Reading Reviews From Member: MidnightBlue_x
  
240 Reviews Found

Review #51, by MidnightBlue_xNot Normal: {Chapter the Second}

17th December 2013:
Back again with my second review! I'm going to jump right in!

So my favourite character in the entire series is Regulus Black, so I was pretty excited to see him in this chapter. (And yes Ellie, he is cute!) I loved how you wrote Regulus'. A lot of people make him quite broody and whatnot which is fair, but I think he would have had a bit of that cheeky side like how you've written him, even if it didn't come until after he died. I really do hope that we get to see more of Regulus in the future! And the fact he'd watch Doctor Who- that really made my evening.

I loved how Ellie is a smart main character- I think the point about how main OWL's she got is actually really interesting. I think it builds on her personality- she's sarcastic and blunt, and she doesn't let her gift get in the way of her life. I really like characters like that. I love the interaction between Ellie and Chris- I think their becoming my favourite set of siblings that I've read in a fic for a while. That being said, I think the fact that Ellie is so reluctant to tell her brother about her gift is both sad and very realistic. Keeping a secret like that for that long is bound to have its consequences, though I hope she will eventually tell him!

I loved your characterization of Ginny. She's very quick-witted which I enjoyed, especially against Ellie's confusion at the time. I thought it was incredibly entertaining. I loved the bit about the strait-jacket and the ticket to Bedlam- I think those thoughts that sort of run away in moments like that is also very realistic and again, entertaining. I liked how Ellie looked up to Ginny as a mother, and how she felt being included into her family.

Like I said in my first review, I really think your writing style suits the fic perfectly and you just made that really clear in this chapter. I think it's very consistent, which then allows for everything to flow really nicely. I can't wait to see some more Albus/Ellie interactions soon!

x Ely

Author's Response: Regulus Black is a seriously ignored character. He's so much a part of canon, yet he's a completely blank canvas in terms of characterisation! There's just so many places that you can take him - such as the ghost plain. I always figured that without the whole Voldemort thing he'd be a lot like Sirius, so that's the way I wrote him here. And of course he loves Doctor Who - he wouldn't be perfect otherwise!

Ellie's strangely protective of her grades. They are quite important to her - and you're right in saying that she doesn't let her gift get her down. She just tries to manage her life around it, rather than accepting it as an integral part of it - so much room for conflict! Also part of the reason why she doesn't want to tell Chris her deep dark secret!

Ginny was such a joy to write. She's quite emotionally mature in the books, and now after a stellar Quidditch career, three kids, and a few years of marriage to one of the biggest names in recent Wizardin history, that emotional intelligence was just bound to increase! I'm glad that you liked her!

Thanks so much for another wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #52, by MidnightBlue_xNot Normal: {Chapter the First}

17th December 2013:
Hi, this is ElysiumJayne from the forums with your review. I forgot to mention that I'll review the first three chapters of the story for your one request, and then if you'd like to re-request for the others then you can.

I haven't really read many Next Gen fics in my time, but this is definitely my favourite so far. I adore Ellie as the main character. I think she's wonderful. I especially liked the line 'with about as much haughtiness a five-year-old in her nightie could muster' - that was brilliant. I think you introduce Ellie's gift really well, it was nice seeing it from the beginning rather than it just being a given in a story. I think the fact that you showed it through a child's point of view made it even more interesting, especially because she didn't completely understand what was going on. I liked how you explained these ghosts- the whole gift of seeing ghosts could be a bit silly in the HP world, since everyone can do it, but having these people 'stuck' gave it a nice touch. But more than it, it made it interesting- I wanted to know about these ghosts and what this gift would mean for Ellie.

I loved the relationship between Ellie and Chris, both in childhood and when they were older. I think one of my favourite things was how things between them didn't change because of Ellie's gift or because of their mother's death. With their mother, I think it was good that she died of something different. I get how that might sound horrible, but it was different to having her die of the flu rather than the usual murder thing. I adored the bit about 'The Finnish Fiasco'- that was just perfect in my opinion. I liked how Ellie and Albus don't really get along- and she knows why, but she still questions it. I thought that was very well done- instead of having her just mindlessly hate him, she sort of sits on the fence sometimes. I think that's something different to a lot of fics. Back on to Chris- I love how they had different 'gifts'. Ellie's might be seeing ghosts, but she wishes she had the gift of music like her brother- I thought that was very realistic. I especially liked how there wasn't that resentment between them despite everything they would have gone through.

