Reading Reviews From Member: MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010
  
295 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Grey.: Grey

27th August 2015:
Hi It's Tasha here for the review swap I promised.

Okay so first this does a really good job of showing the effects of alcoholism combined with the symptoms of severe depression. I'm not an expert by any means but the way you portrayed Draco shows you've done your research.

This hits home with me in many ways because I've been down that road before where I felt like no matter what I did, I didn't deserve to be happy. I cut everyone out and tried to deal with things alone. I fortunately was underage at the time so I did not have access to alcohol and I shudder to think about what would have happened if I did.

I've been at the point where I thought I'd never get out and that noone would care if I lived or died. I was fortunate enough to have a friend that had gone through the same thing and was able to pull me out. But enough about me. Again this part of the story was really well done.

Second, I loved how you wrote this where there was no interaction with another character, other than the months old letter. This was entirely all about Draco and his demons.

Third, giving cc is not my strong suit because i really don't want to come across as mean so I just don't do it and grammar is not something I'm good at. that being said I liked the way the story flowed and wished there was more to it but then i read the A/N and realized that there is more to it, I just have to go read your other stories so that is what I'll do later.

Peace Love and Tacos
Tasha

PS Sorry about you losing you job.
PPS Thanks for leaving the awesome review! I needed a pick me up also. It's been a rough couple days and will stay that way for the next week or so.

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for stopping by and giving this story a chance. This really means a lot to me and I just want you to know that everything is going to be okay. Life is hard sometimes but for every bad thing that happens, ten more good ones are bound to spring up.

I am so glad that you were able to relate to Draco's pain though, it wasn't the easiest thing to write. I've been in some pretty dark places myself and being trapped in your own mind is a cage that not too many people would understand. My stories are all interconnected so this version of Draco is mentioned in almost all of my stories at some point, I had just never written him before. If you were curious about him though, you should check out A Force of Wills or Abandon, since they give the most information about who he was/is. (A Force of Wills is Hogwarts era and Abandon is Next Gen, just as a heads up)

Anyway, I think that knowing you can be crushed by life so easily, with just the simplest things can bring a person down but you always have to pick up the pieces eventually.

Thank you for participating in the swap! It really made me feel better and I hope everything works out for you too!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #2, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Devlin Potter: Riddle and Rescue: The Informant

21st August 2015:
Review Swap!

First I chose this chapter to review since I haven't read this fic yet and wanted to get whole story before I read your newer one so please don't hate me *falls to knees begging*

Second I'm going to have to do review swaps more often. I keep finding new stuff to read thats outside of my norm. I prefer not to read the What if Voldemort lived stories because that's just not a world I want to live in real or fantasy but this first chapter is so well written it makes me want to read more.

Third I loved how you captured the emotion Harry was feeling when he found the picture and the trememdous amount of love in the memory.

Fourth I'm weird I love a cliffhanger! It keeps me engaged in the story and makes me yell at my computer screen. Only downside to them is I generally find myself up until 3am and it's no fun going to work on less than an hour of sleep.

So that's all for now and i look foward to reading the next chapters and once I'm done starting on the next story.

Peace Love and Tacos

Tasha

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Thanks for starting at the beginning - it is a complex story and I genuinely wouldn't have been happy with a review if you didn't understand what you were reading. :)

I love review swaps for that reason. If I am smart I don't even look at profiles - just say "Yes" and force myself. More often than not, I end up really enjoying what I read. :)

If you love cliffhangers you will love most of this...I think there is a cliffhanger for at least the first 15 chapters...



 Report Review

Review #3, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Traitorous Hearts: A Dangerous Revelation

21st August 2015:
Hm So Astoria is attempting to sabotage the death eaters. This can't end well...especially since they know that whatever happened she had something to do with it. Or can it? All i know is I'm dying to find out.

I like branching out from what I normally read this is a nice change. I'm really enjoying what you've written and the story you are telling. :)

Sorry this is so short but I'm honestly too tired to come up with a better review for you. :(

I'll have to make it up to you on the next chapters once I've had a decent amount of sleep and feel more refreshed.

My next review will most definitely be longer and more eloquent.

Again so sorry

Tasha

 Report Review

Review #4, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Traitorous Hearts: The Lady of Greengrass Hall

21st August 2015:
Hi Penny!

Ok so at first i thought that Lavinia's death was a bit anti-climatic until you revealed where she was and what spell ultimately caused her death. Its easy to see where Astoria's grudge comes from and why she isn't on the side of the Death Eaters.

