Reading Reviews From Member: Dark Whisper
  
440 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dark WhisperIncendio: ...

9th August 2016:
oh my Black stars this was just what I needed today! You made me laugh and thoroughly enjoy this read today. Indeed, thank you. Oh, how we see that he is torn and struggling as he attempts to write deep harbored feelings. He must've gone through an entire ream of parchment. Ha! I do love how you ended with him saying the word one final time. He just couldn't do it ! Wonderful. Bravo dear. And thank you for offering respite from my gloomy day. Much appreciated. Dark Whisper

Author's Response: You are very welcome, and thank you so much for saying so. You have just given me my firstest ever review. Yay.

I'm also pretty chuffed that the author of Delilah's Black Book of Poems liked my Dramione and I'm very glad to hear that it helped your day.

You've certainly made my day. Thanks again!



 Report Review

Review #2, by Dark WhisperCurating Artifice: An Ode to the “Dark” Arts and Dramione: Part 1: Smut

4th February 2016:
NotReallyBlonde44,

Oh, my my my... another entry for the Smut-astic challenge? I'm so into the Dramione sort that I cannot help myself and must read all that I can before the challenge passes into archive history. The challenger truly has an impossible job of choosing the best one... I could not. They are all so lovely and yours is no exception.

Let me start by commenting that your banner is amazing! Both likenesses are wonderful for these older, sexy characters!

Anyway, I loved his collecting of dark artifacts. Wow! This truly fits and is something that he would definitely do... especially with all that time and money on his hands since his divorce. ;)

You did quite well with your required element, which I'm guessing is the corset. Truly, I think a story would be difficult to incorporate it, but you nailed it really well, giving it an important piece in his collection... I absolutely love this!

Clearly these two are quite mature at this point and involve themselves in adult things. At first, I was a bit surprised with Hermione in this, only because she is probably breaking about 50 rules. But then when I thought about that for half a second, it makes total sense. Her past history and golden reputation shine on. :)

What a fun read today. Good luck and best wishes on your challenge entry! Thank you so much for entering!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi Dark Whisper!!

Thanks for the amazingly unexpected review :) This challenge was boss, hopefully it won't fizzle into archive history too soon. I also couldn't choose between all the entries, they're very very smutty and good.

Yes - galaxies aka raisha on HPFF aka the amazing randee - did a superb job with this banner. I choose the faceclaims, but she made this beauty sparkle and match the tone and aura and YAH could not be happier with how this turned out.

Awesome, glad you can see it. JK released this hobby of Draco's on Pottermore awhile back, so I can't take claim for this at all. She didn't mention a divorce, so I embellished there, but this is Draco's post-school hobby says JK and I just took is naughty from there haha.

Hermione's 40+ year old women, rules are for chumps at some point :P At least, that's where I took this. She's making her own rules up now and Draco's an attentive/captive audience mwhaha.

I enjoyed writing something so different than my typical, and I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks again so much for the surprise review *squishes*

ellie


 Report Review

Review #3, by Dark WhisperFallen: Goodbye

5th January 2016:
adluvshp,

Ugh... of course I must read all the smut*tastic Dramiones. Who can resist them? Not I.

And now to yours... Well, aren't those Death Eater masks romantic in their own way? They are supposed to scare people, I think. But alas, they can be used in other ways. :)

These two would have passion in the days of war. I can totally see that. And his point blank, "Seduce me," cut to the chase of what he wanted to do with her.

However, the end as shocking as it is, the only thing I wished for was a tiny, itsy little bit of remorse. Wouldn't he at least miss her body and what it did to his? Hate though... so sad. ;(

Great job on your smut-tastic entry!
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing! It's always awesome to get unexpected reviews xD

Haha the masks are supposed to be scary but oh well ;)

I am pleased you could see the passion they had, and the "seduce me" bit was good for you.

