Reading Reviews From Member: maskedmuggle
  
1,345 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maskedmuggleYellow and White: Every Carnation Has Its Thorn

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Aw, this was so heartbreakingly sad for Ron. I'm someone who's actually quite open to Dramione and so I'm not really going to comment on how realistic the portrayal of it was here, since that wasn't the focal point of the story. What I loved was how believable and canon your portrayal of Ron was - I can totally imagine him trying to find out one last time why Hermione chose Draco over him and how he just can't accept the truth and ends up throwing a vase over her. I felt so sorry for Ron though, and you did a fantastic job conveying his struggling emotions to figure out why his Hermione wasn't really his. Great job writing this, and also with conveying the emotions so well and writing the dialogue so fantastically. Enjoyed reading this :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggleOut of This World: Out of this World

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Woah this was such an unusual story, and I was definitely not expecting this pairing! I've never read such an odd pairing before - Hermione/Rabastan, but I'm glad that you portrayed it here in a way that made it seem like it might actually be possible/realistic, rather than making it completely AU. I still have to struggle a little to be fully convinced that regardless of how much Rabastan has changed, whether Hermione can truly love him given his past crimes, but I guess Hermione is a very open person and could be quite forgiving as well... Anyway, I thought you did a great job portraying such an unusual relationship and almost making it work.. as I said, I've still got a bit of doubt, but you honestly did a fantastic job with this, especially given you only used 500 words to do so!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your review. I tend to lean towards unusual or unheard of pairings now, and I love it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by maskedmuggleReassurance: Reassurance

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Aw this was such a great fic. You really captured Percy in the post-war period perfectly. I can definitely imagine him filled with regret and wondering about what might have happened if he'd done something differently - survivor's guilt I believe it's called - and I really thought your portrayal of it here was done so realistically and believably. I thought your characterisation of Percy was great, and I liked his interaction with Arthur, his father. I loved how you mentioned lots of people were wallowing in misery and not looking to the future, because i can completely see that happening, and it really emphasises the grand extent of the impact of the war on society. I especially liked how the war ended up influencing Percy to be more open with his emotions, and I also liked how Percy notes what Fred would have said in that situation, so that it was a optimistic ending. Nice story!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: I am glad that you thought that it was realistic as I wasn't sure about the piece to begin with. Thank you for taking the time to review.

 Report Review

Review #4, by maskedmuggleA Drop Among Billions: a drop among billions

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This was so heartbreaking and beautiful at the same time. It just filled me up with so many different emotions! The writing in this is absolutely gorgeous - I love your choice of words and the imagery you painted, especially at the start. You definitely conveyed Snape's emotions so very well and vividly to me. The dialogue between Snape and Lily was also superbly written - they both were characterised really well. I especially loved the ending moments, when Snape realised that his fate was sealed and that he had a promise to fulfil, despite his own tumultuous emotions about Lily. In a way, it shows that he's kind of accepted her death and realised that he needs to protect her child now. Lovely writing!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #5, by maskedmuggleSinner: Sinner

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This was such an interesting story to read, especially since you did such a thorough examination of what the word sinner means and how it applied to the narrator - Bellatrix's life. I really liked the different insight you portrayed of Bellatrix, and I thought you did a good job in presenting her perspective. I thought you characterised her well, especially in parts such as noting how her master/Voldemort was her God, and how she never disobeyed him - that's so Bellatrix. I would like to know why Bellatrix is trying to justify herself as not being a sinner though, as that's what this fic seems to suggest? Hope that makes sense. Anyway, I thought this was written well, and it was very deep, considering it was only 500 words! Great job!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by maskedmuggleBreathe: Breathe

12th July 2014:
Hey!

:( This was so heartbreaking to read. Fred's death is so difficult for us readers to deal with, let alone his own mother. You really portrayed just how much Molly had lost, and just how difficult it was to cope with all the death after the war period, let alone coping with her own son's death. You wrote this really well in conveying all the anguished and sad emotions. I thought your characterisation of Molly was done perfectly in her struggle to come to terms with everything. I also really liked how this was kind of written in a detached sort of way, with every sentence on its own. It really served to emphasise Molly's isolation and all the loss. Well written :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #7, by maskedmuggleDichotomy: Dichotomy

12th July 2014:
Hey Char!

Wow this was so wonderfully written. I loved how you captured such a wonderful moment of Snape's love for Lily. I've read a lot of stories about Snape's regret and sadness after he insults Lily and they break apart, but I really liked how your story here focused on something else -- when Snape had realised how much Lily meant to him. I found this so interesting, especially in gaining new insight into their past. What I particularly loved about this story though, was the last paragraph/ending lines. I loved that they perfectly fit with the title of this story and really emphasised the dichotomy between their characters and just how different and opposite they really were. The writing in that paragraph was just absolutely beautiful!!! As was the entire story - so amazed you managed this in 500 words. Really loved this :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that the overall story actually had something to do with the title and that the last paragraph came across as beautiful and not trite!