In my head I kinda feel that the only way for a death eater to prove ultimate loyalty was to die for the cause but it could be any number of things that would raise suspiscion about a member's true loyalty. The Dark Lord would be wise to always question the loyalty of his followers since well most of his followers are kinda sorta insane...and power hungry.

So far I'm really enjoying this :)

Peace, Love, and Tacos

Tasha

 Report Review

Review #5, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010'Till Death Do Us Part: The Proposal

19th August 2015:
Ok so this was totally not what I was expecting! I promise thats a good thing though! It's an interesting take on what happened after the war and what Draco and Hermione are willing to do to survive.

 Report Review

Review #6, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Charm Those Words: Charm Those Words

17th June 2013:
I really liked this . I thought it was short, sweet, and to the point. It had a good flow and didn't feel rushed. I'm glad you took the time to develop Draco and Hermione and give some background information that led up to the scene and conversation in the elevator and I liked the fact that you took their usual bickering and made it funny instead of filled with hate. That is all for now I guess so until next time.

Peace , love, and waffles

~MCG~

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I was surprised you chose this one, it's quite an old work! I am glad you liked this, and that it didn't feel rushed. I wanted to experiment with this bickering-into-funny thing so glad it worked. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #7, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Forever: FOREVER

23rd January 2013:
I'm not good at leaving the really long constructive reviews so I'll keep this short. I really enjoyed reading this. I thought it was well written and conveyed the emotion of the characters to a "T" and although I would have enjoyed a happy ending, I thought the plot twist at the end fit the story and made the piece believable, it would have been too cliche without it.

That is all

MCG

Author's Response: hey thanks for reading and reviewing! I am glad you enjoyed this and found the piece believable with the plot twist at the end. thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #8, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Unexpected Expectations: A New Day in Another Person's Story

18th December 2012:
My reviews are typically short sweet and to the point, so here it goes...I LOVE what you have so far. your attention to detail is amazing. I can't wait for the queue to open up again and see what you have in store for Sin and Draco.

Author's Response: Thank You! :) ~ Lady

 Report Review

Review #9, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Task One Challenge: Chapter One

18th July 2012:
This was well written but I would have liked to know what was said that set Salazar off.

The characterization of Slytherin was done really well and it truly showed how "Dark" he really was.

The little side story involving the Dragon encounter was cute and added a little bit of humor to the story

Great Job and I look foward to reading your other stories

Author's Response: Thank you! To be perfectly candid, it was a reference to her um...reputation, if you get what I'm saying. I didn't want to push the 15+ limit so I hoped y'all would make an assumption as to what he said;)

Thank you for such a lovely review!

xx

Ever



 Report Review

Review #10, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Mouse: Elephant

18th July 2012:
first let me begin by saying i thought this was a cute story. sometimes i think that the Hufflepuffs are too often forgotten except for cedric...it is most definetly not a popular house in the books.

Second I love the characterization of Susan, she was written really well.

Last but not least I thought the flow of the story was done really well and I would love to read more of your stories.


BTW You did a great job with the rhyming

Author's Response: Hey there! I'm so sorry it's taken me so long to reply, but please know that makes me no less grateful for this lovely review! ^.^

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed the story and I completely and totally agree with what you've said about Hufflepuff's. It always saddens me the way Hufflepuff House is portrayed a lot of the time, which is why stories like this need to exist! We must reverse this thinking! Either way, it was really fun to write an empowered Puff story!

It's great to hear that you liked Susan! I tried to tackle her almost like an OC, because we really don't know much about her from the books, so I'm glad I turned her into someone you can root for! Thank you!

Ah, it makes me so happy to hear that the flow was smooth! It was definitely a concern of mine when I tried working a rhyme-scheme into a story-line! Phew! And nothing makes me happier than to hear that this story has intrigued you to potentially check out my others! You've completely made my day!

This was such a nice review to receive; thank you so much for taking the time to leave it! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Between Fire and Water: Fire, Water, and Dust

18th July 2012:
i really enjoyed this. I loved the way Cho was written and the way she viewed different things. I like how this was written during the year after Cedric died it brings a lot into perspective about what Cho was going through.

Overall this was well written and definetly something i will read again.

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I've not very familiar with that sort of grief Cho must have gone through, but I tried my best to write it well.

