Reading Reviews From Member: BrightStar
  
201 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BrightStarMy favorite student: My Favorite Student

11th October 2012:
Hello!

Here for the review swap! I never really think about Madame Pomfrey, so this was really interesting - her relationship with Remus, though I never thought about it until now, must have been very intense.

This is such an interesting idea, and you paired it with quite informal language, which really brought the woman behind the title "Madame Pomfrey". She's such a maternal figure, and the way you've written her is very convincing.

I realise this is your first one shot, so youve probably changed a bit since then, but id recommend in future making your language a little less relaxed and conversation in a piece this character driven.

Really glad I got the oppertunity to read this!

Author's Response: Thanks for the awesome review! we should do it more often!
I think I might of changed a little... :)
I don't know madame promfey that much either... :P But I read a few stories to write this down...
~Phoenix


 Report Review

Review #2, by BrightStarOne Step at a Time: Potterwatch

3rd December 2011:
Hi!

This is B, finally getting to this story as part of the Love in Wartime Challenge.

This is beautifully written, as are the other stories you've written. I never thought much about Andromeda but you've really made me connect to her.

This is really going to be difficult, but I'll be judging and announcing the results tonight. Thanks so much for your entry!

Author's Response: ^^ I'm glad that you've taken an interest in Andromeda now! Thank you for your review.

 Report Review

Review #3, by BrightStarBlack Sheep: Insomnia.

29th October 2011:
Hi!

I reallu am loving this story! Not sure im going to review every chapter, but i thought id tell you what im thinking.

i think rose is excellent - it would be right shed be worried, and id agree the family would try to help her - at least at first. Hugo is excellent, i loved how rose said he should be the oldest - i think, knowing what i know about this story, maybe she's right!

i liked ron and hermione, the reference to charlie, the mine pies... all of it! it was fluffy, but it was good - id say it will all balance out.


glad to see she's found her group... whoever they may be!

so glad im getting to read this now!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I don't mind if you don't review every chapter. :) I'm so glad you like Hugo and Rose. Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked this chapter. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by BrightStarRemembrance: Remembrance

10th September 2011:
Hi!

Thanks for your entry!You did a great job relating to the theme - marrying for "duty" would have been common in some wars, I'd imagine. Also, of course her obsessive love for Voldemort was always apparent - and here I love its how she kept going.

I really enjoyed this, and you did an excellent job with a difficult character.

I'll have to read the entries first, then i will be pming all contestants with the results. I will also blog the challenge, giving a little review there for each of the stories :D

Thanks again!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Have fun with the other entries!

 Report Review

Review #5, by BrightStarThe Protectors: A Letter or Two

10th September 2011:
Hi!


Thank you so much for your entry!

I really enjoyed this, a great set up to a story - i love things about wars, and minerva. And I love that you used a muggle war!

I'd have loved to see some of the romance, but I see you've started setting it up :D

I'll have to read the entries, but when I decide the results I will pm all of you and blog about the challenge - giving a synopis of each entry :D


Thanks again and great job!
- B

Author's Response: romance comes a bit later and I'm wanting to go a little slower this time, I usually go in with romance way too fast :D. I'm glad you enjoyed it and I can't wait for the results!!
Lilypotterfan123 :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by BrightStarLife As We Know It: chapter three

8th September 2011:
Hey, back again for the review swap!

youre really good at writing hermione - the constant references to study are important - not that shes only about study, but still.

poor hermione. i hope things will get better for her :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm so glad you like how i have Hermione and that I include references to her studying habits.

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #7, by BrightStarQuidditch, Nerves, and Charms : This is what you would call

8th September 2011:
Hey! This is my fifth review of the night. i am seriously going to have to go to bed after this, but i will come back! not only cos i owe you reviews, but youre reminding me that i love harry/ginny, even though i havnt really written it since potters got it bad!


this was so cute! i always love "ginny the quidditch player", and how i think harry would really support her! again, so lovely, such a great moment in a great relationship.


i bet ill be having harry.ginny dreams tonight :L

Author's Response: Well if it's your fifth then you don't owe me anymore!

I'm glad I'm reminding you about how wonderful Harry and Ginny are. They need more love!

Of course Harry would support her, as would she for him. Though they would both scare the crap out of each other.

