Reading Reviews From Member: StEpH_M
  
51 Reviews Found

Review #1, by StEpH_MTwo Letters: Rite of Passage

17th July 2013:
This was so sweet, it's so cute how they are friends and come to the clearing every holiday to see each other. Like there own little ritual (which I gues it actually is). I like that they are actually friends in this, that they aren't fighting all the time, enemies, the whole romeo and juliet thing. It's nice to have them as just normal friends that have normal meetings and talk about exams like a muggle would with their best friend. It's a nice down to earth thought.

I must say, your writing is rather good and the flow was excillent. It did feel like the end was slightly rushed a bit but other than that, it was an excellent story :) Well Done.

Author's Response: Yeah, I did think of it like a friendly ritual they had. The whole Romeo/Juliet or love/hate cliche gets under my skin a lot, so I thought I'd explore the possibility of Rose and Scorpius just being friends. I also think a lot of fics where people are still students don't focus on school, so I pulled in the exam element to put Ron's comments from the epilogue to the test once and for all :)

Sorry you felt like the ending was rushed, but I'm glad you liked the rest of this drabble.

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #2, by StEpH_MAnachronous: In a Man's World

17th July 2013:
This is suprisingly sad, I don't know what it is about it, maybe the last two paragraphs, but whatever it was, it brought a tear to my eye.

I really liked that you got to see the world from adromeders (is that how you spell it?) Andromeda eye's that you got to see that from a young age she was the forgotten child, yet the glue that held the Black sisters together. That even though they hated her, there would have been a time that she could have stopped everything that they went through because she was the one to fix the broken things in the sisters. I also like that in a way it's a sad story about a women that really had no meaning to her life, in her eyes, she didn't have that much to do and were someone would be proud of raising a child, she wanted that little bit more. I also liked that she helped out in the war, healing and such. It's a nice touch to the story.

Overal, it was a very well structured story that I am glad I got to read. Well done :)

Author's Response: Yeah, writing the last couple of paragraphs made me sort of sad. It's hard to think about remembering your life as you draw closer to death, even through the simple fact of aging.

I think there's definitely a big contrast between how Andromeda sees herself here and how we (and probably many others) view her. She thinks of her life as simple, and it is, in a very beautiful way--but it's not just that. She played a really important role in the series, and I wish others wrote more about her. I'd love to get to know her a bit better.

Thanks for your very kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #3, by StEpH_MSiriusly in Love: Getting the Guy

17th July 2013:
Hey!

I really like this, I like that it's bascially a short version of what takes people 20 something chapters to write (I'm so guilty of this) but I also like that it's basically a quick story for both James getting Lily and Sienna getting Sirius. The only part that makes me curious is how they managed it? That would be a nice thing to read. I think the one thing you could have added was maybe a little more depth, I know it's a one-shot but I can't believe I'm saying this but maybe a little more fluffy and romance to just make it a little smoother and the end more believable would have been better. But then, I get nitpicky with everything and this one-shot is perfectly fine without it.

It's a really good story, as you said in the author's note, there are a few places that are written a little dodgy but other than that it has good flow and a nice overall story. :)

Author's Response: Hi Steph!

Thanks for the review! :) Haha as the years pass by I get less fond of this story.. To be honest I myself have no idea how James and Sienna manage to get Lily and Sirius.. :P Back then I just wanted to write some fluffy Marauders story, then realised I didn't have the creativity or imagination to make it any different from the thousands of other Marauder fics out there so I decided to have a massive flashback and leave it as a one shot. (Not really sure what I was thinking! :P) Anyway, nearly everyone has wanted to know, and occasionally I think about adding a couple chapters someday, but that would definitely be a huge challenge I'm not sure I'm willing to undertake.

Thank you so much for all your comments - CC is always good! :D The end does come off as a bit unbelievable due to the huge time gap but.. one day I'll see what I can do to make this story better :P Thank you for your lovely review Steph! :)

- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #4, by StEpH_MThe Perks of Being an Obliviator: The Perks of Being an Obliviator

17th July 2013:
Here for the House Cup ;)

I must say I really enjoyed this one-shot. I like that it's not all entirely about being overseas, that's it's more the journey of getitng there. I also enjoy the fact that it's set just after the wizarding war and gives insight into the way it changed people. How someone can go from wanting to be a professional quidditch player, to a job in the ministry. It's defintely a great idea and one that I might actually look into a bit more at a later date.

I couldn't see any real gramatical errors, but then, I'm sort of going as quickly as possible so I might have missed something, but I did really enjoy it, it's a nice little one shot :)

Author's Response: Hi Steph!

