Reading Reviews From Member: MrsJaydeMalfoy
  
653 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsJaydeMalfoyBrought to Light: Brought to Light

13th February 2016:
Hello again! Review 2 of 2!

I have to admit, I haven't read many fics about the Lestranges, so I'm really excited to see what you do with them here!

Ooooh! Right from the beginning you've given this a creepy and 'evil' feel - I love your use of the Bible verse and Rabastan's agreeing with it! I think that makes it even creepier! And it was an excellent way to bring us into the scene - without just saying "It was night", you've let us know that something's being done at night. That's very creative!

Oh wow - the resentment towards Bellatrix from her own brother-in-law! I've always thought of the Lestrange's as Voldemort's "commanders" or "generals" as it were, so hearing that they're actually the laughingstock of the Death Eaters is a nice spin on things! And I definitely think more ancient families of purebloods probably WOULD have a problem with a woman running the family. Not to mention, Bellatrix DID always kind of throw herself at the Dark Lord. I'd assume that her being so close to him would definitely cause some resentment for her. And I've always kind of assumed, based on Bellatrix's actions, that her marriage to Rudolphus was loveless and they only married for the sake of being with a pureblood, etc, so I really like your take on things - that Rudolphus is actually quite smitten with her, but she's too stuck on the Dark Lord to notice or care.

Oh no, not the night they went to the Longbottoms'! Oh no!!

Even though I really dread what's coming, I think it's a neat, and very accurate idea, that there would be certain death eaters who specialize in certain things, like Rabastan specializes in breaking through doors/security spells!

Oooh, Rabastan has a plan to get rid of Bellatrix! I wonder what it is!! *Keeps reading*

Oh no! Poor Alice and Frank! And baby Neville! :( Your characterization of Bellatrix here really is spot on! But hm... what's this? Rabastan's plan coming into action already?! But it sounds like Rudolphus is onto him...

Something that really strikes me here is just how little even the Death Eaters knew about what happened to Voldemort. It only makes sense that they think the Aurors would know something about it, even though they don't, but I'd never really realized before reading this just how confused and desperate they must have been - Bellatrix in particular.

And :O *Gasps* Rabastan set Bellatrix up?! I had a feeling his plan would be something like this, I just had no idea it was going to happen THIS night. And what an ironic turn of events the Rabastan got what he wanted, but at the cost of his own freedom!

This was another great one-shot! I don't read stories about death eaters often, sot his was a nice change! Your writing and descriptions in this were amazing, and it all flowed perfectly! Well done!

Congratulations again, and thank you for helping us celebrate HPFF's 15th Birthday!

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLet Sleeping Dogs Lie: Rest for the Weary

12th February 2016:
Hello there! I'm here with 2 reviews for you as your prize for guessing another present correctly in the "Guess the Present" thread over on the forums! Congratulations, and thank you so much for helping us celebrate HPFF's 15th Birthday!

I'll be reviewing as I go, so if things seem to jump from one topic to another kind of suddenly, that's why, and I apologize in advance!

And hm... a new story with no reviews? Well, we'll just have to fix that, won't we?! :D

Okay, so, first off, I really love how you've set up the cycle between Remus and his bed already here in the first paragraph, and explained WHY this cycle even exists. And really, it's heartbreaking - knowing how much pain he's in and that pretty much forces him to want to sleep so much after his transformation, and then knowing that before his transformation, he CAN'T sleep, probably because he's so anxious about the upcoming transformation. It makes me wonder - did poor Remus EVER get enough sleep? :(

Oh wow - your referring to the bed as 'the opponent' was really awesome, you've actually given somewhat of a personality to the bed, and made it like a character instead of a prop here. That's amazing and just shows how talented you are!

Awww, the other marauders are there! It makes me feel good to know that, even though this is hard, Remus isn't going through this alone. His friends know all about his constant battles with the bed, and that just goes to show how close they are, that they can see he's obviously struggling with this. I was really hoping the sounds of the snitch would help Remus sleep. :(

Okay, so I got a little scared when you said that Remus hated James and Peter, because I thought they'd had a bad fight or something. But then when I saw it was because they could sleep and he couldn't, my heart broke a little bit more - that's so sad! :( Poor Remus!

I'll admit, when I was reading the bit about sleep aids, I got kind of hopeful for a minute, thinking "Remus could take a sleeping draught or something", but it sounds like taking those could potentially cause more problems than they'd fix. :( I know I already said it, but poor Remus! His situation seems almost hopeless. :(

Aw!! Well, at least Remus was able to get some sleep in the end, even if it wasn't really at an appropriate time. And, it's very sweet of everyone to let him sleep, they know how much he needs it!

