Reading Reviews From Member: Miss MarlaG
  
98 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Miss MarlaGReal Ladies.: Of Gwenog Jones and Brains.

7th May 2014:
I need to re-read this story again (as I was just giving Ladylike a re-read because its one of my favourite stories ever) but I just needed to come here and bloody shriek because oh my god you're back? It barely even feels like two years - I left for the same amount of time too, and just very recently came back to update a very old story as well. But I am so excited that this story is being continued and I'm going to be able to see how this part of Dom's life continues to develop - cdbsjcbdsjvbdhjvfhjds so ridiculously excited you're back! ah. still freaking.

I'll be back with a proper review of greatness once I can be coherent again and speed through this story.

Author's Response: I am so glad you are back to read my stories just when I've come back to write them! I've missed my fan fiction and I've missed writing, and I found a little bit of free time. Maybe it'll be just enough to finish this story up!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Miss MarlaGI Loved You First: I Loved You First

5th May 2014:
I think this was a really, fantastically cute one-shot - really deserved winning the Ladies Loving Ladies challenge! I really like how you decided to write it from James' perspective too, in which he doesn't really know but is still somewhat of a part of the lives of all these ladies loving each other all around him, one of them being his wife. It was wonderful how you delved into the psyche, the ways the different girls handed their feelings and viewed their relationships. Even the quotes that separated the parts of it, it was a really nice read.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Miss MarlaGSevenfold: all romantics meet the same fate

5th May 2014:
Wo here for our review swap!

I have to tell you, I've been meaning to keep my eye on this story since you mentioned you finished Camp Nano and wrote the entirety of it - and I've forgotten, for shame, and just now with the swap figured it was a wonderful time to take a crack at it. And I'm so glad I did! I've always enjoyed a good detective story, and I like the dark edges this story has - as well as Louis being the protagonist, for he's a character not really explored by the next gen writing folks. (Hi-five for Louis'es tho!) I've always been particularly interested in Nurmengard, and I'm glad to see we visit it with this story. I am also looking forward to learning more about the girl, who was the original killer and apparently did good - to see how the story unfolds and ties in. If there's something I'm a sucker for its moral ambiguity, and I can already tell this story is going to be absolutely brimming with it.

I also really like your style of writing, in which pulls you into the story in a factual way, describing situations and people with certainty without delving into flowery metaphors that can sometimes clutter many stories and take away from the plot. I already have a liking for all the characters set here, (Emily is def my fave, and I love Victoire's fight against the patriarchy) and I think that for a first chapter, its gripping and catching and manages to set up the story with a good pace.

Just going to casually add it to my favourites and continue reading because I do really want to know more about how this goes.

wonderful swapping with you!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Yay, I'm glad you were interested and liked the first chapter! This story really was my baby for a month so it's lovely to get such nice feedback. I'm pleased you like Louis so far (yay for Louis-es!) and the focus on Nurmengard. Moral ambiguity is very prominent in the story, it gets quite confusing for me sometimes as I'm not sure how I feel about the characters.

Thank you! :) I'm really glad you like the writing. This story is quite descriptive but in a more dry, factual way, and I really try to put it in the way Louis or Ada would perceive their environments. I love how you love Emily, yay! And feminist Victoire is so fun to write, hehe.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :D I really appreciate all your awesome comments!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Miss MarlaGAngular Cuts: Angular Cuts

22nd April 2014:
This was a really lovely one-shot that actually made me feel sympathetic for Pansy - made me think about why she was the way she was, and just how much everything ended up affecting her too. I think you managed to portray her quite accurately in your choices, and tip my metaphorical hat off to you for such a powerful read.

Author's Response: I'm glad that this story made your think as that's what I really want to do here and perhaps maybe make her more likeable and sympathetic as she suffered an awful lot by the war too. Thank you for this review, it was a wonderful surprise!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Miss MarlaGetc. etc. (and life goes on): Intermission, Enter Firewhiskey

21st April 2014:
This entire chapter is, on the whole, brilliant. I could give you paragraphs and paragraphs of how much I loved it (PICKETT!!) But instead, I just want to focus a bit on the most powerful quotes for me. I've never before seen a sex scene written so tasteful, and my metaphorical hat is tipped off to you that you managed to pull it off so effortlessly and delicately. You could get the sense of the urge the characters got all throughout, weaved into the poetry of the moment in the quiet night and the lake, and the way Clemence actually feels about the whole thing in which she just betrays her judgement, not because of uncensored lust, but simply because it was the catharsis that her and Albus' relationship needed at the moment. It was all building up to it, and it was absolutely perfect, and you've actually inspired me to try to find ways to describe the deed without it being considered too much for many readers, but mainly, why its important at all given the characters and context. I think you really achieved this here.

