Reading Reviews From Member: Pretense Of Perfection
  
476 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pretense Of PerfectionInvisible in Death: Ghostly Day

30th July 2014:
Aw, poor Myrtle! Even though she does have one of those personalities that most people can't stand to be around, I do feel really bad for her.

Obviously you did a wonderful job creating a sense of sympathy from your readers for Myrtle. Her pain is so clear, it almost jumps from the pages. We know from canon that Olive Hornby teased her mercilessly, and you really portrayed that well. I think you stayed true to both girls characters, with Myrtle being sort of pitiful and hopeless, and Olive being just a straight bully.

I love that you incorporated Hagrid and his love of magical creatures, even if Olive tried to turn that into something negative. I will admit it brought an interesting question to my mind...Hagrid/Myrtle? I bet people would stop making fun of her, they'd probably be terrified or making Hagrid angry! I'm assuming Tom was the prefect she ran into? That was also a nice touch.

I think the plot and pacing were perfect, and I really like how you didn't just jump right into Myrtle's death, but rather built up to it slowly, and sort of left your readers wondering when with all of her crying trips to the bathroom. As usual, you did a wonderful job with spelling and grammar, as I don't recall seeing any errors.

Definitely another great story. It was wonderfully written, and you did such an amazing job with setting the scene, I literally felt like I could have been Myrtle in certain situations (and poor girl...I think goodness that I am not her, lol!).

-- Fae

 Report Review

Review #2, by Pretense Of PerfectionChoreographed Affair: Choreographed Affair

30th July 2014:
Hi again!!

I do love anything from the Founders Era, and this proved to be no exception. I'll definitely have to read Sian's companion piece, as this was such a wonderful story.

You did a lovely job making the story feel authentic to the time period. The manner of speaking, so formal, feels genuine.

I love Helena and Godric's characterization. Their forbidden love is so heartbreaking and beautiful. Helena's youth and naivety over the situation add a realistic touch, as she is several years his junior. I love how their relationship grows and develops over time, grown from compassion and a mutual need for love. Godric being married to a woman he doesn't love also rings true for the time period, as I believe arranged marriages were a huge deal back then, it would make sense that he wouldn't necessarily be in love with his wife.

I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors, so awesome job there!!

It's so interesting how you turned a character/family we know from Canon, the Gaunt family, and incorporated him as another person we know from canon, the Bloody Baron. I could be wrong, but I do think he would have been addressed as his title of Baron, rather than Lord, but again, I'm definitely no expert. It's interesting that even back in this era, the Gaunt family is still kind of the villain, and I love how that point seems to almost connect the story to the present.

I think you did such a remarkable job telling Helena's story, I'm definitely going to have to favorite this. You truly have a way with words, and the descriptions that you give set the scene and tone beautifully. The pacing and plot were spot on, keeping me wanting more, but not overwhelming. Amazing story!

-- Fae

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pretense Of PerfectionDon't Mean a Thing: Not the One to Stay Around

30th July 2014:
Hi Rose!

Just stopping by to leave some of the promised reviews for placing in the Never Have I Ever Challenge.

I'm generally not a huge fan of Sirius/Lily, but you really managed to make this work. Sirius stays true to character, remaining sort of cold and haughty throughout the story, even though the two of them share this burning desire and passion. He never outright tells her he wants to be with her, and it doesn't seem like it's his intention to hurt her, even though he does. I can totally see the playboy Sirius thing going on here, but you managed to do it really well, especially since their relationship took place over a period of time, and Lily didn't just jump in with him right away.

Lily also remained pretty true to her character, somehow maintaining her innocence and naivety despite going for the typical Gryffindor bad boy. The fact that she seemed to think he'd stick around and fall in love with her just makes that charming Lily-ness we all know and love shine through, and make the story quite believable.

I noticed one or two spelling/grammar errors/typos, but nothing major. It's obvious you put a lot of effort into this, and the result is amazing. I think the pacing and flow are perfect, moving the relationship along quickly enough without being unrealistic. The plot is amazing, and I love how Sirius tries to keep it from James, even though he knows Lily will probably run to him for comfort.

You definitely managed to use some great descriptions, and at certain points I could almost feel their passion and desire burning through the pages. It was short and intense, just like any relationship between them would have to be.

Your use of second person POV was perfect. I generally find it difficult to read, but the structure of the overall story was so smooth, I barely noticed the "you" instead of "I" or "he." Definitely one of the best second person POV stories I've read!

Overall, I loved it. You packed an intense punch in a very short amount of words, and didn't sacrifice quality. Very enjoyable to read, and very convincing.

-- Fae

 Report Review

Review #4, by Pretense Of PerfectionValour : The Beginning in the End

30th July 2014:
Hi again!

Just stopping by to leave the last requested review.