All in all, I think this was a great little story, dear. You did an excellent job with conveying the emotions Remus feels here and honestly, this made me want to go back to sleep! :P Also, I think this is great for the Sleeping Habits challenge! Honestly, I've never read a fic about a character's sleeping habits before, so I think this was a very original challenge, and I think you did an excellent job with it! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoyFarewell: Farewell

10th February 2016:
Review 2 of 2!

Okay, so I was going to read "Blood Moon" because that banner was just chilling... but then I realized it was for the "Kill your character" challenge and the character was Daphne, and I just couldn't do it.. I loved Countdown to Christmas SO much and I just need her to stay perfectly happy and healthy and Christmassy with Tristan, at least for now! And, I haven't read a fic with Albus in it for quite some time, so I figured I'd go with this one instead, hope you don't mind!

Okay, my heart is just already broken as I'm reading that Albus thought the ring could bring back his family. I'd always assumed that he'd had no choice but to put the ring on, thereby harming himself, as a part of Voldemort's protection on the ring. But, reading that Albus used it trying to bring back his family is just SO sad, and such an interesting take on things!

Aw, he considers Harry like his own son?! That's so sad and sweet! Several times in the series, several people asked Harry how Dumbledore could leave him such a hard task, and in a way it made Albus seem almost cruel, so I really like reading this opposing side of that here!

OH WOW. I really like your interpretation of Albus' father's actions - that he acted in retaliation for something the muggle boys had done to Ariana. Percival has always seemed such a dark character, but now you've made him at least somewhat like-able and respectable by taking up for his family - well done!

And awww, now thinking about Gellert, too - Albus is really beating himself up, here. :(

Oh my goodness - we never really get a clear image in the series of exactly WHAT happened to Ariana, just that Aberforth blames Albus - I think this is an excellent explanation and could easily be Canon. Even though he was frustrated with his brother, Albus would never allow someone to hurt him, I think that's very realistic. And, although I understand Aberforth's frustration, it's really not fair of him to blame Albus, Albus was only trying to protect him. But, as Albus thought just a second ago, hindsight's 20/20.

I can't imagine the torture Albus must have felt all his life at not knowing whose spell it was that killed Ariana. Even if it WAS his spell, we know he didn't MEAN to hurt her, it was an accident, but he'd still never be able to forgive himself.

I think it says a lot that the thing that hurt Albus the most was that Gellert abandoned him, but it just goes to show that Gellert was really a fair-weather friend. And, I can't imagine how hard it must have been to fight, and defeat Gellert, still being in love with him, but Albus knew it was what had to be done and that's very in-character for him, very realistic.

I like your description of Albus' friendship with Minerva - of COURSE there are things she doesn't know, there are things we'll NEVER know about Albus Dumbledore, but I think she's probably one of the best friends Albus had at this stage in his life.

It's ironic that Albus finally got the fame and glory he'd dreamed of as a boy, but it meant nothing to him without Gellert at his side. And it's very true-to-form that once again, Albus stood up for everyone else, doing the right thing for the wizarding world, but it kind of makes you wonder "What about Albus? What about his desires and his needs?" It's almost like he's punishing himself for being a bit selfish earlier in his life, and it's really sad.

It also breaks my heart to think, well, to know, that the whole time Dumbledore was trying to help Harry save the wizard world, he knew he was dying. How does one keep going, keep fighting, knowing that the end is soon? It's just incredible and shows how strong of a character he really was.

I really enjoyed reading this piece as well, dear - I've read two very fluffy pieces of yours, and now a little more sad piece, and I have to say, once again, how great you are at conveying ALL emotions! You did a wonderful job of getting into Albus' head - well done!

 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoyCountdown to Christmas: Countdown to Christmas

10th February 2016:
It's me again! :D I saw your comment on my profile - that's so sweet and I'm so happy you liked the review! And now, I'm here with 2 more as your prize for getting a correct answer in 'Guess the Graphic'!

Sooo I've been wanting to read this ever since I saw the banner for the first time, but I couldn't remember who had written it!! So I was pleasantly surprised as I scrolled down your page looking for something to review, I just HAD to choose this! Again, I'll be reviewing as I go, so I'm sorry if I change topics quickly/too often!

First off, Daphne Greengrass! Such a little-written-about character, I LOVE reading stories with little-used characters! I can't wait to see what you've got in store, especially after reading that amazing Lavender/Oliver piece the other day!

Secondly, once again your words have picked me up out of my chair and transported me inside your story, it's as though I'm IN Daphne's office looking at the baubles and the mistletoe - you, my dear, are very talented!

And awww! I feel so sad for Daphne, never really having been shown/had the Christsmas spirit! I mean, I know some people just don't like Christmas for their own reasons, or don't celebrate it, but it's almost like Daphne's been deprived of it, you know? I really hope she's had a good dose of it by the end!

Wow. Having to write a story about the Crime Rate at Christmas certainly sounds like a punishment, and if Daphne weren't already lacking in the Christmas spirit, I'd think having to write that article would MAKE her lose the Christmas spirit! It's definitely not helping!

