Reading Reviews From Member: Alife74
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Alife74Paper Flowers: Paper Flowers

17th May 2011:
Aww how sweet was that!! I love pregnant Hermione! She seems like fun. And I think you nailed the interaction between her and Ron-- the fact that they are so different but at the same time love each other so much. Very canon. Thank you for sharing this adorable one-shot with us. I really enjoyed it :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I know, pregnant Hermione would be hilarious to be around, right? Maybe I'll do another pregnant-Hermione one-shot. Thanks for reviewing! :) ~gfg

 Report Review

Review #2, by Alife74Memories are painful: Memories are painful

9th March 2011:
Awww poor George! And Angelina! Fred's death was a shock to all of us. I'm glad that you are taking the time to respect Fred while still embarking on a George/Angelina fic. Well done, Sarah.

Author's Response: thank you so much! Im really happy you enjoyed it!
It was actually ver difficult, to try to do both a Angelina/Geoge fic while incorperating memories of fred, so im SO happy you thought i did good!
Thank you again
-Sarah


 Report Review

Review #3, by Alife74My Little Caterpillar: One

5th January 2011:
Aww what an emotional story! I really enjoyed it. It's natural for Teddy to want to know as much as he can about his parents. I'm just glad he has Harry to look out for him, as he knows what he's going through. Excellent work!

Author's Response: Brilliant! I'm glad you liked it.

I've always liked the link that Harry and Teddy have with eachother, So I thought I'd use it in a fic ;)

Thank you!
Laurie.
x


 Report Review

Review #4, by Alife74Truth: It is a beautiful and terrible thing.

5th January 2011:
Wow, what an incredibly well written story! It held my attention the entire way through. I found myself really connecting to Lily here. Everybody wants the truth... but it really can be a dangerous thing. I actually paid attention to that aspect in my own fic. The search for the truth is an interesting thing. Anyway, fantastic job! Thank you for sharing your work with us!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad that you enjoyed this and that you felt a connection with Lily. It's the first time I've ever written her and wasn't sure about her characterization.

It's like Dumbledore said, "Truth is a beautiful and terrible thing and therefore, should be treated with extreme caution." I might've paraphrased a bit there, but you know the quote.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Alife74Invincible: Invincible

27th December 2010:
Aw poor Neville. He's just trying to make his parents proud of him. I really like what you did here with adding this change of time and perspective at the end. You mixed James and Lily's romance with some very real issues of the war and those affected by it. It's really hard to achieve evoking that many different types of emotions in a one-shot but you've done it again! Beautiful work!

Author's Response: Thanks for another amazing review. Honestly, you make my day! Neville is definitely one of the best guys in Harry Potter. I love him to bits! He develops so much from the first book to the last one, and he really is a true Gryffindor. His parents make his story that much more interesting; they were so brave and well-loved, and I have the feeling that if Neville had been raised by them, then the Wizarding World would have been a much different place. Thanks again for all the great reviews that you've been giving me; they're helping me out in more ways than I can count!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Alife74The Next Great Adventure: To the well-organized mind . . .

26th December 2010:
Hey stranger! Thought I'd come check out some of your work. And am I ever glad I did! What an emotional piece. And incredibly well-written, mind you. This is everything I have ever hoped for Harry's character-- to be reunited with all those he loved and who loved him. Thank you for sharing this piece with us. It's brilliant!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it!~gfg

 Report Review

Review #7, by Alife74Wondering: Wondering

23rd December 2010:
Very interesting. I love different perspectives of the series, especially when done so well! Many people overlook Crabbe, mostly because they don't know much about him and think that there's not much to his character. But I like this spin on it. You brought out his childlike quality along with a touch of .. wisdom, shall we call it? I mean, at least he does think or "wonder". Great job yet again!

Author's Response: You know, you make me so happy! Every single time I look at your reviews this big smile comes to my face; it's really great! I really like the supporting characters in the Harry Potter books; they make the world seem that much better. I guess that's why I seem to write more about them, and less about the main characters who we know so well. The thing about Crabbe is that he's the kind of guy who's not very smart in the way we think smart people should be, and yet he's kind of brilliant in a really twisted, evil sense. Or at least, that's the kind of vibe I'm getting from him! I'm glad that you liked it, and I'm so happy that you reviewed... I think I honestly love you! Happy Holidays!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Alife74Magical Thinking: Midnight

19th December 2010:
Wow, what a truly touching story. Your back-story on Madam Pomfrey gave such life to her character. And I do agree with you in your author's note, children's views on the world are precious and very interesting to behold. I absolutely loved this one-shot. You are a fantastic writer! Thanks for sharing your fic with us.