Thank you so much for leaving me such a lovely review! I'm glad you liked the whole idea of the story. I definitely did try to make it about the journey and the destination, and although I didn't initially set out to show the impact of the War on Alicia, I'm glad that got through too! Thanks for reading and for the great review Steph! :)

- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #5, by StEpH_MI Let You Down : I Let You Down

3rd June 2013:
Hey there, here with your review battle review :)

First of I want to say, your story brought a tear to my eye. I've always imagined Petunia regretted the way she treated her sister. That after she died all she wanted was to have her back so she could give her one last hug and tell her she loved her and I also believe that it was the same way with Harry. That when she knew that she would most likely never see the boy again, that he didn't love her like he should love his aunt, his adoptive mother, that it broke her heart a little more and you really brought that out in this story.

It definitely has a good beginning and ending too it, the way it starts with her blaming Lily for everything that happened to her, for leaving and it ends with Petunia deciding that it was in fact her fault that all this happened, she just hadn't seen it. It gives a nice flow to the story, a nice beginning and ending. In a one-shot or songfic that's really important, that it has a strong beginning and ending, since they are so short, you need to compact basically an entire story into one short chapter and it's important that you make the parts you want people to see, stand out. That's what you did here and it's great.

I have one little nit picky thing. Throughout the one-shot, it seems almost as if, Petunia is writing a letter, one she might leave at the house as she departs, saying her goodbyes to Lily as she says goodbye to Harry, however at the end it gets a bit confusing as you make it almost as if you aren't reading from Petunia's perspective, that you are more a fly on the wall that is being told a story by Petunia. You might want to check on that. Even adding an 'about' as if in pretence for what she would or make it past tense, that she is thinking about all this while she is in the car, remembering the letter she wrote or the things she just did. That would make it flow just that little bit better, but that's just me being nit picky. You don't need to change it if you don't want too. It's great just as it is.

Author's Response: Hello there! Thank you for stopping by!

Oh wow really? That's amazing to hear! (Not that it's usually amazing to bring tears to peoples' eyes, but you know what I mean!)
Yes, I feel exactly the same way about Petunia: that is wouldn't have been as easy to sever ties with Lily as she lets on it was. And I'm sure that there was some regret about Harry there too- I thought that that scene near the beginning of DH is very telling, when she almost speaks to him, but doesn't...

I'm glad you liked the structure of it too, and the way that the blame sort of changes in Petunia's mind. It's also great to hear that the parts that were significant stood out enough!

Hmmm, I see what you mean actually. I hadn't initially imagined this as a sort of letter, but I can definitely see your point, and how it would flow better if I put that bit in the past tense... Thanks very much!

This was such a lovely, helpful review- I really appreciate it!

-Bethany


 Report Review

Review #6, by StEpH_MNot Normal: {Chapter the First}

13th May 2013:
Hey there,

I'm here with your Reviews :)

Okay, first thing first is believability. It's a good twist, a like the thought of a wizarding child being able to do that little bit extra. In that sense, it's believable, if wizards can speak Parseltongue or Metamorphmagus, why can't they see the dead that didn't come back as ghosts that roamed Hogwarts and houses they were connected too? I have a few things that you might want to consider in order to make it more believable. One thing, why five? What is the importance of that? Most gifts that aren't from birth usually present themselves around puberty, it's the change that causes them. In my opinion that might have been a better time, a five year old wouldn't really be able to keep such a thing a secret, no matter how hard they tried. It's a thing as a child, especially one so young, they like to brag and gain respect from their friends, secrets can get forgotten when it comes to that. Another reason I'm not sure about the age is because what sort of Grandmother would tell her grandchild about the dead when they couldn't really understand the importance of the gift? It's a great burden to lay on a five year old. Most grandparents would try to avoid the conversation as much as possible. Otherwise the rest is rather believable and could lead to a really good story. Especially with the medium side of things going on.

Right now onto the flow, overall it's really good, the parts of the story you have going on really bring depth to story and I always find it good to start off a story with a small explanation of what exactly is happening in the Main Characters life, stating from the start that she is a medium of sorts is really good and it draws you in. It helps to make sure the rest of the story is interesting and will lead to a good plot and theme. One thing I would watch out for is the chapter being disjointed. The way it's set out does bring an understanding about the main character but it also makes the story a bit confusing. From what I can tell, it's because it takes a little to realise that it has changed times. You have to read the first sentence of the next scene in order to understand the change and that can disrupted the flow. A lot of authors use ** or ~ in order to separate times, this way the reader knows that the next scene is either set before or after the one that played out before it.

