Reading Reviews From Member: magnolia_magic
  
226 Reviews Found

Review #51, by magnolia_magicAnd Love Prevails: Home Away From Home

17th July 2013:
THIS. THIS CHAPTER. It's so precious! And then it gets sad before we know it. I feel like I say "poor Ignotius" in every single review I leave. But it applies here too, sadly. I can't even imagine what it must be like to hear that news, at a moment when you're at your happiest. And knowing Cadmus' fate must have been an incredible burden to Dominique. In a way, I'm glad she finally lets it out, even with the time travel "rules."

I absolutely LOVED the moment between Ignotius and Dominique. I could just feel how much they felt for each other, even at this beginning stage. There's a sense of the epic about their romance, maybe because of the legend that ends up being the key to the HP series. This was a wonderful start to that romance :) I loved it, as always!

 Report Review

Review #52, by magnolia_magicAnd Love Prevails: Just Breathe

17th July 2013:
Oh no. The big reveal. I feel so bad for Ignotius here. He's starting to be smitten with Dominique, and now he finds out about the obstacle that is Brigid of Pellinor. Poor guy! But at the same time, I love this chapter because it shows both sides of the time-travel issue. I'm glad you don't just leave Dominique's family behind when she leaves them; of course they would be incredibly worried. But it's still nice to see her settling into 1234. There's just a sense of rightness about seeing her there, in that environment (and with Ignotius.) Wonderful job with this chapter!

 Report Review

Review #53, by magnolia_magicAnd Love Prevails: The Tale of the Three Brothers

17th July 2013:
Hi again Drue! I'm just bouncing around to leave reviews on my favorite chapters :)

I love the way you introduce us to the brothers, especially Ignotius. We clearly see his frustration at being belittled by his brothers, and the fact that he's smarter than they give him credit for. And Cadmus is so deeply sad. I feel for him so much in this chapter, and at this point we barely know him.

Dominique really comes to life in this chapter too. It's obvious that she feels like the odd one out in her family, but it's nice to see the bond she has with her sister and her uncle Harry. And I love that you jump right into the action in the first chapter! It gets readers so excited to read on :)

Great job! I'll be back soon with another review :)

 Report Review

Review #54, by magnolia_magicAnd Love Prevails: A Man On the Run From Death

17th July 2013:
Oh wow, poor Brigid! I feel so incredibly sorry for her here, and yet I'm very impressed by the way she's conducted herself. She's clearly a kind, unselfish person, and I'm sorry she couldn't be with the man she loves. That's a real strength you have with this story, creating rival love interests that we just can't help but like. Haha, it makes everything so much more complicated!

I LOVED the scene with Death. It was so creepy and ominous. And now we have this information about Dominque's death and we don't know what to think! I personally like to think it all ends happily for the couple (And Love Prevails, right?), but you've set it up in a way that makes it all uncertain. Can't wait for the next update!

--Maggie

 Report Review

Review #55, by magnolia_magicThe Simplest of Words: Regrets

17th July 2013:
Back for chapter 2! I loved your idea about the afterlife, having to resolve any leftover issue before getting the chance to move forward. It's a very poetic way of thinking about it. I love the memory Sirius chose. Those things say a lot about a person, I think, and it makes sense that Sirius would choose to remember a moment when he was "home" at Hogwarts, with his closest friends around him.

And you've got me very curious about that one regret Sirius hasn't let go of yet! I can't wait to see what it could be about. I suppose I'll have to be patient. I hope you're planning to update this, because I really did enjoy it :)

Author's Response: I do plan on updating it! .eventually. I think there will be two chapters before this is finished, but the 'regret' won't be revealed until the final one, chapter 4.

But yes, Sirius (like Harry) felt most at home at Hogwarts to me. He didn't come from a pleasant home, due to him being the black sheep of the Black family. The Marauders were his family. And when you are at your weakest, what do you want more than the comfort of family?

Thank you for the review!!


 Report Review

Review #56, by magnolia_magicThe Simplest of Words: Prologue

17th July 2013:
Ooh, what an interesting start! You've done such a wonderful job with this first chapter. I remember seeing this moment in the book from Harry's point of view, so it's really interesting to see it from Sirius' eyes. All the talk of memories really tugged at my heartstrings toward the end, as well as his wondering if he'd ever told Harry he loved him. What a tragic thing. I think you did a great job of getting all that emotion across. You also have some beautiful description here; I especially loved "blackened tango." That's a really creative way to describe a duel, and it's so fitting.

