Reading Reviews From Member: maskedmuggle
  
1,471 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maskedmuggleThe Kingdom on the Scottish Loch: Blue and Bronze

18th July 2015:
Hey again!

I really, really, really liked this. Founders x fairy tale = amazing, in my opinion, because this was such a brilliant tale about Rowena Ravenclaw. I don't even know where to start with what I liked about this, so sorry if this review is a bit all over the place. I really loved how you got the time period so right. It definitely felt like this was years ago, with the descriptive language you used. I also loved how you really portrayed the fairy tale aspect of this so well - it really shone through with the similarity to Sleeping Beauty/Snow White and the magical words you used - kingdom, unicorn, fairies.. everything just felt so fantastical!

Despite the happy ending, there were also some moments here that were truly saddening, so it was a bit of a roller coaster of emotions - much like how life is. The way the princess/Rowena was kicked out of her home felt a bit abrupt, but it still feels mostly believable that they would reject her like that due to old time beliefs of needing a son. It was so lovely how she had a friendly hag as a companion to continue to teach her, and it was seriously so heartbreaking when she sacrificed herself in exchange for the princess' life. I also loved the introduction of the squire as he seems like just the perfect romantic hero of this story. The way the squire and the princess instantly connected and were in love together was very fairy tale like so it worked well here for the happy ending.

I just really liked the plot of this, and how well you adopted it into the magical world while combining it with the fairy tales we know. There was a bit of drama, and I loved the linkages to Ravenclaw - the blue and bronze.. the lovely diadem! I just thoroughly enjoyed reading this! It's not my usual thing, but I was definitely drawn into it from the start and found it compelling to the end. Really great job with the writing! I'm really loving all your one-shots, so I hope to check out your novels soon! ♥

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Hi Charlotte! These reviews are making my day right now! Thank you so much! Also, sorry for any typos in this reponse as I'm using my phone and I'm sort of a dinosaur.

I'm so glad you liked this so much! I'm a little insecure about this piece as its far out of my comfort zone, so I'm really happy it worked for you!

This little fairy tale has been a few months in the making. It was important to me that it made sense for the founders era, as that's a but of a pet peeve of mine. Though in this, I actively made the choice not to describe clothing or architecture as I didn't want to be anachronistic.

Anyway, thank you again for such a lovely review :) you're the best!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggleWeasley vs. Malfoy: The Final Showdown

18th July 2015:
Hey!

There is so. much. I adore about this one-shot!! I couldn't help but read this after seeing the summary and I was immediately hooked after the first paragraph. Seriously, I love ScoRose and the tension and competitiveness between these two were off the charts. I was dying to see who was going to turn out victorious, and I have to say, I was rooting for Rose so I am so glad when she did win! I was expecting a spectacular surprising ending and I'm really glad you had that part too! Rose landing in Scorpius' arms/broom was a delightful way to end their Quidditch match.

I have to say, I might be a bit slow but the level of hostility and negative vibes between the two throughout most of the fic totally masked the fact that they are in fact in a loving relationship with each other! I really thought that they were like total enemies, as you would expect with Gryffindor v Slytherin, but the ending was kind of unexpected for me, but made me feel so happy! Ok, actually I did realise this slightly before with the Uncle Ron joke - brilliant by the way - but overall, the impression was that they hated each other, so it was just so awesome realising that they actually loved each other off the field! I just loved how childish some of their insults were and how determined they both were to ensure a win for their team. They were equally desperate - Rose not caring about her keeper's health, only that she keep playing, Scorpius just trying to hit the bludger at Rose.. While I was reading this, I was literally on the edge of my seat. The action and pace of this was so well done - I have so rarely read a Quidditch match where I genuinely feel like I'm right there watching it and am actually filled with anticipation about who is going to win.

