Reading Reviews From Member: prettywishes
  
392 Reviews Found

Review #26, by prettywishesBreak Out: VI.

2nd December 2012:
I feel so awful for Hermione, and then I got so excited when she realized that Dean was there, and then Oliver had to go and ruin it all. Clearly he had just given up, but I really hope that Hermione doesn't end up like that! Also, I really hope that at some point they're able to get her out of there, especially before anything really really bad happens there. Can't imagine things would get any better with time.

The interactions between Bellatrix and Voldemort were very tense and interesting, but I thought that the last bit was the most interesting of all. I never thought about the possibility that he could be dying, and without him I would imagine that the Death Eaters would lose most of their steam. Very interesting plot twist!

Author's Response: I feel really badly for Hermione, too, although it is some comfort (though not much) that she has company there. Oliver's an interesting character in this story; it might not be a bad idea to watch him! ;)

Oh, yes, Voldemort's not immortal. I'm pleased you liked the interaction between Bellatrix and him, though! That was, thinking back, one of the most difficult aspects of this entire story, that scene. I'm not sure what it is about those two, but writing them in character together was a bit of a challenge for me.

I'm very much looking forward to hearing your opinion on the rest of the story! :3 As always, thank you for your review, truly. I know I keep repeating that, but I really do appreciate them!


 Report Review

Review #27, by prettywishesBreak Out: V.

2nd December 2012:
The Ginny/Ron bit was the most adorable brother sister scene that I've read in awhile, but at the same time I felt absolutely awful for Ginny. She's really got nothing to hope for when it comes to love. Then you also managed to nail Ron's attitude towards Malfoy, it was almost funny to read because it was just so in character for Ron to freak out where Malfoy is concerned, so that was very enjoyable to read! Really interested to see how that whole agreement works out for them!

Author's Response: Il loved writing Ron and Ginny's scene together too -- there aren't enough sibling moments in a lot of fan fiction, you know? And the Weasleys, of all families, should have family moments! I feel so badly for Ginny, though; I didn't really anticipate how killing Harry would affect her before it came time to write it.

Oh, thank you so much! I'm thrilled you found Ron and Draco's little spat in character -- and I love hot-headed Ron in canon. I can't tell you how much your lovely, consistent comments mean to me, truly! Thanks so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #28, by prettywishesBreak Out: IV.

2nd December 2012:
All of these emotions are killing me! Seeing how things unfolded from Hermione's point of view was even worse than seeing things from Ron's I think. And when she was saying that they might as well just kill her now? That was awful, though with the things that she's likely to experience I can't say that I blame her.

Draco! I was crazy excited to see that you've managed to work him into this! I seriously love him, and I like it when more sides of him are explored and I like how it's been made clear that he's more of a coward than anything. So many people seem to try to make him out as some evil child, but I think that you've got something more accurate going here. Really interested to see who exactly nabbed him and why.

Author's Response: Hermione's chapters are inarguably the darker ones of this story, but that's to be expected, I suppose. And you're right -- we can't really blame her, can we? For all she knows, all hope is lost (though hopefully readers think otherwise!).

Draco's actually a pretty big part of this story! Which I'm sure you know by now, of course. ;) People have the tendency to write Draco with either too many good qualities, or not enough, and he's too interesting of a mix to lean fully one way or the other. It's awesome to see we have similar views to that end! He's got a complexity to his character in canon I tried hard to capture here.

Well, what can I say? As always, thank you very, very much for taking the time to review this for me! ♥


 Report Review

Review #29, by prettywishesBreak Out: III.

2nd December 2012:
The opening scene was awful in a good way, Ron realizing the fact that Hermione had been left behind and that there was nothing he could do about it? Utterly depressing, but the emotions were conveyed really clearly. And it didn't really get any better from there in terms of mood, but I adored how Mr. Weasley reacted to everything. All of the characters seem really spot on so far, something that is so hard to do, so kudos for that.

Author's Response: The opening scene is my favorite part of this chapter -- which is slightly odd, when I come to think about it. My favorite parts of stories are always the heartbreaking ones! But I'm really pleased to hear the emotions were convincing, because, as I've said, so much of this story hinges on that. :)

Characterization is something I work very hard on in my writing, so it makes me smile to see that it's working for you here! Thank you for this review, and I'm pleased you're liking the story thus far!


