Reading Reviews From Member: Cleopatraa
  
240 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CleopatraaBliss: I Want the Bliss

16th July 2013:
I've never read a Dorcas/Remus story before and seeing I love minor characters and minor pairings I ofcourse had to read this. Your banner is really nice by the way. It was nice that I could relate to Dorcas in some issues I also liked the way you ended the story.

 Report Review

Review #2, by CleopatraaPerfectly Pureblood: The Moral Dilemma of Ice Cream

16th July 2013:
I love stories about the Blacks and especially about Regulus seeing they are quite rare. I'm really impressed by this. The way you worked out and the whole pureblood mentality. I really like the flow of this and the way you portrayed your characters.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Cleopatraa(she was lost): Hurting

16th July 2013:
I liked your summary. To me it sounded like the kind of story I love to read and can I say your banner is simply marvelous. Simple but ellegant. This was quite an unique piece. It is rarely that I see Dominique portrayed like this. You capture her emotions perfectly! Great piece and I can see why you won the challenge!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for reviewing! I adore the banner as well. :D I'm so glad you liked the portrayal of Dominique. I've read a lot of stories with feisty!Dom or tomboyish Doms in them, but I thought a vulnerable Dominique wouold be nice to write for a change. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Cleopatraa( [ { final destination } ] ): the end

16th July 2013:
As I also have written a piece for this and your summary intrigued me, I had to read this. I'm not a Severus Snape fan, but this was really a great piece. It was so sad and emotional. Your descriptions and the writing style you used were extremely well done. Well done! This was a great and creative entry!

 Report Review

Review #5, by CleopatraaA Hundred Bloodied Sunsets: we will remember

16th July 2013:
As I have also written stories for this challenge I wanted to see what you did with this as I have read stories of you before and can I say woah you did not dissapoint at all. The way you wrote this is simply stunning. Every word simply hit its mark and your imagery is simply woww! Nice one shot!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Cleopatraa! I think of myself as quite a wordy writer so I honestly didn't think I'd be able to achieve anything with such a small word count, but I wound up fairly happy at how everything had turned out :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by CleopatraaJostling: trundling

16th July 2013:
Can I say I really love your opening sentence. But lets face it I loved the whole story and not only the opening sentence. The imagery and descriptions were simply stunning and this was in my opinion a terrific one shot for the house cup this year. Unique, beautiful and emotional .

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm so glad you enjoyed reading it! :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by CleopatraaBlack Chronicles - An Ancient Legacy: Chapter 3 - The Most Noble and Ancient House of Black

15th July 2013:
Wow the fact that Sirius was not there, made such a huge impact. I really enjoyed the passage at the beginning when Percy argues with Fred and George,especially because for once in their life they are completely innocent. I like the Black Chronicles. The fact that it is really a book.

 Report Review

Review #8, by CleopatraaBlack Chronicles - An Ancient Legacy: Chapter 2 Ė Off to Hogwarts

15th July 2013:
Wow hell spawn. That predicts little good for the future. Even at that age haha. I simply loved the way Tonks reacted when they asked her if she was a relative off the Blacks. I really love your writing style and the way you portray the characters in this fic so far.

 Report Review

Review #9, by CleopatraaBlack Chronicles - An Ancient Legacy: Chapter 1- Out of His Time

15th July 2013:
Wow I never liked Crouch and the fact that Crouch would simply suggest something like that wow. That was so prejudice and kinf of ironic because lets face it Crouch was also sort of to blame for Sirius being in Azkaban. Poor Sirius he must be very scared and can I say I love the fact Narcissa wants to take him in. Blood is thicker than water after all .

 Report Review

Review #10, by CleopatraaBlack Chronicles - An Ancient Legacy: Prologue

15th July 2013:
I was looking for an interesting Harry AU story to read but the premise of this seemed to interesting to let it slip by. I have to say I never read anything like this concerning Sirius Black. So kudos for that. I really liked the way you began and I loved this little custom the Blacks had with seers.

