Reading Reviews From Member: gingersnape
  
385 Reviews Found

Review #1, by gingersnapeNo Glory in Death: The Final Cut

17th July 2013:
Oh my goodness, Mazayzay! This just consumed me and had me totally captivated the whole time. I've seen the dynamic with again parents who face the all too familiar ways of death just like any other person, muggle or wizard, before, but you took things to a whole different level of haunting ... thereness? is that a word? And brilliant description that made me feel like I was sinking into the story, rather than casually falling in.

I think my favorite part of this was in how you really created the characters, particularly Rose, and didn't tell the story as much as have them live the story and gah this was gorgeous.

I also really liked how the quote was pulled in - the one you got is one of my favorites from tfios and I loved how it really fit here and gafjhs! Even with such graceful writing, nothing was romanticized heavily or dwarfed by the story being told and I loved the podcast version of this~

On the technical level, I didn't notice any spelling or grammar mistakes, so yippee! The whole thing felt continuous and flowing and beautiful and /600 hundred other words about how hauntingly gorgeous this was/ and I liked reading it!

Annie

 Report Review

Review #2, by gingersnapeSoul Set Aflame : Chapter 1

15th July 2013:
Oh my goodness Jami this is so raw and powerful in the way it unfolded and made me totally and completely haunted by Tully's struggles and the things she saw then and the thoughts of what she must have seen before. I loved how Tully wasn't a radical and she didn't get to break free because of a hppy coincidence, but she still did everything she could in a way that put her in danger but seemed totally in character.

The Death Eaters were horrifying but described so carefully that all the fear and hatred that runs through Death Eater culture came so naturally to how it played out in my head and they contrasted with the order effortlessly. The differences in regard fro human life were disturbing, especially regarding the baby, but the way it was laid out fit perfectly with their canon characterizations.

From start to end, I felt like I was just sinking into the story and it all unfolded around me, rather than being something that took effort to focus on and pay attention to. On the technical level, I didn't notice any spelling or grammar mistakes and thought it was a really well done piece overall

Author's Response: Hi lovely!

As much as I wanted Tully to have a happy ending, it just didn't seem realistic. Whatever magic holds them to their masters, just wanting to escape didn't mean hers would break. Having her die felt like a mean but realistic move. Poor little elf :(

Ahh I'm so happy you liked the death eaters!!! I really wanted to make them chilling, so I'm super excited you though they were horrifying!

Writing something that people can just read and not feel like it's a struggle to get through is one of the biggest things I try and do, so your last comment really made my day. Thank you so much for this amazing review ♥

Jami


 Report Review

Review #3, by gingersnapeNo More Happy Thoughts: No More Happy Thoughts

15th July 2013:
Oh my goodness did you capture the excruciating sadness George must have felt - from the first sentence to the tear that closes the story, I couldn't help but read wide eyes and heavier breaths as I took it all in. You really made is so I could fall into George's place as he stood in front of the joke shop and tried to find his old happiness but couldn't get past the walls of pain and I also felt purposeful apathy? It was haunting, but came across so clearly and painfully. Your description is beautiful and your vocabulary is even more impressive. With all of this, I just fell into your story and let it flow effortlessly as I read on. I didn't catch any spelling or grammar mistakes and can say nothing but praise about the story itself. This was difficult to read because of how twisted a place George was in to consider the rest of the family unscathed and such, but the writing was wonderful and it really hit me.
Annie

 Report Review

Review #4, by gingersnapeA Beacon of Light: It is Gone

15th July 2013:
This was a really great one-shot! You write description so well - the emptiness seemed to echo through the whole piece after you set it up so well. The relationship she had with her mother came across really well through her thought process and added a sense of accuracy within the story, since it seemed fitting of the 1930s? Even without much background about the Salem Wishes Institute since it doesn't come up very often in fanfic, I really felt like I got to know the school through her good memories, however brief. I would really like to read about how her reaction to going to Hogwarts would change after she went there - having this as a one-shot left me really wanting more! As a one-shot however, I thought this definitely showcased the period well and gave me a great view into your character's life without weighing the story down with background information - her reaction stands on its own and made for a great read! It all flowed together beautifully and I didn't notice any spelling or grammar problems. This was a treat!
Annie

Author's Response: Sorry it's taken so long to respond. Even though the house cup finished up a few weeks ago, I'm still trying to catch up on everything.