I also loved all the dialogue in this! Albus, Scorpius and Rose have some very fantastic lines, and made this even more amusing to read. I loved how cheesy the ending was! Honestly, this was one of those fics I couldn't stop reading and it was definitely so enjoyable to read. I loved pretty much every bit of it! ScoRose all the way - amazing work with this fic! ♥

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Hi Charlotte! You've really made my day with these reviews, so once again, thank you so much!!!

I am queen of fluffy ultra cheesy Scorose. They are my OTP FOREVER. Seriously, I have written an embarrassing amount of Scorose fluff, just hardly any of it is worth actually sharing here.

This story was actually my first attempt at a Quidditch scene. I really struggled with it as I'm not a huge sports fan, so I wasn't totally sure what that atmosphere would be like. It is so amazing to hear that the scenes filled you with so much anticipation. I sort of tried to switch up with Quidditch action with some silly dialogue between Damien and Albus as well to change pace sometimes.

I'm really glad to hear that you didn't suspect Rose and Scorpius' s relationship either. I was afraid that it might be a little obvious. And they do get terribly cheesy at the end.

Anywat, I feel like I have rambled on, so I shall leave you to your life now. Thank you again for two wonderful reviews!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #3, by maskedmuggleHaunted: X

18th July 2015:
Hey!

Ooh, I have never read a fic about Hagrid from his younger years, which makes me feel like I definitely need to branch out and read more diverse stuff. I think a couple of the scenes here were based on canon events, so It was great finding out more detail and information about those scenes, whilst having those supplemented with an extra insight into Hagrid's thoughts and feelings. I felt like I got a new sense of how Hagrid must have been feeling in his younger years, coping with his father's death, his schooling life, his innate passion for wacky beasts - Aragog..

One thing I did find a tiny bit unbelievable was Hagrid almost being expelled from Hogwarts for using magic in what I would call times of necessity. I feel like there must be a clause in the magical world for such cases where under age magic really must be used - some kind of defence available, but this is just my personal view! The only other thing I felt was a bit questionable was the end - where you suggest Albus knew about Aragog/the Acromantula. I feel like if Albus knew about it from the very beginning, he would have been able to do so much more later to argue for Hagrid about the beast not being linked to the Chamber of Secrets.

I did really think that every moment here was really well written. I liked the different moments between real life and all the different past memories, as I felt together it made for a cohesive piece that really portrayed an accurate glimpse into Hagrid's character and life. I really feel so sad for Hagrid here, so you did a great job conveying his sense of loss, isolation, and confusion. This was a really fantastic perspective to Hagrid, and I really enjoyed this.

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Hello Charlotte,

I'm finally getting around to replying to all my reviews.

Thanks for the kind words, I'm really glad you enjoyed this.

There IS a clause in wizard law stating that magic is allowed in life threatning situations, (Hermione points that out in OOTP) but I feel like neither the Ministry nor Professor Dippet are abiding the laws... if they were, Hagrid woulnd't be expelled since there's always the "Innocent until proven guilty" bit... it might feel a bit harsh, but I kind of liked the way no one but Dumbledore comes to Hagrid's rescue.

I feel like Dumbledore DID know that Aragog never hurt anyone. Tom Riddle himself suggests in COS that Dumbledore was very suspicious of him all along. Since Dumbledore was only Transfigurations Professor back then and not headmaster, he wouldn't have been able to do anything if Professor Dippet's mind was made up.

I'm so glad you liked this, I only wrote this for the challenge, but it became very important to me halfway through.

Thank you so much for the review

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #4, by maskedmuggleHermione Granger: Ron Needed Her.

18th July 2015:
Hey again Beth!

This was another incredible chapter. You managed to both build upon the first chapter and really convey even more in this. Again, I thought the multiple sections here worked really well. I've read a few immediate post-war reactions, and the way you portrayed Hermione here was definitely so unique and right. I never would have thought of Hermione as not feeling strong enough, but in that situation, it all makes sense. However, despite that, it is just like Hermione to keep going and try to be strong for others.