Char


 Report Review

Review #8, by maskedmuggleShadows in the Mirror: Shadows in the Mirror

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Woah this was such an interesting story! I really liked your plot idea of there being a mirror darker than the Erised mirror and I loved your depiction of it here with Dorcas. I really love that you chose to wrote about Dorcas since she's such a minor character and it's so great just seeing a story that features her. I thought that the way you wrote about the mirror added to the mysterious nature of it, as magical objects often are. It was such a great idea for the mirror to be one that showed terrible things - that would definitely have been like torture every moment. You wrote this really well - your descriptions of what Dorcas saw in the mirror were made very vivid to the reader. Really well written, and I really commend you for writing such a detailed story in only 500 words!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! :) I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by maskedmuggleFleeting: Sunlight

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Aw this was such a touching moving story of Hannah and Neville. Your writing is so beautiful and I especially liked how powerful those italicised lines were - they really were very 'high impact' - hopefully you kind of get what I mean by that. I was especially going aw! when I realised Neville had asked Hannah 7 minutes after she'd said yes to Ernie.. ah so close! I'm so glad that everything worked out in the end though. After the war, I'm so glad that they have each other. You presented such a lovely, nice moment of their lives - in a time where everything is so peaceful and calm and serene. I thought this was written really well, and I enjoyed reading it :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #10, by maskedmuggleThe Monster Within: I will always be a monster

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This was a really great story, I thought you portrayed the Marauders really well and realistically presented Remus' perspective of things as a werewolf. From the beginning I thought it was very realistic, in the way you described Remus' transition into the werewolf, and how Remus initially is entirely werewolf - and violent - before gradually realising who the other animals are. I liked how they were quite playful with each other at the end, but your story also made me realise just how much of a risk the other Marauders were taking at being animagi and running alongside Remus - it really would have been so easy for an accident to occur. The last line makes me a bit sad at how Remus continues to think he's a monster.. but it's such a believable thing for Remus to think. Nicely written :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello again!

Thank you so much for this lovely review! It really means a lot to me! ♥

I'm so glad you think I wrote Remus and the Marauders really well! They're definitely a few of my favourite characters and I'm so glad you thought I wrote them realistically! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by maskedmuggleThe Odd One: Plotting Revenge

12th July 2014:
Hey Kiana!

This was a really great insight into the young Voldemort aka Tom Riddle. I thought you did such a brilliant job establishing how life was like for him as a young child in that orphanage. I really liked how you included the things that we know about from canon - Dennis and Amy in the cave and Tom's nature to steal things. I wasn't quite sure about the reason you gave for Tom to be stealing things - for them to realise how it would feel to have something precious taken about you - because well, they were all orphans, and they had all lost their parents. Another nitpicky thing is how at the beginning you suggested that couples may have seemed interested in Tom before talking to Mrs Cole - surely if Mrs Cole thought negative things of Tom she should've instead made it sound more positive to get rid of Tom? Then again, I guess some people don't like "selling a false product" - that's the best way I could think of to put it :P Hopefully that makes sense? Such a nitpicky thing though, but just something I was thinking about.

Anyway, I thought this was really great. It felt like your characterisation of Tom was very realistic and believable. Especially the last one - that just so perfectly encapsulated Tom's character! Really excellent writing, and I'm so impressed you managed to do all this in 500 words only - it definitely feels like a lot more!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #12, by maskedmuggleShattered Infinity: Marked for Destruction

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This was a really terrific story. Terrific in the sense that you really nailed Snape's perspective on things. From the first line I was instantly engrossed because it related to something we know about from canon. I thought you did a really superb job conveying Snape's feelings and emotions - it all felt so realistic and believable. I liked your choice of words such as letting us know about Snape's heart hardening and especially the very final line - that was a beautiful sentence. I just thought you did such a fantastic job showing us just how much Lily meant to him and the consequences of his action of calling Lily that. I felt like perhaps you could've shown/emphasised Snape's sense of regret a lot more as well? For only 500 words though, you did a stellar job conveying Snape's sense of loss and heartbreak.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #13, by maskedmuggleHer Old Hands: Her Old Hands

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This was so great! I very very rarely read about Augustus Longbottom - I actually can't even remember if I ever have, so I loved reading about this moment in your story, especially since it's a moment we do know a tiny bit about from the HP books. I loved that you provided such a more in depth insight into Augustus and the thoughts and emotions that she had. I really thought your characterisation of her was very realistic, especially in her realisation that Neville had grown into such an amazing young person. What was especially perfect in her characterisation was this line: "And how she could have been full of pride her whole life!" I thought that was so accurate! I really loved the way you ended this as well, with her determined stance. Very awesome writing as well! :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #14, by maskedmuggleKnowing: true or not

