Reading Reviews From Member: TheHeirOfSlytherin
  
824 Reviews Found

Review #26, by TheHeirOfSlytherinDetox: Errors in Judgment

19th March 2014:
Ahh, switching places. Polyjuice potion is very convenient for sneaky meetings with girlfriends. I bet that's what the creator had in mind, too. :P

I don't know how I feel about this Emery person, he sounds like a brat. But he's helping Draco, so I don't hate him... unless there's an ulterior motive, which I only suspect because Blaise talked to him and Blaise is working with Jeremy and Jeremy is a psycho whose wedding Draco is sneaking into. So if there is, I'll hate him later. ;)

Emery is no doubt going to be in so much trouble when his parents see the real him and he's not going to be able to get out of it. I find this hilarious.

THEODORE! I'm pretty sure I love him no matter how 'evil' he is. :P

See, this is why I don't trust Blaise.

Uh oh. Now how is Draco going to get out of this now that he's stuck in the middle of it all? I worry; I don't want him to get hurt or caught or accused of anything. And I especially don't want them to use Astoria to get to him.

He just outed Emery!

I won't lie; at first, I wanted her to know so they could enjoy the party together, but after Draco realised that they might use her to get to him, I agreed with his plan to keep quiet so wholeheartedly that when she found out my go-to response was just, "Damn it, Greengrass." I haven't gotten past it yet.

Jeremy and his big mouth. He's going to get people into trouble... That line seems obvious given what he plans to do, but I felt like it needed to be said anyway.

Aww, he said he loved her. I'm pretty sure that's my favorite scene in this chapter (so far). :D

:O I so hope he says yes to her question.

I know change my statement to "Damn it, Draco." But he gets Draco not Malfoy because, with everything else he wants to do to protect her, I kind of expected it.

I wish he could tell her so she'd understand, but I imagine she'd still fight for him. And try to help.

The innuendo messed with a very serious moment. I don't know what's wrong with me today.

I've decided I don't like it when they fight. I didn't expect it to escalate so much; I don't understand girls. *shakes head*

How much trouble did he get Emery in? Did they notice it was Draco, since the potion wore off?

I also don't like it when she cries, but at least she knows she's partly to blame. The first step is admitting you have a problem, then you fix it - I know she's not an alcoholic, but the theory is the same.

(I haven't had any sugar... in a few hours, at least. I swear. :P)

I really hope they can fix it!

Onwards!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hello, again!

That's been Draco's plan all along. He works as a portioneer now, so he has access to whatever he needs to brew polyjuice. Emery is a very spoiled, unpleasant boy. Whatever happens to him, I guarantee there's no need to feel badly about it.

Yes, Theo makes his grand entrance. Not exactly the positive guy that you mostly portray, but he is at least smart enough to never trust Zabini. Would that Draco were that smart. He's now caught in the middle of the very thing that he's been trying so hard to avoid. And he knows that he's put Astoria in danger, which makes it even worse for him.

Draco's master plan gradually crumbles around him, and unfortunately it pulls Astoria down with him. Not that she's blameless, mind you. Her "solution" to the situation just makes things even worse. I don't like it when they fight, either, but I didn't see any other realistic way for this situation to play out. All couples have bumps in the road and they've just had a pretty extreme one.

You'll find out in the next chapter how much trouble Emery is in. Suffice it to say, he's not a happy camper.

Astoria actually does a lot of growing up at the end of this chapter. Growing up is painful, unfortunately. But we all have to go through it.

Thanks so much for all of the reviews! Looking forward to seeing what you think of the big ending.


 Report Review

Review #27, by TheHeirOfSlytherinDetox: Future Imperfect

19th March 2014:
I rule the land of immaturity; people are free to join. :P I can't help it, just reading it is fine, but then I imagine the look on poor Astoria's confused face and... I giggle. As in present tense, I'm still giggling. Thankfully, my iPad has predictive text. :D

How can she be jealous of Pansy? Ugh. Don't bring Pansy into this, Astoria, Draco knows I'd kick him if he thought about it. I have faith in them; if he's willing to impersonate someone to be with her around people who hate him, he must think she's something special.

Isadore probably shouldn't give advice, she's bad for the most part, but is still an awesome friend and I still love her. :D

Yay for fighting for what she wants; she's right, it's their problem. *crosses fingers things go... well, though... in the end*

I'd have burnt the plant in the beginning; you can tell how much patience I have. But Draco was doing so well, even with the setbacks in the beginning with the guard and the assistant.