Despite how heartbreaking Fred's funeral and Ron's sadness was, it was warming to see the way Ron leaned on Hermione and how she was helping him to cope - both at the funeral and back at the Burrow. My impression of the funeral scene was that it was entirely focused on Ron, and I would have liked to see slightly more acknowledgement of the grief Hermione must be feeling from Fred's loss too. You did mention she has some relief that Ron survived, which does make some sense given how close they are, but I felt like it was missing just a line or two about how she'd lost a really good friend too. Your writing so far is fantastic, and really conveying everything so powerfully. All of Hermione's thoughts, emotions and feelings are so on point, and I feel like I can really understand and get a sense of what she is going through. This is such a profound and compelling read, and I'll definitely be back when you have an update (so please continue with this)!

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Hi Charlotte,

Gosh - *two* amazing reviews from you. Thanks so much. I've really put a lot into this Hermione fic, mostly because of all the things you said. Many of the post-war stories I've read didn't quite go deep enough into the emotions associated with the characters' recovery - grief, survivors guilt, PTSD, and putting it all back together. I really appreciate your feedback and I've updated the chapter with some of your suggestions. If you ever get a chance to check it out again, let me know what you think.

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by maskedmuggleHermione Granger: Prologue: Harry Needed Her

18th July 2015:
Hey Beth!

This was such an amazing prologue/chapter. The HP series is largely all about the golden trio, but for some reason, I don't read about them too much in fan fic novels, preferring Next-Gen or Marauders. Your fic is giving me such a good reason for me to start exploring more, because now I'm fascinated with their story here and I'm definitely hooked onto reading and finding out more about Hermione and Ron and Harry and how they are now.

I thought the way you wrote this worked super well. Sometimes breaking it into two sections can feel a bit disjointed, but it worked really well here to emphasise what had happened to Hermione. I've never read a fic yet about the impact of the curse on Hermione, and now that I'm reading it here - I can totally believe that it would have longer term effects on her, and your descriptive writing did such a great job conveying the pain and her thoughts. Your characterisation of Hermione is so great - she feels so like the JKR Hermione, and in fact, I feel like you've given me even more insight into her than before - how she kind of feels an obligation to continue being the clever one - it's not all easy and natural, and how she feels that it's her duty to help Harry and the greater world. I also liked Ron here, and how I feel it's kind of a slowly developing relationship between Ron and Hermione - it feels more realistic. I'm definitely really loving your story already, so I'm going to head straight onto the next chapter! ♥

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Hi Charlotte!

I also wasn't sure about the sections - but the story just sorta had a mind of its own. I actually wrote the very first part in response to a chapter from my novel and I kept in on my computer for months - just sitting there as a bit of backstory on Ron and Hermione. When these challenges came up, I looked at it and started writing fresh, but realized something was missing. That little scene with Ron at the one-year anniversary seemed to just *belong* in the beginning of this.

Gah - JKR Hermione?! I can't - thank you SO much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by maskedmuggleNo Strings Attached: one.

18th July 2015:
Hello!

I have to admit, there's a reason a cliche is a cliche, and I can't help but be drawn to a ScoRose story, and pregnancy often makes for an exciting and drama-filled story. I definitely think you're the type of writer that really gives everything you write a special flavour to it, so whilst I've read quite a lot of ScoRose pregnancy stories, I really like that yours already feels a bit different - the background story to it is already so intriguing and I want to find out so much more! I can't wait for Al to appear in this story so we can meet him and see what he's like in this world. I also think reading the scene of the seventh-year celebrations night would be so amusing! That disillusionment charm, haha.

