Reading Reviews From Member: ad astra
336 Reviews Found

Review #51, by ad astraThe Last Snowy Feather: Biding Her A Silent Farewell

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

Hi Alishya! This is such a bittersweet story and you've done an amazing job with the conflict of emotion here - the grief and the comfort shared between Harry and Hermione was really well done. I love that you've explored what Hedwig's death means for Harry - like you said in your author's note, it wasn't really touched on in DH and the loss of Hedwig was a really momentous thing for him. I like how you describe exactly how Hedwig helped Harry and her role in connecting him to the wizarding world - both physically through carrying letters as well as simply being a friend to him while he was stuck at the Dursleys'. I think it's easy to forget just how important she was to him both as a friend and as a reminder of a world where he had value and people who loved him. Your depiction of Harry and Hermione's relationship was also really well done here - whether you view them as romantic or platonic, there's such a strong connection between them and I love how Hermione knew exactly how to help Harry say his farewells to Hedwig and to help him move on. This was a really lovely, touching piece!

Author's Response: Hi Lisa!

Thank you so much for your lovely words. I'm very happy you enjoyed reading this too!

I was (or at least) still am happy to have wrote this, as I, many others, and you even said it, Hedwig's death was a pivotal moment for the beginning of the end of the series. For Rowling to have skipped over Harry grieving over her... it was like hitting me with a truck.

I'm also glad you enjoyed the interaction between Harry and Hermione too! Yeah, I really believe Hermione was the right person to help Harry move on, and it's great that you saw how I went with it.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

- Asphodel

 Report Review

Review #52, by ad astraStrangers in the End: Where is Home

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

Hi Alishya! I haven't read any of your work before but I'm pumped to use this HC as an excuse to camp out on your AP for a bit.

This is such a heartbreaking fic - I don't know what it is about the loss of memory that makes any story a hundred times sadder, but this one packs such a punch. I've always wondered about Hermione's relationship with her parents after the war and the impact of her memory charm on their relationship and you've done an amazing job with this - I love your take on it despite the heartache.

That one moment of breakthrough was beautifully done - the contrast between the formal "Mrs Weasley" and her mother finally calling her Hermione again, and the moments of connection throughout the piece are wonderful - Hermione and her mother having the same bushy hair, and that line He said you were the daughter we never had is so bittersweet. The use of second person really adds to the impact of this piece as well and you've pulled the whole tone off really well. The last line In the end, you’re still a stranger pulls the whole story together and leaves a strong lasting impression. Fantastic story!

Author's Response: Hey Lisa!

You're right, you're right. When it comes to memory loss cases, the fact that the person you love doesn't have a spec of familiarity with you, even though yourself have tons of memories with that person... and you spent mostly your whole life with each other. it's like a part of you goes missing too. The person lost a piece of you of what you gave them. Not sure if that makes sense.

I'm glad you said I did good with this take, because I was nervous when I wrote this, and I had to force myself to not-not write this one-shot.

Thank you so much for the wonderful points you made. And I'm happy you enjoyed reading this!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

- Asphodel

 Report Review

Review #53, by ad astraWaltz: Waltz

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

Tanya! I have to admit I feel really self-conscious reviewing this story about eighteen months after I actually read it, especially because it left such an impression on me at the time, but I'm a bit useless at reviewing in general. But I can tell you straight off that eighteen months later I still remember this story like I read it yesterday, and it's remained in my consciousness like few other stories ever have.

This story is an incredible piece of writing - I said in my last review that this was the first story I read on HPFF that deals with mental illness, and you do it with such honesty and poignancy that it's impossible not to be moved by it. Your writing is perfect for this story, the way your language reflects Rose's mental state and the repetition of words, one, two, three throughout. The waltz threads itself in a perfect rhythm throughout this entire piece and it's beautifully done.

Your handling of OCD is so, so good. The scene with Rose's dorm mates being frustrated with her is amazing, and the lines - They have no idea how desperately she tries on their behalf to quell each seemingly pointless urge. They try to understand her need to pace and count and count and pace, but can never truly grasp just how very much this is not her choice - these lines killed me when I first read them and they kill me again now. It's that kind of insight that sets this story apart from any other story on the archives, and it's not until now I'm rereading it and reviewing it that I realised exactly how much this story impacted me when I first read it.

Everything about this story is so important - Rose's OCD, Scorpius's stutter, the way they help each other and Most of all she likes that he makes her feel almost normal. The romance between them is sweet and perfect, but your representation of mental illness is what really shines in this story and it is everything. I can't overstate its importance and I'm sorry I took eighteen months to leave this review, but thank you so much for writing and sharing this, Tanya.