Great start! Hopefully I'll get to the next chapter very soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! This was originally written for a challenge, but I didn't finish it in time to submit it. There is still at least two chapters for this story but I've hit a road block for Ch 3 that I can't seem to smooth out...

Thank you so much for your compliment about the descriptions! I try to paint a picture using words when I write, which is probably why I get stuck so often.

Thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #57, by magnolia_magicBeat It: The morning after

17th July 2013:
Back for chapter 2!

I love your use of the Grease quote; it cracked me up, and I think that was a very appropriate situation for Roxie to say it. I liked the dynamic of the team as a whole, and I'm starting to especially love Violet. She seems like a fun person and a good friend for Roxie.

I always love to see George pop up in nextgen fics! He seems like he'd be such a cool dad, and I think you really did him justice here. Roxie's parents seem to be very supportive, and I'm glad to see that she can be open with them about her life (even though I can't imagine talking to my parents about creepy guys like Jason.) This is continuing to be a fun, lighthearted read, and I'm so glad I stumbled across it! Keep up the awesome work!

--Maggie

Author's Response: I loved using the Grease quotes, I'm tempted to use more in the other chapters of the story, they give me lots of ideas!
Yay! you love Violet! I love writing her, I can't wait to include her more in the story.

I love it too! I always want to know how he's doing with his life now he's older and that. Wow, that's made my day that you think that :D *hugs*

I wanted to have them as a close family that would help each other out and be very open with each other.

I'm so glad that you stumbled across my story too! You've made my day with your wonderful reviews :D


 Report Review

Review #58, by magnolia_magicBeat It: A Wasps Attention

17th July 2013:
Hi! I'm so glad this caught my eye; it looks like a really fun story! I'm already loving the tension between Jason and Roxanne. There's always that one guy around who takes things way too far, and it seems to me like that guy is Jason. He's going to have to shape up in order for me to like him, and I hope Roxie feels the same way :)

I like the view of the inner workings of the Quidditch league you show us. You know, I've never read anything like it before, but it makes sense that all the teams would have meetings and rivalries and such. I think this was a very creative way to begin a pro-Quidditch story.

Great start! I hope to be able to read more :)

--Maggie

Author's Response: I'm glad it caught your eye too! I love writing this story so I'm so happy that you're enjoying it so much. Haha, Jason and Roxanne have a lot of tension between them, which is only going to get a lot worse. :P

I was trying to think of what footballers might have to go through and I wanted to try and incorporate that into my story. I can imagine all of the ceremony's being similar.

Thank you so much for your kind and amazing review! :D


 Report Review

Review #59, by magnolia_magicUndertow: Chapter Three

17th July 2013:
Hi again! I loved this chapter, just like the others. I'm sure you get a lot of gushing reviews on this story :)

I loved Makaio, and I was glad to see he wasn't a scary predator :) I was hoping to see Rose have some people in her life outside of just Viktor, to whatever extent that could be possible. Makaio seems like he could be a good friend to them. But I'm still dying to know whether she really did see Hugo in the village. Somehow I don't think that was just her imagination.

Viktor and Rose had some really precious moments here, and I loved reading them. He's got a sly sense of humor that I really liked. And your description of the festival was just lovely.

Wonderful job with this! And thank you so much for all you've put into the House Cup this year--it's so impressive!

--Maggie

Author's Response: I really enjoy writing OCs, so I'm so happy to hear you liked Makaio. Though the story is about Rose and Viktor, I think it's important to Rose interacting with other people. It (hopefully) helps put the way she interacts with Viktor in a better context. And the Hugo mystery will be an ongoing question, but hopefully in a good way!

Writing Krum's dry wit is so much fun. He says the sorts of things I never could :P

Thank you so much for the three lovely reviews. Sorry it took so long to respond. I really hope you enjoyed the House Cup!!


 Report Review

Review #60, by magnolia_magicUndertow: Chapter Two

17th July 2013:
This chapter is the perfect follow-up to the first, I think. I love hearing about Rose and Viktor's exotic new life, and I love that you compared the jungle humidity to hot pea soup. That made me smile :) I'm glad you've included little things like that to lighten the mood a little every now and then.

I really think I like Viktor and Rose together. I didn't think I would, honestly. But your Viktor seems to be good for Rose, and I'm finding myself wanting to see more of them. And that ending! Haha, what a cliffhanger that is. I like that you get into some drama relatively quickly in the story; it makes for a thrill ride that will pull readers in for sure.

