Reading Reviews From Member: TheHeirOfSlytherin
  
853 Reviews Found

Review #26, by TheHeirOfSlytherinGone: I'll Love You Long After You're Gone, Gone, Gone

20th May 2014:
Hey!

Sam here for the Slytherin review exchange. :D

I was filled with such hope in the beginning of this story - not a lot because of the title and the song, but I wanted to hope. The girl Blaise wanted was finally looking at him and things were looking good and it was nice.

The way he feels for her, the want to look after her and protect her, was so sweet. It made me so happy for them.

Then the end comes and he can't look at the pictures and there's a little girl who looks and acts so much like Charlotte that it must kill Blaise a little. But he's such an awesome daddy. I only have one question: how is she gone? Which is a question you probably expect. It's not like I'm confused or anything about you omitting it, it's more like, "Why was she taken away when they were so happy?" *cue tears*

Finally, a Blaise story! I love Blaise! I'm so glad you wrote about Blaise!

I loved reading this. Hopefully, I'll be back soon. :)

Sam.

Author's Response: Hello Sam!

I am sorry there was not much room for hope with the title and song chosen. I really had no other way around it- the song has so much hope and love in it but I had to take it away for the makings of a decent tale. I really hope I did make you cry! (I have a bad habit of doing that...) I actually have written about Blaise quite a bit, I just never post the stories. Thanks for reviewing Sam!

XOXOXO,
LLG


 Report Review

Review #27, by TheHeirOfSlytherinBeat It: Cody McIntyre

20th May 2014:
That was an awesome game. I was, like, tense, on the edge of my seat, like I was really watching a game, just waiting for the winner. Cody was awesome, though he always is, so I was pleasantly surprised that he didn't get them the points they needed to win. Roxanne is an awesome Beater, though. And she knew who to go for. :P

Aww, they're going to be great friends, I can tell. She'll love Cody. And he knows what he's talking about when he says not getting caught and risking your career is worth it, since he's in love with the Puddlemere Chaser and they're not allowed together. ;)

Oh, no! James! ;( I hope Albus is okay as well, that he's checked on. I'm so sad for them. Will Jason be there for Roxanne?

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #28, by TheHeirOfSlytherinA Spoonful of Sugar: Thirteen

10th May 2014:
Thirteen, it took thirteen chapters for me get a finally! She's admitted she likes him. YAY!!! (Since it took 24 chapters for Louis to kiss Ciaran, I won't say anything other than yay. :P)

I don't like snow either. Snow sucks. I like that Darcy and I have this in common... most people think I'm weird.

They always have their big moments in the broom closets. You do realize I expect snogging in there, too? :P

Ugh, admitting your wrong. That sounds so bad. Luckily, I never need to do that... ;)

Can't wait for the next chapter, Cassie! :D

Sam.

Author's Response: Darcy is so stubborn that I wasn't sure she would admit her feelings by chapter thirteen! I honestly thought it would take longer, but then I started writing and it just felt like the right time.
The snow thing was just a little thing I added because its one more detail about Darcy that baffles Louis. Lucy and Lysander have gotten used to her little quirks by now but Louis has a lot to learn!
Oh, the broom closests. You'll just have to wait and see if they're back there again!
I think admitting she's wrong is going to be harder for Darcy than admitting she likes Louis! Haha.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter Sam! Thank you so much for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by TheHeirOfSlytherinI am alpha: I am alpha

9th May 2014:
This was a really interesting take on Greyback and how he acts as a werewolf. I really enjoyed reading this, especially with how he treats the moon - almost as if it's a real, living person in control of him.

I liked this. :)

Sam.

Author's Response: Thank you :) Maybe I'll do more late-night impulse writing!

- Leonore


 Report Review

Review #30, by TheHeirOfSlytherinI'll Never Let You Have Her: Music to my ears

3rd May 2014:
Aww, Horatio shares a bed with him. And they gave in to their feelings (and they will again...) and starting a chapter with Loratio feels was just so cool. Now I want more, though...

Oooh, be annoyed, Louis. I'd be annoyed too if I didn't want people waking up my kid... but Sam is awake. Phew, Horatio is safe. :P

Aww, she's so adorable.

Horatio is right, Louis should so be getting money from Freya and I'd want him to do it if I didn't hate her so much that she needs to stay away completely... She can wire the money.

Aww, Louis and Rachel sitting in a tree... just as soon as he stops being a creepy, starey wuss and asks her. ;)

I can't wait for more, Tammi! I know it's going to be awesome!

Sam.

Author's Response: Haha oh Loratio! Horatio and Louis don't care for boundaries or personal space! Haha there will be more Loratio feels... soon... hopefully :P

I'm glad that you like Samantha. :D

Oh yes, he needs to get all the monies from Freya, but Louis wants nothing to do with her, so he's avoiding her. Yes! Wiring the money seems like a good option.

