Reading Reviews From Member: leannemariesnape
  
262 Reviews Found

Review #26, by leannemariesnapePandora's Box: Pandora's Box

14th September 2011:
This is a really good take on the story of Pandora's box! I really enjoyed it and I never really thought that the God's were just wizards, but it works. The way it was written was almost like a bed time story, which is awesome. There are a couple of things to improve on, in my opinion, and these things are the flow of the story and also one little typo.

So, first, the flow. I found it a little difficult to follow at times, so maybe you could explain certain things in a different way? For example there are a few sentences where you say something like "Bob grinned at himself in the mirror, and picked up the hairbrush that Bob had bought"... (Obviously, that wasn't from your story, it was just an example, LOL :D ) Which just sounds a little awkward. I hope that made sense, lol. Although, this is just my personal opinion, and, to be honest, I'm not great with flow, so take my opinion with a pinch of salt, haha.

Oh, yeah. There was one typo at the start of the story: "only mortals where men" where should have been were. Apart from this there were no spelling or grammar mishaps. :)

Good story. It was really interesting, and I liked the ending, with the idea of giving people magical abilities in this way. Well done!

Leanne :) x

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much for the wonderful review! It was so awesome! Yeah, I do need to work on the flow, and a typo, oops!
Thanks again for the review, it made my day!


 Report Review

Review #27, by leannemariesnapeRumors to Keep Secret: Their Secrets Keep

11th September 2011:
This is a really interesting pairing, and I'm really surprised no one has thought about it before! It is really interesting, and reading a fic in Hagrid's POV was really cool. I'd love to read something about the later years. Yeah, this was really cool! Loved it! :D

Leanne

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm currently working on expanding the story, especially to include the later years while she is a ghost.

 Report Review

Review #28, by leannemariesnapeFinally Got It Right: Part Six

6th September 2011:
Just read this without stopping- I didn't leave reviews because I was so desperate to move on. I loved this story. It's so interesting and I think you made it easy to see the different traits of her parents that Luna gained. It was just adorable, feel good brilliance! Well done!

Leanne

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm thrilled you enjoyed the story.

 Report Review

Review #29, by leannemariesnapeThe Tournament: I Get Tricked

5th September 2011:
This really is a great start! I really liked the idea that there would be another tri-wizard tournament eventually, and I'd imagine there would be even more restrictions and precautions than before! I liked that Scorpius was sure it would be Al- I mean, it would be totally believable if he had become the champion!

I loved the conversation between the two. It was very natural and flowed very well. I also liked his little "Hey Rose" thing. I do hope you continue to write this, because I'd love to read more!

Grammar and spelling were perfect, too. I really enjoyed this first chapter. :)

Leanne

Author's Response: Wow! I'm glad that you like it. I really hope to continue this, but at the moment I am having a hard time thinking of the challenges. My Grammar and Spelling is perfect? Awesome! I'm so glad you enjoyed this :D

 Report Review

Review #30, by leannemariesnapeSnow White: My Insanity's End.

4th September 2011:
I love this story. It is very dark, and sucks you into the story, which is great! I loved your character of Hesper also and I'd love to read more about her. Well done! This story is definately going in favourites! :D
Leanne

 Report Review

Review #31, by leannemariesnapeHues of the heart, house and home.: Colours

3rd September 2011:
This is a very clever story! The colours were well explained and put into a context that I have never really thought of before. I liked how Godric and Salazar are quipping at one another, and the reference to Jesus being sold out for silver. It was a very good touch! I also really liked how the language of the story was old fashioned- it was really nice, but at the same time, it was still easy to read! Plus, the banner is absoloutely stunning!

Well done on this story! XD

Leanne

Author's Response: thank you so much. this is a lovely review and I am so happy that you found it a nice story to read. I am also blown away by the banner, completely unexpected.
Thanks, this has brightened my day


 Report Review

Review #32, by leannemariesnapeSplinch: Not much ado about nothing

2nd September 2011:
Review 5/5!