Your characters are rather good for the start of the story, already your main character, Ellie, has a lot of depth to her. It's already clear from the first chapter that although Chris and Ellie are twins they have a lot of things that are different, and yet the same. It's nice to see that aspect of a brother/sister relationship, especially one between twins. I hope that continues throughout your story. You also have a good start with Albus and Rose as Chris and Ellie's best friend but I believe that you should give them a bit more depth in the common chapters in order for your readers to relate to them more, it's important that the people that read your story can connect with not just the main characters but the minor or reoccurring ones as well. I know I have a habit of skipping large chunks of story if the character they relate about isn't someone with a realistic personality, i find it hard to read. Another thing you should watch out for is cliche, you have a new twist on it, with the medium side of things but you will need to watch to make sure that the relationship between Albus and Ellie. There are a lot of Hate/Hate turn Love/Hate to Love stories on the archives and you need to try to at least make your story different to the rest.

There was only one part that I really had a problem reading and that was basically the first five lines. Something about them doesn't seem right, like it's disjointed and slightly jumpy. I think it might have something to do with the way it's structured, you start with Ellie's voice talking about it, but instead of actually going straight into the ghost part you try to make it a bit more amusing, like she's talking to the reader. This can be good through out the chapter and such but I'm not sure it's perfect start for a story, it sort of pulls away from the important fact that she can see ghosts, making it seem a little less important then it actually is.

Overall, it's good start to the story and I am sure it will just get better as you continue to write it. :)
I'm sorry it's so long. I have a habit of talking too much.

~ steph

Author's Response: OMG. This is so long. I love it so much. Like, you have no idea.

You raise quite a few good points, actually. There is sort of a reason why I chose five as an age, and the thing about grandparents makes sense, but that's something that I want to underscore about the ghosts - they can be super weird. More shall be revealed! However, I like to think that Ellie's been able to keep this secret for such a long time actually reveals something about her, but I can see where you're coming from with five year olds not being able to keep their mouths shut, especially about secrets! Hmm... I shall have to see how to work with this...

I know the flow could do with a bit of work, so your suggestions are much appreciated! I shall endeavour to see about those annoying sentences and try and make the time jumps a little smoother.

My biggest fear really is that I'll neglect my minor characters - something which I have already done in another story! Thanks for the tip! You're right in saying that minor and recurring characters also need to be liked, otherwise the story can seem very one-dimensional and a little vain. The romance is cliche, I know, but I do love a good cliche! However, I really don't want this to be about the romance, so I'll try to make sure that the cliche remains as toned down as possible.

Thanks for the wonderful review! You were quite helpful (I haven't received many reviews critquing this story, so this was really nice)!


 Report Review

Review #7, by StEpH_MOnce Defied: Verbal Acrobatics

29th October 2012:
More Lily and her friends moments, I found it funny of Lily hit Anna after her remark about Lily fancying her brother, it is a nice show of the fiery side of Lily's personality that was mentioned a few times in Harry Potter series when adults mentioned Lily while reminiscing. I also like that she vanished Anna's head, that made me laugh and Anna's remark about it was amusing as well. I also laughed at the professor's way of punishing Sirius for his antics; it was rather amusing to see him jinx Sirius instead of giving him a detention.

Anna and Dess' relationship is interesting too, I wonder if it's a family love hate relationship, where no matter how much they say they hate each other they actually love each other, or whether they actually do hate each other.

It's also good that you started to bring in the events that are happening outside Hogwarts, the start of the events that bring around the first war. It's basically the start of Hogwarts not being safe anymore and I'm glad that you brought it in near the start, just going to show that their year didn't start out as a happy year at Hogwarts that most other stories have.

And Snape has his first appearance, I'm happy about that, I always like seeing Snape as he was in Hogwarts, not just the older man he is later in life. I always like seeing the way he tries to apologies for his stunt in 5th year and how he loves her and just wants to protect her, I always liked seeing that.

And a civil conversation with James, I sort of like it, and them holding hands! Even if it wasn't in a romantic way. It's unusual to see Lily not yell at James for holding her hand, but I think I prefer it over the other way, constant fighting gets boring, playful banter and civil conversation is much more interesting. I also liked that Lily knew about James's invisibility cloak and his response to it, calling her 'bighead' for it.

I almost forgot about Remus's wolfy problem and that the Marauders always went with him. It will be really interesting if there is a auror patrolling when they are out, it will make for good drama. :)

Again there were no flow issues and I didn't notice any gramma ones either. I really liked this chapter and the Slug Club. It was really good. :)

More reviews will be on there way shortly, just as soon as I get RL under control :) Again, Happy 2nd Anniversary!

 Report Review

Review #8, by StEpH_MOnce Defied: Just A Name

29th October 2012:
The fact that Lily isn't exactly overjoyed about being Head Girl is really good, I never thought of the Head positions being just a badly looked upon position, it's not something you would expect, when adults in the Harry Potter series talked of Head Boy and Girl it was with admiration and always saying they are proud if their child gets it. You never think that it actually might be some burden and people will hate you for it.

