Reading Reviews From Member: Owlpost68
845 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Owlpost6819 Years: Year 1: Hogsmeade

24th July 2015:
Whew, you almost gave me a heart attack with the Dean, Harry, Ginny triangle. I was really hoping it wouldn't turn into anything longer than that. I'm glad they all made up, and I'm glad they got some extra time together :)

This was the only thing I caught near the end:
"Dean, Neville and Lune"- Luna

Good job!

Author's Response: Hah, sorry about that! I'm glad you agree that it should be resolved quite easily. After all, Harry and Ginny do know each other and trust each other.

Thank you for pointing that out, and again, for reading and reviewing xx

 Report Review

Review #27, by Owlpost6819 Years: Year 1: September

24th July 2015:
oh, wow, yeah that's awkward. Her ex is trying out for the position harry was?? oi.

here's my notes:
"He smiled ingeniously"-genially, it seems close, but ingeniously means brilliant or inventive. Genially means amiable or friendly.
"which we wasn’t supposed to touch"- he

I also thought it was a great idea to include something about the Thestrals, it'll probably be the first thing Hagrid covers in class and will be the most anyone at Hogwarts has seen them at once.

Good job!

Author's Response: Awkward is the word!

Thank you so much for those corrections. I appreciate it so much. I agree that Hagrid will probably talk a lot about the Thestrals in the beginning of each year. I'm glad you liked the idea of including them. I thought they would represent a sort of loss of innocence.

Thank you again for a very helpful review xx

 Report Review

Review #28, by Owlpost6819 Years: Year 1: Back to Hogwarts

24th July 2015:
Aww, I thought it was sweet. I also forgot that Bill and Fleur would get pregnant around then, which is good 'cause I'm right around that point in my story too lol.
There were only a few things to mention:

“I meant it, you know,” he then told her.”- Just remove extra " at the end

"the warmth of her body, streaming over to his--"- just an awkward description, a suggestion might be, 'the warmth of her body enveloping his'

good job!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! Hah, that's funny that you had Fleur get pregnant around the same time.

Thank you so much for pointing out those mistakes and for still reading and reviewing xx

 Report Review

Review #29, by Owlpost6819 Years: Year 1: The Final Journey

23rd July 2015:
I wanted to cry with Mrs. Weasley after George said what he did about when he and Fred grew old from that charm. That would be the only time they'd get to see each other old. Oh, and Ron and Hermione, why can't they ever just say what they feel? I wonder if Ron will go after her somehow.

There was only one typo this time:
"Fleur managed to pull of something in between"- add an f.

Great job!

Author's Response: Yes, that is the only time they saw each other old. It's really sad... As for Ron and Hermione, I can't imagine things not being awkward to start with. Of course, they should realize that they both feel the same way about each other and that they are only making things more complicated than they need to me.

Thank you for pointing out that spelling error!

And thank you for another review! Xx

 Report Review

Review #30, by Owlpost6819 Years: Year 1: The First Day

23rd July 2015:
This was really really good! And I only found just a few errors, things like a missing letter or something, here they are:

"All of their faces reflecred"- t instead of r

"Harrys made a paus"- Harry's and add an e

"scrubbed the blood of the desks."- off

This was really a great way to write it. I have a story like it but I didn't know how to go about writing it from different points of view. This helps a lot!

Author's Response: I am so glad you liked it!

Thank you so much for pointing out those errors, I will make sure to fix them when I get the chance. And that's really cool that you can find inspiration from this - I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed this xx

 Report Review

Review #31, by Owlpost68A Light That Never Goes Out: Quidditch

27th December 2013:
"What, you don't think I'm trustworthy?"
Who does?" Chorused Peter and Jane together, and Sirius threw his head back and laughed.

This is so entirely ironic and well done I just can't get over it. I wonder if you did it on purpose? Sirius saying that and Peter replying how he did? When that's exactly what happens, Sirius gets blamed for James and Lily's death, and no one thinks Peter could have possibly been behind it. Plus how Sirius was laughing in his prison photo, and here. That's just incredible.

I also think they were all in character, I wasn't sure about Snape, but thinking about it I do think he would love her enough to not make her more miserable. I have to say the quidditch scene seemed rushed though, but all in all, great job!