 Report Review

Review #54, by ad astraTabula Rasa: One

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review: Slytherin

Nathan! I admit, I was sucked in by the Latin. And the summary. And Colin Creevey? Anyway.

I really hope you continue with this story because I am so intrigued by it already and it promises to be amazing. This was such a good opening chapter - you evoke the Battle of Hogwarts and the sense of wartime so well here and it's only the promise that you're going to bring Colin back that stops this chapter from being completely heartwrenching. The relationship between Colin and Dennis is really well done here - Bouts of nostalgia had hit Colin, thoughts of bunk beds and whispering during storms, sweet memories of taking care of his brother - this was a really good insight, as well as the fact that Dennis is normally the stronger one, and the theme you thread throughout this chapter of Colin fighting for Dennis. Your final line about Colin hoping his brother and father will forgive him for leaving them is so poignant and heartbreaking, and I'm already hoping this story will end with a reunion.

Your evocation of battle is brilliantly done in this chapter as well. It takes effort not to fall back onto the ground; maybe if he plays dead they'll leave him be. But that's a coward talking and he isn't a coward. this line kills me because he's a child, a scared hurting child in the middle of a war and he's so determined to be brave. Poor Colin. Please keep writing this because I refuse to accept him being dead okay

 Report Review

Review #55, by ad astraFeel Again: Feel Again

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

Tanya! This was an incredible account of a single moment and you've done a really good job of capturing it. You have a real talent for this stream-of-consciousness, in-the-moment writing and you've captured the urgency and panic of the scene really well.

The final scene for this story was really heartwarming as well - the contrast between the worry and the panic of James's accident and injury and the gathering of students from all houses to cheer for him and wish him well is really well done, and the inclusion of the Slytherin Quidditch team among the well-wishers is a nice touch.

I like your inclusion of paralysis as well - I don't see a lot of depiction of disability on the archives and it's something that makes your writing stand out to me (Waltz was the first story I saw on HPFF that dealt directly with mental illness) and I would be really interested in an expansion of this one-shot if you were to ever write one. Awesome idea and beautifully written!

 Report Review

Review #56, by ad astralove and lycanthropy and other institutions: institutionalisation

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

I'm sorry that me camping out on your AP for a bit means I'm going to keep telling you how amazing your prose is and probably getting very repetitive in the process but your writing really is stunning. Your imagery is flawless and effortless and a genuine joy to read, and I would quote all the lines that stand out to me but I would definitely be here until midnight and end up quoting your entire story back to you

I love your Marauders, and the way you've evoked the world of the first wizarding war - the phoenix on Lily's robes, or the politically-charged meetings she holds - this is such good detail and you build up the setting in such a subtle and believable way.

Your motifs, though. The use of institutionalisation is amazing throughout this story, from the Marauders' banter to the description of lycanthropy (Nature always follows its own laws. The Institution is a systematic beast - God, you have such incredible lines in this story. I need to stop gushing) and even Remus's character - Because Remus always agrees, says yes, wants to be liked and accepted and patted on the back – “Good old Remus!” or “Isn’t Moony a sport?” – wants to always be a part and not a whole, institutionalised, Sirius might say if he bothered to analyse all his flaws - I love this so much. I love it more and more with every paragraph I read and your writing is just so impressive.

I now kind of regret reviewing this for the HC because I could easily spend two or three hours just reading this story and crafting the perfect review in response to it - I've written 2000 word essays on pieces of literature that have impressed me less than this did and I will definitely be back to read it over and over again, but for now - thank you for writing and sharing this story, it's incredible.

Author's Response: Hi again, Lisa! ♥

I know you're a big Remus/Sirius fan, and I was so happy when I saw that you'd reviewed this fic and left such positive and amazing comments. For this particular story of mine, I'm always looking for feedback from wolfstar shippers! ♥ I originally wrote this story for Tanya, but really, this is for all Remus/Sirius shippers, because I really did try to do this pairing justice. Apart from Rose/Scorpius, this is probably one of the more popular pairings that I've attempted.

Gah, thank you for your comments on imagery and prose! ♥ Sometimes I think I ramble on a bit too much, and that I could be a lot more concise and stuff. But sometimes I'm glad that I'm not. :P I did really enjoy including some of the character details in the story, and I'm pleased that you mentioned Lily and her meetings. I didn't want to focus too much on the first wizarding war outside the school as it would have detracted a bit too much from the characters' personal lives. But I did envision these little student meetings within the school walls where the students can rally and stuff, protected by the institution of Hogwarts. Where they can be aware of the problems of war without being fully exposed to the full devastation.

And I'm beyond ecstatic that you quoted those lines! I really enjoyed coming up with those lines, far more than I did writing descriptive prose.

