Reading Reviews From Member: magnolia_magic
  
246 Reviews Found

Review #51, by magnolia_magicSoaring through the clouds: The honeymoon

1st August 2013:
Hi! I'm so happy I got a chance to come by and rake a look at this story :)

I'm very impressed with all the information you gave us about the carpets themselves. It's a subject not many Potterheads would know much about, so I found it really interesting to see how they work. Did you find the awesome carpet facts somewhere in canon, or did you make some of it up? (Just curious :) ) Either way, it was a very interesting read, and it gave an exotic feel to the story.

This seems to be more about the carpet tour itself than about the characters, but I thought you had sine great characterization moments here. The way Harry and Ginny each drove the carpet spoke volumes about their characters,I thought. Ginny was all speed and no fear, and that reminded me of her first personality and determination to be right at the forefront of things. The fact that she was so eager to volunteer first added to that as well. Harry, on the other hand, is more cautious and measured, and takes his time in order to get the hang of it. Those little things showed us a lot about who they are, and I think you did a great job with that aspect!

This is a very cute story! You did a great job, and I'm glad I got a chance to read and review!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Thanks!
To answer your question, most of this I made up. We had lee way :)

I did put the emphasis on the carpet tour, so I could fit the travel theme. I could easily picture Ginny being the fearless one and going full speed ahead and Harry being a bit more nervous! Glad you liked!

Thanks for the review


 Report Review

Review #52, by magnolia_magicAll The Tombs of Egypt Are Empty: Long and blue and forever is the Nile

1st August 2013:
Hi teh! I've actually read this before, during the House Cup, but I didn't leave a review :| (Yes, I'm one of those readers who reads and then doesn't review. You may now commence with rolling your eyes.) But I loved it then and I love it even more now!

What a strange combination of characters you have here. I love that these three unlikely companions happened to meet in one place and time. I've been trying to decide which character is my favorite, and it's honestly difficult to choose. It's definitely not Mundungus, though, I can tell you that. What a hideous person he is. I never liked him in the books (if you can't tell), and I really admire the way you brought that slimy personality to life here.

I think I'll go with Filch as my favorite. I love what you did with him here, exploring his feelings if being outside, and how hard it is for him to see students taking their magic for granted when he'll never have it. And he's so sweet when he talks to Mrs. Norris :) I love that softening we see in Filch whenever they are interacting. And I love that she was the key to getting then out of the tomb in one piece! It just shows that Filch does have something to offer, even when no one expects that to be the case.

This is a great piece, and I love that you were able to bring such an eclectic cast together so seamlessly. Wonderful job!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Maggie ♥

Gah, thanks so much for this wonderful review! I'm incredibly surprised and flattered that you actually read this story earlier! Don't worry about the not reviewing - I'm guilty of this a lot, reading and not reviewing, that is. Eep.

Yeah, this is indeed a bizarre cast of characters. I honestly have no idea what was happening in my head when all this was being produced. :P Y'know, I'm surprised that Filch is your favourite here! He's actually my least favourite, baha! I did, however, try to portray him a shade mellower than how he appeared in the books (y'know, the fearsome caretaker with the whips and all those horrid dungeon threats yelling at small children and all...), but still, I can't quite reconcile myself with him. Though I did try to give him a chance in this fic. I do doubt that I'll ever be writing a serious(ish) Filch fic again, though.

Gah, I'm so glad you thought that the characters were brought together so seamlessly! That is honestly a fantastic compliment and I'm so, so pleased.

Thank you so much for this lovely review, Maggie! It's been so encouraging! ♥

teh ♥


 Report Review

Review #53, by magnolia_magicDear Al: Park Swings and Chaste Kisses

1st August 2013:
Hi! Here from review tag!

This a very interesting way to tell Snape's story, I think. I really liked your first chapter, where you set up the diary and how fascinated Harry is with Snape's life. I just wonder how this will all connect to Albus (as I assume it will, since the story is called Dear Al.) I can't wait to find out!