Awesome work! I'm off to the next chapter :)

Author's Response: A lot of people have commented on the humidity references. I guess we've all been there, where the air is so thick it feels like waking through water. I'm so glad that description stood out in lighthearted way.

Oh, I'm so happy you liked your first glimpse at Viktor and Rose. I can totally see why people might be turned off by the pairing, but hopefully their age difference pales in comparison to how they relate to each other.

I'm probably a little TOO fond of cliffhanger, but I do like to keep stories moving a good pace as much as I can.

Thank you for another lovely review!



 Report Review

Review #61, by magnolia_magicUndertow: Chapter One

17th July 2013:
Hi! I've been meaning to read this story for a long time, because I'd heard about the Rose/Krum pairing on the forums. How could I not check it out? And I haven't read Over the Edge, but this first chapter didn't leave me confused at all. I think you're doing well in making this a stand-alone story :)

I am really looking forward to getting to know Rose better in future chapters. Right now there's a lot of mystery about her, which I think is a wonderful way to begin a story. I'm thinking she probably has quite the colorful past (which I'd know more about if I had read Over the Edge, but I sort of like the guessing game.) Hopefully more will unfold later about that! But for now I'm enjoying learning about her life in the present. Your writing style is really of great quality; it's very down-to-earth and straightforward, and it's a pleasure to read. Great work!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hi Maggie! I'm so excited you decided to give the story a look. I'm glad to hear it can stand on its own from the first.

This is a pretty short first chapter, but I'm so glad that hint of mystery came through. Her backstory, both from the first book and since that story ended will unfold slowly, but hopefully this was enough of a teaser to get things started. I'm so glad you enjoyed the writing style. I try to make it as reader-friendly as possible so hopefully the story can take center stage.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #62, by magnolia_magicPolaris: Polaris

17th July 2013:
Ahh, this was gut-wrenching! I've never read any of your work before, but I'm glad I chose this oneshot to read. You did a really beautiful job writing it!

I'm still wrapping my head around the idea that Bill would stray away from Fleur Delacour, of all people. Who in his right mind would cheat on her? But I suppose they had different things in mind for life, as Fleur explains toward the beginning. I've just never thought about the idea that they might not have had a happy marriage. It's a very interesting thought to explore!

I loved Teddy's line: "We'll knit scarves. Never quite fit. Die." Wow, that's depressing. And it hits just the right tone for this story. It's just so hopeless. You have a way of writing very sparse, simple lines that really cut right to the heart. That's a wonderful skill, one that a lot of writers strive for. I'm so glad I got to see an example of that technique done right. Wonderful job!

--Maggie

 Report Review

Review #63, by magnolia_magicI love you, Mum: Chapter 2

16th July 2013:
And the big reveal! Well, one of them, anyway :) I can see why Nikkole couldn't keep it to herself very long. Her baby has been her whole life; how could she pretend that he didn't exist? But I'm glad it was Roxie who caught her mistake. She seems like a very supportive friend, which is something Nikkole is definitely going to need. You're doing a great job of setting up tension for upcoming chapters! Will James find out, and how will he react if he does? Your readers will be dying for you to answer those questions!

This is such a fun read! Great work :)

 Report Review

Review #64, by magnolia_magicI love you, Mum: Chapter 1

16th July 2013:
Oh wow. I can't stand Alexia already. I think we all knew one of those girls in high school; the ones who were so overprotective of their boyfriends that they have to be nasty to everyone else. You did a great job of making her the "villain" character here.

On another note, it was great to see that Nikkole's parents seem so supportive of her. She's very lucky to have a support system at home for Tyler, and I'm glad her parents didn't shun her or anything of that sort. I love seeing their relationship :)

Great job! I'll keep going :)

 Report Review

Review #65, by magnolia_magicI love you, Mum: Prologue

16th July 2013:
Hi! I've had this story in my favorites for a while, so I thought it was time I stopped by to review!

I like this length for an opening chapter. It is really short, but I think it's good to get as much across as possible in a few words. It packs more of a punch that way :) I can clearly see Nikkole's love for her son here. You did a great job showing us that bond, which will be at the heart of this story. Overall, I think this chapter is a great one to pull readers in and get them hooked, just like me! Great job!

 Report Review

Review #66, by magnolia_magicThe British Are Coming: May I Have This Dance?

16th July 2013:
Wow, what an intense chapter! I definitely was not prepared for the sudden change in Carter. I mean, James warned her, but I didn't expect him to show his true colors so soon. Addie's really lucky to have such awesome "brother" around to look out for her.

