Reading Reviews From Member: SearchingForLuna
  
110 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SearchingForLunaLittle Red: two sisters, dark and light, red and white

14th December 2011:
This is beautiful :) The flow of the words was just... indescribable.

It was intriguing, how you wove in and out the Little Red and the candy and the blood and the nymph lore. You portrayed Dom (Dom, right?) as a lovely, naive, and provocative, which is a very original casting of her. It did keep my interest, trying to figure out the complexities of her mind.

I think I read the last sentence ten times. OH WHY MUST THIS BE SO VAGUE AND INTRIGUING.

All in all, a very well-written and beautiful piece. I always look forward to reading your writing but this was gorgeous. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :) It is Dom as Red Riding Hood, and that's exactly how I wanted her to appear. There's something that could potentially be so sinister about that combination of traits.

♥!


 Report Review

Review #2, by SearchingForLunaLeaving Privet Drive: Leaving Privet Drive

1st October 2011:
I don't usually read a ton of AU's, but I really liked this one! Harry was very well done and his characterization very true to the books. I especially liked the dialogue, it sounded a lot like J.K.'s. :) It was exciting to see inside Harry's head.

I didn't see any grammatical errors and the story as a whole flowed marvelously. You have a wonderful writing style.

FAVORITE QUOTE TIME!!

"It really would have been something to have escaped the Dursleys in a flying car.."

That made me laugh. It was such a wry little insertion of canon, and still flowed very well with the story.

10/10! :)

Author's Response: This was originally written for a challenge, but I wanted to make it as canon as possible while fitting the requirements (I had to take a given "what if" scenario and rewrite a scene from the books).

It means so much to me that you thought the dialogue sounded like J.K.'s -- that is an extremely flattering compliment, and I really thank you for it.

Everyone does seem to like that quote! :D I wanted to sort of pay tribute to the master, as it were. Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderfully sweet review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by SearchingForLunaA Very Sirius Day: A Very Sirius Day

29th September 2011:
Before I say anything else, I just want to say that I had the problem with the white background and you can fix it by copying-and-pasting as plain text. When you copy from Word, sometimes it sticks in that little background :

This was such a cute fic! I loved how humorous Sirius was. It really added lightness and an adorable dryness. Also, when Peter snuck away from the Marauders I was like OMG PREMONITION ALERT!!

Putting the story in time segments was creative. It gave almost a diary or documentary (or reality show) feel.

Altogether, a very charming and day-brightening one-shot :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by SearchingForLunaFlawless: Flawless

29th September 2011:
Oooh, very intense. I like this story!!

Your imagery is shiinnnyyy *wub* I especially like when you described Hogwarts as ďthe gilded cage that she has built for herself.Ē That imagery and the present tense give this story a dreamy, filmy quality, which really pulls the reader in.

Your characterization of Rowena was great! I always saw her as kind of another McGonagall, but I like this version better. She darkens the glory of her beauty and success, but it was also nice that the raven could set herself free. :)

Wonderful one-shot!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by SearchingForLunaPredators and Prey: Predators and Prey

29th September 2011:
Awh :)

GAH THIS IS SO ORIGINAL. As I was reading I was picturing that documentary voice and the camera slo-o-o-owly panning out on the James Potter...

I love when Joanna is all ďHello, tiger.Ē It very much went with the entire animal symbolism of the story, which Iím sure was very obvious and intentional... but I still liked it...

James-Nettie makes me squee :)

10/10 for ANIMAL MAGNETISM. *roar*

 Report Review

Review #6, by SearchingForLunaCrazy Cousins Scorpius Spy: Train Mayhem

29th September 2011:
WHAT I AM GETTING VERY APPREHENSIVE ABOUT NATALIA.

Aaanyway.

I like how Amelia doesnít worship at the feet of the Potters, but doesnít really hate them either. Itís a normal reaction, and most people would have their characters on one side or the other--itís very non-cliche for her to be somewhat neutral.

I especially liked your characterization in this chapter. I often see Albus as funny/loud/player/young-and-confused. Itís a nice break to see him with a different but very sensible characterization that reminds me a lot of Harry. Amelia having flaws (aka sucking at Quidditch) was good to see also.

FAVORITE QUOTES TIME! I have two. (Gettin a little crazy here...)

