Reading Reviews From Member: crestwood
  
699 Reviews Found

Review #1, by crestwoodYour Heart on Your Sleeve: 1

4th July 2015:
hi Julia! I'm so interested in Luna/Draco as a pairing. I've not read much of it and it seems that it'd be difficult to pull off, but if I trust anyone to write it, it's you.

I love that there's a lane between Diagon and Knockturn. I don't believe that canon shows us all of the Wizarding world and new places are always fun. The way you write about the clientele is so perfect. You use the BEST phrases. Like, your diction could not be better. I'm a big fan of 'scummy' being used to describe tea. And the description of Draco is awesome too. You definitely make it clear that he's looking horrible.

Theodore Nott is my favorite barely-a-character character. He's so hilarious and flippant here, I love him. I love the detail about Draco being banned from apparating and THE FLOO NETWORK HAVING A RUSH HOUR.

I adore that you've had Harry just choose not to pardon Draco. That's not something that you see most people willing to do, wanting to paint Harry as sort of a forgiving beacon of virtue. But I like a slightly vengeful Harry every now and then. Although he could still come and save him at the last minute, so I won't assume anything just yet.

I've never thought of The Dark Mark being a safety hazard in Azkaban, but Theo makes such a good point. Obviously not everyone in there is a Death Eater. Somehow that obvious fact has never really occurred to me.

The 'Weasley twin. Singular.' line was just cruel. I'm not even a huge fan of the twins, but that one hurt.

The use of Salazar as an exclamation is great. I've recently adopted 'Sweet Salazar' from my friend Lisa as well. This may be a Slytherin thing.

The 'Take it easy, Draco' exchange was SO GOOD. I wasn't expecting that, but it worked on so many levels.

Can't believe how effective your description of the Dark Mark is. I'm talking a lot about description, but that's because it's just so remarkable all over the place.

I really like Martha. She clearly takes no nonsense and I am here for it.

The pin-up girls stylized as Inferi got a belly laugh out of me. The Wizarding world is so funny sometimes. That said, nothing is funnier than the image of Draco with a tattoo of Pansy in a little heart on his arm. And the Hippogriff patronus! This is such an angsty story, but also, this is hilarious.

Your introduction of Luna is perfect. You've captured her personality so spot on. Which is just about the most difficult thing in the world to do. She seems more mature, but she's still got that sort of whimsy about her still. This pairing is always going to be kind of sad, considering everything that happened during the war, even though it seems sort of funny at first.

Luna's way of speaking here is perfect. 'I rather think you wouldn't have known that.' Exactly how she'd word that.

I am so here for bi/pan Luna. I need more of this in my life.

Draco describing the pain of a tattoo as just a scratch in comparison to the war got me a little emotional.

His thoughts on Luna are so good. It's so strange seeing someone's assessment of her that has never really known her besides when she was held captive in their cellar. I find it so believable that she'd always smile at him, regardless. His 'certain scars don't show' revelation was amazing. And Harry with PTSD is one of my favorite headcanons.

Their final conversation about the repaying of certain debts is such a profound bit of back and forth. And Luna is the kind of person that I can buy would go off and have a meal with Draco Malfoy hours before his sentencing on a whim. That was so well done, how you came to that point.

Basically I loved this so much and have no idea how you saw this as a bit clunky! I'm definitely gonna make my way over to the second chapter soon. I can't believe that this has so few reviews! It's absolutely amazing. I can do nothing but wonder how you managed this so perfectly. Thank you so much for the swap!

 Report Review

Review #2, by crestwoodBreathe: i. Consequence

3rd July 2015:
Hi Kayla! Here's my long overdue end of the swap!

I'm becoming increasingly obsessed with Wolfstar as of late, (I'm even writing it soon and I've never written Marauders era at all) so I am so excited about this story. I didn't actually check if this is Wolfstar or not, but I know that it's your otp and I see it in the subtext, so I'll just assume. :P

I've had my eye on this story for ages because I hear about it all the time but I'm trash and don't review nearly enough anymore unless it's for the amazing race.

this is, like, next level good so far. this chapter is really short, but that only adds to the power of it. I am so happy that you see this era differently than the commonly accepted fanon. I wasn't a huge fan of the era for years, but if I would have stumbled upon something like this, it would have changed my mind immediately. The first thing is that--at least in this first chapter--the story is so somber. While I love plenty of Mauraders era humor genre fics, there's something so great about this time period as a dramatic story. Because there is so much dramatic weight to be mined here! The time period that you choose alone also sets it apart. The immediate aftermath of the prank isn't usually what people write about--probably because it's too weighty--but you have knocked it out of the park.