This was another great chapter, and answered some questins while raising others. Using the third person POV writing this story was a great decision, and I love how you can follow different characters around without messing up the flow.

I think some of the time shifts get a bit...confusing maybe? The one that only has one or two sentences seems as if it could maybe be elaborated on a bit further, and personally I'd try limiting the time shifts to one or two, maybe three in each chapter, and break it up a bit more with details.

The beginning started out quite strong, it was nice to see all of the students interacting with one another and trying to figure things out. I like how they try to include Mary, even though she's sort of the outsider in the equation. If you're trying to remain strictly canon compliant, the Marauders possibly didn't know about the room of requirement, since it wasn't on the map, but the point is debatable and really a minor detail, unless you are trying to stick as closely as possible to canon.

I liked the graduation scene, it was very well written, but it felt perhaps a bit unnecessary? The other passages sort of represent the dynamic of the group, whereas that mainly just shows James and Lily, and perhaps could be incorporated into later chapters and fit better, like a flashback on their wedding or death day (if that makes sense), or a chapter that focuses more on just them.

I think you switched tenses a few times, which is nothing major that detracts from the overall quality of the story, but I thought I'd point it out. the overall plot flows together pretty well, but a few sentences could use some cleaning up structure wise. Again, it's readable and enjoyable, but a good beta could really do wonders to help with stuff like that (:

You did such a lovely job with characterization! I love how James and Lily act together, and can totally see James saying something about them going home and getting naughty, and Lily reacting exactly as she did. I like how Remus is portrayed, more quiet and thoughtful, which is canon compliant with what we know of him and his friendships. I think you did a good job with Marlene and Dorcas as well, and I would love to see more from Mary and Peter. You were definitely spot on with your characterization.

Again, I didn't notice anything that stuck out dialogue wise. I think it's pretty casual, which is how one would imagine friends, especially of a younger age, to speak to one another. It's simple and direct, which makes it easy to read and relate to, so I definitely think you can focus more on other areas.

There were a few typos and punctuation errors, but nothing huge.

You build the suspense and anticipation well, as I'm still dying to know who it is Marlene has feelings for (I'm guessing either Sirius or James), and how Mary is going to fit into their little group. Thanks for requesting, and I definitely hope you re-request me once you've posted more chapters, as this was quite an interesting read!!

-- Fae

Author's Response: Hello again!

I'm so glad I used third as well. I struggle with it, as I usually write in first, so I'll have to watch my tenses.

I have been considering cutting out that particular time shift. You're correct. It seems to break up the story. I think I'll just keep it to the one at the end, which is rather important.

I'll review the graduation section, and I might just end up making it a separate one-shot.

Yay! I'm so happy you liked my characterization. I feel like I have some trouble with that, but I'm working on it.

Mary and Peter will both appear more in the next chapter.

Oh, Marlene is going to be an interesting character. Same with Mary. I'm really excited to get into this! I'm happy you're intrigued.

Thanks again for your speedy review. I'll get my next chapter up ASAP!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Pretense Of PerfectionValour : The Doubt in the Strength

30th July 2014:
Hi there!!

This is Fae (Pretense of Perfection), from the forums, stopping by for your requested review.

I think the way that you choose to start the beginning segment is very interesting, and something that I haven't see done very often. It lends an air of mystery and intrigue, as you wonder who some of their roles are and to whom, like Marlene's affair and who Dorcas is secret keeper for. My only suggestion here is to maybe try changing up the sentence structure, so not every sentence begins with their name, but perhaps start out with something about them, and lead into their name, just to break it up some, if that makes sense.

I like how you jump back in time to Dumbledore revealing his intentions for the Order to them. The passage itself is a bit hard to read, as there are no spaces between the paragraphs or dialogue, but I know formatting on the archives can be a bit tricky at times.

I think you did a pretty good job with the characterization so far, from the brief glimpse we've seen so far. My only suggestion here is for Dumbledore - perhaps it's just me, but for some reason, I've never really seen him as the type to abbreviate his words. To me, he seems to sort of like his own voice, and therefor sort of draws things out, but again, this could be a personal preference of mine.

I noticed that you wanted specific input on the dialogue, but I think you've done a pretty good job with it. It could use a bit of cleaning up, so to speak, but is quite readable and enjoyable regardless.

I think the reference to The Ravenclaw was a bit confusing in the beginning. I was left wondering which of the girls it was, as their houses are not canon, and could maybe be elaborated upon a bit further, perhaps in the beginning introductions? Just a thought, though.

I always recommend a beta reader to anyone that seems like they don't have one, as they can provide support and encouragement when you need it, not to mention invaluable insight. I also do beta reading if you need someone, feel free to PM me if you're interested.

Overall you did a lovely job for a first chapter. It was just long enough to be interesting, and just short enough to keep your readers hooked. Keep up the great work, and feel free to PM me if you want specific help/input on the dialogue.

