Reading Reviews From Member: Ravenclaw333
  
164 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Ravenclaw333Welcome to Blunderland: { 01 }

29th January 2012:
Are you physically capable of writing anything less than perfect?
No seriously.
I love this so much. Like I love everything you write. I'm such a fangirl.

Author's Response: N'awww you're ever so nice :D Thank you so much. You are both mega and zoomified and possibly also mega zoomified (treasure that accolade. It is not bestowed on many). ♥

 Report Review

Review #27, by Ravenclaw333There Is a Light That Never Goes Out: even after all this time

27th January 2012:
This was such a beautiful piece. It summed up everything I've ever thought of Snape and Lily's friendship and was wonderfully and delicately written. Loved the sun motif, very well done :)

Author's Response: Thank you ♥ Glad you liked it and thanks so much for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by Ravenclaw333Draco's Game: orbs.

22nd January 2012:
asdfghjkl.

That is all.

Well, actually, that's not all because I made this challenge and I probably have an obligation to review your entry properly rather than the keyboard equivalent of an open-mouth gape.

This was brilliant. You incorporated all the horrible cliches of a spectacularly bad Dramione (the mask! the mudblood! angry Hermione! ORBS!) but somehow managed to sandwich that within the gloriously matter-of-fact humour I've come to associate with your stuff.

Please tell me that the "tricksy" Nargles was a reference to Gollum. Tricksy Hobbitses? Yes? No?

And the Twilight parody! It's like a parody within a parody! PARODYCEPTION.

And the daydream potion? That was good. That was very good. And a nice way to incorporate your OTP. Ten points for cleverness.

I don't know what the protocol is for discussing placings in reviews before anyone else has submitted their entry, but it's looking good, I assure you. Lookin' reeeal good.

Thanks for the entry, this made my morning.

Author's Response: Don't worry; the keyboard equivalent of an open-mouth gape is basically how I write these days, haha.

ORBS! The best word in the Dramione canon. Not that, like, there is a canon. But you know.

TRICKSY HOBBITSES. Yes indeed! :D

PARODYCEPTION homg we are truly upon the same level. -ception is my favourite suffix in the entire English language these days not that it's really a word or anything but.

Thanks so much for reviewing! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #29, by Ravenclaw333In The Black: Opinions and Omens

22nd January 2012:
Another brilliant chapter, as always, and a definite change in tone, especially towards the end. Sirius' were actually chilling, and you've really captured the atmosphere of the beginning of the war. Really looking forward to the next chapters, keep up the great work! (Though I don't really need to tell you that :P)

Author's Response: This story definitely shifts in tone towards the latter part of this book, and maintains that sort of more ominous feel for the next two -- that's my hope, anyway. :) I'm so glad you think it worked, though, because I've never had to write anything dark long-term and I'd be lying if I said I wasn't a bit apprehensive!

As always, thank you so much for reviewing -- it just means a lot to me that you return for each chapter. :) You're amazing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #30, by Ravenclaw333Awkward: Chapter Two

21st January 2012:
I love you for writing this.

Seriously.

I don't think I've ever actually read a story with an overweight OC and it's so refreshing and realistic and relatable and gah. I'm a bit on the chunky side myself, so I can so relate to this. And the 'memory of the friendship I'd had once upon a time.' I've been there. So thank you heaps for writing this and I really look forward to reading more, this is the kind of story I wish I could write myself, and you have restored my faith in fanfiction.

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, this review has me blushing like crazy. You are just too nice. I am seriously, like, dying. Also, I just realized who you are (Southern Cross?!) and I squeed a bit. I wrote Gus cause I got a bit bored with the usual suspects, and I really didn't know if anyone would like her, but the positive reviews I've gotten have kept me going! Chapter three in the queue, chapter four is in the works and I think I'll be sticking with this for a while, so I hope I see you back! Thank you thank you thank you, this reviews was just e :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by Ravenclaw333These Things Happen: I want to turn back time.

20th January 2012:
A really nice one shot you have here! I love the insights into the relationship, and how you show things aren't always 'happily ever after.' A sweet, realistic resolution, and you've captured Ginny's character and thought process well :)

Author's Response: I'm really, really happy you liked it! I loved writing this one-shot because for once I felt like I was being real, and honest with a real relationship, because we have flaws, but I never show that, so this story was something to show that.