:P He'll stop being creepy soon... although creepy runs in his family so maybe not. :P

Thank you Sam. You're awesome!! More shall be soon! :D


 Report Review

Review #31, by TheHeirOfSlytherinI'll Love Her Enough For The Both Of Us: Not Going Back

3rd May 2014:
Oh, no! Tammi! Louis has yet to have sense knocked into him and Nikolos is in jail and it's just all the sad feels in this chapter. ;(

Horatio is joining me with the sad feels. I'll look after him in our corner, I promise. Of course, he's part of the family. How could he not be? *hugs*

Louis is so committed for deciding not to go to Hogwarts to look after his daughter instead of his family doing it. That's so amazing and so Louis, I don't think he'd have lasted if Freya had stayed either. He's so much better than her. Ugh, I hate her.

It's still sad, though. I hope Horatio makes seventh year difficult for her, even if it is just telling the school what she did.

Loved this so much! Now to the sequel because I refuse to say goodbye to this story for even a moment!

Sam.

Author's Response: I know! I know! He needs so much sense knocked into him. And my poor Nikolos is in jail, I wished it didn't happen... but it has to. I'll have to visit him. :D

It's just such a sad last chapter, Horatio needs you to look after him. I'm useless, I'm still crying about Nikolos.

Oh Louis, how I wish you would have gone back to Hogwarts, but he can't do that to his family. He definitely wouldn't have lasted if he went back, I think that they all knew that deep down. Yes! Hate Freya! We can all rejoice in our hate for her!

Horatio will do everything in his power to make it difficult for her, which I will write about for the spin off series. :D

Thank you so much Sam! I hope that you enjoy the sequel and thank you so so much for all of your help with the stories and for sticking by them and reviewing! :D *hugs tightly*


 Report Review

Review #32, by TheHeirOfSlytherinAlways, For You: Lost

3rd May 2014:
Ahh, scary dreams. I take it that was Eros? He's a horrible person, I don't want him to hurt Garrett (I'm trying not to imagine him with Chris Pine's face, it helps to hate him).

I like Natalie, she's nice. Probably just a minor character, or a cameo, but I hope she comes back.

And we're in Austin... Next stop: Garrett!

Can't wait for the next chapter! :D

Sam.

Author's Response: I loved writing Natalie, I'm glad I changed what happened to her at the end of the story.
And yep that was him, he won't be back for a couple more chapters.
an yep Garret shall be back soon and for a couple chapters it shall just be a big ball of fluff.
Thanks for the Review Sam!
-kyle


 Report Review

Review #33, by TheHeirOfSlytherinI'll Love Her Enough For The Both Of Us: I'll Love Her Enough For The Both Of Us

23rd April 2014:
She left! I'm sorry to anyone who sees this and liked her or felt sorry for her, but... *happy dances*

Haha, don't take the baby from Kieron. That is quote possibly the smartest thing anyone could have thought of... but I want someone to punch Ted.

BOOM! And it's Bill. I'm actually so glad it is. Go Bill, you awesome! I hate Ted. And Freya. And that family. Ugh.

I don't want them to be sad about her leaving. I want them to be mad, and them glad. She's evil. She had to go.

Aww, Loratio. It's so canon. Sorry Molly, but Louis, Horatio and Sam are the most adorable family ever. We needs it.

BLAISE! Ah, yes! Go Blaise! He'll make sure Bill is fine, might even get Ted in jail instead. ;)

Oh, no. Nikolos. ;( My world has suddenly turned upside down.

And the title. You ended the chapte with the title, oh god! The feels!

I need the next chapter! Like now. It's too much to not have it. :D

Sam.

Author's Response: Yes! She finally left! We can all cheer! I know everyone wants to :D *throws party*

Oh no, none of them will take the baby from Kieron. Oh don't worry someone will hurt Ted. :D

And yes... it was Bill!! He is so awesome!

Aww they need to be sad, at least for a small amount of time. Louis is hurting.

Loratio is totally canon now! I can't deny their love anymore! They would make an adorable family.

Haha Blaise could so put Ted in jail!

I know! My poor baby! *hugs Nikolos tight* I think I'm the most protective over him, he just needs a better life and some guidance and love.

Yep! I ended the chapter with the title! I had to!

The next chapter is soon! I promise!!


 Report Review

Review #34, by TheHeirOfSlytherinI'll Love Her Enough For The Both Of Us: I need you

16th April 2014:
Oh, you never listen to Kieron when it comes to alcohol. Lots of other things, maybe, depending on why he's giving it/telling you, but never alcohol. :P Poor Louis.

Aww, he's so tired. And Horatio is just not helping by rubbing it in. Bad Horatio.

Haha, Audrey is crazy. I love her!

Uh oh... Uh oh... No, don't cry, Louis! It's for the best, honest! We don't like her! *hugs Louis*

Kieron knows... Does he? Of course he does. He knows a lot.

Aww, he'll be an awesome dad... in his own way.