Yup, the story was for the 1930s! I tried to make it obvious it was from that time.

This was a really sweet review! You made me blush just reading it.

Sorry, this is just a one-shot. To be honest, I haven't even thought about her reaction when she gets to Hogwarts!

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by gingersnapeTime: Time

14th May 2013:
Amy! I loved your story so much because wow did it show all of what war does with you. War always gets romanticized in stories and here it was ugly for everyone involved. I really felt pain and anguish when everything was unfolding because it was so visceral and real. War stories usually include a bit of gloating and glory, but here I could see how much pain war causes for everyone involved.

Everything in your story really flowed with such simplicity, yet I could still see how it all fell into place beautifully. Although it was short, it felt complete and whole. I didn't catch any grammatical errors or other slips.

I feel like my favorite part was when you described how how your character got on with everyday chores and such. While earlier you described big constructs like pain and loss, you ended on what are usually menial chores which were really so meaningful. Silence also played a big part in closing your story, which I really liked. I can't come up with any real con crit, and I'll go find Mike's podcast of your story now because I'm so excited for how it will be!



 Report Review

Review #6, by gingersnapeBig: How to train your cousins

14th May 2013:
Eeep! I can't wait to see where this story goes! Victoire is one of my favorite characters to read, but I never get to see her as a child since she is the oldest. Writing children can be so difficult, but I could totally relate to Victoire's feelings about being the eldest child and how you showed her insecurities.

I'm really interested to see where this goes and how Victorie develops through whatever other short stories get added to this collection. This was a really good starting place for wherever you take her character, though, because I really got to know Victoire and her relationship with her cousins! I got a little lost when she crashed the bathtub, however, since I wasn't sure who was lost or what happened exactly. I felt really confused, which both worked well to make me feel like she would have felt, but I also feel like adding some more background information on how she crashed, why she kind of forgot her siblings, and why the adults weren't really involved could help clear things up and make this even better!

One of my favorite parts of the chapter was when you talked about Teddy's hair, since you branched out from the usual looking like either Remus or Nymphadora. I love how the colors his hair turned both matched what was happening as well as the situation! His blue hair helped me picture the water and the light cheerful mood at the beginning of the story really well, but when his hair went amber with his frustration at not being able to start the fire, I instantly felt his frustration.

I didn't notice too many errors - other than the confusing bit with the bath-mobile crash, I only saw one other little error: In the line "I thought you were meant ot be looking after the young ones," at the end, you have "ot" instead of "to." Other than that, I really liked how this flowed and think it's a great start!

Overall, I think your description in this is definitely my favorite part! It's so vivd and I can always picture the scene in my head and really feel what's happening because of it! I loved how you used the "cloak of navy" because I could totally feel the depth of the darkness and thought the wording really drew me in too. From when she was really showing her eldest child leadership to when her insecurities were gnawing at her and making her face go red, I could always understand what Victoire was feeling!

Overall, I'm just green with envy over this and had a blast reading it! Let me know if you post another section - I'd love to read it! :)

Annie

Author's Response: Awh thank you! This review is so sweet, detailed and lovely! :)

I'm glad you enjoyed it - I thought Victorie was a really interesting character to write about, seeing as she's the eldest cousin, and often paired up with Teddy. I can totally empthaise with her too, I often had/have to run around after my cousins! Thanks for the advice, I totally agree - maybe if I added like a small paragraph about how they crashed and stuff it might clear things up a little :)

I'm fascinated with the idea of having your hair/eyes/main facial characterisitics changed, so I had immense fun describing Teddy's hair, seeing as I'd love my hair to change colour as well. I'm really pleased you picked up on how it changed according to the situations, and it was awesome fun to write about! Also, I'll go back and edit the 'ot' thanks for letting me know!

