Reading Reviews From Member: MargaretLane
  
1,014 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MargaretLaneend of an era: page zero.

3rd April 2016:
I have the same impression with regards to mental health. They don't seem too advanced on the matter, do they? A lot of people seem to write Lavender as having mental health issues after the war. Looking forward to seeing what you do with it.

Really like the opening paragraph. There's something very conversational about it and it just sort of rings true for some reason.

I've actually kept a diary since...let's say a few years before the dates in this story.

That last line of the first entry is quite sobering for some reason. I think because the conversation they were having as teens is so casual and cheerful and then we are reminded of what has happened. It works really well because we sort of feel Lavender's sadness.

I really LOVE the way you've rounded out Parvati's character here. I think as teenagers a lot of us believe people are simply as they appear and it is only as we get older that we realise it's rarely that simple. Lavender knew Parvati better and saw who she was in total, but other people just saw the way she first appeared.

I think doing something even though you are terrified is pretty much the definition of bravery. I am not brave. There is no way in a million years I would voluntarily take part in a war.

I like the way you mention them being terrified though. Ireland is currently commemorating the centenary of the 1916 Rising and the picture given is always that of the rebels singing as they marched out to surrender or James Connolly declaring cheerfully, "none whatsoever" when asked what their chances were. They must have been frightened - the city was being shelled around them - but that is never the impression given.

I really like the language used here - the way Lavender sounds annoyed and dismissive of things. It's very true to life and believable.

You really portray her perceptions so clearly when she talks about how she wants to believe the Healers and cooperate but can see no light left in the world.

The reference to the true or false game made me laugh and I can see how it would also be a good way of discussing painful things.

I really like the part where Tracey indicates that Parvati would want Lavender to move on.

Oh one thing: you've said on the 2nd of August, that it was five months to the day since Parvati died. I think you mean three months.

I'm now intrigued as to what is wrong with Chloe, because she seems like a pretty confident and well-adjusted person, but I guess Lavender doesn't know how she feels, so neither do we.

And a few lines later, Lavender begins to wonder the same thing and then it is explained. Poor Chloe. She does seem to have a fair amount of determination though.

I can totally imagine it would feel different to be told by Chloe that they have to move on than to be told the same thing by the Healers or her parents, because she knows how it feels.

There are tears in my eyes now. This is an excellent story.

 Report Review

Review #2, by MargaretLaneBehavioral Analysis: One

3rd April 2016:
OK, I am not at all familiar with Criminal Minds, but as a lover of mysteries, I'll give this a go and just hope I'm not missing too much.

LOVE the way you begin the story. It gives us an insight into Lucy's character, gives us the background of the organisation she's involved in and makes us wonder why she joined and all without sounding contrived, which stories with a lot of background to them can.

I really like the part about Emily pulling more strings than any politician or diplomat. Gives us a bit of insight into who SHE is too. You're really good at getting information across naturally and succinctly.

*grins at the computers* One of the characters in my next gen series has a father who's a policeman and he and Harry were discussing methods of law enforcement.

I like the part about the standard issue wands. I can see a lot of witches and wizards finding that quite difficult as they are used to their own wands and Ollivander did say you'd never get as good a result with a wand that hadn't chosen you, but you can see why the organisation would want to ensure wands were standardised.

These wands sound a little like guns. I mean wands DO sort of perform that function anyway, but the fact that these are specifically TO be used in law enforcement make them seem more specifically for those kind of tasks.

Slightly random comment, but comparing stories to Irish history seems to be my thing: in World War II, some members of the Irish army deserted to join the British army and go to fight in the war. Deserting TO fight in a war sounds kind of odd, doesn't it? Anyway, they were essentially blacklisted for government jobs afterwards, which a lot of people consider to have been quite harsh. The warning Lucy got just reminded me of that.

Profiling sounds like a pretty interesting job actually.

And hmm, I really wonder why Lucy was recruited. I've a feeling there's more to this than is immediately apparent.

*grins at her looking at pictures of kittens*

Lucy's workmates seem helpful and supportive anyway.

 Report Review

Review #3, by MargaretLaneNot the Best Apology: Chapter 1

3rd April 2016:
Just thought I'd take a look at this as it features an Irishman.

I really like the opening. It throws us right into the action and also creates some suspense because we want to know why he's in such a hurry. The way you write it also creates a sense of hurry.

Love the comment about people being spectators in a cruel sport. When people do that crowding around, I always feel like saying, "if you can't DO anything to help, at least get out of the way so somebody else can."

I also really like the way you brought up the argument they'd had. Sometimes things like that can come across as contrived, but Harry's thoughts about it here sound perfectly natural.

Love the reference to him being his next of kin.

And I really like the last line.

