Reading Reviews From Member: Lizzy
  
49 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LizzyThe Edge of Light: Origins of Padfoot

3rd March 2006:
Cat is such an intriguing character who has a considerable amount of knowledge, it seems, about life in general and what it takes to survive. You leave me wanting to know more and more about her, especially her age. It is an odd question, and probably hardly relevant to your story, it just feels from your writing that she is fifteen, possibly older. I suppose it makes a difference because I find myself appalled, obviously, at the way the Black family treats her, but I also find myself wondering why she doesn’t leave. Perhaps she is just a victim to circumstance, but I somehow don’t buy into it. She is so very opinionated and knowledgeable. I somehow don’t buy that she is content playing slave to the Black family. You have done a wonderful job of making the Sirius and Cat friendship bond, yet Cat never confides in Sirius. Sirius in the same token (remembering of course that he is only 11) never suggests to Cat that there are other options in life. Which brings me back full circle to still wondering what on earth Sirius’ uncle was thinking when he brought Cat to Sirius’ house. I can’t wait to read more. - Lizzy

Author's Response: Thanks Lizzy. Very good guess as to her age but I haven't been specific for a reason. You have her pretty well nailed though. I'm so glad you've enjoyed this so far. It's been a tough story, the hardest I can recall ever to write, and I appreciate the kind and thoughtful comments.

 Report Review

Review #2, by LizzyThe Edge of Light: Alone with the Gryffindor

2nd March 2006:
That was a cute chapter. Sirius seems really old to me, though I suspect that is your point. He is eleven, isn’t he at the all girls have kooties(spelling?) and are disgusting stage??? Still a really fun read, keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #3, by LizzyThe Edge of Light: Nargles anyone?

2nd March 2006:
Another wonderful chapter; I’ve been so busy with school I have hardly had time to visit HPFF lately. But I am back, and what a wonderful chapter, (and humorous) to begin with. I am very interested in seeing where you are going with this story, keep up the wonderful work.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Lizzythe present: The Deal

29th November 2005:
Another wonderful stroy. I love the tension between Hermione and Sirius. Not that it really matters by Olivander went missing in the sixth book... I think Neville got one of his last wands. But other than that the story is wonderful. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Yep, but he has come back...since HBP didn't mention his death I took the liberty of bringing him back. In fact, I've taken many many liberties with this story :P Which, I think is what has made it so much fun to write. Thanks for the comments, I do appreciate them!

 Report Review

Review #5, by LizzyThe Edge of Light: Hogwarts: Semester One

15th October 2005:
I really liked this chapter, building the James and Sirius relationship, as well as the Lily and Sirius relationship. I did think it moved rather fast. I realize that you are trying to tell a story with a timeline that possibly spans years. But it took six chapters to get Sirius to Hogwarts, and one chapter to get him through his first semester. This chapter has some strong themes about what others think of the Black family, and how they expect Sirius to act. And though you made a strong point it felt as though, through out the majority of the chapter you were telling me what people thought about him instead of showing me with examples what they thought about him. It really wasn’t until the end with Lily that the reader got an example of what Sirius went thorough his first semester. Until that point it had been Sirius telling us that other student’s whispered, or shot him snide remarks. I also think it would be really nice to see a contrast between Hogwarts life and home life for Sirius. It seemed to lack small details about the School that Sirius and the gang might have found amusing, (i.e. Quidditch, Halloween feast, the step that you have to skip on the stairs or you fall through.) Don’t get me wrong I loved this chapter, and as you are a wonderful author I’m sure that this chapter is a highly planned stepping block for you plot. Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: First, let me say this was such a fantastic review. It was so helpful and made me put a lot of things into perspective. I'm not going to edit this chapter because it scares the crap out of me to even think about going backwards in this fic but I really want to try and incorporate some of the things you mentioned in semester two. I honestly span this time because I can't write him at school very well. But your review has given me the courage to at least try it. It may turn out like crap but I'm going to give it a shot and hope for the best. Thanks for giving me the courage to do that.

