Reading Reviews From Member: TheHeirOfSlytherin
  
824 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TheHeirOfSlytherinI'll love her enough for the both of us: I need you

16th April 2014:
Oh, you never listen to Kieron when it comes to alcohol. Lots of other things, maybe, depending on why he's giving it/telling you, but never alcohol. :P Poor Louis.

Aww, he's so tired. And Horatio is just not helping by rubbing it in. Bad Horatio.

Haha, Audrey is crazy. I love her!

Uh oh... Uh oh... No, don't cry, Louis! It's for the best, honest! We don't like her! *hugs Louis*

Kieron knows... Does he? Of course he does. He knows a lot.

Aww, he'll be an awesome dad... in his own way.

So scared for the next chapter.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #2, by TheHeirOfSlytherinFatal Flaw: Telling James

15th April 2014:
Hello!

I said I'd be checking your account and here I am. :D

I really enjoyed this, it's the start of what I suspect might be an awesomely bad but funny plan in which Albus might just get the guy (because I want him to). Though it's how they get there that I can't guess and very much look forward to. :D

My only suggestion is a read-though, to split lines of speech between Al and James so there on separate lines. It got a little confusing.

I look forward to more!

Sam.

Author's Response: Yeah okay! I'll try next time! Thanks for checking it out!

 Report Review

Review #3, by TheHeirOfSlytherinI'll love her enough for the both of us: Nicknames and party time

14th April 2014:
Ahhh! New chapter!

The nicknames are just adorable! Oh, Louis. We keep giving him ones he hates. Maybe we should stop? ...Nah. :P Bill's was just awesome, though. Bill is awesome. We need more Bill.

No. Just no. Bill will never get old, he'll never lose his amazing hair for reasons I'm happy only I know. ;) Kieron is such a big meanie for saying bad things... but I forgive him because I love him.

Freya... it's a hard situation, I won't lie. Some people in the world are probably thinking similar things right now... I still don't like her.

Haha, Horatio! Louis! Horatio and Louis! Totally gonna happen, you can't ignore anymore. :D

This was awesome!

Oh, my God... the next chapter...

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #4, by TheHeirOfSlytherinBeat it: The problem with Fred.

5th April 2014:
You know, one of the things I love so much when I read your stories is figuring out which parts I already know. :P

It was rather cute, watching her hide behind the corner and have to tell herself to knock. It's the sort of thing you'd do when trying to work up the courage to talk to your crush.

Lee is such an adorable kid. I can't believe he's Fred and Leanne's.

Connections! Poor Albus. ;(

Her way of letting off steam is really cool. I'd do that, too.

I'm so glad that both George and Angelina are supportive of whatever relationship Roxanne might (will) have with Jason. Especially George; I kind of expect it from Angelina somehow, but George was a wonder. :D

I need more!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #5, by TheHeirOfSlytherinBeat it: A Mistake

5th April 2014:
Winston would be sad - sure. ;)

Ahh, so close to more kissing and she runs away. And he's shy. And gah, no, they need the love. The love is there. :D

This creepy guy is starting to freak me out a little. I hope he goes away. Like, now. Or soon. I also wanna know who he is...

Don't avoid him, Roxy! He loves you! I bet she can't. :P

Awesome chapter!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #6, by TheHeirOfSlytherinBeat it: Winston

5th April 2014:
Aw! Stop being so adorable! It's so hard to think straight, or anything at all that goes past aw. I just love them together so much. Jason and Roxanne and Winston and all Turner/Weasley babies they will have together; awesome, little Quidditch obsessed family. *hugs them*

Just an hour. Ha! I bet not. :P

Aww, he got hurt. I don't want his thoughts of Roxanne to cause him physical injuries, even if it's a just distraction because he loves her so much. Just imagine when they're together and have kids; how distracted will he be then? ;)

Loved this!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #7, by TheHeirOfSlytherinBeat it: Elixir

5th April 2014:
Guess who's back, back, back. Back again.

...I couldn't help myself. :P

Clubbing! It's so exciting! Because I just know Jason will be there, he's never too far away from his Roxy. ;)

Lily and Lysander! Cool. They seem to be the popular choice if Lily were to be with one of the Scamander boys. I wonder why the is. :)

And there's Jason! :D Shots are always a good idea, that'll get them closer together. :P

Aww, poor Violet. I hope they stop these creepy stalkers soon. But I know Shawn will protect her. Are they together? Should they be? :P

Finally? Do I get to announce that to the world? No? Because it stopped. Sad times, my friend. They should be together forever. But aww, the things Jason said to her while she was sleeping. He's so lovely. They so love each other. :D

Awesome chapter, Tammi! Onwards.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #8, by TheHeirOfSlytherinI'll love her enough for the both of us: Seeing Nikolos

5th April 2014:
Is she not gone yet? ...Sorry, I didn't mean to say that out loud.

Anyway... Their Hogwarts letters have arrived. I dread to think what will go through poor Louis' mind soon... So soon... *cough* It must be weird to get a letter after leaving for a lot of sixth year.

Horatio is so adorable, but so lazy. Too lazy to apparate; now I know just how much.

We're going to see Nikolos! Yeah, I sung that.

ITS THE CHAPTER! ITS HERE! Haha, oh, the things that went on between Nik, Kieron and Dom. Although, you have to admit, Nik and Kieron would be kinda scary when together. Awesome, but very volatile. :P

I hate Richard. So. Much. He needs to go.

Aww, they have tension, but they still care. I'd totally be rooting for Nik/Kieron if I didn't know about... a certain someone. ;)

This was awesome, I can't wait for more!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #9, by TheHeirOfSlytherinI'll love her enough for the both of us: Volunteering

28th March 2014:
Louis should be with Sam all the time. They're like glue - Louis, Horatio and Sam, one big happy family. Yes. *nods* :D

Horatio and Alyssa are so adorable together. That was just a perfectly lovely moment. Aww, I'm still not over how lovely that was. I loved it so much.

George was awesome!

I wonder what the letter said.