When Sirius can't decide what to call James in his letter--that is SO REAL. nicknames get so awkward during fights. I love the Indian James interpretation.

As much as I adore him, I love seeing Sirius in the depths of self pity. It's handled so well here. You don't just tell us 'this happened and that is why Sirius is sad' so much as paint a vivid picture of not only the incident, but the aftermath and the implications of it all. I'm glad that Sirius seems caught up on the possible effect it could have had on Remus, rather than Snape's well being, just because I think that's a lot more realistic for him as a character. Despite how sorry he might have been, I think he would have pushed all thoughts of Snape out of his mind the second he knew he didn't actually die.

The paragraph that starts with 'he lay awake in bed now' is absolutely excellent. That was such a wonderful summary of events that managed to pack in a lot of information while still managing to boast diction enough to give me chills.

Reframing the incident as a result of Snape calling Sirius queer is nothing short of GENIUS. I honestly wish I would have thought of it myself. It makes so much sense in the context of Wolfstar and it makes Sirius look a lot less flippant in regards to the prank! And the time period is perfect because of how much more harsh that word would have been at the time. Amazing. I am blown away. This is so good, Kayla. I'll be back soon with the other review! (and i suggest watching this space when it's time to review the Lions for the amazing race)

Author's Response: Hiya Joey! :)

omg, this review is so lovely and really flattering. That you think this story could have changed your mind about the whole era is just mindblowing for me!

In terms of the tone of the story and it being somber... this story is definitely more drama than humour. I will admit that angst is my niche, haha. The aftermath of "The Prank" seems to be a quite common time period for Wolfstar fics on other sites, actually, but I haven't seen it much on here and I'm really glad you thought I pulled it off!

I think that POC Potters just adds so much more depth and weight to lots of the events in the books, so I really wanted to explore that here!

Again, you've said such lovely things here - I don't even know how to respond! I'm just really happy that you enjoyed my writing and the story I'm telling.

Honestly, the way "The Prank" was framed in the books never sat right with me. Sirius always seemed to be a fiercely loyal person, and it didn't make sense to me that he would just tell Snape something like that. We know from canon that Snape was also an instigator of incidents between him and the Marauders, so I thought that him instigating with something beyond just being snoopy would make a lot more sense. So I'm glad you thought that that made sense as well.

Haha, you really don't have to leave two reviews, I don't mind at all!

Thank you so much for the amazing review, Joey!

-Kayla


 Report Review

Review #3, by crestwoodPending Further Investigation: iii. a ravenclaw and a hufflepuff walk out of a bar [or] a farewell tour of sorts

28th June 2015:
Ok, back here again. It's been too long, I'd say. This is one of my favorites of all of the excellent chapter titles in this story. And the chapter image!! One of your best.

I appreciate the mad potioneer aesthetic. I haven't actually seen it, but I appreciate it. The image of Rose as a party animal is not one that I saw coming from tfwms, but one that makes sense to me. Enough vegetables to ward off scurvy is my favorite portion size for those, generally.

When you think about it - Rose and Holly are kind of unlikely best friends. Well, at first glance anyway. They're very different in most visible ways. But I've felt a connection with plenty of people who are very unlike me in very crucial ways. I think people are probably more complex than people give them credit for, even fictional ones.

You've put a lot of thought into the clubbing scene, I can tell. I can very much back the decision to do so as I've gone through and mapped out Wizarding Britain for no reason other than to figure out where the best bars would be. Also, can I just gawk at performance magic.

I am obsessed with the idea of Holly and Lily finally getting along. I always wanted them to. I actually wanted Lily to get along with everyone. She always kept herself at arms length, although for good reason.

I forgot Brodie is introduced in this chapter. That man has my heart. I wish I could speak French, even badly.

