the two of them together and it was such an interesting pairing to explore, Draco was right, it would never work out, he was too old, he was too complicated and it would just create too many problems for Rose.

Haha, I'm glad that you liked that because I always imagined Ron being the crazy one and Draco just being as cool as ever.

Thank you so much for this amazing review, it really did make my day! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #9, by Dark WhisperHiding My Heart: Soft Mysteries

11th October 2014:
Quite a hot little scene you wrote there. :P

Brings back memories of my first kiss. Shocked me, he did. He had laced his hand with mine then pushed my arm back so that our entwined hands were at the small of my back. Defenseless, he planted one on me... after a second of shock, I decided to let it happen. But GEESH... no warning! LOL! Ah, the fond memories. XD

I love how you incorporated the language of flowers in this. It adds to the romance and fits perfectly with his aristocratic culture.

It was probably good that he created distance between them before he revealed himself. LOL! He might've got worse than a foot stomped.

I particularly loved the descriptions of this kissing scene, especially the "drawing her blood to the surface" bit. LOVED IT! It really is a sensual, exciting feeling and you captured it wonderfully.

And awe, I loved the way that you said he was "giving" her his first kiss, like it was something special for him to give away, even if a secret. I think this a mature way to look at intimacy, even in that delicate first kiss.

Excellent Dramione scene! Thank you for writing and sharing it with fellow lovers of this ship.
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Wow, I think this might be one of the longest reviews I've ever been given on this site. Thanks so much. I'm really glad you liked it. I tried to capture all the excitement and swirling emotions and intimacies of a first kiss, so I'm glad you were able to relate to it.
Many thanks for your review.
xx- Wolfgirl17


 Report Review

Review #10, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Flesh Memory

21st September 2014:
Wow, well, I have to say congratulations for finishing a really cute, thoughtful, and smart novel. Honestly, I think your idea of the pen pal project with people of different backgrounds in the hopes that they would get to know each other is brilliant.

I loved the couples that you put together.

I really enjoyed all of the questions and answers and thought it amazing to involve your readers and integrate them into your story.

As far as timing, well, I certainly understand that real life gets in the way constantly. But it really shows your character in perseverance and dedication to finishing this huge project to the finish line.

Congratulations!

I know that I sort of review-bombed you over this last week, but don't worry about responding. I know how much time they can take!

For this chapter, I loved how you tied it all together with his asking "the" question. It was adorable and perfect!

Anyway, again, congrats on sticking it out and leaving a great finished story on the Archive. You should be quite proud of your awesome achievement!

Bravo! Take a bow!
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Oh my gosh. You are the best. I certainly don't mind the review-bombing(love the phrasing). I've had a very stressful few weeks and this weekend was particularly bad, so it was a joy to take a break and read your reviews. So, thank you for giving me a wonderful break. I'm so glad you liked the story. It took forever and then some to finish it, but I would hate to be one of those authors, that start stories, promise they will finish them, and then never do. I've fallen in love with some stories that will never be completed. I couldn't do that, it feels like lying to my readers. Anyway, glad you enjoyed it, thank you so much for reviewing along the way and not just at the end. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Pranks and Reveals

18th September 2014:
"His subtlety was amazing." Haha! You made me laugh out loud, as your sarcasm is amazing! XD

And of course, "I'm gonna kill Blaise." Haha! LOL!

Such a cute and wonderful chapter that you gave us! I loved the question/line that was used for this in almost admitting that he loved her. Awesome! Very creative!

Reading on...
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thank you! Laughing is always a good thing, happy to help. :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Turnabout

18th September 2014:
Love the little twists and tricks and the scheming. And of course Draco is guilty of pulling these things on Blaise for years. It sounds just like him to be doing those things.

Very cute chapter. All of the pieces to your puzzle have fallen into place wonderfully.

Great job again,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you felt it matched with Draco's character. It's just something I felt he would do. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Before The Dance

16th September 2014:
Wow, that is definitely creative motivation for Draco in not wanting to dance with Ginny. Ha!

And you really have some serious house unity going on. You've got everyone going with people they normally wouldn't, which is really unique!

Great job,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks! That was a major push for the pen-pal program: house unity. So I tried to incorporate it where possible.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Brain Teasers

16th September 2014:
Oh... and the beans are spilled, so they say. Great little reveal in this chapter. You did it so well and smoothly.

And awe... he's "scary." Boo. :( And he's right to say that asking about his family is more than she can chew. I'm surprised he said as much as he did.

Can't wait to see what you have in store for your readers... :)

Wonderful job,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, glad it meets your approval.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: A New Plan

16th September 2014:
Oh, you are melting my heart with Damien's letter about Slytherin not being the worst thing in the world. There's almost an apology for his house that just makes my heart melt. That is so very touching.

I love how you characterized Draco as one that is beginning to have feelings for what seems like 2 different women, but wants to be very careful about not starting anything until he knows for sure.

I also love how you are successfully building their relationship (in pen and in person).

As always, great job...
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm glad you like the slow-ish build-up. I don't generally like the stories that jump right into it, I don't feel they are realistic, or as realistic as Dramione's can be.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Just Keeping Busy

16th September 2014:
Awe... this chapter was very sweet.

I love that she actually named Draco Malfoy in her letter to Damien. Haha! That was brilliant.

I think my favorite line was him apologizing for possibly over-stepping some friend boundary. That was a bit of an "awe" moment for me. I loved it.

I love his casual openness with her, making her comfortable and relaxed. And I love your idea of having an argument with a portrait about his hair. XD So funny!