-- Fae

Author's Response: Thanks so much for getting to this so fast! And I think you are right about Dumbledore-I'll edit out his contractions.

I'm having a bit of trouble finding the right amount of mystery and information considering the description of the character's without names. I'll work out those tweaks, too.

I think I'll request a beta reader on the forums or something, because I am really interested in making this story the best it can be.

Thanks so much for your review!

blackballet (Catherine)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Pretense Of PerfectionActions Speak Louder than Words: Blown Away: Scorpius POV

30th July 2014:
Hello again!!

Just stopping by for the last requested review. Please feel free to re-request, as this story is a delight to read, and really has me intrigued so far.

I might have to bite me tongue in something I left on my last review...this chapter almost seems to imply that Rose and Scorpius did have some sort of romantic relationship at some point, which would of course explain their comfort level with one another being half naked. My apologies if this is the case, and I just didn't catch on earlier.

I loved reading things from Scorpius' POV, and the flashback to his parents murder kept me wanting to read more. I can only imagine how terrible be must've felt, having fought with his parents right before this. Poor Scorpius!

I think you did a wonderful job keeping him in character, and what really did it for me was how he felt about Mason. His thoughts about the boy were almost cruel, and the fact that he only wanted to hang out with him to irritate his father is just like a Malfoy, lol! The only thing that was a bit off, in my opinion at least, was when he referred to Mason as a "lad." Being part of the younger generation, it seems more likely to me he'd refer to him as a bloke, but that could just be my own opinion.

I really liked the fact that he was allowed to spend time at the Potter's house, and how you acknowledge the animosity between the families without making it the prominent focus of the chapter. As we saw from the DH epilogue, Harry and Draco have both grown and matured after having children, and are at least tolerant of one another.

I'm absolutely dying to know what happened to Draco and Astoria, and how their deaths fit in with the rest of the plot. Please feel free to re-request another set of reviews, but overall I've enjoyed reading these first few chapters very much!!

-- Fae

Author's Response: Hi Fae!

Wow. Not one. Not two. But three wonderful reviews from you. Thank you so much. I have to confess that I didn't realize that I was asking you to review three chapters when I said that I was "comfortable with the first few chapters," but I am SO happy that you did.

I think my biggest concern (throughout the entire story) is the voice I have for Scorpius. I really didn't want him to be the typical Malfoy with anger issues (although he isn't completely devoid of this trait) who is cunning and a carbon copy of his father. At the same time, I don't want him to come off as too feminine.

Good point about the choice of "lad." I will fix that.

Harry couldn't possibly let a child who had lost his parents grow up the same way he did. Ron is the one that is a whole lot less tolerant - but that comes out in the next chapter - and it comes back later on.

I'm so glad you want to know more. I will definitely re-request when I see an opening in your thread!

Thanks Fae - these reviews were the greatest!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by Pretense Of PerfectionActions Speak Louder than Words: Bent: Rose POV

30th July 2014:
Hi again!!

Just stopping by to leave you another review.

I think you set the scene and tone of the story quite well in the beginning. Their traditional Friday night plans are cute, and something I can totally picture all of them doing. The wild party was an interesting touch, and added just enough drama.

You did a wonderful job with Rose's character, and I think it's very realistic that she would feel sort of nervous and apprehensive about being in such a large crowd, even though she knows a good amount of people there. I totally see her staying the absolutely minimum amount of time that is socially acceptable, and then going home.

I like how we got to see more of the other characters in this chapter, especially Scorpius. It's so sweet how protective he is over her. My only CC about their relationship is that I imagine it might feel slightly more awkward between them when they are both changing...even some romantic couples that have been together for a while feel nervous about stuff like this sometimes, and given that they are not yet together, I imagine it might be a bit of butterflies in the stomach type of feeling.

I love how fierce and intense Dom seems, flirting like crazy and just enjoying her life and doing her own thing. It provides a good balance between her and Rose's more shy, withdrawn sort of personality.

As far as I remember you kept everything in the same tense throughout this chapter, being mostly the past and some past progressive. I can see the improvement in your writing from just the last chapter, which is remarkable.

I love that you just sort of vaguelly skimmed over Rose's possible romantic feelings for Scorpius, and didn't make it some huge, drawn out deal this early on.

The plot and pacing are both perfect to far. The story moves fast enough to keep your readers interested, but not so quickly that they can't keep up. I love the air of mystery about who the drunk guy is that tried to manhandle Rose is, and cannot wait to find out more about him.

Another awesome chapter!!

-- Fae

Author's Response: This was another awesome review!

Thanks again, Fae. I really appreciate all of your feedback on the technical aspects of writing, plot, flow, setting and characterization. Your reviews really have it all!