I like your portrayal of Snape and Lily as children. You've done a good job with their interactions. Lily is clearly a happy person with a bright disposition, but she's sad about the growing rift between her and Petunia. That, in particular, came out really well in this chapter. And Snape is a little calculating and devious even now, as he plans his future with Lily. But his devotion to her is so sweet that I have to like him :) Good job with them!

I thought the flow of this was good overall. The switch from the summer before their first year to the beginning of their second did seem a little abrupt, though. Maybe a scene about their first year at Hogwarts would help bridge that gap. A Sorting scene, perhaps? I always love those, but you'd have so much room to be creative there :)

I enjoyed this! I think this story has great potential (and I always love a good Snily), so I do hope you update soon! Keep up the good work!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hi there :)
Yes, you would be right. The story isn't called 'Deal Al' for nothing!
i'm glad you liked the portrayal. It was something I was worried about because I really wanted to make sure I got it right. I wanted to make sure it was believable. Having a sibling myself, I'm aware of how you end up being close to them and like sharing things with them. You may not have a deep relationship, but whatever you do share is usually special. So, I do believe that Petunia's disapproval would have broken Lily more than we can know.
I'm glad that it flows well. Thinking back, I guess it is sort of sudden. I'll make sure I add a scene or two in there. I too love sorting scenes!
Thanks for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #54, by magnolia_magicOnwards! (to nothing): Onwards! (to nothing)

1st August 2013:
Hi Roots! I'm so glad I got the chance to come by and review your story. This review challenge was a great idea, even if Team Yellow is dragging just a tiny bit ;)

Anyway, on to the review! I really love the idea for this story, first of all. I'm just amazed at the creativity in everyone's pieces, and this one is no exception. I think using Karkaroff as your narrator was a bold choice. Usually a narrator needs to be likeable to make a story work, but you've created a compelling story even with a completely unpleasant narrator. I couldn't find even one redeeming quality about Karkaroff. Not even one. He's clearly prejudiced to the point of extremism, as you show from the Durmstrang scenes on. And not only that, he's terribly cowardly as well. He didn't take responsibility for having joined the Death Eaters. Instead, he ran from it; not out of a sense of duty or a desire to do the right thing, but out of pure fear. Ugh. I hated him from beginning to end. And you did such a wonderful job of showing him to us, making his motivations crystal clear. I feel like I know Karkaroff very well after reading this, and I can tell you put a lot of thought into his characterization.

I also love the way you have the scenes set up, going back and forth in time between each one. It all connects seamlessly, and the non-linear setup you have really adds interest. Even though I absolutely hated Karkaroff (which is a testament to your skill in bringing him to life), I really enjoyed reading your take on his life. Awesome job!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so glad that you thought that the review challenge was a good idea- it definitely does make sure that everyone who contributed to that House Cup challenge is rewarded. :)

I'm also really glad that you liked the idea for this story. I definitely agree that everyone's ideas are amazingly unique and creative.

Haha- I think I'm drawn to characters that are less pleasant... I've now written stories about Bellatrix, Argus Finch, Pansy Parkinson and, of course, Igor Karkaroff. There's just something so interesting about characters who are less pleasant than others (especially because they're often more minor characters). There's so much room in their interpretations of their minds and actions. :) And no- I don't think that Karkaroff has many redeeming qualities either. But maybe I just didn't put him in the right situation for them to show. :P

I'm also really pleased that you think that the interchanging time periods work- it was the thing I was the most uncertain about (but also the thing that I was most determined to make work). :P

Thank you for this amazing review! I really appreciate it! :)


 Report Review

Review #55, by magnolia_magicTravel Bug: Travel Bug

31st July 2013:
Hi Amanda! You did such a great job with this pairing. I've never read it before, and I'm glad your story was my first experience with Hermione/Blaise :)

I absolutely love the way you've written Hermione here. She's still herself, I can tell, but age seems to have mellowed her out a bit. I love that she has to convince Blaise to go along with her wanderlust, and I LOVED their interactions together as a couple.