Good! I love Harry and Ginny!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #8, by BrightStarNever Giving Up: I will always be in love with you

8th September 2011:
It is a perfect love story!!!


And i loved that bit in HBP where she says "I never gave up on you, you know!" so cute, because he never gave up on her either.


This is actually helping with an idea i have for a harry/ginny one shot im thinking about, when she thinks hes dead in the heat of the battle. im calling it "Things Fall Apart", hope you like!

Author's Response: This was a bit harder for me to write, I just pictured Harry saying that to her, and then BAM! I had a one-shot!

Ok, tell me when it comes out!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #9, by BrightStarLife As We Know It: chapter two

8th September 2011:
Hey! back for this review swap!

You're really doing a great job with Hermiones heartbreak - comparing her situation to harrys was brilliant. i felt so sorry for both of them at this point in the book!

i know you want this to turn into hermione and draco - and it makes sense for them to come together at this point. he was going through so much at that point, wasnt he?

the only thing id say is that hermione doesnt just dislike draco like someone dislikes another peer - this is real hate, not love/hate, and she should hate herself for kissing him... at least at first.

cant wait to see how you get them together :D

Author's Response: I will deffinately take your input into consideration when they actually get to the kissing point in their relationship. Honestly this is going to be a slow build up as right now I dont even have plans for them to become friends quite yet though I haven't thought too far ahead. Glad you liked it!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #10, by BrightStarLife As We Know It: chapter one

8th September 2011:
Hey! here for the life as we know it/how soon is how review swap!


Im not draco/hermione but i do love how you started this - no one seems to remember how horrible this moment was hermione, and you rendered it really well - i really felt for her.


well done, im eager to read on to see malfoys input!

Author's Response: Hey thanks for the awesome review! I'm glad that you liked how I started this story off. I shall be getting to your story here soon! I got busy with studying and work all weekend.

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #11, by BrightStarWinter's Day: Cake, the cold air, and...

8th September 2011:
I think id like winter alot more if i had someone like harry! but then harry is ginnys, and ginny is harrys

Author's Response: A lot of people tell me that they'd like Harry for themselves. I don't blame them!

I just can't get enough of Harry and Ginny.

Thanks so much!

Lizzie :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by BrightStarOatmeal Squares : Powdered Butter

8th September 2011:
This is so cute!


Its just one of those moments i love to read when its about harry and ginny - they had such an awful time during the war, i just want them to be happy.


i already love your oneshots :D

also, i love how ginny took charge of the meal. that was so here!

Author's Response: I want them to be happy to, that's why I write these. Harry and Ginny have been through so much, why not let things be easy for them?

I'm glad you like my stuff, it makes me so happy :)

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #13, by BrightStarThe Human Factor : The One Where Pippa Is Haunted By The Past

7th September 2011:
Wait. No next time on THF? HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?? :o


I actually wrote this review then lost it. i cant remember what i said now...

Well, I really liked this chapter, as usual!

I cant wait to see how this damien and pippa talk pans out! i dont think it can be fixed straight away but heres hoping!

I loved the history of magic lesson - i always thought the next gens would really be affected by them.

also.. all the characters are super intense. I doubt everyone could be that intense in ways... but then they are the next gens. we dont know how badly they were damaged, especially those on the "losing" side.

Im obsessed with finding out more about him, too. yay for this chapter, but i was really left wanting more... well done!

finally... I still love pippa. I heard all she was saying about her being bad but i cant believe shes 100% bad, and i feel so sorry for her for thinking this.

Another excellent chapter!!! :D

Author's Response: I haven't wrote anything for the next chapter you see :P So I can't offer anything! I'll edit something in once I've wrote a little bit of the chapter!

Haha! I do that all the time!

I'm so glad you liked the chapter!

Of course, it can't be fixed straight away, but Damien is taking a big step for him with him letting his pride down and coming to seek her first. So it's a big step him just turning up.

Yeah! I thought I'd add that in and actually show that they do have classes :)

Exactly. Plus normal people get messed up by people everyday :)

Yay! I'm glad you're liking all the him stuff! And I'm glad you wan more.

I'm happy you like Pippa :) Exactly! Her thoughts are just messed up.

