Reading Reviews From Member: MrsJaydeMalfoy
  
701 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Holiday Spirit: Arrival at the Malfoys' Manor

9th August 2016:
Hahahaha!!! Oh my goodness, I just LOVE this, for SO MANY reasons!!

First off, I love the Father/Son "talk" between Draco and Scorpius. I've seen SO MANY stories where Draco and Scorpius don't get along well, and/or Draco acts just like Lucius, and, while I definitely think Draco could possibly still hold on to some old prejudices or struggle with his father's influence, I feel pretty confident that he'd strive to be VERY different with Scorpius, so it's great to see that here.

I also really liked seeing Draco and Hermione, still referring to each other by their surnames, but also getting along. I think things would have been pretty strained with them just after the war ended, but at this point they've had more than 20 years to deal with those issues - I'd like to think they WOULD be at this point in their communiations/relationship, it was very refreshing to see that here, and I could easily picture the two of them as adults saying things very similar to their dialogue here.

The green vs. blue vs. red houses conversation was hilarious also, and I loved seeing Astoria here, having learned a bit about her from "Unforgivable" - I like the fact that all of these stories are interconnected, with Astoria being in Ravenclaw, and then the mention of Brendon and him being "not a normal Slytherin" was awesome as well, you already know by now how much I adore Brendon!

I really like how, although Astoria is all for charming the doors and whatnot, Draco takes a more realistic approach to all of this - he knows that they will find away around those charms, or find a way to be alone together during the day, and he's not willing to pretend otherwise. He's a great dad, facing the situation head on and making Scorpius address his concerns, even though it is a bit horrifying for Scorpius.

The way Scorp kept putting his foot in his mouth was adorable, also - in fact this entire story was! This fits SO easily in with my headcanon!

Another fabulous story, dear! And again, Happy Hot Seat! Thank you So much for donating to HPFF! *squish*

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Blue Ashwinder: The Remedy in the Book

9th August 2016:
Hi again! ♥

You know, there's something about your writing... I don't really know how to describe it, I can't think of the proper words... *googles a word for what I'm trying to say* Captivating! That's the closest I can find to what I'm trying to say. (Yes, I know, it's sad that I had to Google 'captivating'. *hides*) Anyway, what I mean by that is, whether you're writing about Scorpius or Astoria or any other character or situation, your words really pull me in to your story - you grab my interest from the first line and you maintain it the whole time, so much so that I'm eagerly scrolling down the page without ever letting my eyes leave the words. You make your readers feel as though we're really THERE with the character, and you effortlessly allow us to relate to your characters and really understand their thought processes. It's brilliant!

I remember seeing the "Current Events" challenge on the forums and thinking to myself that I'd never be able to turn a current event into a fic, so I just have to say that you've done an OUTSTANDING job doing that here - turning a MRSA home remedy into this story is just so imaginative and amazing - I am truly impressed and in awe of your skills!

Your characterization was amazing, particularly as you showed the contrasts between James and Scorpius, and also with Esme - you made it very easy to not like her! (And that's a GOOD thing, I promise! :P)

I have to admit, I'm really very excited to see where this story goes, what James' response is to Scorpius' question, and what sorts of adventures and inevitably trouble they get in to trying to come up with this remedy.

Well done, and I hope to see more of this soon!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoyUnforgivable: Imperio

9th August 2016:
Branwen! (hug)

Hi there lovely! I know it's not really appropriate to ask "how are you?" in a review, so I won't, but I at least want to let you know that I miss you and I hope you're doing well!

I'm here with a few belated hot seat reviews for you! I'm sorry they're a little delayed, but I couldn't just let your hot seat week come and go without leaving you some love! ♥

This is really a beautiful piece. I love the fact that you chose Astoria as the character here, I feel like SO little is known about her from Canon, so it's wonderful to see her really fleshed-out here, her characterization is amazing. You've made her her own person and really given her a voice, and made her very easy to relate to and understand.

I think the Greengrass family is typically associated with Pureblood Ideals, because of their blood status and the whole Slytherin thing, but it's great to see a different take on that here.

I also really love the fact that you're showing the repercussions of the war on her. She's not one of the trio, or even a main character, so the war wouldn't have affected her as much as some people, but, no matter how small a role they played in the war, EVERYONE at the school, EVERYONE in the wizard world would have been affected by it, even if only slightly, and I think this story does an excellent job of showing that.