Your Blaise is my absolute favorite portrayal I've ever seen of him. Granted, I haven't read much Blaise at all, but there's something special about the way you write him. It's hard for me to put my finger on, but he's perfect for Hermione. I guess just the fact that he's a real person is what makes him so likeable. He's not a "brooding Slytherin" type. He's funny, he loves habit, he scolds Hermione for not using a coaster! He's like a little old man :) You've made a really loveable character out of him.

The proposal was so cute! I love how Blaise just read her mind about a summer wedding, and knew the perfect trip for them to take on their honeymoon. You did a great job of showing how in sync they are as a couple.

I loved this! You really made me believe in this pairing, and this story is written so well. Awesome job, Amanda!

--Maggie

 Report Review

Review #56, by magnolia_magicUnforgettables : Going to Hogwarts

30th July 2013:
Okay. So this review is terribly, shamefully late. I got incredibly distracted by life and then the House Cup :( But enough of my excuses! On to the review!

I am so glad you included this chapter, first of all. I always love sorting chapters, because we get to feel the magic of seeing Hogwarts for the first time, all over again. I think that's the biggest strength of the way you've written Damon's experiences in this chapter--I could really feel his wonder, his bewilderment at it all. The image of Dominique holding her hand out to him and saying, "Welcome to the world of magic, Damon" really drives that feeling home for me. It's like something you might see in a movie :)

I love Damon's narrative voice in this. It's very casual, and I like the little comments he throws in about how unbelievable it all is. When he's at the platform and says: "Yeah, it's times like this when I think I'm being played." I laughed out loud at that! And it was fun to meet the nextgen kids and see them from his perspective.

I like what you're doing with Dominique so far, too. At first I found it a little odd that Damon's mention of the orphanage didn't get even a little bit of curiosity from her. That's something that would start a conversation, I think. But in a way it sort of makes sense. Dominique is from a famous family, after all, and she knows what it's like to have people prying into your life. Maybe she wanted to spare Damon from that feeling. In any case, I like her for Damon because she seems more take-charge about things, while Damon is along for the ride (at least for now.) She seems tough and very kind at the same time, and I love that combination :)

And he's sorted into Gryffindor! I wondered where Damon would end up. He seems like a Hufflepuff to me (and I do take issue with Puffs being portrayed as "indecisive people." But I suppose it makes sense that school kids would describe the house that way.) And I have to disagree with the Hat on one point...I haven't really sensed much ambition in Damon so far. But it's still very early on in the story; maybe it will show up later :) Anyway, I love that you had the hat take his choice into account. And those last couple of lines were so cute! He wanted to follow Dominique! I think that makes perfect sense; he clearly likes her, and she's the only familiar thing in the world to him right now. I'm so excited to see where things go from here for those two :)

This was a great follow-up to the first chapter! I think you're doing well...keep up the great work! And sorry again for the incredibly late review :/

--Maggie

Author's Response: Apologies for the incredibly late response!
But thankyou for a great review :)
I'm glad you liked the chapter and I do agree with seeing parts as a movie, I'm a student of TV so a lot of what I write is initially an idea that can be put onscreen!
I'm glad you pointed out the lack of ambition, I think I'm going to change that bit because you're right, Damon isn't very ambitious so far!
Thanks again
-KO


 Report Review

Review #57, by magnolia_magicHe's not dead: He's not dead

30th July 2013:
Hi Shaza! This is such a creative idea for a story! That's the great thing about the House Cup; it brings out everyone's originality :) This is definitely one of the more inventive entries I've read, and I'm so glad I did!

I love your Lily, first of all. I love her conviction and determination to find out what really happened with her dad. I was rooting for her, especially since she seemed to be the only one with much hope. It was so interesting to see where her journey took her, and I was glad to see everything work out in the end :)

One thing I would really have liked to see would be a scene between Harry and Lily after his rescue. I think that would have potential to be a really precious father-daughter moment, and I was hoping to see that as part of your ending. But at the same time I like that you ended this with a sense of normalcy, of life going on for the Potter family. You did a good job of showing that they would remain a close, strong family even after their ordeal. Awesome job!