Author's Response: Hmm, I totally get what you mean about the Quidditch scene - thanks for the input! I'll see about expanding it.

I'm really glad you picked that up about Peter, too - I wasn't sure whether anyone would, but yeah, I was definitely thinking about the irony there. :)

Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #32, by Owlpost68The process of becoming tamed : An apology

27th December 2013:
That was a pretty great chapter. This definitely showed that Sirius was growing up just a bit, and also how close their group is. Moony noticing exactly what was wrong was really in character for him. The one thing I noticed was your sentences were pretty long. There were some that might have flowed better if broken into 2. I understand sometimes it's hard. When I write on a train of thought, it can sometimes be longer than the sentence should be.
My favorite part though is the last bit though, that Remus and Sirius were more handsome than Peter and James :) very funny.

 Report Review

Review #33, by Owlpost68Trying not to love you: Chapter twenty-three - Heaven. Or Hell.

21st December 2013:
Thank you for that great christmas present!! I've been dying a little with the semester ending this weekend, so this was a perfect treat as a break :) I still have one essay to do, but then I'm done and can work on my own story :P
I may have to go back and read the last chapter because I don't know if I really remember it or read it. I really didn't think he'd do it! These things have come so close to happening before and they didn't, so it was still a great surprise. I think the grammar was almost perfect, and of course the imagery was great too, I could really see her anguish about that paper, and almost smell it burning. I didn't even think that they kissed in a broom closet cliche 'cause he has foiled any attempts she's made, and they aren't even students lol. Anyway, great job, Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, and Happy Birthday! Thanks for such a great chapter,

Author's Response: You're welcome ^^

Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked it ^^

 Report Review

Review #34, by Owlpost68Burial: Evanescent in the Irish Highlands

21st October 2013:
This was a great chapter! The plot really comes to life here :)
At first I was confused at the memory you decided on at the end, but now I understand it has to be how she's feeling about her job. Great job!
This chapter was leaps and bounds better than the others, I would still suggest going over it every once and a while for spelling, and grammar, but definitely fixable.
Again, great job this chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you!! The last memory is sort how her childhood events define her personality now like her lack of confidence or courage. Thanks for the suggestions I'll definitely consider them!!

 Report Review

Review #35, by Owlpost68Crime and Punishment: In The Art of Disclosure

30th September 2013:
Hi, so, generally, I really liked it, I thought it was cute. The one thing is, and can make it a little complicated, boys aren't allowed up to the girls dorms. The stairs turn into a slide. This doesn't mean that with some quick editing the scenes wouldn't work in the common room, that'd be fine.
I'm glad that Elliot at least knows she likes James so he won't get hurt, and I can't wait to see what happens when Charlie and James do get together, can't wait!

 Report Review

Review #36, by Owlpost68As Darkness Descends : Moving Forward

14th September 2013:
I really liked this chapter. I'm very happy to see it too :)
I feel like the death of Lily's parents made her stronger to deal with Belle's death, standing up to Sirius about his drinking, and coming to the conclusion she more wanted to stay with James than avoid what happened in the apartment. I'm also happy to hear Remus has some work with Diggle, and gives us more explanation why he was also the one to look after the Dursley's when they had to go into hiding.
Good job, I can't wait to see them go to James' house :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by Owlpost68Glad You Came: Class, ruined appetite and declarations of love...

10th September 2013:
Ahhh more plot twists!
Hmm so Layla was talking about crappy guys, does that mean her and McClaggen broke up? or was she talking about other guys?
Ah the world of high school where it seems like everyone's making out except you :P lol
This was really very silly,
good job :)

Author's Response: Wow!! I did not see that one coming!! Layla and McLaggen are still very much together, I'm afraid...she was talking about other guys at Hogwarts...or was she? ;) keep reading to find out!! I'm glad you liked the twist, more to come :D thanks for the review!!
xoxo ;)
p.s. your comment about high school romance is sadly true :(

 Report Review

Review #38, by Owlpost68As Darkness Descends : Midnight Meetings

17th August 2013:
I am sooo excited. As much as this sequel is sure to be heart wrenching, and sad, or to be dark, evil and horrifying, it will most definitely prove to be heartwarming, full of love, and leave us in no doubt that love is so much more powerful.