So scared for the next chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Haha Louis has now learnt that fact, he should have listened to James. Kieron can not be trusted.

I know! Poor Louis, Horatio should be making him feel better, not laughing.

Yes!I love Audrey too. :D She's brilliant!

I know :( I don't want Louis to cry. It makes me feel so sad.

Kieron knows that something is happening, he just doesn't know what.

Oh yeah, Kieron and Dom will make a beautiful family... or Kieron and Nik :P

Thanks Sam! :D


 Report Review

Review #35, by TheHeirOfSlytherinFatal Flaw: Telling James

15th April 2014:
Hello!

I said I'd be checking your account and here I am. :D

I really enjoyed this, it's the start of what I suspect might be an awesomely bad but funny plan in which Albus might just get the guy (because I want him to). Though it's how they get there that I can't guess and very much look forward to. :D

My only suggestion is a read-though, to split lines of speech between Al and James so there on separate lines. It got a little confusing.

I look forward to more!

Sam.

Author's Response: Yeah okay! I'll try next time! Thanks for checking it out!

 Report Review

Review #36, by TheHeirOfSlytherinI'll Love Her Enough For The Both Of Us: Nicknames and party time

14th April 2014:
Ahhh! New chapter!

The nicknames are just adorable! Oh, Louis. We keep giving him ones he hates. Maybe we should stop? ...Nah. :P Bill's was just awesome, though. Bill is awesome. We need more Bill.

No. Just no. Bill will never get old, he'll never lose his amazing hair for reasons I'm happy only I know. ;) Kieron is such a big meanie for saying bad things... but I forgive him because I love him.

Freya... it's a hard situation, I won't lie. Some people in the world are probably thinking similar things right now... I still don't like her.

Haha, Horatio! Louis! Horatio and Louis! Totally gonna happen, you can't ignore anymore. :D

This was awesome!

Oh, my God... the next chapter...

Sam.

Author's Response: Yay! New chapter! I was updating quickly for you all :P

Haha we really do. :P We're so mean aren't we :P Although I'm loving puddles.

Bill would never lose his hair... especially for those reason's we may have had a discussion about. :P Haha we can always forgive Kieron. :P

Oh Freya, it is a hard situation, I do feel sorry for her though.

I can't deny it, I really really can't. ;(


 Report Review

Review #37, by TheHeirOfSlytherinBeat It: The problem with Fred

5th April 2014:
You know, one of the things I love so much when I read your stories is figuring out which parts I already know. :P

It was rather cute, watching her hide behind the corner and have to tell herself to knock. It's the sort of thing you'd do when trying to work up the courage to talk to your crush.

Lee is such an adorable kid. I can't believe he's Fred and Leanne's.

Connections! Poor Albus. ;(

Her way of letting off steam is really cool. I'd do that, too.

I'm so glad that both George and Angelina are supportive of whatever relationship Roxanne might (will) have with Jason. Especially George; I kind of expect it from Angelina somehow, but George was a wonder. :D

I need more!

Sam.

Author's Response: That's what I love about your stories as well! I love seeing pieces of information in your stories and giggling because I knew it already. :P

Awww Roxanne just becomes so shy around Jason, if that was any one else she wouldn't be hiding. She definitely likes him.

I know! He came from two really mean parents.

Poor Albus :(

I figured that was more fitting for a Beater, it was the only thing I could think of haha. :P

Yes, they are both very supportive, they know that Roxanne isn't an idiot so they trust her judgement. Haha, we shouldn't laugh. :P

MOre is soon! I'm hoping tonight! :D

Thanks Sam!! :D


 Report Review

Review #38, by TheHeirOfSlytherinBeat It: A Mistake

5th April 2014:
Winston would be sad - sure. ;)

Ahh, so close to more kissing and she runs away. And he's shy. And gah, no, they need the love. The love is there. :D

This creepy guy is starting to freak me out a little. I hope he goes away. Like, now. Or soon. I also wanna know who he is...

Don't avoid him, Roxy! He loves you! I bet she can't. :P

Awesome chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Oh yeah, it's definitely Winston that would be sad. :P

I know! They need to kiss, it's frustrating! Roxanne is not listening to me! Oh yeah, Jason is very shy. :P But the love is totally there! They just need to see it.

He creeps me out too, it'll all come out soon He's not going anwyhere anytime soon.

She can't avoid him for long :P we all know that!

Thanks for the awesome review Sam! :D


 Report Review

Review #39, by TheHeirOfSlytherinBeat It: Winston

5th April 2014:
Aw! Stop being so adorable! It's so hard to think straight, or anything at all that goes past aw. I just love them together so much. Jason and Roxanne and Winston and all Turner/Weasley babies they will have together; awesome, little Quidditch obsessed family. *hugs them*

Just an hour. Ha! I bet not. :P

Aww, he got hurt. I don't want his thoughts of Roxanne to cause him physical injuries, even if it's a just distraction because he loves her so much. Just imagine when they're together and have kids; how distracted will he be then? ;)

Loved this!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hahah they are pretty adorable aren't they? YES! Yes the needs to happen! :D

It was definitely longer than an hour that nap, she just doesn't want to leave.