So, your Scorpius. It's great that he's bi and has a link to both Al and Rose. Surprisingly, I don't think I've read about this triangle too much, even though now that I'm thinking about it, I'm sure there are a couple other fics featuring the three. Your dialogue is spot on, as usual, and the whole way you write just always makes for such an entertaining read. I'm genuinely interested in this fic and I do hope you continue on with this. I'd love to see how you'll continue to surprise me with the plot! ♥

- Charlotte

 Report Review

Review #7, by maskedmuggleA Weasley Vacation: The City of Nargles

18th July 2015:
Hey Alec,

Back again for chapter 3! I think what I'm really liking so far in the chapters is the dialogue. It's the dialogue that makes this quite interesting and fun to read. I also think Hugo's narration is really well done - he's such an awesome character and it's great learning more about him as we go along too. I found it very awesome that Hugo wanted to be an auror, unlike the other kids.

I can just imagine the Weasley kids all wanting to go out in the evening, with them all not classifying Teddy as an adult like the others, even though he technically is. Their plan, with backup plans to ensure the parents let them was something that I found very believable - kids definitely do that, I think! Teddy seems so lovely, especially in caring after Lucy and Molly, who I imagine would be a bit frustrating to deal with! Without the parents, it'll be very curious what they all get up to exploring the dark streets.. I have a feeling something might happen!

- Charlotte

Author's Response: A bunch of thanks for reading and reviewing the first 3 chapters of my story Charlotte! It means alot :)

Yeah the back up plans and wanting to go out at night is a very "teen" thing to do ghehe. Its such a nice compliment that you like my dialogue! ^^
I hope you stick around because the plot starts picking up in the next chapter and things start escalating pretty quickly.

Thanks again!

Alec


 Report Review

Review #8, by maskedmuggleTurning Page: Hand In Hand

17th July 2015:
Hey!

Okay, now I'm really rooting for Draco/Astoria because they seem like they'll be perfect together! I was surprised to see another encounter between the two so quickly, but the circumstances that brought the two together made enough sense for it to be believable. This time, I thought the beginning flashback/nightmare did work really well because it brought up the idea of it being Draco's fault, and this then later tied in really well with Astoria thinking it's her fault for her mother's and patient's death. So it was nice to see something that linked the two again. I also really liked that flashback to their childhood, especially with Draco's childish grand plans and his naive desire to marry Astoria. I feel like hopefully some parts of his plan will still come to reality in future. I definitely think Draco can do more than at his current job and I'm hoping Astoria will be able to help him on his journey!

The last few lines were quite heartbreaking. I get the feeling that Draco only now/finally realises he has some feelings for Astoria, so it's such a shame that he also believes nothing will ever happen. Hopefully your story will soon prove him wrong! Astoria seems to be a much more open-minded and kindhearted person. Hope to continue seeing Astoria/Draco develop - it's going at a really great pace so far. I'm also curious to read more about Draco's life in general, such as at work, and other events in his life. Really enjoyable read so far - great job!

- Charlotte

 Report Review

Review #9, by maskedmuggleTurning Page: Misguided Ghosts

17th July 2015:
Hey again!

This second chapter was an excellent continuation of what happened in the first, and I really liked how you built upon the Malfoy family and on the whole Draco/Astoria business. You did mention it in the first chapter, but I didn't comment on it then - I think it's very realistic how Lucius has resorted to drinking and how Narcissa has also changed as a person - but it's nice to see them able to be out and about in the ball - almost like old time's sake, although clearly their position in the magical world has heavily changed.

I knew as soon as Draco stepped out onto the balcony that Astoria would be joining him, and I really like how in their brief interaction you can kind of feel that they connect a bit and are on the same page. You did such an awesome job with the dialogue, and I felt like I understood Astoria's character a lot more. So far, I'm really enjoying this perspective on Draco post-war and it'll be fascinating to see how Astoria/Draco develops!

- Charlotte

 Report Review

Review #10, by maskedmuggleTurning Page: Numb

17th July 2015:
Hey!

