Reading Reviews From Member: Schnatz
  
94 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SchnatzThis Longing: Two Sides

15th August 2010:
Hey,

Today I got the tip to read your Minerva-fics from a friend and I was so excited that I have to start reading directly even if I actually have to time at the moment. So I could only read the first chapter today but wanted you to know that your spelling style absolutely amazed me ... in a very positive way, of course. :)

I like your Min (oh, actually I liked your whole charactarization, also about the Tib, the atmosphere around them) and the Head Boy/Girl clishe - like you write it - entertained me a lot. I'm really excited how it'll go on and hope that I will very very soon find the time to read the next chapters.

Sorry again for writing such a short, daffy review ... but I promise there will be some very great reviews the next time :P

Schnatz

Author's Response: I'm just amazed that someone recommended this story to you, wow! It's equally great that you came over to read the story, so thank you. :D

Haha, the spelling in the first chapter comes from many reviewers pointing out all my mistakes. They're helpful like that, and it's good to know that there's no typos or errors left now. But knowing the state of many stories on any fanfiction site, it's definite compliment. ;)

This story somewhat plays with Head Boy/Girl romance cliches, though they die down a bit further on in the story. Even though it is a cliche, it's one that can still be entertaining and, perhaps, even realistic. There's probably too much of a Lily/James copy in these early chapters, though, but both Minerva and Lily are similar in temperament to a large degree.

Thank you very much for the review! I hope that you continue to enjoy the rest of the story! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by SchnatzWhite Houses: She's so pretty and she's so sure

28th July 2010:
Hey again.

After reading the new lonely-hearts-club-chapter and after reading this one I'm a little tired to write a very long and meaningful comment. It's after 1 a.m. and I'm almost sleeping ... but I don't want to let you wait for your comment. I've read this chapter now and so I will review it now. That's what you deserve, you awesome author ;-)
I like this chapter very much because it's not telling us more about Rose's inner life and thoughts and how Scorpius' words bring her to a point which finally changed something in her life - as you've already written in your author's note. So she accepts that she's the Rose she is and is feeling much better. Now I want to have a conversation between her and Scorpius again ... and I'm very excited how it will goes this time :D

Oh, and I hope that Teddy and Vic aren't argueing too much in the next chapter. I want them to be the perfect couple again :P

Looking forward to the next chapter,
Love, Schnatz

P.S.: The first passage about the rain was brilliant. And by the way it fits perfectly that I've read this chapter this night because at the moment it's raining as if the world is going to go down forever *lol*

 Report Review

Review #3, by SchnatzThe Lonely Hearts Club: Ask

28th July 2010:
Hey, I'm so sorry I didn't write earlier. I was just so busy with the exams at the university. But now I've got Semesterferien which means actually a lot of sparetime ... which means again that I've got a lot of time to read here ;-)

I was very happy that there were two new chapters from you (one here by the lonely hearts club and one by white houses). And this chapter was as usual a great one. I like Lisa ... oh, she's such a cute girl. I just wanted to hug her! *squeak* I'm so excited how she will come together with Oliver. I hope that she will get rid of her extreme shyness. Indeed it's sweet but it's also a little obstructive for her, isn't it? Oh, and what about her brother? I want to know something more about him. Does he play a huge role in the story, too? Jasper, oh how I love this name *squeak again* :P

Hmm, Theo was collecting some negative points for my assesment-list in this chapter ... but the strange thing is I like him nevertheless - I like him a lot yet.

Now I wanted to know what horrible things Astoria did. I'm really looking forward to the next chapter.

Love, Schnatz

P.S.: I love minor characters, too. It's awesome and a lot of fun to write about them ... and it's also so great to read about them because we sadly know so less about them.

 Report Review

Review #4, by SchnatzHow to tame a Marauder: Revelations

2nd July 2010:
Hey Mel,

this time it will be really a short review. Actually I have so much to say about the last chapters but uni with all the exams is too stressful to take an hour or so the time for reviewing. I'm sorry! But at least I'm reviewing, right?! ;-)

As always i enjoyed reading the last chapters a lot ... hmm, I just like reading this story, so every chapter is good and interesting. Also this chapters you call too filler-ish are good ones. My opinion about this is that there have not always to be a lot of action ... in our everyday life isn't every day something spectacular, is it? And I'm also interested in the 'normal' and 'uninteresting' things of Laura's life. It's also part of the story either! :)

I'm not exactly sure about it but nevertheless I wanted to note it: When Remus was biten and became a werewolf he was seven years old, wasn't he? Not as you (Sirius in the story) told two years old. But that's only a detail which is not too important.

More important was the scene in all ... and it was great. I like the first time from Laura and Sirius making love ... and then how Sirius told her about Remus' story and the Animagi-story.