The "beauty" of the ending, or of Draco, here is that he does not have any remorse. For him, Hermione was just a means to an end. He merely enjoyed the passion for pleasure purposes, and now he's done with her.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Dark WhisperStill Beautiful : Still Beautiful

5th January 2016:
HappyMolly,

Oh, wow. How this rings so true to life! My husband still takes me to the stars and I am so grateful and still in love with him. It's like I'm reading my own thoughts and words. Amazing!

You get extra, extra points for realism and great story-telling, as I could understand her feelings. And you are so right about the lovely feeling of being attractive to others, not just your husband. You wrote this perfectly!

Great job on your smut*tastic elements and again... for being so "real."

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing, and thank you also for your kind words. I put a lot of myself into Ginny's thoughts and feelings here, so I'm very pleased that it paid off!

/Molly


 Report Review

Review #5, by Dark WhisperRoom 49: Summer After the War

5th January 2016:
Darkkid,
Ugh! Who can resist a smut-tastic Dramione? Who? Who? I cannot! And so it is...

Firstly, your banner and chapter images are gorgeous! I would love to have that talent. They are both mesmerizing.

And gah! I loved how you incorporated your requirements (I'm assuming Library and Mask). I adored the reason behind the mask. Of course it would be so that she wouldn't have to be herself... to help hide their past history. I really loved the deeper meaning behind it as an important story element. And hello! Of course seeing her in a mask as a solution to their "problem" would make his blood boil, in a good, wonderful way. :D

I love that you had him untying it though... it was HER and he would share intimacy with her. All perfectly awesome in my book.

You broke our Dramione hearts with Draco's wanting her to stay and wanting more and her saying no. Wahh! Boo hoo. But along with a good Dramione there is always a sad piece to it. (At least those are my favorites of this pairing).

I loved that you did give us a hint as to there coming together in the future, but alas, their love (if you can call it that in this fic) will always be short lived.

Having a summer with Draco... whew. What a fantastic smut-tastic story!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #6, by Dark WhisperAnniversary Presents: Christening the Library

16th December 2015:
Aditi,
Okay, so yes, I literally ran to see this Smut-tastic Dramione in the flesh, so to speak! LOL!

I think this challenge is fantastic! 8D

What Dramione fan wouldn't love intimacy in a library with a blindfold to help christen it? XD

I like how you incorporated your required elements (I'm guessing library/blindfold), especially turning the tables with that blindfold originally meant for her, only to be used on him for "other surprises." Just brilliant.

With much fan appreciation, you definitely scraped the borderline of TOS without going over... a difficult challenge, indeed.

Nicely done, enjoyable read for anyone needing a Dramione fix... Hahah! :P
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: I loved the challenge too, though writing smut on HPFF is a bit daunting, haha.

I am pleased you enjoyed the incorporation of the library and the blindfolds, and the way the tables turned.

Thank you so much, glad you had fun reading this!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Dark WhisperBlasted Mistletoe: Blasted Mistletoe

3rd December 2015:
Bahahahaha!
This should be required reading for every Dramione fan. LOL!

I would be so MAD! I equate this to being stuck in Christmas traffic for 4 hours, starving. LOL!

Love the bit about Theo. Hahaha!

Steamy details in that kiss too! You get extra points on the hotness scale. XD

And Hermione's reaction on being "assaulted"... priceless!

Glad I read this today. Where are the reviewers today? 10/10

Cheers!
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Dark WhisperHis Darkest Secret: His Darkest Secret

22nd November 2015:
Hello there.
First, I want to say that your banner for this story is absolutely stunning! I'm pretty sure that I stared at it for a half hour before I read the story. LOL! It is gorgeous!

Anyway... I can't help feeling that if he really knew, there would be no hugs for Draco in the end of DH7. XD

And at the end of your story, I was like... "And that's where they leave it??? Gah!"

So much wonderful suspense and then you left me wanting more. WHAT DID VOLDY DO? Did Draco try to explain? Did the Dark Lord take pity or something? I'm clueless.

