Reading Reviews From Member: Ravenclaw333
  
258 Reviews Found

Review #51, by Ravenclaw333My Little Secrets: The Voices Inside Your Head

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

So I have to confess I've read this first chapter a couple of times and haven't reviewed because I'm terrible, but I'm (hopefully) going to make up for that now.

Firstly, I love the premise of this story, and you're really taking the road less travelled by having a character who is both gay and struggling with an eating disorder - there's already such a complexity to Lucy and you've handled that complexity so far with ease, sympathy and sensitivity, while making Lucy's emotions real (so real, so many of these lines really hit home, especially the invasive thoughts caused by her eating disorder, and kudos to you for portraying them so well) Obviously the details on what happened at the party are a bit hazy, but whatever happened to out her - God, I feel so terrible, I really do, because any kind of attention at all makes her nervous and brings her self-loathing to a head and I can't imagine what it would be like to be outed without even remembering it, in such a public setting.

Fantastic start! Onwards!

Author's Response: Hey hon!
Thanks so much for the review!
xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #52, by Ravenclaw333Event 3: At Night's End: The sun sings lullabies.

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Do you ever just read a piece of prose so beautiful you have to sit back and take a moment to rethink your entire life? Because that's what this piece just made me do.

This is such a beautiful and heartwarming friendship that you've explored here, and your characterisation of Luna through the eyes of Ollivander is nothing short of perfect. I love Ollivander himself, and that line about controlling and exploiting magic through skill and scholarship is such a wonderful one and so very Ravenclaw, and there's so much beauty in knowledge and even more in the things we cannot know or understand completely, and everything about this piece just seems threaded through with something beautiful and otherwordly. The dawn light, the physical presence and tangibility of magic - the exploration of these makes your writing shine. You have such a flair for perfect imagery and perfect description and this piece is just beautiful, there's no other word for it, completely and utterly beautiful and a joy to read.

 Report Review

Review #53, by Ravenclaw333a slow shattering: the mirror thrown to the ground

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

God, Emily, this story is incredible.

You write the horror of Lavender's situation so well, and her trauma and her hopelessness and the way nobody takes her seriously, and her fear - her fear is palpable, tangible, terrifying in and of itself and you've done such a wonderful, wonderful job with this piece, I'm in awe.

This is one of those stories that leaves me without capability of anything approaching coherent thought, but I'm going to throw some compliments at you and hope they make sense.

Everything you write is so real. The style you use is absolutely perfect for Lavender and her mental state and reflects it so very well, adding a depth and realism and horror to this story quite unlike anything I've seen before. And the ending - when she realises she hasn't seen her parents - that killed me, it really did, because she's so alone and are her parents dead? Why haven't they come to see her? The thought of her so alone and terrified, left with nothing except these images in her head which won't go away and the scars on her face and this label - this label of crazy which just invalidates every aspect of her existence - it hurts so much. I can't even begin to count the things I love about this story but it has so much impact and empathy and poignancy and it's just a triumph, Emily, it really is. 10/10.

 Report Review

Review #54, by Ravenclaw333Nicotine: I've Been Hijacked

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

I remember reading this story a while ago and I don't know why I didn't review - probably because I'm terrible - but this is an incredible piece - it's dark and painful and so very well done. You handle the theme of domestic abuse with sensitivity and realism - how she stays even though she knows he's destroying her, because she's addicted - the metaphor of nicotine works so well here, and I love how you've linked the words of the song, the reality of the cigarettes and the imagery of addiction and craving. This is honestly such a powerful piece, especially with the ending when she does get out and takes her life back.

Incredible piece, definitely among your best, and really, really well done.

Author's Response: Hey hon!
Thanks so much for the review!
xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #55, by Ravenclaw333All Grown Up: Looking Down

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

When I clicked on this story I knew it was going to hurt - but it's a bittersweet kind of hurt, if that makes sense? You've managed to inject hope and light into something that has the potential to be incredibly dark and depressing, and that's something I really do associate with your writing - a kind of relentless optimism, I suppose. And this story is a shining example of that.

