Reading Reviews From Member: megan2u
  
137 Reviews Found

Review #26, by megan2uShe Has The World: She Had the World

25th September 2011:
Omg. Loved the build up towards a happy relationship between Teddy and Victoire and the subsequent turnaround that it was all one-sided. Brilliant! So different from all the cliched happily ever after, perfect relationships stories we normally see on this site. Love it! One fact I saw not exactly keeping with canon, you mentioned Teddy's grandma AND grandpa, since his grandpa was killed in the war, unless Andromeda married again he shouldn't have a grandpa (but don't mind me, I'm not the canon police or anything) ;) Another small detail I loved in your story, the fact that Teddy was in Hufflepuff not Gryffindor, makes the story that much more original and made Teddy your own character! I don't think there's a single part of this story that I could've expected! So good! Such a fan of your work now! 10/10!

Author's Response: This was definitely one of my favorite pieces to write. When I heard the song, I realized that the ending could go either way, and I decided to take a risk and make it unhappy. I'm really glad that you liked that though, because so many people prefer happy endings :P I didn't even think of the Teddy's grandfather dying bit, so THANK YOU so much for pointing that out! I tend to overlook those things... And thanks for the compliments on originality too! I always try and keep that as a huge part of my work. Aw, that last part made me blush so much. Thanks again!
-Naida


 Report Review

Review #27, by megan2uHis Eyes: His Eyes

25th September 2011:
Wow. What an emotionally draining story (in a good way). So full of sadness, conflicting feelings, love, pain, and so many more. I haven't read much fics written from Angelina's perspective and loved this glimpse into her life. I like how you kept her a strong character, like the Quidditch player JKR showed us in the books, while adding your own nuances as well. The suspense was built up masterfully and done in exactly the correct order. One small spelling error I noted: "grief" not greif. Overall though, one of the best one-shots I've ever read and definitely a 10/10!

Author's Response: Thanks, hun! This is the hardest thing I've ever written, by far, because of all the emotion in it. I coud only write it in like, 200 word bursts because of how emotionally toiling it is :P But it means the world to me that it came through well! I'm glad it was Angelina, because we know just enough about her to give a basis for my character, but not so much that I couldn't take some liberties. I'm really glad you liked that, and that the suspense showed through! And thanks for pointing up that typo ;) I have a nasty habit of forgetting those. Your reviews are amazing, dear!
-Naida


 Report Review

Review #28, by megan2uHaunted: Haunted

25th September 2011:
Very moving for a one-shot, an interesting look into Ginny's state of mind and emotions following her break up with Harry. I personally don't think the song lyrics add much content or emotion to the story, but I've never been a fan of song fics in general. For a first fic this is awesome! Very developed character and intense understanding of her emotions, and just well-written overall with no grammar or spelling errors. This really makes me feel for Ginny and what it must've been like for her to go back to school without her boyfriend, her brother, and a close friend in Hermione. Makes her seem much braver and a true Gryffindor! Great story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, hun! I really don't deserve a squee review on this little thing, but it was nonetheless very much appreciated. I wrote this at a time when all I liked were songfics, but looking back on it now, I definitely understand what you mean about the song lyrics. I feel like they structure the story more than anything. Anyways, I'm so glad you liked it, and thanks again for reviewing!
-Naida


 Report Review

Review #29, by megan2uTeaching Magic: Saved

22nd September 2011:
Wow! Lots of revelations in this chapter. Draco a death eater who saves Amelia, Ben and Amelia's relationship finally out in the open. Can't wait to read what happens next!

 Report Review

Review #30, by megan2uStill Delicate: Awkward.

18th September 2011:
Another awesome chapter! And just so you know some of us readers are actually rooting for Tom!