As most people on HPFF are probably aware, I'm not a great fan of romance but you wrote this really well.

 Report Review

Review #4, by MargaretLaneKeeping Appearances: Calculated Risk

1st April 2016:
Procrastinating on a job application I don't want to do - 9 page long form - so I'll read this. Always interesting to read something from a villain's point of view.

"Mother" should probably begin with a capital "m" in the third paragraph as she is using it as a title.

The idea of Bellatrix needing somebody to take care of her... And it is so characteristic of her to dismiss anything that might detract from her opportunities to support Voldemort.

You've given us quite a bit of insight into the coldness of both Bellatrix and her father here. It even explains her actions a little if her father were that dictatorial and uncaring. And her casual consideration of how she felt she could kill him if she had to - well, it's pretty Bellatrix-like. It's like she's making a cold appraisal of which of them would win in a duel without any thought being given to the fact that they are father and daughter.

I was wondering why she agreed to marry. It seemed surprising that she would give in to her father when she had already considered that she could kill him, but I can see how marrying a loyal lieutenant of Voldemort's could increase her support and her position within the Death Eaters.

I think you have really captured Bellatrix's ruthlessness in this. It's not just that she considers killing both her father and future husband. It's how calm and matter of fact she is about it, as if killing is nothing to her.

 Report Review

Review #5, by MargaretLanea slow shattering: voice as thin as spider-silk

31st March 2016:
Really like the first paragraph. You can sort of feel her apprehension and confusion, as the doctors ask their questions.

That doctor's reaction to her saying "magpies" is pretty unprofessional.

Love the reference to Parvati's beauty living on.

That part about how being "crazy" completely defines her in the doctors' minds is sad, but very believable. Especially in the wizarding world, where they seem to be somewhat behind us when it comes to mental health, not that the Muggle world is exactly enlightened.

I also like the way you connect her fears to her love of Divination.

The long term effects of war on people generally seem to get written out of history. Ireland has been commemorating the 1916 Rising this week and the personalities seem to be divided into "those who died" - either immediately after the Rising or in the following War of Independence and Civil War - and "those who went on to lead the country." The idea it might have effected people long term tends to get ignored. I guess it's hard to fit into the heroism narrative. It's one thing to think somebody died to defeat somebody like the Death Eaters, another to think their entire life was blighted by it.

The reference to how badly she wanted to live during the war reminds me of something I read somewhere about how suicide rates often go down during wars, but rise afterwards.

The "d" on "doctor" when you say "Doctor Dave" should probably be capitalised because it's being used as a title.

I like her reaction to the word "survivor."

And now, I've finally caught up. Really like this story.

 Report Review

Review #6, by MargaretLanea slow shattering: dreams of fools' gold

30th March 2016:
Woops, I seem to have lost track of this story somewhere along the line. Time to start catching up now.

This may be a dialect thing, but I feel the first paragraph is slowed down a bit by more words than it needs. I'd be inclined to say something like "she's terrified, scared she'll still be in the Great Hall or her home. She's terrified the blank staring faces of her parents and little brother will be there to confront her or even worse, that Parvati will be there, sewn together in a macabre parody of her life."

You've also repeated a few words - she opens her eyes twice and you've used the word "terrified" twice.

Love the use of the word "keening".

That part where Lavender talks about how much she missed Parvati is so sad. Especially the line about how the dearest things in your life are taken away from you in nightmares.

You've misspelled "afraid" as "afriad" when she is talking about saying the names of Voldemort and Greyback.

Your portray the confusion in Lavender's mind so well. And the way the scene changes from one thing to another is very realistic for dreams.

I am really sorry for Lavender here. I hope she recovers and manages to move on with her life, but I imagine it will be difficult. She's been through an awful lot.

Sorry this review is a bit negative. I do like the chapter. The nitpicks just took more explaining that the stuff I liked.

 Report Review

Review #7, by MargaretLaneTyranny: Prologue: A New Dark Lord

29th March 2016:
This sounds like a really interesting premise. I've seen Voldemort wins stories, but never one in which Bellatrix ruled. In some ways, I think it would be worse than Voldemort, since she is so insane. He was pretty irrational at times, but there were also points, like the Battle of Hogwarts where he was willing to show leniency if he thought it beneficial. I doubt she would have given the Hogwarts staff the opportunity of handing Harry over. Or given Snape a second chance either, for that matter.

You've written "the body of both Harry Potter and Lord Voldemort." Since they don't share a body, I'm assuming it should be "bodies".

There is something cold about the way she ensures Harry is dead, which seems right for Bellatrix.

And *grins* I was thinking she wouldn't compromise and then she orders the decimation of the "blood traitors" at Hogwarts.