I loved your opening, especially the line "and if you just tried a little harder you could still be alive." I don't know why that rings so true for me, because it's not like I have a lot of firsthand experience of dying, but it does and it adds so much.

This was a really sweet scene to choose as well, and Tonks's mixed feelings about looking down from above - how she'd seen the moments other parents missed out on, like the Sorting and the first kiss, but how she couldn't touch him or talk to him - was really well done. There's just the right amount of wistfulness in this piece, but the pride and hope of Remus and Tonks at the end is the image that lasts. Beautiful piece!

Author's Response: Hey hon!
Thanks so much for the review!
xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #56, by Ravenclaw333Running into Weasley: Running into Weasley

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Ah, so this is where it all begins! I maybe should have checked this one out before your JulNo for a bit of background, but I'm here now!

Oh, Rosalia. You adorable, insane dork. That's one way to get a guy to notice you, I suppose - repeatedly walking into him. It's difficult to ignore somebody at such close range.

There are a couple of grammatical errors - mainly apostrophes in places where there shouldn't be apostrophes, but it's nothing a beta couldn't pick up if you ever wanted to revise this story.

This was just a really sweet 'slice of life' snippet, and a unique twist on the 'overcoming adversity' prompt! Your style really suits this genre, and I love the insights into Rosalia's mind and her witty narration of everything. Good stuff!

Author's Response: Hey hon!
Thanks so much for the review!
xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #57, by Ravenclaw333Falling for Weasley: Mr. Cuddleworth

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

OKAY SO I WASN'T KIDDING ABOUT DROPPING TEN REVIEWS I'M GONNA DO IT IT'S GONNA HAPPEN ARE YOU PUMPED COZ I AM

Mr Cuddleworth is my fave. Cat dialogue, yo, it's the best thing ever.

This was honestly a perfect 'first date' chapter - and not because it was a perfect first date but because it was so absolutely NOT perfect. You've made everything so much more realistic, and in that you've managed to show far more of the characters than if everything had gone to plan - Louis thrown off guard, endearingly awkward and flustered - he seems to be a pretty suave kinda dude ordinarily, and you've shown a few different aspects of his character even in this intro chapter, so I'm really looking forward to seeing him develop further!

Rosalia is a cutie. Her inner monologue is great - witty, matter-of-fact, a bit dorky. I think I relate to her a bit too much. Especially the talking-to-her-cat thing. Making her Italian is a nice touch as well - I'm hoping for more details about her tiny Italian school as the story goes on.

The way they related to each other was really well done as well - the awkwardness at the start, the banter, especially on their way home, and then more parting awkwardness - it's so true to the early stages of a relationship and really well done. Great first chapter!

Author's Response: Hey hon!
Thanks so much for the review! Cuddleworth is my fav. Bae. So so so so so glad that you liked it. This story is the bestestest.
xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #58, by Ravenclaw333True Romance: The Love You Save (May Be Your Own)

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

I figured I may as well win some points for Ravenclaw with my customary AHH YOU UPDATED verbal flailing. Anyway. Chapter.

I love Rose. Go Rose. Rose is perfect and I love how she was so quick to jump on Archie's comments and how she came by to see Brandon and the baby she's just so lovely and thoughtful and I am a huge huge Rose Weasley fan.

George's advice to Albus was excellent - I can really see him pulling no punches when it comes to giving advice to his nieces and nephews, and you've characterised him really well here.

Brandon's mum is lovely. She's obviously got some old-fashioned ideas but she loves Brandon unconditionally and I love that bit about how she's have been disappointed if he did bend to social norms - it says a lot about both of them and it was just a really lovely detail to throw in.

Fingers crossed for Albus and Brandon to finally see each other again next chapter (no pressure!)

Author's Response: YAY FOR FLAILING FOR HC POINTS!