Ooh wow this was such an interesting insight into Draco Malfoy post-war. I thought you did such a great job making this so realistic and really showing what the impact of the war had on him and his family. I thought you really aced Draco's characterisation - his thoughts and feelings felt very believable, especially his attempt to defy expectations, and look strong and fine to the outer world in contrast to how he really was - dependent on the potions to keep going. The ending line of this was particularly powerful and really conveyed the circumstances well.

It's a great plot so far, and you could tell just making it to the hospital really exhausted all of Draco's energy. I liked this introduction of Astoria and how she takes care of him. I thought their whole interaction was well written, and especially liked Astoria's words at the end trying to convince Draco to be careful as she can tell he is very reliant on the potions. I feel almost sure that we'll be seeing Astoria again so it'll be very interesting to see how their next interaction will be like!

I have to say I'm not a huge fan of the beginning part, as it didn't really draw me in or hook me in much, until I actually got to the "real world" part, but I suppose it did really convey how Draco was affected, even at night. I did think the italicisation was used really well towards the ending, where you contrasted his words to Astoria with his thoughts to himself. All in all, a really strong opening chapter, and I'm very keen to see where you'll be taking this next! Really fabulous writing.

- Charlotte

 Report Review

Review #11, by maskedmuggleBad Blood: (don't) forgive and forget

17th July 2015:
Hey!

This was such a sad moment for Snape/Lily, but I thought you did a really great job writing it. We've heard of this scene so many times and I thought you wrote it very realistically here. I thought you did an awesome job with Snape and Lily's characterisation, as well as the dialogue. I thought it was especially extremely accurate how Lily just had a whole heap to say and was just ranting a lot. I felt her emotions and feelings portrayed here were very Lily - as in, this was done very believably and in line with what we know of canon Lily.

I thought the references to Bad Blood here also do work well. I really like that song and I agree it does indeed fit in well with Lily/Snape. Feedback wise, the whole story here did feel very very similar to the canon version of this in the events, so I feel like there's room to provide more insight or a new light on the situation, perhaps add something new.. As in, there's a bit of space for you to make this a tiny bit more unique and creative. This is very dialogue heavy - perhaps more descriptions of their faces, gestures, emotions coming through? This is a bit vague (sorry!) but I hope you kinda get what I'm saying. Anyway, having said that, I did really enjoy this and you did a fabulous job writing this scene!

- Charlotte

 Report Review

Review #12, by maskedmuggleThe Netted Sunbeam: The Netted Sunbeam

17th July 2015:
Hey Branwen!

This was so, so brilliant, and I loved this so much! Everything about this was so fabulous and entertaining to read and I feel like I'm almost in love with Tristan Potter myself. I feel like such a terrible Ravenclaw for barely reading any of my fellow Claw stories so I thought I'd drop by and read this one-shot of yours! Hopefully I'll be back to read some of your other things soon - I enjoyed this one so much I'm sure all your other fics will be awesome as well. I will for sure be checking out The Thing With Feathers right after this. With one-shots, I'm lazy and tend to stick to those that are 2000 words or less, but I'm so glad I gave yours a go because I was hooked in from the start and really couldn't stop reading.

First off, this is such a fantastic idea for a story. We know nothing about James I's parents and I really liked the relationship between Iz and Tristan you portrayed here. I felt like you were so accurate with the time period - referring to it as courtship, with Iz worrying about what people would think (even though this still happens in modern times), Iz's mother fussing over her, the link to tea - everything just really gave off the vibe that this quite a number of years ago, and made this whole fic so much more realistic and real. Iz and Tristan are both wonderful characters, and I love both of their names - again, they fit in so well!

All the dialogue here was so well written. I'm not sure if you were directly aiming for humour, but I couldn't help laughing when Iz's mother asked When is the child due? and assumed that was the reason they were a secret. I was also grinning while reading, and very greatly amused, by Tristan's flamboyant and flowery language after in revelling in the publicness of their relationship. The whole plot just worked out so well, and all the details was really well thought out. The idea of them using potions as a cover for them meeting so often, and how they were eventually found out by Iz's mother was great.

