Reading Reviews From Member: Owlpost68
845 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Owlpost68Bonded For Life : Bonded For Life

27th September 2015:
Awww this was ADORABLE! But you knew that :) Really, James' thoughts were so sweet, and so him. You really brought the short scene to life with the description, so great job on that. My favorite reaction was when she told him I love you and his knees went jelly-like :) I can only imagine how surreal this day would be for him after all the time she said no. This is definitely one of my favorite Jily stories :D
great job!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Owlpost68Unexpected Turns: Flash Back

27th September 2015:
Hmm, at first I was confused, is he Gryffindor too? Since she was able to hop in the shower pretty quick, but I guess it didn't necessarily mean right away. I do wonder what house he's in though.
I think her brothers had a very tame reaction, I'm surprised that James at least didn't hit him.
Mostly, I want to know more about Aiden :)

Author's Response: Hi thanks for the review I didn't really think what house he's in but l think I see him as a Griyffindor, and I think it is because both her brother knew she needed them and that if they got angry at Aiden Lily would be angry at them and they don't want a angry pregnant sister!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Owlpost68Unexpected Turns: The Start of Trouble

27th September 2015:
You definitely know how to make an entrance so to speak. This was a great way to grab the reader's attention right away. Also, I love the idea that Scorpius has a brother, it gives much more opportunity for conflicting relationships than just pairing them with Scorpius and completely messing with Canon.
It might need a little work with grammar, but overall, I like it :)
Good work!

Author's Response: Thank you!, yeah I didn't want to just do one with Scorpius as it has been done a lot I wanted to do something a little differently. Sorry about my grammar I know it's dreadful I'm trying to improve it so hopefully the story grammar will get better and you won't have to put up with my terrible Grammer so much!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Owlpost68A Night to Remember: A Night to Remember

27th September 2015:
I read this because I've been re reading 6 and started to become interested in Merope. I hadn't even thought Tom knew about his son, it's an interesting notion. This was one of the more mature stories I read on here, but it's not a bad thing. I'm glad she got a few months of happiness. I'm also glad she chose the freedom of the afterlife, she's right, she gave too much of herself to Tom. Still, it's sad she died.
The only criticism I have is that much of it went from past tense to present. I know that part was supposed to be present, but it still went back and forth a bit.
Other than that,
Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! This review was so kind and so unexpected!

This story was one of my first ones, I should go back and reread it. But thank you for making my night on a sad day. :) many hugs

 Report Review

Review #5, by Owlpost68Mosaic: Breaking The Cycle

25th September 2015:
This was really interesting. Honestly, I kind of forgot how people really would have PTSD symptoms after the war. Also, you made their relationship more realistic to me. They were so close and then Seamus was without him for a year and vice versa. It was different than any story I've read so far with how many page breaks there were, but I understand why. I would suggest maybe making them into short scenes instead of just a narrative. It would make it longer, but it would delve deeper into the characters and show just how much you know and care about them.

I'm glad I tried something different and read this :) Good luck!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I wrote this for the Microfiction Challenge, which is the only reason why I wrote the fic in this format, but I've fallen in with their relationship in Mosaic, so I will one day expand on their relationship.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Owlpost6819 Years: Year 6: May 2nd, 2004

2nd September 2015:
I loved this one, like your others, but I was really able to visualize the description, from Vic's cake, to her mother's rant, Bill's new beard, the flowers, everything. I loved the picture of Hagrid and little James, that was so adorable! of course vic would accidentally let it be known that her mother was pregnant again, that was so cute lol.
My favorite line:
"They enjoyed the cream cake while listening to George speaking, in a very loud voice and with glittering eyes, about just how much his eldest brother must like girls to have his third kid on the way" LOL

just one typo that I found was when ron and hermione were apparating home I think you meant "a few Un-comfortable moments later" you said comfortable.

So glad you updated :) Great job!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Owlpost68A Man Named Newt Scamander: Part One of One

23rd August 2015:
Oh my gosh, where do I even start? These were the PERFECT characters to do this challenge with. Really, I can't think of... okay, maybe something with Dumbledore, but even then, really there's no one else I could really see this challenge working for.

What I can't get over was that you were somehow able to explain words without repeating yourself. Also, I surprised myself by knowing or figuring out a good 70-80 percent of them anyway. The rest you were unbelievable using in context.