I especially loved the beginning, when Addie and Dom were talking about the future. It makes sense that Dominique would want to separate herself from the other Weasleys and prove that she's got more than just her looks. I really do like her, and I think she and Addie work really well together as friends.

This was such a fun story! I really enjoyed reading it. I hope you update soon!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Yeah, some people can change the way they act so quickly. Thanks again Maggie! You're amazing, I should be updating pretty soon!

 Report Review

Review #67, by magnolia_magicThe British Are Coming: Bootcamp

16th July 2013:
So I know you said this was just a filler chapter. But sometimes it's good to take a step back and just let us get to know your characters a bit better. The two truths and a lie was a great way to do that, because we got to learn tons of little tidbits about them. And it was done in an interesting way...a great example of the "show, don't tell" technique. I had fun reading it!

And yes, Addie is being VERY stupid about James! Ugh, why can't they be cute again right now? Haha, I'll just have to be patient, I suppose. I'm glad Addie and Dom are getting to be better friends, and I really enjoyed getting to know your supporting cast better. Though Tyler is still my favorite of them all :)

Off to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Yeah, I love playing that game, it's one of my favorites. Ty is amazing! I love him! Thanks again sweetie!

 Report Review

Review #68, by magnolia_magicThe British Are Coming: Happy Birthday To Me

16th July 2013:
Aww, so precious! I loved this chapter, especially the end! I know it probably can't be happy forever with James and Addie, but it was nice to see her have a good birthday (and to finally let James in). I loved the little tidbits of jealousy you put in for both of them. It shows that no matter what they may say, they're starting to have feelings for each other.

My favorite part was the bit where Addie's describing her charm bracelet. I feel like I really got a sense of her in that moment; who she really feels like inside, just like she said. You're doing a wonderful job developing her. And side note: I'm so impressed with all the detail you gave about Salem! You were very thorough in your description of it, and it sounds like an amazing place :)

Off to the next chapter! Awesome work!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! I love reading your reviews, that fill me up inside with warm and fuzzes! You're too sweet!

 Report Review

Review #69, by magnolia_magicThe British Are Coming: Uncommon Name

16th July 2013:
So I wish Addie would just figure out why she dislikes James so much. The way I'm seeing it, he hasn't done anything to deserve her hatred, and I just wish she could soften up a bit with him. She's so rude to him, for no reason! Haha I was really frustrated with her at the beginning.

But then the second section happened. I loved the therapy session, and seeing Addie open up. Just when I'm starting to really hate her, you make me like her again. That's a great skill; it keeps readers on their toes, for sure! This chapter shed a little more light on her childhood, and why she's so guarded. I felt terrible for her, but I was glad to see some clarity there. (And I liked her moment with James at the end. So sweet!)

I have a feeling I'm going to get to all your chapters today! I'll be back soon :)

Author's Response: Yeah, sometimes Addie (and I) get like that. Thanks you so much, that means a lot!

 Report Review

Review #70, by magnolia_magicThe British Are Coming: Mommy Problems

16th July 2013:
Hi! Back for another chapter!

I'm finding myself loving some things about Addie and hating others. Haha, I'm sure you get that from readers a lot :) She's full of contradictions, but that's what's great about her! Mostly she just hates the world and practically everyone in it. That does get exhausting for me to read, but then you show us unexpected softer sides of her. Like her vulnerability about her mom, or the fact that she's not a drinker (which really did surprise me.) I think you're doing an awesome job of keeping Addie interesting!

I love Ty best of all your supporting cast so far. He seems like such a sweetheart, the perfect compliment to Addie's sullen attitude and Luke's craziness :)

Great work, again! Haha I'm definitely getting sucked into this story. I'll be back for chapter 3 soon!

Author's Response: Yeah, I love the three of them together. My goal was to make a character that was real, so I hope you think I did that! Well that's amazing to hear! Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #71, by magnolia_magicThe British Are Coming: Not Your Girl

16th July 2013:
Hi! I've always wanted to read a fic set in America, and I'm so glad I picked this one! You're off to an amazing start!

Addie's going to be fun to read, I can tell. I'm a Southerner myself, so I just love reading from the POV of one! She definitely seems like the type of girl who would have guy friends, and I think you wrote her tomboy side well. (And I love Tyler and Luke too, they cracked me up!) And you're already starting to build up this great mystery about her. Clearly, her home situation isn't the best. I'm excited to find out more!

I'm off to the next chapter now! I love the way you've introduced us to Salem life. Can't wait to see where this goes. Great start!