I don't really have anything negative at all to say. I just want you to know that I thoroughly enjoyed this, and thought you did such an amazing job writing this! It was so awesome reading this romantic story in a more older period and again, Tristan and Isolde were fabulous characters. ♥ ♥ ♥

- Charlotte

 Report Review

Review #13, by maskedmuggleA Weasley Vacation: On Their Way

17th July 2015:
Hey!

Haha, this was a really great second chapter! I would never have guessed Amsterdam, but it makes sense in the circumstances. The beginning part of this made me feel so sorry for Arthur! All the reactions to his announcement were anything but positive, but I really liked the dialogue and thought you wrote it well - haha those weed references. Aww, but I'm glad at least one of the clan shares his passion, and it was great seeing Al so enthusiastic and cheering him up again. I can definitely imagine all of them would be quite a lot.. there's so many of them I don't even want to try and count them all. So I can for sure believe it would be pretty hectic everywhere and all the time. I'm surprised they haven't lost anyone yet to be quite honest, even if they have lost two diaries so far!

Ooh as I mentioned - there's so many of these characters that it's incredibly difficult to pick favourites. I've got to say I am liking Hugo's narration - his perspective is very refreshing and makes for an entertaining story. Al is also one of my favourite characters so far - everyone seemed unhappy about the destination being Amsterdam whereas Al seemed disappointed about only being in the plane for an hour - so he just seems like a very unique and fun character. I haven't really got any least favourite characters, although perhaps Lucy and Molly already seem a bit annoying. As usual, I always get the sense that Percy's children are not as fun. I'd just like to see all of the different characters in the story being featured - especially in getting through each and every one of their distinctive personalities. I will definitely be back to continue reading your story, as I'm having such a good time!

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Hey again!

Haha about losing people, you have to realize they're magical lot, so they'd be prepared for possibly losing people I think.I love how you dislike Lucy & Molly so far, I wonder what you'll think of them in the future. I love how Al is such a fan favorite, funny how you like him too!

You can't imagine how happy I am that you're reading mg story and having a good time!

Alec


 Report Review

Review #14, by maskedmuggleA Weasley Vacation: Meet the Weasley's!

17th July 2015:
Hey!

I am finally stopping by your fic, as I seem to be having a quiet night tonight, and I thought I'd have a read of this. I'm really intrigued about how you'll be writing a whole novel based on a vacation. I think you're off to an awesome start here. I really like how you've got Hugo narrating this - as you've mentioned, he seems to not be featured as much in stories from his point of view, so it's great to hear his voice here! First chapters are mostly for introducing everyone and the plot, and I thought you did a fab job of it here without making it too boring. It was great seeing all the Weasleys and Grangers and Scamanders and everyone getting together, and I felt that you conveyed the vibe of nervous excitement/freaking out really well.

I have to say I have read a few Weasley vacation stories before featuring muggle transport, but I'm interested to see how you will portray it. I'm also super curious about the destination! I'm hoping it's Oceania just because I already feel a bit on Hugo's side, and I'd like him to be right and win the bet! So I definitely think ending it on a cliffhanger of sorts was a good way to go, as it's really making me want to read on, which I shall do! :)

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm so glad you liked it! I actually have read very few stories featuring Muggle transport, I'd love for you to tell me some of the best ones!
Haha about the destination, you couldn't have been further off! I hope you still liked it though.

Alec


 Report Review

Review #15, by maskedmuggleGame On: Volume II: Quaffle Confessions - BitterSweetFlames - Ravenclaw

17th July 2015:
Hey!

Hehe I liked this! A story featuring Al + Scorpius + Rose was bound to be a good one, and I definitely enjoyed reading this. It's such a funny way to have Scorpius' love revealed to Rose. I was pleasantly surprised by Rose's reaction - I wasn't expecting her to be so cool about it. I kind of thought she'd freak out/confess her love for him, but she totally took it in her stride. So I really liked how you characterised Rose as I feel like this kind of Rose doesn't appear much in fics! A great idea for a story, and nicely written!