--Maggie

 Report Review

Review #58, by magnolia_magicThe Globetrotting Garden Gnome: The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

28th July 2013:
Aww, this is the cutest thing! And such a creative idea! I never would have thought to send a garden gnome on vacation, of all things. But the way you wrote him--so disgruntled and appalled with all things human--made the whole thing seem perfectly believable.

I loved seeing the Weasleys from the gnome's point of view. Of course Arthur would be the favorite...he's too soft hearted to throw a gnome anywhere! And it was so cute to see all the little memories he had about misadventures with the kids. When Ginny kidnapped his son! I just had to laugh at that part! And interrupting the wedding...what would a Weasley wedding be without something like that happening? :)

I thought you did a wonderful job with this. Your mentions of the Weasleys kept them in character while still putting a unique twist on them. And your adorable narrator makes the whole thing a treat to read :) Great work!

--Maggie

Author's Response: I am so happy to hear that you thought so! And that you found this believable - it's quite tricky to get into the head of a gnome, so that's such a relief!! :)

Yeah, I definitely imagine Arthur being their favourite! Haha, and I think that a little gnome would be the perfect toy for little Ginny, even if the father didn't quite agree ;) I agree about the Weasley weddings, and I think it's true for George Weasley's wedding, especially!

I am so happy that you liked this story, and that you liked the gnome as a narrator! Thank you so much for this wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #59, by magnolia_magicRÍve Voyager: RÍve Voyager

27th July 2013:
Oh wow. I am so happy I read this. Haha, I'm still recovering from it, so I'll try to leave a coherent review :D

I was absolutely fascinated by the way you wrote Alice. There's just something about her that draws me to her. I love that you've left her mind basically empty, but there's all this emotion surging beneath the surface. Her wants and dreams are still there, but she doesn't know how to connect them to reality. And that connection with Frank. I just found that so beautiful. All the lines where she wanted to reach out to him but still had no idea who he was...it just proves that love can defy reasoning sometimes, and I love that idea :)

I was just heartbroken during the scene when she wakes up from her dream and cries because she can't remember it. That was such a powerful moment, because I can't bear to even imagine what that must be like. You did such a wonderful job of painting that picture.

And the dreams themselves were very well done. I loved the glimpses of happier times, and it was a relief to know that the memories were still there. But at the same time, it was even more tragic to know that it's all right at her fingertips and she can't access it.

The only CC I can think of is related to Augusta's dialogue. There are times when she sounds a little more casual than I think she'd be (like when she calls Frank and Alice "you guys"). Maybe another look at that would be helpful?

That last line was incredibly powerful. It seems like a small thing, just saying her son's name, but for a woman who hasn't even formed words in years, it's a huge victory. How Neville must have felt when he heard that! I loved Alice's maternal instincts coming through whenever she thought of Neville, even if she didn't know who to attach them to. It made the ending so much better, a quiet triumph.

I really loved this! You did an incredible job!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hey, Maggie!

haha, thank you for all your lovely comments! They really mean a lot to me, they do! :')

I think someone else already pointed that out and I will change that. Maybe in a couple of weeks (because of RL) but I will fix that up! Thanks for pointing it out, though!

Thank you so much for this amazing review! You're far too kind! ♥

- Kayla. :)


 Report Review

Review #60, by magnolia_magicIrrational: Rumor Has It

18th July 2013:
I love this running theme of Audrey having a not-so-accurate view of herself. With Percy assuring her that she's more well-liked than she thinks, and her dad saying she doesn't have the confidence she should, it's clear that Audrey doesn't think nearly as highly of herself as others think of her. I really hope to see her realize what these other people are seeing in her! She really is special to many people, and it would be great to see her start to realize that more. But I'm glad she has people like her family and Percy to remind her of it :)

I love seeing Percy and Audrey get closer in this chapter. I can just feel her embarrassment when he's looking around at the things she's not used to other people seeing (like the romance novel). But that's all part of a new relationship, and I'm so glad to see you explore it with these two.