 Report Review

Review #31, by megan2uTeaching Magic: Cornered

11th September 2011:
More action! Just what the story needed! Love how you wrote the duelling scenes, you had my heart pounding just reading them!
Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Definitely needed some action in there :)

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #32, by megan2uBeyond the Shadow: The House that Built Me

10th September 2011:
Another great chapter! I'm excited to see how Kenzie's wedding will play out! I have nominated Beyond the Shadow for Best Novel Length! I hope since my 2 nominations are for your different stories this won't be a violation. Again, keep up the awesome work!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! Kenzie's wedding won't happen for a while, but I'm very excited to write it. I saw the other nomination! Thank you so much!!! :) And nope, that's not a violation. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by megan2uBeyond the Shadow: Cinda's Will

6th September 2011:
Another emotionally-wrenching chapter! Loved the surprise in the will, and can completely see how Cinda thought it would be the right thing to do, still picturing Amy angry at her parents for moving her to England.
I want to say again what a great story you have going for you here, and that I have nominated Amy for the Best OC Dobby. You totally deserve it!

megan2u

Author's Response: Yep, there's one more emotional chapter after this and then they'll be back in London. I randomly thought of the will thing and immediately decided to use it. Thanks for nominating me! I commented on your forums profile after you did it, but I don't know if it notified you or not. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by megan2uTeaching Magic: Birthday Bickering

6th September 2011:
Awww. Poor Amelia, finally relaxing and enjoying herself only to have this big blowup with Hollis, and feeling like she's in the middle of the Hollis and Ben fight. Poor girl!
Don't feel discouraged! This is a great story, one of my favourites! Wanted to let you know I nominated "Teaching Magic" for a Dobby for Best AU, and you completely deserve it!

megan2u

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm super honored!

 Report Review

Review #35, by megan2uHugo's Big Day: The Wedding

12th August 2011:
Aw! This is so cute! I love the bit where they fall to the floor, so in love!
The first sentence is a little awkward in my opinion, maybe change it to be "joined in holy matrimony" rather than marriage?
I think you could make this story more dynamic and exciting by maybe including a flashback to when they first met or the proposal or the first date. Or maybe including the point of view of one of the guests, that could be interesting as well.

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you love the part where they fall down, it just seemed like the perfect disaster. I will change that first bit, your way sounds better. I might try one of your suggestions, it might make the story more exciting (if I have time, that is) :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by megan2uThank Cheesecake: Thank Cheesecake

12th August 2011:
I like the concept of the story, with Ginny and Harry's engagement sparking Hermione and Ron to work out their issues, the way the story is written comes across as choppy. Something is just missing the in the story to make it flow better. I think if you maybe showed us the break up between Ron and Hermione instead of telling us that would maybe help. Also it felt quite short between Ginny's arrival and Hermione's disapparation to make up with Ron.
The title is cute though!

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you liked the concept and I'm sorry you think something was missing from the flow. Now that you mention it, maybe I could put in a flashback moment to show how the breakup happened. Also, now that I think about it, it was a short time since Ginny's arrival and Hermione leaving, I'll try to fix that. I'm glad you liked the title.

 Report Review

Review #37, by megan2uTest of a Marauder: Coward

11th August 2011:
Yay for the Marauders in the goblet! Hmm, now that you've built up Remus' entry I'm guessing he'll be the Hogwarts champion...but you have to write and post the next chapter for me to be sure of that guess!
I'm really liking Alice and her complexity, very caring but also not willing to take crap from anyone, rather like Neville by the end of the series, excellent job!
Wow at Lupin getting so mad at Sirius! The way you described their relationship made it make sense though, so no worries! I really really like this story, you'd better keep writing it!

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: I can tell you, Remus will be the Hogwarts champion. Whether or not he'll win, I'm not even sure of that yet ;)

Gotta love Alice! I adore writing her so much.

I'm glad you found their fight believable. I'm working on revealing more about the inner relationships of the Marauders of this story, you'll see some more in the next chapter hopefully :)

And the next chapter should be done in a few days, hopefully sooner, so there will be more. Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #38, by megan2uTest of a Marauder: Run-ins

11th August 2011:
Hmm, Lupin is quite the rebel. Not the good boy of the group like JKR always portrayed him. I kind of like it, haven't read anything like this before!
Now I really want to know the history between Dorcas and Remus, sounds cute. He was practically drooling over her in the hall...
Sirius seems to be shaping up a bit, I like the inquisitiveness and quietness you've given him. It suits him, he does seem a bit girl-obsessed, but most boys his age usually are, so I forgive you for that slight stereotype.
I really wish you would continue writing this story, I would definitely read it!