This was an interesting chapter! I liked seeing Rose taking the lead with Quidditch. I liked how she acted showing that she is clearly a natural leader!

And, ooh! What a twist with the DADA teacher! Just from her description I had a feeling it was going to be an Umbridge of some form! I'm surprised she got a job considering her background! Haha. No spelling or grammar problems!

Well done!

Leanne

 Report Review

Review #33, by leannemariesnapeSplinch: Happenings

2nd September 2011:
Hi! Review 4/5!

This was interesting! I really like the idea of a prefect common room, and I can just imagine all of them in the common room, discussing their prefectly duties, and such! XD. I like that Hermione has a book! I was like- Yay! haha. So, what was the voice she was hearing? Curious...

Charity Longbottom seems pretty cool, too- like a bit of a rebel! I love seeing paternal Neville! Very cool! I don't think there was any spelling or grammar mistakes, therefore, well done on this!

Leanne

 Report Review

Review #34, by leannemariesnapeSplinch: Train Journey

2nd September 2011:
Hi there! Review 3/5!

This was a strong start to your story. I liked the initial introduction of Lorcan, as he seems very different from his mother, but at the same time, familiar because of the Quibbler stuff, etc. I liked the conversation between the groups also. I think it was very natural, and I could imagine that conversation happening.

The next thing I will bring up is my own personal opinion, and therefore, should not be taken to heart. (Just wanted to state that ^^ ) In my opinion, there are a few stereotypes around, for example Molly and Lucy being formal and geeky like their Dad, and also a bit of a stereotype for James and the other cousins to have a reputation for being prankers, which I think you have here. I don't think it's a bad thing, but I think it is something to think about when writing a next-gen story. However, this is only the very beginning of the story, so I could be proved completely wrong here!

There are also a couple of spelling errors, but a quick edit should easily sort those out!

As I said, you have a very promising start to this story, so well done!

Leanne

P.S- I hope I didn't seem mean or harsh- it's just my opinion :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by leannemariesnapeThe many layers of Biscotti: Beginning the batter

2nd September 2011:
Hi! Here with review 2/5! Firstly, I want to say how truly sorry I am for the delay in the reviews! I have no excuse, so feel free to shout at me, or poke me, or whatever XD

This was plain adorable! I loved how Ron related food of all things to their engagement! It is just such a Ron thing to do! haha. Anyway, I loved the interraction between the two of them- still a little hesitant even though they are best friends and soulmates. I think every man must have a little bit of doubt in their mind when they ask the woman they love to marry them, so I think that you tackled the engagement very well. As far as I could tell, there weren't any spelling or grammar mistakes, either, so well done! XD

Leanne

 Report Review

Review #36, by leannemariesnapeQuidditch, Nerves, and Charms : This is what you would call

2nd September 2011:
This was adorable! You captured Ginny's emotions really well, and I loved the interaction between Harry and Ginny. It was so cute! XD It was really well written, and I don't think I saw any spelling and grammar mistakes. Well done! As I said, this is adorable! Well done on this! XD

Leanne

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, that makes me super happy!! I love writing Harry and Ginny they make wish I was in love.
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #37, by leannemariesnapeNever Giving Up: I will always be in love with you

2nd September 2011:
Aww. This is a cute little one-shot, and I'm a little surprised it doesn't have more reviews! I really liked the way that you wrote the grief of the family, and I think that it was done tastefully. The characterisation of Ginny was good, however, I wasn't sure about when you said Harry saw tears in Ginny's eyes after she kissed him. I didn't think that actually happened in the book, did it? (hmm. Maybe I need to re-read!)

I thought that it was a really nice ending, and I loved how Ginny brought out his romantic side. The kiss was just like, "aaah" and cut through Ginny's grief over Fred.

Well done on such a cute fic! XD

Leanne

Author's Response: When Ron busts in the door, Ginny turned away and Harry notices that she looked near tears. He couldn't do anything to comfort her while Ron was around so he just left.

I have every Harry and Ginny scene committed to memory, so if I got something wrong. I would kill myself!