I like that Lily is sort of playing with James, the way she playfully hits him when he made a joke instead of yell at him. I also think the fact that she helps him with his head boy jobs is nice, even if she does lay all the club tasks on him, probably to get back at him for something. It that was really amusing actually, watching as James whined and Lily stood tall as she made him do all the club applications and she went off to work on her school work.

I also liked that you brought Anna and Mary into it again, even if it was for a little bit at least there was a little insight into her relationships with her friends and her personality.

There wasn't any issues of with flow or any gramma issues that I could see in this chapter, it was really well written and I enjoyed reading it. I really good chapter and I look forward to reading more as I go through your 2 Anniversary gift reviews. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by StEpH_MOnce Defied: Power, Potions, and Professors

29th October 2012:
I really like how James is actually trying to do a good job at being Head Boy even though he has no idea what he is doing. It's rather amusing. I also like how James's parts aren't completely orientated around marauders and the little stunts they pull, it's always good to have some of that, but constantly having it can sort of get a bit dragging so I am glad that James's parts are refreshing and involve other aspects of his Hogwarts life.

I also like that Lily and James are being civil towards each other and that even with James' teasing Lily is still trying to refrain from yelling at him. It's good and I prefer it to the cliche. Also, the fact that the story is more orientated around James and Lily's time together instead of the ways that James tries to ask her out is really good as well.

Again the flow was good and nothing really disrupted it, which again is really good for a story that changing P.O.V a few times in a chapter. Most stories just a little when they change P.O.V but yours doesn't. Just a few gramma related things; '"For homework, please research the ingredients of Veritaserum, and provide detailed explanations of their origins and properties. I would like at least twelve inches inches, due by next class. You are dismissed."' You doubled up on inches here.

I really look forward to reading more although I do hope there is a bit more of Lily interacting with her friends, since we have seen more of James' then hers. Her friends seem interesting so I hope to see more of them. I also look forward to the Slug Club party cause they have always been very amusing parties. :)

Author's Response: Yay, I'm so glad that you enjoyed all the parts you mentioned! It's exciting when someone else enjoys the version of the story that makes sense to me, too. :)

Thank you for pointing out that issue with the grammar--I just went and fixed it! I always appreciate it when people let me know what the issues are, because with the length of this story, I'm bound to miss things.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #10, by StEpH_MOnce Defied: The Great Divide

29th October 2012:
This is a really good start; I like the way that you brought Lily and James's point of views into the story from the very beginning, it means that through out it, there will be bother sides and individual personalities portrayed and not just one side that imagines what they other is thinking.

I also really like the way you slotted in the hat's song, with it's usual warning which sort of links to everything that will happen later. And that from the start of Lily and James's seventh year they aren't completely bickering and actually trying to get along, it's really refreshing compared to all the other Lily/James stories on the archive.

There were a few spelling mistakes, mostly missed letters nothing too serious. But otherwise there weren't any issues with flow; even with the switch of P.O.V there wasn't any bumps in the flow of the chapter.

I really like this chapter; it's a great lead in to the rest of the story, with laying down James and Lily's relationship and the introduction of both of their friends. It leaves more room for plot in the rest of the chapters instead of introductions.

I look forward to reading more and finding out how Lily and James got together :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for review, and I'm SO (so so so) sorry it's taken me this long to respond! As you probably noticed, I've been on a bit of a long hiatus. I'm really glad you like having both POVs--I certainly like writing both. And it's awesome to hear that there's something a little new and refreshing about my version of their story...there are so many of these stories that it's tough to carve out a little niche for yourself!

I have no expectation that you're reading this reply a year and a half after leaving the review, but hopefully I'm sending out some vibes of gratitude your way nonetheless! Thank you again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by StEpH_MWhat Makes A Man: It was too late

29th October 2012:
I have always wondered what might have made Voldemort who he was, a cruel almost emotionless man that took pride in killing muggles and Muggleborns alike. And I have always wondered whether anything would have changed if his mother hadn't of died, would he be different? Not being completely shrouded in death and the misery living in an orphanage may bring. Maybe he wouldn't have tried to kill people, he may have had a grudge against muggles but maybe he wouldn't have wanted to kill them.

I really like this story, the way you have written it is really good and it works well with the song. The way you go from his childhood to his death was really good too, linking his fear of death to his actual death. It makes a good ending. And the way the lyrics link to each of the little sections of the story is really well done too.

I really enjoyed reading this, there was a line "He couldn't remember when something had taken root in him," What exactly is the something? I'm not sure if you meant that it was his desire for power that took root or fear/helplessness. But otherwise it was extremely well done.
Great job with your first song fic. It's really good :)

Author's Response: Hi Steph! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this story (as well as leaving some reviews for Once Defied).