Poor Jason, Roxanne should make him feel better I think? She is the reason that he's hurt. :P Haha he would be very distracted when that happens!

Thanks for reading and reviewing Sam! :D


 Report Review

Review #40, by TheHeirOfSlytherinBeat It: Elixir

5th April 2014:
Guess who's back, back, back. Back again.

...I couldn't help myself. :P

Clubbing! It's so exciting! Because I just know Jason will be there, he's never too far away from his Roxy. ;)

Lily and Lysander! Cool. They seem to be the popular choice if Lily were to be with one of the Scamander boys. I wonder why the is. :)

And there's Jason! :D Shots are always a good idea, that'll get them closer together. :P

Aww, poor Violet. I hope they stop these creepy stalkers soon. But I know Shawn will protect her. Are they together? Should they be? :P

Finally? Do I get to announce that to the world? No? Because it stopped. Sad times, my friend. They should be together forever. But aww, the things Jason said to her while she was sleeping. He's so lovely. They so love each other. :D

Awesome chapter, Tammi! Onwards.

Sam.

Author's Response: Sam is back! Tell some friends!

Haha I love that song!

Yes! it is exciting! I'm excited! things are going to happen! He can never resist his Roxy. :P

Haha are they? Maybe I should have chosen Lorcan instead :P

Haha Jason has the best ideas! :P

I feel so sorry for Violet, but Shawn is there for her, he'll protect her! I'm not sure if they're together... I probably should have thought about that... I'm going to say... they like each other! :D

Haha you want to announce to the world? What are we announcing? Haha if only they didn't stop, but Jason is a gentleman. He really has fallen for her badly.

Thank you, Sam! I love your reviews! :D You're the best!


 Report Review

Review #41, by TheHeirOfSlytherinI'll Love Her Enough For The Both Of Us: Seeing Nikolos

5th April 2014:
Is she not gone yet? ...Sorry, I didn't mean to say that out loud.

Anyway... Their Hogwarts letters have arrived. I dread to think what will go through poor Louis' mind soon... So soon... *cough* It must be weird to get a letter after leaving for a lot of sixth year.

Horatio is so adorable, but so lazy. Too lazy to apparate; now I know just how much.

We're going to see Nikolos! Yeah, I sung that.

ITS THE CHAPTER! ITS HERE! Haha, oh, the things that went on between Nik, Kieron and Dom. Although, you have to admit, Nik and Kieron would be kinda scary when together. Awesome, but very volatile. :P

I hate Richard. So. Much. He needs to go.

Aww, they have tension, but they still care. I'd totally be rooting for Nik/Kieron if I didn't know about... a certain someone. ;)

This was awesome, I can't wait for more!

Sam.

Author's Response: :P No not yet. :P

Yes, that must have been really hard for Freya. Hahaha you know so much already. :P

Horatio is incredibly lazy, he seems to just get lazier when he's not around Louis. I have no idea how he'll even get through life if Louis wasn't there. :D

Yes! It's the chapter where you find out all about Nik/Kieron/Dom! Oh yeah, they would be so scary! I'd hate to be in the room. actually I would love to be in the room. :P

I hate him too! So very much!

Yes, tension! Hahaha I would root for them too if I didn't know about a certain someone either. :P

Thank you Sam!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #42, by TheHeirOfSlytherinI'll Love Her Enough For The Both Of Us: Volunteering

28th March 2014:
Louis should be with Sam all the time. They're like glue - Louis, Horatio and Sam, one big happy family. Yes. *nods* :D

Horatio and Alyssa are so adorable together. That was just a perfectly lovely moment. Aww, I'm still not over how lovely that was. I loved it so much.

George was awesome!

I wonder what the letter said.

Four more days... *hides*

Can't wait for the next chapter, Tammi!

Sam.

Author's Response: Haha they are like glue! The best little family ever. :D

Horatio is the best big brother ever. He spoils Alyssa a lot. :D

George is always awesome. Can he be any other way?

Oh those letters! Stop hiding stuff Freya!

*hides too*

I can't wait to see what you think! :D


 Report Review

Review #43, by TheHeirOfSlytherinThe Price of Redemption: The Price of Redemption

24th March 2014:
A Hagrid story! Cool. I don't read many Hagrid stories. Given the title, the summary and him dressing up I guess he's going to the Ministry for a hearing or something to help clear his name for what happened when he was in school? Which I really hope they can do.

Ooh, yes, a full-on hearing, it seems. I'm very nervous. *Wishes Hagrid good luck with Ginny*

It's sad that even after a war that was partly about blood purity (at least for the Pureblood Death Eaters), prejudice is still the biggest issue in Hagrid's case. Understandable to see it and naive to think that centuries of these thoughs would just go away, but still sad. Especially when Hagrid is innocent and would still have his wand if not for Voldemort. I really hope they can help.