Rose is quite keen to not put up with that kind of talk from people - especially someone new like Archie. OF COURSE SHE HAD TO GO SEE BABY SAVAGE!

I'm glad you like geoerge's advice. I've had mixed feedback on it. You and I see him the same when it comes to advice - it's not often dispersed but is done so with a firm intention.

Bea is a bit old-fashioned as you spotted but I'm so happy her love was also evident. She's definitely accepting of Brandon but has a pull towards tradition. I like having her as a contrast to someone like Archie.

Thank you so much for a beautiful review!


 Report Review

Review #59, by Ravenclaw333Butterfly Effect: Prologue

6th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Ah, Erin, it's up! I'm so excited for this story and can't wait to see where you take everything!

This was a brilliant start - it gives a good introduction to Jenna and of course the tragedy of losing her family. You've included a lot of detail in a short space - the flashbacks of earlier that day, the lasting image of a happy family and how quickly it was torn apart. The shock of everything really comes through, especially in your final line - I wouldn't have expected it if I didn't already know what was going to happen, especially her mum and how there seemed to be some hope for her.

There are a couple of points where you could go over your grammar - ellipses (...) are always three dots, and make sure that dialogue from a new speaker is on a new line. Other than that, though, this is a brilliant start and I'm super excited for the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #60, by Ravenclaw333etc. etc. (and life goes on): V-Day D-Day

6th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

So I've been following this story for a long time (I remember reading it back when you first posted it, and I've reread it since then) and I don't think words could really do this story justice - it's gloriously written, with perfect characterisation and just the right amount of snark and sarcasm, and the way you've built Hogwarts as a hotbed of scandal and warring organisations and gossip is inspired, especially using Clemence as the disillusioned and cynical narrator at the midst of it all, trying to remain neutral and unaffected and failing. Long story short, this is one of my favourite stories on the archive and has been since about 2011, so major kudos.

This chapter in particular was incredible - it kept me guessing the whole time - the way Clemence swung from hesitation to certainty about the love potion, the brawl in Puddifoot's (I can't get over that, I really can't. It was beautifully done) and Scorpius's very public outing - everything was so unexpected and characteristic of the narrative rollercoaster you have this story on. I feel like I'm almost too invested in the story to comment much on your writing, except that you're a veritable master of this genre and these characters, your comedic timing is impeccable, and the balance of humour and depth of insight into Clemence in particular is perfect. 10/10, brilliant job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :3 I'm glad I still have long-time readers. This story's changed so much since then, gone through a crazy rollercoaster of plots because I kept wanting to write different things, that I'm surprised anyone made sense of it. This fic is full of so many things I love--perhaps too many things I love. I love that people love Clemence and it's weird to think how much of myself is in her, and how cathartic it has been to write her. I can't believe this story is almost over, but I get to write it all over again in an original draft, where finally all of this great mess makes sense 8D hopefully I'll find a place for the brawls and mobs and public declarations! It wouldn't feel like etc without it.

 Report Review

Review #61, by Ravenclaw333an interlude of you.: thoughts from a prison of stone.

6th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Kiana, you are going to kill me with your talent before this event is over. This is such an incredible piece, beautiful and melancholic and reverential, and I need to stop spewing adjectives and actually talk about the story.

I love each segment of this, and the way you've split up this story into a string of memories with separate imagery is fantastic. Cartography - I don't know why I have such a thing for cartography imagery but you've used it masterfully here, especially in the very real context of Gellert and Albus's 'Greater Good' plan and how they really were thinking about conquest and dominance and carving up the world - it works so perfectly, adds a sinister aspect to that melancholic reverence, and you can /see/ the way hindsight has affected Gellert's view of everything, not just in that segment but throughout. The 'morning clarity' part is just so perfectly done and so true to the characters and circumstances, and the way you've linked ideas and images throughout this piece is nothing short of masterful.