And Brendan... what can I say about Brendan? I just LOVE him. I LOVE the fact that he's a Pureblood, and in Slytherin, but he's also brave and went back to Hogwarts and fought in the battle, and is willing to protect Astoria from their whole family, despite having his own family to worry about now - he's just breaking all of the traditional Slytherin stereotypes and it's AWESOME.

I was really curious as to why Astoria was so upset with Daphne, and when I read that paragraph I literally gasped - what Daphne did was just awful. Yes, Astoria was told to leave, but I highly doubt, based on her actions and words here, that Daphne cursed her for her protection.

I was happy to see that Astoria had someone she could run to, but I was really hoping she'd tell Brendan what had happened so that Daphne WOULD be sent to Azkaban, but at the same time I know that then her parents would have gotten involved and it could have potentially caused more problems than it solved, so, although I don't like it, I agree with Astoria that it's probably for the best. But I DON'T agree that she's weak, or that she should be afraid of what Brendan would think of her - none of this is her fault and she tried to do the right thing - even if she could have fought off the Imperius Curse, she was just a little girl, nobody could blame her for being afraid.

Anyway I'm afraid I'm rambling at this point, but this was incredible and I can't wait to read another of your stories! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoyBeyond Repair: Pocket Money

9th August 2016:
*Tackles* THERE'S A NEW CHAPTER OF THIS STORY! ♥ AND I GET TO BE THE FIRST TO REVIEW IT, TOO?!? *Pushes other readers to the side*

I am so happy that there's a new chapter of this!!! I'm pretty sure I was squeeing BEFORE I read it, and I'm squeeing even more now! I didn't realize just how much I had missed this story until I read this!

YOU. ARE. AN. INCREDIBLY. TALENTED. AUTHOR. I'm just going to put that out there right now before I even jump into talking about the chapter itself. You have a wonderful way of pulling readers into the chapter and making us feel like we're right there as it's happening, and it's amazing. Your descriptions and the way you explained Petunia's feelings about magic honestly really made me feel like I was seeing magic for the first time right along with her, and it's also left me feeling nostalgic to return to Diagon Alley as well. WELL DONE!

I loved, loved loved LOVEDDD the closeness between Petunia and Lily here. The way Lily promised to take Petunia to Hogwarts, at least once, and the way they both "oohed" and "aahed" together over everything they'd seen instead of Petunia being petty and jealous and making Lily cry, was just so sweet and I honestly really wish things could have always been that way between them. This chapter is honestly so sweet and cute and full of sisterly and family feels, it's hard not to smile when you read it.

Of course, my heart did feel quite broken for Petunia, especially in the Wand Shop scene. Yes, this particular day IS all about Lily, and that was further cemented when Petunia tried to get her own wand and couldn't. It's completely understandable why that would make Petunia feel upset, I'd be upset if I were in her shoes, also. I know that nobody is intentionally making her feel that way, and no one WANTS her to feel that way, but once again you've done an amazing job of creating sympathy and being able to relate to Petunia, who's someone it's very hard to relate to in the series. That just shows, even more, how amazing and talented you are!! *hearts;

I really liked how their mother and father tried to make Petunia feel included and important as well, with the "ice cream" talk and her mom giving her some spending money - it was so sweet to see, although it also kind of fills me with dread because I know that, even though her parents and Lily are trying, it's not going to be enough for Petunia, and that makes me sad. :(

I could go on and on about this chapter, honestly, and still not be able to express how much I love it, nor all of the reasons WHY I love it. It's just another of these absolutely adorable scenes with Lily and Petunia that I wish had been the norm for their relationship, and again you've given me sympathy and understanding for Petunia, which is a big deal!

Wonderful, WONDERFUL chapter, and I can't WAIT to read more!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Letters to No-One: The Letters to No-One

9th August 2016:
I'm back! And I certainly picked a good story to come back to!

THIS. This has given me so many different thoughts and emotions and questions.. it's just incredible!

Obviously it's heartbreaking, seeing Sirius' sadness, seeing him in isolation for something he didn't even do, seeing him wondering how it could have happened. There's also frustration because he's blaming himself, even though it wasn't his fault, although he doesn't know that yet.

Then there's curiosity - you've given some great clues as to who the letters are for, but you've also still left it open to interpretation, which I really love here.

There's definitely a shift in tone when Sirius comes back from isolation, and I couldn't stop myself from wondering what happened, why he was forced into isolation in the first place. He definitely seems defeated near the end, but in a way, that really makes me feel hopeful as well, because we know that eventually, he found out the truth and escaped, and was reunited with Remus and Harry.

