Reading Reviews From Member: Yum01
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Yum01Nothing Sirius: The Baby

20th April 2012:
This is one of my favourite stories and I've followed it from the beginning (or close to) and I'm really sad that it's nearly over. I thought it was typical of Sirius and James to be in Honeydukes while the baby was being born :) I think that the story is written amazingly and the canon characters are written perfectly and your characters slot right in with them. Like I said, I will be sad when this story stops coming up on my updated favourite stories feed :)

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much! That means a lot to me :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Yum01The dreamland of angels: Act 10 Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?

23rd October 2011:
I love reading this story so much- the detail in the description and the storyline is just so amazing! With quite a lot of the marauder era stories there isn't much involvement of the war;you wouldn't really know it was happenening if you didn't read the books but with this, the Voldemort movement is involved in a large percentage of the story. I can't wait to find out what's going to happen between Sirius and Anya and what will happen next! You really know how to do cliffhangers!

Author's Response: Hi! Its so good to hear you again! Thank you for taking the time :)
Seirously, you need to give me some criticism, because if you keep saying such wonderful things, my head it going to get too big for me shoulders and Im goign to explode from happiness!!! :D :D :D
No honesly, Im happy that you liked these two chapters - they were tricky to write and i had to some heavy editing to have them be as good as they were meant to be. I know what you mean about the small involvment of the war in some maraunder stories. Ive been going out of my way just to make sure that i was gettingthat part right, because the war is going to be very important to this story, its practically goignt to shape it. It hard to imagine that the lifes of the characters werent affected what was happening around them at that time, and its important to me to get that aspect down and do it right.

I was strugling on how to get Anya and Sirius toghether, but then I wrote the 11.th chapter and everything seemed to just fit. You'll find out soon what i mean - the next chapter is alredy in que! Im finding its easy to write them now that Im somewhat over my doubts.

Thank you again for reviewing and I really hope you like the next one. Its goint to have a violent duel in it and Anya is goign to be collateral damage... :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Yum01My Possibly Crazy Neighbours: Dream

4th October 2011:
Despite you saying it was hard to write, this chapter was really good and I enjoyed reading it! I love your style of writing and I hope you do manage to keep on updating reasonably frequently but I understand if you don't- I barely get enough time to read them because of sixth form let alone finally going and writing one :) Anyway, I really loved the mini scene where James was shrieking a song and playing air guitar- I think it gave us an insight into how he is when he's around his friends with no audience and it was fun to read. I really want to know what's going to happen next and if Mellie's going to realise the dream was real !!! Oh yeah, and well done on coming up with wizard band names and songs, they were really original :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Yum01James's Sketchbook: Chapter Two - Something to Remember

7th September 2011:
This story is so beautifully written, I absolutely love the way you've used third person and managed to include an insight into three very different characters thoughts. I also love the fact that James is a arty person, everyone usually writes him as a prankster/troublemaker/joker which I'm sure were some aspects of his character, but not many decide to give him another talent, such as drawing and it makes the story quite refreshing to read as well as interesting and intriguing. I hope you update soon, but it's really good so far :)

Author's Response: I love writing in the third person for my stories since it gives you so much freedom to hop heads and get in-depth with characters. First person's great for stories that are more focused on one character, but first person wouldn't work at all for this story.
I've always thought that James has to be more than just a prankster, since otherwise, Lily wouldn't have looked twice at him. Clearly there had to be something more to him. I like that Jo gave us the freedom to imagine what that was.
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Yum01Goodbye James, Hello Derek: 1: To Change, or Not to Change

16th August 2011:
Yes! definately a promising start! I thought that you got the relationships and characteristics of the marauders down really accurately and true to canon. Also I absolutely loved the exchanges between Remus and Sirius- they were really realistic and exactly how I would imagine them, the constant banter between them is great. I think that you've got a really good start and I'm excited to see where this story goes :)

Author's Response: Thanks, the back-and-forth banter was fun to write! I aim to keep the characters true to canon, so I'm glad you let me know that I'm on the right track (and it's not all just in my mind!). I hope you continue to enjoy the story when the following chapters are posted!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Yum01Of Heart and Home: Of Swings and Freaks

12th August 2011:
Aww, the ending to this chapter was so sweet :) I think you've done really well to keep to the characters, it's really realistic. The story line is also really believable-like, this could have really happened in the books. I also think the characterisation of Petunia was done well too, I'm actually quite sad that there are only going to be two more chapters but I suppose you can't really have any more because of the plot. Well done though, I've enjoyed reading it so far

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Characterization is something I do fret about, and so I'm glad they've come across as realistic. I appreciate the feedback greatly, and I'm so pleased you've enjoyed it so far!

