Reading Reviews From Member: Ravenclaw333
  
164 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ravenclaw333Lost in a Look: Chapter One

15th April 2014:
This is a really good start! You've done a good job with making Victoire a kind of 'light in the darkness' for Karly, and set up the relationship well - I can tell already that Victoire is going to have a very positive effect on her, which is exactly what i want to see! The loss of her brother adds another dimension to her character, and I'm very interested to see where this is going! Good luck with the challenge and thanks for entering!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ravenclaw333Mixed-up in Magic: one

21st March 2014:
This is a good start and promises to be a really interesting story - I look forward to seeing more!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ravenclaw333It's a Date: It's a Date

16th March 2014:
I'm so glad you pointed me in the direction of this story! It's so sweet and perfectly written, and you've characterised both Neville and Hannah brilliantly - it feels like it could be canon, and I love the little insights into Hufflepuff House that you've put in here, especially the bit about Ernie and the vines! You've done a brilliant job with capturing the first date nerves, and I appreciate how confident you've made Hannah regarding her appearance, and how quick she is to correct Neville about why she's going out with him - we don't see a lot of her in canon, but you've made her an extremely likeable character. If you have any plans to write more of this pairing in the future let me know, because I love your portrayal of them!

Author's Response: Thank you! I"m glad you liked it so much. I may write more about then evenually, I'm not really sure. I'm still searching for that story plot right now, but I'll certianly le you knot if anything with them comes up. Again, thank you so much for the review and for liking the story.
~Lily


 Report Review

Review #4, by Ravenclaw333The Mildly Perilous and Mostly Tragicomic Misadventures of Sir Roderick Gryffindor and 'Sir' Ivan Harris: In Which Ivan Dreams Like a Man

16th March 2014:
This is a brilliant start to what promises to be a unique, interesting and witty story! I like your use of a narrator as a separate character, and it certainly allows for more freedom with the parody and breaking of the fourth wall. Ivan promises to be an interesting character, and you're dealing with issues of sexuality and gender identity very well. It's a difficult balance to strike when writing parody, but you've made the telling of the story the target, rather than the character. Very well done and I look forward to reading more! Thanks for entering the challenge and good luck!

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks so much! Max naturally appeared while writing the story, though I'm not entirely sure how. I blame writing when over-tired, which seems the only time that I've been able to work on the parody.

I wanted to deal with issues of sexuality and gender issues as a more serious aspect to the story, despite it's tendency to act as a parody, so I'm glad that you think I'm dealing with them nicely.

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #5, by Ravenclaw333The Fall of the House of Malfoy: The Fall of the House of Malfoy

16th March 2014:
There's one thing which stood out to me about this story above everything else - it's so unexpected! Narcissa in a Muggle lesbian club, Narcissa staying the night, the ENDING...you've gone for the shock factor here and it works. I like your OC as well - she's very realistic and relatable, and you've included some good insights into her character in this short piece. You've done a good job with Narcissa too - you've kept her in character while exploring things outside the canon. Thanks for entering and good luck with the challenge!

Author's Response: Yes! You like Clarissa! She's one of my favorite OC's. I might revisit her in another story some day.

I'm very glad that I kept Narcissa in character. As I was writing, I worried that she was completely OOC and false.

I can't wait to hear the results!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Ravenclaw333This Could Be Good: Forever and Please Don't Go

14th March 2014:
This is such a lovely piece! You have a real knack for capturing the sense of captivation that comes with love, and the way you described the girlfriend through Lily's eyes was sweet and endearing. You've used some very effective imagery here, and the love and devotion between these two really shines through. Good luck with the challenge, and thank you for entering!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks so much for reviewing the entry and those compliments! Of course, brilliant challenge idea!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ravenclaw333Devilish Delights, Wicked Ends: I. Luck

8th March 2014:
A glorious start! I'm already intrigued by the setup you have going on here - kingpin Albus, unapologetic Slytherin royalty, hot chocolates in the Three Broomsticks fraught with mysterious tension - perfect. Looking forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Ohoho, what a glorious compliment! This chapter, and to be fair quite a few of the following ones, are about table-setting, but hopefully they're all to good effect for when the story gets rolling. Thank you for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Ravenclaw333The Luckless: The Luckless

15th December 2012:
Hey! Fantastic writing from you, as always, and this really is a brilliant example of bromance. I loved how you've covered the friendship from the beginning, including but not overdoing the differences between Lucy and Scorpius' social groups and the fact that he's not someone people would admit to hanging out with - that was very well done. I loved how they just fell into a familiar and relaxed friendship (based entirely on biscuits.) I'm assuming this story fits into the Starving Artists/Weather for Ducks universe (correct me if I'm wrong) but at this stage the relationship is purely platonic. Overall, this was just a real feel-good friendship story and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks for entering the challenge!