Four more days... *hides*

Can't wait for the next chapter, Tammi!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #10, by TheHeirOfSlytherinThe Price of Redemption: The Price of Redemption

24th March 2014:
A Hagrid story! Cool. I don't read many Hagrid stories. Given the title, the summary and him dressing up I guess he's going to the Ministry for a hearing or something to help clear his name for what happened when he was in school? Which I really hope they can do.

Ooh, yes, a full-on hearing, it seems. I'm very nervous. *Wishes Hagrid good luck with Ginny*

It's sad that even after a war that was partly about blood purity (at least for the Pureblood Death Eaters), prejudice is still the biggest issue in Hagrid's case. Understandable to see it and naive to think that centuries of these thoughs would just go away, but still sad. Especially when Hagrid is innocent and would still have his wand if not for Voldemort. I really hope they can help.

Oooh, using Harry's influence. And use it Harry did. For his friend, and a worthy cause (and I don't think that Harry would actually put his name on the list if it wasn't true... is it true?... maybe. Because Harry is good, deep down. I guess we'll see).

Aww, poor Harry. He made the best of a bad situation; it was harsh and it upset him, but I believe that. So maybe he can have a little fun at the party.

Aww, they fixed his wand! That'd be, like, the best present ever after having the pieces for so long. I wish the Elder wand weren't so powerful and persuasive, for a scary moment I thought Harry was going to keep it... Then again, it wouldn't be the Elder wand if it didn't do that.

Brilliant one-shot!

Sam.

P.S. I have nothing left of yours to review... Weird. :P

Author's Response: I really need to get writing again. I think that's an inescapable conclusion of this exercise. Yes, need to write again.

I haven't read very many Hagrid stories either, which is partly why I wanted to write this one. I feel a little bad for the big guy, like his story was left much more in limbo than a lot of the other major characters.

Prejudice never goes away as quickly or as completely as we'd like. Just because the war is over and Voldemort lost, it doesn't mean that a lot of the same sentiment doesn't still linger. It just becomes unfashionable to express those views in polite company. What I liked about Wilton Anderson is that he's not actually a pureblood extremist. He's a half-blood wizard whose family worked hard to overcome the prejudice of the pureblood elite. The problem is that he took all the wrong lessons away from that experience. I think of him as being very similar to the Tea Party set in the U.S. When their grandparents were taking advantage of government assistance during the Great Depression, they saw that as the government "taking care of its own". Now that they've "made it" they call the same sorts of social programs "handouts" and say that they encourage laziness and dependency. Enough soap-boxing, though.

Harry does use his influence, and in a way that's really tricky to justify from a moral standpoint. You can condemn the choice that he makes almost as easily as you can rationalize it, and that was sort of the point. There's no black and white here. He's faced with a no-win situation and he makes what he thinks is the best choice at the time. I'm sure that Dumbledore was in the same spot many times as he struggled with the moral implications of using Harry to destroy Voldemort. In a sense, Harry finds himself in a microcosm of Dumbledore's situation. Dumbledore chose to serve "The Greater Good" at the expense of one person while Harry chooses to save one person at the expense of high-minded ideas of right and wrong. I think it says something about each of them.

Several times, I have nearly gone back and deleted the section at the end where Harry uses the Elder Wand to mend Hagrid's broken wand. I'm just not sure how well it really meshes with the rest of the story, and I'm also not sure it's something that Harry actually would have done. The Elder Wand was meant to be sealed away forever. Eh, still not sure about that...

I'm really pleased that you liked this. I was taking a much-needed break from CoB at the time, and the story actually ended up being a lot more than I'd planned on.

Gah, I need to go write more. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by TheHeirOfSlytherinSlytherin Career Day: A Long Day in the Dungeons

24th March 2014:
Only Severus Snape would find a spring day depressing. :P

Oh, Slytherin career day. Given what he said about his House up being used to having things handed to them, that sounds like the scariest, longest day ever. How will Snape cope? Will he end up hexing one of his one Slytherins? :P

Oh, Crabbe. Mental is probably not enough to describe just how scary he is sometimes... Fire. The dreamy look. His sister?

...I'm not freaked out. Not even a little... Maybe a little. He and his fire can stay far away from me.

I think I may be starting each line for a new character with an oh... Oh, Pansy. :P When someone asks about your future, I don't think husband plans is what they mean. And all the signatures were a little creepy. I agree with Snape: Stalker.

Oh, Goyle. The poor boy is just so lost in his own. I almost felt the urge to give him a hug. Almost.

Oh, Dan (but you get a good one). How are you going to top Draco's career plan? Because I just laughed out loud in a flat with five other people in it. :P I did not see that one coming... And Snape is helping him!

Oh, Daphne. So close. Both for Snape and for me; he got her to think about a job, I laughed out loud. But he said job and it didn't top Draco's. :P

Oh, Blaise. He and Draco are tied. Haha! I can't stop laughing! But I agree with Snape on this, too: that is not a career.

The Gryffindors didn't do so well either, I see. But at least some actually named jobs... :P

I loved this so much! It was so funny, my cheeks still hurt! :D

Sam.

Author's Response: OK, so now that that 1,000 reviews thing is over and done with...

This story was such a flight of fancy for me. There was just no guarantee at all as to how it was going to turn out. It was certainly a challenging day for Snape.

Poor Crabbe. Small wonder things ended so badly for him. The sister was a random thought that popped into my head as I was editing his section. I think it was the icing on the creepy cake.

Pansy was actually where the genesis of the story came from. I took a throw-away line from Roots In Water's "Wilted Flower" and ran with it. She does, at this point, think that her whole life is figured out. Boy, is she in for some unpleasant surprises...

Goyle is completely, totally lost. He has no clue what to do with his life, except that he intends to do whatever Draco is doing.

If you were Draco, how would you not be inspired by your father's long, flowing locks? And if you're Snape, with your oily, drooping hair, how would you not want to capture a bit of Lucius's magic for yourself?