 Report Review

Review #11, by CleopatraaDark Mirror: Pity Parties can be deadly.

15th July 2013:
I like the way you portrayed Hermione in this story. It is really realistic in my opinion. I loved the plot twists you added and I can see your story becoming extremely interesting. It definetely lured me in. I can't wait till I read the next chapter. But I have to admit this really reminded me of a novel I've read a long time ago

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. To be truthful I got the idea from a novel I had read and wanted to see if I could blend the two together. I have added a few things here and there while taking out other things. I am just glad people are liking it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by CleopatraaDark Mirror: Luck is like that

15th July 2013:
Wow this seemed like such an interesting concept that I really had to read it. Your summary lured me in and the fact that this is such a minor pairing which I only read once a story about (which I really loved) I knew I had to read it and luckily you did not dissapoint me. Wow he is arrogant but in a good way. I already like him.

Author's Response: I am so glad that you are enjoying this story. I have enjoyed writing it and it brightens my day when others enjoy it as well. Thank you for reading and I hope you continue to enjoy.

 Report Review

Review #13, by CleopatraaBrain Activity: Inferno

15th July 2013:
Wow your cliffhanger. Well the last thing I would have expected was Greyback. I hope he isn't a zombie because that would be utterly horrible. I mean these zombies sort of have a mind and Greyback as this kind of zombie you have created would be a complete disaster for the whole world.

Author's Response: Haha I know right? Thank you so much for this review, And I agree...things are already a kind of a disaster though right?

 Report Review

Review #14, by CleopatraaBrain Activity: The Zombie Queen

15th July 2013:
Nice to see another hilarious chapter image. Most of them are so pretty and well made, so the fact this isn't TDA quality makes them really stand out. I liked the opening with the victim. It makes this story seem more real.
Crazy unicorns with lazy eyes?
Wow this really made me laugh. But anyway nice to see that your zombies sort of are able to think and it was romantic in a creepy way that Harry came for Ginny.

Author's Response: Hahaha I love the chapter images! They have been so fun to make and see what people come up with for me! I know, there are a lot of things to laugh at in here, and I like that you are laughing at them and not scared! And yeah, it was a bit of a creepy romantic thing :P Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by CleopatraaBrain Activity: Residue

15th July 2013:
I was nice to see that you started with an other character and I've also found your portrayals of Hermione and Neville to be very realistic so far. It was also nice to see everything had worked out for him and hopefully it will stay so. He was always such a sweetheart in the books and he would really deserve it. I liked Roger. I also liked your chapter image.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like the story! Hermione and Neville are so fun to write, and Roger is such a jerk. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by CleopatraaBrain Activity: The Zombie Lord

15th July 2013:
Well as I'm currently in a zombie phase I just knew I had to read this. Zombies and Harry Potter, anything could happen and lets face it I could really imagine Hermione doing this. I liked the fact James was not doing anything was sports as this is a cliche I see too much in next gen stories. Anyway I thought this was interesting and I'm curious on what will happen next.

Author's Response: I am so glad you decided to stop by and read it! And yeah I try to avoid cliches as much as possible :P Makes things more interesting! Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #17, by CleopatraaYou Won't Forget: I

1st February 2013:
Review swap! Sorry for the long wait but it was quite late yesterday and I had to make my homework today.

I found it really interesting to see this was a Helga/Salazar as one I love minor pairings and two I recently wrote an Helena/Salazar. A different pairing I know, but I was curious how you portrayed Salazar Slytherin.

I loved the fact he acknowledged she wasnít the most beautiful woman around, as in a lot of stories the main characters Ďloveí is the most beautiful woman he has ever seen and I liked the fact he said it was the same in her youth. So I was quite surprised to see he has a wife, but it does make much sense for that time period. So kudos on that!

To be honest with you I found the style of writing a bit annoying, with you cutting things out and such. Iím sure others would love it but it isnít something I personally enjoy much. So you shouldnít behave it on my behalf or anything haha.

Well done! A tip for you though would be to get a banner.

