Reading Reviews From Member: leannemariesnape
  
243 Reviews Found

Review #26, by leannemariesnapeSnow White: My Insanity's End.

4th September 2011:
I love this story. It is very dark, and sucks you into the story, which is great! I loved your character of Hesper also and I'd love to read more about her. Well done! This story is definately going in favourites! :D
Leanne

 Report Review

Review #27, by leannemariesnapeHues of the heart, house and home.: Colours

3rd September 2011:
This is a very clever story! The colours were well explained and put into a context that I have never really thought of before. I liked how Godric and Salazar are quipping at one another, and the reference to Jesus being sold out for silver. It was a very good touch! I also really liked how the language of the story was old fashioned- it was really nice, but at the same time, it was still easy to read! Plus, the banner is absoloutely stunning!

Well done on this story! XD

Leanne

Author's Response: thank you so much. this is a lovely review and I am so happy that you found it a nice story to read. I am also blown away by the banner, completely unexpected.
Thanks, this has brightened my day


 Report Review

Review #28, by leannemariesnapeSplinch: Not much ado about nothing

2nd September 2011:
Review 5/5!

This was an interesting chapter! I liked seeing Rose taking the lead with Quidditch. I liked how she acted showing that she is clearly a natural leader!

And, ooh! What a twist with the DADA teacher! Just from her description I had a feeling it was going to be an Umbridge of some form! I'm surprised she got a job considering her background! Haha. No spelling or grammar problems!

Well done!

Leanne

 Report Review

Review #29, by leannemariesnapeSplinch: Happenings

2nd September 2011:
Hi! Review 4/5!

This was interesting! I really like the idea of a prefect common room, and I can just imagine all of them in the common room, discussing their prefectly duties, and such! XD. I like that Hermione has a book! I was like- Yay! haha. So, what was the voice she was hearing? Curious...

Charity Longbottom seems pretty cool, too- like a bit of a rebel! I love seeing paternal Neville! Very cool! I don't think there was any spelling or grammar mistakes, therefore, well done on this!

Leanne

 Report Review

Review #30, by leannemariesnapeSplinch: Train Journey

2nd September 2011:
Hi there! Review 3/5!

This was a strong start to your story. I liked the initial introduction of Lorcan, as he seems very different from his mother, but at the same time, familiar because of the Quibbler stuff, etc. I liked the conversation between the groups also. I think it was very natural, and I could imagine that conversation happening.

The next thing I will bring up is my own personal opinion, and therefore, should not be taken to heart. (Just wanted to state that ^^ ) In my opinion, there are a few stereotypes around, for example Molly and Lucy being formal and geeky like their Dad, and also a bit of a stereotype for James and the other cousins to have a reputation for being prankers, which I think you have here. I don't think it's a bad thing, but I think it is something to think about when writing a next-gen story. However, this is only the very beginning of the story, so I could be proved completely wrong here!

There are also a couple of spelling errors, but a quick edit should easily sort those out!

As I said, you have a very promising start to this story, so well done!

Leanne

P.S- I hope I didn't seem mean or harsh- it's just my opinion :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by leannemariesnapeThe many layers of Biscotti: Beginning the batter

2nd September 2011:
Hi! Here with review 2/5! Firstly, I want to say how truly sorry I am for the delay in the reviews! I have no excuse, so feel free to shout at me, or poke me, or whatever XD

This was plain adorable! I loved how Ron related food of all things to their engagement! It is just such a Ron thing to do! haha. Anyway, I loved the interraction between the two of them- still a little hesitant even though they are best friends and soulmates. I think every man must have a little bit of doubt in their mind when they ask the woman they love to marry them, so I think that you tackled the engagement very well. As far as I could tell, there weren't any spelling or grammar mistakes, either, so well done! XD

Leanne

 Report Review

Review #32, by leannemariesnapeQuidditch, Nerves, and Charms : This is what you would call

2nd September 2011:
This was adorable! You captured Ginny's emotions really well, and I loved the interaction between Harry and Ginny. It was so cute! XD It was really well written, and I don't think I saw any spelling and grammar mistakes. Well done! As I said, this is adorable! Well done on this! XD

Leanne

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, that makes me super happy!! I love writing Harry and Ginny they make wish I was in love.
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #33, by leannemariesnapeNever Giving Up: I will always be in love with you

2nd September 2011:
Aww. This is a cute little one-shot, and I'm a little surprised it doesn't have more reviews! I really liked the way that you wrote the grief of the family, and I think that it was done tastefully. The characterisation of Ginny was good, however, I wasn't sure about when you said Harry saw tears in Ginny's eyes after she kissed him. I didn't think that actually happened in the book, did it? (hmm. Maybe I need to re-read!)