ďI was probably the thorn in the eye of our ancestors (ahem, more like the loose nail in their coffin) long before Scorpius.Ē Itís such blatant NOT-CARING-ABOUT-HAVING-PUREBLOOD-ANCESTRY on Ameliaís part.
ďIf it was true love indeed, I declare it unhealthy, illogical and frankly a bit moronic.Ē Nothing I can really say about this except itís splendid.

Lovelovelove! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by SearchingForLunaCrazy Cousins Scorpius Spy: Amelia and Scorpius

29th September 2011:
I love the start to this story! Amelia and Scorpius seem like quite the quirky pair of cousins, which is cool because, I mean, who doesnít like quirkiness? (Boring people, thatís who.)

At the beginning you had some good suspense there! You were all like IíLL REVEAL A STRANGE PLAN AT THE END OF THE CHAPTER and I was like *drool*.

Plus, you had nice background-y stuff about her Mum and her, which was a good way to slip in some characterization. One suggestion Iím going to make (you donít have to follow this, itís just my preference) is to, instead of saying ďScorpius wasnít what you call a quiet person,Ē reveal his loudness through his actions. Let the reader get a feel for the character instead of informing the reader about him or her.

I love how Scorpius and Amelia know each other so well :)

Great first chapter!! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by SearchingForLunaDemented: A Steaming Cup of Awkward

10th September 2011:
Eek the first hints of Elaina/Sirius! *squee*

I like how you keep Elaina very in character all the time. You never let the reader forget who she really is. Plus, how you kept her mother's looks the exact same as her own was very clever!

All the characterization is coming along fantastically, and I like to see how the characters are changing. Elaina is warming up and Sirius is... well... he's just...

*fangirl squeal*

I'm on the edge of my seat for the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Oh, well the looks thing is all genetics. I mean, She doesn't exactly look like a dementor, so of course she would have to look exactly like her mother.

Yup. Sirius is being the heart-throb he always is. And Elaina is starting to warm up to it? Maybe? Guess we'll have to wait until the net chapter :)

~TFM


 Report Review

Review #9, by SearchingForLunaIn Ink: Keeping Focused

8th August 2011:
LIZZIIEE!!! *squee* I'm loving the start to this story :)

To start, I love your writing style. It flows across the page extremely well. It was very nice that you didn't go outright and say "this-and-this happened after the war and that's why Hermione's here;" instead, you introduced it through her thoughts, which really helps pull the reader inside Hermione's head.

Your characterization of Hermione was awesome. She was still the old sweet, feisty Hermione, but you showed how she grew older after the War, was more thoughtful and pensive. It was subtle and just... supermegafoxyawesomehot. I was a little apprehensive at Hermione's reaction to Draco--I'd figured it would be a little more hostile, since he'd been insulting and laughing at her for six years--but he seemed civil, and she isn't one to start a fight, so it makes sense how you did it.

The canon-ness was SO GOOD. *squish* The detail was meticulous, like McGonagall's green robes :) Even the parts that you changed--Hogwarts decorations, the new common room--were realistic and understandable.

Now it's constructive criticism time! With this paragraph:

"She looked up, seeing some of her old classmates making their way across the hall; Ernie MacMillian, a blonde Hufflepuff, the Patil twins; Parvati and Padma, Susan Bones and Hannah Abbott; two close friends from Hufflepuff, Justin Finch-Fletchly, Dean Thomas; a Gryffindor she knew well and who defended Hogwarts last June, and Blaise Zabini and Draco Malfoy; the latter limping."

The semicolon placement is a little off. You don't want to separate the character and their description by a semicolon, you want to keep them together by semicolons. For example: "Ernie Macmillian, a blonde Hufflepuff; the Patil twins, Parvati and Padma; Susan Bones and Hannah Abbott, two..." and so on and so forth. But that's just me being really picky.

I really love this, it's such a good story and I can't wait until you update next! 10/10 + favoriting.

 Report Review

Review #10, by SearchingForLunaAzkaban: My Darkness.

12th June 2011:
Woooaaahh.

That was so chilling. You explored the depths of an Azkaban survivor hauntingly well, and not just the effects on him--but on his family. This is a very original idea, and to pull it off it would have to be realistic (check) and quite well-written (check!)