He got the job! And it's bringing his past right back to him, but I believe in Draco and his new start - he may never fully get over what he saw and did, but if his job helps others than it might help to end the nightmares one day, to see that he's doing good.

His boss seems a little creepy. Not bad guy creepy, just 'whoa, don't get too close, we shouldn't talk much' creepy. The kind of creepy my Al finds... everyone. :P

Onwards!

Sam.

P.S. I've read your responses. How can people not love Isadore? She's awesome! And I've never had an IPA, so I'll hold you to that. Jack and coke, that's my drink... or lager. :P

Author's Response: Poor, poor Astoria. All she wants is a set of directions. A book or a diagram or an instructional pamphlet from the Ministry. Alas -- and it's for the best, really -- no such thing exists. She's going to have to figure this out on her own and it terrifies her.

I think her anxiety about Pansy is pretty natural for a girl her age. Pansy is older and **far** more experienced. I think she realizes that Draco is willing to go to great lengths for her, but she's also worried that Draco might decide that it's not worth it to have to go to such great lengths when there's low-hanging fruit like Pansy available. I hope that didn't objectify Pansy too much. Actually, I don't really care if it did. ;)

Isadore is not a great source of relationship advice, that's for sure. She's extrapolating based on a small amount of personal experience -- and things didn't actually go all that well for her -- and a lot of stuff she's read in magazines.

Astoria is willing to fight for her relationship with Draco. That's part of why I love her.

Draco's interview was one of the most enjoyable parts of the story for me to write. I got to delve a bit into the technical aspects of potioneering, which was fun, as well as explore Draco's anger-management issues. He did get the job. In fact, he probably had it before he even interviewed. Madam Blishwick just wanted to see what he'd do under pressure. She is sort of creepy. She's a very pure academic who is so hopelessly caught up in her research that she's lost the ability to see how it might affect other people or the world at large.

I enjoy responding to your reviews. Your take on things is always unique and it's fun to see different facets of the story through fresh eyes. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #28, by TheHeirOfSlytherinAlways, For You: Pictures on the Wall

16th March 2014:
Hey!

Look at Louis, sneaking out. I expected it, no doubt his family would have stopped him if he tried to tell them (some of them anyway). Still, must have been a little sad for him, to have to leave them and sneak away.

Finnigan! Garret is a Finnigan! Now I love him even more. His parents are awesome, even if one did slam the door in poor Louis' face. It must be so sad for them, Garret leaving. I want him to come home, I don't want Seamus to cry. *Hugs Seamus*

What did Garret do? I know you can't tell me, but I'm asking anyway. Everyone knows about Louis' messed up memory but me... and Louis. :P

I hope he finds what he's looking for.

Cool chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hey! thanks a bunch Sam!

I feel bad for Louis about having to leave but it'll be good for him.

Haha yes he is a Finnigan, I also realized that Blake from Magic in the Walls is also a Finnigan, I guess I just love that family too much.

Haha, as River Song would say... Spoilers. All I can say is that it has been vaguely hinted at, as to what happened to Louis. And the Pictures probablly helped with the hint.

In the next couple chapters we meet the antagonist! Which will start to explain things a little bit. Right now there are nine more chapters planned out, but it might increase if some of the chapters can use it.

once again thanks Sam! *hugs*

-Kyle



 Report Review

Review #29, by TheHeirOfSlytherinHalf Of Me : The Twins

15th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

So a half sister, eh? I don't read many stories like this, he usually has a twin sister who likes Harry. But this caught my eye and I had to wonder - Lucius or Narcissa? I assume Lucius, but I could be wrong. This is fanfiction, anything is possible. :)

Does no one else know that she's Draco's sister?

I take it she'll become friends with the twins? Which, if I'm right, is something I love the idea of. Imagining the look on Draco's face when he finds out is only part of the reason why. It will be interesting to see what happens.

Haha! Rats! I can only imagine the trouble they'll be in when/if they get caught. :P

I enjoyed reading this!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #30, by TheHeirOfSlytherinThe Forgotten Child: The Leaky!

15th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

I'm really intrigued to know who Evanlea is - I know a Black, but the summary says Sirius or Orion and that's, like, a big whoa since Orion is Sirius's dad - leads to all sorts of questions. And I need answers. :D

I get why they said no to the party; I assume the family friend is Harry and the Weasleys since the girl was a Longbottom and they'd probably figure out who she is quite quickly. I'm very curious as to how people will react when they get to Hogwarts.

Adrian is a good friend. I like him. I'm glad Evanlea has him with her. :)

I enjoyed reading this.

