Reading Reviews From Member: fairytaled
  
123 Reviews Found

Review #26, by fairytaledRanny: Damsel

22nd August 2011:
ROBINROBINROBIN ♥ ♥

So, i've been on holiday and I've just got back and I've realized i've got three chapters to enjoy, so my reviews will be scandalously brief.

I love this chapter, I love all the developments on the Albus/Ranny front it's just too... ♥ I love his character development, it's ridiculous how much I loved this chapter.

Off to read the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!
I hope that you had a good holiday! You're very kind; I'm pleased that you're still enjoying this!
I'm really glad that you noticed Al's development as character; he's growing :)
I hope that you like the rest!


 Report Review

Review #27, by fairytaledSomething About James Potter: Simply Corking

21st August 2011:
Oh, Benedict Cumberbatch knickers, wherefore art thou? I'm ready to die now.

It's like you knew I was in love with him. ♥

I adored this chapter, it's was like lemonade, sweet for James and sour for Aurora. I love James, he's so jamespotterthefirst-esque, but in my opinion sweeter. I love Ginny and Aurora's mum, in fact I love all the parents in this fic, they're just so funny. I want some Harry too, that would be awesome. I want more of all the parents.

I can't wait for the next chapter (that should be like a hint that you have to update now) and the wedding and to see Rory's decision. ♥ ♥

Nell :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by fairytaledThe Human Factor : The One Where Pippa Can't Sleep

20th August 2011:
I'm totally with Pippa on the cleaning thing, cleaning alone in a room is quite soothing, it takes your mind off of things. I like her love for systems is such a wonderful character trait.
I adore the way you describe Albus through Pippa's point of view. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I never had that original in her character plan, but it just came out in her as I wrote her and it's one of my favourtie things about her character. It just makes so much sense considering how uptight she is. And thank you! I've started to adore description! And describing Albus is one of my favourite things considering that's the only way you can learn about him right now as I have yet to reveal his back story. Thanks so much for the nice review, it means a lot to me! You've made my day, thanks again! xxx

 Report Review

Review #29, by fairytaledThe Human Factor : The One Where It All Begins

20th August 2011:
I really just wanted to point out that this is probably my favourite opening chapter for any next-gen fic I've read, mainly because you get a lovely insight to the characters, Albus and Pippa especially but there's action and stuff going on. Most of the time it's just a running commentary, which is quite boring to read. :)
Amazing!
-nell :)

Author's Response: That is such a huge compliment! Seriously! It's made my day. I just like to throw my readers into the action and things get revealed as things go by etc the house that they are in. It wouldn't make sense for Pippa to explain everything in the first chapter, because she's known these characters for years and I'm trying to do it properly through her eyes. Plus, I like to show how the characters are like through their acts rather than state all their qualities and who they are as a person so I'm so happy that you like what i'm doing as I'm always worried about these things. I'm also so glad you enjoyed this start! It means a lot to me! Thanks so much! xxx

 Report Review

Review #30, by fairytaledThe Horror!: ELIZABETH

17th August 2011:
Loved this chapter. ♥

I thought Waverley would be the one to initiate the relationship, not James. I like his attempt to ask her out, I like how he didn't go all out romantically which would have been a bit sickly. This was cute, but wonderfully in character for James.

I'm thrilled they didn't kiss, I hate stories where the love interest and the main character kiss to early, it makes me cringe.

I love Cillian even more, and I love the fact he's irish (have I mentioned that before?), I love myself some cute irish guys with cute irish accents.

Lovely pride and prejudice reference by the way, it fit perfectly with the chapter.

Update soon!



Author's Response: Aww, grazie, dear! I am at surprised at that guess. I don't think it's off-target, either; I'm sure that if James hadn't had his conversation with Ruth in the previous chapter and hadn't worked up the courage to talk to her, she would have asked him out at some point. But he did talk with Ruth, and both girls know now that James never really had good intentions going into his previous relationship, and thus -- Houston, we have a plot!

I agree that James being all /romantic/ would have been sickly and vastly out of the norm for him, at least this early into the relationship that could have been. Cillian does not in this chapter that he can pull off grand romantic gestures if he really wants to, or if he likes the girl enough, but he's only now beginning to... defrost?... so anything really grand wouldn't be his first choice right out of the gate. I agree that this would have been too early to kiss -- we've got to have some kind of build-up, right? (I am a sucker for unresolved sexual tension -- the build-up, the banter, the smouldering glares of hate/lust -- although admittedly there isn't much ust in this fic.)