"When he returns for my lips, his mouth is familiar. I know how to fit its mold and I taste a craving too intense to be liquor. Without so many words and plans, Potter is simple and carnal and stupid. He wants me - that's how stupid he is."

I can't even begin with the brilliance of that line. Its Clemence and Albus, stripped stark and true - like they never are, like they truly are, like it fascinates us for them to be.

"Hoarse and senseless, he murmurs into my jaw, "I want you, Clemence. I just want you," and I didn't think words could be addictive, but he needs to make a habit of those.

This is Clemence, in her own self-involved, clinical nature, giving in to the fact of what they're going to do, simply because its what has to happen. I don't even manage to understand fully how you got to evoke this - its sort of like in movies, when huge explosions happen but it's quite or simply the lightest of music as the scene's background. That tasteful, that kind.

In awe, always, of this excellent story and your excellent way of telling it.

Author's Response: You never know how a sex scene is gonna go until you write it xD I remember that initially, it wasn't even there, but I got the idea and thought it would be a great catalyst. If I were really having fun with it, I'm totally okay with smut smut smut; but I understand that a lot of my readers are younger. Sex doesn't get written much, let alone written well, in the teen genre, so I wanted to try showing the messiness, impulsiveness, the wanting, without necessarily overly romanticizing it (and boy do I unromanticize it next chapter).

I think that's how a lot of first times go: you think you're being stupid but you like it and you're not going to stop, and you're curious at how far you're willing to go, like running up to a cliff edge, because it's been too long since the last time you've done something you've never done before. The entire time, you know it's going to happen because you're too damn curious, you're falling off that cliff, and you'd die if you stopped.

And luckily it turned out tasteful! :D Poetic, apparently. Not bad for a first sex scene.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Miss MarlaGetc. etc. (and life goes on): V-Day D-Day

20th April 2014:
i hate you
because you make me love this story a little too much
vbjksdvsdkjJKVFNVKJDFVBFKDJBN just the bloody ending, woman - I cannot tell you how powerful that last line is. "He laughs, arms sliding behind my back, and in the drumming of the strengthening storm, he kisses me." It literally brings me goosebumps. I was screaming last chapter, and then once this one started I realised - omg LOVEPOTION. And i'M SO GLAD I WAS RIGHT. AND THAT CLEMENCE WAS RIGHT. EVEN if Al is an idiot for drinking it on purpose. but what can he do? he's in love. with clemence fitzgerald, of all people.

the end chapter was just too cute ah
(more Pickett. Yes, I like this.)
ALSO SCORPIUS/PICKET ACTION. Totally shipping it now.

I was jealous Clemence got to tackle Appy multiple times. I wanted to do that myself.

Bleeding perfect, as always. And just because I'm greedy (it's a flaw), I hereby say: I NEED MORE!

Author's Response: The dichotomy between how Clemence and Albus perceive themselves and how they really are is a funny thing; I don't think Clemence ever clues in to how emotionally charged her actions are, how she makes grand risks after passing up many little ones.

And personally, I find it quite funny how quickly everyone forgives Albus!

Thank you! c:


 Report Review

Review #7, by Miss MarlaGetc. etc. (and life goes on): Green for Queen

19th April 2014:
I'd say this chapter was absolutely perfect if it wasn't for absence of Pickett. The other chapter is already up and i'm gonna read it now, but i gotta tell you - I need some Pickett in my life.

Author's Response: He gets a much bigger role as we head toward the end of the story - a bit of a dark horse character. He's a fav of mine too! Opinion may or may not be influenced by Sam Claflin's face.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Miss MarlaGetc. etc. (and life goes on): Bare-Knuckled Heartbreaking

19th April 2014:
I am so entirely head over heels in love with this story and this OC and honestly, I have never read something so good before in my life that wasn't written by JK Rowling before (only because The Casual Vacancy is my favourite book ever.) Its not only fic-good, it's /book/-good. You blow me away. I know I need to read more but e continue continue!

Author's Response: Thank you so much ^__^ That's the biggest compliment!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Miss MarlaGDudley Departing: A cup of tea

16th April 2014:
This was a really lovely oneshot. I really enjoyed it. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by Miss MarlaGOne Voice: One Voice

6th April 2014:
This was a really gripping, beautiful story.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Miss MarlaGBreaking the Quidditch Code: Back into Ravenclaws

17th January 2012:
.OMG. THAT ENDING. THAT ENDING. HOLY CRAP.

Author's Response: YES.

Now THAT was the reaction I was going for :)

Thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Miss MarlaGGuardian: I

7th May 2011:
So love, this was FAN-TASTIC.