I thought you wrote Rose wonderfully. I absolutely adored their friendship- it's very realistic and it reminds of my best friend. I liked how Ellie was very sarcastic with her, but ultimately she let herself be manipulated by Rose. The Cake sense thing- brilliant. I loved how 'mystic' Madame Cassandra was supposed to be and how Ellie wasn't buying any of it. I can't help but wonder if the name Cassandra was a reference to the seer related to Trelawney? I'm totally Rose- I can't wait for this mysterious love :P

All in all, I thought the characters were very well done and it flowed really well. As for the writing style, you asked whether I thought you were trying too hard. Honestly, I think your writing style really suits the story. You're not trying to make sound too intelligent or mysterious, it just flows really nicely and fits the premise of the story very well. The only thing I would suggest is fixing the spacing in a few places and the only sort of typo I saw was- ThankFlamel.

I have to warn you that my next two reviews probably won't be as long (maybe they will?). I hope this review helped you though and I shall see you in the next one.
x Ely

Author's Response: Wowee! What an incredibly detailed review! Thank you so much!

I'm glad you like Ellie. As a reader, the thing I look for most in a story is a character to whom I can connect. I wanted Ellie to be that way - that is EXACTLY why I gave her special ghost-seeing powers, because obviously everyone can do that. (-end sarcasm-) I try and be funny but I'm really not, am I?

I loved writing Ellie's dad. He's so wonderfully scatter-brained for the saddest of reasons. And yeah, I was a bit sick of death by other human being, so I tried a popular one from the history books. Nothing more pesky than disease! I also love Chris. The two of them are quite different, but in a way that sort of makes them the same. And concerning Albus - I try and show her as being at least a little aware of her relationships. She values critical thought, and that means evaluating the real reason behind her... relationship with Albus.

Rose is actually the best. She's so bubbly and fun and so completely different from Ellie. I don't think she has a sarcastic bone in her body. And I loved writing her love for Divination! Madame Cassandra references the seer from the story of Troy who was legit but no one believed her because some angry Greek god cursed her!

I'm so happy that you think the writing style suits the story! I'm not sure how it will fare when the action picks up, but we'll see! Thanks so much for this fantabulous review!


 Report Review

Review #53, by MidnightBlue_xMoonlit Sonata: For a Change

8th December 2013:
This is honestly my favourite Sirius/OC WIP at the moment. My day is made so much better every time that there's a new update. I can't decide who I like better though...Ana and Remus or Ana and Sirius? It's such a difficult choice! Anyway, love the story and can't wait to read the next chapter!!

x Ely

Author's Response: Aw thank you! It's hard to choose between the two boys, but the end won't be too far away and you'll know it all. ;)

 Report Review

Review #54, by MidnightBlue_xEasy Terms: Wallflower

8th December 2013:
I think this story sounds really interesting. I hope you continue it because I'd really like to see where you take the story.

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #55, by MidnightBlue_x Bedlam and Broomsticks: The Thing About Stilettos

23rd November 2013:
This chapter is awesome! The whole piggyback scene was so cute and I love how for once Kenzie didn't question it. I can't wait for her to actually realise how much of a good guy Oliver is. So excited to read more!

x Ely

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it as much as you did. Before I edited I was kind of frustrated with it so its nice to know it came out alright. Hopefully I'll be able to get the next chapter finished sometime this week. As always, thanks again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #56, by MidnightBlue_xCruel Fate: Hands Open

16th November 2013:
This story is awesome. I love Viola, and I'm a massive fan of both Sirius and Regulus. I can't wait to read more! I hope you can update soon.