Author's Response: Gosh. Thank YOU, my dear, for leaving me such a sweet and flattering review! ^_^

I'm happy that you like my story. Yay! Madam Pomfrey, in my opinion, is possibly one of the most overlooked characters in the books, so when I picked her for a challenge and it required for me to write her as wanting to be a Healer, I just took that as a sign from her urging me to write this. Weird, I know, but that was sort of what happened really. Hahaha. For the challenge (When I Grow Up), I wanted to give her a deep and personal reason for wanting to be a Healer, because to practice medicine, you really have to have the biggest dedication for the job sometimes, because it could be really challenging and not really something you'd be inclined to give up just like that. I wanted her to have something to hold on to, you know? Something that would remind her why she became a matron in the first place. And lol, I sort of cringed a bit when I reread my author's note when this was published, because I sounded a little preachy, but teehee. I was just fascinated with the whole concept of magical thinking in children, tbh. There's nothing really more magical than seeing the world through their eyes sometimes and that was something I intended to capture in this little one-shot.

Thank you for all the kind words. I try to be a fantastic writer. lol Still working hard to get there, actually, but you just made me blush with that comment, so... yeah. Thank you! You're the best. This review really made me smile. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #9, by Alife74Behind the Shed: Behind the Shed

19th December 2010:
This was your first fic? Really? It was really good! You mix comedy with serious moments really well. And I really like where you went with Albus. I know I've said this before, but you're an excellent writer. I'd really love your opinion on some of my work. No pressure though, I just really admire your writing style. Great work!

Author's Response: Wow! You are honestly one of the awesomest people on the planet. And awesomest is totally a word. I'm so glad that you reviewed some more... they're totally helping me out, and making me very happy too! Al is a tricky character, I think. We don't really know much about him, so it's basically up to the author to give him a personality. I just thought that if I was named Albus Severus, I would probably be a shy little kid. But he isn't all that shy- he is Ginny's kid after all. Thanks again for the awesome review... and I'm going to read some of your work right now! Keep your eyes out for a review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Alife74Dolores: Dolores

18th December 2010:
Wow. First of all, let me say that your writing is excellent. I think that is your best feature shining through this piece. I wasn't sure at first whether or not to read a fic called Dolores, as Umbridge is my least favourite character, but I'm glad I did. I found your perspective on her really interesting. Great work! I just had to review because I know how important reviewing is to authors. (And we Canadians need to stick together, of course.) Thanks for sharing your story with us.

Author's Response: My goodness, did that ever make me feel good! It really means a lot to me that you enjoyed my story so much. I don't think I'm very good at writing stuff that isn't fluff and happy, so your review definitely made me feel a lot more confident! I totally know what you mean about Umbridge being a very unlikable character. When I read the books, I hated her, but then when I read them again (well, read them for the tenth or so time) I wondered about her. And so this is what I came up with! She's a really selfish woman, but I think she might have regretted some things after all. Thanks so, so much for reading, and giving me such an amazing review, my fellow resident of the Great White North! Happy holidays!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Alife74Our Story: So it Begins

2nd December 2010:
Wow, what a beginning! I can already tell that this story is going to be a good one! I love what you've done with the characters and your unique writing style. Can't wait to find out what happens next :) Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: thank you for reviewing! I hope it will be good :) I'm taking it pretty slow and really thinking about it, so I definately hope so! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Alife74A first-year's dreams: A first-year's dreams

13th November 2010:
You're writing it quite good and you've got an interesting concept here. I like the innocence that you gave to Ginny's character paired with her spunky inner thoughts that surface more as the books go on. Well done.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Alife74Bring Me to Life: The Task

13th November 2010:
Since you were so kind to me and left me a lovely review I decided to come check your story out too, and I'm glad I did. You set up quite a mystery here and I can't wait to find out more about these five fifth years! I also like the fact that Rose seems to be a cross between her two parents; a prefect and a prankster. Great job!