Awh that's so nice of you! I tried really hard to set the scene and stuff, to try and make it more realistic and paint more of a scene in the readers head. I wanted the reader to emphaise with her as well, because I think Victorie is often portrayed as bossy, and I think she actually had to adapt and become bossy in order to cope with all her cousins!

Thank you so much for such a long awesome review, it's so useful to know what you think, and I'm really looking forward to reading yours!

Sophie :D




 Report Review

Review #7, by gingersnapeAvarice: Avarice

7th April 2013:
This was amazing! The narrative structure with the seasons and then the snippets of Lily and Snape growing from that initial vivid imagery led to a totally immersive read and I felt compeltley surrounded by so many sides of Snape. There was the innocence in the childish swinging and his memories of such small times that were so deep and well portrayed.

You also really captured his obsessiveness and the different shades they took in a totally dynamic way. All the analogies and memories and different applications made me feel like I really got to know a side of Snape that is usually painted in a flat way. It was a troubeling depiction in some ways, but brilliantly done and incredibly deep.

Overall, I loved this and thought the way you laid the story out was so careful and beautiful! I didn't catch any spelling or grammar mistakes, and I thought the whole thing flowed beautifully! This was gorgeous and I just love your writing so much! :)

Annie

 Report Review

Review #8, by gingersnapeProgress: One

7th April 2013:
Oh my goodness. The imagery in this was so clear and I could just picture the whole thing without even trying. The dust settling in and the grief. The grief. You say so much about his pain and conflicted feelings with so few words that I felt like I too was lost and confused. I didn't expect Hannah to help him, as, like you said, they never really talked. The connection, however, felt like a weight was being lifted off my shoulders and it made me realize just how immersed in the story I was! This flowed really beautifully and I can't wait for the next chapter!

It was angsty and powerful, but in the way that made me smile at how beautiful raw human emoticons can be, rather than the angst that weighs you down and makes you feel bad. This was such a wonderful first chapter and it flowed really well! I didn't catch any spelling or grammar mistakes, so hats off, and I generally enjoyed it the whole way through. :)

Annie

Author's Response: Hiya!

I'm sooo pleased you liked it! This is definitely one of my favourite things that I've written, it's my baby! George's life following George's death seems to be a bit of a blank page so I tried to convey what he might have felt during that first difficult year. I'm just so pleased you think I managed to do it well!

Thanks for reviewing Annie! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by gingersnapeBroken Smile: Chapter 1

3rd March 2013:
HOW have I not reviewed this? Gah, your portrayal of Fenrir is fantastic and I love how you captured his mix of regret and anger. You really carried the sense that he felt he had no choice in where his life was going and it really made me think about how he is portrayed as a character. I found the interaction between Fenrir and Teddy as Remus to be really interesting. I had to reread it a few times since I wasn't sure what was happening the whole time, but once that sunk in, I was struck by how moving this was!

I think my favorite line was probably "He gave way more than a damn, he gave the entire world." because GAH it's so much and so beautiful! I feel like this really captured his inner conflict about who he was but didn't make him a sappy remorseful werewolf, but rather just a person who wasn't sure about anything and I've never seen that done before and you are so fantastic. It's amazing.

FOUR FOR YOU MIKE! YOU GO MIKE!

 Report Review

Review #10, by gingersnapeStudents out of Bed: Mischief in the Castle

5th January 2013:
Hi Chris! This was so much fun to read! I was poking around for something funny and couldn't believe that this didnít have many reviews, so I couldn't pass it up. (And boy am I glad I didn't!)

Your ideas for pranks had me smiling the whole way through - the kitchen prank was really original, the swamp filled me with happiness at the memories of the first swamp (the rafts were a really good idea too - I'm glad the teachers got an excuse to leave it up! :D), and the poor predicament the ghosts were in was a great way to make the enchantments a little more amusing without getting anyone in real trouble.

I found your use of a large group of pranksters really interesting because you usually only see one or two people involved, or occasionally three. While it was difficult for me to keep track of who was who, I thought the diversity of the pranksters added a really positive element to the story. I only wish I had more time to learn about who everyone was, but with so many character in such a small story, I thought you characterized everyone very well and made them all different enough to have funny quirks I liked seeing throughout the story.