Thanks for the review,

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #32, by Ravenclaw333In The Black: The Unexpected Visitor

16th January 2012:
I loved this chapter, and I would agree with you that it's my favourite as well. This is exactly why I think so highly of your work - it felt incredibly real, incredibly relatable, and especially in that exchange with Severus it felt like Beth's thoughts were my own. Amazing chapter and as always I look forward to the update :)

Author's Response: This completely made my day to wake up to! :) The past few chapters, while rather necessary to the plot, have been a bit lacking in action and Severus both, and I was really excited to post this one because I knew that it was so different.

I am so glad the emotions and dialogue are translating well, though -- I feel that used to be my absolute worst thing, writing-wise, was making everything believable. Of course, I also like to think I've gotten better since then. :P But you have reassured me beyond belief!

Thank you for being such a loyal and supportive reviewer -- it just really does mean a lot to me to see that you keep coming back, and I can't ever tell you enough! I'm so glad you're enjoying the story! :3


 Report Review

Review #33, by Ravenclaw333Welcome to Blunderland: { introduction }

10th January 2012:
Flora and Fauna. My God. You are amazing, and thank you for being my constant supplier of crack-filled cracky-fic goodness. You rock my slipper socks.

Author's Response: I like my wordplay. You just wait until I crack out my arsenal of metaphors and puns ;D ooh, slipper socks! That's a wee bit luxurious. This review rocks my...tights. Thank you! ♥

 Report Review

Review #34, by Ravenclaw333Never Tickle a Sleeping Dragon: Never Tickle a Sleeping Dragon

6th January 2012:
Heya! I really liked this story - it was a different idea and I appreciated the use of more minor characters - Padma, Parvati, Dean, Seamus - and the careers you've put them in. Would definitely be interested in a longer story using these characters! Lavender's trauma and scarring was a nice touch - really good to see the lasting effects of the battle on the war generation. Your characterisation and scene setting was very good - you introduced everything very thoroughly and in a short space of time. A very nice little piece, and I hope to see something more come of it soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for coming and looking this over for me - I really, really appreciate the feedback, because I really wasn't sure whether it would come off as awkward or strange or undeveloped to people who weren't me, you know? I'm really glad it didn't and that you're interested in seeing more about the characters!

I actually have a post-Hogwarts WIP fic that focuses on Lavender (and Seamus and Parvati) posted called "Ghost in the Machine," on the off-chance that you're interested in it. :)

Thank you again. I really, really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #35, by Ravenclaw333Sausages and Cookies: Figuring it Out

19th December 2011:
This was just perfection. I love your characters, and this scenario was just brilliant. 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by Ravenclaw333In The Black: Christmas Boys

19th December 2011:
ASDFGHJK I love this story. And this chapter was incredible - another example of your classic subtle, beautiful and realistic style of writing. I love how it's set at Christmastime, and I'm about to have my first white Christmas ever, so I can finally relate to snow at Christmastime! And that moment with Beth and Severus - it was so perfectly written, and so meaningful. Congratulations on such an amazing story and as always I look forward to the update :)

Author's Response: Ahh, this review -- I just don't even. :3 Thank you so, so much, really. I'm so jealous of you and your white Christmas, by the way! The weather here is so wishy-washy, it's been flipping between cold and not-too-cold for a while, with no promise of snow. :( Hence, I write it into stories!

I should be getting an update out here before too long, probably this coming Sunday (despite the fact that it's Christmas!). Really, thank you so much for the review -- it really does mean so much to me, those aren't just empty words. :3 ♥


 Report Review

Review #37, by Ravenclaw333Undisclosed Desires: Victoire

16th December 2011:
Really good start here. You have quite original characterisations and situations - Dom living in a grotty apartment! Victoire and Teddy broken up! Le gasp! The cut-throat nature of the fashion industry was done well, and I really love how Victoire's big moment of freedom was something that seems like quite a small thing - walking out on the street in trackies. I like where you're going with this - the idea that our biggest battles are sometimes the things that seem so simple. Great start and good chapter!