And like I said earlier on the forums, thank you once again for choosing to review this, even though you were in a reviewing race for the HC. This honestly means so much to me, and your review is just so kind and lovely aslkdjalskf ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #57, by ad astraApple Island: water's edge

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

Hi teh! I've been meaning to read your stuff for ages and have never gotten round to it so I'm glad the HC has given me the opportunity!

Your writing is absolutely stunning. You have an incredible gift for description that brings your settings to life, and your attention to detail is amazing - even tiny details like the flavour of Andromeda's tea give the whole scene a sense of realness and authenticity. You have some stunning lines in this chapter as well that stand out to me - She thinks of Audrey, and all she can conjure up is an irritable scrawl of a woman, her voice troubled with clots of ink is a prime example. You create such vivid images that ring with truth and I could honestly read your writing forever.

I didn't read the earlier version of this story but I know it by reputation, and you've already cemented it in this first chapter as an intriguing and complex story of unparalleled originality. You've set up a compelling mystery with the disappearances and Aequin and the loss of memory, and I can't wait to see where it goes.

Author's Response: Hi Lisa! ♥

Thank you so, so much for this wonderful, amazing review. I'm kind of really flattered that you've been meaning to read my stuff!?!? Thank you! This made my day. ♥ And I didn't know this story even had a reputation; it's fairly unknown on my page, compared to some other stories (though I'm aware that one or two members have been promoting this :) ).

Aww, thank you for your comments on the description and detail; this is definitely one of my more descriptive stories, and I had a bit of fun with this!

Thank you once again for your review, Lisa! Your kind words really made my day, and made me feel a lot better about writing. ♥


 Report Review

Review #58, by ad astraYou: you

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin


This is such a brilliant story and is a true testament to your writing ability - have I mentioned before how versatile your writing is? Because I'm in awe of it. You can go from candelabra-laced parody to something like this without skipping a beat and everything you write is a joy to read.


I've lowkey shipped Albus/Elphias since the get-go and your interpretation of them is exactly how I envisaged it - unrequited, Elphias living in Albus's shadow and wholly captivated by him, refusing to ever say anything - there's a melancholic note of regret that runs through this whole piece, things left unsaid, and how Elphias can only give voice to them after Albus has gone. Your description of their relationship is matter-of-fact and inevitable - of course Elphias would love Albus, of course he would never say anything. I dragged you down, I can see that now. this is such a telling line, but there's no trace of self-pity in it, just that matter-of-fact melancholy. Your tone throughout this piece is perfect.

This is a fantastic, moving piece of writing and it fits the prompt so well, touching on social attitudes and the role they played in Elphias's silence. Thank you for writing this!

 Report Review

Review #59, by ad astraStardust: Stardust

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

Mallory, this is such a stunning piece of writing.

It's so different to what I've seen from you before but your experimentation has really paid off and you've done a stellar job with this one (that pun was not intentional, but let's pretend that it was). Lavender/Parvati are my weakness anyway, and then you add star imagery to the mix and congratulations, you have a guaranteed way to destroy me.

This is so gorgeous, so well thought out and brilliantly executed, and every line is absolutely stunning and poignant. Tears form in the fabric of space and time, creating paradoxes and half-truths. Your hands are no longer your hands alone; they are the hands of a victim, a patient, an invalid. I need a moment.

Everything you've done in this story works together to create something amazing - the second-person POV and the intimacy it creates in Lavender and Parvati's relationship, the way Parvati describes Lavender as something celestial and her insistence in seeing her that way despite how the war has broken her.

You were always meant to be a supernova and I was always meant to be a distant, weary traveler, ever pushing back against resistance to come home to you. This line, though. There are no words for it except that it's absolutely beautiful. This is a masterpiece of imagery and you should be very, very proud of it.

Author's Response: Lisa, you lovely thing! Thanks for the review(s)!!

This one is really really different, but I'm really glad I wrote it. Haha, Astronomy puns are always welcome, whether intentional or not. Lavender/Parvati have definitely become my weakness, especially after writing these stories. Sorry for destroying you, have a cookie? ♥

Thank you thank you thank you!! I never know what to say to such wonderful compliments, but ♥ it means a lot coming from you. Aww, sorry. :/ I don't think I knew how heartbreaking those lines were when I wrote them, but out of context I realize the implications. I wrote a sad thing. :/

Thank you! I didn't take too long to write it, but I think that writing under a time limit sort of pressurizes my style (like a diamond) and makes it sparkle a little brighter. Second person POV is actually one of my favorite POVs to write in because of the intimacy that you can have between the narrator and the object of the narrator's narration. So Parvati and Lavender worked quite well with it--even though their relationship is not working so well in this particular moment.