I noticed a few spelling and grammar mistakes, but for the most part, everything was very well edited. There were mostly missing commas and in this sentence: "As she climbed off the boat into the Dining Hall, she could hear the other students whispering and discussing the other remarkable things they'd woken too." the "too" should be "to." :)

Overall, I thought this worked the meme in very well and I really enjoyed reading about the different pranks and their amusing methods of sneaking around after hours with such a large group, as you made the necessary precautions a very funny part of the story, especially with Isla's contribution! :)

Annie

 Report Review

Review #11, by gingersnapeLife As We Know It: chapter one

21st December 2012:
Oh my! Poor Hermione - not only having to deal with Ron's perpetual emotional capacity the size of a teaspoon, but not being able to be left alone in her despair! I think everyone has been in her shoes, but being the perfectionist who usually has control over her emotions and is able to keep herself together can't have made that interaction any easier.

I just wanted to give her a big hug, and then get the popcorn to see what on earth might happen when Malfoy stepped out of the shadows. She's in such an interesting place here - she knows and accepts that she has feelings for Ron, but from her point of view, he has made it pretty clear he can't even think about sharing those feelings. And then... a Malfoy walks in? We will have to see what happens with this!

This isn't my usual type of story, but I figured I may as well give it a go and I have to say, it certainly has my interest so far!

Happy Holidays and I'm so sorry this took so long for me to reply! :( This chapter was really well done and I always look forward to seeing you around. :D

Annie

Author's Response: Aw your review is just, AW! Dramiones are a bit of a hard spot for some people and I'm just so glad how many people have taken a chance on mine! I feel so bad for Hermione here too! It's so hard when the person you like has someone else and you are having to deal with those issues and then to have it public sort of is just hard! I thought that this is the perfect spot to start this story what with Hermione's feelings, Ron is taken, and then to just pop in Malfoy in the end would set up a bit of a dramione moment even though there really isn't enough. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review! I do hope you come back and read more!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #12, by gingersnapeHagrid's Twelve Days of Christmas: A Fwooper in a Star Tree

13th December 2012:
D'AWW! You wrote Hagrid and Olympe so well - their accents made their words come alive in my head, and it wasn't at all difficult to understand what they were saying. I couldn't help but be taken over with an enormous smile at Hagrid's present! A fantastic, totally fitting play on the old song. :)

I adore stories that focus on minor characters, but still manage to make them seem as if they were the stars of the series they're so well developed and well written, and this definitely did that!

The chapter was a bit short, but as chapter a day as a challenge? Amazing! I can't wait to read the next chapter; all this Christmas spirit makes me so happy. :)

Holiday Review Extravaganza Event Two

 Report Review

Review #13, by gingersnapeA Very Gryffie Holiday - The Sequel!: A Very Gryffie Holiday: The Communicable Nature of Weasleyishness

13th December 2012:
This was brilliant! Poor Harry and Hermione... having to deal with Weasleys, especially in the mornings! A caffeine-less Ginny? TERRIFYING. Their support group should be very helpful though, especially as a few decades pass and they're able to expand into their in-laws.

And I would MUCH rather be in the Battle of Hogwarts than a Molly-Ginny fight! Fred sure got that one right! And getting dragged into them? That's pretty rough - definitely deserving of some pranks without the other fun that comes from dealing with your Weasley!

The pranks themselves were also fantastic! I can totally see the twins owning the look and the Rondeer had me clutching at my sides.

Luna's role at the end was perfect, although I can't decide if I like her keen observations of Molly's betting more. I'm going to have to say I think it's a tie because they both put a massive grin on my face!

This was so wonderful and silly! Definitly made me proud to be a Gryffindor with such amazing housemates, both in the story, and writing this collab! I'm going to have to read the other story from the original collab now - you've made me curious!