The moments with Sirius and Lily reminds me so much of my own youth, and then the moment with James and her reminds me of my own feelings for my boyfriend, when she runs her fingers through his hair, and holding him. Even describing how picking out dresses with Alice (almost said belle and alice...:( ) reminds me of doing that with my own girlfriends when one got married, and it hasn't even happened yet!

The one typo that really stood out was just a wrong word again, and that was inhibit, when talking about the vacant apartment, the word would be inhabit.

Of course the last part with the Death Eaters definitely brought that sense of, this is just beginning, but like I said, the love for each other is so much stronger, even when there's sure to be disaster.

I love the title and the summary! I'm sure you've heard this already, but it always needs repeating. I can't wait to see what banner you'll find :D

Great job sweetie!

Author's Response: Hi darling!!! I'm so happy getting to respond to your lovely reviews!

I honestly had a few moments in this chapter where, when I was typing about Alice and Lily doing stuff together, I almost started typing Belle too :(. This is definitely going to take me time to get over/used to.

I'm so excited that the moments in this and the feelings between L and J could draw on recognition of your own! That's always a huge deal to me, because I love when I read stories and go, 'oh that's just like___' so it makes me so excited knowing I could do the same for you!

Ahh thank you for the typo!! I'll fix it asap!

YAY I'm so excited you like the title and summary! I stressed about them SO MUCH, haha!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Owlpost68Flight of the Heart: The Interview

13th August 2013:
HAHAHAHA. Noooww I understand that comment :)
Now, I did love the chapter, but unfortunately there were quite a few typos and some that are words, just not quite the right ones, like though, and thought etc..

You're definitely getting into more of what her past was like, which is really interesting. I can't understand how you do it, introducing just enough to wonder where the rest of it is. Why her grandmother insisted teaching her, where her parents are, and how Aiden came to be

I thought that Oliver was going to have some part of getting her the job in the bakery, but I'm glad he didn't, that'd be too much for her to accept. Plus, I find it funny that him and his sister have that same personality of doing things on impulse. I loved that connection!

All in all, very nice chapter, and easy edits :)
Great job!!

(P.S can't wait for this weekend when the sequel is up!)

Author's Response: Hi darling! I know I already mentioned this in a comment, but yeah, I think I have this chapter mostly sorted out now :P Thank you for bringing it to my attention!

I'm so excited you liked the similarities between Oliver and his sister!! At first I wondered if I was making her too pushy/impulsive, then figured... hey, she is related to Oliver Wood, haha!

Aww I'm so excited that I've made you curious about her past!!! I want to find a good balance between getting her out there, and not just dropping a ton of information on you. If that makes sense :P

Thank you so much for another awesome review! I'm so excited you enjoyed this chapter, and hopefully i'll finish the next soon!!

 Report Review

Review #40, by Owlpost68Glad You Came: Confrontations, threats, and confessions (sort-of)

12th August 2013:
This was such a fun chapter lol, I personally loved the arguing, it all flowed really well. There were only a few grammar problems, but not much :)

Great job!

Author's Response: thank you soo much!! I'll look through carefully and try to minimize the grammatical errors from the next chapter onwards!!
thanks again for reviewing, it means a lot to me!
xoxo ;)

 Report Review

Review #41, by Owlpost68Glad You Came: House-elves, friendly chats and Prefect rounds

7th August 2013:
What? Really?? Really?

Anyway, definitely liked the house elves, and the Thunder clap was way funnier a second time :)

This was definitely the one way for Al to have to acknowledge his feelings for her, so there Al, you were evil in a past life so there's your karma lol

I hope the Ian Dan thing will get on with a little more next chapter, but since this happened... maybe not.

Maybe a little less of Al talking to us or to himself, it was quite a bit for this chapter.
Just a thought.

Nice plot twist though!

