Reading Reviews From Member: daliha
  
197 Reviews Found

Review #26, by dalihaCareful What You Wish For: Brothers and Sisters

4th January 2014:
OOOhhh a story about Oliver Wood, I haven't read one of these in a while. I like the way your characters are so relateable but I feel that for a first chapter it moves a little too quickly. But all in all I enjoyed it :)

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to review.

Yeah, the first chapter does move pretty quickly, but my reason for that was that I wanted to introduce the majority of the major characters. From the second chapter onwards it slows down a lot.

I hope you continue to read!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #27, by dalihaThe Girl Next Door: Amelia

3rd October 2013:
Curious, I admit I felt a bit sketchy about the first chapter (perhaps it was the format that seemed a little strange to me) but I was too curious to see where this story would (especially with that summary , I loved it!) Now I'm wondering, what happened to Lexi?

Author's Response: Hi! I'm not sure what you mean by the format of the first chapter seeming a little strange to you, so perhaps you'd like to clarify? I'm really pleased you loved the summary though!

And as for what happened to Lexi, you'll just have to read on ;)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #28, by dalihaThe Brave at Heart: Beginnings

2nd October 2013:
TAG!

I like the idea of a Slytherin Oc in the marauder's era, but I think at the beginning for them to be so worried about Voldemort at only 11 seems a little unrealistic, I think most 11 year olds wouldn't have worried about. I also think the story moves too far, maybe you should've left the part with them as 6th year for another chapter. But it is an interesting idea so I'll be back :)

Author's Response: Thank you! And yeah you're right, I realise that's a bit young for them to be worrying about it, but I think in a time like that when a dark lord was coming to power, everyone would be at least a little aware of it, especially as that made them discover what different backgrounds they come from. Anyway, thank you SO much for reading and for your review! I'm glad you found it interesting, and I hope you continue to enjoy :)

 Report Review

Review #29, by dalihaRed and Black: Ocean breeze

26th September 2013:
This is a very good story and I love your characterization of Louis, and I hope to see an update :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed! I'm hoping to update the story soon.

Thanks for reading. :3


 Report Review

Review #30, by dalihaCharlie the Dragon Hunter: Crikey!

30th July 2013:
I just so happen to have stumbled upon this fic and can I say it was a lovely fic :) But of course all your writing is amazing. I give this a 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. :D

 Report Review

Review #31, by dalihaBefore It's Too Late.: Chapter 1.

1st September 2012:
I love that start of this story you did a great job of introducing the characters and their relationships, my favorites are Alice and Bailey.

You pulled me right in and left me wondering what's going on with Bailey? What could be the cause of Alice's pain? How does the summary play in all this?!

I read overcoming obstacles (I don't remember if I reviewed) but I can say I loved it as much as I love this, your portrayal of what the Longbottom family would be is sweet and realistic, I could see Neville and Hannah having this sort of family. :)

P.S: I will keep on the look out for the next chapter :)

OH and Happy Birthday! :)

Author's Response: Aww thanks! I'm glad you like how I introduced them, I was a little worried about it to be honest :)

Haha yeah, all the little sub plots ;D I love confusing people if you couldn't tell(: You'll see pretty soon!

Aw thanks! I really love the Longbottoms so it means a lot that you said that(: & I'm glad you liked Overcoming Obstacles too!

Yay! I'm glad, thank you!

Haha oh, thanks ;D It was a pretty good birthday but getting a review makes it much better ;D

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #32, by dalihaOf Angels and Demons: Chapter 2

11th August 2012:
A sequel! Seet mother of Merlin why wasn't I informed :( Lol but I'm really happy to have stumbled upon this, since I love Supernatural. Which brings me to my next point you characterization of the canon characters is amazing! I can literally hear their voices in my head, so keep up the amazing work! I loved the cliffhanger but I hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Yup, a sequel. Could have sworn I left a note about it at the end of the first story...but I'm glad that you found it! And yay for loving Supernatural! Aw, thank you! Keeping them in character is something I always worry about. As always, updates happen as soon as I can. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #33, by dalihaEnchanté: Prologue: Games

27th July 2012:
I think I remember seeing you post about this fic. It's curious to see that you started with the last task of the triwizard tournament, throughout this chapter your interpretation of Fleur was flawless, I wish though we could have more of her in the maze even if she didn't last very long. It's interesting to see that even after she hears Harry's words Fleur decides to stay in England. My favorite part of this chapter though was the way you described her anger, even angry she seemed elegant :) I'm going to read on so expect to see me again :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by dalihaEight Minutes: Hogwarts and Talking

27th July 2012:
I liked your beginning paragraph I think it was the best paragraph. After that when you introduced Remus it was a little confusing.