I hope you don't mind me mentioning this, but I did notice a couple of small typos in the paragraph that starts with "Daphne smirked before going back to her work". There's an extra "her" in the part that says "filing her through her notes", and where it says "it was not that easy", a "was" snuck in there between the "that" and the "easy". And, in the last sentence, there should probably be an "and" between "punishment" and "was". I'm not mentioning these to make you feel bad or criticize you or anything, your work is AMAZING! I just thought I'd bring them up because if it were me, I'd want to know, but please feel free to ignore them! (I always feel like such a jerk when I mention typos). :(

Hahaha Awww! Poor Tristan! I'm assuming he's her boyfriend, and I love that he's trying to get her in the Christmas spirit! And he's quite bold to decorate her flat knowing that she doesn't like Christmas! I just hope it pays off!

BAHAHAHAH! Eggnog is the devil's drink!! I hate to side with Daphne on this, but I kind of agree! XP But, I am sad that Tristan's first Christmas event didn't pass the test. :( But Daphne's reaction had me rolling. :P

AW!!! She's warming up to Christmas!!! Taking her to the park was an excellent idea, I just loved reading how awed she is by the decorations! And maybe the eggnog didn't do the trick, but I'm glad the wine did! And she's skating and having a great time... Ooh it's so exciting!! I can't wait to see what they do next! I hope she likes it as well!

Hahah YES! Christmas songs ARE the best, I'm so glad she liked them! And awww, poor thing, she's sick! :( I'll be honest, I was immediately afraid she was going to just hate anything he did that day, just because she was sick, but I'm really glad she didn't! It made me want to squee when she said it made her cry in a good way!

Awww, Daphne knows she had fun with the Christmas tree, even if she doesn't want to admit it! And EEK! She said "I'm getting a fake tree next year"... SO, THERE WILL BE A TREE NEXT YEAR?!?! YAY!! I'm so happy!

Hahaha, I loved the bit about Tristan not letting her decorate his tree! That made me chuckle! :D And, of course there's going to be a next year, Daphne should just give up the fight already :P. But *gasps* they're just friends?! That was a shock to me, I thought for sure they were a couple! Maybe they will be by the end of this? *Raises eyebrow* Okay let me finish reading! :P

EK I KNEW IT! I was pretty much flailing when they kissed!! And she's finally admitted that she had a good time the past few days! I felt so sorry when Tristan was leaving, but, after those last few moments, I get the feeling he'll be taking Daphne with him to his family's Christmas!

I just can't squee about this enough, I love it SO much! I knew when I saw the banner I was going to love it, and I did! This is another fantastic piece of yours, dear, and it's also going in my favorites! Well done!!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsJaydeMalfoyBreathe: i. Consequence

9th February 2016:
Here with review 2 of 2!

I told you reading 'Drown' had made me want to read this! :P

*Gasps* Why wouldn't Sirius and James be friends anymore? And why is it so hard for Sirius to write this letter to the person who's meant to be his best friend?! So tense, and so many questions right here at the beginning! Better keep reading! :P

Honestly, after reading the way she acted in 'Drown', I feel relieved that Mrs. Black is in Paris and I really hope she won't make a surprise appearance in this chapter. I think I'm still a little frightened of her... :P And, apparently it's very hard for Sirius to write this letter, so it's good that he doesn't have his mother there bothering and screaming at him every five minutes, to give him some time to work on it!

And my goodness - that's a short letter, to have taken him so long to write it! But GAH, the curiosity is killing me! What did Sirius do that was so awful?! And oh my goodness, they haven't spoken since MAY?! What in the world?!?

Also, I really like the subtle hints you've got of Wolfstar here. Yes, Sirius is clearly upset that he hasn't talked to James, but he can't even bring himself to write to Remus, for fear of rejection. That really says A LOT and I'm just hoping SO MUCH that the marauders fix everything, and soon! I don't like this feeling of them not talking to each other! And again, I think the fact that you're able to make me feel those emotions through your writing is incredible!

And aaah. A prank. That explains a lot. But what in the world?! What kind of prank could Sirius have possibly pulled that would involve Snape saying that word? And James was all bruised? It's nice to have some information now about what happened, and it certainly seems like Sirius' friends have a right to be angry with him, but I'm still really curious as to exactly how the prank went down. I'll just have to keep reading, won't I? :P

This is another wonderfully well-written piece/chapter of yours, dear! I'm very curious as to what will happen next, and this has already been added to my 'currently reading' list so that I can come back later to catch up! Excellent job, and again, Congratulations and thank you for playing the Guess the Present Game!

 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoyDrown: goodnight, i love you

9th February 2016:
Hello there lovely! I'm here with your two reward reviews for getting one of the presents correct in the "Guess the Present" thread! Congratulations, and thank you for helping us celebrate HPFF's 15th Birthday!