I don't recall at this very moment in response-time whether you mentioned that, but I will take it with a big grin because /everyone/ seems to adore Cillian. I love Irish boys with Irish accents too, even if there aren't many of those in my neck of the woods, sadface.

And eee, a reference that fits! From this chapter on I began to kind of scramble to find something to shoehorn in, and I worry that it's become forced. Oh, well, I guess we'll see, hehe.

Thank you so much for the review, as always ^_^ ♥

-I LEARNED HOW TO PUT HEARTS IN RESPONSES HURRAY-


 Report Review

Review #31, by fairytaledSo, Listen...: February 1996

17th August 2011:
I want to squeee, this is sweeet. ♥

So, I'm reading order of the phoenix at the moment (it's like my blank spot in the hp series) and then I read this and it fits into cannon so wonderfully. The DA coins and the headless hats fit in like puzzle pieces, that I'm pretty sure this will become cannon in my head.

Fred is charming, witty and just ♥ Fred-like. You've portrayed him wonderfully, people always mess the twins up, when they're not together.

And then Hollis, first thing her name is wonderful. I love her comment about her awkwardness.

Can't wait to read more! :)
Nell

Author's Response: I adore the name Hollis, so I'm glad you liked it, too. And thank you for stopping by to read this.

OotP is one of my favorite books, and I loved how Fred and George acted in it. I love how they can practice fighting in Dumbledore's Army lessons and yet be so lighthearted, like the world can't really get at them. I think that's what draws me to Fred and George. They are always laughing, no matter how dangerous the climate is.



 Report Review

Review #32, by fairytaledWonderland: Crazy

13th August 2011:
OH, wow. That was awkwardly delightful, nothing like straddling your mother's young boyfriend. So funny.

Fred's rather immature, which is quite interesting. I don't think he deserved the attack but Spencer's impulsive enough to attack like that. :)

Really enjoyed this chapter, update soon :)

Nell x

Author's Response: Haha, thanks :D
Yeah, I don't know why but I made Freddy pretty immature and I think that's because only someone like that would get into that type of arguement with Spencer. And she's pretty immature herself in a way (like when she attacked Freddy). She tends to do things that seem like a good idea at the time.
I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter! I started the next one and hopefully it'll be out soon! :D


 Report Review

Review #33, by fairytaledBend It Like Potter: Bodysnatchers

11th August 2011:
I could eat this, all of your stories are mindblowingly to awesome that I must favourite author you the instant I finish writing this short spazzy review.

I saw the title and I squealed (that film is tooo goood), gender-benders are a personal favourite, she's the man, tweltfth night and anything that involves twins. I was a big fan of the parent trap, and I watched anything that involved marykate and ashley as a child.

Anyway, awesome chapter, I love Isabel's character.

You need to update, everything you write! :)

Nell :) xx

 Report Review

Review #34, by fairytaledThe Horror!: MARY

9th August 2011:
I absolutely adored this chapter. I like Ruth, she's not the crazy raging ex here to ruin everything just because she's heartbroken, but because she genuinely feels that James isn't 'safe' to go in a relationship with. And I just love that.

I giggled when Waverley said 'embryonic?' and when Cillian called her a psuedo-intellectual.

I love the comparison of James as a byronic hero, which immediately made me think of Stephen Dedalus and Phantom of the opera. I've read some of Lermontov's poetry, but never read A hero of our time, I must go pick it up!

Great chapter < 3

Author's Response: I've always had a thing against the current/ex significant others of whoever the love interest, the ones who are more devices than characters. It's an easy trap to fall into when you're trying to complicate a budding relationship, but I am so glad Ruth isn't one of those types of device/characters. She has an actual, justifiable motivation to be against Waverly and James getting together, and we'll see what effect her stance has on whatever happens next.

Teehee the embryonic/Byronic pun was one of my favorites. Possibly the best nerdy pun I've ever come up with. And Cillian calling her a pseudo-intellectual is sort of to reiterate a point I didn't actually realize was there until, um, this point. In the first draft, Waverly was a full-on intellectual, who could reference literature and mythology and history with James, but I started thinking that was too convenient, you know? Which is why I dumbed her down a bit -- you could say she knows what she's talking about, but she knows when to stop. James, by that definition, doesn't exactly know.