Love your characterisation of Lucius. He comes across as something of a contrast to Bellatrix here - far less fanatical. I think his reaction is very much in character and we seem to be seeing the beginning of a power play between him and Bellatrix. My immediate question when I saw that Bellatrix was about to take charge was what part Lucius would play - whether this would be after his defection or if she would have to gain control despite him. I doubt he'll take too kindly to playing second fiddle to her.

OK, her method of ensuring he doesn't challenge her wasn't one I expected, although I guess I should have.

That last comment to Narcissa is really an indication of her brutality - that she would be willing to kill her nephew in order to punish her sister. She clearly has no loyalty to anybody except Voldemort, which was already indicated in canon.

This is a really interesting story so far and I am really looking forward to seeing what happens and finding out if she can be defeated.

 Report Review

Review #8, by MargaretLaneDetermination: The First Day

29th March 2016:
Actually, it's just occurred to me this story isn't a bad one to be reading just after the Easter commemorations, as women did play a part in 1916 - Countess Markievicz was one of the leaders - and the Proclamation of the Irish Republic addressed men and women equally and is apparently unusual for its time in doing so. Countess Markievicz would become Minister for Labour in the illegal Dáil a few years later, but it would be many decades before another woman repeated that.

It also seems pretty characteristic of Augusta to achieve something like that and could help to explain why she was so demanding of Neville.

*laughs at her response about not asking her husband*

UGH, that idea that a woman getting a position is likely to have gotten it because of her gender whereas if a profession is 90% male, well, that's not indicative the men got the positions because of their gender at all is so annoying.

Hmm, that last part is interesting. It sounds like there may be more going on here than is already apparent.

Good start to the story.

 Report Review

Review #9, by MargaretLaneGrave upon Grave: Grave upon Grave

29th March 2016:
I'd have liked to read this yesterday, after I got home from the commemoration ceremonies in Dublin, but it was late and I had to unpack and stuff, so I didn't have much time. It seems sort of appropriate that it was posted on Easter Monday.

The title reminds me of Yeats' poem, "Easter 1916," where he talks about "murmur name upon name."

I really like the introductory paragraphs. The present tense really seems to work for the story somehow.

Yikes, that part about how the narrator is not alive and how they fear they will live is emotive.

And that is an interesting way to use the quote. I had expected it to be used in a positive way, but it really does work as propaganda and in fact, you could easily argue the original was propaganda as Pearse planned for revolution.

"Grandparents" is all one word.

I am now wondering exactly what is going on in the background to this story and how and why the Death Eaters returned. You've intrigued me as to what is going on.

There should be a comma before Lily's name when Lorcan says, "we have to fight, Lily."

I really liked this story. It sort of questions whether the fight is really worth it and whether victory is even possible. And it's hardly surprising Lily wants to give up if all her family have been killed.

Great story.

Author's Response: Squeee.thank you so much. I really struggled to work out what to do with the quote but I was determined not to change it and to get such a lovely review from you has just totally made my day.

I didn't really know what to call this but I had to get it posted and this was about the best I had. It came from the image in my mind of Lily seeing all her families graves lined up side by side.

While I struggled a little with how to use the quote, when the idea formed, it did come quite easily. Working in first person helped with this because I could look at the scene through Lily's eyes and see the things she saw and the small details she was fixated on in her emotional state, like the moss. The line from Lily about 'not being alive' was one of the earliest thoughts I had for her character and everything flowed from here.

I see the quote as propaganda, whether to encourage people to fight or to honour those who fought. Lily can see through it though. She has nothing left and no words from the Ministry will bring back the world she's lost.

Thanks for the corrections. I didn't have time to get a beta (I'm away through April) so I had to rely on my own somewhat suspect self beta skills.

The world I created for Lily is not a happy one. You're right that Lily is wondering if the fight is worth it. She struggles to keep going, falls into a dark abyss, but Lorcan manages to bring her back and encourages her on with the small hope that one day it might end.

Thanks so much for the review and for the challenge. It tested me and took my writing out of it's comfort zone which is what I need.

Jacqui.


 Report Review

Review #10, by MargaretLaneAlbus Potter and the Chosen Four: The First Day (And Night)

21st March 2016:
Oh wow, I totally missed that this was updated. I'm really pleased because, as you know, I'm pretty curious about a fair few things.

Oooh, that part where Albus is beginning to wonder if Slytherins other than Snape fought against Voldemort is kind of interesting. I wonder if you are leading up to something here. Not sure WHAT exactly, but perhaps a Slytherin who fought against Voldemort will be relevant or perhaps Albus will befriend somebody in Slytherin now.

By the way, I think you have a space before the apostrophe in "Snape's" when you are talking about how he contrasts with the stereotype of Slytherin house.

Oooh, this new teacher seems kind of interesting. I wonder if the "satanic grin" means he's going to be a nasty character or if it's a red herring.