Sam.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. You'll just have to keep reading to find out who she is 😃. And yes the party was thrown by the Wotters. Adrian really is a sweetheart, the perfect rock to lean on.



 Report Review

Review #31, by TheHeirOfSlytherinEfflorescence : The 1st of September

15th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hello!

Ah! I can only imagine what it would be like to receive your very first letter to Hogwarts; I'm pretty sure I'd be just as excited as Charlie (awesome name by the way), with everyone made at me because they were used to it. But going to Hogwarts probably wouldn't be as fun if you weren't that excited about it! Build up the anticipation. :D

I can't wait to meet her with her friends, to see what they'll all be like at Hogwarts. This was a very interesting first chapter; you've built up just enough information on Ellie and her family, what she looks like and who her best friend is, but left out enough for me to want more.

I really enjoyed reading this!

Sam.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review!! It made me smile a lot hehe. The next chapter should be up soon and it's got all Ellie's friends and everything at Hogwarts so hopefully it'll be good :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by TheHeirOfSlytherindo you think there's prozac for wizards?: alone above a raging sea

15th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

It's cool to see another take on life after the war, such as Hermione being declined going to Hogwarts. I soon as I saw the 'no', I was so worried, that it was because of something bad. But no, she's just surpassed school learning, which isn't much of a surprise really.

I can't wait for her to get to Salem. A new place, a new country; it'll be very different to what she's used to and I look forward to seeing how shell adapt and grow. I hope being somewhere new will help her to get through her grief over the war.

Her and Ron are not together! I wonder per briefly, since they're the first pairing on the summary. I wonder who the OC in Hermione/OC will be. :)

The computer website is a really cool idea! I can't imagine owls flying such a long distance.

I really enjoyed this.

Sam.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it!
I can tell you that this isn't the last of Hermione/Ron in this story...
Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #33, by TheHeirOfSlytherinLove At St. Mungo's: Chapter One

15th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hello!

So... Sorry, I'm still staring at the healer. :P Anyway, this was such a great start, I loved getting to know Cassie's character. She was obviously sucked into this other life with Ryan, but she turned it around for her kid and I like that. Right away, I can see that she's a good mum. I hope her friendship with Molly can get better again, it was fun to see them catching up and it would be awesome to see it last now that there isn't a guy getting in their way (or a guy who might help the situation by being in the way... ;)). I also hope she can do her training one day.

Ah, James Potter. Hello, James. I bet Cassie still crushes on you, James, so be nice to her and the kid. :D

No, he left! I wanna know what he wanted to say! Is he just going to give up or will he come back? OH, will he come back when he sees the competition? ;)

I bet James would be a good dad... Did I say that out loud? :P

I really enjoyed this!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hey Sam!

Whoop for blackout battle/bingo. Go Gryffie's and Snake's :D

Stare all you like, lol :p

She was suckered into it but for Gabriella she managed to turn it all around. I'm glad you think she's a good mum, everyone but Cassie thinks it so she needs all the love she can get.

Molly and Cassie have a lot of history together so a catch up was most definitely needed. Hopefully their friendship can be better again and for it to last.

Cassie hopes she can too!

James Potter, the great man himself. Hehe, Cassie still crushing on James, who'd have thought such a thing :p James is nice don't you worry.

James Potter giving up? Never. He's more than likely to turn up again, there may be a bit of rivalry between him and Ryan what with them being old dorm mates as well.

You did! And I agree, he would make a great dad.

Thanks for reviewing :D
-Potterfan310



 Report Review

Review #34, by TheHeirOfSlytherinI'll Love Her Enough For The Both Of Us: Seven days

14th March 2014:
Hey!!!

Louis is so... gah... I wanna hug him and I wanna hit him and I wanna hug him for hitting him. He knows! He can see it happening before his eyes! He just needs to put two and two together.

Horatio is so cool. Louis wants him. The love is there, give in to it. :P

It's so sad, though. I don't want him or Nikolos to be sad. It makes me sad. That's a lot of sad. I wish Nik would listen to them and stop. ;(

Horatio would so lose that fight, but I'd pay to see it. You can't beat Bill. :D

This was so awesome! I love it! I need more!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #35, by TheHeirOfSlytherinA Few Minutes More: A Few Minutes More

14th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

Yes! Swap Quidditch for writing and swap my children for my siblings and you've got me (or you've got my family dealing with younger me... except for the fire, we never let any of my family near stuff like that :P). This is definitely a moment that I think lots of people can relate and I love moments like this, because even though it's fanfiction about a magical world it makes everything seem more real and personal and awesome.