Thanks so much for the review! It means a lot to me! And I hope you have a great day.

xxx


 Report Review

Review #14, by BrightStarThe Human Factor : The One After The Betrayal

7th September 2011:
Hi! Back again!

I really do like Pippa you know. I dont know everything shes been through and is going through, i dont know when i know, but i like her. No matter how bad she says she is, I think she may be too hard on herself. I suppose, if shes so torn up about it she cant be that bad. and she does care for cassie. and scorpius, in her way. She does care about Damien, in a way i suppose, still...

I'm still resisting that urge to hug Pippa... but just about.

Ill hug Scorpius and his socks instead. and cassie!

I really felt sorry for Pippa when she started worrying she was attached to so many people :(

I just live in hope itll all work out ok for her and everyone else, i really do, but i doubt you can tell me that!


Ok, this was kind of a ramble.. but its ok because i still love it :D On to the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Hello! I hope you're having a great day!

I'm so glad you like Pippa. I have grown rather fond of her myself. You'll find out eventually. But I'm still glad you like her even though you don't know everything about her. She is too hard on herself, I admit. Yes, she cares for them all in her own way, even though she doesn't want to because she's afraid of hurting them. And because she loves them, she doesn't want hurt them, though she finds it hard to admit that to herself.

Haha! Good!

Yess, you can hug Scorpius! He loves hugs and so does Cassie!

Yeah :( I know. Her thoughts put her through hell.

Haha! You'll just have to read on, but I'm glad you care about the character.

I'm so glad you love it! Thank you so much for the review, it's made my day! And I hope you like the next chapter!

xxx


 Report Review

Review #15, by BrightStarIn the Palm of Sin: Temptation in itís highest level

7th September 2011:
hey!

I'd say you did really well in the hooking first scentence challenge, I was really captured from the start - from the summary.

Your writing style was so addictive, well done! You got into your characters mind so easily, really admirable. The idea she hated him because she didnt hate him.. thats so often true isnt it?

Well done overall. I hadnt read anything like this, so im glad i read this.

Author's Response: Hello,

Sorry for the late response but exams got in the way.

Thank you so much! Well often that is the case I truly believe there is a thing like that.

Wow! *blush* Thanks once again!


 Report Review

Review #16, by BrightStarLost in the Darkness: Lost in the Darkness

7th September 2011:
Hi!

I really liked this. The scamanders arent characters I think about much, but I really felt for Lorcan here.

Actually, who i really connected to here was Lily. I thought she was so strong, and so good to Lorcan, even when he didnt want her around.

his talks with his twin were so poignant and well written, well done! I'm glad I read this :D

Author's Response: Thank you! Yeah, I don't think about them often either, but it was for a challenge..so I'm glad it came out well!

Thank you so much!

~Sara


 Report Review

Review #17, by BrightStarPortraits of Courage: The Phoenix Rises

7th September 2011:
Great start to a story, and great idea for a story.

Your dumbledore and minerva were so in character - their speech, reaactions, everyting!

God, when minerva said "Theyre just students, albus", that really got me. I know Im weird just to be focusing on this, but its so true. For this war and the other, so many of the key players were so oyung, too young... but then thats obviously the way.

Your writing style was so appropriate, just getting us ready for everything. the last line really struck me too, the use of the word pawns. It kind of betrayed how Albus maybe still thought of some people, continuing this "for greater good thing". it was something little, but made it believable.

Great set up, i really intend to return!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad to see you found Dumbledore and McGonagall in-character. They're definitely some of the toughest canon characters to get a correct feel on their mannerisms and way of speaking.

It's not something weird to focus on as it comes up quite a bit in this story. I think we often times forget how young these characters are during times of war, perhaps because they've been forced to grow up faster than we all would've liked.

A lot of people mentioned the chessboard and how it fit with Dumbledore's plot, about using those around him in his own game of chess. I found it fitting for the story.

Thanks for reading and reviewing! Hope to see you again soon.


 Report Review

Review #18, by BrightStarThe Guardian: The Guardian

7th September 2011:
*Review Swap*

What a lovely little piece! Its so weird and cool that something so potentially special could come out of that battle. It also reminded me that the battle wasnt just about harry and the rest. I especially liked the mention of ernie. It reminded me of how much the win would mean for everyone else.

