Reading Reviews From Member: Love is a Mix Tape
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Love is a Mix TapeNo Solid Ground: Can't Make It Through It But I'll Try Anyway

31st October 2012:
I thought I left a review but I guess I hadn't? To keep it simple: OH MY GOD I JUST NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS.

Which, duh, means good story because I am INVESTED and all that rot.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Love is a Mix TapeAnd All That Jazz: Reality, Ice, And All That Jazz

29th October 2012:
Yes you do need to talk and it should go something like.

"I want you to be happy. Date James. Be happy."

But that's not going to be it at all is it?

Super stoked on the new chapter. Thank you.

Author's Response: Haha, I'm sure many people would like for them to have that little chat. I'm not saying whether you're right or wrong, though. You'll just have to wait :P

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Love is a Mix TapeTurning the Tables: Epilogue: This is the Story of Us All

27th October 2012:
SOB. SOB. SOB.

Dom + Coco
4ever

Great story. Thanks. It was fun to read.

Author's Response: Hahah yes Dom/Coco is the true pairing in this story! :) It was really about their friendship more than anything else I think.

I'm so happy you liked the story, and sorry for making it sad. I was in a very sad place when I wrote it.

Thank you for reviewing!
-Rebecca


 Report Review

Review #4, by Love is a Mix TapeNot Just a Bystander: And then there is a brief calm...

25th October 2012:
Oh my goodness there's gonna be a murder at Hogwarts.

Author's Response: This review genuinely cracked me up :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by Love is a Mix TapeBetween Here and Somewhere: Alphard

18th October 2012:
First: Wow! Lucky you to have attended J.K. Rowling's reading and signing. What do you think of her new book (provided you've read it in its entirety)?

Second: BEST LINE IN A MARAUDER FF THAT I'VE EVER READ. "If Remus was remembering right, Nymphadora was around five or so." I laughed for a full minute.

Author's Response: It was such an amazing event! I adored her new book. It was so thought-provoking and detailed. I don't want to spoil in case someone reading this hasn't read it, but feel free to PM me on the forums if you want to discuss.

I loved writing that line! It made me giggle as I wrote it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Love is a Mix TapeBetween Here and Somewhere: Okay

10th October 2012:
I'm currently reading The Fault in Our Stars for the third time. I got one of the signed copies that were shipped to bookstores. I think it's dead clever how John signs his first name with a green felt.

Great chapter. Gosh am I only just noticing that the months are the same and only the years are different? Has it always been like that? If so that makes you as clever as John written in green.

OKAY.

Author's Response: That's awesome! I got a signed copy, too, and my J Scribble is also green.

Haha, yes, the months are intended to be the same! As Remus teaches at Hogwarts and gets to know Luna, he reminisces about his seventh year. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Love is a Mix TapeSo, Listen...: May 1998

9th October 2012:
So it's 3:30 in the morning and I am trying to muffle my sobbing so as not to wake anyone.

Muffle. My. Sobbing.

Not just tears. Sobbing. Agonized groans. Watery hiccups.

My fels.

Author's Response: :( -offers you box of tissues-

I'm sorry about your feels! (But secretly glad that you had them.) :3

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Love is a Mix Tapeetc. etc. (and life goes on): The Casualties of War

5th October 2012:
I used to drink while I edited, too.

This series is great. It makes me nostalgic for my journalism days! I love the concept, the characters and most of all the eloquence.

Welcome to the favourites!!!

Author's Response: AHA, I snorted out loud. I read that in a deadpan.

I'm glad you like it! Now that I'm not part of a newspaper, it makes me pretty nostalgic too. Deadlines, what a rush.

♥ thank you!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Love is a Mix TapeBetween Here and Somewhere: Hogsmeade

3rd October 2012:
Happy belated birthday!

Red is a very attractive colour. Good choice, James. If being an auror doesn't work out he could start the wizarding version of What Not to Wear.

Author's Response: Thank you! Red is definitely a nice color. It's one of my favorites. Haha, now that would make a hilarious fan fiction! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Love is a Mix TapeTurning the Tables: Some Nights

26th September 2012:
Great job.

This story has more heart and originality than a lot of other stories I've read online. It may not be the most well written on the site (a few grammar errors here and there, which aren't a big deal in the grand scheme of things) but it resonated with me as a reader. I laughed, I cried and I really invested in the characters.

For the record I never once wanted to punch any of your characters in the face which is a high compliment. There is usually always that one character that seems to just be a jerk for the sake of being a jerk and the way they go about it is so unrealistic but you've made all your characters complex and real with real issues. I love it.