Snape nearly experiences success with Daphne, but he blows it at the last moment. If only he'd thought it through a little better.

Zabini's section was actually the first one I wrote. I always envisioned that guy as a stone cold player. I'll never see it any other way, really. I cannot discuss this rationally.

Sorry about your cheeks, but I'm really glad that you enjoyed it! It was a mountain of fun to write. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by TheHeirOfSlytherinWaiting Room: Green Eyes Against Blinding White

24th March 2014:
The loss of memory just makes the fact so much worse somehow, because we know and we're just waiting for the character to catch up. And we let them try to figure it out and then they panic, but we still wish it was a horrible dream and we're waiting, begging for them to wake up. Only they're not. And then BAM, it hits them like cold water and we're crying all over again.

Poor James, he's bringing out all the facts but not putting it all together, just that he's dead and he doesn't know about his wife and baby yet and, gah, it's so sad. I don't want him to be a shell of who he was, stuck in this white place alone, I want him alive and happy and with his family. ;(

It's not his fault. Can I hug him? I'm gonna hug him.

Lily! I was so scared he was gonna be alone for a minute. But she's here and they know Harry's alive. It makes me feel just a little better.

And they know about Peter. I know there's nothing they can do about, being dead, but I wondered if James was going to yell or try to do something, and then he just surrendered to it, asked Lily why, and that just felt way worse than anything because there's nothing he can do and can only wonder why. It felt like a very big impact on this story. At least, to me.

I kind of hope they never find out Sirius goes to Azkaban. And I wish Harry had been able to go to Frank and Alice's.

And now they wait. :(

I loved this so much!

Sam.

Author's Response: Gah! I feel horrible, taking so long to get to all of these reviews. At least the unanswered reviews page of the Archives isn't giving me a headache with its color scheme, unlike the rest of the site.

Some psychologists believe that the brain uses forms of amnesia to protect a person from memories that are too terrible to deal with. I won't say for sure whether that's what's happening with James at the start of this, but it's certainly a possibility. I never like to make a reader cry, but I'm glad that you could feel James's pain when he figures out what's happened.

Feel free to hug him as much as you want. :)

It's funny how long it took me to write the section of this where James is alone compared to how long it took to write the rest of it. Once Lily arrives, I felt more relaxed and things just sort of flowed better. I think perhaps I empathize with James a lot more than I realize.

It didn't take Lily too long to work things out regarding Peter. Which is good, because I don't think James could have gotten there on his own. He's just too used to thinking of Peter in such a way that he could never imagine the backstabbing little rat betraying anyone.

My first draft of this story was actually longer. After some amount of time -- I don't think the passage of time is very linear in this place -- Sirius joins them and then Remus. And I had it in my head that at the moment Harry uses the Resurrection Stone, he would sort of "appear" in their world just as they appeared in his. I just couldn't get it to work out right. I'm pretty happy with where I ended it.

I'm glad that you liked it! Sorry for taking so long to respond. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by TheHeirOfSlytherinHeading Out to the Highway: Decompression

24th March 2014:
*listening to the song before I read*

I'm on my iPad and I don't have the song on here, so I couldn't do both. :P

The song fits awesomely well with Sirius, I could just imagine the song being about a moment like this while I was listening to it. He'd definitely wanna be reckless, acting like he's got nothing to lose after being with his family, especially If he's just found out about his brother's dark mark.

The relationship between Sirius and Regulus, any what ifs they might have had, like with what you put about Sirius having the time to try and do something but didn't because he was having fun with his friends, is - to me - a time when better late than never really doesn't work. Which makes me sad; they're family and they should love each other and Regulus basically just wants to be appreciated, but no one is listening until it's too late and he's roped into things a child shouldn't be in. And I like that Sirius acknowledges it, knows there's blame everywhere, but it's still too late and I'm still sad.

I'm pretty sure I held my breath for a minute and forgot the bike would fly and that Sirius would probably cheat until the worst possible moment and I was so sure he'd do something stupid and crash... right until he didn't and I was, like, phew. :P

This was so cool!

Sam.

P.S. I remember your blog about song fics and your list and talking about Bad to the Bone and Ron and humor and I wanted to tell you, but forgot - I have one! It's half done and on my computer. Maybe one day I'll finish it. :P

Author's Response: It's a great song, isn't it? Doesn't it just scream "Sirius Black"? Angry Sirius Black. Reckless, carefree Sirius Black. Sirius Black who's just had a blowout row with the rest of his crazy family. Good, it isn't just me.

Sirius didn't seem like the type to not feel *any* responsibility for how Regulus turned out. He's way too Gryffindor. We tend to believe that we can fix anything that's wrong with the world if we just figure out the right thing to do. You're right that there isn't much point in Sirius second-guessing his past decisions, but there also isn't much point in drag-racing guys in Jaguars on twisty back roads. He's a creature of impulse, not really a deep thinker. That was Remus's department.

If you think it scared you a little, imagine being the guy in the Jag! It was very juvenile and more than a little cruel of Sirius, but that's just the type of mood he was in.

I'm really glad you liked it! I would kill to read your take on Ron and George Thorogood. Seriously, PM it to me even if you never post it!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by TheHeirOfSlytherinFear and Loathing in Branson: Around the World, Wizarding Style

24th March 2014:
This was a lot of fun to read. Rick's reactions had me chuckling the whole time. Crazy things can happen when you decide to talk to random people in bars; he got a load of things he didn't get... or believe. :P

Neville and sex is an odd thing to see together in my head. I don't know why, but he's so sweet and nice and, yeah he helped Dumbledore's Army and he killed the snake, but he's still just Neville in head. But the fact that he was running away from it was very Neville. So it was awesome and funny to read.

And then Luna comes and Rick has just had enough. Good job she obliviates him. I wonder just how much trouble Neville might have gotten in for telling him all of this. :P

This was a really fun read!

Sam.