Author's Response: thank you so much! well, biscuits are a sort of gateway drug into friendship, hehe. and no, actually! it has nothing to do with that universe - actually, I do write a hogwarts-era story for that universe, but Lucy only has cameo appearances and isn't friends with Scorpius at all in that. this is very similar, I know, but a totally different universe ;) thank you so much for reviewing, I really enjoyed writing it! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ravenclaw333run, run, run away: run, run, run away

30th November 2012:
HOW DO YOU WRITE LIKE THIS OH MY GOD.
Seriously though, you've portrayed Remus so perfectly here - the inner workings of his mind, his emotions, everything that makes up his character. And the use of second person is FLAWLESS. Perfect one-shot is perfect.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ravenclaw333Keep Calm and Carry On: Take Two and Call Me in the Morning

3rd October 2012:
Ten out of ten for glorious characterisation! You painted such a good picture of Edie here, and in such a realistic and humorous setting, ideal for developing the friendships between Edie, Lisa and the boys. You've really cemented her character, friendships and her place in life, and I love the little details like how much she hates Witch Weekly, her dislike for her best friend's boyfriend and this line: "It tastes like it always does: a mixture of shame for being twenty-six, a hybrid of unpaid intern and bartender, with no love-life to speak of, and getting wasted at a pub virtually every night--and also the certainty of knowing that I have the best mates in the world." This just sums up everything about her and speaks volumes about what she values in life. Brilliant start, can't wait to see more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love Edie's relationship with the boys. I think that her loud and raucous behavior would be well-accepted by them. I really appreciate you taking the time to read my story. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ravenclaw333Exit Wounds: Exit Wounds

27th September 2012:
Very good story here. Simple but powerful. It seemed to me the story of a war survivor, but you left it ambiguous enough that this could have been anyone, suffering from anything. You've stripped away everything else and left humanity, bare and broken, and that makes this piece so much more poignant. The final two lines were beautiful, particularly "I walked to the edge of the world." Insightful and evocative.

Author's Response: Everyone seems to say a war survivor, I honestly never thought it of that way, but when I re-read it, it does seem that way! :p
I wanted it really ambiguous, so people could make their own decisions about who the character was and apparently I succeeded! :p
I'm so glad you liked this piece and thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Ravenclaw333Honour Among Thieves: death, wolves and there isn't a plan

18th September 2012:
What.
What.
Whoa.
I didn't see that coming.
Okay.
So, amazing story. I nearly skipped my tutorial this afternoon, I was so engrossed in this story. It's gripping, it's original, it's intense, and it's amazing. And I don't really have any other words except that this is what fanfiction is all about and this was every kind of brilliant in the known universe.
So, yeah.
10/10, sorry for not reviewing the other chapters, and you're my hero.

Author's Response: considering that I read nearly every single thing of yours, this review means the WORLD to me, it really does. Thank you so much! I am immeasurably happy that you like my story, and no, YOU'RE my hero!

Thanks for reviewing! *squees*


 Report Review

Review #13, by Ravenclaw333Your Ghost: sprint across the wire

16th September 2012:
Oh wow.

This is was beautiful! So emotive, so poignant, and perfect imagery throughout. You've brought these characters to life so perfectly and the past and present were perfectly balanced - the start of their relationship contrasted with the bitter pain of his death, her lone journey of grief contrasted with the journey of their relationship. Incredible, breathtaking writing and the purity of emotion is beautiful.

Author's Response: Excuse me a moment, I'm blushing so profusely that I think the blood rush is starting to affect my head.

Wow, those are some pretty big compliments, I must say. I wasn't expecting that sort of response when I posted this one-shot. I thought that yes, perhaps it would receive okay feedback, but I never imagined anything like the caliber of your review. Just..wow, thank you so much!

While I've had someone I love very dearly pass, I've never been in love with someone who's died, so this was a little difficult for me to write, mostly because I was afraid that I wouldn't be able to properly convey the emotional turmoil Emmeline was experiencing in the aftermath of Benjy's loss. So it pleases me to know that it struck you the way I intended it to.