 Report Review

Review #6, by LizzyThe Edge of Light: Still A Boy

15th October 2005:
I really like the interactions between Sirius and Cat, she really is his only ally at his house. I wonder how the uncle managed to get Sirius’ parents to change their mind another case of blackmail I suspect. The only mistake I caught was “What?” Cat whirled on him. “What kind of response is that? He’s sitting her bleeding to death and – " Should be here instead of her. Well on to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the correction I'll make sure to get that fixed. Probably blackmail but it may be a case of promising something he doesn't really want to do to help make things right for Sirius. I can't tell but it will be an interesting turn of events when the truth comes to light :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by LizzyThe Edge of Light: The Sorting

15th October 2005:
Poor Sirius does his family’s curtly have no bounds. I enjoyed the interactions between James, Sirius, Lily and Peter at the beginning of the chapter. The sorting was very entertaining, almost reminiscent of Harry’s. And his parent’s reactions to the sorting were well with in canon. The fight scene was a bit confusing, I read it twice. It sounds like it took place in the Tavern, but then wouldn’t there be a lot of people to witness it. All and all it was very a very entertaining chapter. It will be fun to experience Hogwarts through Sirius’ eyes.

Author's Response: That scene confused even me. I had to have help with it and even then it seemed a bit off. I finally gave up and just posted it. The people did disappear and at least in one edit I mentioned that but whether or not it made it through to the final version I haven't a clue. Sorry it was so confusing for you and I'm glad you stayed to read onto the next chapter. Thank you very very much!

 Report Review

Review #8, by LizzyRepetition: Repitition

4th October 2005:
This was very good… I love the description, I seriously felt like I was in the room. Great Story! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by LizzyAnother Plane of Existence: Unsettled

1st October 2005:
This is great! I can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading! Hopefully it won't take me too long...

 Report Review

Review #10, by LizzyRemember? Letters From A Year After The End: It's Been A Year

24th September 2005:
Really good.... made me kind of sad....

Author's Response: Oh, sorry =P Read the two upcoming chapters and maybe you'll cheer up. Thank though!!=)

 Report Review

Review #11, by LizzySurrender: Surrender

23rd September 2005:
It was wonderful, as always! I love how all of your stories have this deep level of emotion. Keep up the good work, I look foward to reading your next story!!!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #12, by LizzyVerbal Warfare: Seemingly Deserted Corridors

12th September 2005:
I like it a lot. The chapters are a bit short. But it is a very good start. Keep it up!!!

Author's Response: Thanks!!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by LizzyVerbal Warfare: Flying Objects and Fiery Tempers

12th September 2005:
I like it! It is actually a very good way to introduce the characters, and funny too! Well on to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks!!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by LizzySeasons in the Sun: Seasons in the Sun

29th August 2005:
This was really good. I love the detail, and the ending. Great Stroy!!!

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #15, by LizzyThe Edge of Light: Cursed Gryffindors

15th August 2005:
That explained a lot, thought I still don’t quite understand why if Sirius’ uncle would have taken Cat as his own, why he didn’t when given the opportunity. But then again I if there was no mystery in your chapters. Then there would be no reason to come back and read the next. So until next time keep it up, you have the beginnings of another wonderful fan fiction.

Author's Response: Thanks, Lizzy I do appreciate it. And, your right, I can't really give away to much of the question you posed but his uncle DID have his reasons which will come to light as the story progresses. (lol..."light"...get it?)

 Report Review

Review #16, by LizzyThe Edge of Light: Lost Freedom

15th August 2005:
Another wonderful chapter. I also thought I would pass on that when submitting one of my stories at Muggle Net I was informed by the people who approve stories that the world “Muggle,” “Mudblood,” “Half-blood” ect… are always capitalized. I wasn’t sure if that is a weird rule in the fan fiction realms or an actual grammar rule. I have quickly skimmed through one of the books and it seems that J.K.R. does capitalize these words. Just thought I would pass it on.

Author's Response: I appreciate that. I've always substituted "muggle" for "people" in my mind hence the inaccuracy of my capitalization! I'll try and catch those in the next chapter I post. Thanks for the heads up!