Cleopatra

Author's Response: Hi Cleopatra! Thank you so much for the swap!

I'm a huge Founders fan, and it's the genre that comes most naturally for me when I write. So I've been playing with this pairing a lot. I might have to look at your Helena/Salazar sometime; that seems like it would be really interesting.

I didn't find it realistic for Helga to be beautiful, honestly. I mean, Rowena was described as the beautiful one, and it's like you said; all women can't be attractive. I figured that their love would be based on much more than looks. And I included their spouses to show that a happy ending is not possible for Helga and Salazar as a couple.

I mean, I figured the style might not be everyone's thing. I wanted their thoughts to complete each other, so I wrote part of a sentence from one point of view and finished it from another. It's just the way it flowed while I was writing. I really appreciate an honest opinion, because I wasn't sure how it would go over.

Thanks again for coming! I appreciate your time, and I'm so glad I got to read your story as well :)

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #18, by CleopatraaA Brief Description on Life as a Ghoul: My Long Awaited Opportunity

31st January 2013:
So you decided to write a story about a ghoul? Well if that isnít unique I wouldnít know what is so I knew I had to definitely check it out to see how you would make it work.

You know us ghoulís are often over looked; those imbecile humans always thinking we have inferior intelligence to them, always underestimate their reliance on us.

I thought you started epic. I really loved your first sentence. I mean it is truly a human thing to think we are more intelligent than other creatures and it is something we are able to see in the Harry Potter magical world. Look how Umbridge for example treats Hagrid or the treatement of goblins. So kudos for that awesome sentence.

I thought this was quite funny but I did find the part ď I was on course to win Best Actor at the Academy AwardsĒ unrealistic because correct me if Iím wrong but that is a muggle thing and Iím sure a ghoul would not know a thing about that. So perhaps I should change the name around a bit. Something a bit more magical. But it seemed like a funny thing to me. A ghoul who wanted to became an actor. But you never know. I never gave them much thought so I loved the fact you wrote about something so minor and next to that it fitted the idea perfectly. After all, otherwise it would be quite difficult when the death eaters and such would come to see what exactly going on with Ron Weasley.

A really unique idea. Well done! Though I would recommend a banner

Author's Response: Ha yeah, a lot of people have been saying it's an unique idea, which seems strange, as someone else must have written about before, oh well I'm glad that you found it unique, as I do get bored of repititive stories!

I'm glad that you loved the first sentence, as I find that's the key thing about a story! Umbridge is a great example, on how badly treated magical creatures are, as Hagrid and goblins and all other magical creatures really are awesome!

Yeah it is a muggle thing, but I put it in as I figured that there was really no acting equivilant in the wizard world, and he really wanted to crack the muggle world, so I thought it sounded ok, but your suggestion is good, and I may change it:)

Yeah I always did think the ghoul must have been a pretty good actor to convince the death eaters, so I guess having his life long dream of becoming one, made the death eaters believe it was Ron!

Thanks for the lovely review, I have actually requested a banner in the dark arts, except no ones agreed to do it yet :( So one should hopefully be on its way soon!


 Report Review

Review #19, by CleopatraaPuddlemere United: Chapter 1.

31st January 2013:
Hi Siriusly89! This is Cleopatraa here with her review swap :D

Well first thing first I would recommend getting a banner at TDA as a lot of people donít tend to read stories without a banner. Next to that your there isnít a gap between your first and second alinea.

I could see Oliver Wood definitely do this later on in life. The job fits him perfectly and this is the first where I read a story where the main character has this job.

I like the fact you have chosen to write about a character like Oliver Wood, who is a minor character, though a popular minor character, still a minor character.