I'm in awe of your writing, Kiana, I really am, and this is just a shining example of it. 10/10.

Author's Response: Hi Lisa!

Wow, edfhorwferg, just wow, I think you made my month with this review and I'm just so happy right now I could sing or something.

Aw, thank you, I wanted to explore lots of their life but was too lazy to make it really long so this was born through laziness really :P Yay, you got the Greater Good plan here, lots of people missed it so it made me wonder if I had made it clear enough or not, so it's so great that you found it there! Gah, the awful thing such as hindsight, usually I love writing it here but this time it was so painful as Gellert just seemed to miss him and crave these memories so much it was so sad writing it!

Thanks for this amazing review though :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #62, by Ravenclaw333The Precise Hour: Eggs and Owls

6th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Firstly - I love the premise of this story. It's so refreshing to see stories set in other countries, exploring the ways wizards and Muggles interact, and you've done a really good job with that here. Having Hassan and Abdullah constantly interacting with Muggles is an interesting choice and adds another unique layer to the story.

There are a couple of issues that I picked up - you've made a typo here: 'Hassan quickly began talking out some sickles' - I assume that's meant to be 'taking' - and where Hassan talks about how it's not his fault if beautiful women stand by their windows, Abdullah's response should be on a new line. Since you're pretty consistent with that everywhere else, I can only assume it was down to the pressure we were all under time-wise to get Event 3 entries in - if you plan on revising, though, just a couple of things to bear in mind :)

As for the actual story itself - it's beautifully done. You've done a brilliant job with evoking the sense of the culture and society, and the relationship between Hassan and Abdullah in particular is perfect - the lovesick young man and the cautious old man looking out for him. The way you've linked religion and morality also rings very true, and it's something I'd love to see explored more - especially within the context of magic and the wizarding world.

I love the use of the owl Ali as a link between the lovers, and how Hassan grows to appreciate him - his death really hits home, and works so well both within the context of the society and the 'forbidden love' idea and as a symbol of their relationship. Sahar giving him another bird is a lovely touch, and you've tied in everything so well with the song, which really adds to the atmosphere of the piece. Well done!

 Report Review

Review #63, by Ravenclaw333 a goodbye in three parts: Today

6th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

This piece is absolutely beautiful,exploring a friendship that I've never really thought about but which makes perfect sense and is evoked so wonderfully in your writing. You've captured Luna's character incredibly well here - her wisdom, her kindness, the way she brings hope and how her friendship is a gift. I adore the line "I've added you to my ceiling, Dean Thomas," - it's such a simple line that means so much and, to me, really shows the depth of their friendship - that Luna has added him to the paintings in her bedroom and that he recognises and remembers, even thirty years later, how pivotal that was. Your final line ties in so wonderfully with that, and really brings the piece together. I love how you've written the war, and how you've managed to contrast such opposing ideas as the war and Luna's peacetime funeral without altering the tone. You use repetition incredibly effectively - the "things he needs to stop doing/things he needs to avoid" lines are perfect, with just the right amount of melancholy and urgency required for the battle - it's masterful.

I have one tiny criticism which is so inconsequential I feel bad pointing it out, but you have Luna saying she lost her mother when she was six, while canonically she was nine. It's such a minor detail and certainly doesn't detract anything from your writing, but you might want to fix it in later revisions.

Incredible piece, beautifully written and poignant, and a real testimony to your skill. Well done!