 Report Review

Review #12, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Task One Challenge: Reclaiming the Sword of Godric Gryffindor

18th July 2012:
ok first off I know there was a limited word count on the entries for the challenge but i felt it was a little too fast paced. I think you had a little too much going on at once.

Second: The characterization of everyone was done really well and I enjoyed Neville's nervousness at the beginning and his Spunk at the end. I never would have guessed Neville would willingly attack a teacher like he did. and I agree that all three were very lucky with only getting a detention when it could have been so much worse.

Third: As i've already mentioned i felt it was a little too fast paced but overall the plot development and flow were written very well and the events flowed together seamlessly.

Great Job for your first fic

Author's Response: Hey there. Thanks for stopping by and having the time to leave a review.

The fast pace of the story was kind of intentional. I know it felt like everything was too rushed but I wanted it to be that way to transmit a feeling of urgency that I felt the moment had. They had to get the sword and fast. Thank you for pointing it out though. I will be more careful with future works so as to slow it down a bit, maybe mix a bit of imagery more.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed Neville's characterization. This aspect is one of the most important for me and I always fret over it. So it's a pleasure to hear that it came across as real and believable :)

Thanks for reading once again. You made me very happy!


 Report Review

Review #13, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Task One Challenge: Abra Kadabra: mumbo jumbo

18th July 2012:
Ok where do i begin?


First off I love how you made Cho into a bitter person and i love how you have her question her choice in a husband. In the books she always seemed unsure of what she wanted and even who she wanted. and it's nice to see her carry that trait into adulthood.

Second: I enjoyed the comparisions she made between abra kadabra and avada kedavra and i never noticed how similar they are until i read this story.

Third: Even though it was written quickly as you mentioned, i feel that you did an excellent job with making sure the plot flowed and your characterization stayed spot-on. This was all around an excellent story and I have no complaints. In fact i would love to see a possible sequel/companion piece to this such as how she met her muggle husband..


Great Job!

Author's Response: I don't think Cho's unsure of what or who she wanted, really; or at least she's no less uncertain of what she wants for herself (in canon) as any other teenager. I don't think she's unsure of her life in this fic, as much as she isn't at home anywhere. Again, that's not because of any indecision about where she belongs. The abra kadabra/avada kedavra similarity is one that I'm pretty sure is telegraphed in canon, so I can't quite take credit for that. And yay, I'm so glad it worked out even in the limited space and with the deadline. As I said elsewhere, I think it would be interesting to see more about Cho and Michael, it's not something I'm really interested in exploring further. But that's what stories are for, I think: setting things up and leaving blanks to be filled by the imagination or, in our case, fanfiction. Thanks for stopping by, and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010The Chamber- Task one Challenge : The Chamber

18th July 2012:
I've always wondered how Salazar created the chamber of secrets without anyone noticing. And now I know, I felt this was really well written and had great character development but i felt it was missing Salazar's reasons for wanting to leave Hogwarts and his reasons behind creating the chamber. I feel that adding this would add more quality to what you have written. I know you were working with a limited word count but i also felt you could have added something with how Gryffindor managed to find Salazar down in the sewers.


All around great story and good job. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Task One Challenge: The Runaway: I

18th July 2012:
I really liked this story :) It was really well written and kind of funny. I never would have guessed that Cho could make smart comments like she did. based off the text it's nice to see that even though she is finished with Hogwarts, she still has nightmares about Cedric and what happened to him. Great job on using all the prompts and they worked well together with your plot. Great characterization and Flow and all around great story.

Author's Response: Thank you! I think somehow I end up slipping in humour subconsciously, but I'm glad it didn't take away from the overall seriousness of this story :p Thank you so, so much and I really appreciate the review :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Task One Challenge: Tales: Tales

18th July 2012:
I loved this i thought it was sweet how Neville's aunt reassured him that he can tame dragons when he gets older. As sweet and as insecure as you wrote Neville to be creates a good path for his character in the books. It is really well written and I have no complaints what so ever. Again I thought the characterization was done really well for all involved including Neville's Aunt and his Gran.

BTW Loved how Gran is compared to a Dragon :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!! I'm glad I managed create that path since that is what I was aiming for. I thought I might have made it slightly unrealistic with his aunt, which is why I tried to make his Gran worse to balance it out.