You're so good! On to the next chapter!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by crestwoodcover story: one.

28th June 2015:
I'm here for all of your Drarry.

I love the smugness of this Draco. He seems to have this whole thing planned out perfectly in his head. I always thought it was really cool of Draco to sense Harry under the cloak on the train. Not cool, as in good of him--but just action movie style effortless cool.

I love the Deamus sighting here. That headcanon is so strong. I find it so difficult to imagine that anything else was happening there.

I laughed really hard about Harry not wanting the room to give him a secret place to meet Draco because of what he imagined that'd look like.

I love the 'replied honestly.' Obviously adverbs are abused all the time by writers who are not you, but you always drop them in ways that feel necessary.

I will actively beg you for more of this story. If only to see how Harry attempts to get Draco out of this. And also, if you're going so AU as to actually get Draco out of it completely. Just in general this is awesome. But as I've noted previously, there's too many stories that I want updated and you are only one person. It does often feel as though you're a small factory of writers, the way you get stories out, but alas--no such luck.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #5, by crestwoodpectus draconis: dragonfire.

28th June 2015:
Lisa. I know I tell you that every story is perfect and wonderful and everything, but it's true every time, so idk???

I love this search for a name, however short it is. That's a motif that I will never tire of. And the insistence that bravery (and kindness) are virtues only valued by those that don't have anything else to offer the world is very, very Draco. That is possibly the most Draco thing that I've ever read.

This story in particular is giving me chills. 'His classmates could pry that out of his cold, dead hands.' I love the way your mind works so much. I don't think that is news, but I'll say it regardless. Side note: you write Slytherin characters better than anyone. I'd say it's the most difficult house to pin down in the dynamic way that you do, but you repeatedly manage.

I love the respect Draco commands from the Slytherin students. I love the way Lucius supported Draco. You so seamlessly tied this to canon, as if it wasn't even difficult.

What a glorious inferno. I almost want to lift that line and turn it into a story. But I feel like I've exhausted all of my 'read this because it relates to Lisa' points :P

I adore how simply you stated this 'Harry didnít move. Draco kissed him.' A lot of people would be shocked by that, but obviously I've thought far too long about the passion shared by these two to ever be taken off guard by any sort of affection between them.

The theme of dark and light here was used so well because you totally contradicted the overt naivete of dividing people into those neat little categories and gave the story such a wonderful feeling of closure. This is beautiful.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by crestwoodUnravel. : Millicent.

28th June 2015:
The first paragraph is poetic. You know I love those kinds of tangents. I'm pretty sure anyone who's read two lines of my work is aware of that, but moving on... Millicent! I have never seen anyone write solely about her. I confess that I don't know anything about her at all, other than the fact that she dueled Hermione, I believe? And her cat's hair led to the whole Polyjuice disaster. But she's practically a blank slate, which I love. I know you'll make an interesting character out of her.

Wow, Millicent is unlike any character I've read before. She's sort of just going with the flow, not questioning anything. But not because she's absentminded or daft--rather she's almost just above it all. She just doesn't mind. I love that. You've gotten that across with very few words, but it's so clear and understandable.

Now, her killing her cat caught me off guard for a split-second, but then I kind of shrugged and took it in stride. I see that she cares a great deal less than I'd realized.

The voices in her head are quite frankly very, very frightening. I've got to say that her cold indifference is affecting nonetheless. I could read about her all day, the way she goes about her life. I've never thought of Millicent as a particularly powerful person, but I don't think I'll ever be able to see her as someone merely in the background ever again, unless she's only there biding time as she plots.

I cannot believe the ending. I'm truly blown away by the way you set her up as this ingenious chess-master. She keeps her head down because that keeps a target off of her back. And that makes so much sense to me. This makes so much sense. I'm seriously in awe of you. This was certainly my favorite chapter of this story. Excellent job on this!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #7, by crestwoodUnravel. : Blaise.

28th June 2015:
Erin the servers have given me a bit of a break, so here I am.

I love angry pureblood narrators so much. I see already why this won the challenge. 'the pungent smell of the upcoming war' I LOVE THIS. Such a fresh way to word that. Really excellent use of language there.