Author's Response: Ha! I'm always amazed when somebody finds good things to say about my House Cup challenge entry. I literally -- this is the honest truth, not one of those exaggerated literallies -- threw this story together in four hours of off-and-on writing, took two hours to edit it, had one person proof it and then posted it. Since then I've fixed maybe two typos and took out a reference to something that WTM and A-wiz reminded me that I'm not allowed to reference. Maybe I should speed-write everything.

Rick was based on several of my uncles. Amiable fellows, all, given to enjoying a beer or five and listening to other people spin tall tales.

For some reason, I've always thought that the idea of Neville and Luna having a very brief, very physical relationship after the war was hilarious. I can picture her being completely uninhibited and Neville being constantly freaked out by that but also feeling too lucky to let it stop him. And then one day it just gets to be too much for him and the next thing you know, he's holding down a barstool in Branson, Missouri.

Luna cleaned up Neville's mess for him, which was nice of her. But I'm sure he'll pay a price once he wakes up. ;)

I'm glad you enjoyed it. I think this story has given readers more enjoyment per minute of effort on my part than anything else I've ever written. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by TheHeirOfSlytherinThe Puzzle: Fun for the Whole Family

24th March 2014:
THIS WAS THE BEST THING EVER!!!

And that, my friend, was me being calm. :P

I don't even know where to begin with gushing. Probably from the beginning, but my thoughts are a basic mix of 'OMG' and 'God, Ginny'. :P Okay, so... I love love love that Harry tried to bring them all together, even when he started to get a little crazy. No, especially when he started to get a little crazy. There are just no words to adequately describe my love for Harry in this moment.

I'm so glad that Dudley and his kids were there, because it's nice to see that he isn't completely forgotten. Yes, he was a horrible child, but he's still family and I don't think he'd just disappear. Like father, like children. :P

Ron was awesome in this. Really trying to help everyone. I hope Harry gets him and extra extra special present.

And Ginny... God, Ginny... She's a fun drunk. She should be drunk again. :D

Probably just a personal thing, but how ungrateful. :P No, but jig saw puzzles are the best things ever. Ah, I want it. It's so cool!

I loved this so much!

Sam.

Author's Response: Whee! I'm so pleased that you liked this! The idea came to me as I was working a puzzle with my kids one evening. I was looking at the picture on the box and I wondered whether pictures on puzzle moved in the magical world. It all snowballed from there.

I always felt like Harry had the capacity to get a bit obsessive over things, like horcruxes for instance. But here I pushed the concept as far as I could imagine it going. I was definitely channeling a bit of Clark Griswold at the end of Christmas Vacation. Failure was no longer an option. The family was going to finish that puzzle or die trying.

I don't think I could ever forget Dudley after the way we saw him at the beginning of Deathly Hallows. The Dementors really did scare a bit of sense into him at the start of OotP.

I'm sure Harry got Ron something really nice for Christmas that year. And I'm sure Ron was awkward about it.

Ah, Ginny. I have to admit, I love writing her as a bit of a lush. Throw in some lush, a seething dislike of the Dursleys, a lot of snark and just a pinch of nympho and you have a hilarious Ginny. Every good Harry story should have one.

I felt kind of similar about Lily, but I keep reminding myself that she is ten years old. Kids that age don't have really well developed senses of gratitude.

Wow, I think this is the most positive reaction I've gotten to this story. Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #16, by TheHeirOfSlytherinMarked: The Price of Living

24th March 2014:
If memorizing things like family history is the best way of keeping your mind focused on things other than lingering doubts about the Dark Lord, I'd be dead. My memory sucks worse than Draco's.

:O Arguing! I was almost expecting one of them to slap or curse the other, the seemed so mad by this. Also, his just pointed out in the last chapter that Bellatrix was mad; why, oh why, did he think a spell she knew would be beneficial? I know he wants to stay alive, but he hasn't lost his mind. Be wary.

That's a horrible spell.

*Whispers* He's here... Dun, dun, dun... I don't know why I like doing that. But he's here and Draco is sat among him and it's all very creepy and I'm just waiting for bad things to happen.

...Torture. There it is. It wouldn't be a Death Eater meeting without it.

Draco's turn! The dread is building and I'm very nervous for him, I hope the family history thing works. It seems to be, a little. I thought something really bad would happen when Draco gave an honest answer, but I know Voldemort has a plan.

...To kill Dumbledore. It's horrible that he used Narcissa to get Draco to say yes, but to be expected I think, since he doesn't seem to want it.

And now we know what happens next. I still wish they'd been able to run.

This was awesome, Dan! I loved every second of it! :D

Sam.

Author's Response: The technique Bellatrix is trying to teach Draco is more or less exactly what Narcissa calls it: a parlor trick. It never would have worked as intended. I really liked creating tension between the two Black sisters because it dovetailed so well with the way we see them at odds over whether to trust Snape at the start of HBP.

I don't think Draco trusts Bellatrix as much as he's just desperate and willing to try anything. Besides, it isn't as though she gives him much of a choice.

I've always imagined Draco's audience with Voldemort as being a truly horrible experience. By the time we see him on the train at the start of HBP, he's a completely different character from the Draco we saw at the end of OotP. I tend to think that his brush with the Dark Lord turned his world upside down.

The fact that Draco gave Voldemort an honest answer -- even one that he didn't really care for -- was probably what kept him alive. Voldemort has no interest in dealing with another Lucius, blustering and brown-nosing and ultimately falling on his face. Draco either succeeds and rids the world of Albus Dumbledore or he fails and dies, showing the other Death Eaters the price Lucius paid for disappointing the Dark Lord. Either way, Voldemort gets something he wants.

Running would have been the smart move, but that ship sailed very shortly after Voldemort fled the Ministry. Once Draco left Hogwarts and returned home, there was nowhere to run to.

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed it! It was a lot of fun to write and it set the stage for the Draco that we see in Detox. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing it!


 Report Review

Review #17, by TheHeirOfSlytherinMarked: That Which Must Be Done

24th March 2014:
He only wishes it was a dream, or he will if he doesn't already. Attacking a hospital, there is just something about it that doesn't sit right with a person, even a Malfoy. That was low even for Death Eaters, you know? Uncivilized is a word you could use... evil is another, but maybe only a none-Death Eaters might that.