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Rebel? Fantastic! I can completely see him as being the good boy of the group, but Lupin has more issues than any of them (besides, possibly, Sirius) and so I don't think that he would be so one-dimensional. I'll admit, I'm having a lot of fun writing him so far :)

I think you'll find later that Sirius isn't the only one girl obsessed in the story ;)

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #39, by megan2uTest of a Marauder: The Storm to Come

11th August 2011:
Love the idea behind this story, and you've set it up quite nicely to keep me guessing as to who the champions will be and what tasks they'll have to perform! Goblet of Fire was one of my favourite books for those very reasons! As always your writing is excellent with very few issues.
Two items to note: the beginning of the story seemed to be in 3rd person and then switched quickly to 1st person once Lupin came into the story. I'm not sure how you could fix this, as Lupin wasn't there in the beginning, but I thought I'd point it out as something to work on.
Another nitpicky thing is having Frank and Alice in the same year as James and Lily, a bit of a pet peeve of mine, being a canon-stictler and knowing they were both successful Aurors before Neville was born, a feat unachievable in the short time-frame between them graduating with Lily and James and having a son at the end of July, 1980. That's just my personal opinion though.
As for character development, I really like the way you've set up James, Lily, Alice, and Remus, and they appear very close to canon, so excellent job! I'll comment on the other characters in the next chapter, as they don't appear very much as of yet.
Can't wait to read the rest!

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you so much!

Yes, I realized that about Frank and Alice, and am planning on changing the characters when I get the chance. I have loved writing Alice through this so far, so hopefully I'll be struck with inspiration to write her some other time.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #40, by megan2uForget-me-not: A Wedding

11th August 2011:
I really really liked this piece! Must've been tricky to limit the dialogue, but I find that it works very well in this case!
I loved how you stuck so true to canon until the very end when Hermione didn't marry Ron, and I find myself wanted more information on Hermione's secret lover and how their relationship blossomed.
And obviously you kept the reader guessing from the beginning if Hermione was going to marry Ron.
I can't think of anything that needs to be changed, except maybe making it into a short story or novel!

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Thank you! I actually find it easier to write without dialogue, as I tend to struggle with it.

I am planning a sequel, so there will be more about Hermione's secret lover eventually :)

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #41, by megan2uThe Unknown Blacks: The last is gone

7th August 2011:
Very interesting concept for a story! You really made Narcissa and Bellatrix more evil than I imagined!
I'm a bit confused though, I thought Sirius only had 2 children: Castor and Cassandra, who's Hector?
Also, don't you think if Sirius Black were married he'd have immediately gone to America after escaping Azkaban? Seeing as no one knew he had a family there and he wouldn't have to worry about aurors?

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #42, by megan2uThe Potter And The Weasley Kids Do Hogwarts: The Kiss

7th August 2011:
I knew it!!! Mark and Leanne have a secret thing going on!
Stupid Mark though...trying to get Al all mad so he'd do something stupid, can't believe Al said all those things though. Pent up emotions much?
When are we going to learn more about Hugo's group of friends, I think there's a lot of hidden stuff there too!
Just wanted to let you know I love this story, very fast paced, lots of intrigue and humour. Keep it up!

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #43, by megan2uPortrait: Portrait

7th August 2011:
Aw! Loved the idea behind this one-shot, don't know why others hadn't thought of it!
I think you did a great job staying in Snape's character, which can be tricky, especially with him and Lily.
I loved the introduction between Lily and her granddaughter, again so heart-touching!
Something else I really liked was how different your Lily Luna Potter is from others I've read, still very rebellious (stealing things from her dad, sneaking into the Headmaster's office) but also with an artistic and creative streak.
Fabulous story, keep it up!

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad I'm the only one (that I know of) who has thought of it, I love being original :P
Snape's in character? That is probably the best feedback I could have recieved. He's so tricky to characterise, and I am thrilled that you think I got it right.
I like the idea of an arty, creative Lily - something I think I'm going to run with in another of my WIPs. Thanks so much for the review, and GO RAVENCLAW :D


 Report Review

Review #44, by megan2uTeaspoon: After the Battle

6th August 2011:
Aww, what a cute glimpse into Ron's mind! And I think you were very true to JKR's Ron and Hermione!
I did notice a few spelling errors throughout: "grass", "giant", "Gryffindor", and "Hermione".
Loved the ending, it was sooo cute, also it flashbacked to one of my favourite Ron/Hermione moments
I think it would be amazing if you turned this into a short story collection, featuring glimpses into how everyone else is coping after the battle. I'd read it!
Great job!