You've just done such a spectacular job with this story! (I'm running out of adjectives...spectacular is new, right?) It's been just a joy reading it, and watching these two get to know each other better :)

 Report Review

Review #61, by magnolia_magicIrrational: It's Really Nothing

18th July 2013:
Hi, back again! I love that Audrey's family is so close, and I really do think that's one of the biggest strengths of this story so far. The scenes with Audrey and her family just warm me. They each have their little role to play, and they all just fit together so well. And I think Audrey's father is becoming my favorite character besides Audrey and Percy themselves. He's so wise in such an unassuming way, which reminds me of Audrey. You would never know he was once a hit wizard! And I love that he has a different flower name for all his girls; that's such a sweet and indulgent little thing. It's things like that which really bring characters to life, and I think you've done a great job paying attention to those little details so far. It's just a pleasure to read!

And more Percy/Audrey feels! Awesome! The thing about a good relationship is that the partners make each other better in ways. I loved seeing the beginnings of that with Audrey suggesting that Percy be a little nicer to his co-workers. It's not a bad suggestion for him, as he can be so intimidating, and it was great to see Audrey confident enough to bring it up. And the kiss! Of course I loved that part! I was very surprised to see Audrey take the initiative, but hey, one of them had to sometime. And it all worked out for the best :)

This is such a fun story to read! You've done such a wonderful job on it!

 Report Review

Review #62, by magnolia_magicIrrational: A New Friend

18th July 2013:
Yep, you guessed it. More squeeing. If I thought the last chapter was precious, it was nothing compared to this first date.

Audrey's nerves were so cute at the beginning. I think you described the feeling well; even though she was looking forward to it, at the same time she really WASN'T looking forward to it at all. I get the whole worrying thing, so that part really spoke to me. But I'm glad she got to see that she'd worried for nothing!

Percy was so sweet here. The part where he complimented her for being nice was just wonderful! It's great to see Audrey meet someone who appreciates and values the traits that define her. And I mean, I know that Vivian and Darcy love her, but teasing would get old after a while. Meanwhile, Percy is the sort of person who would fit well with Audrey's sweetness.

I think a lot of people would be surprised at how normal he seems in this chapter. But I'm glad you're writing him in such a likeable (loveable, let's be honest) way. It really helps lift the stereotype surrounding him. Awesome job, again!

 Report Review

Review #63, by magnolia_magicIrrational: Damn Lifts

18th July 2013:
Okay. Excuse me while I squee over all the precious Audrey/Percy that happened in this chapter! You've done such a great job at capturing that kind of awkward, kind of exhilarating feeling of having a crush...even if Audrey doesn't really admit it in this chapter. But Percy sure does! I wasn't expecting him to be the one to make the first move, but I thought it was so sweet when he asked her out in the lift. And when he scolded Ron for cursing in front of a lady. That seemed like just the kind of chivalrous thing Percy would do.

I love that you brought up the difficulty of not-quite-friendships. A lot of fics seem to feature their characters bridging that gap with ease, and I'm glad you took a more realistic approach there. Especially for two people who aren't at their best in social situations; they would need to move a bit more slowly. But I'm glad Percy is being so nice to her; even if Audrey isn't quite catching on, it's so clear to me that he likes her, and I just love it!

Sorry for the gushiness of this review! But the next will probably be much the same :)

 Report Review

Review #64, by magnolia_magicIrrational: Romance By Stealth

18th July 2013:
Hi again! Wow, so much happens in this chapter that I hardly know where to start! Cepheus seems like a good enough place: ugh. You did a great job of choosing a name as pretentious as he is. I really felt for Audrey...but luckily Percy came along!

This chapter is where I really start to fall in love with him (haha, it didn't take long!) He's so precious and awkward here, and you do a great job of showing that he isn't just a Ministry drone. He's a decent guy who likes to talk Quidditch with his friends, and is willing to apologize when he's done something wrong. I love that you've made him well-rounded without diminishing his Percy-ish qualities. That's kind of a trick to do, and you pull it off flawlessly!