This was absolutely hilarious and brought me out of a rather sour mood I had been in all day. (I blame you rain that should totally be snow!) I really enjoyed reading it and I hope you have a fantastic holiday! :)

Annie
Holiday Review Extravaganza Event Two

 Report Review

Review #14, by gingersnapeA very special Christmas: Christmas Morning at the Granger-Weasley household

13th December 2012:
Wow. I am highly impressed. Coming from she who just wrote both a Romione and a Bill/Fleur in the last week, I have to say that you have convinced me that Bill/Hermione could work very, very well. Fluff and I are also usually not friends, but I think I could do with only ever reading fluff if it all did it as well as this!

Their witty banter really made this work so well - between Bill's rough sense of humor and Hermione's quick wit, they made quite a pair and were amusing the whole way through. It was hard to see at first, but as their conversations grew, I liked it more and more.

Their presents for each other were ADORABLE! Absolutely perfect for them, and their reactions were the best! The Hogwarts, A History made me especially happy because it brought things full circle with Hermione's growing up, since she had it when she was young and she gets to pass on that love for really big books to her child.

I also really liked how you brought Hermione's pregnancy into this. While it was definitely fluffy, she was very much in character and not overly dramatic about it. The whole way through, she was just generally very in character.

While the beginning was a bit rough as I was getting used to the ship, I liked the story overall and thought it was a great way to open up an unusual ship. Happy holidays!

Annie
Holiday Review Extravaganza Event Two

 Report Review

Review #15, by gingersnapeA Very Gryffie Holiday - The Sequel!: A Very Gryffie Holiday: Ghosts of Christmas Past

13th December 2012:
Oh my! This was so wonderful - I don't think I could write a McGonagall in her normal state, let alone in a silly Christmas mood, but this was AMAZING! Her backstory is so wonderful; I've read bits and pieces on Pottermore, but never had time to actually dive into the whole thing. You really brought her to life, however, and now I'm tempted to go back with this in mind and see things fall into place with your beautiful descriptions. You nailed everything about her - the little mannerisms, her justifications to herself, the conversation she had with Harry.

The similarities between the two are quite striking, and the more I thought about it, the more perfect this seemed to be. I adored this and all the Gryffindor spirit in this made me even more excited to read it.

I also really liked the descriptions of all the other teachers at the beginning. I don't read many professor POV stories, so it was interesting to see a perspective that wasn't shaped by how much coursework professors gave their students! Your humorous twists also made their descriptions delightful to read, and all of the characters holiday plans fit them perfectly!

Happy holidays!
Annie
Holiday Review Extravaganza Event Two

 Report Review

Review #16, by gingersnapeTo Die For: Worth the Trouble

11th December 2012:
SAM. I DID NOT KNOW IT WAS POSSIBLE. BUT MY LOVE FOR YOU. IT HAS GROWN.

So mysterious and elegant and in such a wonderful time period! My, my, my and an inconceivable escape? What could be better?

OH WAIT. A WILD SAM HAS APPEARED. YES THAT IS WHAT MADE IT BETTER.

I felt like I was really there the whole time, my eyes glued to the screen as I didn't know what on earth was going on, but at the same time I felt like I could feel the characters breathe you had such vivid descriptions.

His wit when he was being hung was brilliantly done - I don't know who on earth he is, but I like him a lot and you've done a brilliant job with characterization in just a few words. I kind of got the Moriarty vibe in his last words, elegant and under control, even when it looked like he had no way out AND THEN BOOM. MAGICAL ESCAPE. AHHH PLOT TWIST.

His change in identity at the end also really added to him as a whole. The quick response for the new name and the pitiful story to win some sympathy worked so well with his desperate words.

He is quite the trouble maker too, now isn't he? Running amuck and committing some pretty hefty crimes for... the philosopher's stone? Something else? I can't wait to see!

I'm also excited to see where Roxanne comes into this, especially as he is going to America in 1872? So much untold, ahh it's so exciting!

:wub: You're fantastic and so is that CI and the banner and your everything!
Annie

 Report Review

Review #17, by gingersnapeBrink.: When Everyone Becomes A Stranger

9th December 2012:
AHH THAT BANNER IT IS SO PRETTY! *runs off to read story now* *just had to say how pretty it is*

And... wow. Wow. This was. Wow. Such a painful life for everyone, but I think what hurt more was knowing that it's so common, and that you presented it so well.