Thank you thank you again! That line kind of did upset me when I wrote it because of the way I imagined Parvati trying to reach out to Lavender but being met with resistance on Lavender's part. It's unfortunate for them that they had to go through this, but I imagine that they'll have a happy ending one day!


 Report Review

Review #60, by ad astraAesthetic Alterations: Library Aesthetic

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

Another modern Muggle Jily AU! I'm so excited! (and how did I miss this one?)

First of all, library aesthetic. I feel that deep in my soul. It paid to keep old tomes handy. They were good for scaring away people who didn’t belong in a library. I'm fairly sure Lily and I are soulmates. James who?


Did you give Remus lupus? I am upset but also James researching about wolves is fantastic and wanting to help him is so sweet. Everything in this story is so sweet I'm going to end up with cavities and no regrets.

(also I realised why I love everything about this story - other than the fact that it's one of your modern Muggle Jily AUs - because everything about this is my aesthetic. aw yiss. Libraries and silence and old classics that you maybe read a little bit more for the image than because you actually enjoy them I mean what. Lily is me and I am Lily, except I actually need my glasses)

The actual storyline of this is just 100% adorable as well because you've got James being his messy charming self slowly breaking down Lily's barriers with his mess, charm and self, and do I fit into your aesthetic? I would marry him myself if I were straight

This is such a wonderful, lovely and adorable story, Mallory! Thank you for sharing!

Author's Response: There are so many modern Muggle AUs on my page that it's no wonder you missed it. But you came and reviewed it anyway, so thanks for that! ♥

Haha, library aesthetic is fun to write. And I kept thinking of dusty old books while I was writing it, and I like to scare people away too, so that's where that came from. Aww, Lily's got a new soulmate? Right, who's this James fellow again?

I DID!! I'M SO SORRY! But it was necessary to parallel the worlds. :/ But James is quite sweet--sorry about the cavities!

Haha, I wrote a story about you without even realizing it? Whoops! I'm so glad that you could identify with Lily's thoughts and "good reasons" for reading old (sometimes boring) classics. (And I need glasses too. Lily is being a total poser there!)

Aww, thanks so much! This review never fails to make me laugh, hah. :) (You could just marry Lily if you wanted to, and James could be your best friend?)

Thanks again for another brilliant review!!


 Report Review

Review #61, by ad astraHigh Romance: Prologue

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review

I am so excited that you wrote this and I found this because I've been travelling SO MUCH recently and there's just something otherworldly about airports and flying that you capture brilliantly in this piece. but there was something about airports, something so hypnotic and draining, that left you feeling not like a person at all. SO TRUE. Airports are a Twilight Zone of unreality and your writing showcases that so well - the futuristic skeletons and the ethereal voice and the robotic smile - I might just be hypersensitive to the evocation of airports right now but I feel like I'm right there, three am waiting for a delayed flight to Tokyo Haneda where everything is too bright and nothing quite seems real.

I have real bad wanderlust now oops

I'm so curious about the actual story itself - what is she doing in Tokyo, where has she been, why is she checking off cities - and him, the tantalising question you dangle in front of us - how did she leave him, what happened while she was gone, does she want to go back to him at all? I can't wait to find out the answers to those questions (and to read more of your amazing writing!)

 Report Review

Review #62, by ad astraSerenity: Serenity

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

Hi Laura! I've been meaning to read and review this since you first posted it - I'm sorry it took me so long to get to!

Your writing is absolutely gorgeous - I'm probably going to gush a bit because I'm new to your work but your description is breathtaking and there's a real captivating delicacy to your imagery - the very first line is stunning and a perfect example of that delicacy. You have a way with words and your style and content complement each other perfectly.

The story, as well, is such a beautiful melancholic one and you've covered so much in a short space of time - the nature and timeline of the girls' relationship, the things that stand between them, the ending that you've somehow managed to make bittersweet - as if she had done this for me.

Padma's confusion, her fear of being found out, her questions - you've captured them all perfectly and created a compelling story, and the pressure and hints from her parents is a really good cultural insight and God, these lines: Her looped Hindi script sang of home, of dry heat and blessings. She spoke in old verses that trilled in the air like strings are absolutely stunning. I'm in awe of them. I'm in awe of so many of the lines in this story to be honest.

This is such a beautiful piece of writing and I'll definitely be reading more of your work!

 Report Review

Review #63, by ad astrathe space between: the possibility of a beginning

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin


Do you know what this story is? This is the Yule Ball we all deserve. This is the Yule Ball that could have been, and it's so perfect that I'm just going to pretend the *actual* canon was just some really elaborate headcanon and this is what really happened, where there are queer couples everywhere in a beautiful winter wonderland and especially Dean and Seamus.

