Reading Reviews From Member: Crepe
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CrepeLosing Harry: Twenty Nine

21st February 2011:
Oh, I didn't know another chapter was up here. Your own website doesn't work at the moment.

Good chapter, but it's not why I'm here. If you ever read my e-mail and then this, you'll probably think I'm crazy and should back off but I can't help but be beside myself with worry. Please, please let me know you're alright.

-Irena

Author's Response: Hi Irena! Just sent you a message. I'm alive. (o: And thanks, as always, for reading my stories!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by CrepeBarely Coping: Barely Coping

6th February 2011:
This really felt somehow incomplete. I was expecting more and this should definitely be continued because there was no... resolution and it was so short and ended very suddenly.

Other than that, this was great! In my mind, all was definitely not that well for Harry after the war and just roses and sunshine. How could it?

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to read and review this thoughtfully, it means a lot to me. I'm glad the premise behind this story has been fairly well received. Maybe I will attempt it again but add more depth and resolution to it. Thank you for the kind and constructive words!

 Report Review

Review #3, by CrepeDaddy Dearest: How Far We've Come

3rd February 2011:
Oh, why must all good things come to an end? This was a wonderful, wonderful fic, I really loved it. Thank you so much for writing it and thus enforcing my love for Rose/Scorpius even more. I can't really say more right now. I had to leave a review because this most certainly deserves it and deserves even more but I can't form anything right now because it's 5 AM and I'm tired, LOL. But I'm sure everything has been said already. :) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #4, by CrepeStill Delicate: Intervention

29th January 2011:
Wow, a new chapter, finally! I have to say, it was somehow very hard to read this - I read the whole Delicate and Still Delicate up to here almost in one run a few months ago, so the story was very clear in my mind then, almost occupying it completely, heh... But now it's been so long that I've forgotten where we actually are in the story. I can't even remember where we left off with the Rose, Scorpius and Daisy love triangle, gah! Maybe I should read the older chapters a bit.

But a great chapter nonetheless and I'm glad you updated! The Aidan's POV was so cute. I wish this had been longer though! Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #5, by CrepeSomething So Simple: Something So Simple

28th January 2011:
Beautiful. :) That's just it.

 Report Review

Review #6, by CrepeDoing This: Doing This

28th January 2011:
Ah, so awkward and sweet, and the sexual tension nearly killed me! Great story. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by CrepeHarbor: Harbor

18th December 2010:
Wow. Beautiful. I have to admit that the Harry/Ginny twist from HBP onwards came as a complete surprise and shock to me and it took me many, many years to accept it, because I couldn't understand it. But because I wanted to make peace with it, I understood what JKR had in mind with it, although I'm sad to say she executed it a bit poorly. It was always the three of them and Ginny was just in the background, infatuated with the hero, a portal for Harry to the Weasley family. But I got over it, and I eventually realised what a wonderful character Ginny is, and how she is strong and passionate enough for Harry. While it's not my favourite ship, I think they are a beautiful couple.

This short fic and this song made me really see the beauty of this pairing even more. Ginny is a strong and fierce Gryffindor so of course she wants to fight. But she is also strong enough to understand that she cannot go, she's too young and too much of a disctraction to Harry. She has to stay but she still fought in Hogwarts, didn't she? And she fought in the Final Battle. She was Harry's harbour, she was her support even from afar. Something worth fighting for.

This was so beautiful. Thank you.

Author's Response: Really? I have to say, I have always been a Harry/Ginny shipper. But I read the first five books in the space of a week, as I came late to the fandom (OotP was already out in paperback when I started reading the books), so I could see her character development more clearly in the arc of those books, particularly 4 and 5. Book 5 is what clinched it for me that no one but Ginny could possibly take on Harry as a spouse :)

Anyway, thank you so very much for the lovely review! I really appreciate your kind words, and I'm so glad you liked the story. She did get to fight after all, but she didn't get to go on the Horcrux hunt. I think it worked out best for her in the end. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #8, by CrepeAfterlife: Afterlife

11th December 2010:
Ahh, very funny and sweet. :D Obviously not to be taken very seriously, with all the Library of the Departed (cracked me up, that one) and socks and picnics in heaven stuff but a nice one nevertheless! Go Harry! You're MY boy!

Author's Response: Thank you,and no. Definitely not to be taken seriously.