Also, i really liked how oliver didnt even recognise ramona - he really was into quidditch wasnt he? :L

I dont know whether this will end in friendship or something more (im thinking the something more!) but thats what so great about this - it could be either.

Also, it leaves you open for a sequal ;)

Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you :D I know with so many deaths a little romance was needed in my opinion anyway!

Very! I always loved Oliver and his obbsession with the sport in the books! He was one of my favourite characters!

Hopefully at one point! I'd love to do a sequal to this in the future.

Thanks for the lovely review! You're a star!

Logamind


 Report Review

Review #19, by BrightStarIn The Black: Same Old Secret

7th September 2011:
*Review Swap*

Hi! Great to be reading another of your novels! I do need to return to "Leaping Obstacles" before I get into this - LO was a welcome distraction from my exams earlier in the summer, but i stopped reading for a few reasons - partially because i just didnt want to read what i knew was soon coming. Silly, eh?

Anyhoo, on to this story - Once again, its a treat to be reading something from someone so clearly skilled as a writer. Your slipping into Beth's voice, albeit in the third person, seems effortless! You still have the great gift for descriptive writing I admired so much in your Ron/Luna, though this obviously has a much different feel.

I found it hard to believe there was a "fifth maurauder" - its been overdone, but here it seemed natural and after getting into the piece I didnt really question it at all. I like the idea of this girl being taken under their wing...

And i LOVE the idea of someone loving snape from afar. She doesnt know hes a future hero, and doesnt know his good points like Lily might. I dont know why, but unrequited love associated with snape when he's not the one who's affections arent returned... well maybe i dont read enough of that sort of thing but im really curious about it!

best of luck with the rest of the novel and i definately plan on dropping by again!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a lovely and jaw-dropping review, you're always so kind in your reviews. They really brighten my day. :3

When I started writing this story, the fifth Marauder cliche wasn't one I knew a lot about -- and indeed, I didn't know how large of a cliche it was. Since then I've researched it exhaustively and am fairly confident that my story differs somewhat from a majority of the existing ones (namely Peter's not an idiot, and Snape's a large part of the picture). So thank you for the encouragement towards that aim!

I am very glad you enjoyed the story. ♥ Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by BrightStarThe Human Factor : The One Where Secrets Are Revealed

7th September 2011:
Hi again!

Another great chapter, and it was brilliant to hear from the larger gang - james and fred as well as scorpius and al... and obviously the lovely cassie!

Whats going on with Lily, eh? Is it to do with morgan?

I love Scorpius' cape and hat. And Im interested in these wedding vows, it will be cool to see the whole family.

I loved the first paragraph, more than anything else because it was Damien who told her these things, and it was really well written too.

What was really impressive was your mix of fun stuff (like the mission) and the serious stuff, too.

And myself and my fiance Al seriously need to talk. Pippa annoying him was one thing, but tricking her into seeing Damien and this. lady is quite another!

I'd hug Pippa right now if I didn't value my life so highly!

Well done AGAIN! And I have absolutely no idea what the "next time" means which makes me all the more interested!

Author's Response: Hiya!

I'm so glad you liked this chapter! I thought it would be fun to get them all together. Maybe! Maybe not. You'll just have to find out! I'm so glad you liked Scorpius cape and hat! Yes! It's going to be really fun! The wedding is a big part of the story!

I'm so glad you liked that part! And that you thought it was well written! That means a lot to me.

Thanks! It's a mixture of a story! I try to balance it.

Haha, yes, you need to tell him to stop being so mean to everyone!

haha, yeah, it's best not to hug her right now!

Thanks so much for the review! It means a lot to me and I hope you enjoy the next chapters!

xxx


 Report Review

Review #21, by BrightStarThe Human Factor : The One Where Everyone Is Sort Of Civilized

5th September 2011:
Hi! Ok, I am going to be really mature and not fan girl fail all over the place. I mean it this time! No trying to hug your story or characters. No matter how awesome it all is :D

The quidditch was great - I always wanted to hear about someone who DIDNT think almost dying in the rain was great fun! I'm so glad Pippa still has scorpius. And scorpius has an old lady who will feed him pies. How nice for him!

I really like this: I took out all my supplies and began cleaning the cupboards that were in the common room. I felt slightly better with each scrub, like I was also cleaning away all marks and stains from my life story.