Another thing I'm amazed with is how you were even able to describe the surroundings so it didn't feel like it was ALL just words. That is so important and I think it's because you were describing the amazing places he's been and the things he's seen.

I really cannot say enough about this story, this might be one of my favorites which I'll do after leaving this review.

Thank you so much!
Team Red

Author's Response:


Ah, thank you. This was so much fun to write, using all those crazy words. I think I put together several different lists, even though I only had to use ten words. Context is important with whatever words you choose. I'm happy that you thought everything fit well inside the story. That was one of the reasons that I picked this character. I thought it would flow more naturally than with other characters who we know don't talk or think this way.

Thanks so much for taking a chance on this story. You never know what you're going to get!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Owlpost68Fred and George and the Birthday Surprise: Stuffed frogs and fuzzy bunnies

23rd August 2015:
uh oh, I think Charlie just introduced them to April Fools day... It was great seeing them stop the Lemonade pitcher from falling over, that would have been so bad lol, I really thought it was going to happen, but it didn't!
Percy sliding on the whipped cream was a great visual lol, I could just see it :) Also, Ginny tossing the stuffies at them was good too lol.

Team red!

Author's Response:

Yes, let's blame it all on Charlie. LOL! I had fun reading your reviews. Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Owlpost68Fred and George and the Birthday Surprise: What's in the box?

23rd August 2015:
This was so silly and cute, I especially liked Ginny and Bill.
I hadn't really thought about the First Magic much and how that would be such an important day in a wizard family. They sort of went into it about Neville once when he said he went bouncing down the driveway after his uncle chucked him out a window.
I could totally see Fred and George as early bloomers since they're twins. Two times as powerful.
Everyone's so cute, great job!

Team red!

Author's Response:

Ginny was my favorite to write here, because she's the youngest and would have the potential for the most havoc. Though as you can see, Fred and George will get their act together soon and be the kings of havoc in their own time.

Thanks for the sweet reviews!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Owlpost68Fred and George and the Birthday Surprise: We only borrowed it and then we put it back.

23rd August 2015:
This was a pretty cute beginning. I can definitely picture their room vividly with the closet full to bursting, things stuffed under their bed and under the covers. It's very much 5/6 years old I can imagine. The way you described all the brothers, sneaking wands and Percy saying that once you turn 6 you're pretty much all grown up is so like him :)

The one cc I'd give would be that... Fred and George's birthday is in April... so Bill would be at school by then, unless, possibly, he's home for easter holiday? but really that was the only "flaw" I saw. It was still super cute :)

Go team Red!

Author's Response:

Hi Heather!

Thanks so much for dropping in on my Fred and George story! I was first daunted by the large cast of characters, but it ended up working out okay. Yes, let's pretend that Bill's on holiday. That works.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Owlpost68Harry Potter and the First Mission: Reconstruction and Funeral

21st August 2015:
Hi again!
I found this chapter really interesting. I never thought of them carrying the coffin or burning or anything. I've recently been watching a show that has witches and burning... this is obviously completely different, but it was a great connection with some pagen history and the hp universe.

You also really portrayed Mr. and Mrs. Weasley's grief very well. It was so heartbreaking. I liked that Ginny put down the flowers around the grave, including heather flowers! :)

I did think the beginning of the chapter was a little awkward, why was he helping Hagrid with Buckbeak? And I would have thought Harry would know about plans to go back to the burrow more immediately than Bill needing to tell him.
Don't get me wrong, I thought it was great Harry got some time with Buckbeak (He had been renamed Witherwings) and it was interesting to hear how Bill helped sealing Dumbledore's tomb and the protective spells around the castle, I just thought if you gave a little more detail it would be a better scene. I did love the scenery description though!

Go team Red!

Author's Response: Hi, Heather. Thank you again for Reading and Review.

This chapter was based on my RL experience, so it maybe too hard for young readers to keep reading through, but I wanted to express each life is "one and only".

The ceremony may be not the one in England but I hope you could understand the theme I wanted to say.