I always think that Ginny would miss Quidditch, maybe even more than Harry might, and can just imagine her trying to find just a little bit of time to play.

Aww, the end was so sweet. I was wondering what the twist would be, that it would be something good because she was thinking of the bad, and it's just so adorable to imagine her little boy getting her a drink. It's so simple, but so sweet. I loved it. I wish my little brother would be like that, but he just wants me to get him the drinks. :P

I really enjoyed reading this!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi Sam!

Ok - so I have to admit, I *swooned* when I saw you reviewed my story! I have been following you for a while. For about a year and a half, I lurked on this site and only read the stories before I bolstered up enough courage to make an account and start writing and reviewing. Silver Linings was one of my favorites! (I saw the sequel is up!)

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I'm so glad you found the story relatable. That is what I was hoping for! You made my day!!!

~Veritaserum27


 Report Review

Review #36, by TheHeirOfSlytherinFaded Light: The Sorting

14th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

I love werewolf stories. The beginning was just so... terrifying. Especially if you imagine yourself as a small child when you read it. I would not want to be anywhere near a werewolf on a full moon, but for a child it just feels worse, you know?

Regulus is so bad. I love Regulus, but he's just out of order. Which, being a Black and a Pureblood, is a given really when it comes to people they don't consider pure. You got that down well.

I love how close she seems to be with both James and Sirius. Usually it's friends with Lily and/or Remus, thinks the rest of the Marauders are annoying. But this seems different and it's fun to read. Her other friends, Jenna and Ashley, seem cool too, I look forward to seeing more of them.

What an ending! A murder in Hogwarts! I'm so... is excited a bad thing to say? As someone who loves mysteries and stories like this, I am very excited. I can't wait to see what happens next.

I really enjoyed this.

Sam.

Author's Response: Thanks! That means so much to me! I'll update soon :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by TheHeirOfSlytherinEffusive Whimsy: Nendili

14th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

I can never resist a Regulus story, so you've got me hooked from the beginning. And the brother being called Ezra (I love that name), you might just be stuck with me. :P

Intriguing beginning. I gather her friend died? Which is very sad. And the Muggle residence with the Elvish name, I gather there's a story behind that if she's keeping her mouth shut about it. I look forward to finding that out.

Isadora and Regulus will have an interesting summer, I think. Because of the place she lives and the fact that one is a Gryffindor and one is a Slytherin. And she's friends with Sirius - I wonder what he'd say.

I look forward to reading more and knowing what will happen between them.

I enjoyed reading this!

Sam.

Author's Response: First of thank you for the reviews.made my day :-)

I know, I'm absolutely hooked on stories featuring Regulus hence I chose him as a main protagonist in the story. Yes her friend did die and she is trying to move on. And the Elvish name does have a story behind it. It really will be an intriguing summer.


 Report Review

Review #38, by TheHeirOfSlytherinNeutral Hold: Our Before

14th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

I love this! Seriously love this! It's got two of my favorite characters (Hugo and Lily), an awesome cast of OCs (always good) and oh my god, the sharp wit and the banter. How could I not love it? It's awesome, got all my loves in.

I'm very interested in the first story, Georgia King - why that is important enough to be told from the very beginning, what is brings to the story. It's very... mysterious and I love mystery.

I especially love that the main characters are not so completely perfect, like the smoking and the drinking, but it's a lifestyle they seem to enjoy. You get stories where they look down on it or they do it in secret, but this isn't - or doesn't seem to be - like that.

I really enjoyed reading this and I have favorited it. I hope there is more soon. :D

SAm.

Author's Response: Thanks I appreciate it. I hope you like what's coming up too

 Report Review

Review #39, by TheHeirOfSlytherinTwenty To Seven: Twenty To Seven

14th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

This was so cute. Lily's confusion over what to do made me want to smile as well as hug her, because it's such a big step for her and you wonder if she'll go through with it, but you also know that it's fluffy James/Lily - she can't not be with James. Nervous excitement, that's what it is. :D

The end was awesome, so adorable. And a great way of them getting together; I can totally imagine James making the announcement in front of everyone then being afraid she won't come. But she did and it was awesome.

I really enjoyed reading this!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hey! I'm so glad you enjoyed reading this! :) It was just a sweet oneshot that came into my head one day. Thanks for your review, Sam!

 Report Review

Review #40, by TheHeirOfSlytherinThe Great Traits of a Gryffindor: The Traits of a Lion

13th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

I love how you managed to incorporate Slytherin into the first part; seeing how bravery would look from Slughorn's perspective was very interesting and something I agree with - for someone who isn't a Gryffindor some of the things they do can be seen as foolish straight away, whereas for Gryffindors I imagine they'd be considered foolish after. :P

I loved Bill's section, he was very cool and level headed in the pyramid, exactly how I see Bill being. I especially liked, and agree with, the end - they were probably the more courageous for following him.