 Report Review

Review #64, by Ravenclaw333True Romance: A View to a Kill

6th July 2014:
OKAY I'VE ALREADY YELLED NOT SO PLEASANT THINGS ABOUT CORBIN AT YOU IN THE CABIN SO WE'RE GOING TO MOVE ON TO POSITIVE THINGS

ROSE! I LOVE ROSE. I'M SO HAPPY SHE'S WORKED THINGS OUT WITH HER FAMILY AND THAT THEY'RE SUPPORTING HER AND SHE'S GOING TO PURSUE HER DREAM I GOT WARM FUZZIES YES GOOD

ALBUS AND JAMES BEING BROS IS FANTASTIC I LOVE THE IMPORTANCE OF FAMILY IN THIS STORY AND HOW CLOSE EVERYONE IS IT'S FAB

AND OH MY GOD I'M SO GLAD YOU DIDN'T KILL OFF BRANDON AND THAT WAS SO UNEXPECTED AND KUDOS TO YOU FOR THAT AND ALSO FOR INCLUDING CHARACTERS THAT FALL INTO THE BI/PAN CATEGORY 10/10 GOOD WORK

Author's Response: LISA! I FEEL OBLIGATED TO BE SHOUTY WITH MY RESPONSE. AND IT'S EASIER THAN REACHING FOR THE SHIFT KEY. I KNOW AND HAVE RECORDED YOUR FEELINGS ABOUT CORBIN. NOTED.

IT WAS NICE TO WRITE ROSE BEING A BIT MORE MATURE THAN SHE WAS IN THE LAST FEW CHAPTERS. SHE'S GOING TO GIVE HER DREAM A TRY AND SEE HOW IT WORKS OUT.

THEY'RE QUITE BROTASTIC HERE. FAMILY IS KEY FOR THE CHARACTERS IN THIS FIC.

I COULDN'T KILL HIM OFF - NOT YET. HE AND ALBUS NEED TO DO MORE RELATIONSHIPPING. I'M GLAD THAT WAS AN UNEXPECTED TWIST. I DEFINITELY THINK THAT CATEGORY NEEDS MORE LOVE IN THE FF WORLD WHICH IS WHY I TOUCH ON IT WITH BRANDON.

THANK YOU FOR SHOUTING AT ME AND LEAVING SUCH A RAD REVIEW!

-rose


 Report Review

Review #65, by Ravenclaw333If You Asked Me Now: Who Is It?

3rd July 2014:
AHH SARAH THE FEELS

This is honestly so sweet and wonderfully done, and I love the use of hindsight and the theme of how, even though her perception of who her best friend is has changed over time, it has always been Ginny and she realises that now she's older - it's really true to the nature of mother/daughter relationships and you've done it so well! I love the background details of the other 'best friends' and how formative and important they were to her, and how their influence on her life hasn't been negated by her realisation that her mother has always been her real best friend. And the bit about Harry was really sweet - I can totally picture him doing that and Lily being his little girl and asdgghkdsl Potter family feelings everywhere.

Gorgeous one-shot!

Author's Response: Hey hon! Thanks so much for the review! You're too sweet and I'm so glad that you liked this. This one shot is probably one of my favorites that I've written so far. Then again, I say that about everything!
xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #66, by Ravenclaw333Hero: Hero

28th June 2014:
Oh wow. This piece is so bittersweet and beautiful and poignant, and the way you've tied everything together at the end with the theme of heroism is really, really well done. You've captured the struggle of the family dealing with Alzheimers so well - the scene where Harry doesn't recognise his granddaughter is heartbreaking, but you've still managed to end it on a note that's not quite happy but gives a glimpse of hope and acceptance. Beautiful piece and a well-deserved win :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Wow, thank you so much! Getting such lovely feedback on this story really means a lot to me and I really appreciate it. Dementia is a very difficult disease in how it affects the person involved and the rest of the family, but I loved working on this and the hint of hope and happiness at the end. :)

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #67, by Ravenclaw333Event Three - Ginny's Story: Ginny and Arnold

26th June 2014:
Hiya, here for the review swap!

Ahh, you picked Ginny to write about for your House Cup entry! I adore her, so I'm really interested to see what you do with the other two prompts for her. This chapter was really sweet and fits the prompt perfectly - Arnold is clearly a source of comfort to Ginny and the year of the Death Eater occupation is one where she desperately needs that comfort. You've done a really good job at showing the stress she's under and everything she's struggling with - the absence of her friends, the danger her family's in, the reign of the Carrows and the way the other students look to her for leadership and guidance. I like the way you've made Arnold not only comfort Ginny but inspire her to restart the DA - it's a really nice touch.