Haha, stupid Sirius ... that he haven't realized that he was still a dog and not himself. Yep, love is also blind to Sirius sometimes. :P

I'm looking forward to read the last 14 chapters ;-)

Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi again!

First, to answer your question - we are never given an age for Rems receiving the werewolf bite. The closest we have is when Remus himself says "I was a very small boy when I received the bite". As a mother, I took that to mean toddler, so I made him two ... much older than that doesn't make him "a very small boy" according to my reckoning. Perhaps the German version of the books had an error that listed him as being 7, but the UK version doesn't give an exact age.

Aside from that, I'm really pleased that you're still enjoying my story This particular chapter was tricky to get right because the reader knows the story already, so I tried to add a couple of things in to make this particular version of the telling unique - the reference to him chasing her down (and not realising he was a dog at the time) was one of them, so I'm glad you liked that.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by SchnatzHow to tame a Marauder: Confrontations

30th June 2010:
Hey again :)

It was not that I have forgotten Remus and the fullmoon completely it's just that I haven't expected it that early ... and I really hope that Sirius is just telling Laura and don't have any argument with her again. I don't want them to be apart again. That's awful! They're just such a perfect match and so cute together! And I'm worried that when Sirius is not telling her the mutual trust Laura has now again for Sirius will be damaged forever (or at least for a long long time).

On the other hand it would be nice to have Remus' accreditation to tell her his furry little problem. Hmm, I'm excited about the next chapter ... but can't read it now because I have to go to uni now (Oh that evil uni, oh that evil cliff :P )

Schnatz

P.S.: The talk between Elvira, Greta and Laura - especially where Laura told them that she used a love potion to get together with Sirius) was so great and funny! :)

Author's Response: Hi again!

You make a good point in that the timing of the full moon thing isn't good,but to make it within the first month of them being back together it had to be in at this point, as I couldn't see Laura not noticing it happening, not when trust was such a big thing. But yeah,it's a bit abrupt, I concede that.

As for the chat with Elvira and the others, well I'm pleased you liked that one. It was fun to write so I'm glad that came out. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by SchnatzHow to tame a Marauder: Reconciliation attempted

29th June 2010:
Hey, before I go to bed now I just wanted to let you know that I LOVED the last three chapters ... and here we have had the first argument between Laura and Sirius. Oh, I can't tell you how happy I am that they are back together! :) Boys! *sigh*

Oh and besides the conversation between Laura and Sirius I adored the one between Lils and Laura where Lils told Laura about what she was talking with Mrs Potter and that she wanted her James back and think that Sirius and Laura are a perfect match and all that stuff ... that was so cute! I was very pleased that there was such a conversation between LILY and Laura because that made their friendship a little bit stronger and deeper :)

I also liked the car-scene (the boys were too sweet when they tried to drive ^-^) and how you managed the thing with Sirius' bike. The idea with that project for Muggle studies was really good!

Aaaah, and of course, I was happy with Lily and James that ... well, you surely know what I'm talking about, don't you? ;-)

Well, I'm going to bed now, it's late/early,
read and review the next days.

Till then, Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi again!

You know, I lost some readers with that argument, because they didn't appreciate the standing off and everything that accompanied it. However, other people seem to like it and you can't have it all peaches and cream, can you? Otherwise, I would have stopped the story when they got together.

I'm glad you liked the interaction with Lily because I'm rather fond of Lily, even though she doesn't have a huge role in the story. It was important though that those two develop a bond and this helped that out a bit more.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by SchnatzHow to tame a Marauder: Christmas

29th June 2010:
This clishe isn't that bad. Sometimes you need clishes and I think it's only important how you discribe it. Clishes can also be great or cute or romantic or whatever ... it's a kind of a prejudice that they're so negetive and boring and mary-sue-like. So, I'm sure I'll like your big party at the Potter's ;-)

So chapter 40 was also a little clishe-ish, wasn't it?! *g* It was really romantic, almost kitschy ... but every girl needs kitsch sometimes, right? Me, too. To tell you the truth I love kitsch, can't get enough of it ... I'm hopelessly sappy and kitschy and romantic ... and I LOVED loved loved this chapter! *sigh and smile*

Sirius is so cute and such a gentleman. Oh, I can't believe that it should be the same Sirius who was a nasty git, a womanizer and a completely heartbreaker. Haha, thanks, Laura, for making Sirius Black a better lover! ;-)

Really cute chapter, I enjoyed reading it a lot and hope that there will be more romance and kitsch in the next chapters :P
10/10 - as always!