I think you mentioned in your review of the third chapter that I had cleared up the Rose/Scorpius feelings, but even more is explained in Chapter 4. Although they aren't a couple, they are really close and Rose understands him. If it were anyone else, Rose wouldn't be so comfortable.

Dom is great. She works hard and plays hard. She isn't the relationship type, so we'll see how this pans out with the Quidditch player.

I'm glad you like mystery, because there is a LOT more of that to come!

Thanks again!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by Pretense Of PerfectionActions Speak Louder than Words: Broken: Rose POV

30th July 2014:
Hi there!!

This is Fae (Pretense of Perfection) from the forums, here to leave your requested reviews.

I think you get off to a really strong start here, and use great detail about Rose's panic attack. It almost made me feel like I could have been having a panic attack, and while definitely not a desirable feeling, it's always amazing when an author can make their readers feel something so powerful.

I'm not sure if anyone else has pointed it out yet, but I think you started off in the present tense, and then after her internal thoughts and reflections on the past you switched to using the past tense. I think some of the later flashbacks sort of float between past tense and past progressive, but it's a very common mistake. Nothing major, and it took me a while to notice it, but I just wanted to point that out.

I really like the comparison of the photo on her bedside table to a virtual portkey. It's a very powerful phrase, and relates well to the magical world.

While the only character we've really gotten to know so far is Rose, I think you've done a pretty good job with her. She remains true to the history and information you've given us about her, and I can definitely see her trying to suppress her emotions about being abducted. I also find myself very curious to know what happened to her and why, and who Stannous is, which is definitely a good thing!

I did notice a few typos toward the end of this chapter, I won't point every single one out, but here is an example
"Her long, straight black hair and made her look very serious..."
I'm assuming the "and" was either added in by accident or should be "had," but just wanted to point it out.

Anytime I notice an author doesn't have a beta that's always one of the first things I recommend. It's wonderful to have someone familiar with your story, that can help out with small stuff like grammar and spelling, and even bigger stuff like plot holes and flow. There's some wonderful betas on the forums, if you plan on looking (:

I like how she has to keep reminding herself to get up, get dressed, etc. I think it really stays in line with how a victim might act after being abducted, and feels very realistic to me. I think it might be a bit unrealistic that the early morning is the only time she dwells on what happened to her, though. I'd guess she's pretty busy most of the day, and doesn't really have time to think about it too much, but I also imagine, as is usual for many victims, that certain things (smells, sounds, people, etc.) might trigger a panic attack. Late at night when she's trying to sleep I imagine it might cross her mind as well, but that's just my opinion.

I like the back-story about her Hogwarts years and house. It shows her close connection to her family and friends, and lay the groundwork for building character growth and development over time. I'm excited to meet some of the other characters and see what you've done with them.

Overall I think this is a lovely first chapter, and considering it's your first ever fic, I think you've done a marvelous job. Keep up the good work!!

-- Fae

Author's Response: Hi Fae!

Ok. So I do NOT have a good excuse for how ridiculously long it has taken me to respond to these reviews, other than I really wanted to do them justice.

THANK YOU!!!

This is exactly what I've been looking for in a review and I'm just so, so thrilled. I've been gushing ever since I read the first line. Gah!

Wow - I don't want anyone to have a panic attack (seriously *not* fun), but I'm glad that the description was real for you.

No one has pointed out the errors in tense, but I always felt something was off. I go back and edit about fifteen times or so, but I'm never quite certain if it is correct or not. I'm obviously a native English speaker, but I need to brush up on my grammar a bit.

Ooo! So glad you're thinking about Rose's past. That was my intent with this chapter.

I think that I will seek out a beta for this. I've never had one before, so I'm a little apprehensive about how it actually works. I suppose I'll figure it all out.

It wasn't my intent to imply that she only gets the panic attacks in the mornings, only that they seem to be the worst for her at that time. I'll have to look at the wording on that part. I think it's because she's hopeful that the day will go well and an attack first off is a sign that she'll struggle until bed.

Thanks again for this wonderful review! I'm glad that the chapter makes you interested in the characters and wanting to know more about the story.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by Pretense Of PerfectionButterfly Effect: Chapter 4

28th July 2014:
Wow, you do such a wonderful job getting Jenna's pain across the pages, it really comes to life. I'm glad we finally get to find out what happened to her mother, and how she died. I feel so bad for her dad, unable to cope with their loss.

I'm really beginning to wonder why Jenna is so adament about Lily not knowing what's happened to her. I know she's a very private person and doesn't really want anyone to know, but it seems like she's going to great lengths to keep Lily specifically from finding out.

Despite the fact that I'm not a huge fan of Lily, it seems like she has some stuff going on as well, as snogging a guy right in the hallway is a bit risky, especially for a prefect. I hope her and Jenna can work out their differences and become friends again.