Plus Arnold is adorable.

Awesome entry, and go Ravenclaw!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for this review - my first review for my first entry for my first house cup! Woo hoo! Ravenclaw!

Ok - that is out of my system. This is a really sweet review and I thank you for it. I actually do not like this chapter very much, but I felt the pressure to get all three entries in. I have some ideas how to rewrite it. I may go back after the House Cup and fix it up.

I'm glad that Ginny's angst came across in this. I've always imagined that it would be so incredibly hard to be the one who stays behind. You probably feel so helpless and out of control. Plus, it was the first time in Ginny's life that she didn't have ANY family around. No siblings were at Hogwarts with her. Harry and Hermione were gone too and Luna had been kidnapped off the Christmas train. This day represents the low point in her sixth year. She was always a true Gryffindor, who would rather have been fighting outright than sitting back and biding her time. I just wish I had conveyed that a little better.

Anyway, thanks so much for the swap!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #68, by Ravenclaw333Violet Hill: a glimpse of infinity.

26th June 2014:
Oh, wow. Wow wow wow wow wow.

Ahem. I'm going to attempt something approaching coherency now. This is stunning, stunning writing, Kiana. The language and imagery you use is beautiful, and the connection between Scorpius's emotional state and the physicality of the Thestral is brilliantly done. I love the thoughts of infinity, eternity and the nature of life and death which it sparks within him - it's a very real response to both the grief and a creature so closely linked with death. Everything about this just fits perfectly - there's a reflective stillness about this scene which you've managed to evoke perfectly through your writing. It's haunting without being frightening, poignant without being heartbreaking - you've struck a perfect balance in tone, and everything about this piece just lingers in the mind. I could wax lyrical about this piece all night, but I think I've already exhausted my vocabulary and if I keep going I'm going to get into weird figurative language and allusions to obscure books, so I'll wrap this up now. Incredible writing, 10/10.

Author's Response: Wah thanks for this amazing review Lisa!

I just have no words on how to respond as I'm just in awe of this amazingness so I'm going to sit here and just squee. Ha, all the mentions about eternity and death is just my philosophy student side coming out, the amount of times I've included those ideas into my writing is a little worrying but hey, I'll just roll with it. :P I feel as if this is a terrible response but I have no other words other thank you, thank you, thank you! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #69, by Ravenclaw333Invisible in Death: Ghostly Day

26th June 2014:
I've seen this story a couple of times while stalking your author page (we do a lot of review swaps!) and I'm glad I finally checked it out! I think Myrtle is one of the most misrepresented/misunderstood characters in HP and it pains me every time she's used as comic relief and nothing else, and you've done a really good job presenting her here as a complex and tragic character. It honestly hurt so much to read this - how lonely she was, the way she was mercilessly bullied and how Olive's teasing her about her glasses was the straw that broke the camel's back, as it were. You present her with so much sympathy, and I really like the insights into the ghost world as well and her conversation with the Grey Lady. And, oh man, that line "You care now that I'm dead, none of you talked to me while I was alive" KILLED me.

Wonderful story, poignant and insightful. Great job as always!

Author's Response: I don't know where to start with this lovely review! One, I'm glad this story had curb-appeal. Two, I kind of died squeeing because you liked her characterization (espec. compared to other portrayals of Myrtle).

I don't think I've read many stories that feature Myrtle - but I do agree that she's often boiled down to a charactericture. I wrote this as a part of showing a Ravenclaw in a story and she was my first choice because of how often she's not given any depth.

It's vindictive, but I'm glad it was painful to read. I did feel a bit of angst while writing it too. When I was researching Myrtle and coming up with these events, I did start to sympathize with her more than I have in the past.

The ghost world stuff was really a carryover from my writer's duel entry from February. I couldn't help but connect the two stories with the Grey Lady.