This was so beautifully written. The beginning had me absolutely captivated, even though I didn't fully understand what Mary was doing then. As my understanding grew, so did my interest, but every time I learned something new, I thought I couldn't possibly be more drawn to something until the next piece came along.

I really liked how you split this into smaller pieces within the story, as built Mary's progression into a story of itself. The moments between heartbreaking scenes made it pull me in farther and yet let the pain of everyone involved sink in.

This was absolutely amazing and incredibly sad, but very very good.

Annie

Author's Response: Hi Annie! IT IS A LOVELY BANNER YES *drools over prettiness*

Alzheimer's/dementia is actually surprisingly common- I didn't realise until I was talking to a few relatives about it all.

To be honest, most of my knowledge comes form the film 'The Notebook' and I kinda filled in the rest myself :P So this probably isn't very scientifically correct to say the least.

Thank you so much for such a lovely review!
Annon x


 Report Review

Review #18, by gingersnapeAresto Momentum: Time is my enemy

7th December 2012:
Ooooh, I really liked the flow in this! Your words seemed to fall exactly into place and the story just came alive in my head as I was reading it. I don't often read Founders stories, so I had to consult other reviews to figure out about whom the story was written, but upon learning and rereading, I think it fit the story very well. Extra clues would still be helpful, since I know I was very confused the first time through, given my Next-Gen filled head! * whistles*

I really liked the friendship aspect of this story. I do love a good twisted romance, but it was very refreshing to read something more about friendship than turbulent love, and I think you portrayed their relationship really well.

The Arresto Momentum references were also really well done, as it fit the story perfectly and was a nice tie-in to the magical world in which the Founders lived.

Other than making the characters more clear, I can't think of anything else to give as cc for this, and I really enjoyed reading it!

Happy holidays!
Annie

 Report Review

Review #19, by gingersnapeOther Side of Glass: dust

7th December 2012:
Wow. I can't imagine what it must have been like to have to live through having your twin killed at such a young age, but I thought you captured the bouncing of ideas and grief-filled denial that must have been running through George's head well.

The story starts off so eerily determined, but slowly progressed to being a tortured mess of emotions and confusion as more of the details of the night are revealed. His thoughts and words really sank in as his story got more and more complicated, which hurt to read, but was really powerful.

I was really intrigued by the summary of the story, so I'm interested to see how that plays into this. I think you've edited it really well; I can't see anything I can give cc on, so congratulations!

One of my favorite parts was the rhythm of the sentences. They were just the right mixture of lengths that when I read it in my head, it felt more like poetry than just a story and absolutely came alive. I have the tendency to read things in patterns, but this had a really strong flow to it that I loved and could read over and over again.

Annie

Author's Response: Hello there, Annie! Wow, thank you for all those wonderful comments! And yay, I'm glad you think that I've edited this well! I can get quite obsessive with my editing, though sometimes I wonder if it's better to let things be! But if this reads well, then I'm doing something right :) And I'm glad you like the sentence structures - I do go to certain lengths to make sure they vary a little, and aren't all uniform and flat-sounding. Also, it's been quite tricky writing in first person!

So thank you so much once again for your lovely words, and thank you for choosing to do this review swap thing with me! Happy holidays!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #20, by gingersnapeYou Will Never Be: Chapter One

6th December 2012:
When I started reading, I was curious as to how Bellatrix could appear soft, but the image grew on me more as you described her (and then I was reassured by the A/N! :P). It did seem a bit out of character, but I don't think I really minded because seeing her in character and thinking about babies made me want to run into their nursery and keep the child company for the next eleven years! I guess the harder notion for me to grasp was that she did love anyone, given how she's so tight and the very few in the old pureblood families seemed to love each other.