Oh, Colin. I still refuse to believe he died. And he certainly showed his Gryffindor side in this section. To be honest is often the bravest thing you can do, especially if it's to other Gryffindors. But he was right, it was stupid to try again and I'm glad others agreed and they all listened.

I heard about that end bit. It was so sweet to see it in here and it definitely fits in with heart. Romilda was so good to Natalie, such an amazing friend, and it was so sad when the letters stopped. Oh, but I loved the last lines, that Natalie lived forever in her heart. It was perfect. I'm glad you chose Romilda for the end, it showed her as more than just the girl who had a crush on Harry. :)

I really enjoyed reading this!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hello Sam! I am glad I could shed some light on some of the characters that aren't really written about.

I think Colin is still alive as well, so don't worry about that ;) I just knew that the situation would have clashed with cannon if they made another attempt so I had to make it work somehow.

I always wondered what Romilda was like, and the little voice inside my head said "write her then" so I decided to give it a shot.

Yeah, everyone who followed Bill was pretty darn brave since he really had no idea where he was going...

And Slughorn, he was a character that once I thought about writing I knew I just had to.

I am happy to hear the over all feed back on this story is positive!
XOXOXOX,
LLG


 Report Review

Review #41, by TheHeirOfSlytherinA Flakey Tragedy: A Flakey Tragedy

13th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

Snape and humor should not exist together, but when they're done right, when they having me giggling like an idiot in such a way that Snape would thoroughly disapprove, they are freaking fabulous! (Yes, I did just use Snape and fabulous in the same sentence.)

You made this work so well, like he still felt the same (the insults and the remarks) but just that little bit different too (the biscuits) and just the thought that Snape would need them to maybe be that little bit... not mean had me smiling. I wonder if this would have happened in canon, if he was actually meaner because he didn't have biscuits. It's something I understand. :P

Did Hermione know about the biscuits? How? If that's what it takes for Snape to give Gryffindor points, she should probably send him more. :P

I really enjoyed reading this!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #42, by TheHeirOfSlytherinTantrum: Tantrum

13th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey, Tammi!

A story in little George's PoV. I love little twin stories, they're so adorably mischievous and this was so cool. Ginny is evil, I stand by this assessment fully. She is an evil, evil little monster with nasty tricks up her sleeve, like tantrums. Ah, they are the worst! (I should know, if any of my family had read this story they'd be swearing that you've written a story about me when I was a brat, I mean kid. :P)

I loved the end so much, the lie about it being Ron who did it. I can totally imagine the twins saying that and it was brilliant how Arthur seemed to believe them. Although, saying that he has two boys who are very well behaved was stretching it a bit. Oh, just wait till they're older. :P

I really enjoyed reading this!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #43, by TheHeirOfSlytherinFall: Fall

13th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

I can never resist a werewolf story, and this did not disappoint. When I read the summary, I was so sure that it was about the girl who was bitten, that it was the werewolf who wouldn't be able to get over the curse. So, I was completely floored when it became clear that it was the sister who couldn't. She seemed to be almost mad because of it all, being plagued by nightmares and then watching her sister not be affected by it. It was so sad.

And then the end, oh the end. I did not expect that. I didn't really expect a happy ending, but maybe I hoped that Eliza would get help, whether she asked for it or someone felt it necessary to intervene. But no, that didn't happen. And I think it makes sense for it to happen, in a twisted way that goes with her, well, twisted mind. But it was still a shock.

I really enjoyed reading this!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #44, by TheHeirOfSlytherinBattle Scars: Battle Scars

13th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

This is the second story I've read today, and ever, in which Neville learns that Snape is a hero and has a reaction to it. Both are very different in how the story is told, similar in Neville's thoughts, but equally as brilliant.

I fully agree that after everything, Neville wouldn't just accept it, that he'd hate the idea and would be unable to see Snape as anything other than evil after what he put Neville - and others - through, especially in seventh year, something Harry will never go through. You write Neville's thoughts and reaction so well, I honestly believe that he, no longer a scared boy but a hardened-by-war man, would react as badly as he does in this. Poor Neville. :(

Bringing in Hannah was great, seeing them together and knowing that they can talk about what they think, knowing that he has someone who understands and agrees with him when friends like Harry can't, was something that I think Neville really needed in that moment. I think it will be the start of something wonderful for them. ;)

I love your descriptions, they are so vivid in my mind. It was like I could see all of this, which, with a vivid imagination, is something I always love when I read. It makes the story feel more real to me.