 Report Review

Review #30, by prettywishesBreak Out: II.

2nd December 2012:
I really really like the way in which you've portrayed all of the characters so far, especially Ron. I am always so reluctant to read anything that has anything to do with the trio because there always seems to be something off about it, but you've done a really brilliant job with that so far.

You've also done a really great job of conveying emotions with this so far, my heart was seriously breaking as Ron was calling out for Hermonine! The chaos was clear as was the confusion that seems to have resulted. A scene like this must have been tricky to write but I thought you managed really well!

Author's Response: You're back, and with a whole new slew of reviews for me! ♥ You are awesome, you know that?

Ron is one of my favorite parts of writing this story, and I've always loved writing him; he's so much more than comic relief, but he's also really good FOR comic relief, which makes for a fun time of writing. I'm so glad you think I'm writing him well thus far!

This chapter is one of my favorites in the story -- it was a bit tricky to write, yes, but it also came quickly. Emotions are such a major part of this story, and your compliments to that end are so appreciated.

I know I've told you over and over, but your reviews really do mean so, so much to me! Thank you for taking the time to leave your opinions on this chapter, and I'm looking forward to responding to the rest of your reviews, too! ♥


 Report Review

Review #31, by prettywishesBreak Out: I.

23rd November 2012:
So I thought that I was done stalking you-then I decided that I ought to just check one last thing out, and I am so so glad that I did! The idea behind this is so amazing. I mean, when you think about it, the idea isn't too far fetched, but I've never seen it executed before so I am really excited to see what you are going to do with it! There are so many different ways that this could go, which has me very excited! Brilliant start.

Author's Response: Look at you, popping over to yet another of my stories! I'm really glad you checked this story out, too; speaking with a bias, I'm very proud of it, and I'm pleased you're enjoying it thus far too!

The idea to write an AU centered around Harry's death had been tugging at my mind for a long time, before I sat down to actually write this. I've never read a version from another author, either, so I don't know how they compare.

I'm looking forward to hearing your opinions on the rest, though! And, of course, thank you for taking the time to review this chapter. It really does mean so much to me!


 Report Review

Review #32, by prettywishesGrowing Up Magical: Epilogue

23rd November 2012:
Eeeek! This was the perfect way to wrap everything up. I really wasn't sure what you were going to do to link all of these together, but the last thing that I expected was for it to be when they were older sending their own kids off to school! The little comments that were linked throughout the story really pulled everything together, so kudos on that! Also, I adored the way that you wrote James! His fear about going off to school was so genuine and you captured the moment really well!

Author's Response: For both this and GUW, the epilogues were some of my favorite chapters to write (though I realize I probably have said that at least once about every chapter), because tying everything together was like a really fun puzzle. And I liked them especially because I intentionally wrote them without any sense of finality -- in each, there's a bit of a carrying on theme, that childhood and growing up in this magical world will go on forever. And I'm really happy to hear you liked James, too! I'm not normally a fan of the next generation, but I'll make some exceptions where wee kids are involved. ;)

Seriously. I cannot even begin to tell you how much I appreciate all these reviews you've left for me -- and not just on this story, but on all the ones you've stopped by recently. It seriously is so amazing of you to do that, and I hope you know that. ♥ Thank you so, so much!!


 Report Review

Review #33, by prettywishesGrowing Up Magical: Seamus

23rd November 2012:
Oh my goodness, he was just too adorable! I almost died when he mentioned that he wouldn't be able to make himself cheese sandwiches because he wasn't allowed to use a knife! It was something that little kids would think about in that sort of situation. I am so glad that you ended up writing this, knowing where Seamus got his love for all things explosive from was cute!

Author's Response: Seamus! Not a lot of people write Seamus, and I think that's one of the main reasons why I set out so intentionally to do so. I'm really pleased that you seemed to think I got into a kid's mind here, too, because that's exactly what it's supposed to be, this story: Snippets from the eyes of a child. Hearing little things like that is one of the best things about writing -- I can know that what I want to get across to readers, it's making it's way there!

