Reading Reviews From Member: daliha
  
183 Reviews Found

Review #26, by dalihaLosing My Head: 1 - Authority is a problem for me.

18th July 2012:
You said this was your first attempt at anything lighthearted, well the congrats you did extremely well for your first time.

This read smoothly and it was enjoyable especially the first bit when Rose talks about her family and their pranks. I can just imagine those poor suits of armor.

The only thing that sort of confused was what house was Rose in? And if she wasn't a Ravenclaw why was she in their common room? I think maybe a tiny explanation to how she got the password would've been nice, also I think Poppy fooled her a little too easily.

Oh and I must say the last line made me smile. (It reminded me of Ron.)

Author's Response: Aww thank you! Rose is a Gryffindor, although I should have made that more obvious, sorry. I figured that Head Boy and Girl should have the password to each common room - like prefects on the forums, almost, even though it isn't canon. And yes, she did a little!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #27, by dalihaTask One Challenge: Moving on: Moving on

18th July 2012:
I never got the chance to write for the first task but I did look over the topic. It was a difficult prompt and I admire anyone who had the guts to write it.

Now on to the review: It was sweet story about Neville's parents though I understand you had to fit all the prompts I would have like to see more grieving on Neville's part. I think that a little more description would have I also got confused at a certain point about what had killed the Longbottoms.

I enjoyed the letter that Frank wrote to Neville I thought it was a nice detail and found myself wishing for it to be longer.

Author's Response: It really was a difficult prompt but so many people managed to do it really wekk. I'm glad you thought it was sweet and originally the story bordered into 3400 words but obviously I had to cut it down to fit into the prompts!

I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #28, by dalihaOvercoming Obstacles. : Overcoming Obstacles.

18th July 2012:
Before I begin let me just congratulate you for such beautiful writing.

I've never seen Hannah as a parent before and when I do she's usually just there for a second so I was happy to see you write about her. The way you wrote about Frank Sr. death brought me to tears especially when they had to explain it to Frank Jr.

You handled that part wonderfully, it was realistic I feel the same way as Hannah. It's confusing and sad to have to tell a child that their hero is dead and they aren't coming back, but these too handed thank wonderfully. There was though only one thing that threw me off.

The word hankie, I mean it's just a word but I feel it's been misplaced.

But besides that I loved it especially the ending paragraph, but this line stuck out the most:

In the distance, it looked to be such a tender moment, but for Neville and Hannah, it was the start of a new beginning.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you, you're too nice! :)

Yeah, I never really saw Hannah as a mum either so that's really what gave me the inspiration to write this in her POV. I'm sorry I made you cry! I hope it was a good sad that you were feeling! :p

Thanks :) I'm really glad you think I managed to pull it off well. Yeah, I imagine it would be hard to tell a child that :/ It makes me sad just thinking about it!

Hmm, I looked through the story and I couldn't seem to find that... I probably meant it to be "Frankie" instead, but hopefully I can find what you're talking about when I'm more awake :p

Aww yay, I'm so happy you loved it (: I really liked writing that part and I love that line too!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, it really means a lot :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #29, by dalihaWith All Things: Angelina, August 1995

15th July 2012:
What? You can't possibly be half-way, and you know although you say this chapter was mostly filler but I enjoyed it immensely especially the bit with Dung and the twins (I mean you gotta love those two.)

Author's Response: I was halfway when I wrote this chapter, but since then I've had to add a few chapters to my outline, and as such this story will be rounding out at 25 chapters. So chapter 12 will be the halfway point ;)

Thank you again for taking the time to leave reviews as you read!! It really does mean a lot to me! And it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the mini scene with Dung. I had a blast writing it.



 Report Review

Review #30, by dalihaWith All Things: George, December 1998

15th July 2012:
Man it had been a while since I've read this fic! So I got some catching up to do!

I love your portrayal of the characters, that's my favorite part of this whole story. (especially George and Angelina!) My favorite part of this chapter was the countdown, to see wizards and muggles together enjoying something so simple was nice especially after the war even if the muggles didn't know about it :P This is one of the most addicting fics I've ever read :)

Author's Response: Oh hey there!!

It's good to see you back and reading (and REVIEWING, GAH, THANK YOU SO MUCH). I love writing this story and it never fails to amaze me when people enjoy reading it! I thought it was really symbolic to have George and company to ring in the new year with their Muggle neighbours... I'm glad that you picked that out!