And oooh, what's this? A new story with no reviews? Well I'll just have to fix that, won't I? :P I'll be writing my review as I read, so if things seem to change topic rather quickly, that's why!

Okay, so the first thing I noticed is that your decision to use second person here was a great one! I don't know what it is about second person, but I just love it SO much - I think it really helps the reader feel connected with the story and the characters, and you did a fabulous job with it!

Also, reading from Regulus' point of view is just heartbreaking. Seeing that, deep down, he really cares about his brother and just wants everyone to be together, really makes him more like-able and a more rounded character. And it's so sad hearing him think "if I'd known it was the last time I'd talk to him". :(

And *raises eyebrow* That man? You've definitely grabbed my curiosity here! What's going on? Guess I'll have to keep reading to find out, won't I? :P

OH WOW. You have done SUCH a great job with the emotions here, and with your characterization of Mrs. Black.. just, wow. Before I read this, I'd always kind of viewed her as a nuisance and a mean woman... but here, you've actually shown that Regulus was AFRAID of her, she's so threatening and nasty! And, by showing how afraid Regulus is, you've kind of made me afraid of her too. *hides* That just goes to show how wonderful of a job you've done here with the emotions, that you can make ME feel what your characters are feeling!

Oh no, poor Sirius!! And poor Regulus, too! He wants to help his brother but he's too terrified to even move! And it's so heartbreaking to see the way he's beating himself up about it, even after so much time... I really wish he could just find some way to communicate with Sirius how sorry he is, and ask him the questions he wants to know about his life. :(

And :O *Gasps* Oh my goodness, that ending is just SO powerful! Based on the context, I'm assuming that this is the part where Regulus takes the horcrux, and to think that Sirius was Regulus' reason for wanting to do that, for wanting to stand up to Voldemort and not be a coward anymore is just... sweet and sad at the same time. I really wish Sirius had known that Regulus had changed his ways before they died... I wish they'd been able to reconcile! And, reading this has really made me think I need to go give "Breathe" a read... I'll have to add that to my "to read" list!

Anyway, this is a very intense and emotional story, lovely, I'm so glad I read it. Your writing here is so amazing, there were no spelling or grammar errors that I saw, and it flowed wonderfully. Really, really well done! And Congratulations again!

 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsJaydeMalfoyDrive: Drive

8th February 2016:
Hello there lovely!

I'm here with your prize review for being the runner-up in the Treasure Hunt! CONGRATULATIONS! And, before I begin, let me just say THANK YOU and tell you how amazing and sweet it was of you to give one of your reviews away to Looneylizzie! That was just so selfless and kind and gave me ALL the warm and fluffy feelings. *hug*

And now, for your review! I'll be typing the review as I read, so if things seem a little spastic or seem to jump from one topic to another, that's why!

Okay, so the first thing I noticed, from the very first paragraph, is that your description is very vivid and really helps put me in the scene with Lavender. You described the smell of the ocean and the sound of the gulls, and even though it's really cold here and I'm nowhere near a beach, you took me to the summertime and warm air, and that's just amazing - especially considering it's only the first paragraph! And it only got better with the second paragraph as you were describing the colors of the dawn and the water sparkling... just WOW!

Also, I just love the fact that these two wizards are doing something completely normal and muggle-like together, despite their being magical. Taking a drive along the beach is always really nice, and of course they would appreciate something as absolutely perfect as that, too! I'm not sure if you were creating this theme on purpose, but it definitely makes me think "yes, they're wizards and they have their own set of worries and issues and hobbies that muggles wouldn't understand, but they still have a lot in common with everyday people", and I LOVE that because, at least to me, half the time it seems like wizards are almost another species. :P

I think it's really a nice touch that Oliver doesn't like for her to stare at him. I'm sure, as a celebrity, he was used to people staring at him, but as he's trying to deal with the disappointment of no longer being able to play Quidditch, it makes sense he wouldn't want to feel famous anymore, and have people staring at him all the time.

Also, I love the wizards' therapy group, I think that's another part that the muggle world would have in common with the wizarding one, especially in the wake of the Battle of Hogwarts. And seeing how carefree the two of them are riding beside each other, despite other people trying to discourage them being together because they're in the same therapy group, is really sweet. Yes, they both have issues, but everyone does, and I don't think that should mean that they CAN'T be together.

I liked seeing how Lavender is fighting to overcome the nightmares and the scars, because something as traumatic as what she went through is absolutely hard to get over. Something like that definitely would change her from being a little vain to wanting to 'shrink into the background', as you said, but she doesn't have to do that with Oliver and it really makes me feel happy for her. And the fact that Oliver kissed her scars the first time he saw them is SO SWEET! ♥ Plus, getting a new start in America sounds like something the two of them really needed!