You've done such a lovely job with this story so far, it's going to be so hard to choose a winner for the challenge, as all of the entries are amazing. Keep up the good work, and I'll definitely be back to check for updates!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Pretense Of PerfectionButterfly Effect: Chapter 3

28th July 2014:
Aw, poor Jenna, the hits just keep on coming.

I don't want you to take this the wrong way at all, because I think it's pretty characteristic of a teenage girl with a famous father, but I honestly feel that most of the things Jenna said to Lily were right. Lily just doesn't know when to stop, and seems a bit inept at picking up on small social cues. Her "worry" seems a bit like badgering at some points, perhaps even bullying, and I almost feel bad for Jenna for putting up with it, lol. With that being said I think that's just her character and personality, but boy, I don't think her and I would be friends.

You really do a wonderful job with descriptions and characterizations. Aside from Lily, I really like Jenna and think her personality is really starting to shine through. I imagine all of the other girls would gossip about her, and I like how she sort of stands up for herself.

Another awesome chapter, I can't wait to read more!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Pretense Of PerfectionButterfly Effect: Chapter 2

28th July 2014:
I love how we learn more about Jenna with each chapter. I think her fears of not being able to keep up due to having a different curriculum are very realistic, especially with her being a transfer student.

I loved her interaction with the Ravenclaw boy, and how she spaces out and imagines the two of them together on the Quidditch pitch. I think Lily is a bit too judgmental, being mad at her for something she doesn't quite understand, although it's sweet that she tries to understand, and realizes that she's being kind of unreasonable.

I think the classes and her day were paced perfectly, and the bit about her melting her cauldron and not knowing where her classes were was pretty funny.

With that being said, I think the ending, where her two room-mates come out and declare they kissed and are now a couple felt a teensy bit rushed. Unless I looked over it, there wasn't really any indication that they were interested in each other, and since we don't know much about them yet it just felt a bit forced.

Nothing major though, and I love the story so far! I can't wait to see where Jenna's adventures take her!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Pretense Of PerfectionButterfly Effect: Chapter 1

28th July 2014:
Another interesting chapter!

The idea of transfer students has always fascinated me, as we don't really know of any from canon, but obviously it had to happen, at least occasionally.

I love how we got to know Jenna better in this chapter, from her home life, to her past and her personality. I'm so glad she got sorted into the houses where one of her new friends is, and I'm sure her and Lily will be great friends.

I really liked the part in the beginning where the student falls into the lake and the giant squid puts him back in the boat, it was a very nice, and authentic feeling touch!

Keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Pretense Of PerfectionButterfly Effect: Prologue

28th July 2014:
Wow, what a great start!

I loved reading the last moments of the family being together, it was really touching. The scene flowed naturally, and you did wonderful, especially since you don't usually write next-gen.

Zac's death, unfortunately, did not come as much of a shock, but Annabelle's certainly did. It seemed as though she was going to be okay, and the healer certainly didn't imply that her injuries were extensive enough to be fatal, but perhaps that was the point? I guess I'll just have to read on and see.

You did a lovely job with Jenna, her anguish over her families' tragedy really comes across. The part in the beginning, with her shouting and trying to find out where they were being kept felt very genuine.

Lovely start!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Pretense Of PerfectionUntil the End: Together

28th July 2014:
Aw, what a poignant and bittersweet peek into the lives of the Prewett twins.

I always love reading about Gideon and Fabian, and you managed to capture their characters perfectly. I envision them to be a lot like Fred and George, finishing each other's sentences and being together through everything. I love how you really managed to show that, from their childhood until their deaths, and it's so sweet how they always says together until the end.

The pacing and plot were perfect, and I think you did a lovely job overall. I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors, so awesome job there too!

I love reading stories that are written by author's out of their comfort zone, but I honestly never would've guess that was the case here. The writing flows naturally, and doesn't feel forced, and you paint such a beautiful picture. Amazing one-shot!!

Author's Response: Hi Fae!

Your review is so sweet! I'm quite happy you enjoyed this! :D

When I was writing Fabian and Gideon, I made a definite effort to make them similar to but not the same as Fred and George. Giving a lifelong view of their relationship felt like the best way to make their ending all the more difficult (for the reader).

I'm so thrilled that the story came through as well-paced. I was lucky enough to get a beta to look at this which I think helped with the typos.

Thank you so much for doing this challenge! I always like writing new eras, characters, and situations.

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #15, by Pretense Of PerfectionThe Fool's Journey: The Fool

28th July 2014:
Oh boy, I can't wait for you to update!!

I love all of the different characters you've incorporated into this story, especially Grindelwald. I like how he isn't portrayed as completely evil, and even helps Colin find his way through the forest.

The air of suspense and mysticism in the story is so perfect, and leaves me wanting more. I love that things aren't exactly as they seem, and I find myself wondering if they've all somehow been transported back in time? It seems to be more of an "old world" type of setting, but sometimes the more modern things throw my for a loop, like Colin's camera. Then again it seems like a big chunk of the characters died before the end of the war, except of course for Mcgonagall and Sybil. I just don't know!