Ginny totally brings Harry's romantic side. Are you kidding me, that's why he's the

BEST EFFING BOYFRIEND EVER!!!

Hee.

I'm glad you liked it, that made me really happy!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #38, by leannemariesnapeWhat's Meant To Be: Dawn

30th August 2011:
This is a great start! I really liked the beginning that you have. Sirius' and Snape's characterisation is very well done and in character, the same as James and Lily, who are also well done in this. I'm not sure whether Remus would say "Snivellus" however, that's just my opinion- what do I know?! Also, where is Peter?

It is really well written, and you've hooked me into the story. I really look forwards to reading the next chapters, and can't wait to see what Sirius writes!

As I said, this is really good, and if this is your first fanfiction, then I can safely say that you have a bright future in writing fanfiction. Well done! ^^

Leanne :)

Author's Response: Thanks Leanne!

That is a fair point about Remus saying 'Snivellus' and now I think about it-
you're probably right!
As for Peter, I don't really know enough about his character to include him in the context of the story, I just think of him as there somewhere in the background.

Thank you soo much for taking time to write this review and I hope you enjoy the rest! :)


 Report Review

Review #39, by leannemariesnapeLiaison: Liaison

30th August 2011:
Hiya! I'm here with your review :)
This was an interesting pairing, that I've never really thought about before. I wouldn't say that I'm a fan of Lavender in any way, but you made me like her and care about how she felt. The giggling was a little bit annoying, but I know that was the intention, and it also kept her in character, because she would be irritating at times, I'm sure.

I also dislike Blaise for doing this to Lavender! He's messing her around, and she's just letting him! The ending was sad, and just shows how much Blaise is massing around with her and at the same time, how Pansy will probably forgive him.

I really tried to find some things to give crit on, and the only thing I could find was this sentence: " wasnít having it. She wasnít having any of this. How could he sit there and just deny them, their relationship. If he had just gotten up and had talked to her." Talked should be spoken. But it didn't take away from the story at all.

An interesting pairing, you handled it really well and I like what you've done with it. I also really like the banner. ^^

Leanne :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by leannemariesnapeInglorius: Severus Snape

29th August 2011:
Hi there! This story is quite different to your usual style, but I enjoyed it a lot, nonetheless. It was nice to see Ginny's opinions in this, because I think that people often just assume that she agrees with Harry about everything, so this perspective was interesting. It was also nice to see that her opinions changed over time rather than in a very small time period.

I also liked how Harry tackled the subject of naming Albus Severus. I imagined that Ginny would have been a bit unsure about this, so that was good to read, too.

Ginny's reaction to the memories were very interesting, also and I think that it would have been a hard thing to watch and I think that you handled it well.

Being nitpicky because you said that you plan to edit- I noticed that Order needs to be capitalised in this sentence: He couldnít enjoy the elevated position of those who died for the order, but he didnít deserve to be hated either I also thought that Ginny's speech was a little bit scripted sounding, so maybe it could be changed to be a little bit more natural? But, I don't think it's a big deal because the speech was actually well done.

Well done! ^_^

Leanne

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you enjoyed this as well as my usual ones :)

I will definately go back and change that scentence, and have a look at that speech - I'm glad you pointed that out.

I thought it was important that Ginny didnt automatically agree with Harry, and I'm happy you agreed. Even a great ship like that needs its faults :D

thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #41, by leannemariesnapeDecimated Dreams: Little Love Notes, Sexual Desires

29th August 2011:
Wow. This is a great start. It was really well written and full of emotion and description. It was amazing! I look forwards to reading the next chapter because this story looks really interresting! Plus, it wasn't over the top. :)

Leanne

Author's Response: Heya. Oh wow, I'm so pleased you like it already! : D Thanks very much! Enjoy the rest I hope!

Rachel


 Report Review

Review #42, by leannemariesnapeGlass: Glass

29th August 2011:
This was really nice to read. I loved it. I really liked the changes in the scenes and I also liked the pairings. I enjoyed reading about the bitterness and how Pansy gave up her secrecy.