I think you did an excellent job of getting into Sirius' head here and exploring some thoughts and feelings he would have had that I think can often be overlooked in fic, so really well done with that.

This has really got me thinking about what Sirius could have done in his time in Azkaban, and how could things have been different if he'd only been able to get a letter out to someone, made them believe his side of the confrontation with Peter. But, who knows? He very well may have tried writing a letter to someone, and received a "return to sender" message just like the one here. I think that's what I like the most about this story, is that it opens up SO many other possibilities!

I really enjoyed this, dear, you're incredibly talented!!

Well done, and thank you again for donating to HPFF! ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Skull Beneath the Skin: I. No-One Mourns the Wicked

7th August 2016:
This is another intriguing and intense chapter! The ending really shocked me - Posy has described her group as very tight-knit, so to hear that she's willing to become Tibs' rival says a LOT about her character, as well as her determination to do well in the ranks of the Death Eaters.

Tibs' mother's illness is really very, very strange, and must be very hard on herself and Tibs. Still though, reading about the muggle servants made me cringe and shudder.. I'd certainly hate to think what could happen to those poor muggles later on down the road..

And the bit with Mrs. Black was a nice touch, also. On the one hand, I just wanted to argue with her that Sirius was loved and admired by so many people, and that of course people would mourn him, and I'd also love to tell her how misguided all of her thoughts are on Sirius and blood purity - but on the other hand, in a way it was nice to see that she at least cares enough to cry about her son, if that makes any sense.

I'm very interested to see where things go from here, and particularly curious as to what Posy means with "war begins here". I hope to see an update soon!

well done!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Skull Beneath the Skin: Prologue

7th August 2016:
Hi there lovely! I hope you're doing well!

I'm here with a few belated Hot-Seat reviews for you! I'm sorry they're late, but I just wanted to show my appreciation for you donating to keep HPFF around! Thank you!

And now, on to your first review!

I think you've got an AMAZING first chapter here! You set a very clear, darker tone here with Posy's thoughts about being a Death Eater and about Aurelius' death, already there's a sense of foreboding blending in with your words and it's given me a Halloween-esque feeling - it's brilliant!

I really like how things are set up here, with the group of four friends who always stick together, sort of like a Death-Eater opposite of the Marauders. Since Sirius was mentioned here, I can't help but wonder if there's going to be some sort of standoff or showdown between the two sets of 'Marauders'.

Also, I think you've done a wonderful job of portraying 'sympathy for the devil' here, if that makes any sense. Death Eaters can sometimes be hard to relate to, for obvious reasons. But, you've really allowed us into Posy's mind and feelings, to the point that when she mourns all the losses the Death Eaters have had lately, I almost feel sorry for them. GREAT job with that!

Anyway, this is an intriguing chapter, and I'm really interested to see where this goes!

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsJaydeMalfoyGoodbye, James: Sirius

20th July 2016:
Bahahaha!! Oh my goodness, that was disgusting, but also the PERFECT sendoff for Sirius to give James! :P

I'll be honest, I was expecting this to be about the night that everything happened, but something you picked up on here was the fact that Sirius really didn't have TIME to grieve that night, he was too busy fighting and then getting put in Azkaban. Once again you've thought outside of the box here, and it makes complete sense that Sirius would stop by Godric's Hollow first - it's just my headcanon now.

This is a very sad chapter, but it's not really in Sirius' nature to be sad, so much as very angry and wanting revenge, and you showed that here beautifully. James would have wanted Sirius to have fun, and that's exactly what he did.

This is another fantastic piece, lovely, really.

Well done, and again, thank you SO much for donating to HPFF!

 Report Review

Review #9, by MrsJaydeMalfoyGoodbye, James: Lily

20th July 2016:
*Wipes eyes* Wrong one! I picked the wrong one to read! *Sobs more*

I'm kidding, of course, but this really was SO heartbreaking! When I saw the chapter title I was kind of thinking that Lily didn't really have a lot of time to say Goodbye to James, and honestly I was hoping these goodbyes were maybe like.. for the weekend or something, not when James died. :P

But, even though there wasn't a lot of time for Lily to say goodbye, you packed SO much into those few moments - this is SO powerful! You addressed the fact that Lily didn't have long to say goodbye and she couldn't really even focus on her goodbye because she was trying to protect Harry.

That's something I hadn't really even though much about before - I guess I just focused on "Lily ran upstairs trying to save Harry", not "Lily was trying to save Harry and had to hear her husband die". You just completely brought that whole other element to it, and it's so sad! :(

I thought the part about Lily really not even being able to stand because of her grief was an amazing touch.

