Reading Reviews From Member: prettywishes
  
391 Reviews Found

Review #1, by prettywishesYou Ought to Know: You Outta Know

16th February 2014:
I really do think that Peter must have been a really complicated and conflicted person to have done what he did, and I really like the way that you characterized him! This was a quick read, but it really was a great read! I'm really glad that I stumbled upon this.

 Report Review

Review #2, by prettywisheswinter, cry.: winter, cry.

18th January 2014:
This was absolutely beautiful, seriously amazing story telling. Even though this was only a one shot I feel more connected to Irma than I do with so many characters in novels. The idea to write from the point of view of someone who is usually forgotten gives so much freedom, and I really like what you did with it! Books have so much meaning to me, and seeing how much they meant to her too was really fun. One of the best things I've read on this site!

Author's Response: Wow, I'm so glad you liked it, this is a really lovely review. I'm really glad you felt connected to Irma, I tried to make her as sympathetic a character as possible, largely because she's so villianised in the books. I wanted to explore what could have possible made her that resentful towards children. Books have a lot of meaning to me too, and I actually based a lot of her love of books on my own past, so I'm glad you could identify with that.

Wow, I'm so glad you liked it so much! Thanks so much for reviewing < 3

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #3, by prettywishesagainst the dying of the light: rage, rage

31st December 2013:
This was beautiful, but absolutely heartbreaking at the same time. Watching them change from hopeful, fighting against death, to accepting the fact that they are going to die and being glad that at least have each other. I love how you showed how the little things changed, like the people out on the street and the windows going from open to close, because those images really helped everything to sink in. I love love love your voice in this, you really have a great writing style!

Author's Response: yay, i'm so glad you thought all the little things that changed as the war grew closer helped you imagine it! eee thank you so much, the style of this was something i was a bit unsure of, so i'm glad you like it! thank you for this lovely review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #4, by prettywishesfleshwounds.: we found each other hungry.

31st December 2013:
I love reading things for the every word counts challenge because absolutely every word does matter and trying to tell a story in so few words is so impossible but yet you've managed it so well. I loved the way that you handled the pairing, very interesting to read, and your writing style is flawless!

Author's Response: reading things for the every word counts challenge is so interesting; i love seeing what people can do with 500 words! thank you so much for this amazing review, i'm glad you liked it! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by prettywishesMum's the Word: Romania

30th December 2013:
This was such a gem! I loved how Charlie didn't see though his plan enough to realize that he was probably going to get caught running away by choosing to travel by flying carpet, he just cared about getting there.Very fun to see a bit of a 'run away' story, I feel like it was something the Weasley boys would have done quite a few times. My favorite quote was"his mum would have killed him if he’d have died running away from home." Very honest! Nicely done.

 Report Review

Review #6, by prettywishesPuncture: The Voices

23rd December 2013:
This was very interesting, and not what I was expecting at all. I really enjoyed it though. It was so sad to watch her go mad, and even worse to watch as Theo tried to deal with it, because that's such a hard thing for anyone to deal with, especially someone so young. I never really think much about some of the cannon characters home lives, but this really made me think about how so many of those characters could have home lives you don't really expect. Really well done, I'm glad I stumbled upon it!

Author's Response: Hello there!

Wow, thank you so much for your kind words! I suppose it must've been hard reading and watching Theo see her go through it. It wasn't too hard for me to write, but I do try to not read this piece just in case since people have been telling me it is quite painful ;)

Thanks so much again! I really hope you have a great Christmas! Happy holidays!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by prettywishesSlytherin Career Day: A Long Day in the Dungeons

23rd December 2013:
This was hilarious, and left me with a beautiful image of Draco Malfoy the hair styler. The only thing better than that was the way that Crabbe and Goyle didn't seem to have any ability to think on their own, not that I really thought that they did, but you really cemented that fact. Snape was hilarious! It was really great.

Author's Response: Hi, there! You are spoiling me so much, you know that?

Don't feel like you have to stop, though. ;)

I enjoyed writing this one-shot immensely. It was great fun to let my imagination run wild with Draco and his housemates, playing up the worst qualities -- canon or head-canon -- of each.

Thank you so much for all of the lovely reviews! It really means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #8, by prettywishesAnd Then There Were Three: A New Beginning and a Promise

23rd December 2013:
This was so sweet! I thought that it was fun to do the first part from the point of view of those who were waiting for the baby to be born! Ron and Hermione are so clueless though! It was actually sort of funny! And then the chaos of the baby being brought out, and the hustle and bustle because they're famous, especially the chocolate frog card! That was a cute detail to include. And then the moment with James and Harry was the most adorable thing I have ever read! He was so cute the way that he was telling him how everything was worth it in the end to get where they were, and the fact that Ginny overheard some of it was sweet. Such a cute little family! You have a really great ability to capture a moment with one-shots! I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I was in sort of a soppy mood when I wrote this. When you beta read for a story where Harry and Ginny happen to be in Splitsville at the moment, it's cathartic to write them at one of the happiest moments of their life together.