Blaise and Theo. Oh, my heart. There's nothing more I could have asked for. This actually so sad though. It seems destined to sink. Blaise certainly does not believe in the chances of this relationship working out in his favor.

Wow. I'm so upset. I'm not sure if Blaise is overreacting about the repercussions for being gay or not, but the fact that he believes that the world will fall down around him for it is enough to pull at my heart strings. This is not a very happy chapter at all. I'm still blown away by the quality of the writing, I must say. But also, I want to cry about this. You are so so so so good you're the best

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #8, by crestwoodUnravel. : Pansy.

28th June 2015:
hello Erin i'm starting on you now. i know you're proud of this story, so I thought I'd start here.

I'm not entirely sure yet, but I get the feeling that Pansy has OCD. Not because it's obvious from the first paragraph, but just because I wrote about the disorder in Things Change and kind of understand the tiny little stylistic cues that people tend to use when writing it. I must say that you've done so beautifully. Writing OCD can be a nothing sort of a nightmare to write for me, but I will say that it lends itself to neat little motifs very well.

Pansy's numbers are even more complicated and precise than mine. And mine are horrible and difficult to manage at the best of times. Your description is subtle, but perfect. The way you describe the parchment is so much more detailed than I probably would have went, but all the better for it. I love the idea that her mother is pretentious about parchment and incredibly punctual. That really fits in with my headcanon of pureblood parents.

The combination of OCD and eating disorders.. I'm not certain how common it is, but it makes a lot of sense to me. I'm not sure how to explain it, but I think it was a masterful move to include that here.

Her interactions with Draco make me kind of uncomfortable. I think they were supposed to. It didn't seem like a genuine, healthy relationship and I'm not sure if it's really even a relationship at all honestly. You've definitely caught my attention with that scene though.

I wish I could write like you. I can't manage description like this! And Pansy's voice is so well established. And her repeated mantra has every effect you could wish it to have.

I love your assessment of pureblood culture. I love your commentary on being a young woman. I love it all. You've incorporated so many themes here and it's all so excellent. You're amazing.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #9, by crestwoodCarpe Aestatem: I Reckon

28th June 2015:
I've got a lot of feelings about this story. James/Remus is not something I can find often, but it's been consistently great every time I have.

The idea that James liked girls who 'looked like early morning sunlight felt' is so great. Where do you pull these descriptions from? They're so unorthodox and they kind of feel like one of your signature qualities as a writer. I don't think they get mentioned very often though. (and I should know, with how I stalk your reviews)

Sirius in this story isn't the main focus, but he's excellent. I think he's influenced the Sirius in my upcoming Wolfstar a small bit. The hunger for the subversive is done so well and feels very much like him. Not to mention how spot on Remus putting an unnecessary hyphen in bisexual is. Also, hating cigarette smoke strikes me as something obvious about him.

Officially interested in your version of Benjy Fenwick. I've only read him in one of Rose's stories before. He's not much of a recurring character in fic.

I love the casual nature that James tries to adopt. 'Reckon so.'

I can't deal with you characterizing Remus as much less studious than he wants to seem. I can't deal, Lisa. I have to not do that with my Remus because, at this rate, he'll end up exactly like yours. All of your characters are perfect.

Remus' surprise kiss is so great. And the last line - Seize the summer!!! I love it. I can't wait for more! And I do realize that saying that about everything doesn't make much sense if I'm expecting updates on like five stories at once, but eventually, I want more!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #10, by crestwoodPast Tense: third.

28th June 2015:
It's been a while since I've stopped by this story. I'm kind of sad that this is the last chapter I've got to tell you the truth because I'm obsessed.

Wizards really don't understand the struggle that is moving. I think that may be the most practical use for magic--getting all of your things into boxes and moving them somewhere else.

A year of teaching Muggle studies does kind of sound like what you'd do when you've given up on your dreams. Like, it's kind of awesome because it's so easy, but then, it's kind of horrible because it's way too easy.

I live for the aesthetic of Hogwarts. I'm really glad that Steph can't deny how awesome it is even if wizards are complete idiots.