Well done, and I'm off to the next chapter now, though I have to admit I'm even more afraid of reading Sirius' goodbye now... :(

 Report Review

Review #10, by MrsJaydeMalfoyActions Speak Louder than Words: Brewing: Rose POV

20th July 2016:
BETH!!

I just stopped by to leave a few reviews for your week on the Hot Seat, and I see that there's a new chapter of this that I haven't reviewed yet!! What is this madness?!? Oh well, whatever madness it is, there's no time like the present! We'll kill two birds with one stone - your first hot seat review from me and my insane need for more of your story! And, by the way, before I jump into my review, I just wanted to thank you for donating to keep HPFF around!!

And now, the review...

I KNEW IT! I KNEW THOSE WERE SCORPIUS' PARENTS EVER SINCE ROSE GOT ASSIGNED THE CASE FILE AND SHE KNEW SOMETHING WAS OFF! Call it intuition or what have you, but I knew it! And while I'm kind of bouncing around in my seat with excitement, I'm also heartbroken for Scorpius and really wary of his reaction, as well as curious and wary about what's going to come of all this. Clearly his parents were murdered, so WHY? And what kind of affect is this going to have on him? And who in the Ministry was in on this cover-up? And why? GAH, so many questions!!

As for Al, I'm SO happy that he's starting to heal, even though I know the process will be slow, at least he's able to smile a little and get enveloped in work again. And it was great seeing Rose being able to enjoy his recovering as well, because to me that's kind of an indication that she's healing, also.

The moment in the hall with Scorpius was so cute and sweet, if a bit heartbreaking. Scorpius has been through SO much with his parents, then Sels, and now he's just constantly afraid of losing Ro and the baby.. poor thing! I really hope this latest development doesn't push him over the edge.

And OH my goodness, only SIX WEEKS until the baby's born!? This is SO exciting, but also really nerve-wracking. Because I just KNOW Stannous is going to do something, either before the baby's born, or as it's being born.. something's going to happen and I'm terrified!

And, I really REALLY need another chapter now, but I'm also really afraid to read it. :P

Well done and MORE PLEASEEE!

And now I'm off to find another story of yours to get hooked on. :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by MrsJaydeMalfoyOur Children's Work: The Order of The Phoenix

20th July 2016:
Nope, still not done! :P

I TOLD you I'm on a 'not frequently written-about characters' thing. :P

And this says it's going to be a short story, but there's only one chapter so far and um.. I'm going to need another chapter now please. XD Sorry, I'm not trying to be pushy or anything but I needz moar! (Even though I kind of feel like this fic could potentially/probably break my heart).

I love the way Alice is scolding Frank here, and how they're both determined to help with the Order, despite putting themselves in harm's way. Reading this honestly made me feel very nostalgic for Neville's parents, even though we really didn't get to see them in the series, this makes it feel like I know them very well, and that's saying something since it's only the first chapter!

I think my favorite part of the whole chapter though was the description of Augusta - she's ferocious! I kind of want to read a fic about her now, also! *Cough WRITE ONE cough* :P

This is another fantastic piece, and it's just been added to my 'Currently Reading' list - please update soon!

Well done, and thank you again for donating to HPFF!

 Report Review

Review #12, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThief: Scones And Jam

20th July 2016:
Hi again! I hope you didn't think I was finished! :P

This was another of your stories that just jumped out at me. Romilda Vane is definitely NOT often written about, and currently I'm on a "little written about characters" thing, so I really wanted to see what you did with her here, and I was NOT disappointed!

We don't really get a lot about Romilda's character from the books, other than that's she's boy crazy and in love/lust with Harry. I think we're definitely given a negative impression of her in the books due to the whole 'Love Potion' incident, but what teenage girl DOESN'T have a crush she's crazy over, you know? :P Obviously there's more to Romilda and I love that you've explored that here.

Reading your descriptions of the starving students brought tears to my eyes, and also made me hate the Carrows even more.. if that were even possible. And then, seeing Romilda being so brave and facing the Cruciatus so that her friends could eat and so that the house elves wouldn't get into trouble completely changed my outlook on her as well - you've done a wonderful job of adding a whole other aspect to her personality and I really liked it!

Honestly I can't help wondering what's going to happen after this scene - I might need a sequel please! :D

Anyway, this was another excellent piece, well done!

 Report Review

Review #13, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Sorting Of Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore: Are you sure?