Anyway, great job capturing fear and getting into our beloved's blond head.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm pleased you liked the story.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Dark WhisperOil and Water: oil and water don't mix

27th August 2015:
As I was reading, I was captured with the thought that I was actually reading poetry.

I love your metaphors of things that don't mix... well not only mix, but are down right catastrophic when mixed, extinguishing the other, causing conflict and pain.

I love your characterization of Scorpius. I could totally see him; beautiful and unfaithful.

Bravo in writing this one-shot so quickly!

Great job.
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #10, by Dark WhisperGame On: Volume II: Fall - TreacleTart - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
Slytherin - House Cup 2015

Poor Harry! Can he not enjoy anything in his childhood without have so much danger surrounding him? It really is a tragedy and you have captured this particular moment perfectly. This is during a GAME, a fun thing to do in his young life at school. But instead, he is being tormented by his own mother's murder and then plummeting towards earth in a free fall, not knowing if there is anyone or anything to help. This is really heartbreaking and quite haunting at the same time. And a story in so few words. It makes me feel so sorry for the boy who lived... the boy who would be tormented all his young life. So sad. You wrote it really well, full of vivid descriptions. Poor Harry!

Good job,
DW

 Report Review

Review #11, by Dark WhisperGame On: Volume II: What Did I Do Wrong? - Pixileanin - Gryffindor

11th July 2015:
Slytherin - House Cup 2015

Toad races? How adorable! I this "friend from your summary was going to be an OC. LOL! I am pleasantly surprised. You described the event wonderfully. I love how the toad just sat there and did nothing. And my favorite was when Neville talked to it, trying to talk sense into it - to motivate it into moving. I'm so glad he beat out Goyle and Seamus. If anyone deserves it, Neville certainly did. And I think to answer your question... Neville needs to get another spider to coax it down, of course. Apparently toads are highly food motivated. LOL! Great job in writing a story in so few words!

Sincerely,
DW

 Report Review

Review #12, by Dark WhisperGame On: Volume II: Magical Photo Race - StarFeather - Gryffindor

11th July 2015:
Slytherin - House Cup 2015

I love it that Colin's father is a photographer and has inherited that talent and finds awesome use for it in the magical world... to one-up Rita Skeeter's photographer. LOL!

And you are so right about it being difficult to get a photo of Harry smiling. The boy who lived seemed to have little to smile about. His life began tragic and the Dark Lord has made his life rather miserable. Challenges seem to lurk at every corner, even at the Yule Ball.

I think it was quite humorous for him to get an accidental shot of Snape's enormous nose. That was a perfect way to end this story! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Dark WhisperGame On: Volume II: A Blur of Colour - FredWeasleyIsMyKing - Gryffindor

11th July 2015:
Slytherin - House Cup 2015

Oh, my... it would be terrible to lose your eye sight, especially suddenly and with no warning. I couldn't imagine. But it does happen and the frustration and utter change of life would be devastating. You really captured this new world of his quite vividly. I like how you wrote that sounds are now colors.

And I absolutely LOVE how you incorporated Wizards Chess. Of course he could just move them by speaking! That is absolutely a brilliant idea!

Reading this has me wondering if you or a family member or friend has experienced blindness. It certainly is a different way of life, but it doesn't have to beat you. I love your message of hope at the end. Great job in so few words.

Sincerely,
DW

 Report Review

Review #14, by Dark WhisperGame On: Volume II: Charlie Weasley and the Dragon Races - MrsJaydeMalfoy - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin

Hello. Well, I must say that your title and summary brought me in. Who doesn't love a good story with dragons? I love how JKR included them in her universe so that fanfiction can include them freely as well. I think Charlie is probably envied for his job, especially now that you've included races each week. :)

Your story really reminds me of caged animals at the zoo. It is sad that they are confined for their own well being and survival. But these beasts are ferocious and can do much damage. It is sad they must live their lives confined, as I'm sure they would be considered an endangered species, even in the magical world.

I like how you incorporated them in a game and that their lives are happier for it.