Ron and Hermione were a fun contrast to the place that Ginny and Harry are at in their lives. It also gave Arthur and Molly a chance to be wise and witty.

I admit, I got a little misty-eyed myself when I was writing Harry's dialog with baby James. The poor guy went through so many awful things in his life, yet he ended up happy. He seems like the sort who definitely would have thought it was all worth it in the end.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by prettywishesThe Puzzle: Fun for the Whole Family

23rd December 2013:
This was both adorable and horrifying at the exact same time, and I wasn't quite sure that was possible. I absolutely love the way that you have the whole Potter/Weasley family, and this is probably the best older Harry that I've read in a long time. I'm glad that you included Dudley in this, so many people seem to forget to include him in Harry's life once he's grown up! His kids were cute as well, it was fun to see how they reacted to all of the magical elements. Harry was absolutely hilarious when it came to the puzzle, and I think it's so funny how it was enchanted and all the little puzzle people reacted. And Ginny! It was so funny how she said that it was so hot, and I can picture the reactions on the boys faces! This is really a one of a kind type of piece, and I'm so glad that I stumbled upon it!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

"Adorable and horrifying" I guess I'll take that as a compliment. Definitely the adorable part, and I could see where all of the mishaps that plague Lily's birthday party and Harry's behavior near the end of it could come across as frightening.

I don't like to limit myself too much when it comes to characters. It's always best to have the best character available for a particular line or situation. And Dudley obviously plays a very key role.

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed this story! Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your thoughts with me!


 Report Review

Review #10, by prettywishesWhy I should have been a Cat : Why I shouldn’t act impulsively.

23rd December 2013:
I'm pretty sure that drunk Anastasia and I are the same exact person, or maybe it's just that every drunk person gets very sentimental about everything. I'm very much a fan of this whole Ana/James thing, well the Ana/James thing that almost happened but didn't but really needs to happen thing. I also like them just as friend I suppose, but I think there's something to be said about the whole 'a girl and a guy can't just be friends' thing, especially when they take to sleeping next to each other drunk and half naked. Also like that you chose to have Rox the same age as James, she's so often an afterthought sort of character, so it'll be fun to see what you do with her! Very good start, interested to see where it goes!

Author's Response: Thanks, yes James and Ana will get it ooonn but that's for later ;)


 Report Review

Review #11, by prettywishesAphrodite: The Night of the Pretty Girls

23rd December 2013:
oh my gosh this was just an all around amazing chapter for so many reasons. I am absolutely in love with Rose, she's a bit scary but it's very amusing, and she seems to be good about getting things done. I imagine she runs some sort of underground crime right within the school or something. And poor Poppy! She seems like a nice enough girl who just happened to get herself in a not so perfect situation, but it was pretty amusing. I'm also a big fan of Louis from what we've seen so far. You've done a good job of making sure that all of the characters you've introduced are pretty well rounded, something a lot of fics seem to be lacking! I'm also a really big fan of your writing style and really look forwards to reading more!

Author's Response: Why thank you for leaving this kind review ^_^ your kind words mean a lot to me!

 Report Review

Review #12, by prettywishesAphrodite: Advice from a She-Devil

17th November 2013:
omg Rose was absolutely hilarious in this! I've never really seen anyway play out Rose anything like that before, but I really liked it! She was terrifying, but it was very easy to believe. The family dynamics you have going are really great, and I also really like the nicknames that you're using (I love the name Jem!). Really strong start with the first two chapters!

Author's Response: Thanks lovely! I will be posting chapter 3 in a matter of days, and hope you'll like it ^_^

 Report Review

Review #13, by prettywishesBlurring Whites: One

10th November 2013:
wow. This was probably the most intense one shot that I've read in a long time. I think that putting Lily and James in the same room, but unable to talk to each other, was a really smart move. It was absolutely heartbreaking to read, and it literally had me in tears! Amazing job with this, really makes you think.

Author's Response: Hey prettywishes! Loving the username :)

Aww, I hate having to make people cry. But knowing that I managed to stir up those emotions in you tells me that I've done my job.

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a sweet review, it's really made my day. You are much too kind.