I really enjoyed this!

Sam.

Author's Response: Oooh is there another one of these floating around somewhere? haha. I really enjoyed writing this, because it's something that I hadn't really thought of before now. But a lot of people have Neville and hannah go on their happy way like nothing happened after the war, and I don't think that that scenario is plausible at all. I think Neville would have been deeply troubled for a long time, and to see someone who stood by and did nothing as he was tortured, well, i think that would haunt him, and so that's why this story is important to me :) But I am so glad that you enjoyed it, it means a lot! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #45, by TheHeirOfSlytherinNever Forgive, Never Forget: Never Forgive, Never Forget

13th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

Poor Neville. I love Neville and I don't blame him for his thoughts, after everything he really does deserve to hate Snape no matter what the man did for the Order. It's justified after seven years of torture. But I still find it so very sad that he burnt the picture of him, Harry and Seamus - does he regret that later?

I also understand why he'd disagree with Harry and why he'd consider it wrong, but - and maybe this is just my love for Harry coming through - I'm even more sad that Neville considers it a betrayal. I dare not wonder what Neville thought when he found out Al Potter's middle name and why...

This offered a very interesting insight into Neville's mind and made me wonder exactly what he might thought about any of this if JKR had written it. But, as sad as I find it, I love your version.

I enjoyed reading this.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #46, by TheHeirOfSlytherinA Real Dark Night of The Soul: A Real Dark Night of The Soul

13th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

So, this is new. I mean, I've read quite a few Sirius stories where he's in Azkaban before, but it's usually during the first few years, dealing with the dementors and the loss of James and Lily, so I'm used to them being dark and angsty and pretty void of hope. And I see the angst in this, remembering his rash actions after his friends' murder would be so sad, but with the dream in the beginning (which I admit, I thought was real, and then wished it was when I realized it was, in fact, a dream) and the smoke, I felt... hopeful for Sirius getting out, just as he was hopeful about getting out. And I thought that was very cool.

It was intriguing to see the how his plan to escape started out, it's something I wonder about sometimes, and I could totally see this happening. Sirius would definitely have to have faith in himself to get out in order to actually do so, after years of being around dementors.

I really enjoyed this.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #47, by TheHeirOfSlytherinDetox: Regrets

13th March 2014:
Hello!

Draco's commitment to try is commendable, at least enough for me to be glad that he's doing so. I'd be freaked if my head had become filled with horrible memories of war, and yet he still got up. The Malfoy way is a powerful thing, don't you think? :P

McGonagall can be very scary when she's strict and angry, and I know she has pretty much every reason to be, but I felt this really strong need to defend Draco somehow. You made me care for him and his road to redemption - can I blame you for it? :P

(I don't blame you and your awesome abilities as a writer to make me care, but shhh, no one else needs to know that. ;))

See, people can be good to their house elves. I like that our versions of Astoria have things in common. (One day, I'll tell you a bit of headcanon about what my Astoria does to Draco.)

I never thought of Theo having a sister, or any sibling, before, mine is far too selfish to put up with one. He'd never share. But I'm glad, I like that there is more than one in the family and I hope their relationship can get better one day.

Oh, Astoria! I just know that you two are going to be perfect together. He's so handsome and mysterious and he has those beautiful grey eyes...- Girls... :P

Was it possible for someone to spend so much time surrounded by darkness and death and still turn out alright - That is a very good question. I hope the answer will be yes. (I'm pretending I don't know the epilogue and can't make a guess at the answer.)

Two wrongs do not make a right. Silly Gryffindors. Go Luna for being there and being able to stop it. I love Luna and your version of her after the war is already an intriguing one. I hope there'll be more of her (from you, one day, maybe). :D

Ooooh, Astoria and Hogsmeade. I look forward to reading that!

I'm so excited for more. I'll be back!

...But don't tell anyone I'm here, alright? I should be edited Silver Linings, not reading Detox with a jar of Nutella. Everything's better with Nutella. :D

Sam.

Author's Response: I won't tell a soul, OK? ;) Our little secret...

The Malfoy Way is sort of a powerful thing, if you think about it. It's an iron-willed insistence on never admitting defeat, even if you're pretty well defeated already. Draco is far from defeat, however, as we'll see.