Thank you for your review and I hope you continue to enjoy it :)



 Report Review

Review #31, by dalihaInitiation of a Death Eater: Initiation

22nd May 2012:
It was so interesting yet so short :( which makes me sad :(

But I saw it was written for a challenge so I understand, but besides that it was flawless, because although short we get to see what's going in your character's head though I wished so bad for a flash back of your character's memory with his/her muggle friends.

But the line before last gave me shivers.

Author's Response: Yes, this was written for the 500 word challenge. I'm glad you were still able to connect to the character though! Thank you so much for both the reviews! :D

 Report Review

Review #32, by dalihaHappy: You Can't Have Everything

22nd May 2012:
I love this though I was slightly confused it's Daphne who's getting married in the end right? But besides that I loved it poor Daphne that must be an awful feeling to have the man you love be in love with your sister.

PS I love Leon Lewis she is amazing

Author's Response: Astoria is getting married in the end and Daphne is the Maid of Honor. It's so sad, I hope to continue this one day. Maybe she'll have a... Happier ending... :)

I love Leona, too. :)


 Report Review

Review #33, by dalihaShattered: Mirror Mirror on the Wall

22nd May 2012:
AT first I thought that her mother was the narrator, then I thought her father then I was lost! But when you mentioned the mirror I smiled, I mean how absolutely clever is that! I loved this one shot the insight you gave us into Petunia was amazing.

I loved how this flowed too it was smooth from her childhood to the time of Lily's death, even the part of Vernon verbally abusive wasn't distracting because I always thought her sort of was.

Overall amazing one-shot and I am sooo sorry for skipping you XD it was an awful mistake so I should give you another review (plus you have loads of interesting looking fics :) )

Author's Response: Don't worry at all about the skipping thing! It totally happens with that thread all the time :)

I'm glad you liked the way I told the story! I had so much fun writing it from that perspective. It was also, for me, a more in depth way to explore Petunia without getting in her head as found it hard to connect with her in that way. I'm glad Vernon also didn't put you off like he has for others :)


 Report Review

Review #34, by dalihaLestrangement: Prologue

22nd May 2012:
Powerful first chapter, I loved the description that you gave us of Andromeda and the last line left me wanting for more!

I love it, it's smooth and full of imagery so I have decided I want this on my favorites :) (I hope you update soon. )

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter! Hopefully I'll get another chapter up for you soon.

Thanks for the review, and thanks for favourite-ing this!


 Report Review

Review #35, by dalihaBlood lines: Cecily Ailís Doherty

21st May 2012:
Hello so TAG!

Lol sorry I had to do that before I start I have to say that line about her wanting to sparkle, that was pure gold!

Besides that I like this we really get into her head but I feel like it reads too much like a monologue. Maybe a little but of description here and there?

But beside that I'm glad we found out a bit about her past but I feel like the last line smacks you in the face! Like I wish you would have explained the event a bit (in a flash back perhaps?)

All in all I liked it to see a normal student is refreshing. :)

Author's Response: hello:) thanks for taking the time to review my story! i looove cliffhangers and the last one is about Cecilia's past. What i want to do is have each chapter from a different point of view and fill the puzzle of their lives and their "dark" future..
right now i have a lot of things to do so i have left the story..but i'll definately write more:)
~marlita


 Report Review

Review #36, by dalihaA Puff It Makes: Annalise

19th May 2012:
I hope this has more chapters to it. Especially since it was so short ( I really wish it was longer.) But besides that I found this interesting and funny especially the part where she tunes out Camille :P because I mean who hasn't done that all while praying that you aren't ignored/ boring XD

Annalise is so relateable and I really wish we could've seen more of her oh and I wonder what she'll say about her fellow Puffs :) (Plus clever title I think it's funny :P)

Author's Response: yes I think that there is going to be about 20 chapters to this story! I'm so glad you found this story interesting and funny! I'm glad you like the title as well! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #37, by dalihaStaying Strong: Halloween and Hogsmeade

22nd April 2012:
I had read this chapter before and forgot to review :( bad me, anyway I loved it. You characterization of Neville, and Ginny and all the canon characters is spotless. In fact this is one of the very few fics that I've read that involves Ginny, and I love it.

I can't wait to see the battle from her point of view.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I love Ginny as a character, and that's why she's the main character in this fic. Lots of people don't like her, and I think they'll start to like her if they read about her in depth. I can't wait to write about the battle from Ginny's PoV either! Thanks for dropping by, Daliah! :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #38, by dalihaOnly Power Remains: Chapter Thirteen

22nd April 2012:
I love your characterization of Tom, he is so evily charming! I wonder what's the importance of Jade in his plan?