The scene with Vivian at the beginning was great also, and I loved seeing their relationship at its best. Audrey is great at consoling her and taking her dramatics in stride, and Vivian is just so much fun to read :)

Another great chapter! I'm on to the next :)

 Report Review

Review #65, by magnolia_magicIrrational: Something Different

18th July 2013:
Percy makes his appearance! Poor Audrey; I really would not want to be in the unfortunate position of crossing him when he's on a work tirade. I love the line: "The only thing cheerful about him was his hair." What a perfect way to describe the Percy we know from the books.

And I love her new office! It seems like the kind of place I would love to work, though I can see why it takes some getting used to for Audrey. She's so diligent about her job, and I couldn't help but laugh at her reactions to her new boss and co-workers (though I felt terrible laughing at Audrey...she's too sweet for that!) Madeline, especially, makes me laugh; she's Audrey's exact opposite, and it'll be interesting to see how they get along. And that second run-in with Percy. They aren't off to a great start, are they? But it'll be so much fun to re-read and watch things unfold :) Awesome work!

 Report Review

Review #66, by magnolia_magicIrrational: Monday

18th July 2013:
Hi! I'm not sure if you're planning to update this, but I wanted to stop by and show my appreciation for this awesome story! Percy/Audrey is one of my favorite pairings, and your Audrey is my favorite that I've ever read on this site.

I like her from the very beginning of this chapter. You've made her soft-spoken and even-tempered, and maybe a little lost when it comes to a firm direction in life. I think that's so relatable; Audrey really resonates with me because of that, and I'm sure many of your other readers feel the same way. I was so excited for her when she got offered a promotion. Finally she's getting a change of scenery!

I really love your supporting characters too. You have a real gift for dialogue, I think; you flesh your characters out so well with just a few phrases. Vivian is a perfect example; I can already tell she's a good compliment to Audrey's unassuming personality, and that she'll bring her sister out of her shell a bit. And I just love their dad! He seems so cheerful and loving, just what a great dad ought to be.

Wonderful first chapter! I really do love this story :)

 Report Review

Review #67, by magnolia_magicS.S. Memoirs: Parselmouth: Chapter 2

17th July 2013:
Joffrey! We have a name! Haha I've been wondering about that kid, and I'm still so curious to see what kind of role he'll play in chapters to come. Meanwhile, I love that you included the story of the Wizard Uprising. It really sets up a context for Salazar's life and the way wizards and Muggles relate to each other.

I really like Salazar's father. He seems like a very good parent, and a responsible role model for Salazar and his siblings to look up to. I do have this sense of foreboding, though, for the future. I hope everything is okay for the Slytherin family, but I feel sure that something bad's going to happen to them. I can't wait to find out! I hope you get a chance to update soon, because I'm hooked on this story! Great job, Becca!

--Maggie

 Report Review

Review #68, by magnolia_magicS.S. Memoirs: Parselmouth: Chapter 1

17th July 2013:
Hi again, Becca! I loved this introduction to Salazar's life. I've never really seen many fics that deal with his early childhood, and I love your take on it. The scene with Alfred was really cute :) I like that you're keeping a very realistic feel to this; I feel like I really am in a medieval village, and I know that's a hard feat to pull off. Great job with making it feel genuine!

It looks like the problems between wizards and Muggles are starting to affect Salazar. His rage and pride seem to fit with the image we have of the adult Salazar, and I'm glad you included his tendencies toward that sort of behavior. It really makes him feel like the Salazar we've heard of, while still introducing us to a "new" character. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #69, by magnolia_magicS.S. Memoirs: Parselmouth: Introduction

17th July 2013:
Hi Becca! I remember hearing about this during Keckers season and I thought I'd check it out :)

What an ominous beginning! I'm dying to know who that blonde Slytherin is. And what could he have taken from the room that had such consequences? They mystery surrounding that is great--I love a good mystery, and I think it's a wonderful way to draw readers in. And Salazar is such a fascinating character; I can't wait to read more of his memoir! I love seeing different takes on what split him from the other founders...maybe this story will include that? I'll read on to find out. After this chapter, I can't wait! Great work!