Thank you so much for a wonderful review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #70, by Ravenclaw333Friendship never dies: Friendship never dies

25th June 2014:
Hiya! Here for that review swap you offered!

So I've been wanting to read this since you posted your summary in the CR and you did not disappoint! Full disclaimer: I love Remus and Sirius. I absolutely adore them and I will read any relationship of them - best friends, soulmates, lovers (I'm a Wolfstar shipper at heart but even their friendship in canon is sacred to me) but you've brought them to life at a whole new level and it's amazing to see. Your characterisation is perfect, spot on, flawless (insert synonyms here) and you've managed the difference in tone and voice between them as teenagers and as older men. I LOVE the addition of Sirius's voice from beyond the veil, watching Remus - the desperation at seeing him like that, contrasted with the humour and teasing that epitomised their friendship in life - it's really well done. And the final note of hope and knowledge that even separated by death they will never leave each other is such a brilliant way to end it - there's a line in the Iliad where Achilles says he will never forget Patroclus, even in the Underworld where men forget all memories of the living, and that line hit me like a tonne of bricks when I read the final sentence of this story (fun fact for you there)

Brilliant, brilliant piece!

 Report Review

Review #71, by Ravenclaw333A New Moon: A New Moon

25th June 2014:
THIS IS SO PERFECT I LOVE REMUS I LOVE THIS PIECE EVERYTHING IS GREAT I'VE LOST ALL ABILITY FOR COHERENT SPEECH BUT 10/10 YES

Author's Response: AH this is so sweet and the best best thing to wake up to!

 Report Review

Review #72, by Ravenclaw333Event Three - Lament: A Giant and a Phoenix

23rd June 2014:
AHH EMILY THIS IS AMAZING

No but really, you've done an incredible job capturing Grawp's POV here - I've never given him much thought before, but you've given him a voice, thoughts, feelings and fears that are so incredibly real, building and expanding on his characterisation in the books - he's so innocent and childlike, and the details you've added about him being bullied are made more poignant by that. This is just a really, really beautiful piece (and I'm sorry for any incoherence but it's nearly 4am and this kind of blew me away, so.) Awesome, awesome work - and GO RAVENCLAW!

Author's Response: GAH LISA THANK YOU SO MUCH

I'm so glad! I was super worried about Grawp, to be honest, and I'm super happy that you think I've managed to develop his character while staying close to the books. Hearing/seeing that you feel his thoughts and fears were real is so good to hear, and I really do think that being bullied would affect everyone no matter what species they were. And no, this was such a lovely review to receive, don't apologise for anything!

Thanks for such an amazing review Lisa, and celsa sub conveniant aquila sapientes mentes! (is it bad that I feel proud for being able to recite that from memory? Yes, yes it is. :P) RAVENCLAW!


 Report Review

Review #73, by Ravenclaw333Love in Three Acts: Epilogue: After the Curtain Fell

11th June 2014:
I hope you forgive me for not reviewing the third chapter but I just had to fast forward and see if there was a reconciliation between Remus and Sirius after the betrayal - my heart still hurts a little, and I was really worried this chapter would be about Sirius's death (I'm so glad it isn't, by the way, I don't think I could handle that much emotion in one sitting)

I really loved this chapter, though - not least because you gave my shipper heart some hope again. This whole scene was just perfectly handled - Sirius just casually dropping by, the way their familiarity and knowledge of each other comes through despite all the tension and all the painful history between them, and Remus's reluctance to dive headfirst back into a relationship. It's one thing I've noticed about your characters - they don't go running back to things that have hurt them at the slightest hint of reconciliation, and it's really refreshing to see Remus taking his time, not making any promises. A fantastic story all around, wonderfully bittersweet, and thank you for writing this!