- Charlotte

 Report Review

Review #16, by maskedmuggleStori Ophelia: Stori Ophelia

12th July 2015:
Hey Cassie!

This was such a lovely fic to read. I have zero personal experience with giving birth, but I felt like this was a very believable portrayal of what it would be like. I thought it was really realistic how Rose had no idea what was happening at first, and how she was panicky and worried about her daughter. The plot here was really great because what was happening was clearly explained to the reader when it was explained to Rose. I also liked how you kept it very similar to giving birth in the muggle world, with some additional magical things to help the baby along.

I thought you did a great job writing Rose and Scorpius - it was especially great how their love for each other came through, and you could tell they each cared a lot about each other and about their new daughter. Stori is a very interesting and unique name, and I liked Ophelia as the middle name and Clementine as a name. Ooh, I also thought the characterisation of the parents was great, especially with the mums sticking by Rose. All in all, I thought you did a really fantastic job writing this, and it was definitely a joy to read.

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Hi Charlotte!
I'm so pleased to hear that you thought this sounded realistic! That's what I was the most worried about when I was writing.
I love writing Rose and Scorp together. I hadn't really written either of them before this year, but once I started getting into their characters a little bit, I was hooked!
I'm so glad you could see their love for each other in this. I wanted to make sure it was clear how much they love each other, but I still wanted Stori to be the focus of this.
I'm so happy you liked this! Thank you so, so much for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by maskedmuggleGame On: Volume II: Fred (A Fugue) - Roisin - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
Hey!

Wow, I really really enjoyed this. I'm really impressed by how much emotion and how much feeling you conveyed in so little words, and also tied it into the magical games theme. I thought this was such a unique portrayal of Percy dealing with Fred's loss, and it was just so tragically beautiful. The way you wrote this was exquisite, and the referrals to Percy losing when he thinks about Fred just really hit home. I thought this was a really powerful piece, and your writing felt really powerful to me. Your use of parentheses also worked really well and further emphasised Percy's feelings. This was so sad, but it was definitely one of the best chapters I've read in this collab for sure, because it was so unique and because of all the feels! ♥

- Charlotte

 Report Review

Review #18, by maskedmuggleGame On: Volume II: Magical Photo Race - StarFeather - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
Hey!

Haha this was such an awesome idea! I love Colin and seeing him outwit the photographer from the Daily Prophet was really fun. I really liked how it was kind of a competition of sorts between Colin and Lusier, and I liked how Colin was winning! I also really liked how Colin never managed to get a photo of Harry smiling, which is why he had to go to long lengths to try and do so. I can totally imagine Colin sneaking into the ball just to try and take a photo of Harry, and the way he was caught by Snape was quite amusing. I'm not sure what he would do with that photo of Snape's enormous nose, but it was an unexpected way to end the fic. I really liked the whole idea of this, and I thought you did such a great job writing it!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #19, by maskedmuggleGame On: Volume II: Clue-doh! - FredWeasleyIsMyKing - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
Hey!

Ooh, what a fun idea! I really enjoy the game Cluedo, so it was awesome seeing Arthur tinkering around with it! i can totally believe Arthur having a bunch of muggle games and adapting them for magical play. Monopoly with magic would actually be so awesome as the whole game would go a lot smoother if the money sorted itself out automatically. I really liked the chaos that arose from this - of course, you can never expect anything Arthur does to go perfectly the first time, haha! I also thought it was interesting how he decided to make the Cluedo characters come alive, with all the weapons as well. I'm glad that gun didn't actually work though! So a really fun game and I liked how you incorporated it into the magical world!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #20, by maskedmuggleGame On: Volume II: Checkmate - FredWeasleyIsMyKing - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
Hey!