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This is so incredibly heartbreaking :( I can't even deal with all the feels right now. Poor, poor Remus. His perspective on the world is truly unique and you portrayed Remus as such a selfless character here, and that was so, so fitting. I really loved how you wrote about Remus' love for Lily - you did it in a way that seemed so natural, and felt very realistic and believable. I loved how Remus could see Lily gradually drifting closer to James and just coping with it, despite the feelings in his own heart. The ending was just so heartbreaking - I tried to think of another adjective to use, but heartbreaking is really the only one that fits what I want to say. To imagine Remus admitting "she will never be his"... that was just so sad. Even more so given just how beautiful a person Remus is that his most perfect moment of his life is dancing with Lily, despite knowing that she is with James. You wrote this so wonderfully and conveyed Remus' perspective perfectly.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #15, by maskedmuggleUseless: Useless

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh I absolutely loved this - what a terrific idea for a story! I just loved the storyline in this and how you presented Ariana in such a different light! I never would've imagined her thinking like this - about how she believes she's so much more useful in death and just a burdening reality - it felt so believable and just made so much sense. I thought it was fantastic how you tied this in with what we know of Aberforth and Dumbledore. The one thing I was a bit unsure about - if I'm being super nitpicky - is the part where you say Albus forgives himself - because I'm not sure that he really does? Unless I've just forgotten something from the books, I feel like Albus was never able to truly forgive himself? Regardless, really thought provoking!

I really loved how you tied this in with Ariana's role as a painting to provide help - such as when Neville needed food! What a great story, and you wrote this so well as well. You conveyed such a detailed story in only 500 words! Really enjoyed this :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review, it made my day!

Shay :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by maskedmuggleFracture: who do you see?

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This was such an amazingly well written one-shot, honestly. The writing was absolutely beautiful in this - I love your writing style! I was utterly engrossed in the story from the very first line. It would be so hard to pick a favourite line, but I think this one so perfectly presents Dominique's perspective: "So who was I, expecting you to love me?" You really depicted Dominique's feelings so very well - it seemed entirely realistic and believable. I just loved the way Dominique questioned all these different aspects of herself and compared it to Victoire. Despite only using 500 words, you gave me such an incredible insight and depth into Dominique, and I really enjoyed reading this and admiring your writing.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #17, by maskedmuggleBereft: lion's pride

12th July 2014:
Hey Lily!

Wow, this was such a well written one-shot that gave me such a deep insight into Percy's perspective of the war/Fred's death. Your writing is as beautiful as ever, and I'm eternally jealous of your ability to choose such powerful and vivid words to convey your story. I loved your use of repetition as well, it really drove the point home of how Percy thought it was his fault - bringing survivor's guilt into the story really realistically and believably - and remembering his attitude to his brother in the past, even though he has difficulty confronting his true feelings. So yeah, I'm just in awe of your writing style and really wished I had some of the flair that you do. Such a lovely fic.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #18, by maskedmuggleGame Over: Chapter 6

12th July 2014:
Hey again!

Ah, I see! That was such a dramatic ending but a nice one too. I feel like this story is definitely one that you've got to really think about whilst you're reading it :P That's a good thing though - these stories are definitely a rarity but it's always such a nice challenge to have to figure out what's happening while you're reading it. I really liked how Dann and James were both able to impulsively work together to end in a situation that put them in a really good light. At times with this I felt like I really needed/wanted to know more information about things and more detail in some parts.. but given the whole idea of this short story was to have 500 word chapters, I think you did an amazing job with that. I feel like this short story could easily have been a very long chaptered fic, but to compress it down to 6 so very short chapters is such an achievement in itself and one that's a testament to your amazing writing skills. I definitely really enjoyed reading this story a lot, your storyline was such a wonderful rollercoaster!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #19, by maskedmuggleGame Over: Chapter 5

12th July 2014:
Hey again!

Ooh, it's starting to come together and make more sense. When I'm reading this story it feels like I'm starting off with a big jigsaw puzzle, and gradually with each chapter I'm able to fill in the big picture a little more! Once again, I'm so impressed by just how unexpected and unpredictable your plot is - who would've guessed that the crate would be a portkey taking them to someplace else! I see that another Matt has entered through the door and I'm so curious as to whether this is the real Matt.. I think it is.. I'm so glad he was able to shed some more light about Dann's involvement in this story. I love how with every chapter you leave me hanging on, wondering what's going to happen next. I'm so excited to see how this story is going to resolve itself in the final chapter, given that so many things seem like they need resolving and you only have 500 words to do so! I'm especially waiting to see what happens when Matt opens the crate - if he even does open the crate.. Amazing writing!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #20, by maskedmuggleGame Over: Four

12th July 2014:
Hey again!