 Report Review

Review #9, by CrepeA Serpent's Sacrifice: You'll Never Be Normal

7th December 2010:
Wow, I loved this story very much and I've been completely absorbed with it for the few days it took me to read it. I had almost forgot how much I love post-HBP fics for they hold so much potential, what with the hunting of the horcruxes and finishing the war and everything. I haven't read them for a long time and I think they were mostly stories with Harry/Draco as a main pairing. I used to mostly read slash and especially H/D back only a couple years before and while I still love that pairing, I find myself nowadays craving more canon-like stories with more realistic romances. While I'm finally at peace with Rowling's decisions about the trio and Ginny, I also have a soft spot for Harry/Hermione which actually led me to this story. So this was a perfect story for this moment for me. It had just the right balance of action and other things and romance, and what I loved about it was that it wasn't all so crystal clear for anyone. You had written the trio's dynamics well and I liked how Ginny had an important role, too, eventually, and how there were many possibilities, lots of different kinds of love between the characters.

But Ginny! My god. Initially and during the development of the story up until Harry and Voldemort's confrontation in the Godric's Hollow I felt that maybe there was a little too little tragedy and death in your story, that somehow it wasn't quite dark enough and they found and destroyed the horcruxes too easily and there wasn't much loss etc. But then you made Ginny jump out of the blue in front of that Killing Curse! First I was just purely shocked and surprised but then I broke down in tears and continued in that sad state throughout the following happenings and until the very end. It was so devastating. While everything turned better in the end, and I was happy that Hermione got Harry and everything, it obviously wasn't easy. I'm so sad that Ron departed and I'm so sad that Ginny had to die but at the same time I'm very proud for her. I didn't particularly like your characterization of her especially at the beginning but I think she grew to be the Ginny I love towards the end and she clearly redeemed herself, too.

I'm just rambling. I don't really know how to write a good review, at least not when I read a story that really moves me. This was a believable and very good story and refreshing, too. There were a lot of small and big things that I really loved, for example Issamir (I love it when Harry embraces his ability of Parseltongue), Fawkes' "return", Harry and Albus' adventures, Harry and Ron's bromance being a bit more, I don't know, emotional, than in the books, Harry's being a superwizard (! I love these kinds of fics), the mission in the McNaughton castle and well, I don't even remember, there's so much. In retrospect, I kind of wish you'd thrown in a bit more of Fred and George, and maybe some other side characters, even if not relevant to the plot.

Oh, I guess I shouldn't ramble any longer, seeing as I have nothing constructive to say. I only meant to drop in a few lines anyway and this got a little out of hand. Just, thank you for a very enjoyable and fantastic story!

Author's Response: I'm pleased that you enjoyed the story, and thanks for reviewing. Ginny's sacrifice had to be a shock, so I intentionally tried not to lead up to it so it would come completely out of the blue. The hope was that it would be a complete surprise and shock to the reader. Sorry for your tears, but you had an idea how Harry felt, which was the point. It got pretty angsty after that, but I always like to end on an upbeat note.

I really enjoyed writing Issamir's scenes, and he took on a much larger role than I initially intended. You are right about the story lacking some characters, such as Fred and George, Hagrid, Luna and Neville, and if I started over again, I might try to incorporate them into the story a bit.

I hope you read my other story, and let me know how you like it. It's another seventh year story, but quite different from this one. Thanks for the wonderful review. G.


 Report Review

Review #10, by CrepeTruth: It is a beautiful and terrible thing.

15th November 2010:
This was a beautiful story, although short and in a way, ended right before where the interesting part could've begun. One of the things that intrigue me the most about the happenings after the book (before and after the epilogue) is how Harry and the others coped with everything that had happened. This is my favourite portrayal of Harry, showing him as a scarred man. I don't like seeing him as a perfect hero who just managed to put most of it behind him, who doesn't get the sadness in his eyes when talking about those things. Thanks for this short story!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I think you have a point about this story ending right when it could start to get interesting, but I'm not sure I could pull off the next chapter. It's something I'll consider, though.

I also don't think Harry will ever be able to completely put everything behind him, much as he would like to, but he also won't fall apart. He'll always have these demons in his past, but at the same time, he has family and friends who love him and help hold him together, as well as his own inner strength and resilency.

Thanks again for reading. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login