Good luck with the house cup.

Sincerely,
DW

 Report Review

Review #15, by Dark WhisperThis is How You Love Her: This is How You Love Her

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin

Wow! Your summary really drew me in. Why would he actually want to lose the Tri-wizard Tournament? Your reason is brilliant and beautiful at the same time. Love, of course.

For not liking to write action, you certainly did a good job. The key is short action sentences. It makes one read faster and faster, wanting to know what happens.

You really dove into Cedric's thoughts and yearnings wonderfully and I am truly amazed. This seems so well thought out, even though you admit to allowing the character tell you what he wanted. I wish my characters did that. LOL!

I loved how you had Harry making an unexpected "offer," giving him a perfect solution.

The tragedy is that we all know what happened just after this. So terribly sad.

Excellent job on Cedric's point of view.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #16, by Dark WhisperA Flakey Tragedy: A Flakey Tragedy

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin

Selene! Oh, my mouth is watering for a Hermione biscuit! Your descriptions were wonderful and perfect and now I want one, or two, or a baker's dozen.

I absolutely love your depiction of Snape. It is perfect and spot on. You made me laugh several times, especially showing and telling us of the Gryffindor students and their mishaps... and his irritation. Haha!

And when his pride nearly had him dropping one, I nearly fell out of my chair. Hahah! Also loved how he gave 20 points to Gryffindor. LOL! That was great, but not overly generous, was it.

Also loved the Umbridge references as well. Even she didn't mess with his biscuit-less state that day. XD

I hope you won this food challenge. It was a true delight to read and indeed, very creative.

Bravo, 10/10,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #17, by Dark WhisperSweet Sorrow: Only A Memory

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin

Well, Lady. I must say that the beginning descriptions in this short story captured me from the start. I could see that window curtain and smell that coffee! I always encourage these wondrous bit of words that allows the reader to really see what the characters see (and smell). Great job painting a true and lovely picture.

I love how you progressed their story and described his confidence. What woman doesn't love this in a man? And using the words, comparing it to stone walls was perfection.

Again, I love how James changes over time and becomes mature. This effects how she sees and feels for him. Excellent!

It is difficult to fit a story into 500 words. And TA Status... I'm Slytherin green with that blessing. Congratulations!

Extra points for your creative descriptions in this gem.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thank you!

I'm glad you appreciated the imagery of this story. I'm always happy when readers compliment my description!


I agree! About women loving a man with confidence, and James becoming mature, and trying to squeeze in 500 words. Thank you again haha!


Really appreciate your read and review!


-LA


 Report Review

Review #18, by Dark WhisperOut of the Darkness: Into the Sun

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin

You did a great job at cramming a story into only five hundred words. This is not an easy thing to do for authors, especially because we are writers and tend to get wordy. :)

Your subject is truly heart wrenching. Every parent wishes the best for their children. And Harry being in real danger would truly sicken James and Lily with worry for him.

And of course, every parent wishes to be there at those milestones of life, marriage, grandchildren, etc...

The sad thing is that you wrote it as if she knew that she and James were not likely to survive, so she experienced them in her mind.

I love that you incorporated James's Snitch. It truly would mesmerize a child and hold their interest.

Yes, youthful ignorance is blissful and you are right that children have no such fear of the dangers that lurk about.

Great job on this tiny fic.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thank you! It is to condense words to 500 words, as I had found myself always adding on even after taking away words. :P

Aw, yeah. Actually, I never realized too when I had wrote this, that Lily had no hope for survival... I mean I did. It's just the words flowed when I was thinking of the song to this, and Harry was basically the wizarding world's hope, and I felt Lily sensed it too. :)


Aww! Thanks - yeah, I love the scene too. ^_^


Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #19, by Dark WhisperAn Inconvenient Repercussion: Chapter 1

17th May 2015:
Treacle Tart,

Oh, my darkened stars. ;(

This is the best Blaise story that I've ever read. So good, my dear. And so very dark.