Oooh, using Harry's influence. And use it Harry did. For his friend, and a worthy cause (and I don't think that Harry would actually put his name on the list if it wasn't true... is it true?... maybe. Because Harry is good, deep down. I guess we'll see).

Aww, poor Harry. He made the best of a bad situation; it was harsh and it upset him, but I believe that. So maybe he can have a little fun at the party.

Aww, they fixed his wand! That'd be, like, the best present ever after having the pieces for so long. I wish the Elder wand weren't so powerful and persuasive, for a scary moment I thought Harry was going to keep it... Then again, it wouldn't be the Elder wand if it didn't do that.

Brilliant one-shot!

Sam.

P.S. I have nothing left of yours to review... Weird. :P

Author's Response: I really need to get writing again. I think that's an inescapable conclusion of this exercise. Yes, need to write again.

I haven't read very many Hagrid stories either, which is partly why I wanted to write this one. I feel a little bad for the big guy, like his story was left much more in limbo than a lot of the other major characters.

Prejudice never goes away as quickly or as completely as we'd like. Just because the war is over and Voldemort lost, it doesn't mean that a lot of the same sentiment doesn't still linger. It just becomes unfashionable to express those views in polite company. What I liked about Wilton Anderson is that he's not actually a pureblood extremist. He's a half-blood wizard whose family worked hard to overcome the prejudice of the pureblood elite. The problem is that he took all the wrong lessons away from that experience. I think of him as being very similar to the Tea Party set in the U.S. When their grandparents were taking advantage of government assistance during the Great Depression, they saw that as the government "taking care of its own". Now that they've "made it" they call the same sorts of social programs "handouts" and say that they encourage laziness and dependency. Enough soap-boxing, though.

Harry does use his influence, and in a way that's really tricky to justify from a moral standpoint. You can condemn the choice that he makes almost as easily as you can rationalize it, and that was sort of the point. There's no black and white here. He's faced with a no-win situation and he makes what he thinks is the best choice at the time. I'm sure that Dumbledore was in the same spot many times as he struggled with the moral implications of using Harry to destroy Voldemort. In a sense, Harry finds himself in a microcosm of Dumbledore's situation. Dumbledore chose to serve "The Greater Good" at the expense of one person while Harry chooses to save one person at the expense of high-minded ideas of right and wrong. I think it says something about each of them.

Several times, I have nearly gone back and deleted the section at the end where Harry uses the Elder Wand to mend Hagrid's broken wand. I'm just not sure how well it really meshes with the rest of the story, and I'm also not sure it's something that Harry actually would have done. The Elder Wand was meant to be sealed away forever. Eh, still not sure about that...

I'm really pleased that you liked this. I was taking a much-needed break from CoB at the time, and the story actually ended up being a lot more than I'd planned on.

Gah, I need to go write more. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #44, by TheHeirOfSlytherinSlytherin Career Day: A Long Day in the Dungeons

24th March 2014:
Only Severus Snape would find a spring day depressing. :P

Oh, Slytherin career day. Given what he said about his House up being used to having things handed to them, that sounds like the scariest, longest day ever. How will Snape cope? Will he end up hexing one of his one Slytherins? :P

Oh, Crabbe. Mental is probably not enough to describe just how scary he is sometimes... Fire. The dreamy look. His sister?

...I'm not freaked out. Not even a little... Maybe a little. He and his fire can stay far away from me.

I think I may be starting each line for a new character with an oh... Oh, Pansy. :P When someone asks about your future, I don't think husband plans is what they mean. And all the signatures were a little creepy. I agree with Snape: Stalker.

Oh, Goyle. The poor boy is just so lost in his own. I almost felt the urge to give him a hug. Almost.

Oh, Dan (but you get a good one). How are you going to top Draco's career plan? Because I just laughed out loud in a flat with five other people in it. :P I did not see that one coming... And Snape is helping him!

Oh, Daphne. So close. Both for Snape and for me; he got her to think about a job, I laughed out loud. But he said job and it didn't top Draco's. :P

Oh, Blaise. He and Draco are tied. Haha! I can't stop laughing! But I agree with Snape on this, too: that is not a career.

The Gryffindors didn't do so well either, I see. But at least some actually named jobs... :P

I loved this so much! It was so funny, my cheeks still hurt! :D

Sam.

Author's Response: OK, so now that that 1,000 reviews thing is over and done with...

This story was such a flight of fancy for me. There was just no guarantee at all as to how it was going to turn out. It was certainly a challenging day for Snape.

Poor Crabbe. Small wonder things ended so badly for him. The sister was a random thought that popped into my head as I was editing his section. I think it was the icing on the creepy cake.

Pansy was actually where the genesis of the story came from. I took a throw-away line from Roots In Water's "Wilted Flower" and ran with it. She does, at this point, think that her whole life is figured out. Boy, is she in for some unpleasant surprises...