I thought that it was a really nice ending, and I loved how Ginny brought out his romantic side. The kiss was just like, "aaah" and cut through Ginny's grief over Fred.

Well done on such a cute fic! XD

Leanne

Author's Response: When Ron busts in the door, Ginny turned away and Harry notices that she looked near tears. He couldn't do anything to comfort her while Ron was around so he just left.

I have every Harry and Ginny scene committed to memory, so if I got something wrong. I would kill myself!

Ginny totally brings Harry's romantic side. Are you kidding me, that's why he's the

BEST EFFING BOYFRIEND EVER!!!

Hee.

I'm glad you liked it, that made me really happy!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #34, by leannemariesnapeWhat's Meant To Be: Dawn

30th August 2011:
This is a great start! I really liked the beginning that you have. Sirius' and Snape's characterisation is very well done and in character, the same as James and Lily, who are also well done in this. I'm not sure whether Remus would say "Snivellus" however, that's just my opinion- what do I know?! Also, where is Peter?

It is really well written, and you've hooked me into the story. I really look forwards to reading the next chapters, and can't wait to see what Sirius writes!

As I said, this is really good, and if this is your first fanfiction, then I can safely say that you have a bright future in writing fanfiction. Well done! ^^

Leanne :)

Author's Response: Thanks Leanne!

That is a fair point about Remus saying 'Snivellus' and now I think about it-
you're probably right!
As for Peter, I don't really know enough about his character to include him in the context of the story, I just think of him as there somewhere in the background.

Thank you soo much for taking time to write this review and I hope you enjoy the rest! :)


 Report Review

Review #35, by leannemariesnapeLiaison: Liaison

30th August 2011:
Hiya! I'm here with your review :)
This was an interesting pairing, that I've never really thought about before. I wouldn't say that I'm a fan of Lavender in any way, but you made me like her and care about how she felt. The giggling was a little bit annoying, but I know that was the intention, and it also kept her in character, because she would be irritating at times, I'm sure.

I also dislike Blaise for doing this to Lavender! He's messing her around, and she's just letting him! The ending was sad, and just shows how much Blaise is massing around with her and at the same time, how Pansy will probably forgive him.

I really tried to find some things to give crit on, and the only thing I could find was this sentence: " wasnít having it. She wasnít having any of this. How could he sit there and just deny them, their relationship. If he had just gotten up and had talked to her." Talked should be spoken. But it didn't take away from the story at all.

An interesting pairing, you handled it really well and I like what you've done with it. I also really like the banner. ^^

Leanne :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by leannemariesnapeDecimated Dreams: Little Love Notes, Sexual Desires

29th August 2011:
Wow. This is a great start. It was really well written and full of emotion and description. It was amazing! I look forwards to reading the next chapter because this story looks really interresting! Plus, it wasn't over the top. :)

Leanne

Author's Response: Heya. Oh wow, I'm so pleased you like it already! : D Thanks very much! Enjoy the rest I hope!

Rachel


 Report Review

Review #37, by leannemariesnapeGlass: Glass

29th August 2011:
This was really nice to read. I loved it. I really liked the changes in the scenes and I also liked the pairings. I enjoyed reading about the bitterness and how Pansy gave up her secrecy.

It was really nice to read and I found myself absorbed into the story. There is not nearly enough femmeslash around and so I was glad I read this when someone gave me a reccomendation for it. Well done. :)

Leanne

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I can't believe someone recommended it, that pretty much made my day :D I'm glad you enjoyed it. I don't normally read femmeslash (in fact, I don't think I've actually read one...) so this was a bit of experimental writing for me. I enjoyed writing it so I'm glad you liked it :) Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #38, by leannemariesnapeTrust in Me: Trust in Me

25th August 2011:
This was really gorgeous.Honestly. Femme-slash is a seriously underrated thing on HPFF, so it was lovely to read this. I liked the backstory to Gabby, which I thought showed effectively why her character was like it was- for example, her lack of trust for people. I liked the pairing of the two, also. It was really well written and didn't go over the top. Her thought process was good to- e.g. the I'm not a "lesbian"- I'm gay thing for example, because I have a lot of friends that feel like that, so it was nice to read. The ending was really bittersweet, with Fleur being diagnosed with cancer and Gabby being the one to comfort her. It was just really lovely to read. It was also flawless in grammar and spelling. I can't find anything to criticise. It was just beautiful. :')

Leanne

Author's Response: I agree -- femmeslash is rather underrated. But often, there's a reason why: a lot of femmeslash stories portray canon characters as OOC because they're actually canonically straight. Thankfully, Dominique is canonically unknown re her sexual orientation :D

I'm glad you liked Gabby's backstory and the pairing. And you thought it was well written? Thank you very much.