I wonder a lot of those same things about Voldemort. Sometimes, I think we are supposed to understand that it was his upbringing without love that turned him evil, but then at other times, I wonder if being brought up by his mother would have made much of a difference. She did not seem like a confident woman who would have been able to be the mother that he needed to grow into a different sort of man--I suppose motherhood might have changed her, but the fact that she preferred to die than raise her son makes me think that it wouldn't have. So then I go back to thinking that he was sort of doomed no matter what. I think it's definitely true that he would have possessed some hatred of Muggles, even if his mother had lived.

Anyway, I'm getting all caught up in speculation now. But this is part of what motivated me to write this story! :)

I'm glad you felt I incorporated the lyrics well. I think song fics are really personal pieces, and often, I read ones written by other people and don't really get the connection between the song and the story. It makes me happy to hear that you could understand that connection in this song fic, at least to some extent. :)

You're right; that line seems really vague, now that I read it over again. What could I have been thinking?! Haha. I think I probably meant that he himself didn't even know what it was that had gotten into him and made him evil, but I didn't express that very well. Thanks for pointing that out!

Really appreciate the review! (And I apologize if I take a little bit of time in replying to the others.)


 Report Review

Review #12, by StEpH_MIllusions: Tainted.

2nd September 2012:
I really like this, it's a different depiction of Lily and James, how they came together and the torment that plagues their lives. I really like how James covers Lily protectively as she sleeps, but it also shows that even he can't protect her from everything as she dreams of their parents deaths and his as well.

Like no matter how hard you might try to protect someone there is always something that is going to get in to destroy the happiness you have worked so hard to keep.

I also like the different way that James and Lily came together, usually you hear about James pursuing Lily until she finally gives in for some unknown reason in 7th year. Here you actually give a reason and I like it, it makes sense and is believable.

One thing I would work on is maybe how well the sentences flow into each other, some of them are a bit jagged and stiff but it doesn't affect the story overall.
I would also like to suggest a little technical thing, maybe less spaces between the paragraphs, it makes it hard to read the story from one paragraph to another. Try using the simple editor if you are having problems with spacing.

Otherwise lovely one-shot. I really enjoyed reading it. Keep up the good work. :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I really loved writing this and I always thought that it should be more than just peer presure that got Lily to give into James :)

I'll look back and fix the sentences, spacing ect. Thanks so much for the feedback and the review!

~Elle


 Report Review

Review #13, by StEpH_MThe Goldfish Chronicles: One stupid lie

27th July 2012:
This is a really good start, it captures your attention and makes you want to read more, I sort of like how it starts of in filch's office, but personally I think the shackles were a bit much? Maybe, cause I really don't think something like that would be allowed if being hung from a wall or something like that isn't. But that's just me, I also noticed that you didn't meant what house the girl was in, which makes me super curious (if you did I am sorry, I am just blind).

One thing I truely love, is probably how bad a liar the girl really is, a 2000 page book under her pillow? That's great. :) It looks like it's going to be a fairly interesting story and probably entertaining as well :)

Good start, and I look forward to reading more, just watch some of your grammar wording and it will be lovely. :)

~Steph

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for the review. Sorry that it took a while for me to answer it. =)

She's a Gryffie, but it will become more clear in the next chapter. I remember reading from HP, that Filch had some chains and stuff in his office, whether he was allowed to use them (or uses them anyways) is left open to reader's interpretation.

Thanks for the reminder, I'll try to keep my grammar in check.


 Report Review

Review #14, by StEpH_MSnatched before my eyes: Snatched before my eyes

27th July 2012:
P.T.P for HC :)

This was a really touching story, at first I couldn't tell who's point of view it was from, I actually thought it was Harry's for a while, but I think I liked it even more when I found out it was Ginny's. She has always sort of been the sore spot in HP for me, she never really had that emotional level when JK wrote her, not enough for how she really was feeling in my opinion anyway. But you gave her that emotion and feeling and I was really glad. It was nice to see just how much love and kindness could come from her.

It's a rather sad story I must admit, the pain they must have gone through with Lily would have been terrible. But you depicted the whole thing really well. It's original, usually in stories it's all "Wizards can't get cancer" but you made it super believable, and not by using the usual methods either, by using magic. Which in my opinion showed that even a simple, seemingly harmless spell could ruin everything and change someone forever.

I really loved it, it was well written and made me actually picture myself there next to Ginny. Great Job.

~ Steph

Author's Response: I'm glad you thought it was touching. It was a very hard piece for me to write with my own daughter called Lily and this being a nightmare I had when she was very young.

Ginny does have some emotion and behind that touch exterior she will be upset at a lot of the things that go on. The story is very painful and I wanted to show that wizards weren't invincible and magic that appears to be pretty harmless throughout the book can turn nasty too.