Your dialogue was very smooth and the whole thing just flowed so well and was so descriptive. I felt like I could reach out and touch Euan and Azkaban and everything.

I'm really impressed with this :) 10/10 and a great start to a story!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much SearchingForLuna (you probably won't find her in Azkaban. Sorry, that's a terrible joke. I really am sorry).

Ahh! There's a lot of lovely compliments in this so in response I'll just sit and smile for a little while I guess. THANK YOU! :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #11, by SearchingForLunaBorn Into: Born Into

22nd May 2011:
GAH THIS IS SO EMOTIONAL.

...errr. Well. I had to read this twice to really get all the hidden awesome-ness out of it, and I'm very impressed. Your characterization of Petunia just metaphorically blew me out of the water. She is very, very canon, even if this is an AU story. It's daring, and many people can't pull that off, but you did it spectacularly with a wonderful canon-ish-ness.

FAVORITE QUOTE TIME!

"She would scrub his blood clean and his body would run on soap suds, fresh and vaguely lemon-scented."
This just portrays the rather obsessively clean side of Petunia quite well, and her somewhat outlandish desire for normality, if you know what I mean...?

And also:

"He would be dragged from her! And taken, no doubt, by a stringy boy with greasy black hair and sallow skin."

This shows how Lily's leaving affected Petunia, and I just loved this line.

Great job! :)

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad it got you a little! This could be seen as AU, certainly, but it's not impossible for it to be a missing moments. One of those times the Dursleys had a brush with magic then wiped it from their minds completely rather than confronting it.

Glad you caught those quotes, I did enjoy writing them. That was me trying to get around the whole "no background info" rule. :P Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by SearchingForLunaHaunted: Haunted

13th May 2011:
GRRAAARRR I WANT A HAPPY ENDING

This is such a sad story! You really let me feel the pain Ginny felt at losing Harry. The "empty eyes" bit (and really the entire tale) was so very sad and sent chills through me.

*scrambles around for constructive criticism* Hmm... perhaps Ginny could be somewhat stronger mentally and a little less melodramatic, as she is quite a strong girl. But then again, this is in the private of her room, so I can see how it would make sense...

GAH I fail at constructive criticism.

Anyway, amazing story! :)

Author's Response: Aaaaww, thank you so so much! You don't even know how amazing that made me feel! That just made my day- forget that, that just made my weekend! I can't believe I gave you chills. To me, when I get chills, I know it's a good story, so that was about the biggest compliment I could get! Thank you thank you thank you for the wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by SearchingForLunaThe Chosen Boy: Desperation & Violation

12th May 2011:
This is quite an interesting start to the story!

I love your characterization of Sirius. He's got a bit of that wild, untamed side that often defines him; but what I really like is that you saw that methodical side of him that helped him carry out his plan to get into Hogwarts. Neville is also very nicely and humorously done :) His bravery with Sirius really foreshadows his bravery in the last books.

Aside from a few grammatical errors that are easily overlooked (I'm just picky), your story flows wonderfully and has great description!

Great job!!! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I am so glad that people are commenting on my characterizations. I spent waaay too much time obsessing over them and am glad to see the fruits of that.

Thanks for reading and I am glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #14, by SearchingForLunaThe Trials of being James Potter's Girlfriend: Jealous? ......Thought so

3rd May 2011:
Oh gosh, this is a funny start to a story :)

Drew seems really nicely characterized in this beginning. I like the fact that you made her a Hufflepuff. It's a nice change from the Gryffie-Gryffie stories that I see often (and, okay, maybe write too...) ;)

Mimi seems like quite the mean bean. I'd be careful with her--her characterization as rude is great for the first couple chapters and makes for lots of entertainment, but a redeeming quality would be a nice thing :) Just so, y'know, we can see why James dated her.

I really like this story so far! I think I'll go stalk the next chapters now. :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review =), yes I thought I would try and make the story a little bit different =). I will definitely watch out for Mimi though.Glad you enjoyed it and cheers for the review hun!

 Report Review

Review #15, by SearchingForLunaWho needs a story plot when your OC is this FOXY!!: Ummm...... Meh!

26th April 2011:
OH MY GOSH I THINK I JUST EXPLODED FROM THIS AWESOMENESS.