I am so happy about the way Steph is standing up to everyone and actually correcting the curriculum and getting things done. I can't wait to see her in a classroom. I kind of have the same attitude about academia as Connor does in this chapter, but not as a result of failing out. I just kind of think I'd have more fun at wizard school. I don't know, maybe that's just me.

This story has some of my favorite characters of yours. These early chapters are sort of reminding me of how the early chapters of pfi felt, which is a very good sign. I adore your style of writing and I'm pretty sure you've done it again. One day I'll find out how you keep doing this.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #11, by crestwoodHamartia: two.

28th June 2015:
So, let's talk about how much I love this story. First of all - you started writing this version of it just around the time when Hogwarts Era minor characters/OC became one of my favorite things, so it was sort of right on time. I had a lot of headcanon about Slytherin students in this era, but that all went out the window when I read this. I now know exactly how they would react to queer students within their ranks--like this.

I really feel what you wrote about Slytherins never truly shedding their house affiliations. It does feel like that sort of exclusive club that you carry with you for the rest of your life. In canon, that is. Not in real life, although I wish it were the case.

The introduction of Athena is excellent. You do it so matter of fact, letting on some things about her that aren't necessarily what most people would use to characterize someone.

'I kissed her back with all the fire I felt deep within me, and when we pulled apart the look in her eyes told me she was desperate to burn.' - When I get better at graphics, I really want to make some with lines from this story. Like when people make artwork out of John Green quotes--that's what I want to do with this story all the time.

Oliver Hobbs. Floppy haired, bespectacled golden boy, eh? Sorry, he just sounds very cute.

And obviously I'm excited about Theo. Always excited about Theo.

You wrote an entire paragraph about what Slytherin students called Voldemort. No one else would do that. No one. You have such an incredibly unique way of writing this story that is unlike even the rest that you've written. Every word is perfect. This is why you don't need a beta in the normal sense of the word.

I love the push for house unity between the seventh years. I kind of wish we could have seen something like that in canon, but Harry doesn't pay attention to anything.

The final conversation of the chapter was excellent all the way through and did quite a good job of characterization, but then came the last exchange that has stuck with me ever since I first read it.

"What's your biggest fear?" "Mediocrity." - To say that this changed my worldview a good bit sounds like an exaggeration, but in actuality, it did. The way you feel about The Secret History is basically how I feel about this story. I can't wait for you to send me another chapter because I could read it all over and over again.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #12, by crestwoodPrimus: elegaics.

27th June 2015:
Obviously I'm going to camp out here. My plans are basically just to review everything you've updated this year that I haven't reviewed yet.

These two are my favorites. I'm feeling a bit of mood whiplash going from Angel of Small Death to this, but in a good way. I had a vague interest in classics before reading your stories, but you've really multiplied my interest by five. Maybe I just want to be like Scorpius; maybe I just want to be like you, I'm not sure. It's also possible that I dearly want to read Latin love elegy and actually understand what it is that I'm reading. I'm sure plenty gets lost in translation.

Usually I would explain all the ways I can relate to Scorpius' predicament here, but I'm fairly certain that you understand exactly why already. Wanting to know the answer to something is much easier than actually asking the question you'd like to know.

Somehow being best friends with someone who you have mostly undeclared feelings for is much worse than anything else. This story is honestly hurting my heart because I relate to it all on much too deep a level. Your writing perfectly encapsulates things that are kind of floating around my head. Of course, this ends up being a great deal more eloquent.

'He briefly entertained the sweet thought of Albus addressing the poem to him, decided that was too pathetic even for his innermost thoughts, and cast the book aside.' This is one of my favorite lines. Catching yourself thinking something super incredibly sappy is always kind of funny.

I'm literally crying again. Every time I read this, without fail. The repetition of the exact amount of time since their last kiss is beautiful. That device always works on me. Also, I once asked someone out on 12/12/12 so that I could actually remember when we began dating.

Your rebranding of the Hogs Head as a place where queer couples go on dates is amazing and I'm probably gonna slip that into a story somewhere. I love that so much and I love their date and every single thing about this story ok

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #13, by crestwoodAngel of Small Death: the wretched and joyful

27th June 2015:
hi lisa - finally gonna review this. i wrote a companion piece to it, so i figured i should start here.