Thanks my dear!
Nadia


 Report Review

Review #14, by prettywishesTurning the Tables: Epilogue: This is the Story of Us All

30th June 2013:
So I feel bad because I totally read right through this whole thing without ever taking a chance to leave a review, so I figured that I would make up for it with a review now that I'm done with the whole thing.

Honestly I have to say that this story really surprised me. When I read the first few chapters I thought that this was going to be fun to read, but something rather superficial. However the more I read the more that I realized you really had a lot of really good underlying themes. I walked away from this feeling like I actually learned something, something present it most real novels but now all fics. I thought you really showed how important it can be to let go of the past, but also how hard it can be, something that really stuck with me.

Your characters were also really well rounded, fun too. I really feel like they all grew up in this, and they all seemed real. I felt immersed in this little world as though I was one of them. You wrote each moment in a way that made it feel like the reader was there. Which not a lot of people can do. The plot was there, the characters were there, and most importantly your writing skills were there. So congrats on writing an amazing story.

I'll be checking out more of your stuff for sure!

Author's Response: Okay so this review like made my day. Seriously.

I'm so glad this story ended up surprising you. I really wanted to do as much as I could with this plotline. To me, it's not a story if you don't walk away with something so I'm so glad you were able to take something from this. It's literally the best thing to hear.

I'm so happy you liked my characters! It definitely took a lot of work since I somehow thought it was a good idea to have so many. And wow you flatter me too much, I just have no words for how great this review is.

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and I hope if you check out my other stuff you like it just as much! :)
-Rebecca


 Report Review

Review #15, by prettywishesIn The Red: The Remembering

9th January 2013:
Oh my goodness, this chapter was so powerful! I was literally in tears over all of this, it's not fair that their first kiss is their last and that Sev is going to forget all about Beth! Eek, it's just so sad! Especially when she went off to Sirius' and just fell apart! I know that he's only trying to protect her, but I feel really bad for Beth right now. Amazing chapter!

Author's Response: Not going to lie -- I'm quite sure that I teared up a bit writing this, too, last October. (What can I say? I'm a bit attached to these characters!) I'm very much into writing tragic romance, I admit, and sad pieces always get me more than happy ones. I suppose that's the reason I choose to write them. But he was only trying to protect her -- you're right!

Thank you so, so much for leaving a review for me on this chapter. It was wonderful hearing from you again! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by prettywishesTaking the Biscuit: Dancing on Tables

5th December 2012:
I feel bad because I haven't taken the time to review in awhile despite the fact that I've been reading, and seeing as it really only takes a few seconds I really need to work on that!

Anyways, I really liked this chapter, I liked how we got to see about the weird things that drunk Rose did through comments about it rather than actually having the night itself written out because I feel like that would have been a bit much. Also loving how the Rose/Matthew relationship is progressing!

Author's Response: I'm glad how you like how their relationship is progressing! In the last book it really wasn't the main story, so there wasn't so much room to explore it. Their relationship is really going to come to the forefront, because it'll bring its own challenges to Rose's life, the poor thing.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by prettywishesBereft: lion's pride

2nd December 2012:
I'm a huge fan of anything that centers around Percy, and I thought that this was really interesting in particular. The writing was really fluid and it flowed incredibly well, almost like a poem or something of that sort. Amazing job!

Author's Response: Hello! I sort of wrote myself into a Percy fan, and I'm glad you liked this! I liked the idea of a contrast between Percy's no-nonsense ambition and an almost spiritual tone at the moment he realizes what's really been happening in his heart, which might sometimes read as poetry, to my delight.

Thanks for your review! I appreciate it (:


 Report Review

Review #18, by prettywishesIn The Red: A Suspicion Confirmed

2nd December 2012:
I've spent the last week reading In the Black and then getting caught up on this as well, and I feel bad about not leaving reviews on each chapter but I've just been in such a rush to keep reading that I didn't bother to take the time. So sorry about that, but I'll try to make up for it by at least leaving a decent review on this chapter. Also, at this point I feel as though I've literally read everything you've got on here and I've seriously adored everything you've posted! Sorry if it's a bit creepy that I've left so many reviews!

Anyways, throughout this whole story you've managed to integrate Beth in a way that seems to natural and not forced at all. So many stories have a sort of 'fifth Marauder' and it never feels right, but somehow you've managed to make it seem so natural that Beth was here for everything. She's a really neat character, really like the way that she's grown throughout everything.

I'm a big fan of her relationship with James, and Sirius especially towards the beginning of this book. Now, I'm not so happy with Sirius with what he's done, but at least it can be said that he really does think that he's doing the best thing for her. The two of them treat Beth like their sister (well, for the most part) and I've really enjoyed the dynamics between all of them. Also, really loving James/Lily in this. They are so young to be having a baby, but you've really done a good job about making all of that seem natural, also it's been addressed with Beth's comments about how young Lily is, which makes it less weird in a sense. It's not like it's being ignored.