It was really nice to read and I found myself absorbed into the story. There is not nearly enough femmeslash around and so I was glad I read this when someone gave me a reccomendation for it. Well done. :)

Leanne

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I can't believe someone recommended it, that pretty much made my day :D I'm glad you enjoyed it. I don't normally read femmeslash (in fact, I don't think I've actually read one...) so this was a bit of experimental writing for me. I enjoyed writing it so I'm glad you liked it :) Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #43, by leannemariesnapeRosie Can't Fly!: Rose Weasley Cannot Fly

25th August 2011:
This is adorable! It made me smile! :D
I loved little Rose. She was so adorable, and I think you got her thoughts down very well, for example with her wanting to have a friend. The enchantment on the office was clever, too. I wouldn't mind having that on my bedroom, haha. Harrys characterisation was perfect, too. He seemed very natural with the kids, which I think would be very in character. Rose seems very bright for her age, which was just adorable, and I also loved the "Rosie can't fly, Rosie can't fly, Rosie can not fly" which was pretty cute too! This is a very cute, lighthearted fic and it was really nice and easy to read. V. adorable :)

Leanne

Author's Response: Hi! Thank for this!

hehe im glad that charm worked out ok, im useless at coming up with magic things! hehe the rosie cant fly was like a sneaky reference to "hermione cant draw" from avps!

thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #44, by leannemariesnapeTrust in Me: Trust in Me

25th August 2011:
This was really gorgeous.Honestly. Femme-slash is a seriously underrated thing on HPFF, so it was lovely to read this. I liked the backstory to Gabby, which I thought showed effectively why her character was like it was- for example, her lack of trust for people. I liked the pairing of the two, also. It was really well written and didn't go over the top. Her thought process was good to- e.g. the I'm not a "lesbian"- I'm gay thing for example, because I have a lot of friends that feel like that, so it was nice to read. The ending was really bittersweet, with Fleur being diagnosed with cancer and Gabby being the one to comfort her. It was just really lovely to read. It was also flawless in grammar and spelling. I can't find anything to criticise. It was just beautiful. :')

Leanne

Author's Response: I agree -- femmeslash is rather underrated. But often, there's a reason why: a lot of femmeslash stories portray canon characters as OOC because they're actually canonically straight. Thankfully, Dominique is canonically unknown re her sexual orientation :D

I'm glad you liked Gabby's backstory and the pairing. And you thought it was well written? Thank you very much.

I wasn't sure how to end it, and I'm really happy you liked how I chose to end it. I plan on writing a sequel to that, although if you're curious as to what eventually happens to Gabby and Dominique, I've written a sort-of sequel, Blood and Roses. The pairing is primarily Scorose, but Dominique/Gabby feature rather heavily in it.

I'm so, so pleased this story's got a good reception on HPFF. It's been giving me a lot of grief, tbh. And I honestly don't know if it's good or not, even with the response on HPFF.

Thank you for the lovely review and I hope to see you again soon :)

~Soraya~


 Report Review

Review #45, by leannemariesnapeHow Soon Is Now?: Hand in Glove

23rd August 2011:
*squee!*. Sorry about that! hehe. Mark is adorable! I know who my favourite guy is anyway, lol...

This chapter has left me desperate for more. Lucy and Mark are adorable together, and I liked how people around them thought that he was really cool, and Lucy was just like, yeah, he's my friend... It is also a really interesting idea that wizards go to universities to study muggles, plus Marks idea is pretty logical. So logical to combine potion and muggle healing methods, that I'm surprised it hasnt been tried before!