The story seems pretty sweet to me! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D

I have posted a request for a banner, but I kind of mucked it up, so I don't think anyone will fill it for me. . . . .ah well! I can always try again at a later stage! :D

I'm glad you like the concept of the story, I was worried people wouldn't take to it :D

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #20, by CleopatraaMissing: Me

31st January 2013:
This story sounds really interesting. It was quite different and a very enjoyable read. I am now wondering what just happened to your character and who she exactly is. Interesting idea that you let someone replace someone else, instead of just getting a new girl. I really liked Charlieís character. Your characterization of her was wonderful.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm super glad you think it sounds interesting and different, and that you liked Charlie's character!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #21, by CleopatraaCircumstance: Circumstance

30th January 2013:
Iíll admit Iím not a huge Lily/Snape fan, but I have no problems with them if they are written well. So why would I decide to read this you may wonder? Well I liked your summary and afterwards I took a glance at your characters and decided to check it out despite the pairing. I really thought this was excellent. Like you I never was a big fan of Lily. Perhaps like you said because she was the perfect mother/wife/girlfriend. Writers always made her seem to perfect ( or always screaming at James Potter before she falls in love with him). While I admit Iím not a huge fan of Snape either. I do respect him in a way. Well who canít respect him if we are going to be honest. You wrote this really well and the emotion in this piece was just perfect. I also liked the way you portrayed her. The fact she would want to take revenge. The fact she wanted power. Their friendship would make more sense. I mean they were friends for so long. Neext to magic there must be other things that bonded them. As you can see I liked this, which says a lot as Iím not a fan of this ship. Well done!

Author's Response: hey there!

I always get really fuzzy inside when I manage to attract readers to something they would usually avoid :3

Thank you for giving the story a chance despite your doubts! I actually removed the Lily/Snape from the pairings now, because, well, it's not really a ship, is it? I guess the story is more about Lily and also about Snape. I tried to define them against eachother, sure, but it's just not a romance. I guess it sort of worked, so thank you for the encouragement :)

Thinking about it, I'd probably say my spin is not all that canon-realistic because, as I got from the books, Snape was attracted to Lily specifically because she was so different from him. And as tragic as that is as a story, I find it more interesting if people become friends because they actually have something in common. And also, I find Rowling's take on Lily to not be very, uh, well - feminist. Her death basically defines the character arcs of two male characters and we never do find out anything else about her except that she was nice and that she really, really loved Harry.

Thanks for the swap and for such a wonderful review! Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #22, by CleopatraaCasualties of War: Casualties of War

30th January 2013:
I find the idea you have here unique. I mean I have seen stories where authors speak directly to the readers but this is really unique. To me atleast. I havenít seen anything like it yet. I like the fact you gave every one of them their own piece and their pieces were fitting. But for some reason I wasnít fond of Lilyís piece. I mean you didnít make her perfect or anything, but I liked her piece the least. No idea why. Perhaps it wasnít really my thing. Anyway I wanted to say I liked the fact you gave them all faults and virtues, as a lot of people have to tendency to portray the death ( even in literature) different. I noticed a steady line in this story. Each story became better and better in my opinion. Peter had my favourite piece followed by Sirius , which was quite strange because I have no fondness for him. I liked the fact that you mentioned that he was a marauder and the parts about the true Peter.

So anyway I liked this one-shot. I would not wish to read a novel in this style of writing though. But for this one-shot and topic it was really fitting. You truly did make it work and I want to applaud you for that because it must be extremely difficult to do so. I would never be able to get such a result ( if a result at al haha).

Author's Response: Hi m'dear! I'm so happy this felt unique to you. I just... I have these moments when I think about it and i get so sad. And I know it's silly because they aren't real and they never were but it doesn't feel like that. I guess I just wanted to tell everyone else what I was feeling, and make them feel as sad as I did, hahah.

Maybe Lily's was too much on the descriptive side? Hers has the most imagery, and sometimes that can get sort of annoying. If you ever figure out just what you didn't like about it, I'd love to know so I can figure out if it's something I don't like either!

Peters piece felt the best to write. He doesn't get his chance often and he's ignored too much. But he *was* one of them, and him and myself have made our own bit of peace with what he did. I'm so happy you liked his section ♥

I don't think I would ever want to read a novel in this style either. It would be exhausting, wouldn't it?