Author's Response: I know I'm responding out of order but I couldn't help it. I dont' blame you for skipping straight to this one. I almost didn't write this epilogue but thought people would need a ray of hope after reading their betrayal chapter. I wanted this chapter to set up their relationship during OotP and HBP which I write about in other stories (as friends, not more than that).

I'm so happy you liked this chapter!! I wanted it to feel like their old friendship but not quite the old relationship. My Remus is very hesitant to love. I just can't let my characters jump into a bed of thorns because they see a rose in the middle. (wow - that got poetic) Yay!!! I'm really thrilled you enjoyed this little story!! :D

Thank you for the awesome review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #74, by Ravenclaw333Love in Three Acts: Act 2: Romance

9th June 2014:
Hi! Here for the review swap you offered!

I keep meaning to come back to this story - I had every intention of continuing when I read the first chapter, and I'm glad you offered the swap so I could! As I mentioned before, Remus and Sirius is my ultimate OTP and you've presented them exactly how I've always imagined them during the war - in a long-term relationship, but kept relatively quiet - and, of course, fighting in the war. Your characterisation of both is spot on, and I really like your Sirius here, especially his approach to missions and that recklessness which is evident even years later after he escapes from Azkaban. The dynamic with the Marauders is great as well - the subtle digs and innuendos they trade amongst each other really brings them to life and illustrates their friendship perfectly.

And as for the story itself - whoa, I did not see that last bit coming - though having said that, you did set up the moment quite well with little hints that their relationship is in trouble. Something tells me the next chapter is going to be heartbreaking (then again, isn't all Wolfstar?) But brilliant job here, as always!

Author's Response: Whoo! I'm happy you came back to this. :D Before writing this I hadn't tried to put Sirius/Remus together but now I ship them (at least as far as it doesn't contradict canon). ;)

I like to think that their close friends (and people who saw them socially) knew they were a couple but a new person might not know or pick up on it. If I were doing a novel I'd probably hash that out a little more. I can't tell you how excited I am that you liked their friendships and that whole group of people. They're a fun bunch to write. :D

The song that this is based on is what led me to a dramatic, unexpected ending like that for each chapter. It was kind of fun to walk through the hints and then hit people with the kiss.

You're right about the next chapter. :P And I'm not sorry. Thank you so much for a lovely review! I'm so happy you enjoyed this!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #75, by Ravenclaw333True Romance: Mr. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

9th June 2014:
Another fantastic chapter! I love the triple perspective here, having snippets of Scorpius, Albus and Rose along with all their issues - please keep it up!

Ooh, Corbin. I'm really not sure how I feel about him - he seems quite full on considering it's early days in the relationship, and he comes across as quite possessive - I'm really interested to see how things play out re. Albus now there's a jealous boyfriend in the mix.

Albus and Brandon going on a date! You've set up the tension between them really well, and it's obvious they still have feelings for each other without being angsty about it - it's a very reciprocal thing going on and it's lovely to see, especially given Albus's past relationship issues.

And I love Rose's storyline here - I love me some good romance, but she brings something new to the story with her career issues and makes the whole thing even more relatable. Can't wait to see where you're going with this, and an excellent chapter!

Author's Response: I can't tell you how exciting it was to wake up to a review on a new and shiny chapter (and that you were excited to have been first). I think I'll always have a triple perspective chapter - though it won't always be the same three.

Haha, no one really likes Corbin right now. :-/ I guess I thought that would happen. If it's any consolation, Scorpius likes him (and he even likes the possessive bit too). It might get interesting for Scorpius with Albus trying to scuttle his relationship.

Brandon and Albus haven't really seen a lot of angst between them. That's just now kind of struck me. But, they are very much into each other. I think if Al hadn't been so lost/broken in Pure Intentions they would have stayed together.

Rose is definitely the non-romance story line here. I might weave some into her story arc but it's not her main purpose in the story.

I probably won't have time for another chapter for a week+ between the HC and grading finals this week. :-/ I'm excited to see what you think about where I take this!!

Thank you for a fab review!
-Rose


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>