I am in love with your descriptions. You kind of put me to shame with some of these lines. I mean, 'Scorpius was never home, or if he was he moved through it like a silent ghost trailing an arctic chill in his wake.' You give me imagery in unexpected places and it blows my mind every single time.

You basically do everything that I want to do in my writing. You use interesting, fresh verbs and your dialogue doesn't drag and your ability to write canon characters like Harry and Ginny sort of astounds me. Neither one of us write super canon character heavy stories, but when you do give them a try, the things they say always feel very much how they're supposed to.

I honestly just adore your ideas. You never seem to run out of thought provoking plots to place your characters into. The story of Harry and Ginny breaking up is just an anecdote within this story, but sometimes I mis-remember it as a fic of its own because it's just makes so much sense to me. I'm a big fan of a realistic post-war world where people have been affected in the longterm.

The proposal scene here is my favorite proposal scene in all of written history. Just gonna throw that out there. I love this story so much. It gives me a lot more hope than a fictional story should, but I'm grateful for it. Amazing work.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #14, by crestwoodStuck in the Middle: Threats and Payback Plans

20th June 2015:
I love that you emphasize the importance of the 'group.' It was a very real thing that I was concerned about when I was younger - having a group to attach myself to.

Ryan is an interesting character that I'm never sure about. I can never decide whether I like him or distrust him. I definitely enjoy the whole winking thing and think that's funny though. That's for sure.

I've always drawn a comparison between Potions and Chemistry too. But, weirdly enough, I hated Chem, but I feel like I'd enjoy Potions a lot if I could take it. Not sure how that works out in my head, really.

Ryan is certainly acting like he's completely aware of Ollie's feelings. I don't wonder why he'd have the impression that he knows.

And Melanie - it seems like everyone knows. At least those who pay attention.

I remember first reading that James thought Ollie looked adorable and freaking out. I got incredibly happy about that. It was a little ridiculous of me, but that line gave me so much hope!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #15, by crestwoodStuck in the Middle: Explanations and Fan-Girl Moments

20th June 2015:
I adore Ollie's tendency to sleep in. And of course Potter is still standing by the door. He's so interested in Ollie and doesn't know why. I love that it's pointed out that they've been in close vicinity this entire time and they're just now meeting. A lot of stories seem to ignore the fact that the school is only so big. But then, these characters are a lot more self aware than most are. Not that I don't love meet-cutes, because I do! But they are difficult to pull off when the characters were meant to be sharing a dormitory all along.

Ollie is always second guessing himself and it kills me. I can't express how much I love the assessment that they're treating him like the new kid, because they totally are. Obviously he knows what everyone says, it's been established that they have all hung out! I get why he got so snippy about it. It must hurt that they clearly never paid him much mind before. Like, at all.

Sarah is always the voice of reason in this story. She basically says exactly what I want to say to Ollie, only she's actually in the story and can really do so.

The internal monologue is just as good as the dialogue. Everything about this story is pretty much great though, so it's hard to even know what to praise. I will praise everything.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #16, by crestwoodStuck in the Middle: Need That Picture of You

20th June 2015:
Okay awkward Uncle Ron assuring James that it's nothing to be ashamed of is top ten moments in fic. The Witch Weekly cover is just the icing on the cake. This is the funniest story ever told. And him trying to pull off the 'hide behind sunglasses' trick?? Pure comedy.

I'm so glad that James isn't mad at Ollie and doesn't irrationally blame him for all of this. The first time I read, I thought that was the route you were going to go. The relief was immense when I realized they were just going to be dorks.

And falling over laughing at the Daily Prophet writing an article about them. They're supposed to be a respectable source of news! Even if it was true, it's hardly news. Kind of sad commentary on the mainstream press, kind of hilarious.

James spreading rumors about ickle Ollie and getting punched in the face. I think this story has it all. This is the exact story for me. It was written with me in mind, although you did not yet know me when you wrote it.

Ollie is so good with comebacks. He's cheesy, but in just the right way.

I've had friends that I always hung out with in a group and then kind of got close with out of the blue and I think it is the best experience possible. I've always associated this story with a lot of personal stuff and that may contribute to how dear it is to me. Or maybe it's just really, really well written? Either one.