I have always admired your gorgeous way of describing things so effortlessly, without missing a single beat. I love how you describe her angst, her feelings, her fears, and how its written in present tense it makes it more marvelous. I'm in AWE, annie. seriously. And I loved this. TOO MUCH *heart*

you are fantastic, and you know that.

Author's Response: YAY, thank you so much! I really love your reviews and I'm glad you though the present tense worked out well. :) Thanks for the awesome review,
Annie


 Report Review

Review #13, by Miss MarlaGBreaking the Quidditch Code: Auction

30th April 2011:
Review #3!

1. BINK IS HOT. I LOVE BINK. HE'S MINE. WE ARE GETTING MARRIED, BTW.

2. the auction was a great idea :) i just love how creative you are!

3. the lollipop i didn't quite get, unless you meant that she's so. NIA that she seemed to be working a lollipop. or something. still, it was quite funny :D

4. EMMERSON WON AVERY. NO. NO WAY. HE CAN'T. SHE'S JAMES.. astronomy tower. *whistling*

5. a first year won paloma. wow. btw, Paloma Dove? awesome. that was just GREAT :D

6. Rosie won Bink. MY BINK. Epic ;)

7. NIA WON JAMES. ;)

AND I LOVED THIS, MISTRESS. I LOVED IT WHEN I FIRST READ IT, AND I LOVED IT MORE THE SECOND TIME :D

Author's Response: I like how they're all numbered. Makes me happy. Well, this is response #3.

1. I will let him know. By the end of the story, he might have a problem with that though ;) But no spoilers.

2. I'm so glad you liked the auction! I got that idea from when I was in college and they did a sports player auction to raise money. I wanted to buy a hockey player.

3. The lollipop thing was James's imagination. He imagined her sucking on a lollipop, which is super suggestive. Then when he looked back it wasn't there because he was just imagining it. It was his own twisted, hormonal fantasy haha.

4. Astronomy Tower...indeed :)

5. HAHA! I'm so glad you like her. And her name. That's how I roll. Poor Pally though.

6. Rosey is so fierce. She'll take everyone down a peg. Including Bink, haha!

7. Oh, my. This can only end in disaster!

YAY!! Seriously, that means so much to me! I love to write it and it's a huge perk that it is being so well received!

Thank you for your amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Miss MarlaGLollipop: Lollipop

26th April 2011:
this was to sweet. i really really really loved it, TOO MUCH, and everything is just, GAH! i LOVED the ending -strawberyy *heart* and like this type of relationship for them two, confusing and yet they NEED each other. I LOVED THIS SO MUCH 10/10 :D

-miss

 Report Review

Review #15, by Miss MarlaGetc. etc. (and life goes on): Manic Panic Mondays

26th April 2011:
THIS IS SO INTERESTING.

i like the whole rush of the gossip column and how they wipe it all out later and I absolutely LOVE Clemence. This is so fun and a great plot bunny! you should continue. i want to read more!

Author's Response: Hahah THANKS! It's not a terribly original concept, but I do adore the psychoanalysis and intellectualism I get to abuse ;D

 Report Review

Review #16, by Miss MarlaGMy Little Sailboat: My Little Sailboat

17th April 2011:
this.

was.

beautiful.

to the tenth degree.

I love the little sailboat thing, and everything that came between. All the beautiful intricacy of the description and the writing, and then the shock of it being severus. And the beautiful quote. to lily.

Have I ever told you i love your writing?

well, I DO. *heart*

Author's Response: *squish* Thank you so much dear! I really appreciate that and the whole review! :)
Annie


 Report Review

Review #17, by Miss MarlaGSocial Skills: Social Skills

17th April 2011:
lol! this was seriously funny. I like the voice in which you portray him and how he was going to marry Daphne :) and then him swearing. loudly. And his social skills ;)

after all, Marcus's got swag ;)

Author's Response: Lol Marcus's got swag! I laughed at that lol. Thank you for your review :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by Miss MarlaGDifferent Deviants : Breakin' It Down

17th April 2011:
first of all, i love that she talks to herself. and her spin-turned-sexy little dance. I fell on the floor and got weird laugh for that :D i love their assignment, and even though its a little weird for me to not see NG cannon children, they are all cool enough. I love WilFred ;) and Rose is nervous around Scorpius ;) Ah. Love.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!!! You get a cookie!! *hands cookie*

XD I love Rose, I absolutely do. From the moment I read the epilogue I knew this was how Rose was going to turn out. Kinda weird, a little eccentric, and so in love with Scorpius!

Yes! Success with the assignment! I was trying to figure out a clever way to introduce all the characters without just having all 15 of them in one chapter.

I wanted to do something a little different with the family tree. So I played around a bit, kept some characters, tossed others, and invented a few new ones (I LOVE Wilfred too!!). And technically, I have one less cousin on my family tree (I make up for it in OCs though XD).