Goyle is completely, totally lost. He has no clue what to do with his life, except that he intends to do whatever Draco is doing.

If you were Draco, how would you not be inspired by your father's long, flowing locks? And if you're Snape, with your oily, drooping hair, how would you not want to capture a bit of Lucius's magic for yourself?

Snape nearly experiences success with Daphne, but he blows it at the last moment. If only he'd thought it through a little better.

Zabini's section was actually the first one I wrote. I always envisioned that guy as a stone cold player. I'll never see it any other way, really. I cannot discuss this rationally.

Sorry about your cheeks, but I'm really glad that you enjoyed it! It was a mountain of fun to write. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #45, by TheHeirOfSlytherinWaiting Room: Green Eyes Against Blinding White

24th March 2014:
The loss of memory just makes the fact so much worse somehow, because we know and we're just waiting for the character to catch up. And we let them try to figure it out and then they panic, but we still wish it was a horrible dream and we're waiting, begging for them to wake up. Only they're not. And then BAM, it hits them like cold water and we're crying all over again.

Poor James, he's bringing out all the facts but not putting it all together, just that he's dead and he doesn't know about his wife and baby yet and, gah, it's so sad. I don't want him to be a shell of who he was, stuck in this white place alone, I want him alive and happy and with his family. ;(

It's not his fault. Can I hug him? I'm gonna hug him.

Lily! I was so scared he was gonna be alone for a minute. But she's here and they know Harry's alive. It makes me feel just a little better.

And they know about Peter. I know there's nothing they can do about, being dead, but I wondered if James was going to yell or try to do something, and then he just surrendered to it, asked Lily why, and that just felt way worse than anything because there's nothing he can do and can only wonder why. It felt like a very big impact on this story. At least, to me.

I kind of hope they never find out Sirius goes to Azkaban. And I wish Harry had been able to go to Frank and Alice's.

And now they wait. :(

I loved this so much!

Sam.

Author's Response: Gah! I feel horrible, taking so long to get to all of these reviews. At least the unanswered reviews page of the Archives isn't giving me a headache with its color scheme, unlike the rest of the site.

Some psychologists believe that the brain uses forms of amnesia to protect a person from memories that are too terrible to deal with. I won't say for sure whether that's what's happening with James at the start of this, but it's certainly a possibility. I never like to make a reader cry, but I'm glad that you could feel James's pain when he figures out what's happened.

Feel free to hug him as much as you want. :)

It's funny how long it took me to write the section of this where James is alone compared to how long it took to write the rest of it. Once Lily arrives, I felt more relaxed and things just sort of flowed better. I think perhaps I empathize with James a lot more than I realize.

It didn't take Lily too long to work things out regarding Peter. Which is good, because I don't think James could have gotten there on his own. He's just too used to thinking of Peter in such a way that he could never imagine the backstabbing little rat betraying anyone.

My first draft of this story was actually longer. After some amount of time -- I don't think the passage of time is very linear in this place -- Sirius joins them and then Remus. And I had it in my head that at the moment Harry uses the Resurrection Stone, he would sort of "appear" in their world just as they appeared in his. I just couldn't get it to work out right. I'm pretty happy with where I ended it.

I'm glad that you liked it! Sorry for taking so long to respond. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #46, by TheHeirOfSlytherinHeading Out to the Highway: Decompression

24th March 2014:
*listening to the song before I read*

I'm on my iPad and I don't have the song on here, so I couldn't do both. :P

The song fits awesomely well with Sirius, I could just imagine the song being about a moment like this while I was listening to it. He'd definitely wanna be reckless, acting like he's got nothing to lose after being with his family, especially If he's just found out about his brother's dark mark.

The relationship between Sirius and Regulus, any what ifs they might have had, like with what you put about Sirius having the time to try and do something but didn't because he was having fun with his friends, is - to me - a time when better late than never really doesn't work. Which makes me sad; they're family and they should love each other and Regulus basically just wants to be appreciated, but no one is listening until it's too late and he's roped into things a child shouldn't be in. And I like that Sirius acknowledges it, knows there's blame everywhere, but it's still too late and I'm still sad.

I'm pretty sure I held my breath for a minute and forgot the bike would fly and that Sirius would probably cheat until the worst possible moment and I was so sure he'd do something stupid and crash... right until he didn't and I was, like, phew. :P

This was so cool!

Sam.

P.S. I remember your blog about song fics and your list and talking about Bad to the Bone and Ron and humor and I wanted to tell you, but forgot - I have one! It's half done and on my computer. Maybe one day I'll finish it. :P

Author's Response: It's a great song, isn't it? Doesn't it just scream "Sirius Black"? Angry Sirius Black. Reckless, carefree Sirius Black. Sirius Black who's just had a blowout row with the rest of his crazy family. Good, it isn't just me.