You know, I never wrote this story to make people feel sorry for Draco, per se. He still has plenty of bad traits, some very prejudiced viewpoints and enough arrogance to suffocate a horse. But even at that, life was pretty awful to him at times. I just wanted to try to keep him balanced.

Astoria doesn't seem like the type to be mean to her house elves, at least not to me. I'm sure it was a point of contention between her and Draco from time to time.

Theo does indeed have a sister here, although anyone who's immersed in your Theo probably wouldn't recognize mine. Mine's not a very nice guy. Isadore is very much a "Girls..." girl.

I always enjoy writing Luna in cameo appearances, although I think writing something long about her would be incredibly hard. Getting Luna to sound like Luna for more than a few sentences would be next to impossible.

I'm excited to see what you think of the Hogsmeade visit. It doesn't go as planned...

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #48, by TheHeirOfSlytherinDetox: Turning the Corner

11th March 2014:
I love his reasoning for which classes he's going to focus on and which he doesn't care about. It's just a very... Draco thing to think. Except for the whole blood status thing, it's a very Sam thing to thing. Priorities and stuff, if it's not worth it I won't do it. I liked seeing it in here. :)

Go McGonagall! There's the stern yet fair woman you shouldn't cross that I know. The trust she's put in Draco is a very big step that could lead to a small amount of progress. I hope Draco can keep his word and not ruin it.

:O The good girl caught in a forbidden romance with the bad boy, their love hidden from her disapproving father. The scandal! :P

If I made that sound like a cliche RomCom/drama, I give you my sincerest apologies because it is so not. You don't write it like a cliche, it's not what I think when I read it. Mostly, I think 'Go Astoria!' and grin while reading, but also that I love them and they deserve this and you write the progression of their romance so well and it's nice to see and I love them. I know I said that twice, but I don't care because that's how much I love them. And this story.

Aww, practically glowing. It was so sweet.

I CAN'T HANDLE THE INNUENDOS!!!

Okay, I had to pause for a little bit and laugh, but I'm back now... no, I'm not... yes, I am.

I freaking love Isadore!

It was so adorable how clueless Astoria was. Her parents are all for the sheltered life, aren't they?

And BOOM, bombshell. They're planning her life while Astoria is at school. I hope they realize she isn't going to take it before it's too late and she leaves them to be with Draco.

Next chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi!

So I knew that I needed the scene with McGonagall, but I think it would have felt horribly awkward to just launch right into that conversation with no setup. So I thought about what classes he was taking and how he would approach his exams. The rest just fell right onto the page. I'm glad you concur!

I'm also really pleased that you like McGonagall. I think of her as being too much of a educator at heart to continue to hold Draco back if he made it obvious that he was really, sincerely trying. She will never agree with most of the choices he made in the past, but in the present he is her student and on that basis alone, she wants him to succeed.

Yes, Astoria, the cliche good girl who fell for the bad boy. Except there's a lot more to the two of them. At least I hope there is. The longer they're together, the more good Draco is becoming and, I guess, the more Astoria is dabbling on the "bad girl" side. It's healthy for her, I think.

Ha! I've grown to love the innuendos because face it: I can't write what actually happened without getting banned! Honestly, though, what happened wasn't all that bad. Nothing that curious teenagers haven't been doing since time immemorial. But you're right, Astoria is **very** clueless when it comes to boys and girls and the things they get on about when nobody else is around. And she's not quite brave enough to just follow her instincts. Astoria is a studier and a planner. She doesn't like leaving important things to chance. And in her mind, she's built up Draco's happiness -- mental and physical -- to be a very important thing. I imagine that's what you get conditioned to think in such a patriarchal society. She needs some quality Hermione Time to set her head straight. ;)

Yes, her father and mother have been busy in her absence, and not in a good way. The confrontation is coming, and I hope when it comes that you'll like how it plays out. In the end, at least. I'm pretty sure that you won't like parts of it.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #49, by TheHeirOfSlytherinDetox: Reconnecting

11th March 2014:
He still needed Zabini's help to persuade Emery Montague that he should attend in Montague's place - Not impersonating? Now I'm seriously wonder how he's going to get to a party where the bride's family don't like him...

Ah, Gamp. I remember him and his deranged mind from Conspiracy of Blood. Is it weird that I've missed it? I can't help it, my love dark and twisted characters/stories is pushing through. It's awesome. You write it brilliantly.

Well done, Draco, for his ability to lie on the spot and not flinch. War taught him valuable things.

Can I still hope that Lucius has nothing to do with it. The evidence is kind of overwhelming right now, but after everything Draco is trying to do, it would suck for Draco and Narcissa. And he's clearly not in his right mind. So, I shall still hope. Or hope Draco can get him out of it.