This chapter is so endearing and sweet. Great job!

Reading on...
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review, I'm so glad that you're liking this story.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Separation Anxiety

12th September 2014:
Oh, I do love Oreos in milk. Darn it, I'll have to pick some up at my next grocery store trip. And now I'll think of Draco when I eat them, thanks to you. LOL!

And oh, this chapter was so sad. I lost my father in June, so your funeral scene hit home... Amazing Grace and all. ;( Honestly, I had to hurry through it or cry through it.

I loved that Draco was there, holding her hand. Love it!

Beautiful job...
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: I'm so sorry about your father. I can only imagine what that must be like. I wrote the scene as a parallel to my great uncle's funeral that year, he was like a grandfather to me. Trust me, I cried the whole time I was writing it. I hope your pain gets easier with time.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Crying on Christmas

12th September 2014:
I love all of your gift giving, especially the jewelry box... so endearing and touching and a really good idea.

And I just loved Damien's letter. It is so heart-felt and worrisome of who he is. And dare I say he is humble and seems shy when writing that it is the most "him" than anyone has ever seen. That's a really powerful line and I love it sincerely!

Also loved the "Tea Obsessed Freak." LOL!

Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Haha, glad this chapter spoke to you in some way. Thanks so much for continuing to review.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: The Belle of the Ball

12th September 2014:
I love your vivid descriptions as you paint a gorgeous winter scene.

And really, Draco oozing sex appeal. He does this so effortlessly... a natural born heartbreaker.

Lovely written chapter...
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Awww, thanks. I'm so glad you liked it. Thank you for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Going Home

12th September 2014:
Oh, I love how Damien writes of the highlights of his days... how lovely!

And I am so glad she is going to the winter ball in white. Stunning!

And her mother is right... she shouldn't miss a ball in her 7th year. I agree.

Author's Response: I'm glad you agree, being a senior in college I'm getting that same feeling a lot: 'but this is my senior [insert activity here]'. This experiences are important. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Friends and Comfort

12th September 2014:
Awe... poor Hermione. I'm so happy that this has brought them closer. He was so sweet to comfort her even though he really didn't know what was wrong.

High marks on the sweetness scale. :)

Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks! Sweetness is one of my favorite things. Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Dark WhisperFlesh Memory: Getting Closer

11th September 2014:
You write their back and forth banter like a true pro. The characterizations are hilarious and the insults are fantastic.

I cannot help but think Draco just hinted at his own true feelings when he accused her of being in love with him. LOL!

I'm so glad he vaguely cleared things up. Haha! But then was beautifully sincere about her magical abilities. Wonderful job, I might add!

Anyway, I need to go to bed soon, but will return for more. Bravo on this awesome storyline.

You don't know how many times I've wanted to get back to your story, but time has eluded me. Sorry about that!

Much success,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thank you for this amazing review, you've made my week. It's ok that time got away from you, it did for me too, since it took me so long to finish this story. I'm just glad you came back. I'm happy that you like it. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Dark WhisperAfternoon Dust: Afternoon Dust

18th July 2014:
I know, right!? There are almost none of this pairing. I have one that I might write and wanted to know what was out there. They are difficult to find because they are not a pairing that you can search easily. Ugh.

Anyway, I loved your descriptions in this. It really is beautiful and I LOVED how you portrayed Scorpius... like buying a car just to see the reaction of his grandfather's face. LOL! Perfect Malofy-ism for sure.

I liked how you had Victoire keeping her ground. I'm sure it would be extremely difficult when a Malfoy wants you/ actually says he loves you. I mean, seriously! Especially when you mention how she wasn't sure when love for Teddy faded. :(

Thanks so much for writing/posting this story. I'm off to try to find more ScoVic.

Anyway... great job on this wonderfully descriptive, extremely well-written one-shot. I could see it happening like I was watching a movie... a rare thing.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I adored having Scorpius as a Muggle connoisseur back then too, it seems 8D It's about time the Malfoys had a little rebel.

Victoire making a firm choice was very important for me. Though bittersweet, someone in that triangle had to make a choice, and it would be like Victoire, who takes care of Teddy, to make that choice--even in the face of Malfoys with shiny cars! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Dark WhisperBound To You: Bullet Proof, Nothing to Lose, Fire Away, Fire Away.

12th July 2014:
This is terribly romantic. And I think you know what I mean about "terrible." It's another word for fantastic.

He's been breaking the contract all this time... YES! YES! YES! And of course she is trying to deny it so that it won't hurt as much. But alas, you can't control what a heart feels. And love is felt deep and remains, despite everything.

But oh and Pansy has to ruin everything yet again with the news of a Malfoy child.

But what of her child? Oh, no, is right.

Well, you have successfully penned an awesome Dramione and I applaud you for the love and the relationship in this fic. Congratulations on your success so far.

You certainly know how to leave a reader wanting more.

Bravo again...
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #25, by Dark WhisperBound To You: If You Were Dead Or Still Alive, I Don't Care, I Don't Care

12th July 2014:
Narcissa being sick and having to get back with Pansy is an intriguing and amazing twist!

"Scratching an itch?" I will say it for Draco, "Ouch, that cut deep." Wow!

Her words were chilling, really. And wow, he admitted their love, even if she didn't. He is so right... it radiates from her.

Oh, my, somehow I knew you were going to break your readers' hearts in this one. We did get our Dramione action fix, but it was bittersweet.

I LOVE that Draco wants her and admits that what they have has turned into more than they ever expected.

Bravo,
Dark Whisper

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>