Yay another James and Sirius story. The Marauders are always fun to read because of the way they interact and because they are such good friends, and I'm glad this came through in your story here. I really liked how you mentioned a few different games here - the idea of playing Quidditch on hippogriffs is actually quite interesting and I would love to read a well written fic about it one day... There was heaps of dialogue here, but I did like all the dialogue here, and all the friendly banter and teasing between James and Sirius. I'm also a fan of Sirius/Marlene so it was cool to see it make an appearance here! I definitely think it was also kind of amusing how Sirius was indeed taking love advice from James, despite him having been rejected thousands of times. I thought this was a good fic about these two!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #21, by maskedmuggleGame On: Volume II: Iron Stomach Competition - Pixileanin - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
Hey!

This was such a great idea for a story - I'm so jealous of Ron right now, because being the judge of a House Elf cooking competition sounds like a delightful experience. I was surprised to see Snape make an appearance here, I kind of feel like he ruined the happy mood of everyone. However, I did like that twist at the end where Snape was purposefully horrible to Ron and decided on the secret ingredient of spider legs - oh, how cruel! I did love the way you characterised Ron, and his thoughts were very realistic - such as with him not understanding why Lavender wanted to walk aimlessly around the Hogwarts grounds. I really loved your plot, and you did an awesome job writing this!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #22, by maskedmuggleGame On: Volume II: Fred and George and the Minute to Win It - Pixileanin - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
Hey!

Ah, the Weasley twins! Always fun reading a story about those two, and this was no exception. I agree with Fred - the quiet game is not very fun to play, but it definitely worked well in this story. I liked how they only had one lollipop between the two and how that made the whole story make more sense. I thought your descriptive language in here was great, I felt like I could feel the same atmosphere/weather they were (not sure if that makes sense) - such as if I was sitting there next to them. It was cute how the two are clearly partners in crime and it was just nice reading about what little Fred and George got up to on their birthday!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #23, by maskedmuggleGame On: Volume II: Sudoku - TreacleTart - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
Hey!

I really enjoyed this! I love the game sudoku as well, and the logic behind it is fun to me, and I'm glad Hermione here enjoyed it too. It's definitely a game that requires a little more intelligence which is one of the reasons why I loved it, so I can totally see it appealing to Hermione too. I really l liked how sudoku was the thing that Hermione came across one afternoon when she was just relaxing and really didn't have anything else much better to do. I thought you characterised her realistically, and it was nice seeing Mr Granger make a quick appearance here too. It totally makes sense that her father would also enjoy doing puzzles like the crosswords! Nice to see sudoku incorporated into the story here - good job with this!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #24, by maskedmuggleGame On: Volume II: The Floor is Lava - caomoyl - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
Hey!

Haha, this was such a fun story to read! I definitely agree the floor is lava is an awesome game, and have to say I have played it myself quite a few times! I loved how you incorporated it into the magical world by actually having artificial lava there, and making it more fun by turning the loser red. I also really loved how the professors all gave up instantly except for McGonagall and Dumbledore. Dumbledore I totally expected to enjoy something like this, and it was also a nice touch seeing McGonagall triumph over Sirius and James! This was a great game to write about and I really loved the idea of the whole school playing it. Great plot and good job writing it!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #25, by maskedmuggleGame On: Volume II: Games Children Play - Pixileanin - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
Hey!

Haha, this was a fun story to read. I very much like the idea of little Fred and George wrecking havoc around the home while Percy was supposed to keep his eye on them. I thought it worked really well in the plot how Percy got distracted in looking after them and then tried to keep them occupied after that. I couldn't help but laugh at the ending when there was another crash in the house and Percy knew that more trouble was being caused by the twins! I thought you characterised the whole Weasley family well here - despite Percy forgetting about the twins, you could still tell he definitely felt responsible for everything the twins were doing and was doing his best to make sure his mum thought he had everything under control! A nice story about the Weasley family having some messy fun!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw House Cup 2015

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>