Thank you so much for this review, and again, for all of the others as well!


 Report Review

Review #34, by prettywishesGrowing Up Magical: Harry

23rd November 2012:
I knew that Harry's chapter was going to have to deal with Dudley (how could it not?) but I thought it was hilarious how he and his friends were chasing Harry around for fun. The way that Harry managed to escape via tree was cute, especially when he used his magic to keep him out! I really think that my favorite part though was when it was mentioned how hard Dudley tried to get back up there, even years later! The little details always make the biggest differences.

Author's Response: Dudley was a very large part of Harry's childhood, and it's just too easy to write a fun little scrape with the pair of them involved for me NOT to have done it. You know? :P In looking back and thinking about writing each of these chapters, I think this is one of the ones I had the most fun actually writing it. And it came very quickly, if I recall correctly. Poor Dudley, never quite understanding Harry's magic... and I love that bit, too, about his always wanting to figure out how it happened! I love details, and I'm so happy you do, too.

I'm grinning like a maniac right now, watching football and responding to these reviews. They seriously make me so happy. :3 Thank you for them!


 Report Review

Review #35, by prettywishesGrowing Up Magical: Cedric

23rd November 2012:
Awww! The monster under the bed is such a classic idea, but you did a really great job of making sure that this was still interesting and funny and such. Though I thought it was so sad when Cedric was mentioned something about dying at the hands of the monster because of his premature death. But his Dad was such a typical dad, and he had such an active imagination, that it all just came together so perfectly!

Author's Response: When I was thinking of what to write for Cedric, I was almost astonished to realize I HADN'T written about monsters under beds yet -- because you're right, it really is a classic! I'm kind of a masochist, though, inserting little barbs about death like that. Oops. :(

But anyway. I'm glad you liked this chapter (and all the rest) anyway! Thank you so much to taking the time to tell me what you thought!


 Report Review

Review #36, by prettywishesGrowing Up Magical: Hermione

23rd November 2012:
I'm pretty sure that I was Hermione as a little kid, mostly because I always got mad that no one else knew how to read and I could. Though that was mostly due to wanting to out-do my older brother, so maybe it wasn't like her after all. Either way, little Hermione was really really funny, going around and bossing people around. Something that I can really see from her, especially if she isn't used to being around other little kids all the time!

Author's Response: I've heard that a lot, actually -- and in truth, when writing this story, I was picturing my own preschool classroom and attitudes. :D Some habits die hard, and I think a lot of readers and writers were a lot like Hermione when they were little! She's so bossy and endearing, and I think it would be a bit hypocritical of me if I didn't like her, really. I honestly do have a lot of her personality traits...

Have I mentioned yet how happy your reviews have made me? Because seriously, you are AMAZING for leaving them all for me! ♥ I can't tell you how much it means!


 Report Review

Review #37, by prettywishesGrowing Up Magical: Oliver

23rd November 2012:
Eeee, this was probably my favorite one so far! I think that it was because Quidditch was SO important to Oliver and this was his first exposure to it. I think that the way that he met the Keeper was really adorable. I know so many people that went on in sports because of someone that they met when they were younger, so this was a fun thing to do with that idea! He was just so immersed in the game and super excited and it was super cute!

Author's Response: I'm so happy to hear that this one was your favorite! I don't suspect I was thinking too much, in planning to include Oliver in this collection -- I do hate writing Quidditch. :P It wasn't too bad, though! I do love Oliver's character, and went through an Oliver/OC reading phase, so that's probably where this stems from.

Isn't he adorable? I'm unhealthily attached to all these little kids. I do kind of miss writing them, actually. Maybe I'll try it again someday! :) Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #38, by prettywishesGrowing Up Magical: Draco

23rd November 2012:
I absolutely adore anything that has to do with Draco that doesn't completely bash him, and baby Draco cannot be bashed. He was just too cute! Sneaking out into the big adult party just to find himself some desert! It captured the whole pureblood society but through a child's eyes, something that I really haven't seen before. These one-shots are just too cute!