 Report Review

Review #15, by StEpH_MTask One Challenge: Fighting your Dragon through the Darkness: Within the Darkness

26th July 2012:
I really enjoyed this story. I think my favourite part would have to be that Neville went up against Harry again, this time to protect him more then he had to in first year. It was kind of good to see a side of Harry you don't usually see in fanfic, a dark side, showing that the war actually did have a rather large toll on his life, probably more then it did on anyone elses. So I really liked that he was the 'bad guy' in this story.

Another thing I really liked was that you managed to depict the Department of mysteries in a sort of dark way, that no one wanted to enter them, I am guessing after what happened in Harry and Nevilles fifth year?

This was a really good story, there were parts, around where Harry came in where it got a bit confusing? But otherwise I didn't see any problems with it. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I felt very much like both characters need a little twist to them so i decided to make them the opposite of what they are normally. I'm so glad you enjoyed it though. I know it got confusing a bit, because that's what i felt like Neville was feeling like and a bit how it felt to write it. I'm glad you enjoyed it overall though and thanks again for the review!

Love,
Am.Ginny


 Report Review

Review #16, by StEpH_MReliving: Task One Challenge: Reliving: Task One Challenge

18th July 2012:
I really like this story, it's nice and to the point, admittedly at first I was a bit confused by it all, I was questioning why she would go looking for dragons and try to fight one, but after a while I understood her reasoning behind it. Her need to try and dull the pain she had been feeling ever since Cedric died. That she had to relive all her experiences with him so that maybe she could get some closer. It's definitely a different way of looking at grieving. That she is not wallowing more using actions to try and release her pain, instead of tears.

I like that through it you bought in memories of her time with Cedric of the time when he did exactly what she was doing at that moment it was a nice touch. I also liked that sort of internal dialoge, her telling herself that now wasn't the time for reminiscing, that it could be done after the impending dragon wasn't in her current vicinity. It made the story more realistic and easier to follow.

Some bits where a bit jumpy in the story and made a few section hard to follow but I think it was more a matter of wording then anything else. Otherwise this was a lovely story and I enjoyed reading it.

Great Job. W.W.W.W.W :)

- Steph

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yeah, I know, it is a bit confusing. It didn't seem that confusing when I wrote it - then I read it over and kinda went 'huh', but then of course it was too late and I didn't really have the heart to change it. I'm so glad you got it, though - the whole 'closure through experience' thing is exactly what she's doing! By imitating the tournament, she's trying to understand why he died and just how dangerous the tournament was.

I really enjoyed writing the memories of Cedric. I think if the word limit had been higher, I might have expanded on those a bit more, maybe put in a bit more detail and spread the action out a bit more... I dunno...

Yeah, I wrote it really quickly and some bits are pretty rough in place. I'm intending to go on a huge editing spree this Christmas, so beware! ;)

Thank you so much for the review and sorry the response is so late!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by StEpH_MExam Day: Exam Day

18th July 2012:
Haha, I loved it, a paper dragon? It was great and imaginative :) Fair warning this Review shall have no struck but completely out of order context. :)

I liked how ridiculous most of it was, ollivander on top of a bookshelf, Cedric magically changing clothes, did I mention the dragon? I also loved how he sprayed ink instead of spouting fire. It was a nice touch to the rather amusing dragon made of pages of books. I also love how you used muggle books in your story instead of Wizard books with would be more common in the Hogwarts library then a muggle book such as Moby Dick.

I like how the dream in some weird way made sense, it's something she would dream of. Books and examination, both Ravenclaw things to worry about or indulge in. And a dragon, fitting nicely with Cedric and her 4th year.

There were a few little errors here and there but nothing that ruined the flow of the story :)

Lovely story and it made me smile, great job :)

- Steph

Author's Response: Quite frankly, I'm really not a fan of Cho, nor did I have the first clue how to go about using the prompts -- so I literally just set my fingers to the keyboard, and this is what came out. :D It's all supposed to be rather ridiculous and silly, of course, and nothing /has/ to make sense (it is a dream!), so any and all justifications as to what I chose to use and not to use can be pushed towards that excuse. :P

Ooh, errors? I'm always interested in making my stories as perfect as possible; there's no such thing, of course, but if you could tell me what needs fixing, I'd be happy to do it. I'm glad this story made you smile, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review on it, Steph! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by StEpH_MA Fighter: -to be brave

18th July 2012:
Oh I really like this, I didn't realise till the end that it was set in seventh year and during the second wizarding war but I do like that she was reflecting her past in a time where survival wasn't always a certainty and you would have been lucky to get out alive. It's one of those weird things, people looking back at the past in moments of crisis, and you did it really well.

I like how you made it out that she hated Harry, and I think at times she probably did, more so after fifth year but she would have hated him for surviving when Cedric could not and getting glory where for a over a year Cedric wasn't named a hero but an accident.