I have to admit, I did worry that it was really Bellatrix and I was almost afraid that Moody had lost his touch when she came in. But then I realized Moody was way too awesome and got suspicious... since I didn't think he was dead. :P

Ah, man, that warmed area of his crotch was an even harsher blow to his ego than Pansy walking away. Not that he doesn't deserve the blows, but you've now made me see that Tonks can be scary when she's angry. I don't want to make her angry.

Cut your losses and run, Draco. It's the smart thing to do. *knows he won't! but kinda hopes anyway*

Was the Dark Lord really so much worse? - I get the feeling you're going to pop that bubble so thoroughly, Draco won't know what hit him.

Aww, her favorite uncle is dead. The evilness of the Death Eaters knows no bounds; Did Voldemort do it or Bella?

Anyone who chose to give their life to the Dark Lord had to be stark, raving mad. - And he's starting to get it... Voldemort is coming and no one is going to stop it, because despite what I hope, running will be insanely stupid. Now. Now it can think poor Draco.

Nervously anticipating the final chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Draco is living an unending, waking nightmare at this point. Things keep getting worse and worse, and every time he allows himself to think that they *might* be getting a little better it turns out to be very short-lived.

I'm not sure I could picture Lucius or any of the "respectable" Death Eaters attacking a hospital. Avery? Sure. But not the men of means. That was my thinking, anyway.

No shame in thinking that might have been Bellatrix. That was the idea. Moody hasn't lost his touch, in fact he just gets sneakier the older he gets.

As much as I loved writing Tonks in the second chapter, this was even more fun. She terrorizes her cousin and enjoys every second of it. The only things she doesn't like is when Moody makes her stop.

It would have been smart to cut his losses and run, but he would never do that where family is concerned.

The Dark Lord is much, much worse. Draco just has no frame of reference to imagine how much worse he really is. All in good time...

In my mind, it was Bella who killed Uncle Augustus. It's the sort of thing she would relish doing in order to demonstrate her loyalty to the Dark Lord and her ruthlessness in dealing with those who might even think of opposing him.

Yes, now he finally gets it. Too little, too late, but he gets it. Voldemort is coming, in the very next chapter. I'm excited to see what you think of it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by TheHeirOfSlytherinMarked: No Way Out

24th March 2014:
I don't know who this Auror is, he might just be a cameo with no name, but I like him. Just a little bit. Just enough to smile when he goes against Draco; there was even a little shiver when Draco did. Don't mess with an angry Auror.

He should really listen to his mother and stop arguing; you can tell he's not fully aware of his situation just yet. To fight with her about what she's doing and feeling as though he doesn't know her. To feel like he could spit on her if she were someone else, was too mean of him. I've gone from wanting to kick Ron to wanting to kick Draco... as well. :P

You - I bet he is starting to get it now. Making friends with Aurors seems like a pretty good idea now.

*In Gary Oldman's voice in OotP* Bellatrix Lestrange. I was waiting for her to show up and I'm more freaked out than I thought I'd be, which is always cool (that sounds weird, but it's not - you get it). Even when she's acting sweet and familial, it's sinister and scary and weird and I don't like it, I wanted to run away like Draco wanted to and Narcissa practically did. And that is why I loved it. :D

Things are happening!

Sam.

Author's Response: The Auror is just a one-chapter character with no particular back story or future aside from the fact that his mentor was killed by Rodolphus Lestrange during the Death Eaters' escape from Azkaban. I thought about trying to make him something more, but I didn't see where that added enough to make it worth the complexity. He's just a messenger, in a sense, delivering another dose of the message that hasn't made it through Draco's thick skull just yet.

He really should listen to his mother, but the gravity of the situation hasn't quite hit him yet. Don't worry, it will hit him just about... now.

I love writing Bellatrix. Nobody bring the crazy quite like Madam Lestrange. I think she's almost *more* creepy when she's trying to act all caring and familial because you know it's exactly that. An act. Not even an especially good acting job, to be honest. She really doesn't know how to properly relate to other human beings in a caring way and it shows.

Things are happening, alright. And the pace just keeps accelerating. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by TheHeirOfSlytherinMarked: Kick Me

24th March 2014:
One wrong thing - admittedly, it is a really bad thing - and they all cut him loose. I'd say poor Draco, but given how full of himself he was in the last chapter, we're not yet at the stage where I like him enough to give him sympathy. Nope, I'll just sit and watch them walk away. Particularly Pansy, since he was sleeping with her; that was just a harsh blow to his ego and his respect.

Does he never learn? Potter has people everywhere and he never loses; if Voldemort can't kill him, how can Draco think he can make the guy pay? :P It wasn't even a nice try, Draco is just having a really bad few days (which will only get worse, I imagine).

Tonks! I love that Tonks is in this; she's just awesome. And apparently knows exactly what to say to get to Narcissa, which is always good because it's sometimes nice to see that you can get a reaction out of her. Moody's, though, that was the best.

Draco definitely needed to hear what she had to say about Andromeda. It made me sad to imagine her marking their birthdays, but not getting to celebrate with them. They're not good, but they're still family, so I can definitely see it hurting her. :(

Loved this!

Sam.

Author's Response: As the old saying goes, "when you're at the top, there's only one way to go." Aside from not wanting to have their names or reputations tainted by Draco's father's disgrace, I imagine that there was a lot of payback involved in the way that his housemate treat him after the battle in the Department of Mysteries. He's spent most of his life looking down his nose at the rest of his peer group. I'm sure their families suffered the occasional slight at the whim of Lucius and Narcissa. Now it's all coming home to roost. Pansy plays her cards exactly the way you'd expect. She offers him sympathy -- some of it may even be genuine -- but in the end she does what's best for herself and her family. In her place, it's exactly what Draco would have done and they both know it.

Draco was too angry and humiliated to think clearly on the train. At least that's how I've always imagined it. And boy, does he pay the price for his lack of forethought.