Author's Response: Oh my lord, this is just so sweet! This made my day! Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #72, by magnolia_magicWhere are you now?: Where are you now?

15th July 2013:
Hi! I love a Snily story, so I thought I would check yours out. I think you did a great job getting inside Snape's head here, and it was a fascinating read.

I think a big constant in Snape's adult life is guilt over that incident with Lily, and you did a wonderful job exploring its beginnings. I really do like Snape (as much as it's possible to like him), so it breaks my heart to see him suffer. You've done such a good job of showing his inner turmoil, and how conflicted he is. I like that you describe the dark arts as an "obsession" for him. He isn't doing it because he believes in the cause, necessarily. He just doesn't see a way out at this point. In a way, that almost makes his actions more heartbreaking.

I enjoyed this venture inside Severus' head very much. I'm so glad I read it! Keep it up!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hey Maggie! I'm not actually a big fan of Snily or Snape for that matter :P This was written for a challenge and whilst I was listening to the song that I drew, I couldn't think of anything but Snily. Which surprised me considering my apathetic feelings towards the ship.

He does carry around that guilt, and you have to feel for him because he lost a woman he loved because of one moment of stupidity. He's definitely a character of confliction, and it is something that JK played on when she wrote him, so I had to include that.

I think the dark arts are an escape for him as well, a way for him to use his talents and channel his focus away from Lily and onto something 'productive'. It is heartbreaking, because there is no light at the end of the tunnel. All he was ever going to amount to was becoming a death eater, a path he had chosen after he had lost Lily.

Thanks so much for the review Maggie :D I'm glad you're glad you read it ;)


 Report Review

Review #73, by magnolia_magicThe Cusp: Time

15th July 2013:
I feel like I should open by saying that I love your work and rarely review it, and I'm sorry for that. But that said, I am so happy that I chose this piece to review. You did such a lovely job with it, as always.

I love the nostalgic feel of this, and the pictures you paint with your words. It feels almost vague in a way, like a dream. And since this story is made up of memories, I think that's the perfect way to go about writing it. The whole thing just made me smile, even when the memories were sad. And I like that you chose Padma to narrate this, because we got to see the bond between the twins. You end with the promise that they will always be there for each other, through everything that comes next. I think that message is just lovely, and I liked seeing the subtle ways that they support each other.

Beautiful job! Keep up the awesome work...I have really been enjoying reading your stories :)

--Maggie

 Report Review

Review #74, by magnolia_magicDear Tom: The Monster Under the Bed

15th July 2013:
Hi! Your summary caught my eye, and I thought I'd stop by to review! I'm so glad I read this: this period in Ginny's life has always fascinated me, and I thought you wrote both her and Tom very well.

Even though there was no "dialogue" in this, I still think I can say you wrote their conversation incredibly well. Tom's voice is so perfect for the situation; he flatters Ginny, he advises her, and he pretends to care about her. I can definitely see how Ginny fell under his spell! And her ignorance just makes me so sad. You really captured her young voice very well. The things she worries about are so true to that age, and it was so sweet to see her crush on Harry play out at Hogwarts.

I love the last line, about the monster under Ginny's bed. So ominous, and so very appropriate for Voldemort. That was a great note to end on.

Awesome work! I'm so glad I read this!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Wow, thank you Maggie! I appreciate it so much that you took the time to leave me such a sweet review! Ginny has always been one of my favorite characters and I love the awkward unrequited crush she had on Harry in her younger years. I definitely identify with Ginny's naivete concerning the dubious nature of Tom's diary. I don't think i could have resisted a journal that talked back (que middle school angst). Thanks again for your kind words :)

 Report Review

Review #75, by magnolia_magicWe Should Be Forever: We Should Be Forever

15th July 2013:
Hi! I'm so glad I stumbled across this precious story! I've never read this pairing, and I thought your interpretation was great!

You did a great job of capturing the overwhelming nature of young love. They are both so uncertain about the other's feelings (even though they've told each other countless times, probably) and a little scared about the future. But I'm glad Lily ended up taking the plunge and making her wishes known. Lysander's reaction was so cute! You made it so clear how much they love each other. That us-against-the-world feeling they have came through so well, and it made me smile. The whole time I was thinking, "I know exactly how that feels!" That's why I think this will resonate with a lot of people; it's a situation that so many people experience and look back on as a great memory :)

Great job! I had so much fun reading this!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so so so much for this! It made my day! I am so happy that you liked it and could relate to it. I had a great time writing it, so I'm glad you had fun reading it. Thank you again from the bottom of my heart!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>