19th July 2016:
Hi there Kaitlin! I haven't talked to you in a while, I hope you're doing well! I'm here with a few slightly belated hot seat reviews for you! Thank you SO much for donating to keep HPFF alive, I can't tell you how much it's appreciated!

So, as soon as I saw this, I HAD to read it. I mean, come on, the sorting of Albus Dumbledore?! Everyone's debated for so long over which house he was sorted into, I couldn't resist! And I have to admit it was very hard to keep myself from scrolling down the page early to see which house he was sorted into! :P

I think Gryffindor is a good choice, and I like the reasoning here! Of course he had the traits of Ravenclaw and Slytherin to, but I think wanting to learn to be brave is quite brave of itself, if that makes any sense.

It was a little awkward seeing young Albus - I mean, he must have been a bit strange for his age, you know? For some reason I kept picturing him as an old man in this, even though he's only 11. :P

One thing that definitely caught my attention here was your description - especially of the Hogwarts ceiling changing colors! It was so beautifully described!

This was a wonderful piece and I really enjoyed it! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #14, by MrsJaydeMalfoyMy First Date(s): My First Date(s)

19th July 2016:
I KNEW IT! I knew Katie liked Alicia all along, and that's why she was being so picky! :P

I was talking to Renee and told her I was leaving you some hot seat reviews, so she suggested this story and I'm very glad she did! This is cute and sweet and fluffy and just wonderful!

I think you had great transitions between all of the episodes, and I loved how each episode happened on their special couch, it's so sweet that they had a secret spot even before they were a couple!

Your descriptions of the dates were amazing and really I can't think of much else to say about this except that I loved it, it's so cute I just want to squish it!!

Well done, lovely, and thank you again for donating to HPFF! ♥

Author's Response: Hehe, I love it when people root for Katie and Alicia from the beginning!

I'm glad Renee suggested this story! It's really fun and sweet, which I think is a great way to leave off, especially after reading some of my heavier stories.

I'm incorporating this ship into my Polyverse, and have a few other stories planned for them, also including Oliver, Percy, and Audrey. At the moment I have a one shot kind of as a promo for that up on ao3, though I'm not sure if you read over there.

Thank you again for all the reviews! I hope you're doing well ♥

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #15, by MrsJaydeMalfoyPretty Little Thing: Pretty Little Thing

19th July 2016:
Hi again! I'm back with another belated Hot Seat review!

I have to admit, this story broke my heart, made me want to cry, and also gave me a sense of hope all at the same time - you are wonderful with conveying the emotions, dear!

Once again, you've left me with a lot of questions about this relationship between Ro and Septima. However, you've given me enough information to know that I don't like Septima and I was rooting Ro on when she was standing up to her.

I really felt bad for Ro at the beginning and honestly thought Septima might have even been dead, but after the confrontation and seeing that Ro said all she saw was her, it really filled me with a sense of hope for her - she CAN overcome this and escape Septima's absence constantly harrassing her, and that's so amazing.

Though short, this piece is really powerful - you really know how to pack a punch in just a few words! Well done!

Author's Response: Haha, looking at the order you read my three stories, I find it amusing that you started with one that was totally hopeless, then one that shifted from hopeless to hope, and ended with the more positive My First Date(s). =) See, I do happy sometimes!

As you say all the feelings this story made you have I sit here going "Good..." perhaps tenting my fingers with an evil glint in my eye.

Or, more like, being glad that you enjoyed my story and left this gracious review =P

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #16, by MrsJaydeMalfoy19226: 19226

19th July 2016:
SAM!! It's been too long, I hope you're doing well! I'm here with a few (belated) Hot Seat reviews for you! Thank you SO much for donating to help keep HPFF around! I can't tell you how much it's appreciated! And now, on to your first review!

This is just.. spooky and haunting. It's also a little confusing, but I'm pretty sure, given the plot, it was meant to be that way. :P

I have so many questions about what's going on here, even though I know what's going on.. if that makes any sense. It's very ambiguous, but also very clear cut at the same time, and that takes talent!

For example, when Ginny says the diary is under her bed, I'm wondering if that's what she's hallucinating, or did this actually happen in an alternate universe where the diary was never discovered?

Also, I really love the idea of there being that connection between Ginny and Tom - here you've made it seem like they're almost the same person and it's creepy!! (I mean that in the best possible way!)

I think the repetition is incredible, and so realistic and such a great descriptor of Ginny's situation - her life is on repeat, so it makes sense that the same words would get re-said or re-organized, but ultimately have the same meaning. SO AMAZING.

