Reading Reviews From Member: MidnightBlue_x
  
236 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MidnightBlue_xSeven: 7:00 AM

12th December 2014:
Hi, this is ElysiumJayne from over at the forums here to leave you your requested review! Firstly, I want to apologise for the time it took for me to get to this - real life got a little crazy.

I've never read a Severus/Hermione before - it's not really my thing. That being said, I did actually enjoy this chapter. I liked how simple the chapter was, it was cute and it was enjoyable to read. I liked the characterisation too. I thought Hermione was perfect, and I liked how you portrayed Snape as a little bit different than what we see in the books.

As for the writing, I think you're fine - nothing looks wonky to me. In fact, I think you writing works really, really well for this piece and I'm interested to see what else you've got to offer.

Thank you so much for requesting. I hope this review was helpful in some way.

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #2, by MidnightBlue_xLike Clockwork: Antiquity

5th December 2014:
I've re-read this one chapter about five times now. I just really, really need another chapter! I can't wait to see where this story is going to go, and how Sirius is going to come in.

x Ely

Author's Response: Hi Ely!

I've been working on it, really I have. Sweet Talk overtook my life though for NaNo. It should be up before the queue closes! :) thanks for the lovely review!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #3, by MidnightBlue_xKill Your Darlings: Breakdown

5th December 2014:
The amount of times I've re-read this story is ridiculous. I'm pretty sure it's not healthy! But I'm so addicted, I just need more Ted and Andromeda in my life.

x Ely

Author's Response: Bahaha. That is just the sort of thing I want to hear. I mean, not that you're being unhealthy, but addicted the story, yes, please. :) I'm SO glad you're enjoying it! And that you had the patience to read 30+ chapters. Haha. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by MidnightBlue_xKissing in Private: Part Three

5th December 2014:
As this is my final review, I'd just like to thank you for requesting my reviews and remind you that you can re-request more reviews at any time! I hope these have been helpful to you.

This isn't related to anything but, Lily-Lu is the cutest nickname ever. Honestly, you just break my heart again and again with every chapter. I feel so terrible for Teddy! But, I really like that you're making his life a little more difficult than usual - I think it's very realistic considering everything he must have gone through.

I swear Runa is just the best. I really hope we get to see more of her in the future because I'm very interested to see how she'll develop over time and how things with Teddy will progress.

I also really like how each of the chapters start with a childhood memory. It's really interesting to see the sorts of events that lead Teddy into becoming the person he is. Again, the only thing I'd suggest is setting the scene with a little more description.

Once again, thank you for requesting!

x Ely

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your reviews have been so great and encouraging. I definitely will stop by again sometime!

Thank you! I'm so glad you pointed that out! Lily-Lu was probably my favorite detail of this chapter and I was so sad because no one had mentioned it yet HAHA! THank you so much for pointing that out and I'm glad you like it.

I'm so happy that you like Runa! I really enjoy writing their interactions, so I hope you do too!

It's nice to hear that you enjoy the flashbacks in the beginning of each chapter. It's a tactic that is new to me, so that's another part of the experimental writing style I'm taking on here. I'm glad you like it!

Thank you so much for your reviews! You have been so wonderful and I appreciate your feedback! I will definitely drop by your thread again. I'm glad you like the story!


 Report Review

Review #5, by MidnightBlue_xKissing in Private: Part Two

5th December 2014:
Hi again! I'm going to jump right in with my review.

The first thing I noticed was the odd spacing at the very start. It's not a big thing, but I'd suggest fixing it as it makes the chapter look better as a whole.

That first scene with Victoire and Teddy just broke my heart. I feel so bad for Teddy, and I understand that he totally makes it worse for himself but I just want to wrap him up in a blanket and cuddle him.

I already love Runa. I like how she puts Teddy into his place pretty much straight away.

One thing I want to say (you totally don't have to do this), I think you could afford to add a little more description into your chapters. I think particularly at the start of each new scene it would be beneficial if you set the scene, but it's up to you!

See you in the next review.

x Ely

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you for reviewing again! I noticed that with the spacing and I couldn't quite figure out how to fix it... I'll take another look at it and see what I can do because I agree that it's a bit awkward to look at.

I am really glad that you are feeling sympathetic for Teddy. It means so much to me that you are actually FEELING something for someone I wrote. Thank you so much.

I understand your point about description, and I'm not saying I couldn't do with more, but I would like to point out that that just isn't my style of writing. I'm not a very descriptive writer and I've never been the type to write flowery prose--I'm more focused on action. I try to describe the parts that I feel are important to the scene and the action that's happening, but other than that I personally find it without purpose in MY writing. It's so interesting to discuss different styles of writing! I'm really glad you pointed that out.

Thank you so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by MidnightBlue_xKissing in Private: Part One

5th December 2014:
Hi, this is ElysiumJayne from over at the forums to give you your reviews!

