Reading Reviews From Member: veracity
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by veracityReaching for the Unreachable: At Lust

13th August 2011:
This was amazing!
I don't usually go for Dramione fics, but I saw the quote under your banner and decided to give it a try... and I'm glad I did!
It's rational, unlike so many Dramione fics. Draco doesn't proclaim his love for Hermione, he simply admits (to himself) his lust for her.
I really can't wait to read more! I love how you slip in humor, but it's subtle so it doesn't take away from everything else that's going on. I laughed at the part about Crabbe and Goyle resembling the sausages they were "so partial to". (:
Wonderful!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Really, this review means so much to me. I wrote this story because of all of those Dramione fics that are all so predictable where Hermione is "'Mione" and they live together and fall hopelessly in love in the first chapter. I love Draco/Hermione, but I wanted to make something believable. So I'm insanely glad that you seem to think that I've done what I wanted to do! Thank you so so much!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by veracityetc. etc. (and life goes on): Manic Panic Mondays

27th May 2011:
I really like this, it's actually quite refreshing.
And obviously it's very different from a lot of next-gen fics because the voice and the plot are utterly unique.
So first of all, thank you for being original. (:
Anyway, I'm not too sure if I like Clemence or not. Please don't take that the wrong way! She's the complete opposite of a flat character, but she just seems so consumed by Witchy Business... I guess I just want to see her care about something else, you know? Maybe I just associate her with Rita Skeeter too much.
Again, please don't take that the wrong way. I think your story is great (I wouldn't be reviewing if I didn't!) and I'm definately going to read more. (:

Author's Response: Hey! I definitely get where you're coming from. Characters aren't necessarily written to be liked right off the bat and I was actually surprised at how many people actually like Clemence because she's so brash and generally apathetic. I think what's important to me for fic is that the readers are drawn into the character, and that readers want to know what happens. A big part of Clemence to come are all of her observations on people and relationships, and her apathy definitely does not go unchallenged ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #3, by veracityWelcome to the Chase: chapter.nineteen - Catch.

27th May 2011:
SAVAL THIS CHAPTER WAS AMAZING!
They're so cute, darnit! (:
Aww I'm so glad that we're finally getting somewhere with Al and Ariadne. The last scene was just adorable. Much too adorable.
Can't wait until the next update!

 Report Review

Review #4, by veracityCarthage: dido

27th May 2011:
I love this so far! Which is surprising, considering that I usually detest Lily/Sirius fics...
Anyway, I adore what you've done here. It's almost poetic. It's simple, but powerful.
There's no fancy schmany imagery and not a lot of dialogue, but it just works somehow. It's told is such a matter-of-fact way and I think that that's what draws me into this.
Wonderful job (as always)! 10/10 :)

Author's Response: Sirius/Lily hate seems to be a pervasive stance nowadays, but I'm glad you took a chance on this anyway. Simple-but-powerful is definitely what I was going for, although I adore extended metaphor as much as the next girl. I've been thinking more and more about dialogue-driven fics lately, so I thought this was a good culmination of all that. It's short, simple, but definitely not sweet, and I'm glad it's compelling. Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by veracityA Cautionary Tale: The Only Chapter

5th March 2011:
This. Killed. Me.
Hahaha you did a really great job with this! (:
My favorite line must be this one: Otto stared nervously up at me, like a nervous little lamb with curves in all the right places.
I was literally cracking up when I read that.
I think you've covered all of the Scorpius/Rose cliches pretty nicely.

 Report Review

Review #6, by veracityFailure By Design: Letters

15th February 2011:
I loved this chapter!
It's a great first chapter that really sets up the story, but without giving too much away. And you're on my good side already because, and thank you for this, you did not get into an elaborate description of what a "hawtie" Lily is, or how her emerald eyes glisten in the morning light... You get the idea.
Anyway, I think this is a really original idea! Unlike all those fics about Lily/James that just seem to drag on forever and seem to tell their entire life stories without incident, yours actually has a pretty snazzy plot.
Can't wait to read more! (:
-Em

Author's Response: thanks! you won't believe this, but the reason i didnt get into how hawt they are is.. cause im sorta bad at describing stuff. heh. well, at least i was when i wrote the first chapter of this. i like to think that i've improved since then :)
Thanks for the review!!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by veracityIf Wishes Were Fishes: Prologue

7th February 2011:
I have to say- it's the title that caught my attention and made me read this. And I also have to say- I'm glad it did.
This was such a great first chapter. I really appreciate that you skipped the whole "My name is..." junk.
I'm extremely curious now as to what happened that could've possibly made Lily's life like this.
I'm very anxious to read more! (:

Author's Response: thank you so much! I was super nervous because its a new story and it hasn't gotten much attention but I'm glad you liked it! I hate doing all that boring introduction stuff but I'm glad it caught your attention! There will be more soon!