I also wonder if he could possibly be some relation of Harry's or something. After all, we don't know anything about James's family.

Poor Flitwick. I really like the way you indicate he's still suffering (although we don't know for sure if it's because of what happened the previous year or if he knows something else that Albus doesn't). I always like it when characters show some reaction to what they have been through.

Hmm, you've now started me wondering about Albus's skill with non-verbal spells. I assumed you just meant it as characterisation - everybody has some skills and some weaknesses after all - and maybe as something that would later help him to defeat or escape from the villains, but now I'm wondering if there is more to it. It DOES appear rather unusual.

Oooh, I really like the reference to how wizards contribute to damage to the environment. That stuff about the war makes sense.

Three friends is fairly average at that age, I'd say. From my own memories of being a young teenager, most people hung around in groups of between 2 and 5. It was really only when we got to about the age of 15 or 16 that people started hanging out with different groups at different times. I guess it might be a bit different at a boarding school, where you are with classmates all day, but I still wouldn't class it as anything unusual. Harry really only had two friends his first four or five years. It wasn't until Order of the Phoenix that he started to befriend Neville, Ginny and Luna.

*grins at the prefect being too tired to bother punishing them* Pretty realistic really.

I'm a bit confused. Albus said Marc was Muggleborn, but then Marc talks about his mother being Muggleborn, indicating he's at least half-blood. If it's still Marc talking then. It's not really clear.

I am really intrigued as to what David is hiding.

 Report Review

Review #11, by MargaretLaneUnfair: An Accident

21st March 2016:
Poor Scorpius. He really is the obvious target for suspicion when odd things happen, isn't he? Honestly, I think the kid could well have a pretty tough time at Hogwarts, as the Death Eater types would probably see the Malfoys as traitors and virtually everybody else would see them as having managed to trick their way out of punishment for Death Eater involvement not once, but twice now.

Oh, I like your portrayal of Albus and Rose. It's interesting to see them portrayed in something of a negative light.

And good for Madame Bell, realising there is more going on here.

"Professors" should have a small "p" when Scorpius is talking about them hating him as it's mid-sentence and not being used as a title.

LOVE the fact that Neville is one of the few who doesn't treat the trio's kids as something special. Being a friend of theirs and having looked up to them so much in his childhood, it would probably be even harder for him to be strict with their kids (incidentally, I HATE teaching the kids of people I know), but given his own difficulties as a teen/preteen and the inner courage that was gradually revealed, it does make a lot of sense.

I wonder if Harry knows how Albus and Rose are behaving. Given the bullying he underwent at the hands of Dudley and his friends, I'd imagine he'd be horrified to think of his son behaving that way.

I am utterly amazed at how much writing you manage to do.

 Report Review

Review #12, by MargaretLaneRainbow: House Elves

18th March 2016:
*laughs* My immediate thought was that the whole "master" and "mistress" thing was a little overly servile. I can well imagine Hermione disliking it.

Yikes, stuff like audiobooks and so on not being available at Hogwarts does make his life more difficult. You'd think there'd be some way of enchanting books so they would either "speak" for him or else convert to and from braille.

I can definitely see problems with Kordy acting as a scribe. It's one thing for Hugo's schoolwork, but when it comes to his stories...he wouldn't necessarily want Kordy hearing them before they've been perfected. Or even at all necessarily.

Rose seems to have improved a lot. And that means she might improve even more as more time passes.

Rose wanting to be a rainbow reminds me of that children's story/play where all the colours are arguing about who is most important and then in the end they all join together to form a rainbow.

Hugo as a grumpy old man is sort of...fitting in a way.

This is getting...a little St. Patrick's dayish.

*grins at Kordy's attitude to being free* And I really like the way you filled in the details about what happens to house elves who are released from cruel masters and what they learn as children and so on.

Hugo seems pretty mature as a writer, for his age. I mean, the way he tries to give the master a balanced character rather than making him cruel or completely perfect.

 Report Review

Review #13, by MargaretLaneRainbow: Communication

27th February 2016:
Finally getting around to reading this. By the time you posted it, I was sort of at "should get back to correcting" time, since yeah, want to get as many as possible done this weekend.

Oh my gosh, this is appropriate. *bounces* News from our polling stations is on in the background. Last I heard, there were 30 seats filled.

As to splitting the vote, Fianna Fáil seem to be regretting worrying too much about that. They only ran one candidate in a lot of constituencies, but they did so much better than expected that it looks as if they COULD have got two through in some of those if they ran them.

Oooh, I never thought of a house elf accompanying Hugo to Hogwarts. That is really interesting. It's sort of like a special needs assistant.