Honestly, I've never read this pairing before (so kudos for originality!), but I just LOVE the two of them together. I'm normally not a big Lavender fan, but you've made her very likeable and easy to relate to here, and she and Oliver seem meant for each other! And Eeek! He got her to take off the scarf! That's so sweet!! Just knowing that they each know each other's struggle and are working to help the other is just a demonstration of true, pure love and it's so fluffy and GAH!

You did SUCH AN EXCELLENT job of conveying the emotions here - when Lavender raised her hands in the air and screamed I could just feel her joy, and it's actually really filled me with joy as well. And OH my goodness, she forgot the scarf! That ending is just SO PERFECT I JUST CAN'T. Oh my gosh, this is going in my favorites right now!

I know I've already said a lot about this, but really, I just can't tell you how much I love this, for so many reasons. This has definitely gotten me more interested in both characters, individually AND as a pairing. The writing in this is just superb - I didn't see any spelling or grammar errors and it flowed flawlessly. I'm so, SO glad I read this! Well done lovely! And congratulations again!

 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Afterlife: Coccydynia

19th January 2016:
Okay 1) I LOVE Max and Giles. They're hilarious.

2) I was NOT expecting Remus and Tonks so soon! Oh my Gosh!! What is Teddy going to do?! And I was also not expecting the feels at seeing them again... How can you just leave me hanging like this Deee?!

I'M GOING TO NEED THE NEXT CHAPTER NOW PLZ.

NO really. DEE WHY ISN'T IT UP YET?!? (okay I'm slightly kidding, I know you're busy. But still).

Also how DARE you get me completely addicted to another of your stories?! ♥

Well done lovely!

PLZ update soon! *squishes*

 Report Review

Review #9, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Afterlife: Slubberdegullions

19th January 2016:
!! Dun dun DUN! I was wondering when Teddy would stumble across the ring! The plot thickens! Ooh, I wonder how long it's going to take him to realize what it is, and what will happen once he uses it! I know there will be a whole lot of other things going on between now and then, but I'm excited for all of it!

Teddy and Victoire are SO in love. At least that's what I'm reading into it. :P And I can actually understand both sides of their argument - I think the only reason their emotions got so caught up in it is because they're secretly in love. Or at least that's what I'm going to tell myself! XD

Savage really does sound like an AWFUL professor, but at least Teddy's detention is with Hagrid and not someone else!

Once again, you've got a very 'original series' feel here that I absolutely love, and I can not WAIT to see where things go from here!

Well done, as usual, and I'm off to Chapter 4 now!

 Report Review

Review #10, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Afterlife: Gelastic

19th January 2016:
Teehee! Oh no Teddy! Not on the first day of class! Oh my gosh, he seemed SO much like Tonks right there! ♥ That was absolutely hilarious! But seriously, not on the first day, Teddy!

Again, this feels SO much like the series to me - reading about the classes, the friends... GAH! You could be starting your own Teddy spinoff series here! It's incredible! And as soon as I finish writing this review, this is going in my favorites! HOW do you manage to do that in only 2 chapters, Dee?!? TELL ME YOUR SECRET!

Annnd I think that's all I have to say for now because I needs more! :P

Well done dear!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Afterlife: Fidius Achates

19th January 2016:
DEE! Hello there dear! I'm sorry I'm a day or two late with this, but HAPPY HOT SEAT! *Squishes*

Okay, so I knew I loved Seized... but I was still not expecting you to have me hooked in the first chapter of this story! I mean STAHP being such an amazing author already!! :P

This had such a "Philosopher's Stone" feel to it - and by that I mean that you managed to capture all the magic and mystery that I felt the first time reading about Harry travelling to Hogwarts. Even though this is definitely not the first time I'm reading about a start-of-term feast or people returning to Hogwarts, it really felt that way! I can already tell this is going to be just as epic and just as addicting as Seized is!

I think you've got a great little Trio set up here, and I loved the hints at Teddy/Victoire, I'm really curious as to how that will turn out. And reading your description of the Hufflepuff Common Room really made ME feel like I was at home, too!

Very intriguing first chapter dear! And now, if you'll excuse me.. I believe there are 3 more chapters I need to go read! ♥

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #12, by MrsJaydeMalfoyPocket Watch #1 -- Bittersweet Homecoming: 1.4 -- 'Most Drunken House Elf'

19th January 2016:
NOPE I'M STILL NOT DONE!

I swore to myself I was going to finish all the chapters you'd posted of this the other day, and then got sidetracked, but I'm here now! I saw your comment on my profile on the forums and I'm so happy to know that my reviews have made you so happy! I hope this one only adds to that!

I was glad my question about the most drunk house elf was answered pretty much immediately, and I just love how each of these chapters picks up almost exactly where the last one left off, I think it makes the reading that much more easy and interesting!