I wish we could have seen more of her best friends but I guess we'll see them in the next chapter. I'm especially interested in Damien since we barely see Hufflepuffs in fanfic.

Your dropped lots of little hints of what happened to Tristan so to me it was unnecessary to mention it at the end. Also what I'm about to say it's not to be mean but remember you're dealing with an extremely sensitive issue and I think the bottom author's note about the guessing wasn't very sensitive like it might offend someone or give them the wrong message about you, you knwo what I mean.

Good luck with your fic :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by dalihaSearching for Culprits: The Game

26th July 2012:
Passing the parcel! :)

I've read alot of next gen but this is the first time I see Lily in Slytherin so kudos there :) I love to see her act like the class clown though I'm not sure if I missed it but you don't mention her age here (I'm just curious to know.) I love her interaction with James and I'm wondering what kind of punishment is Ginny about to dish out :) I loved your writing especially since managed to make her a believable teen :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by dalihaA Puff It Makes: Helga Hufflepuff

26th July 2012:
I remember I read the first chapters but I didn't know you had posted the second one.

I enjoyed reading about Helga since we rarely ever hear about her in canon but I would have enjoyed seeing more of the presentation like students asking questions, or comments, heck even a student making a nasty remark, I think it would've helped remind us that this was a presentation.

But besides that I really want to know who she'll speak about next!

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed reading about Helga! I'm thinking about going back through the first two chapters and adding in more description and looking into the suggestions that reviewers have given me so if I do, then I shall take a look into adding in some more to remind people that this is still a presentation! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #37, by dalihaMyself Again: Myself Again

26th July 2012:
Hello, here to pass on the parcel :P

This is the fic I read centered around Remus's sadness about the marauder's deaths and Sirius's 'betrayal'. I like how you had him walking around the halls of Hogwarts before you brought him before the mirror of erised, though I think the fic would have been more powerful if you'd included at least one flashback to contrast what his life was to what it is now instead of having Remus tell us. But besides that the writing was lovely and I liked how his desire was to bond with Harry like he had with James.

Author's Response: Hello(:

I am glad you liked him walking around the halls, I really wanted to show his emotion towards him seeing his home again. And I agree, I may go back and change that sometime. Thank you so much for the review(:

~Sarah
Xxxx


 Report Review

Review #38, by dalihaCaught in the Net: Of critters and men

25th July 2012:
That last line had me laughing for a while. Though I gotta give it to Tam, she's a quicker thinker.

This was an enjoyable chapter and I like you writing style it's smooth and entertaining. I hope you reveal what is in the trunk (hopefully nothing too dangerous.)

Author's Response: Hi and thank you for the review! =)

I'm glad you enjoyed it. Tam is very fun to write about and I guess that shows in this fic.

I have plenty of plans for that trunk and for what is in it. You'll just have to wait and see. =P


 Report Review

Review #39, by dalihaHigher Heels: Limbo

20th July 2012:
Now I know why this was sooo familiar I had read it before but I hadn't reviewed.. sorry about that.

Anyway I love the characterization of James it's the most unique take I've seen on him, this is a great start to what looks to be a unique and clever fic.

Author's Response: It's no problem at all! Thank you so much. I was really wondering if the characterization was going to work at all, but people have (surprisingly) found it alright! I feel terrible for not updating this now lol. But thank you very much, daliha! ^-^

 Report Review

Review #40, by dalihaWith All Things: Angelina, October 1995

19th July 2012:
Can I just keep saying your brilliant? Because you are!

I was just at your MTA thread as I was curious to see what others had asked you. I saw you had said that for a moment you were afraid to write the twins, well let me let you know you've nailed them. I love your portrayal of them.