I enjoyed every second of "page time" for Tonks in this story. Poor thing won't get to enjoy very many moments of victory before her time is up, so I really like giving her these little cameo roles where she gets the choice lines and good things happen.

Even after she was chased out of the House of Black, I imagine that Andromeda had a hard time letting go completely. Family was everything to her for most of her life. She was the middle sibling, not as vain and arrogant as Narcissa or completely crazy like Bellatrix.

Fun stuff! I'm really enjoying all of your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #20, by TheHeirOfSlytherinMarked: It All Comes Crashing Down

24th March 2014:
Secret messages, lies, deceit - the life of a Pureblood. Combined with all the rules they have, the social status they crave and the standing some have with Voldemort, it's an interesting life indeed. I feel like I'm going backwards with Marked; now that I've read Conspiracy of Blood and Detox, it's very interesting to go further back in Draco's life and see how it all started. He's very conceited here, so sure he's going to get what he thinks they all deserve and in agreement with his father; much different to how he will become. It's cool to see him like this, your take on the boy we all grew up with.

If we are very lucky, perhaps your wretched little schoolmate won't be returning at all. - The evil; it's like a bitter taste in my mouth. One little sentence and I can get a real sense of just how bad the Death Eaters are with the rise to power and glory and what they think is right. Now that is epic writing.

Pansy... So easy for Draco to use... Mistress; it'll never cross his mind when he meets Astoria. ;)

Snape to the rescue! Well, sort of, in a 'this is your only warning, do not mess it up' kind of way that is appropriate for the double agent no one knows about at this point. I love that he's in this; I mean, I figured he would be, even just a little, but like I said in Detox, he's just so much fun to read.

And there's Draco's imagined life gone. This is why you don't dream about things; it sucks so much more when you don't get it.

Awesome start. Onwards, I think!

Sam.

Author's Response: Secret messages, lies, deceit... of course! They're Slytherins! What else would you expect? Marked is a step backwards. We start with Draco at the peak of his arrogance and self-importance. He sees himself as royalty among royalty, the son of the greatest of the "true" magical families. For the story to be as compelling as it could be, I felt like I needed to set him up in a very high place from which to fall.

Good old Lucius. Few can turn an evil phrase quite the way that he can.

Pansy is a plaything for Draco, sort of like a broom that requires a little more maintenance. Other people's happiness doesn't factor much into his thinking at this point in his life, except as a means to get what he wants. She'll be long gone by the time he starts courting Astoria.

"Rescue" You know, I really hadn't through of it that way, but it's true in a sense. Snape comes on a mission of mercy but he carries it out with the sort of spiteful condescension that only he can deliver. I'm afraid you'll only see him once more, and briefly at that, but his name will figure prominently in one of the later chapters.

Yep, Draco is watching his entire life spin down the toilet. Couldn't happen to a nicer guy, could it? He's such a little jerk at this point in the story.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by TheHeirOfSlytherinDetox: Epilogue

21st March 2014:
Scorpius, joining the ranks of Malfoy... Hopefully doing a better job even with the facade. I don't like it when he sad. ;( *hugs him* I don't care if he doesn't like it, I'm hugging him.

He sounds like such a lonely boy. He sounds like me, except he may not like it as much as I do (but I had good reason). I want to see Scorpius Malfoy smile. I hope he makes good friends (and if it follows the same world as Conspiracy of Blood, I think he'll be okay eventually, with Rose and Octavia... Does it?)

Sometimes, I think Lucius Malfoy should not talk to people.

Astoria seems like such an awesome mum. It would be cool to see them together as a family. That would be interesting.

Ha! Go Astoria, I wouldn't forgive Ron if I were her either. I'll kick him for her. ;)

Draco's answer to Scorpius about the Houses was... perfect. And with enough of the old Draco to know what they all wanted, even if he didn't ultimately care because he loved his family more. I loved that.

Playing dirty. I love that, too. Now watch as Draco's words come back to bite him. :P

I loved this story so much, Dan! And I'm so glad I finished it, but I'm so sad it's over and I need more! So, I think I'll go stalk your Author Page again... I mean, now... No, I mean again. :D

Sam.

Author's Response: Ah, Sam! The end is such sweet sorrow. I want you to know how much I've enjoyed reading all of your thoughts and reactions as you made your way through this story. It's been a treat and I am grateful.

Poor little Scorpius, off into the big, uncaring world. Don't worry, he'll do alright in the end. This story is part of the same timeline as Conspiracy of Blood, so you know how it all turns out. It won't always be fun for him, but fortunately he meets another awkward boy from a famous family...

Lucius is Lucius. His healthy is declining, his influence is gone and he's not always able to differentiate past from present. But Scorpius still admires him and loves him in that weird, stiff, standoffish Malfoy way.

I think Astoria would have been a tremendous mother. She's dedicated, loving, smart and funny. What's not to like?

I thought long and hard to fine-tune Draco's response, so I'm really, really pleased that you liked it. Believe me, it went through a lot of iterations. He's such a complicated character. But he does love his family, more than anything.

Yes, he still plays dirty, especially where Ron is concerned. But like you said, his master plan backfires in the end.

I couldn't be happier! Thank you so much for all of the thoughtful, funny and encouraging reviews!


 Report Review

Review #22, by TheHeirOfSlytherinDetox: Yes

21st March 2014:
Mulciber! Okay, now he sounds creepy evil. Master of the Imperius curse; I wouldn't want to be near him. There's something odd about the way he's concealing himself. Is that just me? Because he knows Avery and the others are leaving and...

:O Is he lying? Is it not him?

BOOM, cursing Avery! Are you just proving me theory? :D

Ha! I was right! I love being right, it's a rare thing. And the Aurors are here! Finally, good guys. I feel like I will miss the action when it's finally over. It was so good. But i love the rest of the story, too, so it'll be worth it.