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #57, by MidnightBlue_x Bedlam and Broomsticks: Commiseration

16th November 2013:
I love this story so much! I really think how you write Oliver and Kenzie is amazing. I really hope that they can figure stuff out though- I need my Oliver/Kenzi cuteness. I hope you update soon :)

x Ely

Author's Response: Thanks for making me smile and taking the time to review! I love the encouragement and the fact that someone else enjoys the story as much as I do! I kind of feel like I post chapters a bit fast, but just for you I'll put the next chapter in the queue tonight. Hope you enjoy and continue to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #58, by MidnightBlue_xDangerously In Love: Don't Give Away the End

12th November 2013:
I absolutely love this story. I don't know who I want Dollie to end up with though. I love her with Sirius, but she and Remus are so cute! I hope you can update soon :)

x Ely

Author's Response: It means a lot that you're liking this story so far :). Don't worry, Dollie is just as confused as you are. Remus is kind of a first love situation but Sirius has proved himself to be quite the guy. The next chapter is done but I'm still polishing it up so I will update soon. Thank you so much for the review!

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #59, by MidnightBlue_xIn Too Far: Chapter Sixty-One

18th September 2013:
I'm so glad you've updated this story and I hope you will continue to do so. I can't wait to read more Barty/Gwen (I seriously hope there is more!). All in all, I just seriously adore this story.

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #60, by MidnightBlue_xTie That Binds: Prologue

3rd August 2013:
This story sounds so intriguing- I'm a massive Regulus fan but there aren't many stories with him at least not with romance. I can't wait to read more of your story!

x Ely

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm quite a big Regulus fan myself. I think he's a really important character in the series and it does suck a bit that there aren't more stories about him. Thanks again for your review!

 Report Review

Review #61, by MidnightBlue_xTreachery: Hogsmeade

24th July 2013:
I don't really have too much to say about this chapter but it looked lonely without any reviews and I know how much it sucks when things don't get reviews (then again, maybe you don't panic like I do but anyway). I really like the chapter (and the whole story) and I know it's still early but I don't know whether I like Sirius or Regulus more yet. Can't wait to see where this goes!!

x Ely

Author's Response: Aw thank you and yes it was looking rather lonely aha thank you for reviewing. And I know I'm struggling to decide who I prefer more, I sort of have an ending planned but we'll see haha and thank you for reviewing it means a lot!!! :-)

 Report Review

Review #62, by MidnightBlue_xTreachery: Curious

13th July 2013:
I love this story- Sirius/OC/Regulus will always be my biggest weakness. I can't wait to see where you go with this. Eagerly awaiting your next chapter!!

x Ely

Author's Response: Awww it's a weakness of mine too that's why I was so eager to write the story aha, a new chapter should be along shortly!

 Report Review

Review #63, by MidnightBlue_xThief In The Light: Gives You Hell

9th July 2013:
AH!?!?!!

This chapter is awesome, dear. I still can't get over the duck thing- it's way too entertaining especially with Harry falling over and everything. I really can't wait to see where you go with the rest of this Jessicaah!

xxx Ely

Author's Response:
I love the idea of Harry turning into a duck! I had looked for the duck charm for a while and I hadn't even mentioned it! Which by the way (to any readers who read it, the charm is 'Ducklifors')
Thank you Ely for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #64, by MidnightBlue_xBad Blood: Two

28th June 2013:
Only time will tell? LIES! I know you've got this all planned out in that beautiful little (okay, it's not little but its much more dramatic this one) brain of yours. I know how calculating and intelligent you are and so I'm watching you. My little theory is that it isn't Severus, personally I think you love him far too much to portray him this way. I may be wrong though, who knows with you?

Anyway, as usual, I adore this story much more than I really should so please update soon otherwise I'm going to be incredibly sad!

I love you muchly,
Ely.

Author's Response: Oh, I've definitely got it all planned out. ;) And it's all written as of yesterday, in fact! I'm scared it won't live up to some of the brilliant reader theories, but what can you do? I can't say whether or not your own theory's right, either... Because if time won't tell for me, then it must for you! (Did that make any sense at all?)

There will be an update of this story before too long, I'm quite sure. And I really hope you enjoy it! Much lurve! ♥


 Report Review

Review #65, by MidnightBlue_xBad Blood: One

28th June 2013:
You know what's ridiculous? Here I am, just casually searching through stories which contain Sirius Black, as I do. And I see this, this right here! A story which is marked as mystery and has this amazingly beautiful banner. As usual, I don't pay much attention to the author. Because who needs to when you see a story like that?