Why do I always comment on Pippa's cleaning? I have no idea, but its really been striking me each time youve mentioned it from the start! I loved how she talked about it with albus!

And the CONTEXT! Girl, you know i love a bit of next-generation-relating-to-war-and-stuff, mmm-hmm!! Ahem. Not gushing ;)

The conversation about the aftermath of the war was brilliant. And so needed. For me, it was al who always suffered most from it! And its so right that this generation would find it hard. Like, they werent even alive during the war but they STILL have to deal with it... unfair!

By the way, you're invited to mine and Albus' wedding :D

And you rock! Woohoo!!! Great chapter :D

Author's Response: Hi lovely! You make me laugh. You can hug them if you want. Pippa may try to kill you though. Just warning you.

Exactly! It's not really Pippa's sport. I always imagined it to be quite a dirty sport and dirty is not Pippa's thing. Yes! Scorpius just won't go away. I adore writing him. Scorpius is adorable and adorable people always end up getting looked after, at least in my head.

Thank you! I love the cleaning part of her character, it makes so much sense.

I couldn't not put it in! While the characters grow up in a nice environment, the children are still being punished for their parents mistakes.

Yay! I'll start picking out a dress okay?

And thank you, I'm so glad you liked it. Thanks so much for the review and I hope you enjoy the next two chapters!

xxx


 Report Review

Review #22, by BrightStarUnderage: 5 Ways Ginny Weasley Secretly Helped to Defeat Voldemort: The Wedding

1st September 2011:
Hi! BrightStar here with an extrememly late review. I'm just finishing up all the requests before I close the thread :D

I wasn't sure what I was I would think of this, but I was surprised. You didn't over glorify Ginny (and that's coming from a huge Ginny fan), or change the facts to make her look better, like I presumed from the title.

A scream; a simple scream was written so well, with all the careful, brave feelings behind it - because it was brave. She went against her mother, and her own want to be near harry, ron and hermione.

Oh, it was all so... Ginny! Everything! So well done, really. Her role, as the daughter of others was soo well put together, everything was reasoned so well!

Well done! I'm going to favourite this and read on another time :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by BrightStarThe Delusions of Draco Malfoy: The Delusions of Draco Malfoy.

1st September 2011:
Hi!

you requested a review from me AGES ago, just before I decided to close my thread - no time for it, I'm afraid, though I love reviewing. I'm just finishing up what I promised to people :)

I really liked this - it's completely different to what I normally read! Draco is a bit out of character, really, but I still enjoyed this - its comedy, after all!

I loved his attachment to Mr Cat and Blaises "racism", and the idea of a "hip" wizard bar is really cool - in my novella young people take over an upstairs room in the leaky cauldrom :L


Really enjoyable, very fully in places - poor draco will never live down the ferret thing!

Well written comedy :)

Author's Response: I was hoping that the humor would take people's mind off the fact that Draco was kind of OOC.

Would you be able to live it down in someone turned you into a ferret and bounced you around?

I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #24, by BrightStarPhoenix in the Ashes: What Was Lost

8th August 2011:
Hi, here for the review swap!

I don't read much about Regulus and the Blacks, so this actually is a bit of an introduction for me :D

Really well writen, and you really made me feel for him. I love sirius, but this made me feel for remus BECAUSE of what sirius thing.

how could remus NOT have bowed to his parents wishes? the "moulding" thing was especially interesting!

Great fic, well done!


BrightStar
Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #25, by BrightStarBack Before: Bridges

8th August 2011:
Hey! B here!

I lovve how you writ Rose and Scorpius - Rose is so free, but has a bit of reserve in her - more so in the later piece.

the before it began and knowing but not knowing thing is brilliant! it makes sense without making sense!

as usual, you put my writing and the writing of others to complete shame. you know that right? i have no idea how you do it, thos descriptions are so beautiful! This was so suited to the elements challenge, i always think you deal so effortlessly with aesthetics!

I really want ot read more about your rose and scor :D x

Author's Response: Hi dear! It's so good to see you and I think I'll have to go over to your page again in not too long! I love reading your stuff! :) Thank you so much and I am so honored you think that! (even if it isn't true!) Thanks again,
Annie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>