I also hope that Theo has nothing to do with it, but that's just my personal love for him coming through. You can ignore that.

I love the conversation between Astoria and Narcissa. Honest moments and it was kind of sweet, but still felt like she was talking to Narcissa Malfoy not someone else. Which was cool.

Appreciate his courage, Astoria. No one else is...

Ha! Your A/N - there should be a Jeremy Gamp warning. :P

Next chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi, Sam! I am determined to get all of these reviews responded to. So determined that I'm even making time during a work trip after having several IPA's with dinner. Forgive me if this response wanders a bit...

You had it right in the last review. Draco is planning to impersonate Emery Montague in order to infiltrate the wedding. That's how he'll get past Astoria's family. Astoria's parents really need to lighten up, if you ask me. They should probably have an IPA and relax.

Yes, it's the same Gamp, only in his formative years. He's perhaps a bit less crazy because he hasn't been to prison yet. But he's still sociopathic and deranged and prone to drinking too much. He'd probably bypass the IPA and move straight to the strong stuff.

Draco has a strong game when it comes to lying. It's a skill that he honed during the war. You can definitely hope that Lucius is not involved. You might even be right. The old man is not in a good way, as you can probably tell.

I loved every bit of writing Astoria and Narcissa. Narcissa has a tendency to be a scene-stealer in my stories. There's something about her, the way she presents this very different ideal of motherhood compared to Molly or Lily Potter. She has totally different values, but in the end she doesn't love her family any less.

Astoria is starting to realize just how strong and brave Draco really is. But there's still more to learn.

Thanks so much for all of the awesome reviews. If we ever meet, I'll buy you an IPA. ;)


 Report Review

Review #50, by TheHeirOfSlytherinDetox: Old Habits

11th March 2014:
So I've not read it all, that last review should say. Also, Astoria's thoughts on eloping reminded me of what Draco said in the last chapter, which made me smile, then wonder if they were thinking too far ahead, then laugh for wondering. :P

Anyway, dress fittings. I've suffered through a few, I feel her pain. I didn't get champagne, though. Sucks to be me. :P

The conversation between Astoria and her mother escalated badly, didn't it? I didn't assume anything when her mother came in, but when she mentioned Emery I wasn't surprised. I was surprised by what came out of the conversation - after her father's words of giving Astoria freedom and choice, I thought that she could choose who she dated. That approval was what she would find important, not that they'd pick someone.

I'm not surprised by the idea of marriage prospects being chosen and arranged marriages, as they are Pureblood and I figured it would come up, just the idea of them going through with it. Poor Astoria.

I'm starting to hope she runs away with Draco when she's seventeen, unless she can get her parents to change her mind.

He better not still be drinking...

...The first paragraph! God, Draco. Although, I like the moderation bit.. I don't want him to be like before.

Did you just hint at slash...?

so, I take it that Draco wants to... impersonate Emery to be Astoria's date? Yes? Well, it would explain how he could get to the wedding, since Astoria and Daphne's parents hate him (I read the chapter summaries). Interesting.

Draco treading on dangerous ground, I think. Agreeing to listening, I know he doesn't want any part in it, but I hope he manages to get out before he's caught.

And Jeremy Gamp is part of it? Would Astoria's father like that?

Next chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi, again!

I think it's safe to say that both of them are thinking too far ahead at this point in the story. Not for bad reasons, mind you, but too far ahead nonetheless. Bad, old Dan still has lots of nasty curveballs to throw at them before we can hear wedding bells. ;)

I couldn't imagine anyone making it through Daphne's dress fitting without help, not even Daphne. Daphne goes a bit too far with the help, though.

Astoria lets her frustration get the best of her while talking to her mother. Just one more instance where I'm hoping that her true age shows through a little. I've always felt like she seems too mature at the start of the story. Here, you see her reacting to a temporary setback more like you'd expect a teenage girl to react. "My life is over..."

Her parents' approval *is* important to Astoria, but not so important that she's going to even consider marrying Emery Montague. Let's just say that she's keeping all of her options open at this point.

I think I more than just hinted at slash. :p

You've got it spot on. Draco plans to use polyjuice to take Emery's place and spend the evening with Astoria. It's not the world's best thought out plan, as you'll see, but after surviving the war Draco has some difficulty assessing danger. Everything seems like a piece of cake compared to serving Voldemort.

Astoria's father would not be pleased at all if he know that Daphne's fiancee was dabbling in revolution. Unfortunately, he doesn't find out for quite a while.

Onwards! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>