 Report Review

Review #38, by Ravenclaw333In The Black: Conversations and Catalysts

19th November 2011:
I was so pleased to see you'd updated! This story never fails to put a smile on my face - it's so well written, realistic and sweet, and this chapter was no exception. Like you, I love the Christmas season, and it really added to the atmosphere of this chapter. It's great to see those little snippets of characterisation you keep slipping in - like James playing with his Snitch - and the details you reveal about each relationship. The way you've written the developing friendship between Beth and Severus is fantastic - so gradual and subtle, and extremely rewarding to read. Thank you for the fantastic chapter and the fantastic story :)

Author's Response: I'm pleased to see you dropped by! :) The fact that you think it's well-written and realistic, that just really makes my day. Readers are never far from my mind in writing, and if it's received well, I am always gratified in immeasurable ways! ♥ Hee.

The Christmas season is my favorite! I'm so glad how this worked out, too -- I'll be posting the wintery chapters, like this one, right as the holiday season approaches. I couldn't have planned this better if I tried!

Characterization is so important in a story, and I love including it, because I think it's extremely important that my readers know the characters, too. I want them to be a spectator, not just reading at face value, and thanks to your compliments (THANK YOU), I feel as though I'm getting it right. :)

Gahh. This review. ♥ I can never thank you enough for it!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Ravenclaw333Meddling with Time: The Running Involved

28th October 2011:
I am such a fan of this story. You combine the worlds so well, it's awesome - and genuinely intriguing! Definitely keen to find out how the Doctor knows about magic, and again, really believable characterisation! I've just been watching Series 5 so I have Matt Smith's voice in my head, and then I read this and it's like bam, Tennant again. Well done, please update soon! :)

Author's Response: ASDFGHJKL *rolls around the floor back and forth* You really are awesome, you. And I need to know your name because calling you 'you' all the time just won't do due to the level of ***EXPLOSIVE AWESOMENESS*** that radiates off of you thus making you not just another 'you' that I know from the Internet but rather a special you. Oh look a chocolate no a psychic paper YOU'RE NOW INVINCIBLE. I'm ranting like Doctor Donna okay wow that's interesting HOW CAN MY WRITING BE THAT DOCTOR INNER VOICE CHANGING ARE YOU SURE YOU'RE EVEN READING MY WRITING.

Please excuse Em for she is having a what-is-my-life reflection moment. :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by Ravenclaw333Meddling with Time: Strangers in a Box

22nd October 2011:
Yay! A well written Doctor Who crossover! I love your characterisation of Ten, it's perfect. Very keen to see where this story goes, awesome start!

Author's Response: :O :O :O You had me at "well-written", because I definitely do not consider myself as a good writer lol Chapter 2 is in the queue, wait for it! ;) Thanks for the fave too asdfghjkl

 Report Review

Review #41, by Ravenclaw333In The Black: Just Words

19th October 2011:
Amazing. Just amazing. Your ability to evoke all the emotions involved in a situation like this is second to none. Incredible work, looking forward to the next update!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, seriously. :3 It was fantastic to see your name back here, and your reviews never, ever fail to make my day. I'm so, go glad you're enjoying the story so far!

 Report Review

Review #42, by Ravenclaw333Sometimes The Truth Hurts: The Boy Becomes a Man

18th October 2011:
Emma! Yay, first review!
This was brilliant. Such a simple and powerful idea, Neville's realisation that he's just as much a hero as Harry. You evoked the atmosphere of Hogwarts during Voldemort's reign extremely well - the fear, the resignation, the lack of morale - and the glimmer of hope that rebellion offered. Very nice work, well done! :)

Author's Response: Thank you!! This means a lot to me :D

 Report Review

Review #43, by Ravenclaw333In The Black: Panic

17th September 2011:
Brilliant chapter! I loved the descriptions of the transformations - I haven't read about Animagi before and you've made it incredibly realistic. And the ending really drew me into the story - very well done, can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Canon facts on exactly how Animagi transform aren't very numerous, so I enjoyed the challenge of trying to dream it up myself. :D Your compliments mean so much to me, thank you endlessly! I hope you'll continue on!

 Report Review

Review #44, by Ravenclaw333etc. etc. (and life goes on): Kiss Me Twice, Shame On Me

16th September 2011:
Transfictionary! I WANT TO PLAY THAT SO MUCH. And Gretna Green! I nearly cheered when I saw that reference :P
Awesome chapter, as per usual. Super intrigued about Al & Clemence - and of course QGA. I don't think I've been more interested in a weird fictional organisation in my life.
As for the Dobby noms - you're welcome.