I really love the way you've written this as well - one of my favourite things about the Actual Yule Ball is that it's really...kinda...average and as much of a let down as school balls typically are, and there's this sense of "everyone here is having the Most Magical Night of Their Lives and I'm over here bitter and thoroughly underwhelmed" and you've managed to maintain that while still improving pretty much every other aspect of the whole evening. And I love your Alicia and Hermione and the banter and the whole exchange about being enigmatic/trying to be enigmatic. Conversations like those just scream "AW YISS LOOK AT THESE TWO FLIRTING" and i love it

I just love your way of writing starting-out-romances like this - this whole story just gave me the warm fuzzies and I'm so happy to have read it!

 Report Review

Review #64, by ad astraRediscovery: i. stolen glances

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

Katie! What better excuse for me to finally read and review your work than a good old fashioned HC prompt? I apologise in advance because my reviews are going to be nowhere near as detailed and wonderful as yours but I digress

Okay I am so excited for this story and let me tell you why

a) Library dorks.
b) Library dorks in a library that isn't the Hogwarts library be still my heart. please write an entire fic universe about wizarding libraries and archives and universities and other institutions of knowledge
d) scorpius is such a dweeb I love him. dweeb in every universe. bless his soul

And that in turn meant that Scorpius would need to pretend that he hadn’t spent the better part of an afternoon staring at his unruly brown curls. this is it. this is the line. the line of perfect longing and no-of-course-i-wasn't-looking-at-you-why-would-i-look-at-you-you're-pretty-help that gives me life. scorpius is a library dweeb and hugo is pretty with Unruly Brown Curls and that is all that matters, ever.


i want to know everything there is to know about this library and the nerds who spend their time there and why Hugo's so interested in self-Transfiguration (Animagus? I assume? intriguing) and I am so excited for this story. This genre suits your writing style down to the ground and I expect wonderful things

also, FIRST.

 Report Review

Review #65, by ad astraFull of Grace: It's Better This Way.

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

So I'm taking this HC as a bit of an excuse to camp out on your author's page and read through everything that has somehow escaped my notice, and your writing ability honestly makes that such a privilege. I'm going to try not to repeat all the things I've said about your other stories but you honestly have such a gift for characterisation that I can't leave that unmentioned.

Your Molly in mourning is such a powerful image - Molly, who was once defined by her warmth and cheerfulness and life turned silent and mechanical, but family seems like a damaged word, because Molly as a character is defined by her motherhood, and what does that leave her when she loses a child?

There are so many little touches that I love about this story, but Molly's struggle with the seasons stands out so much to me - her resentment of summer for the abundance of life, the colours of autumn reminding her of him, the transition into winter a constant reminder of the passage of time and every piece of time that Fred is missing.

This piece is a perfect portrait of grief and it is heartbreaking. I have tears in my eyes from reading this and it's a testament to the time you've spent on it. The progression of emotion is perfectly done, not racing towards some magical happy conclusion, and you've tied Molly's turning point to the song in such a poignant way - I know I can love you much better than this - and her realisation that she can love Fred in death the same way she loved him in life, that her stoic silence was never going to be right for the liveliness and warmth he brought to her.

This is such a stunning piece of writing, Beth, thank you so much for sharing it.

Author's Response: Hello,

I really didn't intend to take so long to reply to this, but this particular story was very personal to me and this particular review kinda hit me in the gut, so I've put it off for far too long (even after I've posted in the 'reviews that made your day' thread)

I didn't actually ever think I would write this story. I knew it was always there, but I didn't think I could do it. Then Emily hosted this challenge and this song just meant SO MUCH to me that I decided to go for it.

And Gah! I never thought I'd win the challenge and I never thought I'd get the responses that I have - so thank you so, so much for this.

In my experience, grief is often portrayed as something you need to get past, with time, but I also think most people miss the mark that with a life-altering devastation (such as losing a child), you *never* get past it, but rather move on to a different place. And many times, you don't know if you're there or not.

Sorry if this response isn't making sense. I'm very touched by this review - it meant so much to me.

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #66, by ad astraHermione Granger: Ron Needed Her.

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

Beth, you've outdone yourself with this chapter, you really have. This is such an incredible evocation of the aftermath of the war and I don't know many authors who could do the topic justice like you have here. This Hermione is so different and yet exactly the same as the Hermione of your last chapter - she's in peacetime, yes, but she's still needed and she still pushes her own needs aside. You've written her character to be so complex - in the last lines I get the impression she needs to be needed, that's how she's survived this long and she's at a loss when the boys no longer need her most practical help, like spellwork and book smarts, but she finds another way to be needed.

The way you describe those post-war scars is so poignant as well. The physical effects, again, that are otherwise never acknowledged, like the dry cough from smoke inhalation or the constant smell of burnt hair - you evoke the post-war world so richly, and give equal weight to the physical and mental aspects of war trauma.