--Maggie

 Report Review

Review #70, by magnolia_magicAnd Love Prevails: And Then There Was One

17th July 2013:
Wow, what a gut-wrenching chapter this is. I know this sounds dumb, because Cadmus had to have descendants, but I wasn't expecting him to have a son. And now that I know Tyrion and how adorable he is, it's doubly sad to see Cadmus' fate. I wish he could have overcome his sadness about Seraphine and been there for his son, but the legend had to be fulfilled, I suppose. This chapter just broke my heart! I'm glad Ignotius has Dominique to be there for him, though. Maybe that's part of her purpose in 1234--to be Ignotius' strength. I think she's doing a wonderful job of that :)

I loved this one! I should be back soon with another review :)

 Report Review

Review #71, by magnolia_magicAnd Love Prevails: Lord Callum Conway

17th July 2013:
Oh Callum. Haha, Ignotius' thoughts about him had me worried that he's some sort of player. Even so, I can't help but like him. And clearly, Dominique has caught his eye. Honestly, I see where Dominique is coming from in wanting more from Ignotius, and maybe unconsciously looking for it in Callum. Even though Ignotius is grieving, she still has certain modern expectations about relationships. It must be hurtful to feel ignored, even if there is a good reason. You did a good job of exploring that complex emotion with this chapter. That's why I love it! (And also because Callum makes his adorably cocky appearance.) Great work Drue!

 Report Review

Review #72, by magnolia_magicAnd Love Prevails: Home Away From Home

17th July 2013:
THIS. THIS CHAPTER. It's so precious! And then it gets sad before we know it. I feel like I say "poor Ignotius" in every single review I leave. But it applies here too, sadly. I can't even imagine what it must be like to hear that news, at a moment when you're at your happiest. And knowing Cadmus' fate must have been an incredible burden to Dominique. In a way, I'm glad she finally lets it out, even with the time travel "rules."

I absolutely LOVED the moment between Ignotius and Dominique. I could just feel how much they felt for each other, even at this beginning stage. There's a sense of the epic about their romance, maybe because of the legend that ends up being the key to the HP series. This was a wonderful start to that romance :) I loved it, as always!

 Report Review

Review #73, by magnolia_magicAnd Love Prevails: Just Breathe

17th July 2013:
Oh no. The big reveal. I feel so bad for Ignotius here. He's starting to be smitten with Dominique, and now he finds out about the obstacle that is Brigid of Pellinor. Poor guy! But at the same time, I love this chapter because it shows both sides of the time-travel issue. I'm glad you don't just leave Dominique's family behind when she leaves them; of course they would be incredibly worried. But it's still nice to see her settling into 1234. There's just a sense of rightness about seeing her there, in that environment (and with Ignotius.) Wonderful job with this chapter!

 Report Review

Review #74, by magnolia_magicAnd Love Prevails: The Tale of the Three Brothers

17th July 2013:
Hi again Drue! I'm just bouncing around to leave reviews on my favorite chapters :)

I love the way you introduce us to the brothers, especially Ignotius. We clearly see his frustration at being belittled by his brothers, and the fact that he's smarter than they give him credit for. And Cadmus is so deeply sad. I feel for him so much in this chapter, and at this point we barely know him.

Dominique really comes to life in this chapter too. It's obvious that she feels like the odd one out in her family, but it's nice to see the bond she has with her sister and her uncle Harry. And I love that you jump right into the action in the first chapter! It gets readers so excited to read on :)

Great job! I'll be back soon with another review :)

 Report Review

Review #75, by magnolia_magicAnd Love Prevails: A Man On the Run From Death

17th July 2013:
Oh wow, poor Brigid! I feel so incredibly sorry for her here, and yet I'm very impressed by the way she's conducted herself. She's clearly a kind, unselfish person, and I'm sorry she couldn't be with the man she loves. That's a real strength you have with this story, creating rival love interests that we just can't help but like. Haha, it makes everything so much more complicated!

I LOVED the scene with Death. It was so creepy and ominous. And now we have this information about Dominque's death and we don't know what to think! I personally like to think it all ends happily for the couple (And Love Prevails, right?), but you've set it up in a way that makes it all uncertain. Can't wait for the next update!

--Maggie

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>