And the almost kiss! The worst kind of kiss! It's left me reeling! I can't wait to read the next chapter :)

Leanne

Ps Sorry if this didnt make much sense. I was just super excited to read this! :P

Author's Response: Aw! thankies!

hehehe id have loved to be like "oh that guy? we go waaay back"

glad you liked that college idea!

haha worst kind of kiss! stay tuned for more!

and thanks


 Report Review

Review #46, by leannemariesnapeHow Soon Is Now?: William, It Was Really Nothing

23rd August 2011:
I loved this chapter! There were some really comical moments in it. The thing with the lingerie was rather amusing, and I found myself smiling at it. Just the thought of that ever happening makes me cringe, haha. I also liked the initial conversation between Lucy and her Mum. It was very well written as a mother/daughter conversation, in my opinion. It also made me smile when she was deciding on whose voice to immitate and how the girls were looking in on the date. It was also an interesting thing to have Will going to Durmstrang because his parents don't trust Hogwarts any more. That is very interesting... Anyway, liked this chapter, and glad it popped up on my review thread because I've been meaning to check back for a while now. :)

Leanne :)

Author's Response: Sorry for the delay in response!

Im really glad you liked this, and hope you like the later chapters, ill be sure to rerequest!

so glad you like those bits, and the whole thing. thank you!


 Report Review

Review #47, by leannemariesnapeThis is Us: This is Us

23rd August 2011:
This was a really bittersweet fic to read, and I really enjoyed it. You began very strongly by describing the attic and the character at that moment in time. It helped to draw me in as a reader, making me want to read on. I also liked how they didnít meet and like one another immediately, because letís be honest, people rarely keep the friendships they make in their first year of ďsecondaryĒ school in reality, do they? It was a very cute meeting however. You develop the characters personalities and also their chemistry almost immediately. The pushy Eric and the slightly more reluctant Aidrian, which was very cute to read. I think you have a talent for description, as I could almost imagine being at Hogsmeade as the fire, and the torturing of the woman, and Ericís attack on the woman. (Out of interest, was that Bellatrix?) I could just see Hogsmeade in flames and the panicked people. Well done on that. Another thing that I really liked were the unspoken things in the story, for example, the ďItís not really youĒ itís your blood status line. I thought it was c lever to add that in because it was something that both were aware of but neither wanted to say. I must admit I was surprised and touched what Adrian did for his friend at the end of it all, and I think it said a lot about the depth of their friendship. I was glad that they made up when they did also. The ending was nice and it brought the story back into context and rounded it off nicely. If I could say one thing to criticise about it, it is that I found it difficult keeping up with which character you were talking about at some points, but it wasnít really a factor that really distracted me at all. I think that you created two very good characters, who seem realistic, and would fit into JKRís world, in my opinion. So yeah, in conclusion, there isnít much I think you need to improve on this fic, other than the general flow thing that I mentioned.

Leanne :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing!

I'm so glad you liked the beginning. It was the part of the story that really got me started (some might say "duh!") and gave me the idea. The kitchen scene was another thing that I just thought of spur of the moment- I definitely agree that people rarely meet all their friends on the first day.

I'm glad I developped (or at least showed) their personalities well. I was really worried about that, since I rarely create a completely new character.

I'm so glad you feel that way about my description. Sometimes it will just flow and other times it feels a little forced... I'm glad it turned out well in this story. I kept trying to read and reread it to help the flow. And yes, that was Bellatrix. :)

Yeah, there were some issues that I didn't want to express, because they were really sensitive (not to me, but in the characters' lives) and I'm so glad you think it was well done. As well, I'm glad (I'm saying this a lot, aren't I?) that Adrian's sacrifice worked out well. It was the possibility that worked the best for me when I was thinking about why Eric would feel so guilty, and, as you said, showed the depth of their friendship.

I will go back and try to clear up the characters- when you're writing in third person about two male characters, it can get a little confusing about which "him" I'm talking about.