And I love it. Please update soon!!

Author's Response: Hey again - thanks so much for coming back! :)

Ah, I'm so glad you like the characters - I'm enjoying introducing them slowly, as I usually introduce them all in one go, haha, so it's a bit strange for me. But yes, Gellert - things about him will come up, so you might change your opinion of him later on ;)

Ooh, well no, haha, not quite. I'm glad you like the mystery-sort of sense - I didn't really want to explain the whole world at the beginning, but information will come about the kind of world they're in, I promise! :) It is a bit of a weird AU, but hopefully it works out fine - I honestly really struggle to explain it to people, haha.

Thanks so much for the wonderful pair of reviews, and again for the challenge! :)

Aph xx

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by Pretense Of PerfectionThe Fool's Journey: Cassandra of Troy

28th July 2014:
Aw, reading this offered such insight to Trelawney's character and history.

I've only read a few other stories from her POV, but I think you managed to really capture her character in a way that no one else has. It's easy to see how and why she became the way she did, blurting out odd things and not caring what others think of her. I like how she truly does have the gift, but sort of alludes to her pretending it's easier if she just makes things up.

Her desire to be heard is so sad, especially since most people just look at her like she is crazy. I love seeing her early interactions with Dumbledore, and even McGonagall, as I imagine them both to treat her exactly as they did.

Awesome start, I can't wait to read more! It's going to be so hard choosing a winner for the challenge, everyone has such amazing stories.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for dropping by - and thanks so much for the challenge, it was such a fun thing to enter! :)

I really like Trelawney now - I always felt a bit sorry for her in the books because no one ever listened to her or took her seriously and, in the end, she was right. I'm so glad you like her - she's a bit irritating and a bit spacey, but so fun to write!

Yeah, I couldn't help the chapter title when I thought of how people ignore her :P I'm so glad you liked Dumbledore and McGonagall - they're gonna come up again, so I'm so happy you thought they were good!

Thank you so much for the great review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by Pretense Of PerfectionProof: Three

28th July 2014:
Ahhh, you have to update soon, I'm dying to know what happens!!

Harry finally confronts Malfoy, which leaves me with more questions than answers. I'm beginning to feel like maybe he really isn't guilty, but I mean, come on, he's Draco, and he definitely knows more than he is letting on.

There were a few typos, but nothing major. I think you've done a great job with the plot and flow so far, giving your reader's just enough to keep it interesting, but not too much as to give it away. Excellent job!

I like how Harry really fights for what he believes, it keeps him true to his character. Even with his friends and co-workers doubting him, Harry knows deep down that everything isn't as it seems. You did a wonderful job with his character.

I really can't wait to read more!!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Pretense Of PerfectionProof: Two

28th July 2014:
Wow, another awesome chapter!

I think you did a wonderful job with characterization, I can totally see Harry sitting up all night, drinking coffee, trying to figure out how to prove Draco killed Pansy. And as far as Draco goes, I can totally see him putting on an act of grief, even if he isn't guilty of murdering her, if that makes any sense.

I did notice a few mistakes, but nothing huge. At one point you say that Pansy's middle name is Calista, and her older sister's name is Astrid, but later the sister's name is Calista. Just a small detail, but one I thought I'd point out.

You've done an awesome job of shedding some light on Pansy's life, without giving too much away. I'm not sure if I think she was murdered or if it was a suicide yet, which is a good thing! You're definitely doing a great job with the suspense, and keeping the readers on their toes.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Pretense Of PerfectionProof: One

28th July 2014:
What a wonderful beginning! You created an air of mystery, while giving us insight to both Harry and Draco's character, but without giving too much away. Absolutely wonderful.

I noticed a few typos, but nothing that distracts the reader's attention. I did find myself laughing when Malfoy "speared his chicken with a spoon," whether it was intentional or not. I think you should leave it, because it was quite funny, but hey that could just be me!

I can't wait to read more and find out what happens. I think you did a wonderful job with the genre so far, especially since it's something you aren't really comfortable writing. Well done!!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Pretense Of PerfectionBurning for His Love: 1.

18th July 2014:
Hi there,

I'm totally not gonna lie, I typically don't read slash. I don't dislike it, I just don't go out of my way to seek it out. Even though you've just started out, I can actually see this happening. We can infer from canon that Charlie didn't have alot, if any girlfriends, so it's honestly very believable.