You have so many lines that stand out for the sheer impact of them - Dead is not always dead is such an incredible line and again, you have such a skill for describing mental trauma and PTSD that really shines in the last few paragraphs here. Beautiful writing.

Author's Response: Lisa.

I'm seriously not SUPPOSED to tear up when reading a REVIEW! The fact that these amazing words came from you mean so, so much to me. Any review I get from you is so treasured, but the fact that I hold your work and talent in the highest regard makes this so... GAH! (I'm thinking for the right word here - hee hee). I think it's best to just say that I'm honored.

I've been riding this high for a few weeks since you left me all these reviews and...

Thank you.

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #67, by ad astraHermione Granger: Prologue: Harry Needed Her

11th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

Beth! I saw this on your AP and I couldn't resist - there's a special place in my heart for the Trio/Dumbledore's Army immediately post-war and focusing on Hermione's recovery is something I need to see more of on the archives, so kudos to you for writing about something so important!

You are so good at writing about trauma and your characterisation of Hermione is perfect - in the flashback she's determined, focused and pragmatic, refusing to acknowledge the pain she's in because she's so focused on the Horcruxes. Her relationship with Ron is beautifully done as well, especially his protectiveness of her - the way he refuses to let her go after Malfoy Manor is a wonderful touch and really in character for him. You've done an amazing job with the immediate physical effects of the Cruciatus as well and the pain lasting for days afterwards - of course it's not an instantaneous thing, but I've never seen it detailed like that before.

The last line really speaks to me as well - I've often thought about how strong Hermione is, and how she manages to always push aside her own suffering for the sake of someone else, and this chapter really casts that into sharp relief - she'll be fine, she has to be, because Harry needs her. This is the kind of perfect characterisation and psychological detail I've come to associate with your writing, well done!

Author's Response: Lisa,

asdfgjk;' Your reviews are so, so awesome - thank you so much for all of them. I'm really, really enjoying writing this story - I love Hermione and I agree with you about not enough post-war fics that deal with overcoming the trauma of war.

Hermione is portrayed as really strong in the books - and she *is*, but I've always felt that because we were seeing her though Harry's eyes, who wasn't always so perceptive, ya know.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #68, by ad astraThinking About You: You, You, You

5th May 2015:

I'm not going to lie, my reaction throughout this story went from "ooh pretty prose, pretty prose, nice, WHAT WHERE DID UMBRIDGE COME FROM HAS THIS BEEN ABOUT UMBRIDGE THE WHOLE TIME" and then I had to go back and reread and maybe have a bit of an existential crisis because you wrote PRETTY, SOULFUL ROMANTIC PROSE ABOUT DOLORES UMBRIDGE.

(did I stalk the Ship It thread to find out the second character because I couldn't work out who it was? yes. and now I'm more impressed because you took UMBRIDGE AND LOCKHART and turned them into ROMANTIC HEROES. i bow down to your skill)

In all seriousness though, this was a gorgeously written piece! Your happiness is intoxicating and I am as good as poisoned. You pried open this padlocked heart of mine. That line, though. You have a way with figurative language that never seems overdone and this was such a pleasure to read! and pointless proclamations? I see what you did there. I couldn't leave that unmentioned.

This piece was such a surprise in all the right ways and I'm in awe of it! Awesome job!

Author's Response: DEAREST LISA,

THAT is exactly the kind of reaction I was going for. [bows] Thank you. I apologise for the existential crisis, but THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR NICE WORDS! I mean I had a bit of one as well that went along the lines of: WHAT THE HECK AM I DOING? IS THIS ROMANCE? AM I ACTUALLY WRITING ROMANCE?

ROMANTIC HEROES?! Wow! [VIOLENT HUG TACKLE] I am glad you think so though I didn't mean for that to happen what with Umbridge and her being still weird about blood purity and Lockhart only just admiring himself this whole time, BUT IF LISA SAYS SO IT MUST BE TRUE (?)!

Bahaha! I had to add that in because the ship was as nasty as poison and padlocked heart because padLOCKed HEART because LOCKHART because CLUE! I'm all red now, stop. I am thrilled beyond thrilled that you think I have this 'way with figurative language that never seems overdone' and that it was enjoyable for you. YES. I allude to my penname because I have this ego and, if you look to the west and even to the east, I think you can see it from Turkey. Though, it really had to do with the alliteration of the 'p's from the quote: 'Let us preserve what must be preserved, perfect what can be perfected and prune practices that ought to be... prohibited!"


 Report Review

Review #69, by ad astraBeyond the Dark: One

26th April 2015:


I have such an appreciation for Hogwarts era Slytherins and especially your Hogwarts era Slytherins. Teddy and Pants. Bless their badly-nicknamed souls. I love their friendship already.