I'm really interested in seeing where this goes - I do love babies and Bellatrix, although I haven't seen much of the two subjects together before. Rudolphus was so funny too! I could just see him chasing Bellatrix like a puppy wanting to play fetch when he thought about children, even if he is a big scary death eater! I don't know what to make of the new sides of them, but I liked how you chose to show this new light! :)

Annie

 Report Review

Review #21, by gingersnapeUndisclosed Desires: Victoire

6th December 2012:
A NIKKI. A VICTOIRE. A PRETTY BANNER. AND NO REPLIES IN YOUR THREAD?! HOW CAN THIS BE! *superhero music* *swoops in* Okay, I go read story now. I just wanted to say how much I love you and that banner and Victoire and everything. :D

Ehehehe. Joggies. I'm using that now. MUCH better than sweatpants. I don't even sweat - they're for when I sit in bed and eat and watch Doctor Who all day. :P

This had me absolutely six inches from my screen THE WHOLE TIME. You're hilarious, but I was also just deeply drawn into the story without any effort of my own (and I can't pay attention through all of Mean Girls, so that is saying something :P) and I don't think there was a line of it I didn't like!

Her character arc is really profound in this and I loved that she was able to own the look and do what she wanted in such a cool way! The fashion industry absolutley fascinates me in an I-can't-place-why-you-are-so-interesting-you-make-no-sense-but-I-am-captivated-by-your-everything kind of way, and this had that whole feeling of mixed confusion and admiration the whole way through.

As much as I liked Victoire and wanted to be her, I feel like I connected more with Dominique, being that I am secretive, grumpy, and quietly throw things at people. (I'm not nearly as cool as she is, but I really liked her characterization i this and connected with her in ways that I don't think I could have connected with Victorie.) Their differences played into each other really well, and I laughed at how they showed their sisterly affection. It was perfect!

Well, I love this and you and reading your work and generally your everything! *squishes*

Looove, Annie

Author's Response: THANK GOODNESS YOU'RE HERE! *faints like a heroine* I addooorre the banner two, graphic makers are magical. I LOVE YOU TOOO!

Apparently that's what they use in Britain! I think it's cool. XP I call mine fat pants, and they are wonderful. (I approve of your DW lounging).

Daww Annie you are too kind. I'm glad it kept your attention, being boring is saddening. *bows* I'm glad you liked her, sometimes I worry she comes off a little too perfect girl. I'm glad she's at least admirable.

Yes, Dominique is, I think, a inner part of all of us. I know that I really enjoyed writing her grumpiness, so what that shows about me, I don't know. She is cool, but she does't like to think so.

*squishes a thousand times* Thank you for the review!!!


 Report Review

Review #22, by gingersnapeHero: Bedtime Story

6th December 2012:
I CAN'T BREATHE UNDER ALL THE ADORABLE - OH MY GOODNESS.

*deep breath*

I really liked this idea before I even started reading, and young Ron is SO perfect! The little conversations between Molly and Arthur and the endless "why" questions made this unbearably amazing. I felt like I was really just sitting in the Weasley household doing nothing more than putting kids to sleep, and this ordinary moment happened. BUT IT WAS NOT ORDINARY BECAUSE OF REASONS. AHH BRILLIANCE THERE IS TOO MUCH. In all seriousness, I loved how this was such a simple premise, but really the start of one of my favorite friendships in the series.

I liked how you framed it for a child too, and how Molly was still hurt from the things that happened. I know she wasn't really a big part of this, but I thought you made her seem like such a caring, but still hurt, woman who wasn't just the most amazing mother ever. I've always admired her, but the little glimpses of her endless patience and compassion made her shine in this.

One thing I wasn't sure about in this was how the time lines worked. I know the story started with Voldemort's rise before Harry was born, but I didn't see if Arthur said that Harry and Ron were the same age? I don't know if it's insignificant or out to make the story more exciting, but I noticed it and figured it was my only excuse for concrit since this was perfect. :P

I could see everything really well in my head - the crossing the arms and the ridiculous hand gestures that Arthur would make as he went along with all the KABOOMs and the fear that he had to live in, and still lived in, for so long.