Okay, talking of Buckbeak, they fought with Harry at the battle of Hogwarts in the book 7. The impression of Harry on the wings of Buckbeak at the movie 3 was so strong, that I put the scene of them here, too. I may like the scene where Harry in the sky like on the back of Buckbeak or the broomstick or ...('ll be able to find others in the next story, "Harry Potter and a Daughter of Druid". Bill will also enter there more often. )


 Report Review

Review #12, by Owlpost68Harry Potter and the First Mission: Life Still Goes On

20th August 2015:
Hi there, I thought I'd check out your version of what happened after battle :) There were quite a few things you thought of that I didn't, like the scars! What a great idea :) Also, the idea that they would be training to be auror's at Hogwarts, that was brilliant.
There are of course some editing that could be done with typos, like I'm pretty sure you said kinsley a few times in the beginning, but there are a few more important things to mention.
I thought the pace seemed a little too quick, though they needed to talk to kingsley and find Bill, which is another great idea, I just thought that their grief should be a little more apparent. I know I wouldn't think of half these things if I was going through anything like they were. Just a thought. The dialogue also read quickly.

All in all, you had some really great ideas and I'll definitely read on :)
Go team red!

Author's Response: Thank you, Heather!

It's my first story written in English. I started writing HPFF for the first time from here. I didn't know how to write novels in English. I just wanted to read good Auror stories but there were a few I could find, so I jumped in writing by myself.

Your opinion is right. My muse just hurried to their training. But as you noticed, I took much space for the grief things in the next chapter. I tackled the theme straight there. See you soon!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Owlpost68Silence: The Lake

18th August 2015:
This was awesome!!
Really, I loved how cannon it all felt, and at first, before you introduced James with his name I felt like it could have been Severous too, which really fits. Really, he and James have the same obsession, but show it in different ways.
Also, I loved the use of Present Tense, it felt like a poem more than a story at times, and I think it's because you use a lot of sensory details too, like you suggested with my Sirius story. Also, I liked that James didn't agree to her terms right away, that was very like him, but he did relent in the end. It was left like, it'll probably still take some time for him to get used to it, but he'll get better at it. I think the only cc I can give is that I would have liked more Sirius, maybe feeling James's forehead to see if he was feeling ok, something like that.
Loved it!
Team Red :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

I definitely tried to keep it all cannon.

Ah. I'm glad that you noticed that it could be either Severus or James. I purposefully left it ambiguous.

Wow. Like a poem? That's such a lovely compliment to receive.

James can definitely be stubborn, but he's learning.

I can understand the desire for more Sirius, but he's really only in the very side of this story, so I thought it was fitting that he just had a few lines.

Thanks for the lovely review.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Owlpost68Tengu and a Daughter of Ninja: Broken Heart

17th August 2015:
This was really interesting, you have us all wondering what Draco's up to, and I thought it was sweet that you included the relationship with his son and how Scorpius wants to be like his father. I've never read anything like that before. I feel really bad that Draco seems to be in the same situation he was in while he was a student. I wish he would talk to Harry about it and get protection, but then it wouldn't be interesting.
I've read other reviews and know that you know about some of the things that might need editing, so I won't mention it, but I thought the overall message and feelings were in it and didn't distract too much. Good job!
Go red team :D

Author's Response: Thank you Heather for stopping by again.

I've just started Next Generation stoies recently, so it may be awkward descriptions about Draco and Scorpius. But you encourage me, I feel very thankful for this.

Your instinct is right. Draco is too stubborn to ask for Harry's help.

I'll write the next chapter ASAP. I'll be back to your story as well.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Owlpost68Tengu and a Daughter of Ninja: Dripping Wings

17th August 2015:
I truly loved this, the story of Saki and Shota could be an original fiction if you wanted! I wish school could have let us write stories instead of essays, it would have been a lot more fun. I thought it was funny that Hagrid never told him how Kappa's produce young, of course he would have left that bit out lol.
As for some critique, I noticed that in the beginning there were 2 different times you said that Shota went missing at 7 years old, when I really think 1 time is needed since it's mentioned again later on which was fine.

Also, maybe if you found another way to say "Yeah," in their conversation. Like, yes, or ok, or sometimes it didn't even need anything. It might be a little less repetitive.
Also, just a little grammar mistake here, "She was leaving there then felt dripping from above on her head." This could be done a couple of ways, but I would do, 'She was just leaving when she felt dripping from above on her head' it just read a little awkwardly.

I also really liked incorporating that line from the song where you did. Overall, you did wonderfully :)

Red team!

Author's Response: Hi, Heather. I was glad that my new Gryffindor fellow joined in the CR. Thank you for adding me as your favorite author list.