And I think it is interesting that Hermione has clearly modified her attitude about house elves. Which is good. Her attitude at Hogwarts is rather patronising - I know what's best for them. Here, she seems to be trying to work with them to allow them to continue working while getting better conditions. It makes sense because her attitude at Hogwarts was quite typically "teenage."

LOVE the way Hugo points out that "trying won't make Rose better." This "everything works out if you just try hard enough" attitude bothers me. I'm not against encouraging people, but it does kind of imply that if things DON'T work out, you've done something wrong and sometimes things just don't work out and it's nobody's fault.

*laughs at Hugo's question about when they'll be walking between cones in real life*

*also laughs at him being angry with Mr. Huddleson because "he's an idiot"*

It is a really difficult situation. Somebody has to take care of Rose and neither Hermione nor Ron strikes me as really suited to remaining at home all day looking after a disabled child. Neither of them really has the patience and Hermione is too ambitious. She'd end up resenting Rose for holding her career back and Ron...well, I think he'd find it difficult to be as responsible as Rose would need him to be 24/7.

 Report Review

Review #14, by MargaretLaneFall Apart: I

18th December 2015:
I don't feel I gave you much of a review in our last swap, so I went looking for something else to review to try and make up for that.

Love the first sentence. It really throws us straight into the story and gives us an indication of how George is feeling.

I can DEFINITELY imagine things being pretty confusing for a lot of people in the immediate aftermath of the war. After all, it SHOULD be a time of celebration - wizarding Britain is free, Voldemort is gone, the Muggleborns will be able to resume their rightful place in society and so on - but SO many people have lost relatives or spent the last year being abused or tortured or been injured or traumatised and it's not like you can just say, "OK, we're free now. Doesn't matter that we've been injured/lost people close to us, etc."

The idea that there is no good for George without Fred is so sad, but it does make a lot of sense. Their whole lives were intertwined with each other - raised in the same home, together from the day of their birth, attended school together, worked together, shared a bedroom, a dorm room and then a flat. And it must be so weird for him even to continue inventing spells for the shop when it seems like they always did that together in the past.

LOVE that part about how he can't stand to look in a mirror, because it looks as if Fred is looking back at him. Poor George.

*grins at him reading the message on the mirror backwards* Sounds like something George might do actually. He seems like the sort of person who might be into codes and stuff and might think of trying something like that. Bet he and Fred created a few codes themselves in their time.

Love the way he looks for the things that distinguish them, since there are bound to be some and the books never make it seem that way.

I actually thought he might see himself and Fred standing together when he looked in the mirror.

Oh gosh, that "why didn't you take me with you?" part is both really sad and slightly concerning. And the concerning element is confirmed a little later when he talks about having considered it.

*grins at the part where Fred seems to be thinking the exact same thing*

This is a REALLY minor formatting thing, but there's no line break between this paragraph: "George slowed as soon as the first piece of glass fell to the floor, revealing the black wood that the glass had been against, a darkness he was constantly encased in" and the next.

The last line made me grin. It's just so Fred and George. And I love the fact he can bring it home and have a reminder of Fred forever.

Author's Response: Awww that's fine, I don't mind *hugs*

Oh this story broke my heart writing it, and I felt like such a horrible person for doing it.

I would have been confused about what to do in the aftermath too. I think that they all just felt so lost afterwards.

I hate imagining Fred and George seperated, they've spent their life doing practically everything together and it's heartbreaking to see George just completely lost makes me cry :(

Thank you, I couldn't help but imagine that he would. I know that I would.

*sniff* I think that we just need to hug to get through this pain together. :(

Whoops! Thank you, I shall edit that at some point. :S haha

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by MargaretLaneRisk It All: You'll Regret This

16th December 2015:
Hmm, the summary of this story is a little intriguing.

The beginning of this story does a great job of introducing the characters and situation without making it seem contrived. We learn a lot about the characters - that she is a singer and he a Quidditch star and that they are something of a "celebrity couple."

Gosh, that is a pretty appalling thing to do - just send divorce papers without even TELLING her he wanted a divorce. In my country (Ireland), you have to be separated for four years before you can divorce, so this is a scenario that could not happen here.

Yeah, it would cause CHAOS if they cancelled the concert at that point. Fair play to her for going ahead for the fans.

Love her dedicating that song to him.

Author's Response: Thank you :D Yep, they're a celebrity couple, I haven't read many stories like that myself and I wanted to have them both be equals at the beginning of this story. I had only really read stories where it was the Potters that had the fame and I wanted to have a famous OC.

Oh yes, James is about to be in for a whole lot of pain when she gets home, he's so heartless.

There are going to be many more songs dedicated to him in the future :D

Thank you for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by MargaretLaneTis The Season: All I Want For Christmas

13th December 2015:
Advent Calendar, Day 12 review.

I really ought to read some more of your stuff anyway. It's just that you update so FAST.

