Reading Reviews From Member: MrsJaydeMalfoy
  
516 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsJaydeMalfoyDragon Pox: Dragon Pox

22nd July 2015:
You absolutely DO take your Fluff very seriously! I mean, are you TRYING to kill me with the Squees!??!?

I thought the idea for a story with a magical illness, like Dragon Pox, was really original! I don't think I've ever read a similar story! And it is SO adorable the way that Louis comes to take care of Teddy!

This was a bit of a change, coming from reading Teddy/James to Teddy/Louis, but, I really loved each of the stories I've read today! You've definitely got a knack for comedy and funny moments, as well as adorableness!

Well done dear!

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoyNine and a Half: Nine and a Half

22nd July 2015:
Okay, so, you know I had to come read this, after reading 'Five and a half'. :P And Aw! This is absolutely adorable!! I'm pretty sure you are responsible for the cavities! :P

I loved how we saw the different little snapshots of Teddy and James' life together, and then what goes on in their childrens' lives, also. Little Dora is so adorable, and Johnny is just such a typical older brother. :P

I loved seeing all the tender moments between James and Teddy, and the way the fight was resolved in the second-to-last scene just made me want to squee!!

Another wonderful story, dear!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoyFive and a Half: Five and a Half

22nd July 2015:
Hahah! That last line was so funny!! In fact, there were quite a few funny moments in this, including the fact that you named it 'Five and a half'! You're very talented at writing comedy, my dear!

I can see why Teddy would be freaking out a little bit about the age difference, especially since he grew up with James, but I also see James' point about how it wouldn't matter in a few years anyway.

In a way, I feel kind of sorry for Al, but in another way, he got James and Teddy in trouble! :P I think it's awesome that Teddy can just sit here and have this open conversation with Harry, though!

Great story, dear!

 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLegos: Legos

22nd July 2015:
Hey there lovely!

Sooo.. I'm not sure if you remember that Hufflepuff Review Hot seat we had like.. FOREVER ago, but.. yeah. I STILL owe you reviews from that. *Bows head in shame* I meant to stop by the other day when we were reviewing 'Puffs, but since I didn't, I figured I'd leave your reviews now. I am SO SORRY it has taken me such a beyond-ridiculous amount of time to get to these, I can only hope that they make up for my tardiness!

I could have SWORN I had read this before... but when I checked the reviews to see if I'd already left one, I hadn't, so I'm assuming I actually haven't read it. Either way, it was an amazing little story!

I read very, VERY few Draco/Luna fics, so this was a nice surprise. And, normally I wouldn't be able to picture the two of them together, but you've made a believer out of me! I think you portrayed their relationship very well, and it's adorable.

And ah, Draco, always being so overdramatic! :P I mean, don't get me wrong, I know that stepping on a Lego is actually really painful, but 'worse than the Cruciatus curse?' Come on now Draco! :P

Anyway, I think this was a lovely little piece, dear, and I'm off to read some more of your work now! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsJaydeMalfoyOne Word: One Word

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

Hi Zayne! Wow, this is a very powerful little one-shot! There aren't many words here, but those that you've used are so powerful - which seems very fitting considering you're exploring the power of words here.

I like how 3 simple words are the main focus here - "him", "unity', and "mudblood". They're all such commonplace words, but they really made a huge impact in the series, and in Lily's life.

I love that you've explored Lily just moments after Severus called her a mudblood, showing her thoughts and her anger, and her decision to start calling him 'Snape' and distance herself from him. This is definitely a defining moment and a turning point in the series!

I also find it heartbreaking how you've incorporated the theme of comedy and tragedy - Lily knew her life would be a tragedy, and she doesn't even realize how correct she is in thinking that.

All in all, this is a great piece, dear. Well done!

 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoyAll or Nothing: there is a light that never goes out

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

Wow. I agree, taking on Bellatrix's point of view is a grueling task, one that I can't even begin to imagine undertaking - but you've done an incredible job!

I can't imagine how horrible Bellatrix must have been as a child. I agree, for her to have been as evil as she was, it must have started from a very early age, so scenes like the one with the beetle must have been a common occurrence in their household.

I am so very curious as to who the mystery woman is! Did you have anyone in particular in mind? It's all so intriguing!

I loved how you explained that Bellatrix never loved Rudolphus, how she refused to have children so she wouldn't have to care for them - I think many people have often wondered about the relationship between the two of them, since her love clearly lie with the dark lord.