I love the passion these two have, I mean Jade might fall for him but for some reason I feel Tom's just there to use her. (PS I am addicted to this fic!)

Author's Response: Aww! Thank you so much!

Jade is extremely important in his master plan!! Stay tuned to find out. :)

xx


 Report Review

Review #39, by dalihaJust One Memory: Just One Memory

28th March 2012:
Aww this is soo sweet! It would only be natural for Teddy to be curious about his parents and I just thought this was an adorable way to show it :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I thought it would be a really nice take to see Teddy be curious of his parents. I like that it was his grandmother explaining things too, because normally, I think, it would have been Harry because they would have so much more in common. With his grandmother telling him I think it really makes it special. Thank you for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by dalihaRed and Black: Simple connections

28th March 2012:
I wonder what happened between Louis and his parents, I mean to kick him out of the house...

But I love how the plot is progressing! How he found connections so quickly sort of reminds of Sherlock except Louis seems to be much kinder XD I glad you can't stop writing this story because this means *drumroll* more updates :P

But really I'm curious to see why this criminal is using muggle weapons, and of course I would love to know who he/she is :P

Author's Response: Thank you. :)

Chapter three is about half written by now, so it'll probably be up in a few days.


 Report Review

Review #41, by dalihaLive Your Life: Flying Lessons

22nd March 2012:
I can't wait to see her flying lesson with Ollie :P Though poor Marian I do hope se gets an apology.

And I just wonder what Heather has to say about all this :)

Again another wonderful chapter and I love your portrayal of Oliver, it's spot on.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for reviewing and reading this chapter! :)

Yeah, I know, she was only trying to help after all! Ollie just needs to get his sensitive manliness out now... err, righhhtt ;)

Sorry if I sound loopy! I probably shouldn't be responding to this on 3 hours of sleep but I decided to anyway! So yeah, there's an excuse! ;)

You'll see Heather's reaction in the beginning of chapter seven, don't worry! :) Thanks so much for this lovely review!

~VioletBlade


 Report Review

Review #42, by dalihaRed and Black: Humble Beginnings

22nd March 2012:
Yay! Thank you for sending me the link!

Great introductory chapter though I wish we could've learn more about his relationship with his parents but that'll probably come up later on.

I love this Louis and I can't wait to see what happens later on. It's odd how I can sort of relate to him in the fact that I can't stand crowded rooms.

Plus can I say you have a great summary, it pulls you in.

Ps will fave.

Author's Response: Thank you. :)

Louis's relationship with his parents comes in more in... chapter three I think.

Thanks. Seriously this plot has me going. It's wormed it's way into my head. :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by dalihaForever Young: Courage

22nd March 2012:
This was soo sweet! I loved how you gave us information on Katie. Her feelings for Fred are realistic and sweet (especially since she can't tell who's who from afar.)

I was a bit nervous there when she was asking him out, I've never been in that position myself but I can only imagine how embarrassing it must be. Also I loved how you had Angelina and George in the background. :) (I'm happy you liked the title)

Author's Response: I loved the title and have an idea on how i can tie the title into the actual story! so I was super excited about that and that was the deciding factor in picking that as my title! I'm really glad you like the story and my katie and fred I was really nervous since i've never attempted either! Thank you for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #44, by dalihaIn The Hollow Valley of Our Lost Kingdom: green (eyes like your mother's)

22nd March 2012:
Wow... it's the sweetest Snily I've read. I loved the imagery throughout the story, I mean I wish I could write with such detail! This was amazing and when you referred to James and Sirius I just thought that the friends I didn't get the slash hint until the end :P

And I'm still aww-ing at the last line. (If I keep reading stories like this one I'll become a Snily lover)

(Ps: I loved the title)

Author's Response: It's so sappy my teeth hurt from how sweet it is. ;) I didn't want the imagery to be too over-bearing, so it's great to hear that it was well-done. I definitely tend to write in different styles depending on what I write, so this was a bit of an exercise in getting back to my older style where it was a tad bit more flowery and poetic.

I love that last line! I just imagine Snape and Lily walking hand-in-hand to go home for the rest of eternity.

I'm totally not a Snily lover, but this was certainly really interesting to write and I can sort of see the appeal.