Sirius didn't seem like the type to not feel *any* responsibility for how Regulus turned out. He's way too Gryffindor. We tend to believe that we can fix anything that's wrong with the world if we just figure out the right thing to do. You're right that there isn't much point in Sirius second-guessing his past decisions, but there also isn't much point in drag-racing guys in Jaguars on twisty back roads. He's a creature of impulse, not really a deep thinker. That was Remus's department.

If you think it scared you a little, imagine being the guy in the Jag! It was very juvenile and more than a little cruel of Sirius, but that's just the type of mood he was in.

I'm really glad you liked it! I would kill to read your take on Ron and George Thorogood. Seriously, PM it to me even if you never post it!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #47, by TheHeirOfSlytherinFear and Loathing in Branson: Around the World, Wizarding Style

24th March 2014:
This was a lot of fun to read. Rick's reactions had me chuckling the whole time. Crazy things can happen when you decide to talk to random people in bars; he got a load of things he didn't get... or believe. :P

Neville and sex is an odd thing to see together in my head. I don't know why, but he's so sweet and nice and, yeah he helped Dumbledore's Army and he killed the snake, but he's still just Neville in head. But the fact that he was running away from it was very Neville. So it was awesome and funny to read.

And then Luna comes and Rick has just had enough. Good job she obliviates him. I wonder just how much trouble Neville might have gotten in for telling him all of this. :P

This was a really fun read!

Sam.

Author's Response: Ha! I'm always amazed when somebody finds good things to say about my House Cup challenge entry. I literally -- this is the honest truth, not one of those exaggerated literallies -- threw this story together in four hours of off-and-on writing, took two hours to edit it, had one person proof it and then posted it. Since then I've fixed maybe two typos and took out a reference to something that WTM and A-wiz reminded me that I'm not allowed to reference. Maybe I should speed-write everything.

Rick was based on several of my uncles. Amiable fellows, all, given to enjoying a beer or five and listening to other people spin tall tales.

For some reason, I've always thought that the idea of Neville and Luna having a very brief, very physical relationship after the war was hilarious. I can picture her being completely uninhibited and Neville being constantly freaked out by that but also feeling too lucky to let it stop him. And then one day it just gets to be too much for him and the next thing you know, he's holding down a barstool in Branson, Missouri.

Luna cleaned up Neville's mess for him, which was nice of her. But I'm sure he'll pay a price once he wakes up. ;)

I'm glad you enjoyed it. I think this story has given readers more enjoyment per minute of effort on my part than anything else I've ever written. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #48, by TheHeirOfSlytherinThe Puzzle: Fun for the Whole Family

24th March 2014:
THIS WAS THE BEST THING EVER!!!

And that, my friend, was me being calm. :P

I don't even know where to begin with gushing. Probably from the beginning, but my thoughts are a basic mix of 'OMG' and 'God, Ginny'. :P Okay, so... I love love love that Harry tried to bring them all together, even when he started to get a little crazy. No, especially when he started to get a little crazy. There are just no words to adequately describe my love for Harry in this moment.

I'm so glad that Dudley and his kids were there, because it's nice to see that he isn't completely forgotten. Yes, he was a horrible child, but he's still family and I don't think he'd just disappear. Like father, like children. :P

Ron was awesome in this. Really trying to help everyone. I hope Harry gets him and extra extra special present.

And Ginny... God, Ginny... She's a fun drunk. She should be drunk again. :D

Probably just a personal thing, but how ungrateful. :P No, but jig saw puzzles are the best things ever. Ah, I want it. It's so cool!

I loved this so much!

Sam.

Author's Response: Whee! I'm so pleased that you liked this! The idea came to me as I was working a puzzle with my kids one evening. I was looking at the picture on the box and I wondered whether pictures on puzzle moved in the magical world. It all snowballed from there.

I always felt like Harry had the capacity to get a bit obsessive over things, like horcruxes for instance. But here I pushed the concept as far as I could imagine it going. I was definitely channeling a bit of Clark Griswold at the end of Christmas Vacation. Failure was no longer an option. The family was going to finish that puzzle or die trying.

I don't think I could ever forget Dudley after the way we saw him at the beginning of Deathly Hallows. The Dementors really did scare a bit of sense into him at the start of OotP.

I'm sure Harry got Ron something really nice for Christmas that year. And I'm sure Ron was awkward about it.

Ah, Ginny. I have to admit, I love writing her as a bit of a lush. Throw in some lush, a seething dislike of the Dursleys, a lot of snark and just a pinch of nympho and you have a hilarious Ginny. Every good Harry story should have one.

I felt kind of similar about Lily, but I keep reminding myself that she is ten years old. Kids that age don't have really well developed senses of gratitude.

Wow, I think this is the most positive reaction I've gotten to this story. Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #49, by TheHeirOfSlytherinMarked: The Price of Living

24th March 2014:
If memorizing things like family history is the best way of keeping your mind focused on things other than lingering doubts about the Dark Lord, I'd be dead. My memory sucks worse than Draco's.