Your description of her progression away from the person she loved was great - and I almost felt myself there in the cell with her - well done!

 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsJaydeMalfoyHaunted: Secrets

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

Wow. This is a very emotional and powerful piece, dear. I don't think I've ever read a fic that has explored Peter's side of things, so a huge kudos there for originality!

Peter really IS a detestable character, and I think you conveyed that very well. Although there were moments in here that should technically have made me feel sorry for him, they actually only wound up making me hate him even more - so, great job for conveying the nastiness in his character!

It's really heartbreaking to read how he alienated them from Remus, how he went on for more than a year betraying his friends to the Dark Lord. And yes, he shows some remorse for it, but he was so quick to sell out his friends, as he said, just so that he could live another day.

Your description here was amazing and the story flowed so perfectly - even though it's a longer story, it still seemed to fly right by!

Great job dear!

 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsJaydeMalfoySwept Away: Swept Away

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

This is really brilliant, Kristin! For starters, the whole idea behind the story is amazing - you chose the perfect moment from Canon, with the timeturners running on an endless loop, and used that perfectly with the prompt we were given! What an excellent way to travel!

It was so interesting to see the Ministry from the past, and it turned out to be great luck that she arrived on the day she did, just when the ship was about to leave. Honestly, when the ministry official asked her what timeturners were, I was afraid she'd just revealed some magical secrets to a muggle, but I'm glad she didn't.

It makes total sense that timeturners would have different names back then, and that they wouldn't have figured out time travel yet - that's a nice, very realistic touch!

My goodness - she certainly had to work hard to get back home, didn't she! I mean, MONTHS at sea? Having to learn to sail a ship? That's insane! And, by the way, you did an excellent job with explaining the work of maintaining the ship, and using sea/sailing vocabulary!

It was so incredible - she learned SO many things, and got back to her love for marine wildlife along the way - brilliant! And then, she herself helped invent the timeturner! :O *Gasps* I know she called herself 'just a janitor', but she's definitely anything but that!

I'm glad she finally found her way home - and she definitely deserves a raise! I really enjoyed this story, dear! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #9, by MrsJaydeMalfoylow tide: a meditation

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

Hey there lovely! So, I don't know if you remember that Review Hot Seat we had like... FOREVER ago, but, I still owe you reviews from that! *Hides in Shame* And, since we're meant to review Hufflepuffs, I figured I'd make your author's page one of the first I stop by. I'm so sorry for how long it has taken me to get to these, and I only hope that the reviews I leave can make up for my tardiness!

So, although the topic of this is very sad, I actually found it quite hard to be sad while reading this. Yes, there's definitely an undertone of loss here, but it's almost as though George is starting to come to Peace with what has happened, at least somewhat - there's no flat-out grief, mostly just silent contemplation, and I think it's very good for him to be out with Angelina and Lee.

Your description was incredible - I could almost hear and see and smell and feel the ocean as I was reading this, and it actually had quite a calming effect.

The memories of Ron getting stuck on the boulder, and the song, and stealing Percy's fish and chips were funny, but very bittersweet. Still though, they were a nice touch, as they allowed George to think of better times with Fred.

The inner thoughts of George, about life giving and taking away, were very accurate, and I think they show his acceptance of what's happened, to a certain extent.

This is a very beautifully written piece, dear, I really enjoyed it! Great job!

 Report Review

Review #10, by MrsJaydeMalfoyHe Visits Twice A Day: Twice A Day

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

Wow - this is a very powerful piece you've got here, dear! I absolutely LOVE your use of syntax here - it's very refreshing and oh-so-different from anything else I've read on the forums - kudos to you for originality and excellent use of grammar!

It really breaks my heart to read about Sirius visiting their graves twice a day - and even moreso because he can only visit in his imagination, since he was wrongly imprisoned. I can't imagine all the sorts of things that must have gone through his mind all those years in Azkaban, and it seems to me that this would be happening at the very beginning, just after their deaths - that time must have been even harder for him, especially with the dementors there, feeding off of his emotions.

I love your description here, especially when you described the orange mist - you made it very easy for me to picture what you were describing!

Overall, great piece dear! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MrsJaydeMalfoyAt The Lake: At The Lake

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

This is really hauntingly beautiful, dear! Gabrielle seems to go through so much internal torment here, but it's also what's meant to be the happiest day of her life.

I think it's only natural that someone with Veela blood would automatically think that a beautiful person had Veela blood, too, and I also think it's only natural that she'd fear that someone would only be attracted to her because of her Veela blood - which, unfortunately, I'm sure might have been the case with some of her suitors.