What another exciting chapter to read! I thought you did such a fantastic job writing this chapter - the descriptions were really great, I could really visualise all of this happening in my head. I really liked how James could see that Dann wasn't doing anything to protect herself, so stepped in to help her. The boggart was pretty unexpected, so it was cool including that in! I thought it was really believable that James' boggart would be killing his own father and his father judging him. I especially enjoyed reading the ending few lines because it presented another hint of James' profession - mentioning 'the Silent Thief'. I really liked the way they were both able to figure out that it was a boggart and defeated it together. The plot that you've had throughout the chapters of your story so far is really so interesting and unpredictable, and that's what I'm really loving about your story!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by maskedmuggleGame Over: Three

12th July 2014:
Hey again!

Wow I'm almost slightly annoyed at you for leaving me continually with more and more questions :P (In a very good way of course). This was yet another utterly engaging chapter and again, I cannot wait to read on, honestly. I thought the description of what they were doing here helped me to understand a bit more about what James' mission was. I thought the idea of a Traceable Charm on objects was great - so believable I feel like it definitely should exist. I loved how unexpected this ending was, with Matt appearing! (Or perhaps even another person pretending to be Matt..?) I really don't know :P James seems to be in quite the predicament right now... excellent writing in this chapter once again though.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by maskedmuggleGame Over: Two

12th July 2014:
Hey again!

And the plot thickens! So I now know a bit more information about the situation but there's still so much I don't know! It makes me just want to keep reading instantly which is great for you because it means your story is really captivating! The main thing I want to know right now (as James does too, it appears) is who Matt is. I'm also super curious as to who "They" are - I'm guessing it's James' boss or something? "They" sound incredibly intimidating and dominant though.. Your idea of writing a short story with 500 word chapters each is actually so brilliant and unique - it's definitely a very different reading experience because you can only say so much in 500 words and hence leave the reader to ponder over things more frequently. I thought you did a great job writing this - the dialogue especially.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by maskedmuggleGame Over: One

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Wow this is so interesting! I'm so curious as to what exactly this is all about and to find out more information about James' situation! This was definitely a great opening chapter in that I'm absolutely hooked. I was already completely engaged from the opening line - so great simile/comparison there! There's no way I can't not continue reading on to find out more! Already I can tell this is a really unique story with a really interesting plot line! I really want to know exactly what profession James is in and who Matt is, and who the woman is! Gah, so many questions :P I loved how much you were able to tell us in 500 words, but also how much you didn't tell us so that we have to keep reading to find out! Anyway, I definitely thought this was really well written, and I'm definitely rushing on straight to chapter 2 to perhaps find some answers to all my questions! :D

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #24, by maskedmuggleErised Stra Ehru Oy: The Mirror of Erised

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This was such a great one-shot. I really thought it was written really well, and I loved the plot of it. From reading the summary I was instantly intrigued by what Dumbledore would really see, and of course, I had an inkling that it would be his family, and I'm glad that's what you thought as well. It actually reminds me that Dumbledore and Harry are kind of similar that way in both wanting their family to be whole again but knowing that it can't ever happen. I think you did such a wonderful job characterising Dumbledore, who I personally think is very difficult to write. You did such a wonderful job with this story! You definitely said a lot with only 500 words :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hola!

I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed the one-shot! JKR mentioned somewhere that when Albus looked in the Mirror of Erised, he saw his family intact and welcoming him home and such so I went off of that and elaborated a bit. I've always thought that the easy part of writing Albus was his dialogue but the hard part would be writing the fact that he's a really wise and intelligent man and showing that through his thoughts and such.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by maskedmuggleOut of the Darkness: Into the Sun

12th July 2014:
Hey Alishya!

This was such a heartbreaking/heartwarming (bit of both I think) story to read! I found it heartbreaking because we all know that James/Lily really don't make it through the war, which is terribly sad, but it was also heartwarming to see just how much Lily loved her son. As such, I thought you did a really good job of conveying Lily's thoughts and emotions to Harry (and hence, to the reader). I really got a strong sense of how much a parent wants to be there for all their child's biggest milestones. The message she said to Harry seemed a bit foreboding but the meaning behind it was clearly filled with love. All in all, I thought you did a lovely job with this :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Charlotte! Hey! :D

Thank you! I'm glad my purpose or meaning behind the story reached out to you and other readers! Yeah, in a way it is foreboding because we know Harry's parents will be gone, but know their love will never leave Harry is what makes the HP series all the more meaningful!

Thank you so much! Thank you for reading and leaving a sweet review! ^_^



- Asphodel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>