Ugh, Ronald. Obviously, my dealing with him last time didn't knock any sense into him. We've gotten to the point where I'm just going to kick him. Okay? :) (I do get why he'd be the way he is, I agree with what you put in your response last time, and I do love Ron (usually), I just need to kick him... maybe it's a Slytherin thing...)

HARRY! Harry as Blaise, but I don't care because Harry is here! My favorite good guys of all my good guys! :D

Wasn't Blaise out of the country in Conspiracy of Blood? Sneaky snake. :D

Aww, he's helping her. Stubborn idiot that he is. :)

Draco would want to leave the hospital, it's definitely something I can imagine him saying. That was perhaps the most professional sounding, while still being completely obvious, insult I've ever read; healers and their bedside manner. :P

Horatio! He's making the right choices in life. And yes, I love Draco and his ability to go against the man even when wanting to be with said man's daughter.

"You'd haggle with your possible future father-in-law over ten Galleons a week?"

"You'd marry your daughter off to a man who settled for a twenty Galleon salary when he's obviously worth thirty?"

Best lines ever. :D

Oh, I like this job a lot more.

Awww, such happy moments. Finally. They deserve it. And they laughed and then he cried and he talked and, gah, they're so lovely. Haha, proper lady. That was, like, the least of their worries. :P

HE ASKED HER TO MARRY HIM! SAY WHAT?

Okay, so I had a hunch, about the question and the answer, thanks to your chapter title, but one can never be certain. :P

Always be a step ahead of the guy.

I agree, I like this new Draco Malfoy, too. He is definitely a vast improvement. There will be setbacks, of that I have no doubt since Horatio is not entirely on board, but I have faith because...

She said yes. ;)

Next chapter...

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi, Sam! Sorry it's taken me ages to work through all of these. You bring up so many good points and observations that I really want to take my time with them and time hasn't been on my side for the past few weeks.

I really like putting Avery and Mulciber together as a team in stories. Avery is brutal, nasty, uncultured evil while Mulciber is refined, insidious and scary evil. But you're right, there is something odd about the way he's behaving...

Ha! You guessed just in the nick of time!

Yes, the Aurors have (finally) arrived. And the world collapses into chaos once again. I like chaos, to be honest. It's fun to write.

Ron is unfortunately still being a jerk. He really can't let go of the hate. Fortunately, Harry spares you from needing to intervene on Draco's behalf. And then Robards closes the matter with finality.

Blaise did leave the country about three days before the battle in Astoria's house. His mother got wind of the investigation of Gamp's conspiracy and spirited him away. The Aurors were somewhat disappointed, but they also saw the opportunity to make use of his disappearance.

Draco is such a lousy patient. I would never want to be his Healer unless I could just sedate him.

I thoroughly enjoyed writing the entire conversation between Draco and Horatio. It was fun to play around with all of the subtle little dynamics of respect and power and authority. And Draco beating him up over ten Galleons a week was just way too funny to pass on.

I really debated with myself over whether a marriage proposal was premature in the context of this chapter, but in the end I felt like the spirit would have carried them there. Think of it more as "engaged to be engaged" if that makes it easier to get your head around. He's still going to do the big, formal engagement in front of their families. There will be dinner parties and balls and such.

The new Draco is an enormous improvement. It was fun to bring him up the steep and slippery slope.

One more to go! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by TheHeirOfSlytherinDetox: Clarity

21st March 2014:
Here comes Draco! Ahh! And the 'good guys' called him a coward. *shakes head at them* Silly good guys. Where are they, eh? :P

More dueling! I love all the action, you write it so awesomely. I wish I was half as good, until then I'll stick to horror/dark and mystery. I loved this scene so much, I really thought Draco might kill them when he saw Astoria there, or really hurt them to get to her.

Avery! Wow. I made a small list of Death Eaters and he was on it, but I didn't really know if it would be him. But it is and, whoa, he's creepy evil. I don't like him because he's the bad guy and he's got Draco and Astoria, but I do like him because he's a good bad guy. You know what I mean? :D

:O Imperius curse! Didn't see that coming! Resist, Draco, resist!

He's resisting! And Astoria knows he's good and he said I love you and, gah, it's a bad situation but I have happy-ish moments in it.

Wait, who's the new guy? There's a new guy! So, it isn't Avery? Or is New Guy gate crashing?

Definitely going to the next chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Draco is no coward. I like to think he's proven that by this point in the story. When he believes something needs to be done, he does it. Where are the good guys? Well... they might be closer than you think. ;)

All of the fighting in this chapter was really rewarding to write because it gave me a chance to really take the gloves off of Draco and be creative with his fighting style. Mixing it up with a hardened killer like Avery takes away all of the limits. He's doing whatever he must to survive.

I take most of my Avery head canon from pixileanin's brilliant Until We Close Our Eyes for Good. He's deranged and more than a little dangerous. Like an older version of Gamp, only less brooding. It's no wonder the two of them don't get along.

Draco resists as much as he's able. He's no Harry when it comes to being able to cast off the curse, but he still puts up a good fight. At least until the new guy shows up. Who is the new guy? Tune in to the next chapter and find out!

Thanks for all the love!


 Report Review

Review #24, by TheHeirOfSlytherinDetox: A Break with the Past

21st March 2014:
So, I was scamming through HPFF, trying to decide on a film to watch, when I caught sight of my reviews and thought, screw movies, I have an awesome story to finish. And here I am, instead of watching Bad Boys... again. :P

Damn, guys. Terrorizing Muggles for uniforms, I hope everything they did, including Theo getting hurt, and everything they do next just isn't worth it in the end. That'll show 'em.

I knew it only being the two of them and them leaving just wouldn't happen; that would have been too simple, too easy for Draco. Who wants that? :P I wonder who tipped off the Aurors... And I need to know who this mystery friend is! It's driving me crazy (though not Gamp crazy, so all is well).

Duel! Ah, I loved the fighting scene, it was fast and dangerous and exciting (for the reader). It was awesome to read. Even if Lucius was mad and delusional.