" Which actually doesnít sound nearly as horrible as it is." This sentence struck me as a bit odd, given the rest of the paragraph and the context. I could just be speaking for myself here, but I think seeing Sprout's wrinkles and unibrow would be just as horrible as it sounds, if not more so (:

I think you've done a wonderful job with characterization so far. Charlie is pretty much exactly how I picture him, and I like how you've shown some of Linus' Slytherin side here too. I can totally see Charlie being confused over his feelings for Linus, especially as he's probably never really considered that he might like boys over girls before. Bill seems pretty spot on, what with being intrusive and pushing his brother into being better.

I think your writing style is quite unique, and was a pleasure to read. You really manage to get inside the characters head, even though you're writing in third person POV, so good job there. I don't remember noticing any spelling or grammar errors, but I honestly wasn't really looking for them either.

Overall I think you did a lovely job, and I'll definitely be looking forward to updates!!

-- Fae

Author's Response: Hello Fae,

What a wonderful and thorough review! You've got a gift. That was weird. Sorry.

I'm totally not going to lie either, I'm not really surprised. There isn't too many slash fics on this site. I mean...Drarry is really popular everywhere BUT this site. I really don't know why? We should discuss this sometime in the forums. That's a good topic to break out.

There's not much about Charlie at all. He gets described, you read a sentence about him every other book, and if you squint, he's in the battle of hogwarts. Maybe. I don't actually remember. IT'S SUCH A SHAME BECAUSE HE'S SO COOL, RIGHT?! HE'S GOT LONG HAIR, SCARS, AND STUFF?! I'm excited to develop my Charlie into that.

Thank you! I was hoping Linus as a Slytherin would be believable. Not all Slytherins are bad, yeah? But they all possess certain qualities that put them in that house. I've got to start getting Linus to show some of those. Maybe just hint at them or something. I don't know...I'm lazy.

I'm looking forward to hearing more from you! You're a delight.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Pretense Of PerfectionRecipe for Disaster: A Recipe for Disaster

15th July 2014:
Hello there!!

What a pleasure this was to read. I love anything about dear old Minnie, and this was no exception. You did brilliantly with your characterization, and I literally laughed out loud at a few points. Dobby and the house elves spoke perfectly, I always have trouble with that myself, but you made it look so easy. I can totally see him and Dumbledore making taffy at three a.m.

I noticed one or two spelling/grammar errors, but nothing huge. Everything else was spot on, and this was literally a joy to read. Good look for your SOTM nomination in the CR.

-- Fae

Author's Response: Why thank you! I can't believe the surge in interest this little story has had recently. It's crazy, but I won't say no. LOL.

I'm really glad I could make you laugh. That was the point of the story after all. And I'm relieved you felt the house elves sounded okay. Writing house elves is HARD. Believe me, it wasn't as easy as you claim it looks, hehehe.

I do need to apparently edit this little story. Several people have pointed out a few typos I missed. Will hopefully be going that in the next little while.

Thanks again for a wonderful review! You left me grinning.

- Farmgirl


 Report Review

Review #22, by Pretense Of PerfectionThe Brothers Three: The Pale Steed

13th July 2014:
Hi again,

I'm reviewing again for the "Never Have I Ever" Challenge.

The first chapter was amazing and I thought it would be hard to top, but this one certainly didn't disappoint. You did a wonderful job with setting the scene, and everything is very time period appropriate.

Your characterizations are just so amazing, I can't believe it. You managed to keep all three of the brothers in character completely, especially Cadmus. I can totally see him wandering drunkenly into the forest, and then hoping to capture the thestral after his run in with Death. I can see him running to Antioch's door, begging for help, and Antioch refusing, thinking his brother had finally gone mad. I like the glimpse into Ignotus' life that we get in this chapter as well, and I think it's interesting how he too, has seen the thsetals in the forest, but different ones from what Cadmus saw.

You did a wonderful job keeping Death in character as well. It was sweet of her to try and comfort Cadmus, but you can tell she was sort of in over her head in that situation. Her irritation with him was apparent, and I can totally see her just walkign away and leaving him there to wallow in his own misery.

Excellent job again with the spelling and grammar, I didn't notice any errors. The pacing was pretty quick, but it suited the chapter and the point you were trying to get across. I think you used wonderful descriptions, and really brought the story to life.

I've loved it so far, and I can't wait to read more!

-- Fae

Author's Response: Oh, goodness. You made me blush. +]

Yay for the period appropriateness!

Characters are really always the life of my story. I put a lot of time into thinking about them, little tiny details that might never actually be spelled out, but still contribute to their personalities anways. It really means a lot to hear that you enjoy the characterization so much and that you felt it kept in tandem with the previous chapter.

Death is probably the hardest to write. (duh, lol) I really want her to seem unconcerned. A little curious, but mostly unconcerned. I'm glad it came across well.

Yay!! So happy you enjoyed it! I'm going to pump out a few chapters of Stand Tall before coming back to this, but i WILL be coming back. Thanks for such lovely reviews!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Pretense Of PerfectionThe Brothers Three: Introduction

13th July 2014:
Hello there,

I'm here to review this story for the "Never Have I Ever" Challenge.