 Report Review

Review #8, by veracityStill Delicate: Intervention

22nd January 2011:
OHMYGOSH I'M SO GLAD YOU UPDATED!
I was starting to get worried, but it's all good. ;)
Anyway, I really enjoyed Aidan's POV. He's so cute and innocent- you really can't help but love him.
Plus, I'm glad that we got to see this side of James. Hopefully, by the end of Still Delicate he'll be back to his spunky self. (:
Well I loved that chapter (love them all, actually) and can't wait to read more! I pretty much fell out of my chair when I saw that you updated.

 Report Review

Review #9, by veracityRust Red: Rust Red

30th December 2010:
This was beautiful, and I wish that everyone would read this to understand what happens when you bully someone.
I think that you did a really wonderful job tackling a subject like this, and I appreciate that you shed some light on the effects of bullying.
Thank you for writing this.

Author's Response: and thank YOU for reading and appreciating. happpy holidays! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by veracityNapoleon's Complex: II.

29th December 2010:
This story is so refreshingly beautiful. Onto the next chapter...

Author's Response: Why, thank you! I do try to be refreshing and a little different. Thanks for stopping by!

 Report Review

Review #11, by veracityNapoleon's Complex: I.

29th December 2010:
First and foremost, your portrayal of Albus is AMAZING. He's so refreshing! He makes this whole thing extremely easy to read, and his narration just flows... I can't really explain it.
You have an amazing style of writing. Somehow (and I have no idea how) you manage to include humor while not being too over-the-top about it. Plus, I really like Eugenie! She's adorable!
Can't wait to see where this goes. (:

Author's Response: Oh, wow, thank you. As he's only eleven in this chapter, he's already quite different from most portrayals you might see in fanon, but I'm glad you think so. The narration is on the simple side, I admit, and the description pretty much bare-bones, but it does have a sort of flow to it, in a way. I don't consider myself a funny person (sarcasm is second nature, though), so it's lovely to hear that it worked! And Eugenie is something of a bright light, isn't she? Rather adorable when she's young.

So glad to hear that you liked it. Thanks for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy!


 Report Review

Review #12, by veracityBaby Steps: Bryn.

29th December 2010:
Bryn is so amusing! I love her already, and I cannot wait to read the rest of this! (: Plus, I'm also really interested to see where Albus Potter comes into this, and this little plan of Bryn's seems like it could be very entertaining. Great first chapter!

Author's Response: Haha, she's a lot of fun to write, I'm glad you like her! Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by veracityGame: The Secret Has a Temper

29th December 2010:
I'm interested to see where this goes! I really like Rona so far, and I have a soft spot for Quidditch fics, so this should be interesting. (:

Author's Response: Hehe, hope you enjoy! :) Quidditch fics are the best.

 Report Review

Review #14, by veracityStill Delicate: Slightly Deranged

29th December 2010:
Ohmygoodness, Laura?
WHAT'S GOING ON?!
I'm not really one to beg, but PLEASE UPDATE SOON! Please. I love this story. Delicate was actually the first fic I read on this site, and it's definately one of my favorite fics of all time. I'd actually rather read your story than the Harry Potter books themselves. I'm so excited for the next chapter!
Now I'll just go back to praising you on Delicate and Still Delicate. Firstly, I love your Rose! I will never accept (or at the very least be fond of) any other Rose Weasley. Only yours. Also, this fic made me fall in love with next gen. You began the whole Rose/Scorp craze, and your story will always beat all of the ones that try to impersonate it. I mean seriously, after Delicate, we were flooded with a wave of Rose and Scorpius pregnancy fics. I guess one could say you began a MOVEMENT. (;
Hard to pick, but this is probably my favorite line from this chapter: I stop and think for a moment, and then: “JAMES POTTER OPEN THIS DOOR RIGHT NOW!”

 Report Review

Review #15, by veracityHarry Potter and the Overdone Plotline: Truth or Shiny Things

29th December 2010:
CANNOT. STOP. LAUGHING.
Hahaha this parody made my entire life. It's a real shame that I've read stories like this that weren't parodies... awkward.
I think you nailed every single cliche possible. I love the American transfer student (because every good story needs to have one), and I love how you had Lily instantly fall in love with James after hating him for her entire life (that could totally happen). Also, I don't know if this was intentional, but I really appreciated the lack of Peter Pettigrew in this. It seems that in all Marauder fics, the authors just forget that he ever existed.
I loved this. (: Wonderful job!

 Report Review

Review #16, by veracityDéjà Vu: Yoga, Sarcasm and More Broom Closets

29th December 2010:
YAY YOU UPDATED! Seriously, you have no idea how much I've missed this story.
So anyway, this chapter was pretty snazzy, I must say. I forgot how much I loved Artemis and all of her insanse thoughts. I'm a little upset about the lack of James in this chapter, because I really wanted to see some progression or something in their relationship, but I'll forgive you since this chapter was so good. ;)
Favorite quote: " - ew if they get married, they'll be Mr. and Mrs. Noah Finkle - "
Haha it just struck me as random and funny. Totally Artemis.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login