Anyway, this is a haunting and thought-provoking piece, I really enjoyed it! Well done!

Author's Response: Hey Jayde, ♥

Thank you very much for the reviews. No worries at all that they're belated! (I've been on a twitter hiatus, so didn't actually know when my hot seat week was =P)

I am really glad that you liked this. Yes, it's intended to be kind of disconcerting and confusing, but I'm glad you thought there was a good balance there.

In my idea of the timeline for this story, the events of CoS happened as they did in the book, but afterwards Ginny was unable to fully re-adapt to reality after the firm grip Tom has on her world and mind. So yes, thinking that the diary is underneath her bed is a hallucination, as her mind is trapped reliving the events of her first year.

Thank you for your feedback!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #17, by MrsJaydeMalfoyChild of the Hunt: The Journey Begins: Witch Hunt

1st July 2016:
*Gasps* My goodness, what an intense chapter! I really like that we've been able to go back and see what got everything started in the Introductory chapter, and I feel like some of my questions have been answered, but I've also got SO many more questions that make me just want to keep reading and finish all of this tonight! :P

I'm definitely anxious to know exactly how Alex's mom fits in with all of the Blacks, and what exactly it is that she did that put herself and Alex in so much danger!

I love the infusion of Cherokee heritage and words here, it's absolutely brilliant! As is the fact that Alex can turn into a wolf because of a bracelet from her stepfather, who it's obvious she loved very, very much.

I certainly have some mixed feelings about Alex's Mom - I mean, obviously she abandoned Alex so I don't like her for that, but then she comes back in the picture and sacrifices her own life to save Alex.. and I mean even Alex finds it hard to be mad at her after that. :(

This is wonderfully written - I can't wait to read more. For now I need to get some rest, but I'll try to get back and keep reading as soon as I can! You've definitely got me hooked!

Well done, and again, thank you So much for donating to HPFF! ♥

 Report Review

Review #18, by MrsJaydeMalfoyChild of the Hunt: The Journey Begins: Welcome to My Life

30th June 2016:
I finally got around to reading this second chapter, and I'm SO glad I did! THIS. IS. INCREDIBLE! You've created your own separate wizarding world here, complete with school, village, scenery, legends, creatures, languages... GAH! This is just like reading "Philosopher's Stone" all over again!

Your description is absolutely amazing, I could easily picture the island and the school, as well as the Yunwi. And I love the subtle differences between the AMA and Hogwarts, like students being able to use computers, etc. And seeing the article about Harry being delusional really helped me to place this in time as far as what's going on in Harry's story right now as well.

She's a BLACK, so I am SO intrigued to find out who her Mom is!! Eekk!

 Report Review

Review #19, by MrsJaydeMalfoyChild of the Hunt: The Journey Begins: Prologue (In a New York Minute)

29th June 2016:
Hi there, dear! I'm here with some reviews for your turn on the Hot Seat! Before I get started with my review, I just wanted to thank you SO much for contributing to HPFF! It's because of people like you that we're still around! ♥

And now, on to your review!

This is an INCREDIBLE first chapter. Right away, you've provided so much information, while also leaving just enough questions and curiosity there to make me want to go flying over to the next chapter - it's very addicting! I'm very curious as to who the Mom is and why she'd be a British Death Eater in America, and I'm also curious as to why other Death Eaters are chasing her. Guess I'll have to keep reading to find out! :P

You did a great description of the scene in the airport - I could picture it as clearly as though I were watching it in a movie, and that takes talent! Also, you did a wonderful job with the emotions here! It's only natural that, even though she's escaped for now, Alex would still feel stressed and tense and afraid to go to the authorities for help, so that was very realistic and believable, and it also made her very easy to relate to, right here from the beginning. I'm very interested to see where things go from here!

Great job, dear! I'm off to the next chapter now!

 Report Review

Review #20, by MrsJaydeMalfoyA Very Puppy Christmas: His name is...

29th June 2016:
I'm sorry this has taken so long, but I at least wanted to leave one more hot seat review for you! And, when I saw the banner and the title of this story, I just couldn't say no! I absolutely ADORE dogs, they are so precious, and I don't see very many fics about puppies / pets; I just couldn't pass this up!

And the first comment I have to make is that I'm quite disappointed that there's no puppy in this box. That author's note had me hopeful :P

This, once again, is just the cutest, sweetest, fluffiest little piece, Lizzie! I love it to bits! I think the idea was very original and your description allowed me to clearly imagine everything in my head, from the poor puppy's appearance when Harry found him to Lily's face when she opened the box!