I could really start to see some of the reasons why Barty can't stand his father in this. The way he treats House Elves, and then his attitude over Barty's prank.. I mean yes, Barty shouldn't have done that... but I really just got a cold chill when his father called him into the room, so you did an excellent job with his characterization and with conveying the emotions there!

I really liked seeing how Barty tried to make up to Winky for what he had done, and how he and his mother adore Winky and consider her to be a party of the family. It makes her much more like a person and I adore that!

I'm really, really excited for Barty to get home, but I'm also paranoid and worried that his father will have done/will do something to ruin his homecoming.. I hope I'm wrong! :(

Anyway, this was another fabulous chapter, dear! And I can't wait to read more! And I'm also super-thrilled that I got to be the first review for this chapter!!

And again, Happy Birthday and Happy Hotseat lovely!

 Report Review

Review #13, by MrsJaydeMalfoyPocket Watch #1 -- Bittersweet Homecoming: 1.3 -- A Son's Mother

15th January 2016:
Oh my Goodness, the thing that stands out to me most in this chapter is your DESCRIPTION! It's incredible! That garden sounds SO beautiful, I could easily picture myself there, I could almost hear the fountain - how do you do this magic?!?

I really liked the description of Barty Jr's relationship with his mother, they seem very close and I think that makes sense. I'm feeling very excited for him to get home now as well!

And now I'm also very curious about what the Drunken house elf thing is referring to... lol. I can't wait to find out! :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by MrsJaydeMalfoyPocket Watch #1 -- Bittersweet Homecoming: 1.2 -- Festering Wounds

15th January 2016:
Did you think that I was finished? NOPE! :P I'm back for more, and this time its ON YOUR BIRTHDAY!!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY, LOVELY! ♥

I know I said it before, but I just really LOVE your characterization of Barty Jr. in this! He's portrayed as just flat out evil in the series, but unless they're Voldemort, I really don't think anyone is ALL bad, and I like seeing this side of him that doesn't want people to die, that doesn't approve of his father's methods - it's really refreshing!

Also, this is really making me start to hate Barty Sr. XD

And I'm really curious about what his Mother's letter said, and what he's looking forward to when he gets home!

Another fabulous chapter, and I can't wait to read the next! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #15, by MrsJaydeMalfoyPocket Watch #1 -- Bittersweet Homecoming: 1.1 -- Unspeakable Dreams

11th January 2016:
HAPPY HOT SEAT, KAREN!!

It's about time I got here to read this, and I'm so excited to see this on your author's page and dive right in!

This is an excellent start! You've already shown us SO much about Barty's personality, particularly how desperate he is to NOT be his father, or even associated with him. And you've given him real dreams and desires, and honestly, that's made him quite like-able! When I was reading this, despite what we see of him in the series, I was able to imagine him riding on the train, smiling, excited for his future, and it's nice to see him as something other than a crazed Death Eater for once.

This really has given me a lot of questions, and I'm definitely wondering how this is all going to turn out, I can't wait to see where things go from here! I really hope he's able to become an Unspeakable!

You also did a great job with Slughorn's characterization, and your description was amazing - I particularly liked the part about him rubbing the sugar from his candies off in his pocket! :D

Anyway, fantastic first chapter, lovely, and I can't wait to read the next!

 Report Review

Review #16, by MrsJaydeMalfoyCrescendo of Heartbeats: Chapter 4: Patter

7th January 2016:
Oooh, this is SO good! I'm going to need another chapter of this soon, please!

I think you did a wonderful job of picking up on some subtle things from the series and bringing them to light - like all the similarities between Draco and Hermione, and Draco's creativity. It really helps to show how those two really could wind up together!

Also, Draco seems to have started enjoying himself... :D

I wonder what will happen in their next night of detention, and I also wonder what Harry and Ron will have to say about all of this.

Really well done, lovely!

 Report Review

Review #17, by MrsJaydeMalfoyCrescendo of Heartbeats: Chapter 3: Tinkle

7th January 2016:
Ooooh, I think I see a little progress here! They're at least being slightly more civil to each other, and now Draco's heard her song! Ooh, I just know he's going to be what helps her finish it, and I can't wait to see how the rest of this goes!

I'm sorry this review isn't longer but I need to go read the next chapter now!

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #18, by MrsJaydeMalfoyCrescendo of Heartbeats: Chapter 2: Crackle

7th January 2016:
Wow, this is another really intense chapter!

I really don't think it's fair the way Snape is punishing Hermione for Draco's lack of studying - after all, she's always been very studious and has her own homework to worry with! But, we all know Snapes relationship with the Trio, so it's also very realistic :P

Hermione was being really, really bold to come out and say those things to Draco, but she was SO RIGHT about all of it, and it's about time someone told it like that!

I hope they get those cauldrons cleaned quickly so they can study!