I need the story behind Tony as well. Theo asked him to the Yule Ball? He sits next to Theo in all his classes? Theo risks owing Pansy a favour just to find out where he is? I need to know more

"" Bless your useless gay heart, Theodore Nott.

Mr. I've-loved-Harry-Potter-since-I-was-eleven-and-he-picked-up-my-book-and-I-just-died-of-happiness-but-now-I-can't-talk-to-him I don't know what Theo's talking about, that's not a mouthful at all. Perfectly respectable name. Eleven year old Theo getting starry-eyed over Harry picking up his book is my new favourite mental image.

Can't wait for more Harry/Theo goodness and I'm just going to pretend you're not planning on SINKING THEM HORRIBLY

 Report Review

Review #70, by ad astraAll that Glitters : August 1979: In Blood

24th April 2015:
Hey! Here for the review exchange!

I'm already SO intrigued by this opening chapter. The atmosphere of fear and darkness and mystery permeates everything you've written here, and I'm already dying to know more.

From the beginning, you've raised questions about your character and her circumstances, and I love the line the deeds of the days before were caked into my skin like they now defined me - it's stunning, hinting at something dark and sinister and how far your character is from where she wants to be - and then following it up with the line Maybe then my skin would feel clean again rounds it off perfectly. It's such a powerful motif to thread through your opening paragraphs.

I'm sorry for repeating your own words back to you, but this line - It felt like ice, but I knew it would soon change to hellfire - I'm in love with it. Your imagery is spot on in this chapter - fire and shadows and something unclean, creating a visceral sense of wrongness and danger, and your character's resignation to her fate makes it so much more effective - what has happened to her that she accepts a life among the Death Eaters?

This was a fantastic opening chapter, well done!

Author's Response: Hi,

Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad you thought the tone was there! Yes, my character here has had a slow fade from a person she used to be to this. Someone who willingly walks into the ranks of the Death Eaters and accepts that this is where she belongs now because who can be "clean" if you've fallen this far?? At least, according to her. This story will be, hopefully, look at how she's gotten here, but also continue going from here to see the war from a DE's perspective. One who isn't a complete maniac, but who has blood on her hands.

Thank you for taking the time to read the opening! :)

 Report Review

Review #71, by Ravenclaw333Infinitesimal: Leo Minor

7th April 2015:
God, Laura, everything you write is just so incredible and it's almost an impossible task to do justice to your writing in a review. I'm still going to give it a good go, though.

I've never seen this ship before, or read it, or even have it cross my mind, but you make it seem like an inevitability. The way you've aligned it with canon is perfect, so apologetic and melancholic. You have such a mastery of the lover's lamentation and this was beautifully pulled off. I loved the way you set up the contrast between Lily and Regulus, between day and night and warmth and cold, as two wholly separate but equal parallels. You managed to strike the perfect balance and illustrate what James says about never favouring one over the other.

I don't know what I pictured Regulus to be either, but it now seems impossible for him to be anyone but the cold, audacious and lonely boy you've created here. Your descriptions of him are stunning, and the imagery of the stars threaded throughout is gorgeous. I loved this line: At those times, I felt almost celestial myself, as though I could match him, glow for glow and glimmer for glimmer. Really, there are countless lines I could quote back at you.

This was such a masterpiece, as all your stories are - bittersweet and beautiful, ringing with a truth that makes it impossible to ignore. Thank you for writing this.

Author's Response: Hey Lisa - thank you so much for dropping by! :) This was a really random one-shot for me to write, haha, since usually things take a lot longer for me to write, so I'm so glad you like it!

(Though you really should stop flattering me so much! (And I really should learn how to do that little heart thing... :/))

I've never read it before, before writing this, tbh, but Sam requested it and the pairing was just... I dunno, but I could already think of ways to make a one-shot about them work, you know? Like it was surprisingly easy to do. I really, really wanted it to be in line with canon and at the same time as canon, but not like a previous thing or a replacement thing - I wanted it to be kinda equal, so that's kinda why that's such a big theme in this with Regulus and Lily :) Haha, a lot of those parallels come from physical descriptions of them, I can't lie - Lily is red and green and colourful, and Regulus is dark hair, pale skin. I did love writing them, though, and James' voice was great fun to do too! :)

Regulus... okay, I love Regulus as a character, I can't lie. He's just so tragic in general - and I liked kinda working off what we know about him and the kind of person who would clash with Sirius, who would perhaps develop out of Sirius leaving and all those problems, so yeah... and since he's a Black, I just had to include star references :P