Rose and Scorpius ;) More to come on that next chapter!

Thanks again for the review!!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Miss MarlaGBreaking the Quidditch Code: Woman Problems

17th April 2011:
fave quote? We didnt even have a Quidditch bathroom.

I should petition Sinatra for that. She hated sports. Shed never let me have it.

Id bet shed let the Charms club have their own sodding bathroom.

I would too, though. I felt bad for the gits, being in the Charms club and all that.

hehe, love that! so fun. i also very much Hate Emmerson for wanting Avery when he's just a meanie, abusing his Head Boy power *again, jumping off astronomy tower --whistling--*
I love Bink too. And Lily. And Meta, she's by far my fave. And Neville '''so awesome.

Review #2 ;)
so, LOVE.

Author's Response: Poor Charms club full of nerdies. Even though James could totally do well in Charms club. Maybe he could even make a few new friends. What if he walked in on Charms club? Wouldn't that be funny? Hmmm.

So glad you're liking it! Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Miss MarlaGBreaking the Quidditch Code: To the Hospital Wing (already)

17th April 2011:
So yay! Review #1 out of 32! I absolutely ADORE this. I love the way she and Avery mate :so fun: and i ADORE Nia and how fun and weirdly James-obsessed she is. She seriously has problems, and its so so so fun :D I also love Meta, and I love all of your chapter titles. so awesome. really. *heart*

Author's Response: WHOOHOOO! I'm so excited! Reviews really keep me going and keep me inspired to write. I love knowing what each person thinks of a chapter. It gives me tons of new ideas! Nia having problems is totally an understatement. She's ridic. And amazing at the same time. And I'm glad you like my chapter titles! I love coming up with them. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Miss MarlaGThe Human Factor : The One Where The Plan Is Put Into Action

13th April 2011:
so awesome! really. so so awesome. Lily being a Damien stalker is pretty genius, and the Emilie Zabini thing is intriguing indeed as I don't really get what happened. And that sneak peek?? ep! I wonder who it was!!!

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so glad you thought that, it means a lot to me. Thanks, I'm glad you like Lily being Damien's stalker. Don't worry, what happened was never actually explained, you'll find out in a future chapter what broke them. You'll just have to wait until the next chapter, which I have already started :) Thanks so much for the review, it means a lot to me. x

 Report Review

Review #22, by Miss MarlaGBreaking the Quidditch Code: Language of Gentlemen

12th April 2011:
ep! you dedicated this to me!!! :D :D :D :D :D and don't worry, im going to give you those 32 reviews im so owing you!!!

I love Harry and the fact that he's a cool dad (although the chapter image of him is weird :p). Im glad he understood and tried to help, and that James, Bink, and Freddie are friends again! Thank god, i couldn't take any more of their girlie drama (Bink)

Aves is so smart. I really like her and she should marry James *look into that*

*we can also feed Emerson to the giant squid.

*And have meta jump off a bridge

*and have Lily declared youngest minister of magic ever in history (cuz she's so awesome)


so, i thank you for updating!1

Author's Response: I'll be waiting for my 32 reviews of awesomeness ;) haha. You deserve the dedication! Thanks again for just loving the story!

You don't dig Robert Downey Jr. as Harry? I went through a lot of possibilities before I settled on him. I knew he'd be hit or miss though, haha.

Haha, Bink is such a diva. Well, all three of them are. That's why they're such good friends, haha!

I will be looking into the marrying situation.

Thanks so much for the review! I hope you like the rest of the story! I'll be looking forward to your reviews! (all 32 haha)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Miss MarlaGThe Time of Cupids: Cupid at Work and Nazi Quidditch Captains

10th April 2011:
This. is. awesome. enough said.

10/10

 Report Review

Review #24, by Miss MarlaGThe First, from Spring to Summer: May First

6th April 2011:
lol! I'M SO glad Scorp decided to do something about it! I love all their pranks, so ingenius! But poor him :( Freddo's in Mungo's! :o no way. And He KISSED her! eeep! and she rejected him :( :( :( why must you be so mean to him?? make him happy. now.

in all, 10/10!!!

Author's Response: :D Thank you! I was hoping people would like the pranks :D
Yeah I know :( Hopefully he'll be back soon though ;)
HE DID!! AND SHE DID!!! D: I felt sad writing that bit but I think it was right :)
Hehehe by the end of the story he might be happy for once ;)
THANK YOU :D XX


 Report Review

Review #25, by Miss MarlaGPretty Boy: Juice-y

1st April 2011:
i like it! i have never really read anything about Louis with Louis, and I didn't know that was how you said his name... cool!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>