Firstly, I love the start of this story. I'm not incredibly well-read in Next Gen, but I think that it's a unique start and it's really funny. I love your characterisation of Teddy, from what I've read people always write him as this confident, a bit cocky sort of guy so I like seeing him as a bit of a loner. I like the characterisation of Victoire too. She's seems like a fun, bubbly person - I think it really works well against the sort of patheticness that is Teddy at the moment.

You asked about your style. I personally think that you've written this really well. You said that this was an experimental first person? I honestly couldn't tell that this was your first shot at that, it seemed very natural and comfortable to me.

I'm very interested to see where it goes from here, so I'll see you in the next chapter!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing my story! I'm so glad to hear that you like the story even in the first chapter. And I'm thrilled that you actually think it's funny! Haha! When I was planning this story, I was actually thinking of a different plot line because I too was planning Teddy as this cocky, confident guy. But when I really thought about him and tried to get into his head, I found this more vulnerable, honest type of guy, especially when I thought about well what if he can't control his powers? So I'm really glad you like his characterization.

Thank you so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by MidnightBlue_xIn the Lion's Den: Perfectly Aligned

5th December 2014:
This story is so great - I love Slytherin/Gryffindor romances especially in the Marauders era. As much as I love Remus, I kind of love Regulus more so I hope he gets a bigger role in the future. Can't wait to see some more!

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #8, by MidnightBlue_xBetrayal: Chapter 11: Detention

5th December 2014:
I absolutely love this story. I'm completely obsessed with it! I really want to know what happened with Meredith and also what happened between her and Sirius. Can't wait for the next update!

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #9, by MidnightBlue_xIgniting the Ashes: After the End

4th December 2014:
CAL!

I finally made it! After listening to you freak out about rewriting this story for months, I finally got the chance to read it! I really don't know what you're worrying about so much - it's a great story Cal and you're handling it so well in the first chapter already.

The characterisation is great, the story flows really well and it really feels like a continuation of the final book. I know my opinion probably doesn't count since I kind of know your plans, but I still think it's brilliant.

x Ely

Author's Response: First!

Thanks heaps for your review Ely! I'm really pleased you think it turned out well in the end after all my stress :)

Now to get some regular updates happening!


 Report Review

Review #10, by MidnightBlue_xSunshine.: Of Overheard Conversations and Apologies.

8th August 2014:
I love this story so much! I can't wait to see a bit more of Regulus, and some Claire/Regulus action soon I hope.

x Ely

Author's Response: Thank you so very much! I'm hoping to get some more writing done soon, it warms my heart that you love it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MidnightBlue_xAlright, Alright: Alright, Alright

30th July 2014:
This is AMAZING. I adore Death Eater/Order romances (Is that weird?), especially Rabastan Lestrange- he's so interesting to me. I loved this story! You wrote Emmeline really, really well.

x Ely

Author's Response: Thanks so, so much, Ely! I love them too. Dark guy/Good girl ships. LOVEE THEM! Thanks for the kind review!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #12, by MidnightBlue_xThe War of Roses: Chapter One: A Hungry Lion

16th July 2014:
This is exactly the kind of Sirius/OC story that I love. I hope you keep updating!

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #13, by MidnightBlue_xTime, Space, and Blunt Force Trauma: for old times' sake.

19th April 2014:
Hi, it's ElysiumJayne here!

Firstly, I'd like to thank you for entering my challenge. I hope you enjoyed it! Secondly, I know I said I couldn't accept this story as Sirius, but I just have to mention how amazingly you've written him. I've never read anything like this, and I really enjoyed it.

I know Bellatrix's part was only very small, but I liked seeing her from Sirius' view (well, sort of). I especially loved the nickname!

Once again, thank you for entering my challenge. I really think you did a wonderful job with this piece!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey Ely!

Thank you for this lovely review! I most certainly enjoyed participating in your challenge; I don't really know the Black family that well, and writing this fic certainly helped me learn a few more things about them - or at least Sirius. I'm glad you like the way I wrote Sirius!

Ah, yes, Bella's part is regrettably tiny. I wish I could've written a separate fic for her for this challenge, but I didn't have time, unfortunately. And I'm glad you like that rather silly nickname she had. It just seems so incongruous with her vicious character! I have to credit The Mistfit / apondinabluebox for the name 'Trixie'.

Thank you so much again, Ely! This was a wonderufl review to receive. :D

-teh


 Report Review

Review #14, by MidnightBlue_xHouse of Cards: Seven of Hearts

22nd March 2014:
Hi again!

So, firstly. Very mysterious in the first bit there, that makes me think that maybe my theory could be right? Or that could be something completely unrelated...I really have no idea!

Secondly, I absolutely loved the interaction between Bella and Sirius in this chapter. I love how there's obviously feelings of hatred between them, but there's also something else. I really liked seeing that, especially as I think most fics seem to disregard that they are, ultimately, still family.

Even though there isn't much in this chapter, I love the small little interactions between Barty and Regulus. I especially love how Sirius picks up on them and what he believes is going on. So good!