I also like her defence against Cedric being called a spare, it's nice to see that she defended him in her mind, that she saw him as much more then just someone who was an obstacle in a greater plan, that he was important. I also like the fact that Cho joined the DA for Cedric, became a fighter for him and fought in his name, it's nice to see and very different. :)

Overall I really liked it and it's a great story :) Great Job :)

- Steph

Author's Response: Hi Steph :D.
Cho is meant to be angry, confused and upset here. She's in the middle of a war, she's lost the boy she loved, she doesn't know how to deal with it and so she blames Harry. I think, if I were in her position, that I would as well. She's just human; it's so much easier to rant and hate others than to hate yourself.

I wasn't sure wha time period I was going to set it in until the end to be honest! I wrote this in about two hours and it was all a bit higgledy piggledy.

Thanks for reviewing!! :)

-Annon


 Report Review

Review #19, by StEpH_MSlay: Dreams, dragons and blood.

18th July 2012:
I loved how this was set the year after Cedric's death, I always wondered how sad Cho really was around that time, it's not always easy to tell in movies and the HP books were never about her so it was always only guess work and imagination, but you brought those imaginations to life in this, her sadness, her fear and longing, all of them where in this story.

It liked how you had snippets from different little parts in their fifth year, of Hogs Head, of actually DA moments and times where she wasn't even with Harry but still pondering the same thoughts. I also liked that you showed her confliction, that in some way she cared more for Harry then just a friend but at the same time, her need to be with him was fueled by her need for the knowledge of what actually happened that night in the Graveyard.

I also really like the end you have for this story, that she got her patronus, a swan, which fits her. She may be graceful but Cho definitely is the kind of person who would fight back, and do it well.

This was a really lovely story and I am glad I got to read it. :) Great Job

- Steph

 Report Review

Review #20, by StEpH_MTask One Challenge - Twisted Devotion: Twisted Devotion

18th July 2012:
Egypt? You just made me a very happy girl :)

Your story was lovely, I love the way you depict cho in this and how she missed Cedric so much, even after so many years apart. It's sad and slightly romantic in a funny kind of way.

As I said before I love the fact that this is set in Egypt, it's new and refreshing and i definitely like it more because of that reason. I also like how out of all the Ministries Cho could have chosen it was the Egyptian one, and the one with a dragon that reminded her of the man she missed. I also couldn't help but smile at the description of said dragon, it was rather funny how you made it basically Hufflepuff colours.

I also love how it's set in Cho's future, that this is her career now, and that she actually found a place, I always wondered what sort of a job she would have after Hogwarts and this one seems to be one of the ones that fits her personality, even if she seems a bit to sweet for such a job. It works.

I couldn't really see any grammar mistakes in your story, it flowed beautifully and it's very original. Good job and I really enjoyed it :)

Steph

 Report Review

Review #21, by StEpH_MSparks: A Little Madness

1st May 2012:
First off I am not used to reading stories from the perspective of the less known Next Gen characters but I really liked it. Lucy is someone that there isn't much known about so it's fun to work with her and I love your interpretation of her attitude and ambitions. When you think about how all the Hogwarts era characters turned out, with their jobs, you wouldn't expect one of the next gen to work in a book shop after Hogwarts let alone dream of owning her own. So that's defiantly something I really like.
I also like that Lucy doesn't particularly get along with all her Cousins like you see in so many Next Gen stories, it's a nice change and makes the Weasley/Potter family seem so much more realistic.
Roxanne also amuses me, just the thought that she would love someone without actually meeting him, and that she is a adult while having these thoughts made me giggle. It's not something you would expect so I think that by doing it you have made this story really original and drawing.
I really want to read more now and find out what happens, it just seems like it's going to be an entertaining story with a different look on the Next Gen characters.

I love your writing so much and this story is probably one of my favourite reads now :)

Author's Response: I actually haven't read too many lesser-known Next Gens myself. Lucy is definitely one of the least-known. I don't see too many stories about her. I try to make all my Next Gen Weasleys unique from their usual portrayal. It's easy with Lucy since there isn't that much out there about her. She wants to be a shopkeeper but as Roxanne points out later, everything has already been done by another Weasley - George is a shop owner, after all. Lucy wants books while George does joke stuff, but still.

She gets along all right, she's just not terribly close with them. Lucy's definitely a loner the way I write her. Rose is up in everyone's business pretty regularly, and Victoire is sort of the central hub that everyone goes to. I think they're more likely to sort of pair off in small groups rather than everyone hang out all the time, you know? Mostly they do their own thing though.

Oh Roxanne, she's sort of childish in a lot of ways, stuck on this silly celebrity crush when she's never even met him.