Author's Response: I love writing about Draco for a lot of the same reasons I love about Snape -- and that's that he's actually a pretty complex character. And like Snape, people seem to favor either writing him in a really sympathetic or really unsympathetic light. I try and go for a middling approach with both: They have good qualities just like they have bad ones.

That being said, I do think I made him a bit more adorable here than I perhaps see him in the books. :D But it was hard not to, writing these stories! Your compliments and reviews really have made me so, so happy -- seriously. I can't thank you enough for them! ♥


 Report Review

Review #39, by prettywishesGrowing Up Magical: Luna

23rd November 2012:
The way that Luna was watching the Weasley kids really reminded me of myself as a child because I probably leaned over the fence for hours watching my neighbors play before I finally met them. Her mother inventing the whole 'shadow friend' was super adorable, Luna does seem like the type for imaginary friends! She is a tricky character, I'd never dare to deal with her myself, but I think that you really managed to keep her cannon in this!

Author's Response: Oh, how cute! I was never the fence-spyer, but my neighbor actually did peep over our fence to watch my sister and me play, come to think of it. Maybe that's where the inspiration comes from -- who knows? And I think out of all of these kids, Luna is the most likely to have an imaginary friend (with the possible exception of Colin).

I'm so pleased that you found this to be canon, too! That's something I really focused on in all my writing, and in these short story collections in particular. It's just awesome to hear you're enjoying the story!


 Report Review

Review #40, by prettywishesGrowing Up Magical: Colin

23rd November 2012:
I was so excited that you did this with Colin! He was just so bouncy and excited and adorable, like you imagine after meeting the Colin in the books. He always seemed to have so much energy, and this really captured this. The relationship between Dennis and him was super cute as well, I love sibling relationships!

Author's Response: This chapter is, I think, one of my favorites in this collection. ;) Colin really is just so adorable, and I had a lot of fun writing him here. Bouncy's a good word for it! I think he's sort of an underappreciated canon character, too, and I wanted to give him that credit here. He's a great one -- and he sacrificed his life for Harry. That's no small thing, to be sure.

Thank you once again for the review -- it really made my day to have all these! :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by prettywishesGrowing Up Magical: Neville

23rd November 2012:
I love tales about magical upbringings! I feel like most authors steer clear of them, because stories about eight year olds don't have the huge mass appeal, but this was so adorable! I think that Neville being a 'late bloomer' in terms of magic is something really realistic, and I like how his Great Uncle had to 'scare' it out of him! Must have been scary to be him though!

Author's Response: I'm happy to hear that people besides me are interested in stories like this! I started this sort of theme with 'Growing Up Weasley,' and was amazed at the response that story had, so I moved on to write about the other Hogwarts-era kids, too. I think it's interesting to hear that you think there isn't mass appeal (which you're right about, really), and yet I've had such luck with these stories. I'm truly grateful!

Poor Neville, though; I can imagine it'd be scary to be him. :3 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave me a review on all the chapters in this story, too -- I'm aiming to sit down today and knock them all out! ♥ I really do appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #42, by prettywishesThe Wedding: The Wedding

22nd November 2012:
I like the fact that you managed to take one of the most monster-like characters from the book and made her feel like a real person. It was clear in this piece that she had clear intentions with what she was doing, not only was she going to please the dark lord but she was shielding her sister. The latter was something that I had never even thought of before, the fact that Bella would have done what she did with her life so that her sister wouldn't receive as much heat after everything that happened with Andromeda. But that would logically make so much sense. She may not have been marrying for love, but she was marrying for many other very human reasons, and human wasn't anything I'd ever considered her before reading this.

Author's Response: I think it's important to remember that beastly characters, like Bellatrix, are human too. Even Voldemort is a human, albeit a human born under a love potion, and with mad theories about the workings of the world. The sister bond between Narcissa and Bellatrix was something I myself hadn't thought about until writing this story, either. But with Andromeda essentially out of the picture, each other is really all they have, you know?

I'm flattered I could bring a bit of her human side to you here. And really, I'm just thrilled beyond belief, yet again, at ALL your reviews. i hope you know now just how much I appreciate them. Hoping to see you back by here really soon, and thank you a million times over! ♥


 Report Review

Review #43, by prettywishesBystander: Bystander

22nd November 2012:
At this point I totally feel as though I am stalking you by reading so many things of yours, but I seriously feel as though I'm going to have to read everything that you wrote over the next few days. I hope that you don't mind the stalking.