Oh, did your school let you write essays? It sounds interesting, too. In my school days, they let us repeat tests and tests, we were very bored. Even now schools here can't change the style because of the entrance examination.

Thank you for your advice, too. I'll do fix them ASAP. (I have others to fix in other stories, too. Thank you for letteing me remind of them.)

Rose's song challenge inspired the story here. We're very lucky to be in HPFF, aren't we?


 Report Review

Review #16, by Owlpost68Tengu and a Daughter of Ninja: Father’s Old Textbook (Prologue)

17th August 2015:
This was a fun introduction to the story. I had kind of pictured Draco as a Potions teacher, I mean really, what else would he do? lol Also, I liked how you brought up Ginny getting second hand books, really, there's no reason to to buy new books if you don't need to. Plus, it takes away the stereotype that the Potters are wealthy and the Weasley's are poor. Who would be able to tease them for one or the other?

I think the one critic I have is that instead of Al hanging out with Hagrid 'cause he looks like his dad, I would have just had Al really like animals and was just drawn to him that way. I know it's really deeper than that anyway, but if you wanted to change it a little it might read that way too.
Very impressive that you used JK's other books too! I'm so nerdy when it comes to making sure the facts in stories are accurate, so ten points to Gryffindor! lol

Anyway, Go Red Team!

Author's Response: Wow, you wrote review so fast. Thank you for so many kind words.

I'm glad you enjoyed the episode about the old textbook which belonged to Harry. I felt a little excited to find Snape's scribble on the page of Kappa in the book. So I didn't hesitate to jump in the Magical Creature Challenge.

Thank you for your suggestion. I need to edit this chapter, too.

I'm very happy to get a fellow Gryffindor like you. Welcome back!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Owlpost68In Every Stitch: Eight

15th August 2015:
I absolutely loved this, I felt myself getting all choked up. She really does stand for everything Lily would have wanted Harry to have growing up. I also couldn't help but think of Fred and that now there is one less sweater she's knitting. I can't help but think that when she started knitting for the christmas season after he died how hard that would be on her. Even when there are new members of the family it'll always be one less then she'd have to make if he were alive... sigh. This had so much love in it, this is one of my favorite interpretations of Molly. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Owlpost68Forever: Questions

14th August 2015:
Gooo Red team!
OK, so I was going to go to bed but then I thought, nooo just one more, and I'm so glad I did, this was adorable, and everyone was so in character! I mean, it was hilarious when Harry and Ron were practicing and Ron was trying not to laugh. I'm so glad he didn't try to plan out exactly what he'd say and did it as spontaneous as he did. Plus it was awesome that he yelled at Hermione to stop being so impatient, that he was trying to propose lol. This was a great last review of the night :) I love the Shakespeare quote too, very well done but not overdone.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Owlpost68That Night: That Night

14th August 2015:
Hi, this was really really interesting. I loved the dynamic between Percy and George, how close they are even though they're complete opposites and that obviously Percy abandoned the family again. My favorite quote was the part where they were talking about kids and Percy was thinking to himself, "he saw himself glancing at Lee, wondering if he would ever doom them all by having children with his girlfriend"
I had to try and stop myself from laughing since it's late.
As much as I liked the interaction between Percy and Audrey I do wish, after such a long chapter, that they had another real kiss after the burger joint. Even if it was just a light brief one, something that would give them a little more to think about than wondering if their connection was just because of the club and not the conversation. Don't worry, I'll still check out the WIP you have about them, but that was just my two cents.
Really, I thought you captured the brother bond extremely well, and it was intriguing about Percy and what he might have been up to after Fred's death. What you mentioned about George and Angelina was really interesting too.
Anyway, thanks for the review swap!
P.S this was review number 830 :D

Author's Response: HELLO!

Thanks for stopping by! I wrote this ages ago but people still seem to enjoy it, which is a nice surprise. :D I think that George and Percy would make a great duo so I didn't find it too odd that they would hang out. I do think it's great that George is so supportive though, even with the knowledge that Percy ran out on the family for the second time.

Lee should never have kids. Hahaha.

Oddly enough, he does end up having two later on but that's a whole different story. Hahaha.