Now onto to the review of the chapter, I love it like all others, even though you jump from time to time it's not confusing at all nor is it choppy. And I love how Angelina here acts like a normal fifteen year old girl with a crush, she isn't overly dramatic or anything of the sort (as some writers portray girls with crush.) I mean she has a life outside of it, also you and details! I thought that hand written note written by Hermione was a poster of the twins products (I thought she was yelling at them.) So the note was clever.

Author's Response: Hey!!

Baww. I'm totally blushing right now, but thank you for your compliment nonetheless. And !!! MTA thread. It tickles me pink when people actually use them and I've gotten so many lovely questions recently and ahh! It's been exciting. As I've written WAT, I've found that writing the twins isn't nearly as difficult as I feared, but it still astounds me when people enjoy my characterizaiton of them.

Thank you so much for all your kind words about this chapter!! Though I will point out that Angelina (and the rest of the cast in this chapter) are seventeen or eighteen years old. They're in their seventh year of school, but it's an easy mistake to make since Harry and the gang are fifth years and fifteen during the OotP era. And lol. Sneaky hermione slipping Fred and George an invite to the DA meeting after yelling at them. :P

Thank you so much for this review.


 Report Review

Review #41, by dalihaMalice: Chapter I: Abandonment

18th July 2012:
Lovely opening chapter, you kept me interested from the beginning to the end.

The birth of Evie was written with enough detail though I wish we'd have seen her Grandparents, I was really curious to know why they shunned their granddaughter. you had me worried about that test Edith you handled the mystery surrounding wonderfully revealing at the end what it truly was. Hopefully in the next chapter we find out what does happen to squibs in the ministry since you've already got me curious and that we of course learn what became of Julie.

Author's Response: Hi, and thank you! Evie's grandparents are sort of a 'backburner' when it comes to the actual plot - their story isn't too complicated or necessary to the plot. I'm glad you liked the ending though, I wanted there to be a surprise!

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #42, by dalihaLosing My Head: 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

18th July 2012:
You said this was your first attempt at anything lighthearted, well the congrats you did extremely well for your first time.

This read smoothly and it was enjoyable especially the first bit when Rose talks about her family and their pranks. I can just imagine those poor suits of armor.

The only thing that sort of confused was what house was Rose in? And if she wasn't a Ravenclaw why was she in their common room? I think maybe a tiny explanation to how she got the password would've been nice, also I think Poppy fooled her a little too easily.

Oh and I must say the last line made me smile. (It reminded me of Ron.)

Author's Response: Aww thank you! Rose is a Gryffindor, although I should have made that more obvious, sorry. I figured that Head Boy and Girl should have the password to each common room - like prefects on the forums, almost, even though it isn't canon. And yes, she did a little!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #43, by dalihaTask One Challenge: Moving on: Moving on

18th July 2012:
I never got the chance to write for the first task but I did look over the topic. It was a difficult prompt and I admire anyone who had the guts to write it.

Now on to the review: It was sweet story about Neville's parents though I understand you had to fit all the prompts I would have like to see more grieving on Neville's part. I think that a little more description would have I also got confused at a certain point about what had killed the Longbottoms.

I enjoyed the letter that Frank wrote to Neville I thought it was a nice detail and found myself wishing for it to be longer.

Author's Response: It really was a difficult prompt but so many people managed to do it really wekk. I'm glad you thought it was sweet and originally the story bordered into 3400 words but obviously I had to cut it down to fit into the prompts!

I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #44, by dalihaOvercoming Obstacles. : Overcoming Obstacles.

18th July 2012:
Before I begin let me just congratulate you for such beautiful writing.

I've never seen Hannah as a parent before and when I do she's usually just there for a second so I was happy to see you write about her. The way you wrote about Frank Sr. death brought me to tears especially when they had to explain it to Frank Jr.

You handled that part wonderfully, it was realistic I feel the same way as Hannah. It's confusing and sad to have to tell a child that their hero is dead and they aren't coming back, but these too handed thank wonderfully. There was though only one thing that threw me off.

The word hankie, I mean it's just a word but I feel it's been misplaced.

But besides that I loved it especially the ending paragraph, but this line stuck out the most:

In the distance, it looked to be such a tender moment, but for Neville and Hannah, it was the start of a new beginning.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you, you're too nice! :)

Yeah, I never really saw Hannah as a mum either so that's really what gave me the inspiration to write this in her POV. I'm sorry I made you cry! I hope it was a good sad that you were feeling! :p

Thanks :) I'm really glad you think I managed to pull it off well. Yeah, I imagine it would be hard to tell a child that :/ It makes me sad just thinking about it!