And the ending. "Snuffles"... really? I mean, are you actually TRYING to kill me with feels?! (I'm kidding of course - Snuffles is a wonderful name! But still, the feels!)

All in all, this was another wonderful, fabulous story dear, I really enjoyed it!

Thank you again, SO much, for contributing to HPFF! ♥

 Report Review

Review #21, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Worst Birthday Ever: Of All The Days To Be Born

26th June 2016:
Here with another belated Hot Seat review! I remember reading this back during the Birthday Celebration, so I couldn't NOT stop back by and re-read and review this now!

First off, I thought this was very original - I think it's quite refreshing to see a girl who's NOT excited for Valentine's Day, who's not going crazy waiting for flowers, etc. Of course, Dom is hoping for some attention here, but not in the typical Valentine's Day way, and I really like that.

Secondly, I think this is also very REALISTIC. I'm sure there are lots of people who have birthdays on holidays who might feel kind of short-changed because they have to share THEIR day with a holiday - I'm sure they'd probably feel kind of overlooked or forgotten about, just like Dom does here. So huge kudos on originality and believability!

I really, really loved Louis' statement to Dom that there's nothing wrong with wanting to be recognized on your birthday - and he's absolutely right! Even if they don't want to admit it, most people DO want to be recognized or thought of on their birthday, and that's totally understandable. So, even though Dom is being a bit grouchy, her reasons for being that way are easy to understand.

And LOUIS! JUST AWW!! That is so sweet - he is officially the best little brother EVER! I was so happy that he did something like this for her, and that Dom got the attention and celebration she so desperately wanted and needed here! It made me smiling from ear to ear - this is the second of your stories to make me smile like this today! ♥

Really, really well done here also, Lizzie! I loved it! Thank you for participating in the Writer's Duel, and also thank you again for donating!

 Report Review

Review #22, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Howler: The Pun Also Rises

26th June 2016:
Hi there Lizzie!! *Squishes* I miss you! I hope you're doing well!

I am incredibly late with this, but I am here to leave you some reviews for your turn on the hot seat! I meant to stop by much sooner, but things got a little crazy and I just lost all track of time. I'm sorry for the slowness, but I hope these reviews can at least somewhat make up for how late I am! And, thank you SO much for donating to keep HPFF around! ♥

First off, I just want to say what a wonderful job you did here with the dialogue! Honestly I would have thought that having only / mostly dialogue could make things a little confusing, but it wasn't at all - you did a wonderful job of keeping things separated and letting us know exactly who was speaking! Well done!

Also, although it was mostly dialogue, you still did an excellent job of letting your characters' personalities shine through, through their words and actions. That's just another testament to how talented an author you are!

Thirdly, this is just HILARIOUS. I was smiling so much by the end, and I really needed a pick-me-up today, so THANK YOU! I love that Teddy's in denial about his feelings for Victoire, and then Harry sort of forces him to reveal them. Plus, the way Harry was cracking those absolutely horrible jokes was so funny, I could totally see him doing that after he became a godfather / father - and you really did a great job of inserting Harry's howler in between bits of Vic and Teddy's conversation!

I loved your description, too - especially when Teddy's face AND hair turned red. So funny!

All in all this was just a wonderful, funny read! I really enjoyed it! Well done!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by MrsJaydeMalfoyBeyond Repair: A Highly Unusual Day

26th June 2016:
What's this about a new chapter? And Aww man! Kristin beat me to the first review! :( *Raises eyebrow at Kristin*

Okay, enough rambling: once again, I LOVED this, as I knew I would. As soon as Petunia mentioned Lily being 11, I just KNEW it was going to be THIS chapter, where they find out about Hogwarts, and I was really excited to read it. And, once again, you have blown me away with your description, and the little details you include about Lily and Petunia's relationship and their feelings.


I loved your description of Lily's excitement and her automatically knowing why Minerva was there, and then the way Minerva smiled about it. I could easily see those things happening because you described them so well, and because you've made this so realistic.

The seeds of this argument have been growing for quite a while, just because Petunia is the older sister who's easily annoyed by Lily's actions, and then here we got to see just how things would have escalated once they found out (for sure) about Lily being a witch and heading off to Hogwarts. Here, you've got the beginnings of the whole 'weirdo'-type namecalling from Petunia, but you've explained it in a way that shows Petunia didn't mean it that way and in doing so you've made her much more relatable and likeable as well. It'll be interesting to see how the argument / divide between the girls progresses from here - and I'm sure it'll be heartbreaking as well. :(

Petunia thinking about Lily being off in a castle was a nice touch, too - it helped remind me of her thoughts and hopes from earlier chapters, and it's already helping me to see how jealousy's going to be a factor here, as well.