Ooh, Phantom of the Opera seems like a good Byronic hero for James. (I end up thinking Gerard Butler but with Michael Crawford's voice and now I am mentally drooling). I am extremely partial to Russian literature and history and took a class on its culture. Bela, one of the short stories in A Hero of Our Time, was on the syllabus. Naturally I didn't actually read it until weeks after the lecture about it (coincidentally just before finals period), but when I did, my mind was blown. There's an excellent copy of the entire novel online, actually, which is just a webpage and it's free, and it captured my imagination for weeks to come. One of my favorites.

Anywho, enough of my rambling. Thank you, dear, for such a lovely review :D


 Report Review

Review #35, by fairytaledRanny: The Sheriff

20th July 2011:
ROBIN. (i feel like all my reviews, must start like this now)

I knew it! I just knew there was something romantic, however so slight in Nina/Scorpius's relation, i just didn't think it already happened. I feel successful as a reader right now!

ScoRose, hmm. I love Ranny's comment about falling in love with someone who you shouldn't be in love with.

I want to give RANNY a great big hug, and I adore the last few lines of the chapter, they were golden.

Well, Rose is a word that rhymes with witch, I can't wait to see more of her character and her motivations.

And as for Nina, she was too good to be true. I hope Albus sees some sense soon.

Loved it as always!

Nell :) xx

Author's Response: Hehe, you're lovely! Thank you! And thank you for the review! You never know; there might be a particular chapter that you dislike! :)
You're a very successful reader! I love your reviews!
I'm glad that you liked the last few lines of this chapter, I always try to end a chapter on something contemplative in this story!
Thank you again! I will update soon!


 Report Review

Review #36, by fairytaledWonderland: Advice from Robyn-the-Wise

13th July 2011:
I < 3 this, lalalala. It's squishy and cute, lovely and awesome.

I love all the characters and it's funny! :) x

I love James/Spencer, such lovely chemistry between them, it's adorable.

Oh and the cougar mother always makes me LOL. < 3

This story is the bomb!

Author's Response: Thank you! This is so exciting that you reviewed; I love Patchwork! (As you were probably able to tell after all of those reviews I wrote you :D) I really enjoy writing this so I'm so happy that you love the story and characters! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #37, by fairytaledRanny: Guinevere

11th July 2011:
ROBIN.

I love Perry. For this chapter, I am a Perry/Ranny shipper as my Ranny/Tom hopes have been dashed, she did a good job of rejecting him, I would have done something rather similar.

I'm loving all the character development in all the recent chapters, the story is becoming more and more addictive, each time you update.

I love the way Al is really imperfect, because it's nice that prince charming, isn't actually that charming and he has to develop before he can claim his princess. It's refreshing to see the main love interest actually develop, rather than start off perfect, which is a common flaw in fan fiction (especially mine).

Loved it and I'm loving these speedy updates! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm sorry it's taken me so long to get back to you!
I'm glad that you enjoyed this chapter, and that you like Perry! I love to write him; he's possibly the 'deepest' character that I've ever written, so it's an experience for me.
Sorry about the whole Ranny/Tom thing, I hope that you're not too disappointed!
The characters are all growing up, so they're all beginning to realise what they do and don't like. I'm glad that you like it :)
Al is the completely opposite of prince charming, and that is why he fills the role so well. He has to grow in to himself before he can make a good other half to anyone else.
It's nice to read about a perfect guy something though :P and your stories are awesome! :D
Thank you again! I will update soon! I hope that you like the next chapter.


 Report Review

Review #38, by fairytaledRanny: King Arthur

10th July 2011:
ROBIN.

When it comes to pairings in this story, it seems really open. When I first began reading I was sure Ranny would end up with Albus, now I'm not too sure, but I don't particularly mind, because whoever she ends up with (probably Albus!?!) it will work. :p Though, I am a bit of a Tom/Ranny shipper. :)

I love Jack and Tom < 3, they're probably my favourite characters after Ranny and Scorpius.

I rather like Ranny's reluctance to become Nina's friend, it shows a more logical side to her and that she's still sticking up for herself.

Loved this chapter! (not that I need to tell you)

BTW, I practically cry when I see posters, I haven't even watched trailers for the film. I'm going to be crying wreck, when I watch it.

Nell :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review! I'm glad that you're still enjoying this!
This is the first story that I've ever written where the final pairing wasn't obvious. And I hope that it stays that way, but I've known since I started out what it's going to be, I wavered in the middle, but I stuck to my gut, and I'm glad that I did . :D
A Tom/Ranny shipper, eh? A lot of people seem to like him!
I'm so glad to hear it! I love writing Jack; he's a lot of fun as he just talks constantly and says anything. :P
I will update soon!
You don't need to, but it's nice to hear, so thank you :D I'm flattered.