Best,
Christine


 Report Review

Review #7, by Yum01The dreamland of angels: Act 8 - The secondary effects of shockwaves (part 1)

26th July 2011:
I've just read the whole 9 chapters and I was amazed, I wouldn't usually have chosen this kind of story to read but the banner caught my attention then I saw the ships and they're they kind I'd usually go for so I gave it a go. I thought that all of the desciptions and thoughts are so detailed and the references to ballet are so intense. I don't think I've ever read something like this, published or fanfic, but don't take it the wrong way- it's a compliment. I really want to know what the underlying story between Anya and Sirius is! It's very captivating and it's good that you don't say all the information straight away- with some stories the author lays down all the problems of the characters and then finds a way to solve them throughout the story, whereas here you're giving snippets of information about the characters and it seems as if the characters are trying to solve their problems, but the reader doesn't know what the problems are yet. It's really great so far, keep it up and update soon- I really want to know what happens! :)

Author's Response: Wow, all at once! Thanks so much for sticking through and for taking the time to tell me about your thoughts. I love it when i get these kinds of reviews, after reading the whole thing. I have changed this story several times, edited heavily, because i was told by early reviwers that my descriptions were too intense and long. Im so immensly happy that ive gotten to a point where that is no longer a concern though, thank you for poiting that out. Same thing for the ballet bits. those were my two main concers and you have no idea what i means to know that both are enjoyable.

One of the things i wanted to do with this story was create characters that are problematic, flawed and as real as i could make them. and when it comes to people, you can rarely know what is really going on under the surface. Sometimes people dont even know themselves, so yeah, im trying to keep it really below the surface.
Lately Ive started thinking that this is becoming more and more of a liability though, because if i dont get on with it and start unfolding the core of this story, than im afraid its going to start draging. But i love the intensity of details, so even as the story progreses, everything is goign to be suttle. I love that you like that about my writing. thank you!

I cant wait to finish my next chapter now!

PS: I love the banner too, the artist is to love for teh way she worked around the less-than-perfect quality of the image i provided.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Yum01My Possibly Crazy Neighbours: Bonding

23rd June 2011:
Bonding did go well :) I love how you write the characters and you do an amazingly good present tense story- I can never make it work but you can. I really like how you portray the characters- I also love how you wrote Remus- he is almost exactly how I would imagine him! I also love how you can get humour in this story, my favorite quote has to be:
' "Padfoot?" I interrupt. Is padfoot some sort of foot fungus? '
That had me laughing for ages! It's making me giggle just thinking about it now :)
But... why the cliffhanger?! you mean person!!! I know you said the next chapter is almost finished but really?! that was a massive cliffhanger! i can't wait for the next chapter to be up ... so excited! this is one of my all time favorite stories!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Yum01Of Secrets and Lies: Of Secrets and Lies

24th May 2011:
when i was reading that sirius was throwing harry in the air i was thinking- really?! are you really going to go down the 'dropped on the head as a baby' route but it worked out really well and i enjoyed reading it.
there was good humour and no peter pettigrew (thank god) and you wrote the characters in the style that's so realistic to jk, but you dont come across it much in fanfic because its peoples opinions of the character rather than the actual style.
i also love the fact that james and lily lived- i havent come across many of those stories either and it's refreshing to do so because i love the marauder era and the characters and sometimes i wish that the books were about them rather than harry... but that's just me
thank-you for writing it, it was great! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Yeah I did go down that classic path but sometimes you just gotta. I'm glad you like how I handeled it though.

The marauders were my favorite as well. I do enjoy a good what if this or that character lived as well.

Honestly I wrote this because I don't like Harry, I'm glad I'm not alone on that.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Yum01My Possibly Crazy Neighbours: Explosions

5th November 2010:
This is actually one of my favourite stories! it's got such a great story line and is really original, keep writing great stuff! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Yum01My Possibly Crazy Neighbours: Run

17th August 2010:
just read the whole ten chapters in a row!!! practically laughing the whole time- this is seriously great stuff!!! i love it - too bad you havent updated recently :( can't wait for the next chapter, sure its going to be great - love mellies theory about the whole medieval thing!!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much! I'm really glad you find it so funny. Thanks for reviewing!
:)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Yum01A Tale of Felix Felicis: Of Blasted-Ended Skrewts, Short Skirts and Not-So-Violent Redheads

7th July 2010:
Lol!!! loved it that Sirius has been trying to tame mice under his bed! - made me laugh out loud :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Yum01Just Forget It Ever Happened: Only Human

10th June 2010:
wow.. loving the story so far - i only just realised that sophie was sophie 'knight' and her dad owned the 'Knight bus' i get it !! :)

Author's Response: Oh haha sorry about that. I'm glad you finally got it and thank you.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Yum01Still Delicate: Dirt

20th March 2010:
great ! you updated! i couldnt believe my eyes when i saw that 'still delicate' had a new chapter! and it was amazing- i hope whatever daisy's done is really bad- that could ruin the chances of scorpius even getting aiden to come around his house. daisy is so mean -she deserves whatever she gets! the story is back on track and as good as ever - thanks for making my day :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login