It is terribly sad, especially that his mother made no pretense about her true feelings. It is heartbreaking not only feeling unloved, but knowing it without a doubt.

I am happy that the Malfoys had helped him and showed him some caring in his life.

But at the end... Wow! He killed her? I really didn't expect that at all. An accident involving him, maybe, but you floored me. It shows how, even though he might seem normal and even an upstanding citizen in becoming a Healer, deep down he was deeply scarred and messed up. I am truly amazed at this sad and tormenting story.

You did an outstanding job with his character. You made him complicated and truly amazing. I've always liked Blaise, but now I want to hug him.

I can totally see him in front of Aurors or the court, as you said. She was a murderess and hateful to him his entire life. Of course, he would have no remorse. Outstanding story!

Bravo and 10/10 again.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi Dark Whisper!

Thank you again for another lovely review.

I'm so glad that you liked this story. Blaise was a hard character for me to write and this one really took a lot out of me. I think I re-wrote this at least 4 times, so it means a lot to me that this is the best Blaise story you've ever read.

I wanted his mother to be a brutal character. She has zero maternal instinct and is solely concerned with keeping up her cash flow.

The Malfoys were a light in the darkness that was his life. I think if it wasn't for Narcissa's care, Blaise might've lost hope a long time past.

Blaise was definitely deeply scarred by his mother's actions. I don't think it's possible to escape that level of abuse without damage. I think part of him just snapped at the end.

Thank you so much for all of your lovely comments and encouraging words.

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #20, by Dark WhisperThe Duet Of Pansy And Draco: Cantata

17th May 2015:
Treacle Tart,

Oh, you ARE a Draco fan! LOL! This was so clever and creative. And he is so MEAN! He probably deserved every hateful thing she told him.

The gargoyles reminding him of Pansy?! Hahaha! I almost beat my fist into the couch and kicked my heels, that was so funny! LOL! XD

Oh, but when he said he probably should've cared when she kept coming back and instead saw it as any easy bed. Gah! I wanted to kick him!

But I did like how you pointed out that the last time, she had said and did things that went too far. Sometimes, when lines are crossed, it really is 'too far.'

Anyhow, this was just perfect. I love how it was NOT their wedding in the end. You wrote this little twist so very well.

Excellent 10/10! High marks for writing Draco as the gorgeous user that he is.

Loved it! Bravo!
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi Dark Whisper,

Thank you so much for this unexpected surprise. :D

I am most certainly a Draco fan. He's one of my very favorite characters to write. He's a main character in both of my WIP novels, this story, and I have a short story in the works as well.

I'm so glad you found some humour in some of the comparisons he made. I wanted him to be really snarky, but in an amusing sort of way.

I think the relationship between Pansy and Draco isn't exactly as either of them paints it. Part of me likes to think that Draco might've cared at least a little bit or else why hassle with her. Easy beds are easy enough to find without much fuss, so he'd really have no reason to come back to her otherwise. On the opposite end, I don't think it's all flowers as Pansy paints it either. I feel that the truth lies somewhere in the middle.

I'm happy to hear that you liked the twist as well. I had a hard time figuring out how exactly to do it without giving the story away too early on, so it's a relief to hear that it worked out alright.

Thank you again for such lovely words. It was such a treat to log on and find this review.

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #21, by Dark WhisperUgly Eloise: Chapter 1

17th May 2015:
Treacle Tart,

Awe, this was very sweet. Pansy was terrible. I'm so glad Draco was cheating on her. LOL!

So many have a low self-esteem, its such a shame that they cannot see how precious they are.

Justin seems awesome. I love his character. And I love his confession.

I like how you gave her something to excel at (chess) and how you incorporated Ron as well. He would brag of his skills, wouldn't he? Haha.

Great job on this little one-shot.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi Dark Whisper,

This was one of the very first things that I wrote after joining the forums. It was for the Valentine's Challenge (2015), so I thought I'd give something semi-fluffy a shot. This is by no means my strongest genre, so it was a bit of a struggle.