Anyways, this was a strong piece mostly because of the fact that there were so few details. I think that being able to imagine this being a million different people makes it so unique. I'm now trying to come up with some story about them in my head. I feel like so many times its forgotten how many love stories and heartbreaks there were, torn apart families, all that had absolutely no relation to any of the characters in the book. And this fic made me think of all of them. Another great piece.

Author's Response: I honestly cannot thank you enough, actually! I'm responding to your reviews a bit out of order, doing this, but I just wanted to say that in no way do I mind. Seriously -- the fact that you are enjoying my writing enough to do this is... I would say phenomenal, but the word doesn't even come close.

This story was inspired with faceless people in mind, and I love that so many people seem to think it's applicable across the board! I have an OC couple in my head, but it definitely could be anybody, and I kind of want to leave that up to reader interpretation. That's what a story should be: A reader should be able to interact with an author's words, I think.

I'm beyond grateful that you're reading so much of my writing! And I honestly cannot tell you what it means to me (though I'll certainly try!). Thank you, thank you, thank you so much for all these reviews and wonderful words! ♥


 Report Review

Review #44, by prettywishesMoonlight: Moonlight

22nd November 2012:
I have to say that you probably write one of the most spot on Harry's that I've read lately, throughout all of your work. I typically avoid reading anything that was actually set in the Hogwarts era for that reason alone, because so many people just cannot get him down into something that I can read without being bothered, but reading this is just as natural as reading the books. That's incredible. Also, not the biggest fan of reading Harry/Ginny, but I really think that you did the ship justice in this piece.

Author's Response: That compliment about writing Harry spot-on is one of the absolute best things I can ever remember hearing in a review. ♥ Harry is one of my favorite characters to write, and hearing that someone thinks I do it well -- the feeling I get from that is indescribable! I agree with you that a lot of people, quite frankly, butcher his character. I'm not the biggest fan of Harry/Ginny myself, but for some reason, for the story I wanted to tell, their pairing worked.

But anyway. Seriously, this review just made my entire month -- and you left me 18 others besides! Thank you so, so much!!


 Report Review

Review #45, by prettywishesDescending: Descending

22nd November 2012:
This was very intense, and honestly I'm probably going to have to read it another time-or four-before I really feel like I understand it. But from what I did get from it, I thought was brilliant. The whole insanity take on everything (at least, I hope that was what it was supposed to be getting at) was interesting. I've always found the whole Voldemort/Harry link to be fascinating, but I feel like so few people take things to the lengths that you have in this, but I loved it. This piece made me think. It made me think about what it must have been like to be Harry, as well as all of the different possible things that could have possibly happened in the books because of the relationship that never happened. And being filled with this many ideas and questions after reading something is one of the best possible things in my mind, so kudos for that.

Author's Response: I don't question your needing a re-read at all; the story was intentionally written to be confusing! There's definitely a take on insanity here, though, and it's a sort of companion to 'Chosen,' which was written later and I know you read as well. Psycho!Harry is, oddly enough, one of my favorite things to write.

In the few mental-illness fics I've read, I've noticed that people seem to underwrite them -- they're much, much more horrible, I think, than many fan fiction writers make them out to be. I am so, so glad that you told me that this story made you think, because I am ALWAYS hoping to have that effect on readers. Writing is a two-way street, and reader responses to writing are crucial.

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review for me!!


 Report Review

Review #46, by prettywishesPainted Blind: Painted Blind

22nd November 2012:
This is the most adorable love story ever! The short glimpses into their world was such a neat way to convey the way in which they went from strangers to lovers, one day becoming parents. I struggle with long drawn out fics about love, but this short, to the point, fic was something that I absolutely adored!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I'm not sure what made me write about Bill and Fleur's story in such small snippets, and I don't think it was a conscious decision. I wanted to write a love story, but I didn't want to WRITE it as a short story or novella. This was a very good alternative. ;)

I'm beginning to sound like a broken record, I know. But I have to tell you again just how happy it made me to get all these reviews from you. That's honestly such an incredible thing to do for someone, and I'm honored you've enjoyed my writing so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #47, by prettywishesLeaving Privet Drive: Leaving Privet Drive

22nd November 2012:
I thought that this was absolutely adorable! Sometimes it's fun to think about some little may-have's with smaller events within the books, and I think that this was a cute idea of what could have happened had Molly and Arthur come to get Harry instead of Ron coming to whisk him away in the flying car. It was cute, and you did a really good job portraying Harry age appropriately as well!