Thank you so much for this wonderful review ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by CleopatraaThe Anatomy of Genius: The Anatomy of Genius

1st January 2013:
Iím not really a Lily/James shipper, donít care much about the pairing to be honest, but Iíve read your writing in the past and I know for a fact that you are an amazing writer so I thought why not. If someone can make me like a story with this story the obvious choice would be you, especially considering the fact your summary intrigued me and I must say you didnít disappoint.

I liked the way your character saw hatred it was such an unique take on it and in a way quite Gryffindorish. But the same went for all of Lilyís believes. It was rare to see her portrayed this way or the mention of things, like Petuniaís normality stuff, while are still canon are yet never mentioned. Atleast in the stories Iíve read featuring Lily. So bravo on that. You made Lily ( and James for that part) truly stand out among the others. It was canon yet unique. The both of them were quite fascinating.

This was a rather long one-shot but yet I didnít really notice it. You did an excellent job and to be honest with you it is too bad there was not more. Once again wonderfull!

Author's Response: It's not really a Lily/James story, rather more of a pre-Lily/James story, a way of slowly bringing the characters together. Writing this has helped me see the ship in a better light, as something plausible and natural, the very things fanon often neglects to take into account. Thank you so much for the compliments about my writing! It's lovely of you to say that! And it means a lot that my stories work for those who don't necessarily like the ships or the characters. I really enjoy being able to depict these things in a new way and making readers rethink their expectations about them. :)

*blushes* That's exactly what I wanted to do with Lily in this story! Well, it's not what I originally set out to do, but after writing that first section, I knew that the focus would be more on Lily than on the ship. It's about her psychological development and her navigation through the strange ambiguities of her life as a Muggleborn, a teenager, and - if you want to take it a step further - her role as the object of two wizards' desire. There's still so much that can be done with Lily's character, if only more authors would take a chance.

Thank you again for your lovely review! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #24, by CleopatraaCherry Blossoms: Dame Fortune

24th December 2012:
Such an interesting idea you have here. Iíve not read anything like that before and it is rather a shame. You always see how the main characters deal in this period so it is nice to see how someone, who isnít in the order or a death eater, wants to contribute in a way. Especially the way it happened. After the death of her son. Her motives are different yet I think most people would contribute after such an event like this would happen . Not everyone is as brave as the Weasleys. I like the way your characterized her. Especially when she didnít want to send her daughters to Hogwarts. My own mother would have probably wanted the same. I also thought this was rather realistic, even though they have connections to several main characters, it still seems realistic. After all Harry would not know all of the Weasleys friends. I liked the way the Weasleys supported them. Its such a Weasley action. As you can notice from my review I really liked this!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I don't see a lot of these sort of stories either. This one is part of a larger series, so these characters are ones I've written before, especially Hattie. I created her to be Molly's best friend when I was writing The Unsinkable Molly Prewett (Molly and Arthur's 6th year at Hogwarts). Hattie's not as brave as the Weasleys, yes, but she was a Gryffindor after all. Sending the kids to Hogwarts must have been very scary that year, I would've wanted to keep my kids home. They are connected to main characters but it's a bit peripheral. This is Molly's friend from school, not someone that Harry is going to interact with really. :) Anyway thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by CleopatraaThe Immortal Lords: Alliances

24th December 2012:
Well seeing Iím a huge Harry Potter fan (obviously) and a huge Percy Jackson fan it makes perfect sense I had to read this. ;p It is a scary thought Kronos and Voldemort working together. Though it would make an epic tale. So I like the idea you have here.

I like the fact he said that those wizards on brooms were Hecateís children, as that would be the most obvious thing for him to think and in my opinion it gave this story more dimension. It made it seem more real.

I also liked the comparison with Harry Potter, because when I was reading the books I thought the same. I mean they are both completely different characters but in that aspect they are the same. I like the idea of Firenze and Chiron being friends.

I really liked this far and I didnít think it was clichťd at all, which is kinda difficult with these kind of stories. You did an excellent job.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review!!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>