Also I have to mention James watching Ollie leave and also 'James is not my guy.' Ollie reminds me so much of myself that it freaks me out. And being I'm a gigantic narcissist, that only means I love him even more.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #17, by crestwoodStuck in the Middle: Who are You and What are You Doing in my Brother's Bedroom?

20th June 2015:
So, I said I would be back to review this..about a year ago. Better late than never, they say.

I love that James feels the need to sneak Ollie into his house like this. (I feel weird calling him Ollie so early in the story. At least I didn't add the Pop) Seeing these two act like this toward each other is so weird after reading the sequel. It's been awile since I've read the parts of this story where they barely know each other. I think you write their interactions so perfectly, regardless of what stage in their relationship they are at.

Okay, I'm gonna admit - I LOVE Lily. She's just so funny. Completely disregards Ollie and runs away screaming about how she always knew. What a gem.

Albus is so snarky. I would pay to read about him and Ollie sitting in a room together, quipping back and forth.

Ollie literally fits right in from the very beginning. I forgot how perfect this first chapter is. I'm about to get obsessed all over again, I can feel it. Ollie is honestly flirting so hard at the end of this chapter, it's inhumane. 'Just a thought, Potter.' Honestly I wouldn't have been surprised if they just, like, started snogging right there. The dialogue in this story is actually perfect. Not a single line out of place anywhere. I love this so much.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #18, by crestwoodScars: Introduction: It Only Takes A Moment

20th June 2015:
Looks like I'm camping out here tonight. And I saw your post on my profile and want to respond, but must keep reviewing :P

I've never read a story with Remus' father as a character, I'm interested. The description here!! IS. SO. GOOD. One of my favorite adverbs is 'dangerously' - I just love to see it used to describe the way something moves or sits. I can't explain it in words, but it makes me so happy to see it used.

I'm obsessed with the way you've described Greyback here. It's interesting that he seems to know John at this point. Although it's clear that John doesn't think particularly highly of him at this point. I'm starting to suspect that Remus' biting was a form of revenge, rather than a random act of cruelty.

This is making me so uncomfortable. Greyback staring at a picture of Remus... Talk about foreshadowing. I mean, we all know what happens, but still! Sad and creepy! It's made even worse by how much pride John seems to have in the fact that he has a son. And knowing how he later ends up treating him after he gets bitten. UGH It's too much to handle. Many, many feelings.

This was mind-blowing! One of my favorite things I've read from you. Everything has been so great so far!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #19, by crestwoodFeel Again: Feel Again

20th June 2015:
I saw how short this is and ran over as fast as possible. I love long chapters, but my house members are yelling at me to hurry up right now :P

I've always thought Quidditch was an unnecessarily dangerous sport. It seems frightening if you ask me. Up in the air with (semi-sentient?) balls falling around trying to knock you unconscious. I wouldn't be a fan of playing myself.

This injury sounds awful, the way it is described here. I appreciate interesting verbs you're throwing around here. The prose really is awesome. I feel what James is feeling. It's scary at first. Because that's how he felt. But as the students begin to clap for him, the entire mood just does a 180 right away. I feel like I understand James' so well based on his reaction to something awful like this happening to him. This was a strangely visceral experience. It feels very stream of consciousness. I love it. Amazing writing in this!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #20, by crestwoodLying Josephine: Introduction: Boxes

20th June 2015:
Hi Tanya! Finally getting around to checking out this story. I've heard just about every good thing you can hear about a story - about this one, so I'm excited.

What a great first line. The narrative voice of this first chapter is beautiful. I do love stories that begin with commentary that takes place after the events of the story. The narrator is so remorseful that I have to keep reading because I must know what it is that they've done and who they've lied to.

There's an extremely powerful image in not celebrating in the middle of the Great Hall directly after the fall of Voldemort. "My best friend is lying in a box." - I love this quote so much. That one line is better than entire books I've read. The abruptness of this opening chapter definitely worked in its favor. Amazing work. Can't wait to read on.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by crestwoodTrue Romance: Simple Song

20th June 2015:
OH WOW THIS IS THE LAST CHAPTER. Somehow that escaped my attention completely. I thought I had many more chapters left.