Till then, Schnatz

P.S.: Yay, only 22 chapters left! ;-)

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, I don't think that the occasional cliche is a hanging offence, I just thought that I should acknowledge that I realised I was using one. So long as it's done with the full understanding that it IS a cliche, normally it doesn't really matter I don't think. :)

I don't know that ch40 was also cliched but it was certainly fluffy and probably a little kitschy, but then again those two had been dancing around each other for so long that I thought a bit of fluff wasn't too bad. And let's face it, we're all like that at the start of relationships, aren't we?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by SchnatzLadylike.: Of Words and Loyalties.

29th June 2010:
Yay, you're finally back! :)

I've missed your Dom, James, Fred, Penny, Holden and Lorcan ... but I don't know if I now like chapter 26. I was and I am a huge Dom/Lorcan fan and now there's is no chance anymore for them both getting together, is it? And so this chapter was very very sad for me. Poor Lorcan!

On the other hand I'm glad that Dom finally know who she want and I'm excited how she and Holden are going to get together again. You said that there are ca. 40 chapters. That's a lot and I'm looking forward every single of it! ;-)

Well, I'm happy you're back!
And thanks for the sneak-peak, seems as there will be some more Quidditch in the next chapter! Yay! :D

Love, Schnatz

Author's Response: There is always a chance! There's going to be between 41 and 42, possibly 43 if I'm exceptionally verbose in the last few, and I'm so excited. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by SchnatzHow to tame a Marauder: Confessions

28th June 2010:
Oi, that was so awesome! I really liked it so much and enjoyed every line! Thanks for that wonderful chapter! :)

And sorry for not writing much more but I'm really tired now and it's now 2 o'clock and I have to wake up early. But I liked it so much and can't stop sighing and smiling ... and also laughing because there were so much funny scenes, too.

Now I'm just exited what happened next.
I will read the next chapters as soon as possible!

Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi again!

Hahaha I take it you liked this one? It was very sappy, I know, but then again I'd left these two hanging for so long that I thought it was only fair to give them a really nice night of it. Though I do apologise for keeping you up so late - apparently I did that to a few people during the time this story was being posted.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by SchnatzHow to tame a Marauder: Snowballing

28th June 2010:
You're really lucky, Mel, that I have no fruits or vegetables here, only gummi bears and they are too delicious to throw away :P But the cliff was so evil. Oh, you're always so evil! So I have to continue reading for one more chapter ... although I'm really tired and it's 1 o'clock in the morning now. Feel honored! :P

Oh this chapter was all I've waited for ... remember that I asked you for a romantic scene in my last review. Haha, I haven't expect it coming so fast but I'm very happy about it. Oh how I enjoyed this dance! :)

And good for Sirius that he always continued telling Laura his feelings although she was so nervous and wanted to go ... Wow, that was so gorgeous. I wish my ball at school when I was 17 would have been like this ... Sadly there was no Sirius for me only a kind of a Bernie ;D But don't talk much more about me (I'm sorry but I can't help I always have to remember some things from my life when I read your story!) let's talk more about Sirius and Laura.

Firstly the snowballing ... that was just great and brought me into a wonderful winterly but also funny and romantic mood. Oh my god I really wanted to throw a snowball after Sirius when he cut this special moment. Good for him that he do it well at the ball (I hope that in the next chapter will be nothing that destroy the getting together of Sirius and Laura. Please no people who bother them or wrong words one of the both say or a Laura who run away for some reason. Please nothing like that, please just let them be together and let them kiss each other and kiss all night long . er, sorry it's late and I'm in a very romantic mood at the moment. I stop it yet, back to the snowballing :P)

I liked it very much because they have fun all together and as I said before because this almost-kissing scene between Sirius and Laura.

And then the ball ... I liked it that you discribed the robes of them all ... they surely looked all amazingly pretty! Charlotte and Remus were so cute (I totally have seen them dancing in my imagination. So cute!) and James and Lily were in any event the couple everybody's dreaming of to be. They are such sweeties, love them together! And don't forget Mary and Seb ... they were cute, too and I hope that they will be together for a longer while. Mary deserves it to be luckily in love, too! :)
The only person we haven't get much information about was Martha. That was a little sad but, of course, she's not so important when there is such a lovely dance and nearly a kiss between Sirius and Laura. *sigh in absolute romanticism*

Now, I'm really looking forward to read the next chapter,
we'll read us then,
Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi again!!

Yes, this was rather a popular chapter, I must admit, due mostly to the nature of the cliffhanger I think. *grins* I realise that I'm cruel to put so many almosts in one chapter but then again, I do enjoy torturing people. It's one of my foibles, I think. :)

Anyway I won't say any more because I know you've read on now so all the suspenseful stuff I COULD say is now irrelevant.