Another excellent chapter, I'm off to the next! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #19, by MrsJaydeMalfoyCrescendo of Heartbeats: Chapter 1: Boom

7th January 2016:
Hi there dear, and HAPPY HOT SEAT!!

WOW. This is SUCH an intense first chapter, there's so much going on!

First off, I like the mentions here of how Draco's been failing all of his classes, and him taking the Dark Mark over the summer, because it really ties in very well with Canon and gives us some context about what's going on in the series from the very beginning.

Also, this is quite an interesting and exciting way to bring the two of them together! They both desperately need something from each other, and I think that's a very realistic way for something like this to get started between the two of them!

I really liked the little musical interlude the two of them had going on there, it was almost like they were both playing the piece of the musical puzzle that the other had been missing, and I can't wait to see how that plays into later chapters!

All in all, this was a very intense, action-packed first chapter, and I can't wait to see where things go from here! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #20, by MrsJaydeMalfoyA Sister's Love: Molly: Big Sister

7th January 2016:
Nope, I'm still not done!

Aw, this is just SO sweet! First off, I love your characterization of little Molly (I know, I keep saying I love your characterization, but it's because you're so good at it!) I love the way you spelled words like "Fwed" and "hopsicle", since that's how a little child would say them and think they were spelled! That's very realistic and you did an excellent job of portraying such a young child!

Also, Molly's excitement and constant insistence that she wants a sister and not a 'stinky brudder' is so cute and hilarious!!

And then the references to future events at the end, the way Molly is so protective of Lucy and the way you referenced some of your other works was amazing, and it really makes me want to go read those now, as well!

And then, it was also really touching knowing that you wrote this for Georgina, Freda. When I read the part about Molly holding little Lucy for the first time, it nearly brought a tear to my eye because I could feel how much you love your sister in that moment. It was SO sweet!

Once again, really, really well done with this!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much Jayde!! Gee, I love hot seat reviews! All of a sudden we have 10 reviews, which is like a year's worth! (So hopefully that's not all for 2016!)

Being realistic in kids' speech and thought process is something we really try to do well on. We had plenty of practice with our earlier short story collections; Just Another Picnic and Life in the Boot Family.

The references are useful in the story, because many of our stories are super inter-connected as far as references go. And then there's the added bonus of sending readers off to read the accompanying pieces, so that was intentional. (Heeheehee!)

Thank you so much! Though I must say that Molly's devotion to her sister is a little exaggerated compared to mine, although I'm definitely close with Georgina. Also, I must also admit that I don't remember when Georgina was born (I was three) nor do I remember a time without her.

But again, thank you so much for the reviews!!

--Freda


 Report Review

Review #21, by MrsJaydeMalfoyOn Imbeciles and Moody: 1982

7th January 2016:
Hello again!!

When I saw that you two had a story that didn't have any reviews, I couldn't just leave it that way, I had to stop by!

Wow. Reading this really makes me angry with the Wizengamot. I can imagine this would have actually happened in Canon, and I can't help but think "If they had only listened to Moody..." Things would have worked out SO much differently! SO many people would still be alive! I think you did a wonderful job of picking a missing moment from the series and writing a story about it!

I think you also chose the perfect conditions for this conversation to happen in. Everyone's trapped in the same room, and the heat is really high, they're all more concerned about their predicament than saving the wizarding world. Moody is the ONLY one who sees reason here, and they just don't want to listen.

I have to say, those people must have been REALLY annoyed to talk to Moody the way they did! He's pretty scary!

And, speaking of Moody, I think you did a wonderful job with his characterization. Yes, he did always seem a bit paranoid in the series, but for good reason - he's right! And even though nobody listened to him and everyone wanted him to be quiet, he was defiant and refused to pipe down - THAT'S MOODY, and you guys did an EXCELLENT job with that!

This was another wonderful story, and I can't wait to read another! Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you, you are such a good reviewer.

Part of their refusal to listen was because we were tying it in with the song "Sit Down, John" from the musical 1776, where the whole time John is trying to get Congress to declare independence and they're complaining about the July heat and the flies. Once I (Georgina) saw a challenge concerning musicals, I really wanted to do something with this song, and Moody was the best person we could think of in a situation like this.

Thank you for all your reviews, they're all so kind!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #22, by MrsJaydeMalfoyMeeting the Girl: I'm Sorry--Who?

7th January 2016:
Hi there lovelies!

I'm sorry I'm a little delayed with this, but HAPPY HOT SEAT!

I actually really, REALLY like Krum and Padma together! I don't know what it is, but those two really seem to click!

Also, I really like your characterization of Krum - he's always seemed like sort of a rude oaf to me, in the series and in most of the fics I've read, but surely he couldn't be like that ALL the time, so it's really nice to see him portrayed in a different light!