I'm going to cry.

This is the best love-hate relationship I've ever happened to violently stumble across. I am absolutely frothing at the mouth for more.

Your OC was perfectly characterized and perfectly described and just... perfect. And James, well, he was just...

*flails*

I can't even describe this amazingness :)

Author's Response: It is pretty awesome, isn't it =p? Thanks very much for the review and I am soo glad that you enjoyed =)!!

 Report Review

Review #16, by SearchingForLunaHeritage: An Unforgettable Birthday

21st April 2011:
GAH THIS IS SUCH A GOOD IDEA.

This is really mysterious and a very nice twist on the regular I-just-found-out-I'm-a-witch tale :)

I bow down to your awesome ideas.

Keep writing!!! :)

Author's Response: Thank youuu!! I hope it's a twist I didn't want it to be normal you see because Phoebe just...isn't. I'm glad you like my story and I will keep writing!

-LpF123 x


 Report Review

Review #17, by SearchingForLunaMurder she Screamed: Murder she screamed

21st April 2011:
Oh gosh... That was so sad :'(

I came so close to crying there. You really portrayed the fear and anger so well, especially with Bellatrix and the Death Eaters. I like how Alice was fearless--it made me root for her even more. But a story like this doesn't have a happy ending...

The contrast at the end, with Augusta being cheerful for a second and then seeing the horror, really drove it home.

I don't really think there's a lot of constructive criticism for this... *searches around* Umm... a couple of very very teeny grammar mistakes, if you really look... ;)

This was really haunting. I can't stop thinking about it now.

Wonderful story! Going to go stalk the rest of your author page now.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!!
It really made my day.
I really wanted to make the reader really feel what Alice was going through, to have them read this and become emotional. I'm glad its worked. It was really hard to write, I've only ever written happy stories. I'm glad that you think I've written it well, it means a lot.

:)


 Report Review

Review #18, by SearchingForLunaNever Look Back: Prologue

19th April 2011:
Awwwh! That was so sad.

I like how you made Rose utterly imperfect. She's vain, she wasn't always beautiful, she has a temper... it just made her so much more well-rounded.

Her memories are sweet too, very fleshed out. I can almost remember them with her.

Be careful about the tenses, I think you switched from present to past tense while telling about current-day Rose after describing her memories :P

I really like your characterization of Scorpius! Many people portray him as a sensitive good guy; I'm glad you didn't, just because of the new perspective it gives me.

Overall, very good story so far! It left me thinking, which is all I can ask :)

Author's Response: Thank you ever so much for the review!! Eek yes, I will certainly watch out of those tenses. I will make sure to re-send it to my beta =). Ha Ha yes, I thought that I would show Scorpius a little bit differently. I am glad that it left you wondering, thanks again =)!!

 Report Review

Review #19, by SearchingForLunaThe Human Factor : The One With Rose Lollipop Weasley

10th March 2011:
Very turning-point-y chapter! Your characterization of Pippa is great. She has a wonderfully vivid personality :)

Rose made me laugh. I love how you didn't make her the smart-good-redhead Rose that you see so much. Your twist makes the story quite interesting and unique!

The only thing I could say was that Scorpius seemed to get extremely angry at Rose's rather weak insult, which surprised me because he was such a mellow person.

Otherwise, everything's good! Update quickly please :)

Author's Response: Hiya! I hope you're having a good day :)

Yes. And the next one is vital to the plot so we're slightly moving things along. Thank you so much, I'm so glad you like Pippa.

Thanks! I was bored of that characterization of her so I decided to twist it up a little. Thank you so much, I'm so glad you think that.

Yeah, I can see why you think that but Scorpius is dramatic. He just doesn't like Pippa being picked off. Plus, Rose is pretty much their enemy so it's like anything she does makes him angry. It could be little or huge, it would still annoy them. They both hate her. Scorpius has a history with her & you'll see why he hates her so much and why she gets to him so easily.

Thanks! And I will :) Look for chapter four soon. Thanks so much for the review.


 Report Review

Review #20, by SearchingForLunaA Weirder Shade of Midnight: On The Hoof

20th February 2011:
YEAH THATíS RIGHT ROSE BE SMOOTH.