Hmm, I looked through the story and I couldn't seem to find that... I probably meant it to be "Frankie" instead, but hopefully I can find what you're talking about when I'm more awake :p

Aww yay, I'm so happy you loved it (: I really liked writing that part and I love that line too!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, it really means a lot :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #45, by dalihaWith All Things: Angelina, August 1995

15th July 2012:
What? You can't possibly be half-way, and you know although you say this chapter was mostly filler but I enjoyed it immensely especially the bit with Dung and the twins (I mean you gotta love those two.)

Author's Response: I was halfway when I wrote this chapter, but since then I've had to add a few chapters to my outline, and as such this story will be rounding out at 25 chapters. So chapter 12 will be the halfway point ;)

Thank you again for taking the time to leave reviews as you read!! It really does mean a lot to me! And it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the mini scene with Dung. I had a blast writing it.



 Report Review

Review #46, by dalihaWith All Things: George, December 1998

15th July 2012:
Man it had been a while since I've read this fic! So I got some catching up to do!

I love your portrayal of the characters, that's my favorite part of this whole story. (especially George and Angelina!) My favorite part of this chapter was the countdown, to see wizards and muggles together enjoying something so simple was nice especially after the war even if the muggles didn't know about it :P This is one of the most addicting fics I've ever read :)

Author's Response: Oh hey there!!

It's good to see you back and reading (and REVIEWING, GAH, THANK YOU SO MUCH). I love writing this story and it never fails to amaze me when people enjoy reading it! I thought it was really symbolic to have George and company to ring in the new year with their Muggle neighbours... I'm glad that you picked that out!

Thank you for your review and I hope you continue to enjoy it :)



 Report Review

Review #47, by dalihaInitiation of a Death Eater: Initiation

22nd May 2012:
It was so interesting yet so short :( which makes me sad :(

But I saw it was written for a challenge so I understand, but besides that it was flawless, because although short we get to see what's going in your character's head though I wished so bad for a flash back of your character's memory with his/her muggle friends.

But the line before last gave me shivers.

Author's Response: Yes, this was written for the 500 word challenge. I'm glad you were still able to connect to the character though! Thank you so much for both the reviews! :D

 Report Review

Review #48, by dalihaHappy: You Can't Have Everything

22nd May 2012:
I love this though I was slightly confused it's Daphne who's getting married in the end right? But besides that I loved it poor Daphne that must be an awful feeling to have the man you love be in love with your sister.

PS I love Leon Lewis she is amazing

Author's Response: Astoria is getting married in the end and Daphne is the Maid of Honor. It's so sad, I hope to continue this one day. Maybe she'll have a... Happier ending... :)

I love Leona, too. :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by dalihaShattered: Mirror Mirror on the Wall

22nd May 2012:
AT first I thought that her mother was the narrator, then I thought her father then I was lost! But when you mentioned the mirror I smiled, I mean how absolutely clever is that! I loved this one shot the insight you gave us into Petunia was amazing.

I loved how this flowed too it was smooth from her childhood to the time of Lily's death, even the part of Vernon verbally abusive wasn't distracting because I always thought her sort of was.

Overall amazing one-shot and I am sooo sorry for skipping you XD it was an awful mistake so I should give you another review (plus you have loads of interesting looking fics :) )

Author's Response: Don't worry at all about the skipping thing! It totally happens with that thread all the time :)

I'm glad you liked the way I told the story! I had so much fun writing it from that perspective. It was also, for me, a more in depth way to explore Petunia without getting in her head as found it hard to connect with her in that way. I'm glad Vernon also didn't put you off like he has for others :)


 Report Review

Review #50, by dalihaLestrangement: Prologue

22nd May 2012:
Powerful first chapter, I loved the description that you gave us of Andromeda and the last line left me wanting for more!

I love it, it's smooth and full of imagery so I have decided I want this on my favorites :) (I hope you update soon. )

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter! Hopefully I'll get another chapter up for you soon.

Thanks for the review, and thanks for favourite-ing this!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>