Thanks for the review!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by SchnatzHow to tame a Marauder: The worst news possible

28th June 2010:
Hey Mel,

sorry again for writing a review so late. I've read chapter 36 last Tuesday but was too lazy to review and today I've read it again and read also chapter 37 and ... well, write a review now. Sorry, I'm writing unnecessary things at the moment *blush*

So it seems that Sirius was desperated enough to talk about his 'Laura-problem' with James ... oh, when he would only talk to Laura and tell her what he's feeling about her. He's just making his own life difficult and delay a realtionship to Laura. And Laura herself do the same thing; the only difference is that I can understand Laura. Sirius has not making adumbrations so clearly and he's known for a womanizer and all this ... it's understandable that Laura is too shy and nervous to tell him that she loves him or just to kiss him like Lily did with James. Furthermore Laura is the girl and it's business of the boys to do the first step, isn't it? ;-)

Even Remus was finally brave enough to ask Charlotte out for the ball! Yay, drink a toast to Remus John Lupin!! :D I'm really happy with Remus and, of course, with Charlotte and I'm looking forward to the ball and what is going to happen there.

And Lily is evil ... so she knows that Sirius likes Laura and Laura likes Sirius a lot. Why didn't she tell one of them or at least dedicate James? I hope she will do that soon and then it will come to a romantic Sirius-Laura-scene ;-)

Of course, there were also romantic (er, okay almost romantic) scenes ... remember the one where Sirius is drunken and want to kiss Laura, or the one he's telling her about the death of Alphard, or the one where Sirius laid his arm around Laura's weist and turned her face towards him ... they all have romantic potential. Oh, if Sirius wouldn't be such a little, unsure teenager! Of course, that's really cute, too, because normally he isn't and that means that he really really likes Laura but nevertheless it's stupid, too! :P

Well, as always I'm looking forward to read the next chapters!

Till then, Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi again! And I'm SO sorry it's taken me so long to respond to this - as you know things have been really busy for me lately - but I'm here now, and that counts for something,right?

Anyway. I'm glad you enjoyed the frustration of my main pair just NOT talking the way they should have, because I had so much fun writing that sexual tension. I will say though that you have misinterpreted my Sirius a little, because in this story he was never a womaniser. He is in a lot of fics, but not this one - I don't think that three girlfriends in two and a half years would qualify him as a womaniser, and he really just wasn't all that interested, as Martha said when she described what he was like as a boyfriend. But aside from that, yes, he wasn't being obvious enough for Laura, though even if he'd pushed her against the wall and kissed her she still may not have believed him. She just didn't understand how much things had changed since fifth year.

Anyway, glad you're still enjoying it. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by SchnatzHarry and James: Teddy and James

27th June 2010:
Hey, I've read the last two chapters today and I still like the idea of the story very very much! I liked the little discussion between Ron and Hermione, that was so typical for them two. I think they will always be like this! :D And Teddy was really cute! He's so adorable! :) And I also like the talk between Harry and his mother . but things happened a little bit too quick. I wish me more details about talking of what happened in this 23 years and more details about how Lily feels.
I'm looking forward to read the next chapter,
lots of love, Steffi

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for reviewing! ;)
I'm glad you liked that discussion; it is typical, isn't it?
Well, the reason why I didn't give you the full report of what they were talking about, is that everything can be read about in the books, so there was the danger of it becoming very lengthy and boring for everyone. And this chapter was, partly, about how Lily feels... right? So what else would you want to know?
And I'm very sorry, but unless inspiration suddenly strikes me to write a meeting between Lily and Ginny, this was the final chapter... Sorry.
But thanks a lot for reading and reviewing!! :D (is the movie that boring? :P)


 Report Review

Review #13, by SchnatzRipples: Mistakes

27th June 2010:
Hey Jo!

I'm really really happy that you are finished with your exams and that you wrote a new ripples chapter so fast. It was great written - as always - but it was just so sad. And although we know what happened to Juliet it's nevertheless sad and tragical. *sigh* Poor Juliet, of course ... but poorer Min! I'm so sorry for her and I would like to hug her and say her that it's not her fault that Juliet ... well, that this stupid basilisk turned her into stone.

Hmm, I don't know what to say more, the way you discribed the scenes and Min's feelings was just so typical for her and so brilliant and typical for you and I really, really enjoyed reading it. When Min screamed at Dumbledore was such a fantastic scene where you could see how desperate Min really is ... and then the scene where Alex and she meet Orion and Amelia and Alex screamed at Orion was my favourite. I can't really tell you why but there is a kind of pressure and desperation in this scene what made me nervous and sad at the same time. I just loved it! It was like I could feel the arrogance of Avery and the ignorance of Orion and the concernment of Amelia and the - well, let's say - absence of Min. Oh, and I really hope that Min and Amelia are going to get along with each other again!