The fire thing (yes, I did just say that) was brilliant and a little scary and definitely not something they should have given to Bellatrix. Narcissa was the best choice, I think. She's cool and calculating and would have known exactly when and how to use it (like now).

:O No, not Astoria's house!

Daphne must have noticed that Jeremy wasn't good, at least a little... Maybe something she'd pushed to the back of her mind and wanted to ignore? Or does she genuinely think it's because she's boring? Poor Daphne, I do feel a little sorry for her - she seems like the type who just wants the big wedding end the perfect, happy marriage and everything that goes with it. Instead she got an evil husband who is only his way to crazy town.

Little wizard - I swear, those two words will forever remind me of this story and I will giggle uncontrollably, no matter what situation they're written in.

Uh oh... someone's here... *hides*

Next chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Aww, that's really nice of you to say! I hope I don't keep you from your movies for too long.

Nope, it won't be worth it in the end at all. It's what happens between here and there that's the interesting part, though. ;)

Your guess was correct, Draco's situation gets a lot worse before it gets better. Draco and Narcissa could have easily handled Flint and a badly wounded Theo, but Gamp adds a whole new layer of difficulty. Who tipped off the Aurors? Good question. You'll find out pretty soon and the answer may surprise you. ;)

I'm really glad you liked the dueling scene. Those are my favorites to write. I didn't want to take **everything** away from poor old Lucius, so he did turn out the be a formidable duelist even if he isn't sure who he's dueling.

I think Narcissa was the only choice for that particular Black family heirloom once Andy made her great escape. Bellatrix was way too unstable to handle such a dangerous magical object. I really enjoyed giving her command of it.

They're on their way to the Greengrass manor and Draco is on his way to stop them. Can't you just feel the final confrontation brewing? It's all about to come down to this.

Daphne isn't sure what to make of her new husband. He's definitely not the man she'd convinced herself she married. And "convinced herself" are the key words. The signs were there all along. Astoria picked up on them. Daphne was a little too wrapped up in her own fairytale story to see them.

I promise that will be the last mention of the little wizard. At least in this story. :p

Ding, dong. Who's at the door? Find out soon...

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by TheHeirOfSlytherinDetox: Climbing Back

19th March 2014:
I'm really glad she didn't burn the letters; she probably would have regretted it if she had burned them before coming to the conclusion that she might just be able to fix things with Draco. Which is what I, I mean she wants really. :D

That she thinks the world is ending because of a boy is such a teenage thing to think. And I know she loves him and the epilogue will come and they'll be together eventually, but it just lets me pause and remember that though they're going through all these things and some of it's bad and she's got all these expectations, they're still teenagers. I like that.

It's so hard for me to dislike her parents when they act all worried and then her mother stands up for what she wants. Okay, I don't dislike them, just some of their actions, and I really wanted at least one of them to stand up for her; I'm glad it's the mum and I'm hoping for the dad next... or one day. First studies, then relationships. Baby steps and all. :)

Ha! He got caught! I find this hilarious, too.

Sneaky Astoria! I like it. I hope her luck isn't so bad that she ends up in a bed next to Emery... :P

I stand by my opinion that Draco's boss is creepy. With a lack of empathy. Or her work completely clouds it. I hope Draco will get how he feels through to her without losing control or doing something he'd regret. That would be sad.

He fell off his wagon. ;(

Will he quit? That was the question I asked myself just before Lucius said he should. Now Draco is not allowed to quit. He can fight this and win... maybe.

Ah! Lucius is not part of it! Oh, that makes me so happy! Kinda. Since his mind has gone because of his time near Dementors, I'm obviously not completely happy. But the Malfoys are playing no part in the war. Good, very good.

But if it's not Lucius... Plot twist: Horatio Greengrass! Dun, dun, dun... :P Okay, so I have no idea, but if I am right I will be so proud of myself. :D

Go to the Aurors. Now why didn't I think of that? :P

AHHH! Yes! Go get Astoria back! Great minds think alike, she's planning to get you back, too! :D

...What did you do to Theo?

Okay, so I know I left a comment on your profile saying I'll finish Detox tonight, but it's twenty past one in the morning now and I have a lecture tomorrow. But after it, I'm free till Monday. So, I'll finish this by Sunday. Which makes me both happy and sad. :)

See you soon!

Sam.

Author's Response: She definitely would have regretted it if she'd burned his letters. Fortunately, she realized the mistake she was about to make. Now as to why her parents didn't find the pile of letters when they forced their way into her room... well, there's a small continuity error that I'm surprised nobody has picked up on. ;)

This is pretty much the low point for Astoria, but you're right, she is being a fairly typical teenager here. I imagine most readers know that her life is not, in fact, coming to an end, but it feels that way to her. I'm not sure what it says about the way that I think of Astoria that I had to go out of my way to make her act her age.

Astoria's parents really do love her and they want what's best for her. It's just that their version of "what's best" is not at all like what Astoria wants for herself. They're very worried about her here, and her mother is starting to put the pieces of the puzzle together. Astoria's mother also realizes that she needs to manage her father very carefully, lest the situation get even more out of hand. The scene was tricky to write, but ultimately I was pretty happy with how it turned out.

I couldn't pass on the opportunity to have one last cheap laugh at Emery's expense. Have you ever created a character that you completely loathe? That's Emery Montague for me.

Madam Blishwick doesn't really get the concept of her work being outside of other people's comfort zone. She loves what she does so much and she feels that it's so important that she can't understand why other people would object to it. So she pushes Draco. Too far. And then bad things happen.

You're correct, Lucius has nothing to do with Gamp's conspiracy. It just so happened that the participants in the old man's delusions were the fathers of some of the conspirators. I hope it's been apparent for a while now that Lucius is not in a good way. Between Azkaban and the war, he suffered mental damage that can never truly be repaired. Only the symptoms can be managed. In a way, it's sad, but in another way, he got what was coming to him after a lifetime of aligning himself with the wrong side.

What did I do to Theo? It's more like what did Theo do to himself. You'll find out shortly... :p

I am having a blast responding to all of your reviews! Thank you so much!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>