Author's Response: I'm happy that you liked this! There was a challenge on the forums that never went to judging, but it involved writing a "what if" sort of moment in the canon series. I was assigned this one, and I loved writing it -- it came very quickly.

I tried keeping this as in-canon as possible, in writing this, and am so pleased to hear that you think this might have actually happened. Thank you for taking the time to review this story for me! :3


 Report Review

Review #48, by prettywishesChosen: Chosen

22nd November 2012:
Can I just marry your writing? After reading that first one shot I knew that I needed to check out more of your work, and now I feel like I need to read EVERYTHING that you wrote, because it is just so good. I really think that the best part is that you use such intense details that really allow the reader to imagine themselves as part of the scene. But at the same time you don't take them too far in a way that it makes things drag on in needless detail, you just make sure that every word counts.

Anyways, the whole idea of this was something that really appealed to me, because I love the whole 'going crazy' type of thing. I thought it was almost hard to read at parts, especially when he was being compelled to hurt Hermione, and during the OWL. But that just means that it was written so well. The ending, Harry in Mungo's, was something that I really thought was interesting. Very well written!

Author's Response: I would just like to say that all the reviews you've left for me over the past few days -- I think it totals something like 18! -- have completely made my entire week, if not my month. Just knowing you've enjoyed my writing enough to leave me that many reviews gives me a confidence boost the likes of which I can't even properly convey! Details are something I work hard to include in my writing, and I'm so pleased that you like them as much as you do. Seriously. I cannot ever thank you enough for what you've done for me this week!

This and 'Descending,' my other Harry-goes-crazy story, are two of my favorite things on my author's page. I just really, really enjoyed writing them, and it was a lot of fun at the same time I felt I was doing something new, you know? I'm actually really pleased to hear that you found it, at times, hard to read -- because it's definitely not something to take lightly, mental illness. And I'm glad you liked the ending, too! I think it's up to the reader whether Harry truly gets better or not; I don't want to cement that in stone for you.

Basically, you are fantastic. Seriously. I'm working on responding to all your reviews as soon as I can! ♥ Thank you so, so much for taking the time to leave them all for me!!


 Report Review

Review #49, by prettywishesHeartless: Beauty

19th November 2012:
This was heartbreaking and disgusting at the same time. And I really do mean that in the best of ways. They way in which they can do that while they are both to be married is horrible, but the heartbreak that Molly deals with is terrible in its own way. You were able to convey emotions very clearly in this, amazing piece!

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you so much for this review! Don't worry.. I know exactly what you mean -- there's something horrible and disgusting about cheating and lust and affairs and that's sort of what I was hoping to highlight with the backdrop of a wedding in this story. So, again, thank you! I'm very glad you enjoyed this.

 Report Review

Review #50, by prettywishesStardust: Stardust

19th November 2012:
This was one of the most well written one shots that I've read in a log while. In so few words you managed to create an entire world which came to crumble to the ground. The way in which you showed his ambitions, and how they crumpled to the ground, was really great. I think that Percy is one of the hardest 'big name' characters to find fics about, and yet I absolutely love reading about him. So thank you for doing justice to him with this piece. It was incredible.

Author's Response: This review absolutely, completely made my day! I'm so happy that you took the time to read this, and even more glad you took the time to review. :) I adore Percy, and I actually find his character really fascinating, whereas most people just seem to think he kind of sucks. I agree with you -- it's very hard to find a really good Percy story!

So, so happy you enjoyed this! Seriously -- I can't tell you what it means to me that you reviewed. ♥ I am speechless at your review; it is too much. Hoping to see you back again quite soon, and thank you yet again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>