Author's Response: aww thanks :D I hope you'll continue reading! I'm working really hard on the second chapter.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Alife74In the Neighborhood: In the Neighborhood

24th October 2010:
This was an interesting concept to be sure. A couple of issues with the flow of the piece but other than that I liked your ideas and your style. Good work! Thanks for posting.

Author's Response: Thanks, it's not my favorite story I've written either, but I wasn't sure what to change. I'm glad you liked it though!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Alife74Harry Potter and Filch's Cat: Revenge

24th October 2010:
haha very nice little piece of writing. I would like to know if it was a specific event that spurred on this revenge plot or if it was just for being Filch's snitch of a cat. Anyway, I'd love to see you write more stories in the future.

Author's Response: Thanks. I just remembered that in the first book J.K. Rowling said that it was many students' 'dearest wish' to give that cat a piece of their mind, so I figured, why not? Anyway, I actually just started a new story, so please check it out!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Alife74Reconciliation: The Morning After

12th October 2010:
I really enjoyed this rendition of one of my favourite chapters in Half Blood Prince. It's interesting to have the point of views changing and the first person narrative. Very nice job!

Author's Response: Thanks - I was a little confused when I first read this because I haven't received reviews for that story in quite some time - many thanks and hope you enjoy the rest of the story (and hopefully my others too).

 Report Review

Review #17, by Alife74Fetching the Grangers: Joyful Reunion

12th October 2010:
This was an exceptionally well-written story. You kept the characters quite canon, you had the right amount of emotion and humour and you combined it with a solid, believable plot. Not to mention it's my favourite pairing! Thank you for sharing it with us! Excellent work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your lovely review - it means a lot that you think the characters were canon - I work very hard on that.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Alife74Something I've Been Meaning to Tell You: Can't you tell? Chapter 5

1st October 2010:
Sometimes we all have to sit and let the tears fall, unfortunately. I like how he took the time to go and find her, though. Shows initiative. Excellent.

Author's Response: I think there was double post of your review?

Anyways, yeah, it's unfortunate, but necessary. And that he likes her. Thank you for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Alife74Something I've Been Meaning to Tell You: Can't you tell? Chapter 4

1st October 2010:
Sometimes we all have to sit and let the tears fall, unfortunately. I like how he took the time to go and find her, though. Shows initiative. Excellent.

Author's Response: Yeah, it's unfortunate, but necessary. And that he likes her. Thank you for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Alife74Something I've Been Meaning to Tell You: Can't you tell? Chapter 3

1st October 2010:
Nice involvement of Lily and James' relationship! I like what you're doing with the characters. And it's good that since Snape and Lily aren't talking after the fifth year that she has friends she can talk to about James. I'm really interested in Frank's perspective of all this. Nice work!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad that you like it so far. Oh, he'll make his thoughts very clear soon! Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Alife74Something I've Been Meaning to Tell You: Can't you tell? Chapter 2

1st October 2010:
Hahah what's with the Longbottom men and these Hufflepuff girls? Gryffindor is the way to go! (not trying to be prejudice.. I'm just proud of my favourite house). Anyway, I enjoyed the chapter! Good use of humour!

Author's Response: Who knows! Gryffindor is the way to go! (Don't worry, it's my favourite, too!) Aw, I'm glad that you did! Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Alife74Something I've Been Meaning to Tell You: Can't you tell? Chapter 1

1st October 2010:
Aww! I really like this beginning. I've never read a Frank/Alice fic before but I must say, you've definitely grabbed my interest in the two. Good job!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you do! Well, I'm glad that my story sparked your interest for Alice/Frank. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Alife74Cruel and Idiotic Punishment: Cruel and Idiotic Punishment

1st October 2010:
Wow, this story is amazing! I'm really glad to have come across it. You kept the characters quite canon and the storyline fits in the context you placed it in. Excellent work!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Alife74The Life of Harry Potter: The After Math

29th September 2010:
I really like how you've handled the after-the-battle scenes. I'm glad that you're keeping the pairings canon, that's what makes the story authentic to me. I loved the chocolate frogs idea! Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, I really enjoy the pairings in the book and I intend to keep them canon. Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Alife74A Pair of Woolen Socks: An Unexpected Gift

29th September 2010:
Aww that was cute! You've got Dumbledore down pat, that's for sure! I hope to read and review more of your work soon! Thanks for sharing it with us!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>