I'm so with you on that one, I walk past a poster and I just want to cry, run up and hug it! :D I think that most of the world is going to be absolutely barmy when watching it, and crying :D


 Report Review

Review #39, by fairytaledThe Confectionary: why would we have a chipmunk and kittens? is this a zoo?

2nd July 2011:
I wonder how this will go. Izzy's fantasies and negotiation skills are hilarious.

'Remember, I'm cute. I have no idea how negotiations work.' That line is pure genius. I'm not usually one for quoting a chapter in a review, but this one stuck to me.

I adore Izzy's naivety.

Wonderful chapter :) x

Author's Response: Everything Izzy ever does is pure, unadulterated, ridiculous crack. I'm just happy that it happens to be amusing to some. And eee, a quote in a review! That's not usually my style either, so I know what it means to do something different. And I'm especially surprised that that line in particular was the one you quoted -- I thought it was a bit of a transition-y throwaway, but hey, who am I to dispute what you liked. Thank you so much for reviewing, as always. :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by fairytaledRanny: King John

2nd July 2011:
I loved this chapter, so ROBIN.

I don't hate Al, but I quite like him on a characterisation level, that he's different around Ranny to the way he is with everyone else. It shows that he does have some slithering characteristics, but he also has the capability to be wonderful.

I'm excited to see what happens next and I'm really in love with Ranny's characterisation, it was really befitting that she stood up for herself, because she'd been thinking about how her friends were horrible but never acted upon it, until now.

I'm jealous of your wonderfully writing style, it's simple but you gain so much about the characters without endless waffle.

I'm loving this story! (as you already now)

:) xx

Author's Response: Robin thanks you (gosh I need to get a life :L).
I'm glad that you don't hate Al, I'm really worried that he's maybe pushing things too far as a character so that people will hate him. He much more of a Slytherin as a character than most make him if they put him in that house, so I'm glad that you pointed it out! :D

The next chapter is in the queue, so I hope that you like it! Ranny is a lot more realistic as to what she has to face from now on, and a bit more emotional too, I think :D
Thank you so much, I'm really flattered!
I am loving 'Eating Carrot Tops!' - random, but I just thought that I would let you know! I should probably go and review the last chapter; I don't think I have yet. :D
Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #41, by fairytaledThe First, from Spring to Summer: June First

1st July 2011:
Forgiveness. I < 3 forgiveness, it works because they had a whole month to get over it and think about why Scorpius pranked them to begin with.

Go Rose! I like the fact she didn't forgive Scorpius, but I'm not too keen on the fact she gave him a specific date, but I guess that's the whole point it's strange.

DUDE, you need a bit more description. I don't describe, but you have to describe more. :)

I like how Molly didn't jump completely onto the forgiveness wagon, it suits her personality as she's rather bi--hy , so it's rather befitting a bit like her father.

Loved this chapter!

Don't take too long till your next update!

Nell :) xx

Author's Response: Thank you Nell :) I was really worried that it was too soon but I'm glad you think it's ok!
Yeah she's an oddball, Rose is XD I wanted the date because I wanted to make it obvious that they would be seeing each other if you get what I mean??
Ahahah in edits, I shall describe. Formspring me what you have in mind?
Thanks. Yeah, Molly's horrible in this >.< But she's also very pro-family so she has to do what Fred thinks is best :)
Thank you!
I'll try my hardest to get it written ASAP :) Xxxx


 Report Review

Review #42, by fairytaledRanny: The Seven Dwarfs

23rd June 2011:
ROBIN.
'nuff said.

Ranny has seven dwarfs! I loved their banter! :) I love Tom and Jack and Dom. Perry's silence is rather nice, a bit like dopey but a bit more sensible.

Just a question: Do you think of your fairytales in terms of the originals or the disney versions?

Update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, and for the 'robin' - or should I say 'ROBIN'?
Yes! Ranny her seven dwarfs at her beckoned call! :D I'm glad that you enjoyed their banter; I love writing it.
I've never been asked a question in a review like that, that I can recall :D It really depends on the fairytale; I love the brothers Grimm, so most of the fairytales that are mentioned are from their tales, or from the novels that they came from, so things like Peter Pan, or Robin Hood - which aren't actually fairytales - are from the legends and stories :) - if I think that it needs to be sugar coated a little then I think of the Disney versions while writing, and then the words seem to come out a little softer - does that make any sense? :D
Thank you again! I will update soon.