I love the way you showed their meeting at the Black Lake after the Triwizard task, and how you mirrored that with them getting married at the same place - it's like there are two stories going on here at once, and it's brilliant, and it's very romantic that they get married where they first met!

I was very curious as to who 'left' Gabrielle - maybe she's talking about Fleur.. but I'm not sure. Either way, great job dear! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #12, by MrsJaydeMalfoyA Beacon of Light: It is Gone

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

Did you know that you have a knack for writing really original pieces, very different from anything else I've read? Well, you do!

When I first started reading about the misfortune that befell the family, I couldn't help but think that this character was a spoiled brat, to be honest. But, as time wore on and things deteriorated, I really started to feel sorry for her, and her entire family.

I'm glad that she turned out to be a witch, and was therefore able to escape to Salem, and I was also very sad that she'd be losing it. But, at the same time, I know how amazing Hogwarts is, so there's really no way she could be disappointed.

I'm very curious as to what happened after this - how would things be with her uncle? Would he approve of her being a witch, and attending Hogwarts? I think you should continue this story, dear!

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #13, by MrsJaydeMalfoyMoney Mania: Money Mania

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

This was so creative and fun! I love the premise behind it - Sirius being fed up with James' obsession with Lily, it seems very accurate and Sirius-like! And all of his little pranks on James were hilarious!

I also love that you've created different money systems for each country they visit - and also, I really love how you combined 'fun' and 'a hobby' - having them collect coins is such a typical muggle hobby, but with a definite wizard twist!

It seems fitting that Sirius would know a little French... and it also seems fitting that he would say a completely nonsensical sentence like the one he said! :P

I'm curious as to how James' Mom knew where they were, but still thought it was hilarious when they got caught. What's Lily going to say? :P

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #14, by MrsJaydeMalfoyEscape: Escape

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!


This was such an interesting and original story idea! I'd read in the series that Voldemort had tried to recruit the Potters, but I've never actually seen a depiction of how that happened - great job!

I think it's a nice change to see Lily so concerned and so in love with James - it's always James loves Lily, so it was really great to see the reverse side of that too, and see how much Lily loved James, and why.

I wanted to hug Sirius when he came through that wall! It totally makes sense that he would know his way around the Lestrange house, though, and it's amazing that he came and rescued these two!

Your description here was great, and when you said that the Death Eaters had found their way into the passageway, I panicked! But I'm so glad they all got out okay!

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #15, by MrsJaydeMalfoyRomulus and Remus: Romulus and Remus

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015!

Hey there dear! So, you remember that Review Hot Seat that was like.. FOREVER ago? Well, I still owe you reviews from that. *hides in shame* And, since we're meant to review Badgers for the House Cup now anyway, I figured I would make your author's page one of the first I stopped by. I'm sorry it has taken me so long to get to these, I can only hope that they will make up for my tardiness!

I really, really loved this, even though it had its sad moments. First off, you don't read many fics from Remus' point of view, or at least, I don't, so a huge kudos to you there for originality.

I think you brought an excellent perspective here on how Remus must have been feeling after what happened on the night Harry's parents were killed. I think, in fic, most people tend to explore what happened to Sirius, being wrongfuly imprisoned all those years, but nobody really talks about the emotional turmoil that Remus must have been going through, so this was very refreshing!

I really adore the fact that Remus has found a book that makes him feel understood and like he's not alone. And the tie-in at the end with him making his Potterwatch code name 'Romulus' was just brilliant and made me smile!

Really well done!

 Report Review

Review #16, by MrsJaydeMalfoychristmas eve.: spending time with family.

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015!

Aw! This is so sad and sweet! I was SO afraid that her grandpa was about to die - I'm so glad that he didn't.

Once again, I really have quite a few questions - how could the rest of her family just abandon her like that? What on Earth was that fight about? Surely they didn't desert her just because she found out she was adopted, right?

Either way, the relationship between grandfather and granddaughter is just so sweet. I love the way they share their emotions with each other - both of their eyes welling up with tears at the same time.

It was SO cute and also very realistic for her grandfather to keep showing off his scarf - how adorable! And I love the Betty character, also! Well done, dear!

 Report Review

Review #17, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThat's What You Do: That's What You Do

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015!