I'm really looking forward to read the next chapter!

Love, Schnatz

P.S.: Yay, the letters are finally back! :)

Author's Response: Hi Steffi!
So sorry for the awful delay in responses, I'm just trying to do far too many things in the day this year! I was a bit naughty and wrote this during exam times, but it was very sad to write and I'm surprised people haven't thrown things at me and all!

there were however, definite reasons for why Juliet had to be Petrified, and those will be coming out much more clearly in the next few chapters.

Min's really at almost her lowest point right now, these are the chapters where everybody breaks down and apart.

Very perceptive, the absence of Min is EXACTLY what I was trying to get across. next chapter should be up in the next fortnight or so!

Thanks for the reviews!


 Report Review

Review #14, by SchnatzHow to tame a Marauder: Pubs, pranks and parties

17th June 2010:
Oh Merlin, you did it again! Made me remember some similar party I was when I was 17. And I didn't take the opportunity, too, and I have to say that I understand Laura - that she didn't take it but also that she's a little sad because she missed the opportunity - especially when you allow for the last passage of this chapter. *sigh* I've seen that coming but now it's here I'm also shocked a lot! Now I'm very excited who his new 'girlfriend' is! But can sadly sadly sadly not read it until Monday! Aaaah, I'll go mad! ;D

Well, all in all I liked this chapter very very much ... anyway I like the new chapters more because there is more love and action in it which wasn't when they were only 15/16.

Till Monday, have a nice weekend,
Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi Schnatz!

You know, it really is so wonderful that people like you can relate so well to the scenarios I wrote for this story. I tried to make them the sorts of things that most people would experience, at least to some degree, but this sort of reaction is quite overwhelming for me. Thank you! I'm really really thrilled that you can relate to this. :D

As for the cliffy - well, sorry about that. But I had to include it and it was just such a great place to break a chapter, don't you think? *evil grin*

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by SchnatzHow to tame a Marauder: It's all about James

16th June 2010:
I can't help myself when I've read the chapter title 'It's all about James' and have to continue reading - studying can wait when there's the chapter Lily and James finally getting together! Oh and I have to smile all along! That was so cute! Loved it! :)

And I think I'm now in the best mood to study medieval studies a la Walther von der Vogelweide's minnesongs ;D

Schnatz who is still grinning like a Cheshire cat :)

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, this was rather a popular chapter when I first loaded it up. People seem to like the idea of James and Lily getting together for some reason. :D Glad you enjoyed it!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by SchnatzHow to tame a Marauder: Summer holidays

16th June 2010:
Hey Mel,

I've only a shorter review today. Don't worry not because this chapter was a little bit fillerish or so but I have to hurry because I also have to study a lot today *groan* I would a lot better reading all day your story than studying something like medieval studies. oh, I'm so not a Ravenclaw! ;D

The last two chapters were great. I loved how you discribe Laura's everyday life at home ... and I was pleased that Bea appeared. I've missed her in some way.
Well, everything fits so perefectly ... the drivers licence, the apparition licence, meeting James and Sirius, Lily's letter, the talk with Bea and the others, the second time in - oh, I'm sorry I can't perceive the English name for the street they buy all their school things, in German it's called Winkelgasse. Yes, just perfect.

Also the exam-chapter was brilliant. I've loved the short talk to James and then, of course, the talk with Sirius where he told her that Alphard had died. I'm so sad about that! :(

Also there are so much little details in your story which make me smile very often only because it reminds me of being 11 and wishing that a letter from Hogwarts is bringing or of being 16/17/18 and thinking exactly like Laura or the other girls. I love this details as I love your whole story.

I'll read and review again as soon as possible,
till then, Schnatz

P.S.: Now it's not such a short review as I expected *lol*

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

And yes, not quite as short as perhaps you thought, but I don't mind. I love long reviews - more to appreciate :D

Anyway. You're not the only person who was pleased that Bea made a reappearance, which makes me pleased because it means that people are getting attached to my characters, even the minor ones. Bea's character gold in a lot of ways but she becomes less and less relevant to Laura's life so she does drop out of the story a bit. And I'm glad you liked the summer holidays chapter, with the trip to Diagon Alley (that was the name you were trying to think of, no?) and bumping into Sirius at the Ministry and all that. And the exam chapter - well I'm very pleased you liked that one because again I had some criticism that it was TOO filler-ish. Then again, having a shirtless Sirius at the end there seemed to atone for most of the sins of the rest of the chapter so maybe I shouldn't be too worried. :)

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by SchnatzThree Boys, One Line: Three boys, one line

15th June 2010:
Haha, that was really funny! I enjoyed reading it a lot and have to laugh all along! ;D

But you're right James is just a little bit stupid and too naive in this story ... but because it's a humor-story it's not too bad because it has too be more extreme to be funny. Do you know what I mean? I think I'm writing a lot of weird things at the moment, sorry *lol*

Anyway, I liked it a lot!