Of course I just adore the whole Beth/Sev thing that's been going on the whole time. I've literally been squealing every time that they're relationship furthers. I know that it's going to have to change now because of Sirius, but I just cannot stop myself from wanting to root them on anyways. They are just so adorable together, and I've never really said that Severus was cute with anyone before ever. So the fact that you've managed to create this relationship is amazing.

I'm really interested to see what's going to happen now that Dumbledore knows what's going on between Beth and Severus. He clearly isn't going to be happy about it, but it'll be interesting to see what he decides to do to handle it.

Really great story so far and I cannot wait to see what comes next!

Author's Response: You are AMAZING. How am I supposed to even begin to thank you for everything you've done for me in these past two weeks?! Seriously -- I am just absolutely blown away by all the reviews you've left me on my stories. I cannot tell you in any amount of words how much that means to me. You are just FANTASTIC!

And please, please don't feel the need to apologize for not leaving reviews on ITB and the rest of ITR! I honestly do not care /at all/, and the fact that you've left me a review here to tell me that you've been reading at all means the world to me. This trilogy has been a project of mine for a year and a half, since April 2011, and just even being aware that someone's reading it and enjoying it is one of the absolute best feelings in the world. You've just made me so, so happy!

I'm pleased beyond telling that you like Beth so much, and that she's integrated naturally into the story for you. And you're right -- to James and Sirius, she's a little sister (except, of course, when Sirius was briefly deluded otherwise). I know I have a bias, but I'm massively attached to the Beth/Severus pairing. ♥

You're definitely going to see what's going on with Dumbledore now! I'm actually in the process of posting chapter 29 when I found all the reviews you left on Break Out, as well as this one -- how do you like that? So you won't have to wait long! ;)

But really. I just... you made my entire month, just with this review, and that doesn't count all the others you've been generous enough to leave! I am so honored to have them. ♥ It was fantastic hearing from you again, and again -- thank you so, so, so much for all you've done for me!!


 Report Review

Review #19, by prettywishesBreak Out: XII.

2nd December 2012:
Oh my goodness, this was a suspenseful chapter for sure! I thought that it was so heroic for Charlie to do what he did so that Hermione and them would be able to escape, but I just really hope that he managed to be a big enough distraction for them to be able to really get away! I know that chances are Charlie isn't going to be making it out of there in one piece, but at least he managed to make some sort of difference? That seem comforting at least. This had to be my favorite chapter so far, really cannot wait to see how this ends!

Author's Response: Charlie the hero -- that's how it was always meant to be, really. I've always thought of him as really quite a heroic character, and he's one of my favorite Weasleys (though that changes with each new story I read about them). As for what happens to him afterward, though... you'll have to read on to find out! ;)

I'm so flattered to hear that this was one of your favorite chapters, too! Between you and me, I'm pretty partial to this one myself. Thank you so much, and I'm really looking forward to your opinions on the last three chapters, too -- chapter 13 should be up later today! ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by prettywishesBreak Out: XI.

2nd December 2012:
I don't think that I've ever read anything as quickly as I just read this chapter, I seriously could not look away! I'm really glad that Draco at least managed to get to Hermione, and that he's going to help get Oliver out too, I just hope that they can actually get out from there! Seeing the things that were going on back at Headquarters was interesting as well, it'll be interesting to see how it turns out!

Author's Response: That first sentence is one of the best thing that an author can hear. :) Thank you so, so much! This chapter was a quick one to write, too, and it was really fun -- like a puzzle -- to have Draco go on this rescue mission and keep him mostly in character, too.

But yes, getting out of Hogwarts... that's the crucial part! ;) Honestly. Cannot even tell you how much your reviews mean to me. I know I keep saying it, but that's because it continues to be true! ♥ Your doing this for me made my entire week!


 Report Review

Review #21, by prettywishesBreak Out: X.

2nd December 2012:
Arthur telling Ron not to mention seeing Charlie was a bit hard, but it really does make sense not to get her hopes up like that. Sometimes staying in the dark really is the easier thing to do! Once again Ron and Draco's interactions were really neat to read about, I can't wait to see this plan of theirs being played out. Something about it is bound to go wrong!

The whole blood thing though, didn't really think about that! Of course it makes total sense. I can't wait to see what exactly happens with all of that though.