I agree that too many people have issues with self esteem. I really wanted Eloise to be easy to relate to in that regards. I think by the end, she is able to see a bit more of her own worth though.

Justin always seemed like a nice guy to me in the books. I know he had a moment where he disagreed with Harry, but after that he came around. I thought he might be the right person to start building Eloise up.

I definitely felt like Eloise being a chess champ fit the bill. She strikes me as being quite clever and a bit reserved.

I think Ron would most definitely be a bit of a braggard, where as a shy Eloise might not mention it at all.

I'm happy that you enjoyed this little foray into fluff.

Thank you so much for stopping by to read!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #22, by Dark WhisperRose: Unrequited

10th February 2015:
Aditi,
"As untouchable as its thorns." LOVE this line, dearie. It is just gorgeous.

And I love how you ended it with letting go of the rose he had nurtured.

Can't help but wish she felt "something" for him other than friendship... at least a little deeper. And even though you never mention her point of view, maybe she felt a little of the same about him... his untouchable thorns.

Sad indeed... and I do love a good sad story!

Great job,

Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your review really made my day. I am happy you liked it, even the ending =) As for Rose's point of view - well I'd say she never did feel anything more towards him, and if she did, she never realised it. Thank you so much =)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Dark WhisperHidden Things: Hidden Things

14th December 2014:
Dearest Elysium,

You've always been one of my favorite authors and an inspiration to me. You set the bar so high with your mature, descriptive, smart writing. Your past stories have left me with this sense of... "I wanna write like THAT." And this one-shot is no exception, of course.

I'm sure you already know that you have that "it" factor that skyrockets you to a higher level than most and I wish you much success on your Original Fiction.

If you are indeed "back" then allow me to open the doors to Hogwarts and announce your presence as a true pro. "Everyone heed and get out of the way." :)

Your fiction is simply beautiful. "Blood of My Heart" remains my all-time-favorite and I recommend it whenever someone asks.

Thank you for posting this "old" story. Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: You are far too lovely! Thank you so much for this wonderful and uplifting review. "Blood in My Heart" is the piece I'm most proud of, so that really does mean a lot. Thanks for being such a fab support!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Dark WhisperAgony: Agony

9th November 2014:
Wolfgirl17,
Oh my stars, this was wonderful! Truly, it kept getting better and better with ever glimpse into their past, building and building, getting more heartbreaking with every paragraph.

This storyline is amazing and I actually got teary-eyed at the end there, which is hard for me to do. I think it was the revelation that they loved each other coupled with the understanding of why he left (protecting her). He left because he loved her... which is just so sad! And I do love a good, well-written, sad Dramione. It's what I write and love to read.

Also loved that you mentioned that Ron was there for her and knew it wasn't his child, but was raising her anyway. Wonderful Ron moment there.

Thank you so much!
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hey Dark Whisper,

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed it. This one was a little heart-wrenching to write so it's nice to know I'm not the only one affected =)

I'm really glad you liked it and thank you so much for taking the time to review!

xx-Wolfgirl17


 Report Review

Review #25, by Dark Whisper(the trick is to) keep breathing: deep breaths

8th November 2014:
Hello BookDinosaur,
Well, this was so sad to read. :(
I always thought that it was Andromeda who lost the most during the war... her husband, daughter, son-in-law, her sister, and her grandson is to be raised by Harry. So sad!

And really, how does someone survive that much grief? Just keep breathing, really... one breath at a time.

Good job on this short little one-shot!
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Ahhh, hello my speed-dating partner! ♥

I'm sorry! :( I hope it didn't surt too badly. And yeah, I definitely agree with you - Andromeda lost her family when she married Ted, and then she lost Ted and her daughter and her son-in-law, and I just find her to be a super fascinating character to play around with. :D

Yes, absolutely, and if you haven't you should definitly listen to the song by Garbage, I love it so much

Thanks so much for the lovely review, Dark Whisper! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>