Groetjes, Schnatz

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! :D I'm glad you laughed the entire time xD

Yeah, I know. But I guess I was also a little fed up with stories who portray Peter as a mindless idiot with an already secret evil agenda in school, so I made him a little more intelligent here than I think he comes across in most fics, but in return, someone else had to hand in their brain :P And you're not writing weird things at all! I'm glad you liked it!

Hahaha XD Danke sehr!


 Report Review

Review #18, by SchnatzHow to tame a Marauder: Deciding the Quidditch Cup

15th June 2010:
Hey,

the last two chapters were so great. Some of your best, really! You know I enjoyed every single chapters written by you but you have to know that I have a huge soft spot for James and because of that this chapters were more important for me. I like your idea why James has became Head Boy and I really loved the way you've written it. Just great! :)

And I'm very very happy now that Lily seems to like him a lot more and thinks he has grown up and this ... oi, perhaps there is some Lily/James scene coming soon? *g* Oh, I just love this pairing ... and again I want to accent once again that your characterization about this two (and also the other charas, of course) are so authentic and realistic and ... they're just THE James and THE Lily for me, you know?

And then, it's not only the attention you've showed to James which made me love this chapters it's also quidditch. Of course! What else?! As I've written in another review before I love this sport. Love writing about it, reading about it, seeing something about it in the HP films, etc. You did a great job with that again! I like your quidditch!

I also want to let you know that I like your narrative scenes as well as the dialouges. Sometimes there's no big talk need! ;-)

For Merlin's sake, it's weird and I'm sorry for that I only write the same, positive things with the same, positive words in every single review but the problem is I can't help falling for your story. I absolutely adore it and enjoy reading it! And I haven't found a little negative things on it which I could critizice.

I'm looking forward to read the next chapter. It's the 30th! Yay! :D

Love, Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi Schnatz! And I'm SO sorry I took so long to respond to this - I like to write detailed responses as you know and I've been a bit short of time lately.

Anyway. I'm glad you liked the idea of how James got the Head Boy job, because that's something that was never explained in the canon and like I said in the author note, I thought it had to be covered considering he wasn't a prefect. And yes, he has grown up a bit and Lily has noticed this so that just sets the scene for what we all know happens in seventh year. :)

As for the Quidditch, I'm glad you liked that scene because I had some criticism of it - something about it not being detailed enough, from memory. Of course it's hard to do when your protagonist isn't actively involved in the game, and I agree with JKR that Quidditch can be a pain to write, but yeah, I'm really pleased that you thought I did okay with that one. Thanks!

And yes, 30 chapters. Almost half way!! :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by SchnatzThe Lonely Hearts Club: Bad Poetry

14th June 2010:
Hey! I was very happy when I've seen that you've updated and actually I should also study (like you) but failed (like you again) and instead of studying I was reading then ... and it was a thousand times better than reading something about an communication theory ^^

I love this story! It's so funny to read it ... it's the perfect after-uni-reading and also the perfect bedtime-story. Do you know what I mean? A story where you haven't to think about too much and which is just nice and funny to read. I like that especially it's different from your other stories.

I have to say that I like Theodore a lot. Poor guy! He's so sensitive and so down ... I would rather hug him and never let him go again. Aaaand I like Oliver; I always have loved him in the books and films and in all fanfictions I've read about him and so I do in yours. You did a great job with him. The sentence "Is that all? That is about Quidditch!" made me laugh but it was just Oliver Wood! Oh, and how i love him! *g*

Hmm, and from the girls I like most Daphne so far. But they're all interesting and funny characters and I'm so curious about what will happen next! Update soon! :P

Love and again good luck for the remaining exams,
Schnatz

Author's Response: Study is overrated :P
I do hope your exams go well though!

this is light and fluffy but so much fun - I really do have enough stories that take themselves seriously that I felt I could indulge myself in this one.

I ADORE THEODORE. He's a bit awful here but he's such a girly boy/drama queen. Oliver will be coming in more, I just as usual have a million characters and limited 'screen time'. Updates are all upcoming soon!

Thanks for the reviews!


 Report Review

Review #20, by SchnatzHow to tame a Marauder: Intrusions and epiphanies

14th June 2010:
Ooooi, finally Laura has figured out that she has a crush on Sirius! I absolutely loved the way it happened ... that's so cute and again (as so much of your story) it's so true, too. Who has not played with the surnames of boys and the own name?! Well, I have! And sometimes I still do that! *blush*

Anyway, Laura Black sounds good!