Thank you so much for the lovely review, I really appreciate it! I hope you enjoy the rest of the story :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by StEpH_MImperfections: Imperfections

1st May 2012:
First things first, I absolutely adore McGonagall stories. I don't know why I just love hearing about her either in childhood or as an adult.
You did an amazing job with this. I love the way you depicted Minerva as a teenager and doing her OWL's, it's how I have always pictured her, not a Ravenclaw but as smart as the Ravenclaw Chiche states. I also love that she has two twin sisters in your story. It's really lovely too see, and having a 'good' sister and a 'bad' sister was a lovely touch as well.
Carolyn was a really nice character too, I liked how although they didn't have much in common they would be a big part of each others lives just because they were there for each other when they needed it the most. It's one of those things where it reminds you that just because you might not like the same thing doesn't mean you won't be closer with them then you are with anyone else in your life. It was really nice.
I think my favourite bit was the fact that Minerva actually sincerely apologised. In the HP series Minerva always seems like the kind of individual that is never wrong and would also avoid admitting it. But in your story you made it so that her feelings came out and showed that she is controlled by them just as much as the next person.

Your writing style is lovely and there wasn't that many grammar mistakes that I could see so good work :)

Lovely story.

Author's Response: Ah, young McGonagall is always overlooked, and most of the time it is written well, so I don't blame you for liking it. The Gryffindor-almost-Ravenclaw bit was inspired by Hermione, who was essentially the same. I always wondered what it would be like to have two older twin sisters, and 'good' and 'bad' difference - I'm quite glad it showed, because I wasn't sure what everyone would think about Harriet and Frances.

Oh, I quite loved their friendship, too. Very peculiar, but all the same it works. Oh yes, even Minerva has to apologise at times, and this time was one of them. This was a different sort of writing style for me, so I'm glad it went well.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by StEpH_MGame: The Secret Has a Temper

10th November 2011:
First thing to say is this chapter made me laugh a lot. Your main character Rona is amazing and has great depth and brings a lot of life to the story, making some things like book reading, that to some would be classified as boring and skim worthy to be something to read and take in constantly.
I also like the Ravenclaw Quidditch Team in general, all the characters seem, even after one chapter to be different and bring different aspects to the scene. And Penny, how she actually went through with silencing Rona was great.
One of my favourite parts would have to be the awkward moment between Oliver and Rona when she thinks she is being spoken too, how so rambles on, it was very amusing and gave a little bit more of Rona's personality and evasive techniques.
It's a great first chapter and I am enjoying reading the whole story. I love your writing as usual and shall be reading and eventually when I have the time reviewing the rest of the story/series.
-Steph-

Author's Response: This fic's quite old, but I still get nostalgic about it 8D I forget how many character I introduce in the first chapter alone, heh. Practically everyone! Rona's not so evasive as much as lucky ;D

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by StEpH_MIgnatius: II

5th October 2011:
It was amazing!
I loved how much Percy has changed from the last chapter, he really stepped up and showed that his family was more important to him then anyone else. They fact that he would risk his life just to know whether his sister was safe really is a special thing to have.
I also love the lines 'You’ve made it fairly clear by coming here that you don’t have much to lose anymore.”
“But he does!” snapped Percy. Could Aberforth not see that, or was he just being purposefully instigative? “They all do!”' that in the end, even when he wants to get out. To go home he doesn't not because of Pride, because he want's to keep his family safe and sound, well as sound as they can be as traitors.
I also liked Aberforth in this, he is just as stubborn here as he is in the books, and just as caring when he 'tests' to see if you are actually worthy of such information and also trust worthy. He really is a caring guy, even if it's impossible to see.
I really do love this story, it just has something, I can't think of what, that gives it that little bit extra. Makes it a really enjoyable read. I think it has to do with the under represented character and your writing techniques that make it such a good read.
I look forward to reading your other stories late. :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by StEpH_MIgnatius: I

5th October 2011:
I love under appreciated Characters.
Percy during the war was never discussed in the books so it is really something to see a story about him just after the ministry falls. I have always wondered what he was thinking at the time, to save him self, if he didn't care about his family, whether he was fine with all the terrible things the Death Eaters were doing.
I liked you portrayal of him, how he did care and how it made him sick to see the muggles on the fountain. To me it meant that he was still a Weasley and a good man at heart, he was just to far in to get out safely and share his real opinions. Especially with him being a suspect to knowing the whereabouts of Potter.
You really got Percy to a tee, well how he seemed to me in the first book, I like to believe that he didn't really change, he always seemed like the kind of person to put his career first, but you really showed that he also cared deeply for his family.
Your writing is lovely and flows well, it also has a lot of imagery in it without making it over excessive and slow.
I am looking forward to reading the next chapter of this fanfiction.
Keep up the good work.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>