I wasn't sure how to end it, and I'm really happy you liked how I chose to end it. I plan on writing a sequel to that, although if you're curious as to what eventually happens to Gabby and Dominique, I've written a sort-of sequel, Blood and Roses. The pairing is primarily Scorose, but Dominique/Gabby feature rather heavily in it.

I'm so, so pleased this story's got a good reception on HPFF. It's been giving me a lot of grief, tbh. And I honestly don't know if it's good or not, even with the response on HPFF.

Thank you for the lovely review and I hope to see you again soon :)

~Soraya~


 Report Review

Review #39, by leannemariesnapeThis is Us: This is Us

23rd August 2011:
This was a really bittersweet fic to read, and I really enjoyed it. You began very strongly by describing the attic and the character at that moment in time. It helped to draw me in as a reader, making me want to read on. I also liked how they didnít meet and like one another immediately, because letís be honest, people rarely keep the friendships they make in their first year of ďsecondaryĒ school in reality, do they? It was a very cute meeting however. You develop the characters personalities and also their chemistry almost immediately. The pushy Eric and the slightly more reluctant Aidrian, which was very cute to read. I think you have a talent for description, as I could almost imagine being at Hogsmeade as the fire, and the torturing of the woman, and Ericís attack on the woman. (Out of interest, was that Bellatrix?) I could just see Hogsmeade in flames and the panicked people. Well done on that. Another thing that I really liked were the unspoken things in the story, for example, the ďItís not really youĒ itís your blood status line. I thought it was c lever to add that in because it was something that both were aware of but neither wanted to say. I must admit I was surprised and touched what Adrian did for his friend at the end of it all, and I think it said a lot about the depth of their friendship. I was glad that they made up when they did also. The ending was nice and it brought the story back into context and rounded it off nicely. If I could say one thing to criticise about it, it is that I found it difficult keeping up with which character you were talking about at some points, but it wasnít really a factor that really distracted me at all. I think that you created two very good characters, who seem realistic, and would fit into JKRís world, in my opinion. So yeah, in conclusion, there isnít much I think you need to improve on this fic, other than the general flow thing that I mentioned.

Leanne :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing!

I'm so glad you liked the beginning. It was the part of the story that really got me started (some might say "duh!") and gave me the idea. The kitchen scene was another thing that I just thought of spur of the moment- I definitely agree that people rarely meet all their friends on the first day.

I'm glad I developped (or at least showed) their personalities well. I was really worried about that, since I rarely create a completely new character.

I'm so glad you feel that way about my description. Sometimes it will just flow and other times it feels a little forced... I'm glad it turned out well in this story. I kept trying to read and reread it to help the flow. And yes, that was Bellatrix. :)

Yeah, there were some issues that I didn't want to express, because they were really sensitive (not to me, but in the characters' lives) and I'm so glad you think it was well done. As well, I'm glad (I'm saying this a lot, aren't I?) that Adrian's sacrifice worked out well. It was the possibility that worked the best for me when I was thinking about why Eric would feel so guilty, and, as you said, showed the depth of their friendship.

I will go back and try to clear up the characters- when you're writing in third person about two male characters, it can get a little confusing about which "him" I'm talking about.

Thanks once again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #40, by leannemariesnapeMysterious Attraction : An Unfinished Hell

21st August 2011:
This. Ending. Was. Excellent!
It was such an appropriate ending. It was so cruel, in a way, but very apt. I think that Malfoyís defeat of Harry was so sad. For a second, I thought that he was going to let go of Malfoy on the edge of the cliff. I thought that the fight between the two was riveting, and I found myself getting increasingly immersed in the fight between the two.
Your characterisation of all of the characters was great, and the chemistry between Harry and Astoria was just brilliant. To my surprise, I actually wanted Harry and Astoria to run away together. The ending also made me feel like there was still a tiny chance for Harry and Ginny in the future, but maybe thatís just me.
Iíve loved reading this fic, and Iím so glad I came across it. Itís a thoroughly interesting fic and it was really well written and thought out. I also loved the mini-twist at the end. I really feel for Harry. I hope he gets his happy ending eventually.
Well Done! You definitely have a fic to be thoroughly proud of. I loved it!