Oh I can't tell you often enough how great your story is ... it's just like it's the real HP prequel! You're a fantastic author! You really are! :)

I'm looking forward to read the next chapters,
till then, Schnatz

P.S.: Don't wonder about the fact that I haven't write something about Bertram's try to apologize in this review but I think he isn't worth it! :P

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, I think all girls have done that with surnames. Most of what I have Laura do (along those lines, I mean) is taken from my own life and what my friends and I used to do at that age. It can take some remembering considering I'm going back 20-odd years but I seem to have done it reasonably well. :) Thank you!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by SchnatzHarry and James: Realisations

13th June 2010:
Hey,

as I've promised you before I've now read one of your ff's. The idea is great ... I'm just wondering about how this was possible. Will there be an explanation for it?

Anyway, I liked the first chapters and am very excited how Harry react and what they first talk about and what they'll talk about at all. Oh, there are so many questions and I hope you'll update soon. :P

And, er, was the baby Lily took for Harry little James Sirius?

I'm looking forward to read the next chapter,
till then, Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you! :D (I have to say, it was sooner than I expected!)

Well... there will be a sort-of explanation in the chapter that's now in the queue, but other than that, I, like the Healers, have no clue. There are some stories in which Lily/James has been in some sort of coma for years, and that's also the best explanation I can come up with... :S

I'm glad you liked the first chapters! Harry's reaction and their first talk will be in the next chapter; hopefully all your questions will be answered then! (if not, feel free to ask them)

And yes, you're right, that was James. As will also be told in the next chapter ;)

And once again, thank you for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by SchnatzHow to tame a Marauder: Bertram's end

13th June 2010:
Hey Mel,

When I've read the title of this chapter, Bertram's end, my first reaction was a big smile. I'm sorry for that because what happened was actually a sad thing for Laura but I can't help it I'm just happy that Laura dropped him. I've always known that there was more reason than Sirius that I don't like Bertram. ;-)
But I'm sooo sorry for Laura and as so often I think that you did a great job with the description of her feelings. *thumbs up*

I also liked the part with Sirius a lot. That was a very personal and special moment they've shared - not only because of Laura's sorrow but also because of Sirius told her from the invisible cloak (oh, by the way, I can't tell you how much I love the word 'invisible cloak'. I think it's so much more beautiful than 'Tarnumhang') Anyway, I really liked this scene.

And I also liked the scene where the girls talk to Laura. She could be so happy that she has so wonderful friends like Mary, Lily, Martha and Charlotte. I think when you are heartbroken it's important that you have friends like them - friends who can make you laugh and hug and comfort you. Of course, it's always important to have true friends but in bad times it's even more important. Plus for Laura's girls! I really really like them a lot! :)

As always I'm looking forward to read the next chapters ... yay, soon I'll arrive at the 30th chapter ;-)

I hope you've had a nice weekend,
till then, Schnatz

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, quite a few people liked this chapter when it came out - something to do with seeing the end of Bertram and getting some more Sirius, I believe. *grins*

But yes, Laura is very lucky that she has some really good friends who are going to stick up for her, because at a time like this she needs that. As for Sirius, well I had a lot of fun writing that scene, which probably comes out in the text. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #23, by SchnatzHow to tame a Marauder: Gryffindor vs Hufflepuff

10th June 2010:
Hey Mel,
Again I'm so sorry for not reviewing and reading for such a long time *groan* If it were up to me I would read the whole missing chapters faster buuut sadly it isn't uo to me ... I'm completly exposed by university and my little side job *groan again* But I read as fast as possible ;-)
The chapter I've read today was the chapter 'Gryffindor vs. Hufflepuff' and I really, really, really liked it a lot. As you perhaps have realized before my nickname 'Schnatz' is the German word for 'Snitch' so you can imagine that I really like quidditch. I would actually say that I like quidditch as much as James did. Oh yeah, this sport is just brilliant. I wish I were a witch and could play it! :D

My favourite quote was: Gryffindor House had a running joke that if you wanted to kill someone, then a Quaffle hurled by James Potter would probably be quicker and more accurate than an Avada Kedavra.

Bang on! :)

I also liked the little conversation between Laura and Sirius at the beginning; the one where they talked about that Laura keeps her fingers cross for Gryffindor and not for Hufflepuff and so on. By the way I'm glad that Laura beared the Gryffindor team up. *thumbs up*

And, of course, I also liked the rest of the chapter but the quidditch part made my heart miss a beat and so I haven't the ability to write a lot about the rest :P
I'm just looking forward to read the next chapter and I'm curious who were acurrately the persons the marauders have seen on their map.