Do they drink eggnog in Britain?

I'd say that party could get awkward, considering how many people there are likely to have relatives in Azkaban and the tensions there are likely to be between those who still support Death Eater ideas and those who've realised how dangerous they are.

Should be "parents' mistakes," and not "parent's mistakes," since most of them have two parents.

Poor Draco. I find the question of how he coped after the war intriguing. Considering he was forced to attempt murder, threatened with his own death and that of his parents, spent a year watching people being killed and tortured, saw a close friend die and learnt that the man he'd been raised to idolise was actually a cruel tyrant who was willing to sacrifice Draco himself and his entire family, it seems likely to me that he would be suffering from PTSD or at least some psychological effects of trauma.

LOVE the description of Theodore Nott. He's a character you can do a lot with as we know little about him except that his family were involved with the Death Eaters.

The same is true of Pansy and I REALLY like the way you've made her one of those who has learnt how dangerous the pureblood ideology is, as she's usually stereotyped as a shallow bully.

I also really like the way you've given Daphne and Astoria such different personalities and views.

You've written "the clocks ticking," when it should be "the clock's ticking."

Hmm, Daphne seems to have a lot of control over Astoria. I am now wondering about their parents, as Daphne seems almost in loco parentis over Astoria. Maybe their parents are among those jailed after the war or something. And I now think that would make quite an interesting story - young adult children of Death Eaters trying to cope with the aftermath of their parents' arrests.

And ooh, the dark of Malfoy Manor really indicates how its inhabitants have been affected by the war. And you now have me wondering where Lucius and Narcissa are. Is Lucius in Azkaban, serving out the remainder of the sentence he managed to escape partway through? Or are they just too traumatised to care about celebrating? Intriguing.

 Report Review

Review #17, by MargaretLaneRainbow: National Concerns

21st November 2015:
Yeah, not sure that either Hermione or Ron is really suited to being a long-term stay at home parent. Thought Hermione doing it out of principle is characteristic.

Shouldn't it be "anymore" rather than "any more" when she talks about how Hugo and Rose aren't babies now?

Love the reference to Mrs. Weasley's long prattle. It just seems so characteristic somehow.

Must be quite a dilemma for wizarding parents - whether to send their children to Muggle schools or not. After the war, I can see parents like the Weasleys (and ESPECIALLY Hermione) worrying about the effects of segregation, but then, at Muggle school, the kids will be sort of caught between two worlds and there will be large parts of their life they'll have to hide from their classmates. No ideal solution.

*laughs at Hugo pointing out that his classmates wouldn't SEE his baby photos*

Oooh and I LOVE the part about how they thought they could predict the future.

That part about taking more photos reminded me of Fidelma's comment about her last Christmas with her mum. Sort of a reminder not to take anything for granted.

Love the soap-type programme.

Beatrice Flint must be young enough to be running for such a position.

The International Confederation sounds a bit like an ideal version of the U.N.

*rolls eyes at the comment about "forced political correctness"* Yeah, forcing equality and respect for others is SUCH a problem.

Harriet Mitchell sounds all right. Henry, I don't really know about.

Poor Hugo. I can understand why he'd be conflicted. Both of his parents having stressful jobs would be problematic, but at the same time, he wants to support his mother.

Author's Response: Yeah, Hermione did it out of principle but having kind of moved on she hates the idea of returning to that for the forseeable future. I don't blame her.

Yeah probably... but I hate "anymore" so...

Yes, Fidelma's photo comment probably put the idea in my head so it popped out when I got to that bit of the chapter.

Yup, well we have to have a bit of variety in this wizarding TV stuff... :P

Changed Beatrice's relationship to Marcus to make the age make more sense. Cheers for pointing that out.

And yes, how terrible, people having to be polite and civil to each other...

I like Harriet too.

And yeah, poor Hugo. I like setting up situations with no clean solution (but then even if there was one, you think I'd take it? :P)

*huggles* Thank you for the review!

~Leo xx


 Report Review

Review #18, by MargaretLaneAn Inspector Calls: The Starving Artist

20th November 2015:
All the conversions sound confusing. And of course, if this is 2003, Muggles are still adapting to euro and the fact the exchange rate is no longer close enough with sterling.

Tuts about Dean's reference to Muggle football. He could start a good argument over that in Kerry. After all, they are about the best team in the country when it comes to GAELIC Football.

 Report Review

Review #19, by MargaretLaneAn Inspector Calls: Prologue

19th November 2015:
*laughs at the Ministry pretending Kenmare doesn't exist* An Irish solution and all that!

And surprise, surprise, Irish education more interested in academic achievement than anything practical. Guess this is what you get when a country's freedom was first proclaimed by a bunch of poets and teachers (and teachers continue to be the largest group in its parliament).