Then I starting reading...I think to myself 'This writing style seems familiar- I really, really like it' and so up I scroll to see who the author is and then I see YOU! YOU! My beautiful, amazing, brilliant friend who I am insanely jealous of! HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME? Don't you know how much pain you cause me every time I discover a new story of yours? Honestly Miss Rachel, I think sometimes you just do this to hurt me!

I simply demand that you stop it. Stop being such an amazing author for once in your life and give the rest of us a chance! Do you hear me?

xx Ely

P.S. Don't seriously stop. I will actually cry if you ever do.

Author's Response: I totally thought you knew about this story! And here I was, hiding Sirius from you. :) I'm glad that you enjoyed it, Ely, and that you took the time to review this for me! It was just what I needed after that rough writing night, and I really do appreciate your doing it, more than words can say.

I'm never going to stop -- you can nearly guarantee it. ♥ I'll always be writing something, HPFF or original fiction or something else entirely!


 Report Review

Review #66, by MidnightBlue_xThief In The Light: Spark Without A Flame

12th June 2013:
JESSICAAH!

Ah! I'm so excited to see this up here, like so excited that I could burst! You know that I love this chapter, so much. I can't wait to see what you write next!

xx Ely

Author's Response: asjdvnksjdnvwioensd you are lovely!! thank you!! I'm trying to work on my next, but I'm just so god damn busy :(

 Report Review

Review #67, by MidnightBlue_xEnding the Deal: Ending the Deal

6th January 2013:
I still love that banner, I just- I'm still going to steal it one day while you're sleeping. Don't roll your eyes at me, Rachel, it will happen!

Also, Charles Dickens quote? I'm taking the fact you used that quote as a late Christmas present for myself, it's far too perfect. You really shouldn't have...okay, I'm so glad you did. (It fits the story really nicely too!)

Anyway, I'll stop talking about myself and get to the usual part of my reviews where I just gush about how amazing your writing is. But really, teach me your ways, dear master. This was honestly heartbreaking though, I love it!

Once more, I love you.
x Ely

Author's Response: You'd have to impersonate me to take my banner, Ely! That little 'TenthWeasley' will fool no one. ;) Then again, you make graphics, so perhaps you're one to watch...

Charles Dickens. ♥ You may certainly think of it as a mini-Christmas present to you! I still need to read a bit of Dickens, you know -- never have. But that quote really emphasized all the points I wanted to hit were perfectly summed up in that sentence. Proof positive of why he's a literary genius!

I'm so happy you enjoyed this story, and left me yet ANOTHER wonderful review for it. You're too much, dear. ♥ Thank you so much for giving this a try! You're fantastic!!


 Report Review

Review #68, by MidnightBlue_xJust A Game: Smeared black ink, your face is ashen and I'm barely listening.

6th January 2013:
I love this story so much. It's one of my absolute favourite Sirius/OC's at the moment (probably of like, ever, too). I really like the character of Gisela, she seems so real to me. Can't wait to see more!

x Ely

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That really means a lot! I feel like doing a little dance now, ha! I'm glad she seems real, that was my one intention in this story so i'm happy she's turned out that way!

Again, thank you so much and keep reading!

Vicki :)


 Report Review

Review #69, by MidnightBlue_xA Multitude of Sins: A Multitude of Sins

4th October 2012:
You probably know by now that I usually steer clear of Severus pieces (except for In The Black, of course) but I felt the need to finish this piece after that little teasing slice.

I have to admit, this was nothing like I expected but as usual, I adored this more than I could possibly say in less than 6000 characters. Next time, share a bit of that talent around, eh? (L)

x Ely

Author's Response: I can never understand why someone would steer clear of Snape in any regard, though of course I did know that about you. :D And that makes me all the more happy when you drop by like this and surprise me with a review on -- surprise -- a Snape story!

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed it, too. ♥ I will sent you mental baskets of talent, if you wish it, although it makes me blush a bit (literal blushing, if you must know) to even type out those words -- as though it's mine to dish out!

But really, Ely. Thank you for being so awesome. It means so much to me to have reviews from you -- it really does! :3


 Report Review

Review #70, by MidnightBlue_xInsomniac: Insomniac

4th October 2012:
How did I not know this existed before this moment? *cries* My life long goal to read and review absolutely everything you write is slowly slipping from my fingers!