Well, this is just a companion piece to the actual novel so they weren't going to make much progress. I think that Percy was too afraid of his attraction to Audrey to do much about it at the time though. I add so many little things from my other stories in this because I wanted to flesh it out more, I'm glad that you enjoyed them! :D

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #20, by Owlpost68All the World's a Stage: And One Man in His Time Plays Many Parts

13th August 2015:
This was just as amazing as I thought it was going to be. I especially liked when Harry and Ginny thought of the video camera and said how they needed more blackmail. That is soo something my mom would do, since she has quite a bit on me lol. I really think you captured the chaos of what it's like to have 3 kids and the sentimental moments that come along with being a parent. Even though I'm not one myself, I see a lot of them at work in all walks of life. This somehow captured it all. Great job! :D

Author's Response: Heather!

YAY! I'm so glad you liked it!

Heehee. The video camera bit is something I was a bit unsure about throwing in because of the whole "magic messes with muggle electronics" thing, but I took the risk. Which seems to have paid off!

My parents have LOADS of blackmail on me. It seems that they always had a reason to bring the camera out and record me doing something stupid. And it seemed just like Harry and Ginny (a bit more Ginny though) to want blackmail on their kids.

I know the chaos of kids all too well (I work with kids), and I know how amazing it is when a sentimental moment like that comes up and how hard it is to make sure you enjoy it before it goes away. Which is exactly what I was going for here!

And it's good to know that I managed to capture it!!

Thanks so much for R&R'ing, Heather! It means a lot!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Owlpost68A Glimmer of Light: What's in a Name?

13th August 2015:
Hi again, this was a great little story, and was so cute that Neville was already overprotective. This really hit home for me since I know some people who have had trouble getting a baby for years. They now have a baby girl only 3 months old. There were only a couple of typos: 'it feels me with a joy' Fills
'She'll be fine, Neville. Honesty.' Honestly
The interaction between Alice and her granddaughter was adorable too. The only thing I would change would be that, as far as I know, you can't leave the hospital without naming the kid first. If they had brought the baby up to visit when she was still in the hospital anyway, that might work.
Just a thought.
Either way, loved it :) Good job!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Owlpost68A Box of Chocolates: One: In Which Penny Eats Something Strange

12th August 2015:
I absolutely love this. I love chocolate and raspberry, Avengers and Big Bang Theory, which, by the way, the reference was hilarious :D Also, big Beatles Fan. Soo, basically, best late night review I've done in a long time. I saw in the common room you weren't having a great day and thought, everyone likes reviews, so, surprise! I can't wait to see what happens next :) Great job!

Author's Response: Heather!

Thanks so much for reading this!! The fact that you like ALL of those things only means one thing. We must be best friends now. :P

Also, thank you for reviewing when you did. It definitely made me smile and it was so thoughtful of you to review when I was having a bad day. I really needed that!

Thanks again for reviewing!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Owlpost68Bedtime Stories: Bedtime Stories

12th August 2015:
I loved this, it was so Ron and the present tense was done so well. I did notice near the end that you missed a word from this line: "She’s going to a special one,” Hermione says, pride filling her tone."
I think you meant 'she's going to BE a special one.'
The ending was great, I have seen Zorro and remember that part in the beginning when he was acting out his latest fight for his daughter and the mother caught him. It was so sad that his wife died. I'm glad that doesn't have to happen here. You ended it perfectly with Hermione reminding Ron not to mention Rose not liking Cinderella to her parents lol.
Great job!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Owlpost6819 Years: Year 6: The Test Result

4th August 2015:
This was another perfectly written chapter. You balanced the worries of her Quidditch career and truly being happy about getting pregnant too. I think they both acted very reasonably :D
great job!

Author's Response: aw, I'm so glad you liked it, and that you found their reactions believable! Thank you so, so much for reading and reviewing xx

 Report Review

Review #25, by Owlpost6819 Years: Year 5: Comfort

3rd August 2015:
That was sooo Ron!! He asked her like it was completely his idea, that no one could have possibly thought of it before lol. Also so Hermione being very skeptical if he was serious or not. Really, I can't see the proposal going any different for this story. Plus, Neville and Hannah cuteness!

Author's Response: Aw, i'm so glad you thought it was fitting for Ron! Hah, yes, he totally saw it that way. I'm so nervous about posting "big moments," like proposal, so it honestly means the world to me that you liked it. And Neville and Hannah of course. I love the idea of them getting together.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing xxx

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>