Till then, Schnatz

P.S.: I got a mail where I was told that you write something on my profile ... the problem is that I can't read it. I have to say that I'm a little bit confused from all the English explanatory notes and so and I'm not sure if I did any mistake or so ... please help! *blush*

Author's Response: Hi again!

Now, you must NEVER apologise for not reviewing in a while because as you can see I can take FOREVER to respond. We all have real lives and finding the time isn't always easy.

Anyway. I'm glad you liked this one, I was pretty fond of it myself actually. Not really sure why but it appeals to me - maybe that conversation with Siriuis at breakfast that you mentioned. :)

And I see you worked out what to do with profile comments hahaha! The forums can take a bit of getting used to but they are quite addictive once you find your feet.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #24, by SchnatzLadylike.: Of Revenge and Man-Candy.

10th June 2010:
Hey Paige,
I don't know much about the exams you have to do in America but congratulations that they came up roses for you.

Hmm, this chapter confuses me a little bit. Why is Dom thinking sooo horrible about Lorcan and why is she so extremly nerved from him? I understand that she is in a conflicting situation because of Holden and because she still have feelings for Lorcan but why is she always so nerved when Lorcan wants to talk with her? Lorcan has deserve a chance, too! :P Dom/Lorcan forever! I stand my ground! ;-)

Now I'm really excited how the revenge against Jones goes and how James and Fred agree with each other again. (By the way, has it any reason that you give Jones the name Honor? Because I think she really is the dishonorable person in the whole story :P )

I'm looking forward to read the next chapter,
till then, Schnatz

Author's Response: Dom is currently overwhelmed by feelings for... gasp, Holden Wood? You'll see this all in the next two chapters, but it's interesting. Dom adores both boys, but she's realized that Lorcan isn't who she wants anymore, simply because he gave up. Yeah, she knows she gave him every reason to give up, but that doesn't mean she wanted him to. So he did give up, Holden walked in to pick up the pieces, and then Lorcan thinks he can change that all back to the way it should be. Maybe in the beginning, before Holden, this would have worked... but now, she actually likes Wood. It's confusing, I know, but it's teenage girl world. I'm living it right now. :D

And Honor Jones is named as such because I thought Honor gave a sort of positive connotation towards her character. I like conflicting connotations. (: Plus, Honor Jones is incredibly proud, and everything she does- no matter how horrible it is- is done in a very dignified manner. Yes, she's the worst person Hogwarts has seen in many years, and she's hell bent on ruining the lives of those who get in her way, but she's a very dignified evil villain.

Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by SchnatzFlight: Wings

10th June 2010:
Woah, this was just ... deep and emotional and true and wonderful and ... I can't discribe it in English and accordingly I'm not so fast in translating that I could give you a perfect first impression. And so you have to translate again (after your exams :P):

Jo, das war so was von herzergreifend, dass ich fast weinen muss. Ich bin eh ein kleines Sensibelchen, aber es braucht dennoch einiges, um mich so zu berühren, wie du es geschafft hast zu tun. Ich glaube, da war kein Absatz, kein einziger Satz dabei, der nicht voller Emotionen steckte. Ich liebe das!
Ich liebe, wie du Fleur dargestellt hast ... ihre Schoenheit, wie sie das sieht und wie andere sie wahrnehmen. Ich bin eig kein Fan von Fleur, aber i-wie hast du es geschafft, sie mir durch diesen OS etwas näher zu bringen - eben, weil deine Worte mich einfach so ergriffen haben. Wahnsinn! *__*
Ich liebe auch deinen Bill. Um ehrlich zu sein, hab ich mir nie wirkliche Gedanken um ihn gemacht; um ganz ehrlich zu sein, hab ich mir über alle Weasleys Gedanken gemacht, nur um ihn nicht. Und ich finde, du hast das ganz großartig hingekriegt. Ich mochte vor allem den Aspekt, dass Bill der aelteste Bruder ist, immer für die andern da gewesen ist. Das erinnert mich ein bisschen an mich selbst :) Der Absatz hier, war so wunderschoen und wahr:

He is the brother that bandages scraped knees, fixes a small sister's shoelaces, that prevents the pummeling of a Percy and the bullying of a Ron. He holds in his hands the threads of harmony and sits on the sibling throne.

Natuerlich fand ich das Ganze ganz großartig beschrieben, so poetisch und mit unzaehligen, romantischen und emotionalen Metaphern, Vergleichen und Bildern. Hach ja, da moechte man aus dem Schwaermen gar nicht mehr heraus kommen ^-^

Zum Glueck hab ich das angeklickt und gelesen,
Liebe Gruesse, Schnatz

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>