Gah, thank you so so much for this! I really, really don't deserve half as many compliments, I'm sure - and I'm really honestly just glad you liked it! Thank you so much for the wonderful review! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #72, by Ravenclaw333Inanimate Objects: where possible salvation is tricked into arriving at the castle

6th April 2015:
hello yes i am here true to my word and i'm so glad that i have this story to make me HAPPY AGAIN

i love everything about this. your humour is so on point. i feel like i've told you this before but it bears repeating like, all the time. "That's a terrible apology gift." Even a little bit of a crush will do. i love every one of these lines you take all the dark dramatic fairytale elements and pull them from their pedestals and drop them on the floor and contemplate if you should maybe sweep them up or if they look nice sort of artfully arranged on the carpet like that

i'm sorry idk what that was

“And then Riddle complains about how everything in his life is pain and misery and suffering and smashed porcelain.” i am deceased

"You're a clock." this is too good emily oh man


bellatrix is some snotty punk with attitude i love this so much i am in awe of you

i'm afraid this review is devoid of any actual substance except for me quoting your lines back at you and a weird extended metaphor about pedestals

 Report Review

Review #73, by Ravenclaw333lay me down: i. can I lay by your side?

21st March 2015:









 Report Review

Review #74, by Ravenclaw333Inanimate Objects: where he tried to defuse the situation and failed utterly

20th March 2015:
emily oh my god i love this you are my sunshine and you dedicated this to me omg thank you so much this is the greatest thing ever

i want to build a shrine to your particular brand of satire/crack!fic because it's the best thing since sliced bread. which always seems like a weird thing to say because sliced bread is wholly unremarkable but i guess it probably wasn't to the poor suckers who had to slice their own bread all the time

lucius malfoy as a candelabra tho. and DEATH EATERS TAKING UP COOKING. everything is awesome

here are my predictions for Beauty
-harry?? imagine. can we just. can we take a moment.
-ron's aunt muriel

what a time to be alive. thank you for this. you are the greatest

Author's Response: lisa oh my god i'm so glad you like this i was so terrified you wouldn't oh my god yay you like it ♥

you are far too nice i literally just write the most random things and then laugh at my own dumb jokes. to hear that other people also laugh at my dumb jokes is the best thing in the world.

lucius malfoy would make a very snooty, pompous candelabra, i think.

i think i can safely tell you that's it's not harry. i think i can also tell you that one of your guesses is right, unless i change my mind at the last minute and edit everything, which is always a possibility. ron's aunt muriel is the best thing tho if i use her i will credit you bc that is the greatest idea

thank you for this review. ♥ you are amazing.

 Report Review

Review #75, by Ravenclaw333Stronger: Tooth and Nail

13th February 2015:
Hey Kevin! I'm so sorry for taking so long with this review!

This story was stunning. You've taken an absolutely horrible character (you're definitely not alone in hating him) and made him sympathetic and tragic, to the point that by the end of the story I was mourning Farrell Grimley - out of nothing you've created a brave, honourable character, devoted to the children in his care and willing to do anything to save them. The link you draw between Farrell the teacher and Greyback's targeting of children is haunting, and nothing short of a triumph of characterisation.

The transformation was brilliantly done as well - not an instantaneous switch from man to werewolf, but the result of years of isolation, experimentation and what can only be described as torture. Your description is stunning, and the final scene where the wolf wins is perfect - the way Farrell gives up, after so many years of fighting and hoping, is raw and heartbreaking. You show the process of him being stripped of humanity, the countless pressures and factors leading to his loss of self. You've taken the transformation motif of lycanthropy and applied it on a much larger scale - the battle between man and wolf, the rational and the carnal.

This is such an incredible piece of writing, and thank you so much for entering the challenge!

Author's Response: Howdy Lisa! I'm sorry for taking so long to respond. I was out of town this past weekend and work was mayhem yesterday thanks to unnecessary panic over a winter storm. Thankfully said storm has given me the day off though so I can catch up on things!

I'm really glad that you liked Farrell! I definitely wanted to a create sharp contrast with his original identity that was unique and positive, but could also still serve as a connection to who he would become. It's good to hear you thought it paid off!

The slow transition and full coverage of the transformation and preceding psychological collapse of his former identity was definitely something that I wanted to cover for the reasons you mentioned. When I wrote it, I was honestly worried that it came off a little too disjointed, that some of the Farrell-versus-Fenrir segments were longer than they should have been, but it's really encouraging that you thought it was handled well. It's something I had never done slowly before really, but thought was integral and I'm glad you agree.

I know I said this in my A/N too, but thank YOU so much for this challenge. I can definitively say I would never have even thought of writing Greyback if it weren't for your challenge and it was such a great and interesting exercise to do it in the context of your prompt.

Thanks so much for your spectacular and kind review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>