(I'm baaack! But I'll probably be reviewing at a slower pace, just to take a breather.)

Your descriptions were funny and sharp and I really enjoyed reading them. I also LOVED the quote:

ďHonestly, I didnít even know one was supposed to clean under the refrigerator.Ē

It made me laugh, especially with the later scenes where the men ask if sheís supposed to be at home cleaning and she replies, ďI have a boyfriend for that.Ē I was like HIGH FIVE MOMOTWINS.

I'm trying to find some criticism to vary from all of my rave reviews. Hmmm. THIS IS TOO CANON. *angry face*

Onto the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Yay you're back! I hope you like this story too :D

Hahaha, the fridge line is a bit of a personal anecdote - when I went to college, I lived in a studio apartment dorm room with my sister and we had monthly cleaning inspections. We failed the first one because they checked UNDER the knobs of the stove. We had no idea they even came off.

*high five* Heck yeah haha. Rose is not the domestic one. A reviewer once called them a non-traditional family. So true!

I'm so glad you liked the opening chapter! *jumps up and down* Thank you for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by SearchingForLunaJust Another Midnight Run: Chuck Finley?

15th February 2011:
This was ... let me grab my thesaurus.

It was enjoyable, delightful, lovely, pleasant, congenial; exciting, thrilling; excellent, marvelous, wonderful, fine, splendid, very good; terrific, fantastic, fabulous, splendiferous, fab, super, grand, cool, hunky-dory, killer, swell.

(Thanks to the thesaurus on my computer.)

Iím adding it to my favorites and reading the sequel right away. I love this and everything about it :)

10 BILLION TRILLION GAZILLION / 10.

Author's Response: Aw...!!! Thank you! I really loved reading all your reviews, you have no idea how happy it made me to see you getting into the story as you read. Best feeling ever for a writer, I think. Good thesaurus-ing, too ;) Thank you again, and I hope you read the sequel - let me know if you like it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by SearchingForLunaJust Another Midnight Run: Mutual Debriefing

15th February 2011:
Aww. Well, Iím glad all the loose ends are tied up. Not glad that the story will be over soon, though. I think Iíll have to go and read the sequel...

I donít really have any words to describe this except for splendiferous.

10/10

Author's Response: Good word! lol. Thank you very much. Yep, I think I got everything tied up (I went through reviews making sure I didn't miss anything that a reader had pointed out while I was writing the last few chapters of this story). Yay I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #23, by SearchingForLunaJust Another Midnight Run: Hindsight

15th February 2011:
Aw...

I think I stopped breathing about ten times in this chapter. It was wonderful, suspenseful, descriptive, action-filled... I could go on forever and ever and ever.

Poor Rose and Johnny. Johnny especially, he was so BRAVE. I started smiling when he attacked Pulford and Worthing. Johnny to perfection.

10/10

Author's Response: Johnny really shone here. I think he really showed his Weasley-ness. And slight disconnect from reality, too, in his own little three-year-old way. He's a manticore!

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by SearchingForLunaJust Another Midnight Run: Rose's Bad Guys

15th February 2011:
Ohhh, my gosh.

Iíve been taking notes as I read each chapter so I could write a good review (because if I give a review as a gift I might as well have something besides me rambling in there) but I just couldnít for this. I ... itís just really, really good...

I canít even breathe. I think Iím just going to tell you that youíre amazing and then go on to the next chapter. Because I am freaked out, for real. This is getting really serious.

10/10

Author's Response: It might sound weird or sociopathic, but I'm glad the chapter freaked you out. It was definitely intended to be the scary part of the story, and since I've never really written a story like this one before, I'm very glad that it worked out. And I love reviews, even rambling ones ;)

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #25, by SearchingForLunaJust Another Midnight Run: Very Bad Things

15th February 2011:
THE PLOT THICKENS.

Iím on the edge of my seat. Why doesnít Ron want to talk about the fire? How did Worthing and Pulford find Rose?

I CANíT LEAVE A LONG REVIEW. I MUST GO ON TO THE NEXT CHAPTER. Gah Iím gonna go insane.

10/10

Author's Response: lol! It's all answered later. Keep reading! This is my big cliffhanger moment! ;)

Thanks for reviewing *hugs*


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>