Author's Response: This. Review. Was. Excellent!
Honestly, I'm so pleased and relieved you liked how this ended. It was very cruel, but you're right I don't think it could have ended any other way. Yes, Harry nearly did let go as well but he just couldn't bring himself to do it. Oh wicked, thank you very much about Harry and Draco! Oh good I'm glad that you thought that because their conflict is so juicy to write! : D I can honestly see Malfoy reacting like this as well!
Thanks very much again, you're making me blush lol writing Harry and Astoria was so enjoyable because it was unlike anything I'd done before. Originally, they were going to - but it just wouldn't have fitted. The whole point of this was to make them get together, but it didn't work in the end, they had to go their seperate ways although it's sad for Astoria because she will always love Harry. Unfortunately, nothing went back to how it was before. Malfoy won, and with him living next door I can't begin to picture it - Poor Harry! :( Even though he has Luna and Neville, they're not family and now he has to see them all happy in the same house too.
Oh brilliant, I'm so pleased you feel like that. I'm so happy you enjoyed it though as I've said before "enjoy" might not be the best word : P It was depressing! (Aside from the party!) Malfoy's plot with Lily? Yes, me too. It just made Harry's situation a thousand times worse. I wanted the reader to think there was a bit of hope and then snatch it away just as they think everything's going to be alright. Unfortunately not, it only gets worse and I was tempted afterwards to write a sequel but until those plot bunnies scurry around again I'm going to have to leave it for now - though I'm not ruling it out. Even though it was such a sad story, I really miss writing it already! Thanks very much again. Shucks!
Rachel


 Report Review

Review #41, by leannemariesnapeMysterious Attraction : An Unconditioned Adoration

20th August 2011:
I loved it! (No surprise there!!) The situation in the cottage is quite scary! Malfoy's gone crazy! I really want to know what happens next. The conversation between Harry and Ginny was really good. Ginny's half of the conversation was really touching. I was a little tearful as I read about what she had to say. I can't wait to find out what happens next!
Well done for a great chapter!
Leanne

Author's Response: Wow, thank you again! It really is, isn't it? I could see it all in my head and I felt quite scared sometimes as well! I've now finished this, can you believe it? Chapter sixteen went up just now : D I'm warning you. it's not exactly happy, but then I spose with this story it wasn't going to be. I really liked writing that scene, showing that things will never be the same between them. I felt so sorry for Harry, but he shouldn't have cheated!
Rachel


 Report Review

Review #42, by leannemariesnapeMysterious Attraction : An Unresolved Mess

19th August 2011:
A cliff hanger! No fair! I want to know what the letter says! Another great chapter. Ginny appearing in the forest was a great twist, as was Malfoy. I was happy for him when he realised that it was lust not love for Astoria, and when he decided to break it off (How many times has he tried that, now? lol) so when Ginny appeared, I was sad for Harry. He should have had the opportunity to tell her on his own, really. (In theory, anyway, but this made for a really interesting chapter by having her find out this way). Really liked it, and I really want to know what that letter says! :D
Leanne

Author's Response: lol, I know I'm so mean! Oh, you'll see shortly, I'm uploading chapter fifteen tonight. Yes, Ginny had followed him because she was starting to wonder why Harry wanted to go out for a walk every evening. Yes, well I didn't expect this, it just sort of played out like that in the end. I know, he actually would have told her the morning after but I thought it would make for more interesting reading having her in the graveyard. Thanks very much and you will know. tonight! : D

 Report Review

Review #43, by leannemariesnapeAntics: Tears and Dears

19th August 2011:
The end was really cute! Her backstory was really interesting, and I think it's sad how she found out. But she got some really nice support. I really liked how it didn't end in a kiss. Not all relationships start with a kiss, and this shows that. Your dialogue was also qite good, too. Well done! ^^

 Report Review

Review #44, by leannemariesnapeMysterious Attraction : An Unmatched Proposal

19th August 2011:
Aaawww. Luna/Neville! The party was really funny, and I found myself smiling at the christmas tree/ beachball constume that was supposed to be a dragon tamer... and then the proposal was just adorable! And then it looked like Harry was about to sort it all out with Ginny, and then BAM! Dolores Umbridge pops up... which is never good news, is it? The burning down of the house seemed so unfair, but your characterisation of Umbridge was spot on. I could imagine her saying everything you wrote in this, so well done! I feel so sorry for them at this point! I hope it all works out for them in the end.
Love it! Looking forwards to the next chapter ^^
Leanne