Thank you so so so much for your kind words. I don't feel I deserve them, but I certainly appreciate them as well as the time you took to read this.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Ravenclaw333A Cartography of Grief: You Are The Only Map I Know

12th September 2012:
Beautiful piece with a strong, poignant ending. You've written the relationship so well, so true to the characters of both men. Loved the map imagery, 10/10.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks. Remus and Sirius are definitely my favorite characters to write so it's important to me that (despite it being slash), they remain true to their canon selves. Thank you so much for the review. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Ravenclaw333Once Defied: The Great Divide

11th September 2012:
I'm pretty slack with reviewing, but I thought I might just drop a line or two to say how much I'm enjoying this already - I tend to avoid Marauder stories, especially those about James and Lily in seventh year, because I never feel like writers can pull off their reconciliation and falling in love. But so far this looks extremely promising - the characterisations are believable, the relationship between them at this point seems just right. I will definitely keep reading (even though I have an assignment I should be writing...) Good job on a great first chapter!

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you so much for taking the time to review. It's wonderful to hear that you're enjoying the story! :D

It seems like a lot of people avoid Marauders stories, and I completely understand why. They're by far my favourite type of story, but even I get discouraged sometimes! :P I really hope that as you read, you feel like I've done something good with James and Lily's story. It's one that's been stuck in my head (in various iterations) for probably about a decade now.

Holy crap. That was the first time I actually added that up in my head. O_o

Ahem. Anyway, as I was saying, it's a story that means a lot to me, and I've tried to make their reconciliation and falling in love as realistic as possible. I know it's depicted a lot, and usually it's not the most realistic romance...but I hope mine is in SOME small way. And I would appreciate if there's any feedback that you have--any points where it feels unrealistic or off. :)

I'm glad that so far, it seems good to you! I hope you keep reading, and I'd love to hear your thoughts as you do. No pressure to review every chapter or write big long reviews, though!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ravenclaw333Smile And Smile...: Chapter One.

29th August 2012:
I've never read your work before, but after this I'll definitely make a point of seeking it out. Your attention to detail is second to none and your characterisations perfect. A brilliant story, evoking pity for such a loathsome character. 10/10, well done indeed :)

Author's Response: Hi there! Well, thanks for taking the time to read and review despite not having come across my writing before :) Your comments are so kind, thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed this! Please do feel free to nose around my author's page ;)

Athene xoxo


 Report Review

Review #17, by Ravenclaw333Hollow Bones: Mourner

29th August 2012:
Wow.
Just...wow.
It's been a long time since a piece of writing truly left me speechless. Take the threadbare nature of this review as a compliment.
Beautiful. Stunning. Heartbreaking. And so incredibly real.
This is the best writing I think I've ever seen on this site.

Author's Response: Now I'm the one who is speechless!
How am I supposed to answer to such a wonderful review?
OK, I'll try:
Thank you so much!
I'm very glad that you liked the story and that it had some effect on you... It means that I accomplished my goal, to evoke some feelings to the reader! This is why we write after all, isn't it? :)
Most of all, I think I'm flattered that you called it real. If anything, I try to be as honest as possible when I write. :)
Thank you for taking the time to read and thank you so much for reviewing, it's reviews like this one that keep me going! :) :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Ravenclaw333In The Black: A Question

16th April 2012:
asdfghjkl.

feelings.

so many feelings.

You wrote this beautifully, it was such a perfect moment and I enjoyed the brief foray into James' point of view. I apologise for having not reviewed recently, but I have been reading and enjoying it just as much as always :) Keep up the amazing work!

Author's Response: Feelings are the best. :D I'm so glad you enjoyed the chapter! Quite honestly, it's probably one of the fluffiest bits in any of the books (that I can think of -- and, of course, I've not written it all), so I guess it was one of those 'go big or go home' moments! :P

PLEASE don't feel the need to apologize for not reviewing! ♥ Honestly, the fact that you told me that you'd still been reading this put the biggest grin on my face. I don't want people to ever feel like reviews are required, because first and foremost, I seek to give people a good story. And if you're still reading, it makes me feel like I've accomplished that goal. So thank you, rather, for being so loyal and lovely to me.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review this -- it really, really made my day to see you'd dropped back by! Take your time getting to future chapters, of course. No rush!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ravenclaw333Hermione and the Hooligans: The Middle of the Story

9th March 2012:
I want to see more Frodo Baggins.
Other than that, it was pure perfection. I want to see this turned into a movie.
My reviews lack substance. Apologies.