Okay, this just completely broke my heart! It's so sad, I feel so sorry for her! I kept wondering as I read who was this complete dog that was doing this to her - and then when I found out it was Sirius it was like a splash of cold water to the face. Sirius, though a troublemaker, is a pretty likeable character from the series, so to read about this side of him, to read from the point of view of one of his victims was just heartbreaking.

I think the repetition was brilliant - it really helped to convey the emotions and the need that she feels, and waiting until the end to add Sirius' name was a nice touch!

I can totally understand why she would beat herself up over this and blame herself - especially since she actually caught him cheating and could have said something, but didn't. But, she's not the one to blame, in all honesty - love makes you do some crazy things. And, even though she doesn't THINK she loves him, I think it's pretty evident that she does.

This is the fourth story of yours that I've read tonight, and each one has perfectly demonstrated a different emotion. I think it's safe to say you're a master of the feels!

And, again, your description was brilliant! I LOVED the mask metaphor!

Really well done!

 Report Review

Review #18, by MrsJaydeMalfoyDo You Believe?: Do You Believe?

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

Awww! This is so sad, but also sweet at the same time. I have so many questions - who are these OCs? Are they related to anyone we know? And then, what happened to poor Daniel? He died so young!

I really feel sorry for Abby, with everyone expecting her to be happy, and not understanding that she needs to grieve - even if it has been a while since his death. But I'm so happy that she wasn't alone, and that James and the Priest were there to keep her company.

I thought the conversation with the priest was very realistic, as was his interpretation of Daniel's ghosts' actions. And, it really seemed like destiny or fate stepping in and leading James to that church on that particular night! I'd really like to read a sequel, or even a prequel to this, that gives some more details about what happened before and after!

Great job!

 Report Review

Review #19, by MrsJaydeMalfoyAshes to Ashes, We All Fall Down: Dropping Like Flies

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

:O *Gasps* I don't know what I was expecting when I started reading this, but it definitely wasn't that! What a shocker!!

First off, I thought it was very original that you included a story about young witches and wizards going off exploring and adventuring and basically, LOOKING for trouble. It's such a typical young person thing to do, and even though young wizards would be different than young muggles, still, wanting to explore and liking a good scare is something that would be similar across the board.

I really like how you turned Malfoy Manor into a haunted house - it's so creepy! And your descriptions were absolutely amazing. You do a very great job of writing horror, dear! You gave me chills!

I really thought this was going to turn out to be some sort of prank, but I was actually pleasantly surprised that it wasn't - I haven't read many horror fics, and I enjoyed it! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #20, by MrsJaydeMalfoyEnchanted: Walls of Insincerity

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015!

Hi there lovely! So, I'm not sure if you remember the Hufflepuff Hot Seat that was like... FOREVER ago, but, I still owe you reviews from that. *Hides in shame* And, since we're meant to review Hufflepuffs now, I figured I'd make you the first person I review, since I owe you reviews anyway. I'm so sorry it has taken me so long to get to these, I can only hope these make up for the wait!

So, first off, I wasn't entirely sure about which particular James this was when I started reading - James I or James II. However, as the story progressed I came to realize that it really doesn't matter - all that matters is this beautiful moment between the two of them!

I love your description of Megan - she's your typical rebellious teenager who doesn't want to attend the adults' function. And, although it makes me sad, I also really like that you've created some family problems here as well - families aren't always perfect, and that's something that isn't always portrayed accurately in fic, so I'm so glad that you've portrayed it here!

I love the interaction between James and Megan, they seem perfect for eachother! And I think that her parents thinking she's drunk is hilarious, but also a very accurate description of young love!

All in all, this was a really enjoyable piece, and I really wish there were more to read in James and Megan's story! I really hope you write more of their story soon! Great job!

 Report Review

Review #21, by MrsJaydeMalfoyForever Young: One

12th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

*Gasps* What? Nooo! Don't go throw that last line at me and make me have all the feels! *sobs*

To be honest, I completely forgot about the opening line once I got into your descriptions - they really are wonderful and breathtaking. I forgot that I was going to be looking at someone's father, so I was wondering who was describing this scene, and whether they were a part of the scene or not.

I loved the descriptions of James' and Sirius' antics, as well, and you described the scenes so well that I could actually picture those photos in my mind - well done!

I felt kind of sad when I realized that this was Harry, looking at pictures of his parents, but with the repetition of the first line, I started laughing - James never really did grow up, did he?

But then you had to go throw that last line in there! It snuck up on me from out of nowhere and jabbed me right in the feels! A very surprising, emotional ending.