Author's Response: Thank you! thank you!
I'm glad you liked the house-elves, I liked them too!!!
and I'll try to minimize the talking to self thing, thanks for letting me know..
I promise I'll get around to Ian-Dana as soon as I get something..preferably a lightning bolt to my head...seeing as how that isn't happening,...sigh...
I'm really glad you liked the twist ;)
thanks once again for reviewing!! keep following the story!!
xoxo ;)

 Report Review

Review #42, by Owlpost68The Blossoming: Meeting the Midwife

6th August 2013:
that was too funny :)
I loved the Greengrass reference! Sooo, they were in the same situation as Ron and Hermione then huh? lol.
It makes sense, I can't see Malfoy truly proposing without that happening, not that he wouldn't love his son or wife, but I can see this being a big turning point for him, not wanting to be like his father.
Ron's question to the Healer was soo him! of course he would ask that lol.
I also really liked your description of the hospital too, much nicer sounding than St Mungos.
great job!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for reading and reviewing. Yeah, those naughty Malfoys... I'd love to see what Narcissa would have made of it! Your take on Draco's reaction is really interesting.

It does sound like a nice hospital, right?! I'd quite like to work there myself... Maybe I'm just building my dream maternity unit in this story! Thanks again :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by Owlpost68The Blossoming: Harper's Hill

6th August 2013:
huh, I hadn't thought about Vernon dying... that's a plot twist.
I really liked how you managed the argument between Harry and Ginny, it would be really hard to just give up your career you loved. And it made sense that's what Harry would think about when he had the Horcrux, is what if Ginny wasn't there? I bet it would make for some nasty flashbacks running into people he thought might have tried taking her away.
Great job!

Author's Response: I felt so bad about Vernon dying as Richard Griffiths sadly passed away at around the time this chapter came out!

It's great to see that you can understand where both Harry and Ginny are coming from - neither of them is a 'bad guy' here.

Thanks so much for R&Ring!

 Report Review

Review #44, by Owlpost68The Blossoming: The Humming Heart

5th August 2013:
D'aawww This is adorable :)
I have to say, your writing is almost like you're painting a picture, it's almost like a slide show in my head :)
There are a couple things, like the word span, I think you mean spun, the past tense of spinning?
Other than that, it's pretty darn good!
great job :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you feel like you can see the story - I like that when I'm reading a story so I try to emulate it in my writing.

Ahhh I thought I'd fixed spun/span ages ago! Haha! Thanks for pointing it out, I'll get onto that.

Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #45, by Owlpost68Sweet Dreams: Sweet Dreams

4th August 2013:
lol, I loved how you ended it. That's probably way too true for some parents, oh the baby's asleep and someone's watching him, maybe we...z lol
I also loved the inclusion of Butterscotch and her playing piano :) great ideas.

You know, this was a pretty great day. Went out for Indian food, went clothes shopping, played on Pottermore, and Stouffers french bread pizza and tea in a HP mug for dinner while reading more of your wonderful stories. Then to top it off later I'll get to talk with my boyfriend and listen to his adventures at comicon :)
Still, this is like icing on a cake :)

Author's Response: Hehe this was the first time I wrote Butterscotch. I knew Lily would get him from James, but hadn't gotten to that chapter in BTF yet :P!

Awww haha you're too sweet. I'm so happy I could be part of your good night!!! Thank you so much for making me feel like my writing is making someone else happy, and all the awesome reviews you're spoiling me with ♥ I hope you had some good adventure stories to listen to! I was so sad I couldn't co to comicon... sons of anarchy cast was there! ♥ *in love*

 Report Review

Review #46, by Owlpost68Flight of the Heart: Boys Will Be Boys

4th August 2013:
nooo where's the next chapter button???
sigh.. oh well, I'll just have to wait patiently for the next chapter... HA lol..
oh, and I forgot to tell you, last chapter I think it was the part he first met Mia, that cracked me up lol, there might have been others, but definitely comparing her to a brand new racing broom... lol :D
I love this, and hope to see more soon!

Author's Response: Hahaha aww!! I'm sorry! Is it weird being in a story of mine without having 30 more chapters to click through? :P!

I'm happy you liked that part! Oliver's so much more fun to write than I thought he'd be!

Thank you so much for another review, and I WILL get the next chapter up by this evening!

 Report Review

Review #47, by Owlpost68Flight of the Heart: A Chance Meeting

4th August 2013:
I can't believe my luck at finding such a wonderful author who happens to like all the same characters I do, and get so detailed about them like I do, I'm just. I'm absolutely thrilled :D
I'm in love with this story and it's only just started. I can't wait until we're in the thick of it :)
great job!