Author's Response: Gretna Green, you know what I mean 8D

Bahaha, the QGA sounds like some weird quirky girl mafia now, which you know -- it might just be!

I remember your nom! :3 Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #45, by Ravenclaw333Starving Artists: Metaphor Wrapping Paper

16th September 2011:
OH MY GOSH IT'S OVER.
I don't think I've ever been sadder to reach the end of a fic. But prequels and sequels? KEEN. I CAN'T WAIT.
And this was the absolute best end I could have thought of. This line is now my absolute favourite: "...wrapping it up in metaphor wrapping paper and tying it with a pretty analogy bow."
So much love. All-time favourite story on the archive, ever. An honour well and truly earned, I assure you :)

Author's Response: IT'S OVER. OVER AS SOMETHING THAT ISN'T UNDER ERGO IT IS OVER.
...my review responses are getting a bit pitiful.
i know, prequel and a sequel. lol, that'll be a fun few months of updating.
Hah! The irony of describing a metaphor...with a metaphor. Happy days.
Thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and thank you for sticking with this story to the end and all the reviews and whatnot! ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #46, by Ravenclaw333Starving Artists: Emotional Wronski Feint

7th September 2011:
OHMYGOSH THE METAPHORS. SO MUCH AWESOME. AARGH.
(on a side note I just got home from failing two exams and was like 'the only thing that could improve today is if Starving Artists has been updated' and IT HAS AND JOY. So thank you very very much for that little piece of happy.)

Author's Response: METAPHOR PARTY~

hah! well, that was good timing, haha! glad you enjoyed it ♥


 Report Review

Review #47, by Ravenclaw333In The Black: Unsuspected, Unexpected

2nd September 2011:
Fantastic chapter, as I've come to expect from you :) Your characters come across as so close to canon, and I can definitely see the Snape we all know in your teenage Severus. You write him well, with sympathy but without glossing over his (many) faults. James' reaction at Lily's agreeing to out with him was very believable, I could picture the scene perfectly in my mind. 10/10, keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Wow, this was such an amazing review. My head's a bit big. :) I love Snape, but you're so right -- he is not blameless, not at all.

Thanks so much for coming back and leaving yet another review, it really brightens my day!


 Report Review

Review #48, by Ravenclaw333Starving Artists: Sunny with a Chance of Showers

2nd September 2011:
Yay! Update! And it's full of happy! Even though I'm sure I'm not the only one waiting for them to proclaim their everlasting love for each other and run off to Gretna Green. And I love this fun cheerful air-hockey-playing spontaneous Scorpius much more than Doormat Scorpius.
PS Proud to say I was the first to nominate this story for the Next Gen Dobby. Am I meant to tell you that? Eh, well, I did.

Author's Response: You are not the only one. The Gretna Green Tourist Board also appreciates your custom ;) Also...Scorpius does seem to have many forms, he's like a personality metamorphagus or something.
and...and...DID YOU? I DIDN'T EVEN REALISE GAAAH BUT I LOVE YOU THANK YOU SO MUCH ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #49, by Ravenclaw333Starving Artists: Breakfast Epiphanies

28th August 2011:
I thought this story couldn't get any cooler. Then Lucy and Scorpius end up in the English Channel. Oh, you genius, you. LOVE all the tension in this chapter. Can't wait for the update, as always :)

Author's Response: Haha, thank you very much! Well, you have to go swimming at some point on a summer holiday. Thank you for the review! 20 is in the queue and 21 is ready to join it - both should be up by the end of next week.

 Report Review

Review #50, by Ravenclaw333In The Black: The Confrontation

28th August 2011:
*bread and Nutella for you*
That's a cruel cliffhanger. But brilliantly done, I must say. You write the symptoms of her crush so well, and Snape is so well written. I've said it before but I'll say it again: I can't wait to see where this goes. Update soon! :)

Author's Response: -om nom nom- Mmmm, thank you! :D Your reviews never fail to brighten my day, and I'm so glad to have you as a reader. :) Thanks so much for it all, I truly appreciate it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>