Okay, I am being slightly melodramatic but honestly, I am surprised I didn't know about this beautiful little one-shot of yours- Antonin Dolohov being one of my absolute favourite Death Eaters! I am very glad I happened to chance upon this today because, like always, this was amazing.

One day, I swear you are going to explode from all the amazingness inside your brain.

Until then,
Love you dearly,
x Ely

Author's Response: I'm not sure! This has been up here for a fair stretch. ;) I'm still pretty fond of it, too, which should say something about it. I had no idea that Antonin Dolohov was one of your favorite Death Eaters, though! When did that happen?!

I loved writing this story -- when I wrote it, it was the darkest thing I'd ever attempted. And now I kind of laugh when I look back on it and remember how worried I was to post it, because Break Out is at least ten times darker than anything in this story, but it marks one of those lovely growing, evolving periods that makes us writers. ♥

I'd prefer not to explode, if it's all the same to you! Thank you so much, though, for dropping by and reviewing this for me. You are fantastic, and I do not deserve your kind words. :3 Your supports means tons to me -- really, thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #71, by MidnightBlue_xIn Too Far: Chapter Sixty

4th October 2012:
I really hope you update soon, I've been checking back here every weekend to see if you've posted the next chapter yet. I think I'm a little obsessed with Barty/Gwen :) Hope to see the next chapter soon!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey, thank you :) I know this has been a very long time coming, but I've started working on this story again after a year break so I hope you enjoy what's coming up.

 Report Review

Review #72, by MidnightBlue_xIn Danger: In Danger

11th April 2012:
MASTER!

So I said I would review you and so here I am!! Yep, reviewing you. But yeah, this story is super cute! I love your characterisations of Lily, James, Sirius and Dumbledore- they are amazing! Ah, so yeah- I totally suck at reviewing but...I LOVE YOU!

x Ely

Author's Response: MINION!
Amy loves you!! Aww, thank you sooo much!!


 Report Review

Review #73, by MidnightBlue_xIn The Black: Conversations and Catalysts

21st March 2012:
So this is going to be my last review for tonight because my brain is beginning to shut off, can you tell at all? *head hits keyboard* Anyway, you know (or at least I hope you do) that I adore this story and that I adore you and your writing and I miss you, even though you've only been gone for like three hours...Yeah, I have a sad life without my Eagle twin.

Ily!!!

x Ely

Author's Response: Brains that are shut off are dangerous things, and you should mend that situation as quickly as possible. :) I shouldn't talk, as I'm running on about 5 hours of sleep. But there you are.

So glad you like this story! It's my baby. :D And we didn't talk last night and it was sad. Come back into my life, sugar glider twin! ♥ Love you!


 Report Review

Review #74, by MidnightBlue_xIn The Black: Joining Up

21st March 2012:
*laughs evily* How much do you love/hate me now? I got you your 300th review and threatened you in it...I see this as a excellent way to spend my time rather than writing 55, yeah that's kinda what I'm avoiding. But you can't yell at me because you're getting review out of this. Yep, twisted Ely logic- you know you love it ;)

x Ely

Author's Response: I'm used to your threats! ;) No, you're too sweet to really mean it. ♥ Although you should be writing 55 so you can have a celebration of completing the first novel in your trilogy!

Thanks again for the review spam -- love you!


 Report Review

Review #75, by MidnightBlue_xIn The Black: A Chance Meeting

21st March 2012:
AH! Snape/Lily/Beth/Marauders, this is just oh my god. I feel like crying, actually, again...See what you do to me Janechel? You should feel very proud/ashamed of yourself and therefore you should send me your autograph and fly down here with cupcakes to make up for it...Deal?

Also, guess what this is? REVIEW 300! I hope my Maths isn't off because that would be very embarrassing but in case it is...HAPPY 299 too... :)

Yeah...ily

x Ely

Author's Response: Don't cry! The characters love you. :) I am proud of this story, now you speak of it -- and even when you don't speak of it, I am proud of it anyway. :P It's my favorite thing to work on at the moment, and I just can't wait to see what these folk have in store for me!

You're FABULOUS. Nothing less. Thank you for being my 300th review, because it's really sort of a shock I got there at all! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>