Author's Response: Hi lovely! Awww haha yay!!! I really wanted to write a more adult story that had the chance of a happy ending *cough, unlike Marauders, cough* so Flight of the Heart is that for me!
I'm so excited that you like the start of this! I promise, I'm very close to being finished with chapter 3!!

♥ Jami

 Report Review

Review #48, by Owlpost68Before They Fall: The Force That Drives Us

29th July 2013:
I'm sure you'll hear this from everybody, but I'm so excited you're making a book 2. Your writing's fantastic, and would have been super sad if you didn't continue their story.
Thanks so much for the mention! it's really sweet of you :)
I really look up to you as a writer, I'd love to be motivated enough to write a chapter a week, and honestly, it shouldn't be so impossible for me to do. It's the least I could do for my novel, I do love it even when the plot hasn't really taken off yet.
I can't even begin to tell you how awesomely you wrote this, it was a great ending, and also a great introduction to your next story.
Good luck, and thank you so much!

Author's Response: Heather! Your reviews have been such an amazing treat throughout this. I especially loved that you said what you like, and pointed it out if there was something you didn't like. I always looked forward to seeing what you would think of new chapter and am so, so, thrilled that you're going to stick around for book two ♥

A chapter a week is the only reason this is finished. I decided to do it, I told my beta I was doing it, I posted all around that I was doing it, and just made it too humiliating to turn my back on it if it became too much work :P. I would totally suggest picking a scheduled time to either post a chapter or submit it in the queue and stick with it, because before that I was doing a new chapter closer to once a month.

I'm so grateful that you've taken the time to read this and be part of this all with me. Your support and comments really made my day, and I just can't tell you how much it means to me that you stuck by the story ♥

Thank you again ♥

 Report Review

Review #49, by Owlpost68A Wonderful Love: Fix Me

22nd July 2013:
ahhh! a lot happened! What about Harry and Ginny?? wait, no, they were just being friendly.
I can't wait until her and george meet up again.
you're doing a great job at making it confusing and believable and sweet and sad.

Author's Response: Don't you worry about Harry and Ginny! All will be fine on that front, I promise. The meet up with George will be happening very soon. :) I'm so glad you're enjoying it, and thank you tremendously for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #50, by Owlpost68Before They Fall: Forever Frozen In Time

20th July 2013:
I think this was honestly your best work.
You made us all feel everything in this chapter, absolutely everything. Once Belle left for the bathroom alone, and because I had an inkling someone might die, I was all AAAHH NOOO DON'T DO IT!
But you're right. I think it had to be her. Something has to make Sirius go more mad/crazy and give him even more of a drive to help the Order.
When she did die, I had the irrational hope that maybe she'd killed whoever it was who said the wards were being broken, but I knew better. I think what really had me choked up though was how through his pain, Sirius saw Lily and Alice sobbing. That really got me. The thing is though, somehow I didn't start bawling because I know this is the one thing that will get everyone to join the Order.. really, nothing else would.
So, really lovely job, I can't imagine killing anyone off, but you were brave enough to for the sake of the story.
That's a true author.

These were the few errors I found, 'cause true authors have those too :)

they’re reading to go- ready

But I will not save you and of Mrs. Potter’s breakfast.”

- any

There might have been some grammar stuff, but wasn't too important, you nailed the important stuff.

Really excellent job!

Author's Response: Aww! That's such a huge compliment; thank you so much for your sweet words!

I think I made myself feel too much in this chapter, haha. I had to stop on those last few scenes and pull myself back together, then eventually just gave up and sat there crying/writing at the same time, haha.

I already addressed this in the PM... and your perceptiveness amazes me. I'm so excited that you put so many things together, and that you realized it had to be her, as well.

Sirius's section was the hardest for me to write. He just. he didn't deserve any more pain and ugh. I never thought I would care about Belle the way that I did, and getting Sirius to care about her the same way then taking Belle from him just felt so... cruel :(.

Oh my gosh, I don't know what to say about your true author comment. That means so much to me, and I'm so honored that you feel that way. I get really unsure about my writing and am positive half the time that people just read it to be nice, so that comment is one that's going to stick with me forever.

And thank you for the typos ♥ I'll go in to edit them out right away.

Thank you so, so, so much from the bottom of my heart! One more chapter! ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>