Welcome to the favourites list!!!

P.S. I honestly meant no offense with the grammar remark. I just wanted to make clear that a story doesn't have to have perfect grammar to be amazing. I wanted to make sure my intentions were clear so I didn't unintentionally hurt your feelings. :)

Author's Response: Thanks you!

I'm really flattered you like the story so much. And yeah, I guess it's not that well-written, but it's hard when I write super long chapters and I'm the only pair of eyes editing them. I'm happy you liked the characters despite that.

I'm super surprised you never wanted to punch any of the characters in the face. Let me tell you, I've wanted to punch them all in the face numerous times (mostly Corinne because she was so annoying). But I'm glad you think I made the characters complex. I took a lot of time in making them.

Thank you for reviewing :)
-Rebecca


 Report Review

Review #11, by Love is a Mix TapeClash: Shadow

25th September 2012:
"Yes. You heard right. With the help of one double-fudge chocolate cake, I have reduced Harry Potter, the sole savior of the Wizarding World, to a pathetic fetal position."

My tummy has cramps because I laughed so much...

 Report Review

Review #12, by Love is a Mix TapeBreaking the Quidditch Code: The Tornadoes & Dr. Legace

21st September 2012:
“Oh, go bonk the giant squid,” I snapped in return. Then part of me wondered how long giant squids were supposed to live because Dad talked about it and Uncle Ron talked about it and I bet if I asked Grandma and Grandpa Weasley they’d talk about it too. It should be given the title of Immortal Giant Squid the Great or something fantastic like that.


That made me laugh out loud.

Author's Response: Haha, thank you so much! Sometimes James has the weirdest conversations with himself. He's an oddball.

Thanks for the review! I hope you enjoy the rest of the story!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Love is a Mix TapeMy Not-So-Imaginary Friend: Epilogue: One Journey's End is Another's Beginning

19th September 2012:
Unhappy ending. Nice choice. I see there's a sequel coming in October. I'm assuming from the title that it will still be written in first person from the perspective of Marta's daughter (right?). I'm looking forward to it!

Author's Response: Yeah, this story was doomed to this ending (or something like it) from the very beginning. And I'm currently making my plans for the sequel. Yes, it'll be first-person perspective from Marta's daughter. I still have more ideas involving Benjamin that Marta couldn't participate in. Good to hear you're interested in it! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Love is a Mix TapeBrains & Brawn: Old Friend, Why Are You so Shy?

19th September 2012:
I adore the intricacies of this story. Drew for instance was a new kind of villain. The layers to relationships and details are lovely.

Also are all the chapter titles lyrics from songs? I know that some are for sure.

Any chance you'd be willing to tell me what they are? I already recognize ones from The Hush Sound and All Time Low. We seem to have similar taste in music and I am insatiably curious about it!

Author's Response: hehe, thank you so much! such compliments @___@ they make me blush! and yes, the chapter titles are from songs :D i've been meaning to go back and edit in which songs they're from...:X i was just going to make a big list at the end but i feel like it'd probably be more efficient if i just included them at the end of the chapter. heh. :D

there's a lot of panic! at the disco and some are taylor swift (very few) and a lot of jack's mannequin/something corporate mixed in as well. :D

thanks again for leaving a review ^_^


 Report Review

Review #15, by Love is a Mix TapeBetween Here and Somewhere: Other Options

18th September 2012:
I really enjoy the concept of this story and how it's sole purpose is not a love story but a story about Remus' life past and present. I also love Luna. She's written so well and is every bit true to the original character Rowling created.

Lovely. Truly lovely.

Author's Response: I'm really glad you like it! So many Marauder stories focus on romance and I just don't think that's really what the Marauders would've been focusing on during a war. Aww, I'm glad you like Luna! I do worry about doing her justice. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Love is a Mix TapeA Light In The Dark: The Servant and the Mistress

17th September 2012:
This is by far the best "Harry Potter has a sister" fic I've ever read. The concept has failed in many people's hands but you are doing such a wonderful job with it!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Love is a Mix TapeAnd All That Jazz: Darkness, Time, And All That Jazz

17th September 2012:
Wow. Aria is the most complex character. I love it. Sorry I'm a wee emotional and can't quite articulate feels at the moment.

Author's Response: Ahaha, thank you ♥ 'Tis okay, I understand how you feel. But thanks for trying! :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by Love is a Mix Tape(shenanigans): (chelsea) I was not expecting that.

16th September 2012:
BRILLIANT.

Another one for the favourites!

I... I don't have adequate words right now. Hilarious. Just... hilarious. Quite the enjoyable read!