 Report Review

Review #17, by LizzyThe Edge of Light: Carnivale

15th August 2005:
Wow, a lot of things happened in this chapter. I really enjoyed the carnival scene, the description was excellent, (I especially enjoyed the soda description.) I do find Sirius’ uncle a bit of an enigma; he seems to be a reformed Black, telling Sirius things like being a Muggle doesn’t matter. And then in the same chapter basically resigns Cat to slavery. I also am having a hard time wrapping my mind around a witch stoning in the late 60’s maybe early 70’s. Having said that, it was very well written and I am off to the next chapter.

Author's Response: I should probably make an author's note about the stoning...it will be explained later. Just trust that this was from the perspective of a ten year old an what he sees isn't always what's actually happening. His uncle is a bit of a puzzle but trust that he does have Sirius' best intentions at heart even though he will undoubtedly make some mistakes as this goes on. Thanks for such a thoughtful review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by LizzyReckless: Epilogue

26th July 2005:
Another wonderful fiction! I really enjoyed reading your story! There are a few things that confused me however… I like the character Cat, though I was very confused about her presence (granted that may be because it is almost 3:00am). Is she there to simply demonstrate that Sirius is a good Secret Keeper? I also didn’t understand why if Sirius saved Lily, he couldn’t save Regulus? This truly is one of the best fictions I’ve read, keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Honestly, I was confused by her prescence as well. I let my characters lead me in my writing and she just absolutely demanded to be written in here. She did serve the secret keeper purpose and to act as a bridge between James and Sirius...to solidify their relationship with the recent mounting questions that had arisen with regards to Sirius' loyalty. Sirius couldn't save Regulus because after saving Lily, his true loyalty would be known to the Death Eaters. Lily didn't really need convincing to leave, just a quick kick in the backside to get her thinking clearly while Regulus would definetly need convincing to leave Voldemort. Hope this explains it a bit and I hope you come around for the prequel, The Edge of Light.

 Report Review

Review #19, by LizzyThe Edge of Light: Prologue

25th June 2005:
A little short… but still very good. I like where you are going with this story…explaining possibly how a Black raised in the family setting we know Sirius to be raised in ends up abandoning his family, and their ways. It’s really good, please update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks so much...I hope it doesn't dissapoint you! I'm finishing up my other story (one chapter to go) and then will be getting on this one. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by LizzyEnduring Devotion: Lily

25th June 2005:
I didn’t know that word wasn’t allowed… Sorry! It wasn’t that bad really…

Author's Response: lol...I think I know what you meant ;) Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #21, by LizzyEnduring Devotion: Lily

25th June 2005:
Wow! I love your take on Lily. In most fictions she is either, for lack of better word, a <<tag not allowed="red">tag not allowed="red">censored or miss perfect. I love how she is so human… I love how she parallels with Harry’s feelings in the book. Just as Harry is having a hard time coming to terms with the Order constantly following him, having to constantly hide, she is also. Sirius was absolutely wonderful in this story as was James, even if his part was small. All in all it was one of the most heart wrenching fictions I’ve read, and I do hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks, Lizzy. I really appreciate such kind words. I was afraid this wouldn't go over very well because Lily is so unlike the portrayals in other fanfics. I'm glad you enjoyed it. And, just to let you know, I am working on James' chapter but am struggling a bit with it. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #22, by LizzyMission 93739653: Mission 93739653

15th June 2005:
Great story!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it :D

 Report Review

Review #23, by LizzyHidden: Chapter One

10th June 2005:
It has been forever since you updated! Please, Please, Please, Please, Please, Please, Please Update soon! I'm begging!!!!

 Report Review

Review #24, by LizzyReflections: Reflections

6th June 2005:
This was an excellent fic. I really enjoyed the ending as well.

Author's Response: Thanks very much, Lizzy! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for taking time to review, it means the world to me!

 Report Review

Review #25, by LizzyHarry potter and: The Second War: A new change

28th May 2005:
Good start! Something going on between Tonks and Harry???

Author's Response: thanks for your review. about Harry and Tonks, i just wanted to juice up the chapter. I might consider that idea. thanks again for your review.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>