Thanks once again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #48, by leannemariesnapeMysterious Attraction : An Unfinished Hell

21st August 2011:
This. Ending. Was. Excellent!
It was such an appropriate ending. It was so cruel, in a way, but very apt. I think that Malfoyís defeat of Harry was so sad. For a second, I thought that he was going to let go of Malfoy on the edge of the cliff. I thought that the fight between the two was riveting, and I found myself getting increasingly immersed in the fight between the two.
Your characterisation of all of the characters was great, and the chemistry between Harry and Astoria was just brilliant. To my surprise, I actually wanted Harry and Astoria to run away together. The ending also made me feel like there was still a tiny chance for Harry and Ginny in the future, but maybe thatís just me.
Iíve loved reading this fic, and Iím so glad I came across it. Itís a thoroughly interesting fic and it was really well written and thought out. I also loved the mini-twist at the end. I really feel for Harry. I hope he gets his happy ending eventually.
Well Done! You definitely have a fic to be thoroughly proud of. I loved it!

Author's Response: This. Review. Was. Excellent!
Honestly, I'm so pleased and relieved you liked how this ended. It was very cruel, but you're right I don't think it could have ended any other way. Yes, Harry nearly did let go as well but he just couldn't bring himself to do it. Oh wicked, thank you very much about Harry and Draco! Oh good I'm glad that you thought that because their conflict is so juicy to write! : D I can honestly see Malfoy reacting like this as well!
Thanks very much again, you're making me blush lol writing Harry and Astoria was so enjoyable because it was unlike anything I'd done before. Originally, they were going to - but it just wouldn't have fitted. The whole point of this was to make them get together, but it didn't work in the end, they had to go their seperate ways although it's sad for Astoria because she will always love Harry. Unfortunately, nothing went back to how it was before. Malfoy won, and with him living next door I can't begin to picture it - Poor Harry! :( Even though he has Luna and Neville, they're not family and now he has to see them all happy in the same house too.
Oh brilliant, I'm so pleased you feel like that. I'm so happy you enjoyed it though as I've said before "enjoy" might not be the best word : P It was depressing! (Aside from the party!) Malfoy's plot with Lily? Yes, me too. It just made Harry's situation a thousand times worse. I wanted the reader to think there was a bit of hope and then snatch it away just as they think everything's going to be alright. Unfortunately not, it only gets worse and I was tempted afterwards to write a sequel but until those plot bunnies scurry around again I'm going to have to leave it for now - though I'm not ruling it out. Even though it was such a sad story, I really miss writing it already! Thanks very much again. Shucks!
Rachel


 Report Review

Review #49, by leannemariesnapeMysterious Attraction : An Unconditioned Adoration

20th August 2011:
I loved it! (No surprise there!!) The situation in the cottage is quite scary! Malfoy's gone crazy! I really want to know what happens next. The conversation between Harry and Ginny was really good. Ginny's half of the conversation was really touching. I was a little tearful as I read about what she had to say. I can't wait to find out what happens next!
Well done for a great chapter!
Leanne

Author's Response: Wow, thank you again! It really is, isn't it? I could see it all in my head and I felt quite scared sometimes as well! I've now finished this, can you believe it? Chapter sixteen went up just now : D I'm warning you. it's not exactly happy, but then I spose with this story it wasn't going to be. I really liked writing that scene, showing that things will never be the same between them. I felt so sorry for Harry, but he shouldn't have cheated!
Rachel


 Report Review

Review #50, by leannemariesnapeMysterious Attraction : An Unresolved Mess

19th August 2011:
A cliff hanger! No fair! I want to know what the letter says! Another great chapter. Ginny appearing in the forest was a great twist, as was Malfoy. I was happy for him when he realised that it was lust not love for Astoria, and when he decided to break it off (How many times has he tried that, now? lol) so when Ginny appeared, I was sad for Harry. He should have had the opportunity to tell her on his own, really. (In theory, anyway, but this made for a really interesting chapter by having her find out this way). Really liked it, and I really want to know what that letter says! :D
Leanne

Author's Response: lol, I know I'm so mean! Oh, you'll see shortly, I'm uploading chapter fifteen tonight. Yes, Ginny had followed him because she was starting to wonder why Harry wanted to go out for a walk every evening. Yes, well I didn't expect this, it just sort of played out like that in the end. I know, he actually would have told her the morning after but I thought it would make for more interesting reading having her in the graveyard. Thanks very much and you will know. tonight! : D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>