Author's Response: THANK YOU.

Hooray for favorites!

Ahaha, that's okay. My stories tend to leave people incoherent (not in a good way). Thank yoouu for reviewing ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by Love is a Mix Tape(shenanigans): (al) It's always me.

15th September 2012:
Oh my gosh. I KNEW A GUY LIKE THIS. He wasn't quite this repulsive (upon first meeting him) but he claimed to be gangsta and a beast. And I always thought he was an idiot for it. Hence "knew" as in past tense as in "no...just...no" because ew.

Author's Response: Hehehe. I KNEW A GUY LIKE THIS TOO. Actually, I still know him, so... Yeah. Al is perhaps a /slightly/ over-exaggerated version of him? 'Cept my guy tends to use the word swag more often than gangsta or beast. SWAG. But swag is awesome, so it's forgivable ;) Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Love is a Mix TapeGuaranteed To Raise a Smile: Something to Write Home About (Maybe), Quidditch and Roger Davies

15th September 2012:
Welcome to my favourite's list! There are some stories that try for the humour I-spend-too-much-time-in-my-own-head narration angle and fail to capture my affections.

But this story does! I've laughed out loud quite a bit today. It's an enjoyable read. :)

Author's Response: And may I say what an honour it is to be here! ;) Thank you so much for reviewing; it makes my day to see that someone is enjoying my story :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by Love is a Mix TapeAnother One Goes By: That's All

11th September 2012:
I read this in 24 hours. I believe it's finished now and I feel a little... hollow? Is your intention to write a sequel? I may have missed a key author's note on that matter in my haste to read read read (just my luck, I finished chapter 18 and you posted this chapter). I think that the dynamic between Snape and Clio in a potential sequel will provide a lot of entertainment. The one loose end that I want tied up is the mystery about her grandfather.

I liked the depth to your characters. Remus was written well (some Remus' are just...no), Nox was a treat, Clio was alright, I relate to her love of music, but I really liked Charity and Snape.

In an earlier chapter (I can't recall which one) I was thoroughly amused by Clio's comment about building a TARDIS. I'm not apart of the fandom but I understood and laughed out loud at the reference. I sent that part to my friend because it sounds like something she would have said.

I wish I had been thoughtful enough to leave better reviews but I hope this one makes up for my earlier silence.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for making it all the way to the end and leaving a review! :) I understand what you mean by hollow; I knew from the beginning that it would end this way (even though I was occasionally tempted to either end on a happier note or kill Clio off). It is "finished," although I have been doing some editing here and there and haven't quite worked up the nerve to cut the cord and mark it "completed" yet.

This is part of a bigger story that won't leave me be, and I so am working on a sequel. While I have the early chapters ready to post the middle is out of control. I'm trying to get a better handle on that section before I begin posting. The dynamic between Clio and Snape will definitely get interesting, and Charity and Nox will both be back. :) The mystery with her grandfather is also going to play a big part in the plot and it will get solved ... I just don't know how soon! I do have the answers in my head. I'm actually really glad to hear that you want that end tied up -- I don't think anyone else has even mentioned it.

I listened to music the entire time that I was writing, so I'm glad that you liked that aspect of Clio's personality. :) I also figured that wizards might look at science fiction the way we look at fantasy fiction, so I had fun throwing in the occasional Doctor Who references, too. :)

Anyway, thanks for stopping by and I hope you'll stop by again to read the next one once it starts going up (hopefully by the end of the month).


 Report Review

Review #22, by Love is a Mix TapeMy Not-So-Imaginary Friend: XIX: Everything Around Here Has Its Place

7th September 2012:
Benjamin is a really well-written villain. Stories that don't just focus on romance are great. I love this story and applaud you on having a new and interesting concept! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you like Benjamin as a villain. I don't recall seeing anything focusing on imaginary friends, so that's why I wrote this story. And it turned out better than I could have expected. Thank you reviewing and sharing your appreciation of this story and Benjamin!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Love is a Mix TapeTongue Tied: A Movie Script Ending

24th August 2012:
"I recommend to anyone who likes this ending to not read the epilogue. And the Sequel Muse, even though I personally feel that it is even better than this story."

But where for art thou sequel? Epilogue? :( This is a gem. It's so rare to read a GOOD FF. Your prose is superb. You use the active voice! Your characters are realistic. Good on you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! So, here's the deal. I'm working on being a writer for real, writing original stories and the like, and they have for the past few years taken precedence over fanfiction. I went ahead and took down both of those, and a few other stories. I hope someday that you'll get to read my stories, even if you don't know that they're from me.
Thank you!

Maisy


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login