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #45, by megan2uWooing a Wizard, A Muggle's Approach: The Wedding

6th August 2011:
What a great idea for a story! Sooo intriguing! Loved the fact you stayed true to JKR's thoughts, saying nothing magical could come out of Vernon's blood. But loved that you put a twist on it and had one of Dudley's daughters want to be a witch and be friends with one!
Sally seems like a very likeable character, although a bit on the fantasful side! I also liked that Dudley and Harry did eventually make up, though I find it surprising they're getting on like close friends.
Who is the mystery wizard she's dancing with?
This was a really fun story! Loved it!

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! They are always greatly appreciated. I'm happy to know that someone is enjoying the story! It is a bit more fantastical than my other work, but I'm happy where I am going with it. I think that Harry and Dudley aren't that close, but it was polite to invite the family to his son's wedding since they are family and Sally is best friends with the bride.

Now on to the mystery wizard. You'll find out who he is soon enough, but I'll give you a clue. His father was in Dumbledore's Army, and he was a Ravenclaw just like you :P


 Report Review

Review #46, by megan2uA Bloody Deal: Part II: Meetings and Answers

6th August 2011:
I really enjoyed all the detail put into this story, and think that the characters were in keeping with canon. Again I'll point out that 2nd person can be confusing to read at times. Very creative to flesh out the Lestrange family, adding in a new character keeping with the R theme.
What a mysterious and intriguing story! I also understand there were 2 authors, something that takes good team work to able to write well together.

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #47, by megan2uA Bloody Deal: Part I: Killer Offers

6th August 2011:
Very intriguing plot, pretty sure it was the same man to contact both Tonks and Sirius...strange indeed.
I will say I'm not a fan of the 2nd person narrative, makes it feel too much like a video game to me, but that's just my opinion. I did like the switching between the characters, but I would recommend using only 1st or 3rd person narrative, much cleaner.
Really liked the background on Andromeda and Sirius' relationship, felt very realistic in my opinion.
Very suspenseful! Wonder what will happen next!

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #48, by megan2uThe Perfect Life?: Chapter One

6th August 2011:
Poor Hermione, I know exactly what you're talking about with the feeling sad and it starting to rain. I can see her being very unhappy in a relationship with Harry (I'm a Hermione/Ron shipper). Some things to consider in the future, Viktor is spelt with a k in the book, and I like how you attempted the accent, I find it's easiest to make a list of all the words that would change, which makes it consistent and flows better.
Yikes! Mystery! Who could be watching them??? Harry maybe?
Also, this seems like an extremely awkward dinner, you might want to add in more dialogue or descriptions to enhance the story's flow

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #49, by megan2uOf a Runiation: Of a Ruination

6th August 2011:
This is meant to be constructive criticism. I don't think your characterisation of Hermione is quite right, she seems to shaken and shy, not the brave know-it-all JKR introduced us too. I really like how you've painted Adrian though, and I can see how his confidence and attitude would attract lots of girls, even if he is a jerk. He definitely seems to be playing mind games with her - and is good at it!
Your writing flows well and I didn't notice any spelling or grammar mistakes, this story just wasn't my cup of tea. I think a lot of people more into the Hermione/Draco or Hermione/Slytherin would really enjoy this though, and I'll definitely recommend it to others!

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: I definitely understand what you mean. Personally, I think people change, I think they grow. I think we react to different situations differently, esp. when someone makes us feel out of our comfort zone. I don't imagine Hermione like this with him when they are together, not at all, but simply in this phase of the relationship.

 Report Review

Review #50, by megan2uAlternate Universe: Chapter 3: Lily

6th August 2011:
Good to know I wasn't off on the Rose/Sirius ship, lol!
I thought the proposal was lovely, pretty much how I'd picture James proposing!
Another small thing I loved: how the pin immediately put Lily's hair in a chignon, love that idea! Why don't we have those in the muggle word? ;)
I'm starting to really like Rose's character, although her name does kinda bug me as it goes too well with Lily.
That's really the only criticism I have, hope you continue writing this story, want to see what you do with the Horcrux part! Great job!

megan2u (Ravenclaw)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>