Author's Response: I thought you might like this chapter because I remember you saying that you really liked Luna/Neville. Due to the last film I really like them as well, their relationship just fits and yes the propsal was so enjoyable to write. It was good to take a break from all the dark things going on in this story and sort of let the reader and Harry just relax at Luna's house. Imagining the characters inside there, I just had the impression that they were so safe, and warm, and happy :) That was a big thing to show. I know, Umbridge! She's nasty, her and that dreaded clipboard turning up and burning Harry and Ginny's house down. How horrible! Thanks very much for saying that, I loved doing that part because I could really picture her taking so much pleasure in watching Harry's life tremble in front of her, if that makes sense : D Well, you'll see.
Coming tonight!
Rachel


 Report Review

Review #45, by leannemariesnapeMysterious Attraction : An Unsettling Morning

16th August 2011:
Well, that was a strange little situation with Malfoy, wasn't it? I wonder what he was talking about... I really dislike Scopius in this... He's such a perfect bad guy! And, he's only 12! Imagine what he'll be like at the age of 20! I wanted to shake Harry a little in this. I wasn't really surprised when he thinks that he loves her, but I think it may be mainly because of the baby? That's how it seems to me, anyway. You've made Harrys characterisation your own and have really developed it well, making this older Harry completely realistic, whilst at the same time, we have hints of the character that he used to be. Looking forward to the next installment :)
Leanne

Author's Response: Heya, wasn't it just!? Only time will tell! I know, Scorpius is so horrible isn't he? As for the baby and Astoria. Well percieved. I don't know what Harry's thinking at the moment. I don't think he knows either, but he's very confused poor love. Oh brilliant. Thanks for the characterisation compliment, I think he would have changed slightly because he is thirty seven now. :) I love writing him, and especially in first person as you can really go into what he's thinking. I'm writing chapter fourteen now, thirteen is going up soon! : D
Rachel


 Report Review

Review #46, by leannemariesnapeMysterious Attraction : An Unplanned Predicament

15th August 2011:
What a twist! What the hell is he supposed to do now?! How can Astoria possibly cover the fact that it's Harry's baby up? It wont be blonde, it'll have dark hair and glasses! haha. anyway, I love this twist! Can't wait to read more :)
Leanne

Author's Response: lol I know right? I'm so pleased you like it! I was worried about this chapter, but I like pulling surprises out of the shadows. I don't know, I'm writing chapter twelve now. struggling with this one as it's very dangerous now so I'm quite scared!

Rachel : D


 Report Review

Review #47, by leannemariesnapePhoenix in the Ashes: An Open Door

14th August 2011:
This was a great piece. I liked how it was a small thing that made Sirius leave. It made it all the more realistic. I think that is mainly how many people leave the situations they don't like. They just get fed up and "snap" so to speak. I liked the sudden fury of the spells, it was as though it was a last resort for keeping him there. Well written and nice to read :)

leannemariesnape, Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #48, by leannemariesnapePhoenix in the Ashes: Pushover to Gryffindor

14th August 2011:
Yay! Neville! I love Nevilles transformation from bumbling fool to hero, and you showed the beginning of that transition very well. I liked that he wanted to make his parents proud by being strong. You really captured Neville very well in this, so well done! It was also very well written, which made it all the more enjoyable. :)

leannemariesnape, Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #49, by leannemariesnapePhoenix in the Ashes: Daddy

14th August 2011:
This was very tender and sweet. Arthur totally deserves much more appreciation, so this was really nice to read. It was really well written and I liked how she was thinking about the lessons that he had provided her with. I did find it a little odd that she was actually saying it, but it wasn't really a big deal... It was nicely written and very cute :)

leannemariesnape, Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #50, by leannemariesnapePhoenix in the Ashes: There She Goes

14th August 2011:
hahaha! Leanne?! Love the choice of name ;) This was really funny in a way. I dont know whether it was because my name in it, or not... ahha. Anway, I thought that it was brilliant how he called Ron Percy. I mean, with so many Weasleys in school it's got to be difficult to keep up, right? I loved the banter that Oliver and Leanne had. It was just so cute! This was also really well written, so it was nice to read. ^_^

leannemariesnape, Hufflepuff

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>