Coincidentally, Leonore and I have started a fanfiction about the Irish Ministry and one of the members is called Neil Callaghan. Not the actual Minister of Magic though.

And *grins* Expelling students from Muggle schools in Ireland is...difficult.

Getting into a Muggle college without the Leaving Cert. would be...tricky. Other things are taken into account if you're over 23 when applying, but I'm pretty sure you still need to HAVE the Leaving.

Oooh, the end sounds rather intriguing. Wonder what's going to happen now.

 Report Review

Review #20, by MargaretLaneDelicate Delacour: Fragile

27th October 2015:
Since the story I reviewed is relatively short, I thought I'd do a second one.

Love the part about her always dressing as if she were meeting the Prime Minister. Actually, this is barely relevant, but the SCENES when our President visited the UK. He traveled by coach and all; it was like a fairytale coach. I REALLY wonder what he made of it. It made their Queen's visit to Ireland look very laid back and that was Ireland at its absolute most formal.

I REALLY like the part about her thriving on other people's jealousy. For a moment, I thought this was going to get kind of cliched - beautiful girl, bullied through jealousy - but her reaction is far from the stereotypical one.

And I LOVE the way war has marked her. I think I probably mentioned before how that's something I have to take care not to overlook, as it's so long since Ireland has been at war - well, the Republic.

And of course Cedric's death must have horrified her. It could so easily have been her.

This is VERY nit-picky, but the "until he's recovered some" sounds a little slangy for such serious news. Something like "until he's had some more time to recover" or "until he begins to recover" would seem to fit the context better.

The last line makes me smile. I LOVE the way Fleur shows her depth of character when Bill is attacked.

 Report Review

Review #21, by MargaretLaneThe Decision: Chapter 1

27th October 2015:
LOVE the idea of this story. I always feel Peter Pettigrew is judged very harshly, even more harshly than those who joined the Death Eaters because they really thought Muggleborns didn't deserve to live or just took pleasure in hurting people or to advance their own social and political position.

Love the description of the Order of the Phoenix as "an underground group". And I LOVE Bathilda's comment. It sounds so like something I'd imagine her saying.

Yeah, I love a lot already.

It makes absolutely no sense that James or Lily didn't act as Secret Keeper themselves. They put two people - Sirius AND Peter at an unnecessary risk. I know it was just because it had to happen that way for plot reasons and J.K. Rowling may not even have considered that the person could act as Secret Keeper themselves until it came up again later in the series. But it's one of the things that really seems out of place.

I really like the insight you give into his relationships with James, Sirius, Remus and Lily. It's really in character for Lily to stand up for him, like she did for Severus. She seemed to disapprove of James and Sirius's bullying tendencies. Mind you, so did Remus, but he was so grateful to them for not rejecting them that he didn't seem able to SAY that.

It must have taken a lot of courage for him to approach Voldemort like that. Though I guess he was more scared of the alternative, so it was simply a case of choosing the least frightening scenario.

I really like the way you include Voldemort's skill at Legilimency. It's clear Peter doesn't want to hurt anybody. He just doesn't see another way out. What he does is wrong, but it's hard to judge him for it.

The part where Voldemort says he wants to see the baby reminds me of Herod's attempt to trick the three wise men in the Bible. Not sure if you meant that or not, but it really does work.

Not sure he'd call Harry a Mudblood though. I thought that was an insult for Muggleborns and Harry is half-blood.

I really like this story and I think you did a really good job of getting into the head of a character you disliked so much. Not sure I could do that for Scrimgeour or Umbridge.

 Report Review

Review #22, by MargaretLaneRainbow: An Outsider

26th October 2015:
Hmm, Hugo doesn't like physical contact, has a temper and likes writing. Remind you of anyone?

Used to see a really young deaf girl returning to boarding school when I was at college. Must be so tough. AND on their parents.

That part about Hugo looking forward to leaving home is so sad.

Hugo and sarcasm!

*is amused by the way Callaghan makes a game of finding his room*

Part about not exactly being a career politician reminds me of tbe Seanad where we need a few Callaghans instead of just failed politicians.

I think that breathing thing would REALLY annoy me.

LOVE the idea of there being pianos at Hogwarts. I guess it's hardly surprising.

And I'd say a lot of Draoithe meetings are memorable. Not always for the right reasons.

Those comments about how much he wants to avoid and how he's out of tbe habit of talki g are SAD. Poor Hugo.

Author's Response: Yeah, I've a funny feeling I know someone like that, but I can't think who...

*grins* Sarcasm... remind you of anyone?

Callaghan is just awesome. Everyone and everything needs Callaghans.