:O Arguing! I was almost expecting one of them to slap or curse the other, the seemed so mad by this. Also, his just pointed out in the last chapter that Bellatrix was mad; why, oh why, did he think a spell she knew would be beneficial? I know he wants to stay alive, but he hasn't lost his mind. Be wary.

That's a horrible spell.

*Whispers* He's here... Dun, dun, dun... I don't know why I like doing that. But he's here and Draco is sat among him and it's all very creepy and I'm just waiting for bad things to happen.

...Torture. There it is. It wouldn't be a Death Eater meeting without it.

Draco's turn! The dread is building and I'm very nervous for him, I hope the family history thing works. It seems to be, a little. I thought something really bad would happen when Draco gave an honest answer, but I know Voldemort has a plan.

...To kill Dumbledore. It's horrible that he used Narcissa to get Draco to say yes, but to be expected I think, since he doesn't seem to want it.

And now we know what happens next. I still wish they'd been able to run.

This was awesome, Dan! I loved every second of it! :D

Sam.

Author's Response: The technique Bellatrix is trying to teach Draco is more or less exactly what Narcissa calls it: a parlor trick. It never would have worked as intended. I really liked creating tension between the two Black sisters because it dovetailed so well with the way we see them at odds over whether to trust Snape at the start of HBP.

I don't think Draco trusts Bellatrix as much as he's just desperate and willing to try anything. Besides, it isn't as though she gives him much of a choice.

I've always imagined Draco's audience with Voldemort as being a truly horrible experience. By the time we see him on the train at the start of HBP, he's a completely different character from the Draco we saw at the end of OotP. I tend to think that his brush with the Dark Lord turned his world upside down.

The fact that Draco gave Voldemort an honest answer -- even one that he didn't really care for -- was probably what kept him alive. Voldemort has no interest in dealing with another Lucius, blustering and brown-nosing and ultimately falling on his face. Draco either succeeds and rids the world of Albus Dumbledore or he fails and dies, showing the other Death Eaters the price Lucius paid for disappointing the Dark Lord. Either way, Voldemort gets something he wants.

Running would have been the smart move, but that ship sailed very shortly after Voldemort fled the Ministry. Once Draco left Hogwarts and returned home, there was nowhere to run to.

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed it! It was a lot of fun to write and it set the stage for the Draco that we see in Detox. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing it!


 Report Review

Review #50, by TheHeirOfSlytherinMarked: That Which Must Be Done

24th March 2014:
He only wishes it was a dream, or he will if he doesn't already. Attacking a hospital, there is just something about it that doesn't sit right with a person, even a Malfoy. That was low even for Death Eaters, you know? Uncivilized is a word you could use... evil is another, but maybe only a none-Death Eaters might that.

I have to admit, I did worry that it was really Bellatrix and I was almost afraid that Moody had lost his touch when she came in. But then I realized Moody was way too awesome and got suspicious... since I didn't think he was dead. :P

Ah, man, that warmed area of his crotch was an even harsher blow to his ego than Pansy walking away. Not that he doesn't deserve the blows, but you've now made me see that Tonks can be scary when she's angry. I don't want to make her angry.

Cut your losses and run, Draco. It's the smart thing to do. *knows he won't! but kinda hopes anyway*

Was the Dark Lord really so much worse? - I get the feeling you're going to pop that bubble so thoroughly, Draco won't know what hit him.

Aww, her favorite uncle is dead. The evilness of the Death Eaters knows no bounds; Did Voldemort do it or Bella?

Anyone who chose to give their life to the Dark Lord had to be stark, raving mad. - And he's starting to get it... Voldemort is coming and no one is going to stop it, because despite what I hope, running will be insanely stupid. Now. Now it can think poor Draco.

Nervously anticipating the final chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Draco is living an unending, waking nightmare at this point. Things keep getting worse and worse, and every time he allows himself to think that they *might* be getting a little better it turns out to be very short-lived.

I'm not sure I could picture Lucius or any of the "respectable" Death Eaters attacking a hospital. Avery? Sure. But not the men of means. That was my thinking, anyway.

No shame in thinking that might have been Bellatrix. That was the idea. Moody hasn't lost his touch, in fact he just gets sneakier the older he gets.

As much as I loved writing Tonks in the second chapter, this was even more fun. She terrorizes her cousin and enjoys every second of it. The only things she doesn't like is when Moody makes her stop.

It would have been smart to cut his losses and run, but he would never do that where family is concerned.

The Dark Lord is much, much worse. Draco just has no frame of reference to imagine how much worse he really is. All in good time...

In my mind, it was Bella who killed Uncle Augustus. It's the sort of thing she would relish doing in order to demonstrate her loyalty to the Dark Lord and her ruthlessness in dealing with those who might even think of opposing him.

Yes, now he finally gets it. Too little, too late, but he gets it. Voldemort is coming, in the very next chapter. I'm excited to see what you think of it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>