My reaction to Scorpius moving away with Corbin is pretty much the same as Albus'. Their conversation following is excellent. Everyone moving away is a good way to end a novel. It doesn't necessarily tie up all loose ends, but it gives a new start and I can sort of fill in the blanks with my mind about what happens wherever they're going. I love the change of 'when' to 'if.' That was excellent.

I can't believe it's over. I'm so glad that you ended it with a conversation between Al and Scorpius. Everything feels like it's come full circle. This series has been absolutely amazing all the way through. It was the thing that introduced me to your writing - the first thing I got obsessed with upon my return to the site and generally just huge for me. You've done a wonderful job with this. You should be so proud of it!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by crestwoodTrue Romance: Time to Get Out

20th June 2015:
This whole section with everyone trying to figure out Muggle things is so great. Wizards talking about Muggle stuff will never get old to me. My favorite part is Brandon saying that his battery died as a stock excuse because I've totally used that one.

Ok still laughing at 'there are so many plugs.' You're giving me the urge to write more Wizards interacting with muggle culture because this is all golden.

Al and Brandon are so cute when they go to look at the bedroom. I am in awe with how perfect everything kind of feels right now. I'm used to everyone being in turmoil.

The Ministry is being quite ridiculous right now but honestly when are they not. Hopefully they don't do something like take Cora away because I don't really feel like crying tonight.

I'm not entirely happy with Corbin. But on the bright side, he isn't Archie, so he has that going for him.

I love Pedro so much. I do hope to see more of him in the last few chapters. I agree that Spain would be a good change for Rose. Can't wait to read on!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by crestwoodTrue Romance: Don't Let it Pass

20th June 2015:
Somehow, I skipped a chapter at some point, so this one is up next.

Honestly I can't say that I particularly blame James and Albus for letting their emotions get the best of them, but what they did was definitely wrong. I imagine that Harry would be just as mad as he is here. He's not much for an eye for an eye, I'd say.

I still love Branbus more than anything. Their interactions are always so subdued compared to most I read in romance fiction. I wish I could write a character like Brandon. He feels so real. I'm not sure how else to describe him.

I'm intrigued by Rose and Scorpius. I'm not sure where they're going, if anywhere. I'm actually glad they decided not to sleep together. I'm not sure why, but it felt like the right decision.

Oh and another thing - Archie kind of boils my blood. It's unhealthy that I should hate a character so much.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #24, by crestwoodTrue Romance: I don't Think I'll Ever Get Over You

20th June 2015:
Hi Rose! Here to finally finish reviewing this story!

So, I've still got sadness left over from Arthur's death, even though it must be ages since I actually reviewed that chapter. It's all very sad, but it also makes me happy that his funeral is attended by so many. Also, I did laugh at the quip about his dying of a muggle illness. I find that funerals tend to make me laugh quite a bit--I appreciate when people attempt to lighten the mood of them.

The way you write Molly's grief is absolutely horrifying, honestly. Losing your husband of so many years would be a terrible experience and I'm not sure I would even approach writing something like this because I'm not sure where I'd pull that emotion from. You did a wonderful job with her reaction.

I'm getting vague flashbacks to a Charlie story of yours that I believe you're referring to here. I want to know more, but I suppose I'll just have to go search for it and see if I've made it all up in my head or not.

Wow, the one-two punch of Corbin and Archie in this chapter is.well, expected. But still sort of surprising. Didn't expect them to both be this terrible. I suppose things are looking up for Rose, though :P

Great chapter!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #25, by crestwoodGame On: The Switch - BookDinosaur - Ravenclaw

12th June 2015:
I love the idea of Katie playing soccer. We never hear much about Muggle sports, but I'm sure Muggleborns don't completely forget about them. I do think that more of them would be disappointed like she was, for various reasons and pieces of culture they had to leave behind.

I am laughing so hard at Oliver's forwardness. He saw her running and just sprung on her. And also 'We have a good team! Sports!' is the funniest thing to me. I'm not sure why but I laughed out loud at that. I actually really like this story as a headcanon for how she ended up on the team. I'm loving these short little stories you've submitted to the collab!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>