Thanks! The title came from a couple of lines of T.S. Eliot's poem, and I thought they went so well together.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #45, by dalihaStaying Strong: Classes with the Carrows

20th March 2012:
I imagined classes to be that way, poor Ginny this chapter gets you thinking about all she had to go through. I mean with all those ridiculous rules and what not.

(It's funny because I never know how long my stories are going to be...)

Author's Response: Thank you! My main purpose of this chapter was to portray the effect Voldemort was having at Hogwarts, and I'm glad you found it accurate! Again, thanks for the review! :)

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #46, by dalihaStaying Strong: Another Year and Worries of War

20th March 2012:
I loved this chapter though I had to read it by bits because it's so long. This must have been a challenge though (you mentioned you were used to fluff), I mean I wouldn't dare write a story about Ginny because I wouldn't be able to keep her in character XD(especially during the war.)

But you did and I'm curious to read the second chapter which I will go do now.

Author's Response: What a lovely review! Thanks! You're absolutely right, this was a challenge for me. Yes I'm quite used to fluff and humor XD. But now that I've started writing stories like this, I'm getting used to a new writing style :D. Just goes to show, it doesn't hurt to try new things! You're right, Ginny is quite a complex character. I imagine her as a cool and collected tough girl, so I try to stick to that. :)
Again, thank you so much for the review, you just made my day! :D

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #47, by dalihaPoppy Dursley is a Muggle: Chocolate Ice Cream

20th March 2012:
It's a good introduction :) NOOO I like it in first person, first person can be limiting at times but that just me.

Awww the name Poppy is soo cute, but I wonder is it short for something? Oh and I love how Dudley lied about the dementors XD secret language Dudders? lol The only thing I disliked about this chapter was how short it was (but that'll change for the next chapter right?)

Author's Response: It's not short for anything, just a pretty flower name. I figured it would be a nod to the fact that she's the granddaughter of Petunia. I do promise that the next chapter will be longer! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #48, by dalihaLive Your Life: The Right Thing to Do

20th March 2012:
Don't worry there are people who are still reading (me being one :D) This story is one of the few first person POV stories I've read and liked. Laura is a fantastic narrator, she's likable, and despite being at death's door she's not overly angsty or anything of the sort.

My favorite part was when she started praying for Heather's brother.

Now I'm off to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Oh I am so glad to see there are some people left!!! :) That's interesting that you don't like those kinds of stories normally! I'm glad you like this one though ;)

I am really glad you see that about Laura, because that's exactly what I've wanted to portray about her!

That was sweet, wasn't it? :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review and for keeping with the story even though it's been forever since there's been an update! :)

~VioletBlade


 Report Review

Review #49, by dalihaTraces of Dust: The Missing

17th March 2012:
Caradoc Dearborn, I had almost forgotten about him :P But seriously I'm happy I stumbled upon this clever one-shot.

I loved it, I mean I could feel the suspense through out it all. But I think the best part was when he was remembering Dorcas's words, and the end.

Also the small portion of the Daily Prophet add a nice touch. It kept us wondering and had you not included it the story would've had an abrupt ending.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this! You actually have no idea how worried I was about this one-shot, so to get feedback like this is amazing. ^_^

I was so worried the suspense wouldn't work, (I suck at writing stuff like that) and i'm really glad you liked the part with Dorcas. I wrote this with another story of mine in mind (Canis Major) where the same character feature. (Although this is way further in the future than than CM is currently up to..)

I also wrote this for the 'leave the ending up to the readers imagination' challenge but didn't get it written in time, but that's why it ends the way it does. ^_^

Thanks again for this review. It means a lot.
- A.


 Report Review

Review #50, by dalihaOnly Power Remains: Chapter One

10th March 2012:
I could've sworn I had reviewed this chapter already, but it seems I haven't so here we go :)

I like your opening paragraph it's intriguing and it pulls you right. I also like your take on Abraxas, the few times I've seen him he's more like Lucius but here it's like he's his own person. And finally a guy who doesn't respond to a girl's advances! Usually when that kind of scene is written the guy is unable to react and just accepts it, but I liked to see Abraxas disgusted at Jade's advances.

Now if you'll excuse me I'll review the chapters I missed *pulls up sleeves*

Author's Response: Aww, Abraxas!
He's one of my favorites! I think he's much, much nastier than Lucius! He was one of Tom's original death eaters, and Lucius had to learn it from somewhere!
... Although I do think Abraxas is much more into himself than Lucius was. A bit like Draco, actually.

Thanks for the review! :)
xoxo Alicia


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>