 Report Review

Review #17, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010Shattered Glass: Shattered Glass

17th July 2012:
It takes a lot to be able to get inside Bellatrix's head and I think you did that very well. You definitely captured the insanity and her obsessive nature without going overboard. I've read stories in the past that overdo the insanity angle when it comes to Bellatrix and it was nice to read one that was detailed without being over the top. The other characterization points that you hit were spot-on in my opinion and as a side note, you captured Narcissa well too. The references to the broken window did an excellent job of capturing the essence of Bellatrix in a way that I've never seen anyone do before. All around excellent job on the characterization and very believable story.

Author's Response: I am so happy that you traveled over to my page to read this! The characterization was the number one thing I was worried about so I'm glad that you've given me some good feedback about that. I did enjoy writing how Bella's mind and thoughts skipped around and always came back to the window. It was really fun. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing my story it really meant a lot!

 Report Review

Review #18, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010There's A Reason Opposites Attract: Conversations

21st May 2012:
Horray for communication. I'm glad to see they are talking about what's going on. I'm still waiting to see how Harry and Ron are going to react when they find out. Again a well written chapter that leaves me wanting more. I can't wait to read the next chapter and see how things will develop.

Author's Response: Getting there...slowly :) Glad you enjoyed, Thanks

 Report Review

Review #19, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010There's A Reason Opposites Attract: Coming To Terms

21st May 2012:
I'm glad Draco is coming to terms with his impending fatherhood and that he has all the same fears as a teenage father today would have. I'm glad to see they are falling for each other even if the objects of their affection don't know it yet. This story really is developing nicely and i look foward to seeing what happens next. And now i'm off to go find out :)

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying. Thanks

 Report Review

Review #20, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010There's A Reason Opposites Attract: Exposing Hidden Secrets

20th May 2012:
Yay Malfoy did the right thing...so far anyway.he's comforted her now what is he going to say? This chapter was well written but i'm still waiting on Harry and Ron's reactions to the news. Maybe the next chapter will have the answers i'm looking for. I'm off to go find out. Looking foward to what i'll discover in the next chapter.

Author's Response: Yes he did. If I remember correctly their reaction should be coming up soon. Thanks

 Report Review

Review #21, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010There's A Reason Opposites Attract: Seeing Things

20th May 2012:
Is Draco developing a soft spot for Hermione? hummm i wonder what will happen next. To be honest with you i'm waiting to see how Hermione is going to break the news to everyone and how they will react..are they going to lose their head positions? Great chapter and it was really well written I look foward to seeing what's next for Hermione

Author's Response: Maybe... Glad you enjoyed. Thanks

 Report Review

Review #22, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010There's A Reason Opposites Attract: Worst Fears

20th May 2012:
Poor Hermione...How's she suppossed to tell Malfoy...more importantly how are Ron and Harry going to act. As you can tell by now i'm not one to leave a long review but i will say this...This is an excellent chapter with a interesting plot twist at the end even if the last chapter kind of gave it away with her getting sick. I look foward to seeing how Hermione's going to handle breaking the news to everyone and how she's going to deal with being pregnant on top of everything else that is going on in her life right now. I know i wouldn't be able to handle My mother dying and losing my father to alcohol let alone knowing i'm carrying the child of my worst enemy. She would have to be one tough cookie to handle all that.

Again a great chapter and i look foward to seeing what you have in store for Hermione next. Off to the next chapter I go

Author's Response: Well she is a strong person, so that will be a start. Glad you enjoyed. Thanks

 Report Review

Review #23, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010There's A Reason Opposites Attract: Living With A Ferret

20th May 2012:
i have a sneaky suspicion where this is heading and i really hope i'm wrong...Hermione doesnt need any more on her plate to deal with. Well written chapter and i have nothing negative to say about the chapter or the story in general. Off to read the next chapter to see what happens next.

Author's Response: I cannot say :) Glad you're enjoying. Thanks

 Report Review

Review #24, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010There's A Reason Opposites Attract: Leaving Hell

20th May 2012:
this year at hogwarts should be very interesting for our two main characters. i wonder whos gonna cave first. another well written chapter and again i look foward to seeing what's next. now i'm off to find out

Author's Response: Most definitely will be. It'll be hard to determine, both are very strong and stubborn characters. :) Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #25, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010There's A Reason Opposites Attract: A Stream of Light Among the Darkness

20th May 2012:
I can't believe her dad did that to her. On the plus side, i'm glad Hermione got Head Girl and I have a pretty good hunch on who the Head Boy is going to be. This was a well written chapter and i look foward to seeing what's to come. Now off to continue reading :)

Author's Response: Yeah he's a pretty horrible guy in this story. As for Head Boy, I'll just smile and remain silent. Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>