Author's Response: If you've ever seen the movie Green Street Hooligans, Elijah Wood becomes a West Ham hooligan, so that's what I was referencing with th Frodo Baggins bit.

Thanks for aother review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Ravenclaw333A Meet-and-Greet with Rose Weasley: Rose Doesn't Have a Clue

9th March 2012:
Ten points for originality. This was actually a lot of fun to read, not least because I don't think I've seen anything like it before. A fangirl meeting Rose Weasley and expecting her to be exactly like all the fanfictions? Your characterisations of Rose and said fangirl were good, and I really did enjoy the interaction. That fangirl would probably be me. I ship Rose/Scorpius. Thanks for the entry, and apologies for taking so long to review!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thank you so much for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ravenclaw333Hermione and the Hooligans: Vampires and Victories

9th March 2012:
Super Sexy Power Ranger Granger. Wow. I nearly died. And that's just the beginning of the story. I have a feeling I'm going to enjoy this one.
Oh god. Cedric Diggory. Twilight references. Win ALL the awards!
Michael Jackson.
Are you trying to kill me?
Orbs. Quidditch toned abs. This is parody gold. I'm afraid all you're going to get from this review are regurgitated plot points and expressions of how I died, but take that to mean I'm impressed. Because I am.
"Baby, I never even tried to be in character."
Speaking of characters, Bartholomew Percival Castlerock IV has got to be the best one I've heard of in my life. I like him already. He looks like he could be fun.
Apologies for taking so long to review this one, and thanks for entering the challenge!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for th review, and thanks for starting this awesome challenge!

This was a really fun story to write, and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed reading it!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Ravenclaw333Romione ....... Bleurgh!: Pointing out the obvious

9th March 2012:
Oooh, risky business! Taking on the canon! Ten points to you for sheer audacity, though I must admit you made it work. You made the ship awkward and weird and not quite right, and that is a major feat because Ron/Hermione is my OTP within the Potterverse. Nice use of the narrators. A narrator narrating a narrator? Narratorception!
Apologies for taking so long to review, and thanks for the entry!

Author's Response: You are welcome!

I really loved doing this as to be quite honest I never quite got what she saw in him.

Maybe it's like "The Simpsons". you know what I mean.

Love Pepper


 Report Review

Review #23, by Ravenclaw333Draco in Leather Pants: Fandom: Sometimes it's Scary.

9th March 2012:
Ugh. Dramione.
I'm not sure what else to say in response. But your hatred for the ship certainly shines bright in this entry, which is of course what the challenge is about. You've covered a lot of the awful cliches (why is Draco incapable of doing anything else to his face besides sneering? Why do the Head Boy and Head Girl have to share a dorm?) and it was, of course, brilliantly contemptuous towards the Dramione ship. Good effort :)

Author's Response: Oh. Well I probably did go a bit overboard on my hatred, but when I started I just wanted to cover every stupid cliche and my hate for them. I hope this effort was enough. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Ravenclaw333Angst: snogging

9th March 2012:
Apologies for taking so long to review this story, but thanks for the entry! Brilliant idea, I especially loved the twist with Fred and George at the end - very believable and you characterised them well. I haven't read a lot of Draco/Ginny but I imagine it's quite similar to the dreaded Dramione. At any rate, you did an excellent job of parodying it. Burning hair. I died. Great work!

Author's Response: no worries :) I'm just sorry I didn't respond sooner! Thank you so much for this :) Honestly I haven't read too much of the ship either, its just always struck me as unrealistic and I'm not quite sure why. anyhow, thanks again for the lovely review :D
~Ria


 Report Review

Review #25, by Ravenclaw333Anna Banana: Black, and not Sirius

9th March 2012:
Brilliant story! I loved the originality, and you included all the trademark Dramione horrors. Angsty Harry, a Yule Ball, sexy Draco, sulky Ron...and I loved "Canonius Maximus." Best spell ever. A very enjoyable and funny story, and once again, awesome originality. Fantastic.
Thanks for entering, apologies for taking so long to review!

Author's Response: Thanks! I really enjoyed writing this, so thanks so much for posting the challenge!
Canonius maximus.. lol.. I thought it was just lame enough to work :p I'm so glad you liked it, and have fun reading the others!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>