I'll start off with the CC, although there isn't much. I don't think they had ceiling light fixtures this far back in history, it would probably be some sort of candles or perhaps lanterns mounted on the wall. The only other thing I can point out is when Antioch is fighting the gravedigger, you add something to the end of the sentence saying he was his classmate. Since it seems like they would both be out of school, and Hogwarts hasn't been built yet, it struck me as odd. Overall it's nothing huge, but I just thought I'd point it out.

But wow, this is so brilliantly written, I'm impressed. I love that you portrayed Death as a female, and I really like the prologue about her sitting in the bar, watching all of the various sins and sinners unfold around her. You did her characterization brilliantly. Her wisdom and words seem aged and dignified, just as I would picture Death. The fact that she is a female is quite interesting as well, and something I didn't exactly expect.

I think you did a wonderful job with the three brothers characterization as well, keeping in line with what we know from canon. I love how you showed Antioch's arrogance and anger, as well as his lack of morals. Cadmus seems very complex, and his backstory is so sad it makes my heart kind of break for him. While he probably shouldn't be wallowing in the pub, I certainly can't blame him given what he's been through. I feel like we got to know Ignotus the least in this chapter, but it's early yet, and you did such a beautiful job with his two older brothers it might've been overwhelming for us to have more information so soon. Regardless, I think you did a wonderful job with the three brothers, and their personalities and histories fit perfectly, and really reflect the information we know from canon. Amazing job.

I only noticed one spelling/grammar/typo error, in the first paragraph. Other than that you did amazing, and the word choice really felt authentic to the timeline of the story. Nothing too modern. The pacing is perfect so far, and really grabs the attention of your readers.

I really can't wait to read the rest of the story and see what you come up with. I loved it.

-- Fae

Author's Response: I'm so out of my league with the period writing. Haha. In the edited version, I have changed the description of the tavern a bit, so it seems more... authentic. Haha. I got a beta to help me out with that. +]

I'm glad you enjoyed it! I thought having Death be a female would put a little spin on the character, but still with the calm, collected, detached feeling of someone who has been around for eons.

I love all of the brothers. I'm glad you find them to all be unique. I worried they'd all get jumbled up together, so the fact that they all seemed distinct is great.

Ignotus. I figured since he was the youngest, and as I always thought of him as the main character in the Peverell story, he has the most growth and change. Antioch is grown. He has his defining personality, as is Cadmus. Ignotus though is just now on the brink, and I wanted to show his hesitation in putting himself into the 'adult circle' with his brothers. I needed the older characters to have an established personality while Ignotus needed to be less established so that the growth didn't seem sudden/premature.

I'm glad you liked the introduction!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Pretense Of PerfectionEvent Three - The Elder Song : The Elder Song

12th July 2014:
How interesting, I never thought of the dementor's opposite, although it does sort of make sense. I love how you created a brand new magical creature for the challenge, and it's easy to see that you put a lot of thought into it. I particularly like how she looks, what with the clawed foot like a bird and all. She seems exquisitely beautiful, just as I imagine a "Creature" of light would be. And Rolf was kept perfectly in character as well. He's totally the type of guy I can picutre going off into the woods on his own, looking for some sort of mystery or adventure. I like how his family was incorporated, and how it seems sort of like their affinity for nature is passed on through the generations. Well done!!

--house cup 2014 review--
gryffindor

Author's Response: Thank you so much!
I loved writing about Adarmam and Rolf and eventually I want to create a sequel sort of that show cases others of her species also.
Thanks again :)
kyle


 Report Review

Review #25, by Pretense Of PerfectionEvent Three - Lament: A Giant and a Phoenix

12th July 2014:
Wow, i can only imagine how hard it was to write from Gwarp's POV, but you really managed to do him some serious justice here. You turned a creature of "limited intelligence" into a person that was easy to relate to, and who's feelings and emotions I enjoyed hearing about. His simple, childlike wonder was sweet. I loved his interactions with Fawkes, and I love that Fawkes healed him, essentially showing Gwarp that there is more to life than being bullied and being fearful all the time. The understanding between them was beautiful, and I think you did a wonderful job showing their friendship. The spelling and grammar were perfect, and I really enjyoed how quickly this one-shot moved along.

--house cup 2014 review-
gryffindor

Author's Response: Hahaha, it was definitely something different! I'm so happy that you think I did him justice, I wasn't sure about his intelligence or feelings but hearing/seeing you say/type that I did a good job is so reassuring. ♥ I'm really glad that you could relate to him and enjoy reading about him at the same time. The relationship/meeting between him and Fawkes was something which just sort of happened (I meant it to be Hagrid, or a random student when I started out, haha!) but I'm really glad that you liked it! Thanks so much for the lovely review, Fae. ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>