Anyway, this is another WONDERFULLY written, VERY descriptive and emotional chapter that I enjoyed very, VERY much! I'm so happy I finally got to read more of this and I can't wait for you to update!

Well done, lovely!

 Report Review

Review #24, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLiar: Marauders

19th May 2016:
Wh- what have you done to me with this chapter?! *Sobs* I just.. I was NOT prepared for the feels I just felt here... like, what?! *Sobs more*

I know that so many other things happened in this chapter, such as the boys picking their group and individual nicknames, which was brilliant, by the way, as was their prank.

But, there are two scenes that are just stuck in my mind and are making me sob like an infant right now: The group hug when the boys say they love Remus and he just can't deal, and of course the scene at the end with them playing and Remus realizing he doesn't have to be alone. Like... GAH! I just can't right now! *sobs even more*

I just felt such a surge of love for James, Sirius and even Peter when Remus (the wolf) turned around and saw them there... the Marauders on their first night together as all animals! Eeek! I'm a sobbing, flailing, fangirling mess right now Chiara! Look what your story has done to me!! This is just.. beyond perfect... it's just probably my favorite chapter I've ever read of anything! GAH! ♥ I've told you before that you do such a wonderful job with conveying emotions, and you certainly didn't disappoint here!

I know, I know, I'm rambling on and on and just repeating the same things over and over, but you really just tugged on all my heartstrings with this! I just.. GAH!

I'm going to go now, to try to get it together and stop crying.. but seriously.. this is SO amazing, YOU ARE SO TALENTED and I NEED MORE PLEASE!!! ♥

Author's Response: I don't even know how to thank you anymore! This review in particular made me feel so warm!!! I'm so sorry I made you cry... but so proud as well... *hug* *hug* *hug*

This is quite a heavy chapter... aww, glad you enjoyed the prank! Did the "rhymes" work? Rhymes are so hard, especially in a different language when you aren't 100% sure of the pronounce... :P but apparently it worked! :D

Aww... I know... poor Remus is so used to think that he is undeserving of being happy and loved that he just can't deal... but that's the reason the Marauders are so wonderful, right? :)

Aww... I'm so glad you felt all those emotions and I'm so flattered by all your praises! Thank you! So so so much! And sorry for all the feels! *hug* *wub*

More will come soon, promise! Thank you! A hundred, a thousand, a million times thank you! That's all I can say in response to this incredibly flattering review!

With all my love, and some more!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #25, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLiar: Gryffindors

19th May 2016:
Another wonderfully well-written chapter, dear! I think it's wonderful that Remus and Peter are back together and being friends, but I also still feel really sad that Peter's being so critical of Remus and not understanding, and Remus feels that he simply can't tell Peter what's going on. It's really heart-breaking. :(

I think we are already beginning to see here some of the traits that will eventually make Peter useful to the dark lord - I have to admit that the way he 'observes' everything seemed a little creepy! But, that's just how he is, you know? So that part was very in-character and believable.

Also, I really liked the conversation between Peter and the Sorting Hat. Obviously, the sorting hat knew what it was talking about, and especially the bit about self-preservation.

Honestly, this is the first fic I've read where Peter actually seeks out the friendship of James and Sirius, and I really like it, I think it's brilliant. Peter definitely wanted to be the center of attention, so it makes sense that he would seek out the most popular kids in school to accomplish that. I'm just wondering now how things are going to work out when Remus comes back!

Fabulous chapter in a fabulous story, and I'm off to the next now!

Author's Response: Hi again, Jayde! Long time no see! :P

Ah, I know... Remus is too scared of Peter's possible reaction, and Peter, well... he's Peter. He is the sort of person who would take things personally and feel mistreated and betrayed. But they do care for each other!

And yes, Peter is also the sort of person who observed things and stuff information for future use, without really sharing with anyone. I'm glad you found it in character, even if I agree it's a little creepy...

Glad you enjoyed the talk with the Hat. It knows better. But Peter doesn't want to listen. Not right now.

Peter does crave celebrity, and being considered by the popular guys would surely made him feel accomplished. Besides, he feels a bit trapped by his friendship with Remus. He wants to expand his horizons, if that makes sense?

Thank you so much for another awesome review! I'm so thrilled you are enjoying this so much!!! :D

Infinite love,
Chiara


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>