Author's Response: Poor Mrs. Weasley. :( But I'd probably do the same as Arthur, in his shoes, and (again!) it all comes back down to morale. Molly's a strong woman, but having to bear the sort of news that her son's basically a prison laborer, and so soon after Fred's death, wouldn't be an easy burden for anyone to bear. And ah, Ron and Draco. ♥ Writing their little quarrels has been more fun than perhaps it should have been!

It was interesting, reading everyone's theories about Voldemort's dying. I'm glad you liked my version, though -- seemed fitting, after all the importance placed on blood in the books! ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by prettywishesBreak Out: IX.

2nd December 2012:
At least they managed to figure out that Charlie was still alive! Though that sort of hope is almost as bad as it is good, because if they can't get him back it'll almost be like they have to go through losing him twice. It's awful how the Death Eaters are just prancing about, but with no one to stop them from doing anything that they want I guess it doesn't really matter much for them. Interesting chapter, glad that something came from their little venture!

Author's Response: They did figure that out! :) And it's like you said in another one of your reviews -- it might not have been the most productive meeting in the world, but it's not like they were going crusading to end the war right then and there. It's a morale boost, knowing hope isn't totally lost.

This is probably the chapter I'm most nervous about, writing-wise, so hearing that you seemed to like it really just makes me happy. Thanks so much, and I'm looking forward to hearing your thoughts on the other chapters, too! :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by prettywishesBreak Out: VIII.

2nd December 2012:
Charlie!!! I was seriously elated to see that he was at least still alive and kicking, even if he has been ordered to spend his time doing mundane work for the Death Eaters. Sort of reminds me of the holocaust in that whole way that they're using prisoners, but I'm pretty sure that the whole revolution in the books was supposed to mimic that in ways already. But what they did to Harry's body? Awful.

The whole bit with Hermione was rough, especially the whole bit about how this was going to be her death. One can only hope that things don't end up ending that way. But the Dean thing? Really rough. I want to believe that he just ended up like Charlie, but something tells me that wasn't the case.

Author's Response: I'm very glad that YOU'RE very glad that Charlie's alive! :) I grew quite attached to him in writing this story -- and yes, there are intentional ties to prisoner camps of the Holocaust filtered in there. There are actually a lot of ties to the Holocaust in canon, too, and reading theories on that is actually quite interesting. And isn't Harry's body horrible? It actually gives me the creeps, picturing that.

I won't tell you exactly what happened with Dean (though, of course, you've read further than this chapter, so you probably know). Spoilers!

Thank you so much, as always, for your lovely reviews -- I can't say it enough! ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by prettywishesBreak Out: VII.

2nd December 2012:
I was seriously in tears when Ron was thinking about how he would have asked Hermione to be with him at one point, because he couldn't imagine life without her! Now I really really want that to be able to happen, so I'm rooting for some sort of break through to happen that'll get her out of there!

The whole trip to London doesn't seem to be of much use, but sitting around isn't really useful either, so I can't imagine that it could be that harmful either. Hopefully something good will manage to come of it, even if it is just a morale boost for Ron and the others!

Author's Response: Oh, I didn't mean to make you cry! (Though if I may say so, I'm very honored to have elicited such an emotional response from you.) I root always for Ron/Hermione, because they're one of my all-time favorite pairings. And I /know/ that he loves her, so conveying that was a huge thing for me. Glad to hear you're rooting for them as well!

I'm glad to hear your opinion on the London mission, too, and you've really summed up the whole thing quite nicely. Morale boosts are always a good thing. :) Thank you so, so much for taking the time to leave me a review!!


 Report Review

Review #25, by prettywishesBreak Out: VI.

2nd December 2012:
I feel so awful for Hermione, and then I got so excited when she realized that Dean was there, and then Oliver had to go and ruin it all. Clearly he had just given up, but I really hope that Hermione doesn't end up like that! Also, I really hope that at some point they're able to get her out of there, especially before anything really really bad happens there. Can't imagine things would get any better with time.

The interactions between Bellatrix and Voldemort were very tense and interesting, but I thought that the last bit was the most interesting of all. I never thought about the possibility that he could be dying, and without him I would imagine that the Death Eaters would lose most of their steam. Very interesting plot twist!

Author's Response: I feel really badly for Hermione, too, although it is some comfort (though not much) that she has company there. Oliver's an interesting character in this story; it might not be a bad idea to watch him! ;)

Oh, yes, Voldemort's not immortal. I'm pleased you liked the interaction between Bellatrix and him, though! That was, thinking back, one of the most difficult aspects of this entire story, that scene. I'm not sure what it is about those two, but writing them in character together was a bit of a challenge for me.

I'm very much looking forward to hearing your opinion on the rest of the story! :3 As always, thank you for your review, truly. I know I keep repeating that, but I really do appreciate them!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>