This was so beautiful, and I hope to read the other bits of their friendship. :)

Annie

Author's Response: Sorry it's taken me so long to reply to your review.

Thanks so much for all of your super sweet comments. :* I really like Ron and Harry's friendship as well. I'm glad you liked little Ron. He was a lot of fun to write :)

I'm not sure that I really understand what you were saying about the timeline...sorry...

Thanks so much for reviewing! Sorry again for the delay in response.


 Report Review

Review #23, by gingersnapeThe Joys of Motherhood: I. Mommies and Babies

6th December 2012:
You had me at Mean Girls. :P

Oh Ron! You silly goose, you! This was hilarious, but also really sweet. I don't usually like to read things with Hogwarts-Era characters, but I couldn't resist a funny Mean-Girls related story, and I'm glad I did read it. :)

The conversation between Hermione and Ginny was really great! I was a little apprehensive at first, but then the complaints started and the laughter and memories made for such a wonderful scene! Men. What are they doing?

The beginning descriptions felt a bit heavy and a little more reflective than I'm used to. Having that background information was helpful, but maybe adding a really strong hook with a funny thing James said might make it flow better? The passages themselves are great, but might be more smooth with something to grab people more to listen to the well done descriptions. :)

While my favorite part was the conversation between the Ginny and Hermione, I liked how the story came full circle and had the extra element of James and Ron being silly. I don't know who was more mature when Ron was over, but I don't think either of them really knew what they were doing. :P

This was very funny and you pulled the Mean Girls quote in really well!

Annie

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm happy you enjoyed my story since it was so fun for me to write!

The core of the story was always intended to be the Ginny- Hermione conversation but as I was typing away, somewhere in my imagination Ron started throwing food around and there you have it!

Thank you for the feedback and the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by gingersnapeAll is NOT Fair in Love and War: |Draco's Intro| "This is My Story"

6th December 2012:
Hi love! I don't know if I can get through all of this, but you're welcome to go and dance around any of my stories with the warning that I probably won't update any of my non-one-shots until the summer? But I will try to read as much as possible since I really like getting to stay with stories! :)

So, I'm hooked! I liked the part about his father - it made me really want to know how that tangles into his story. It also got me thinking about how much his father's influences have shaped him - good characterization is good. :)

The repetition of the quote was also a really cool device. I've heard it before, but I hadn't given it much thought until now. I do love a good bit of unfairness; makes the characters come out of their shells and do interesting good writing-ey things. :)

I liked the intro, and other than a mild grammatical slip up here and there, I can't think of anything to give cc about.

Happy Holidays, and I look forward to seeing what happens next - I'll definitely be coming back! :)
Annie

 Report Review

Review #25, by gingersnapeYou : You

6th December 2012:
Hi! Annie here - this was so beautiful! I really like dark romances, which is kind of twisted, but I just find they give more room to show all those hidden sides of characters, and you did that brilliantly. Since the part I liked best isn't 12+, I can't say too much, but I thought you handled her darker days really well. It's a very touchy subject to write about, but you managed to both build her as a stronger and deeper character and carefully walk the line to say just enough.

Wait a minute, I think I may have liked the ending more? Gah, I can't pick. The lines about his happiness being worse than his actions was so vivid - you don't see as man characters who accept that the people they love don't love them back. I also saw the notes of her desperately wanting him to be happy because she loved him, but she was still so broken she couldn't tell herself that she was happy for him.

BEAUTIFUL characterization that I could go on and on about! I don't have any real CC, other than to watch "you were the one who" because the occasional "that" jumped in. So, really, it was beautiful and perfect and I give really useful reviews full of helpful information like fangirling and restating the story. :couch:

Well, I really liked this and thank you so much for the lovely review you left on And the Moon Lingers On! :)

Annie

Author's Response: Wow. You don't know just how much this review means today. I was having a really bad day today and this review just totally made my day. Thank you so much for it.

Also thanks for saying that she was a stronger and deeper character, as I was rather worried about the characterization of her. I felt that she might come across as a bit to whiny. Thanks for that tip on "you were the one who."

Thanks again so much for this fabulous review.

Charlie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>