This was very well-done, dear. Great job (even if it DID make me want to cry!)

 Report Review

Review #22, by MrsJaydeMalfoyHC Event 3: The Last Time: The Last Time

12th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

AW! This is So sad.. but really, you make it hard to be sad, with the way things turn out! As sad as the premise for the story is, I can't help but love it!

First off, it makes sense that George would find himself back in the shop, with Fred. Totally realistic. Also, I think you did a wonderful job of explaining what had happened - it was a tiny bit confusing at first, but that confusion just mirrored George's own confusion, so it really helped the reader to connect with him on an emotional level, and, as I said, very quickly I was able to catch on with what had happened.

It really broke my heart to hear that George hadn't returned to the shop since the war, but that's completely understandable given the situation.

It's all kind of bittersweet, because, you know that when George's family finds out what's happened, they're going to be so sad and upset. But, seeing this side of things, how happy George is - how could they be sad about that, you know??

I think Fred's 'holey one' line to George was perfect - so funny and typically Fred. Very well written, I really enjoyed this! Going in my favorites!

 Report Review

Review #23, by MrsJaydeMalfoyBirthday Drinks: Birthday Drinks

11th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!!

Whoa, whoa, whoa. There are just too many questions I have that are unanswered here - I'm going to need you to write a follow-up to this, please!!

First off, I think it's very realistic, but also very heartbreaking that George takes that one day every year to remember Fred. And, it made me feel even more sad that he won't let anyone comfort him, or celebrate his birthday, or share in his remembrance at all. But, at the same time, I completely understand - it's almost like he's giving himself time alone with Fred again - time to plan and scheme and laugh and cry.

I thought this was going to take an entirely different turn when George started drinking. But then, when the visitor showed up, I was surprised, wondering who would come and interrupt his day, and why. Then, when I found out they've been coming every year, and George just hasn't noticed.. it made me feel better, knowing that he wasn't alone, but it also made me feel so sad, that he doesn't even realize that there's still someone there for him, even when he thinks they're not.

And then, Hermione?? I have so many questions here! Why Hermione? Why is SHE, of all people, leaving the present and taking care of George? Is she just trying to be a good sister-in-law, or is there something more? Was there, maybe, some secret flame between her and Fred? Ooh, the questions are endless! Please write a prequel/sequel to this soon!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thanks for the review! I actually feel proud of myself for writing a piece that others want more off. I will think about writing a bit more in another piece so yeah - I won't answer any questions here! Your review made me so happy. This was my first story and I am so glad it has gotten the reviews it has(like yours) it has given me a sense of confidence and it makes me want to write more. So thank you!

Frankie


 Report Review

Review #24, by MrsJaydeMalfoyPainted : Painted

11th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

*Gasps* What?? No!! That ending just took a completely different route than what I thought it would - it shocked me and took me completely by surprise... the feels! *sobs*

First off, I loved that you gave Lily an artistic hobby, and that it was a constant in her life, even after she discovered she was a witch and went off to Hogwarts. It makes her a much more complex, relatable character.

Secondly, I love the repetition. As I said, painting was a constant in her life, and the way you repeated the first sentence in each episode mimics the way that painting was a repetitive theme in her life. Very clever!

Also, I love how, no matter what emotion it is, you found a way to describe it perfectly with brush strokes and shapes and colors - for each defining moment of Lily's life.

And then, that ending... wow. Even at her death, painting was still with her, but you really chilled me to the bone with the "it would not help her now" line. *Shudders* And the image of the walls... wow. Really great description and very powerful.

 Report Review

Review #25, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Interlude: The Interlude

11th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

Wow. I am just completely blown away by this!

First off, I love how you've left the couple open to interpretation. Honestly, my mind was going back and forth between two: Harry/Ginny and Harry/Hermione. I could easily see Ron comforting his sister and pulling her away from Grimmauld Place (which I, from context clues, think is the location) - but there was a hint of something else in there also... it almost felt like it was Hermione, secretly being in love with Harry, grieving over him while Ron stands by and looks after her. Either way, I love the fact that it's ambiguous, and you've let our imaginations wander with this.

Secondly, your description is completely breathtaking and absolutely beautiful. Describing her as like a 'beggar looking for crumbs' particularly just made my jaw drop - SO incredible! You have an excellent command on the emotions here. I think it's safe to say that when the HC is over, I'm going to have to come and read some more of your work!!

Really beautiful, and really well done!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>