And the breathing thing would annoy you because you wouldn't benefit from it. I think I mentioned at the time, for someone like Hugo - who is very tense and sitting kind of hunched and physically closed up - it actually does help a bit. An extreme example - would you encourage someone to breathe slow and steady and tell them they're safe and OK if everything was normal? But if they were having a panic attack, you would, because it might actually help.

I think everything's at Hogwarts if you know where to look.

Draoithe meetings tend to be VERY memorable, yes! Poor Claire...

Love you! *hugs* ♥

~Leo xx


 Report Review

Review #23, by MargaretLaneSummerbee: Summerbee

26th October 2015:
OK, I had to find out a little more about Summerbee.

Poor Lucy. I'm not quite sure whether Summerbee is going to help her or make things worse. So far they don't seem to be doing a great job of figuring out what's going on in her head, but then we only have it from her point of view and it's possible they understand more than she realises.

It doesn't really sound like Norah expects to get out.

And I LOVE the idea of where you got the name of institute.

Author's Response: I like to think the doctors/nurses understand more than she realizes. She's got teenager brain and teenagers tend to think no one could possibly understand them. ;) That might be an overgeneralization but it certainly described me as a teenager.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving a review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by MargaretLaneThem: Them

26th October 2015:
Here for the review swap. Oooh, psychopathy. Sounds intriguing.

Hmm, immediate impression: this is set in a psychiatric ward and James is James Potter II.

Well, I'm right about which James it was anyway.

Hmm, I wonder who Nadia's daughter is. It's possible she's the one who sent the note. But that's far from certain.

*works out how old James and Lily are* Harry had Lily 10 years after he left Hogwarts, so he'd have been about 28. That means she's only about 12. She seems very mature for her age, reassuring a brother 3/4 years older than her. And I wonder where Albus is. Maybe he'd just in a different house than them or just happened not to be with them when James read the note.

Poor Ginny. I actually haven't seen many stories where she is badly effected by the war, but she did basically suffer abuse under the Carrows, so it's not really surprising.

Rowle. This begins to make sense. It's a bit of a coincidence actually because my Halloween story from last year included a character called Rowle who might or might not have been a villain.

AH! That explains why Albus isn't part of the discussion above, because the note is in his handwriting. If he DID write it, I wonder why. If not, was somebody imitating his handwriting and why? Hmm.

Albus seems a pretty scary character here. More so than Soleil in a way. I think it is understandable to some degree that she would feel hatred towards the man who killed her father. The way Albus holds his brother's gaze...I don't know. It just seems odd.

Seven seems YOUNG to diagnose a child as a psychopath.

The term "doctor" doesn't seem to be used in the wizarding world, so I would expect the character who diagnoses Soleil to be called a Healer.

Oooh, that part about Albus being nothing like his father is creepy.

Al spent time in Summerbee? Oooh, this gets more and more intriguing.

Oooh, that part about the people actually appearing at the end is creepy.

I really like the ending. And am somewhat intrigued both as to how things go from here and as to what issues Albus has and what drove him to the point of thinking killing his father was an option.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for reviewing as you read. That's actually exactly the kind of feedback I wanted. *squee*

You've mentioned a couple of things that I need to go back and fix. The first is Lily's age. I'm so bad at math, but I was trying to make her 14 in this piece. So that she's old enough to comfort him, but still too naive to be as worried as James. That would make Harry 42? I'll fix that.

Soleil is Thorfinn Rowle's daughter. Thorfinn was one of the Death Eaters that attacked Harry and co. in the Muggle cafe.

When Soleil is seven and the doctor (which I need to switch to Healer--thanks for catching that!) suggests psychopathy, he's not diagnosing her. He's just suggesting it as an option, which is why she's not actually taken to Summerbee until she's almost 12. I imagine they did some major observation/therapy in the meantime and finally came to that conclusion.

I'm glad you're wondering where things go from here. I left the ending open so that you could imagine. Harry Potter may or may not be dead--and that decision is up to you. ;)

Thanks again for reading and pointing out some of those issues. I'm going back in to fix them now.


 Report Review

Review #25, by MargaretLaneRenegade: 2

30th September 2015:
*laughs* I once referred to a student as "Eoghan eile", "eile" being the Irish word for "other".

This may be a character speech thing, but you've written "he thought it would be good for Mark and I" when it should be "Mark and me."

I was wondering if one of the Weasleys was autistic when Dominique said that. I like the reference to a French cousin though. Sometimes it seems like none of the Weasleys interact with anybody on the other sides of their families. I'm probably somewhat guilty of that in my stories, to be honest.

Dominique seems pretty cool here. It's always interesting to see how characters like her that we know NOTHING about are portrayed.

Like the detail about her asking him to stay with her because of the chaos.

*grins* I was sort of expecting Ravenclaw*

Good chapter. I like these characters.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>