 Report Review

Review #43, by fairytaledRanny: Maid Marion

23rd June 2011:
I wanted to dislike Nina and then she was so sweet and understanding. And I really want to see her and scorpius together.

I would leave a longer review, but I want to read the next chapter. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!
Scorpius and Nina, eh? :P
I hope that you enjoy the next chapter!


 Report Review

Review #44, by fairytaled:

22nd June 2011:
I really like your Dominique! Honestly, it's nice to see her in a light different to her usual tomboy.

Felton is an amazing character and I really like him. :)

Great chapter! :)

Author's Response: Dominique is a special person...I never really thought of her as a tomboy, and I'm glad you like Felton.
Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #45, by fairytaledThe Horror!: ARIADNE

21st June 2011:
EEP. The cuteness this story radiates makes me feel squishy and happy.

and it's witty and intelligent.

Greek mythology makes me squeal with joy.

and I'm in love with your vocabulary XD It's intelligent fluffy stuff, that doesn't kill brain cells with it's sweetness.

And I'm in love with the naming. Cillian? I absolutely adore this one and now i keep seeing Cillian Murphy pop in my head.

Waverley and the wavelength pun just to add to my overall fan-girling.

The trio mesh so well together, absolutely lovely characterisation.

Update as soon as you can! :)

Author's Response: Eep, this review made me really happy and squishy. It's formatted endearingly and it hits all the points I hoped to -- some sort of wit (I'm always nervous that my version of wit is too obscure for people who aren't me to follow), references (again, nervous that some don't stick, and it won't get any less obscure, heh), style (it was hard to strike a balance between possibly-endearing and definitely-pretentious, but I hope I did, and it was enjoyable), names (Cillian is practically my naming piece-de-resistance, although I'm still fond of Waverly), puns (see: wit), and the triumvirate's fragile friendship (they're all so sweet together it makes me happy). Thanks so much for such a lovely review, and I'll try to update asap ^_^

 Report Review

Review #46, by fairytaledSomething About James Potter: Simply All a Dither

19th June 2011:
I love the plot emerging in this story, I love the idea of a bit of james/oc and james/lily at the same time. I love the name Aurora/Rory Pond (makes a doctor who fan happy!).

This is wonderfully written and funny, I can't wait for your next update. :)

Nell xx

Author's Response: Thanks! It's a simple plot, but one I like very much as well (especially since I adore James/Lily as much as I love James II/OC). And I love that you caught the Who reference! (I didn't mean to steal Amy and Rory's names, it just kind of happened.) Thank you so much for your lovely review. It quite brightened my day. (:

 Report Review

Review #47, by fairytaledThe Quiet Outcast: Albus Potter: Part II

18th June 2011:
Great chapter once again.

It's great to see what others besides Hugo's parents think of him, it was really interesting that Albus just assumed that he was happy and content with his life.

Update soon!

Nell :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the great review and I'm glad you enjoyed the interaction between Hugo and Albus! You rock!

 Report Review

Review #48, by fairytaledRanny: Rapunzel

14th June 2011:
Amazing chapter!

It's nice to see Albus, he's been awol. I love Scorpius so much, and Al's over protectiveness. I love Scorpius' reply to the whole swearing thing.

I love these three as a trio, they're so adorable, but I find it interesting that Scorpius and Albus are quite different around Ranny than they are to other people, it's really realistic.

Update soon and feel better < 3

Nell :) xx

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm glad that you enjoyed this chapter! :D
I thought that it was about time that Albus showed his face to his friends!
Well, Scorpius does speak the truth!
Thank you again, I tried to make this trio as realistic as possible, but truthfully, they seem to just write themselves :D.
Thank you, I'm feeling a lot better, you're sweet!.
I will update soon!


 Report Review

Review #49, by fairytaledIn For The Kill: Well they'll be ready for you in time

8th June 2011:
Yay an update!

Lucky you, I have yet to finish my exams.

I love the last line of this chapter. Squee for the adorableness. :)

Update soon!
Nell :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing, Nell (:

ha, exams. they are such downers, i think.

even as i was writing it i was like DAW SO CUTEE < 3

I will (:


 Report Review

Review #50, by fairytaledThe sporadic suffering and tiresome torments of Albus Potter: The one with the bras.

7th June 2011:
Oh, I love it.

Alboobs potter, is fantastic. i found myself actually giggling out loud which is very uncommon in this chapter.

I love all the parents conversations.

Great chapter!
Nell :) x

Author's Response: Ah, man, I'd almost forgot about Alboobs :')

THANKS FOR THE LOVELY REVIEW :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>