I think you've got Padma's characterization down-pat, too. The way she closes the doors and tells the press to go away, the way she helps with the dishes - I think it all fits and I could picture her very clearly in my mind doing all of those things, so great job with that!

And OH my goodness, Padma got bitten, too! Poor thing! :( But, it really seems like she's adjusting and handling it well, and I think it's SO great that her lycanthropy isn't going to stop her from living her life, or stop Krum and his family from accepting her!

All in all, I really liked this, and when I get a chance I think I'm going to have to read the other stories you mentioned here, too! Well done!

Author's Response: Well, you're all caught up now, so no matter.

We wrote this story after having written a story where Padma becomes a were-wolf, then we wrote a chapter in a short story collection about her living with it and going on a first date with Krum, and people loved them so much we wrote this.

We wanted to show Krum as an awkward guy in this, not a heart throb and not a rude oaf.

We did a fairly good job of making sure you don't need to read the other ones to be content. But feel free to read them if you want to.

Thank you so much for all your reviews!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #23, by MrsJaydeMalfoyNine Nights of Dancing: Navratri

4th January 2016:
Nope, I'm still not finished! :D

First off, this is very original and refreshing - I'm pretty sure it's the FIRST fic I've ever read describing a different cultural ritual than the ones I'm used to, and it was so exciting and interesting! I honestly want to look up more about this festival thanks to what I've read here! Your description was amazing, I could picture everyone dancing, and the sticks, and all the beautiful colors, and I could almost hear the music playing and see Parvati dancing around and laughing. Seriously, your description here is AMAZING!

Secondly, I imagine it WOULD be hard for Parvati facing all of this without Padma, but I completely understand Padma's need to get away from it all after what happened in the war.

And then, seeing Parvati's reaction is just heart-breaking. So much fic focuses on what happened to MAJOR characters as a result of the war, but it would have affected minor characters like Parvati and Padma, too, and I think it's great that you showed that here. I imagine that, after being in battles like the one at Hogwarts, it WOULD be hard to be in a room full of people with sticks and NOT feel like you're back in the battle. That was very realistic and you portrayed her reaction very well.

I'm glad she's sticking with it though, and keeping that bravery up in spite of everything that's happened. She's really just SO strong and makes her much more relatable and likeable.

Another excellent story, dear! Well done!

Author's Response: Wow, now I feel bad for leaving you only one Hot Seat Review! Stop making me feel bad Jayde! :P I guess I'll just have to wander over to your AP and leave you some extra reviews. :p

Anyway, thank you so much for all your kind words! I was really self conscious about posting this at first because, after all, this is my culture and I was scared that people wouldn't like it or just wouldn't be accepting, but I should have known better because everyone here is super accepting and kind.

In addition, I'm super glad to hear that you could picture what was going on and that it made you want to look up more about this festival, as that was a major goal for this story.

In my head, Padma was always the weaker of the two sisters, so I really wanted to show that while Parvati came back and pushed through the effects of the war, Padma ran away from it all, and while that is a perfectly acceptable and understandable thing to do, I wanted to make sure to show that Parvati was strong enough to move on, even without her sister.

I'm especially glad to hear that you thought her reaction was realistic and that it made sense. Overall, your reviews have just been wonderful and all these kind words are inflating my ego :P Thank you so much for dropping by and thank you for all the compliments!

-Jayna


 Report Review

Review #24, by MrsJaydeMalfoyWishes: Wishes

3rd January 2016:
Awww! Oh no!! *sobs* I wasn't ready for this, it broke my feels!

Seeing the comparison between the two birthdays was just heartbreaking - knowing that one of them is filled with hope, and the other was filled with dread. Also, seeing James as a parent and Harry as a parent really brings out that contrast, too. And it is so sad that James was SO sure he was going to die that he left Harry that note.

Speaking of the note, I really loved the idea that someone could set a gift to arrive at a specific date - that's very original, but also still fits perfectly with Canon!

I know receiving that note would have really meant something to Harry, and I'd have loved to read his reaction!

This was another fantastic, although sad, story lovely! *hug* Well done!

 Report Review

Review #25, by MrsJaydeMalfoyA New Way of Life: The Ecstasy of Running

3rd January 2016:
Hello there, lovely, and Happy Hot Seat!

First off, I definitely CAN tell how much running means to you in this! You described the running itself, as well as the feelings associated with it, very clearly! You made me feel like I was out there running with Draco, and it was exhilarating! Very well done!

Secondly, I think you did a great job with Draco's characterization here! I especially loved the parts where you said he was troubled and running from his past, and when you said for once he wasn't advantaged or disadvantaged - I know that must have felt nice to him!

Also, I really like the idea of Draco taking up a 'muggle' sport to let off some steam! He didn't even take his wand with him, which said a lot in itself!

All in all, this was a wonderful little story, and I can't wait to read another of yours! Well done!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>