I think the story itself is progressing very nicely. I think developing the family dynamics are just as important as developing the mystery. Well done!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hi there - thanks so much for stopping by again! :)

Ooh, maybe ;) As I said, it is a brilliant theory! But unfortunately, I can't say anything, you understand!

Thanks! I'm so glad you liked it! I've always imagined that Bella and Sirius might have been relatively close when they were both younger, since I always thought they're pretty similar in character, in certain ways, and so I liked having them in a room together and sort of 'ganging up' together. They are family, and I think in a family-bloodline-obsessed pureblood society, that would count for a lot, you know?

Barty and Regulus... yeah, haha. Little things ;) Sirius is picking up on some things, but he really is a bit oblivious, poor boy :P

Gah, thank you so much! I'm really enjoying developing the family relationships and the way they all interact, because it's something which I find really interesting, and really fun to explore so I'm so glad you like it!

Thank you so much for the wonderful set of reviews - they are always so great to get! Thanks again! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by MidnightBlue_xHouse of Cards: Six of Diamonds

22nd March 2014:
I am completely terrible! Really, I am. I'm so sorry that there was such a gap between the last review and this one. I really have no excuse. I'm finally going to finish my reviews today though!

I know I say this every time but I really do love how to write Regulus and Barty. I love them in general, but I just...can't deal, when you write. That kinda sounds like I'm criticising you...what I mean is I love them so much that I can't even put it into words.

I still have absolutely no idea who the murderer is. I can't remember if I wrote this in my last review, but I have a feeling it might be someone outside of the current casts of characters. There's just something that gives me that feeling. As for who that might be, I have no idea.

I'm sorry this review is a little bit shorter and again, apologies for such a late review!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey there - and seriously, don't worry about it! It's not a problem at all - I completely understand! RL can be such a pain at times.

Gah, thank you so much! Haha, no worries - I love writing Regulus and Barty. They have this friendship and relationship which is so fun to write in this - like, they're so different, but somehow they get along.

Ooh, don't worry about that! I'd be devastated if you did, lol! That is a fabulous theory. I love it. No, genuinely, I do! It's amazing... the cast will be growing a little soon - in a couple of chapters, I think - so maybe that will answer your questions? ;)

It's fine - thank you so much for coming back and thank you so much for the lovely review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by MidnightBlue_xCivil Conversations: Civil Conversations

18th March 2014:
Hiii!

Sorry for the late review! I had read this a while back but I didn't get a chance to review it until now. Secondly, I want to thank you for entering my challenge!

I love this story, really I do. I absolutely love stories about Narcissa and Andromeda, especially after the war. I think you've written them very well, especially how Andromeda wouldn't forgive Narcissa immediately.

Thanks again for entering my challenge!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey, no big. Thank you for the review! And I'm really glad you like what I did with it.
~Lily


 Report Review

Review #17, by MidnightBlue_xBurning Flames: Burning Flames

18th March 2014:
Hi!

Sorry it took me so long to get to this. I had read this back when you first posted it but I didn't get the chance to review until now. Secondly, I'd like to thank you for entry my challenge (and for getting the piece done so quickly!)

I think you did really well writing this, especially since so little is known of Callidora. I would have liked to have seen a little more though, I really liked where you were going with the story!

Again, thank you so much for entering my challenge and sorry for the late review!

x Ely

Author's Response: No problem! I am glad that you liked it and maybe I will write a longer story sometime soon.

 Report Review

Review #18, by MidnightBlue_xRed Silk: A Failed Chai Exchange

8th March 2014:
I wasn't sure whether we were allowed to review our own entries so I never did, but I figured since you reviewed my chapter now that I'd go ahead and do it anyway.

NADIA!

You've been so nice to me, telling everyone that I did all this work and whatnot but you're lying. There is no possible way that I could have ever done this without you, there's no possible way that Gautam would be himself without you.

You are honestly the world's best partner. I couldn't have written something like this without you and so I'm incredibly thankful that I got to work with you. You definitely made this competition much more enjoyable for me than I ever could have expected.

I don't think I could ever say this enough but your chapter is wonderful. I know you said in your note that I bought Gautam to life and I have to disagree with you. It was you. You wrote him as this beautiful charming guy whom everyone just fell in love with, especially me. I just continued on with what you gave me. I did this with every part of my chapter, so technically it's half you.

Anyway, I'm so so glad that we got to work together for this. You're an amazing writer and a lovely person and I can't wait to work with you on some future projects ;)

I love you, my wonderful partner!!

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #19, by MidnightBlue_xHouse of Cards: Five of Spades

21st February 2014:
Sorry that this took a little bit longer than expected. With speed dating and real life, it all got a little crazy there. Anyway, I'm here to review these chapters for you today.

Usually, I sort of take notes for each review while I read, but I was so engrossed in the story that I didn't notice I hadn't written anything down until I'd finished the chapter. And this is probably my third or so reading of this chapter alone. I think that's evidence enough that your mystery is working. I don't really like trying to work out who the murderer is in stories because I think sometimes you can ruin it for yourself, but I don't even know who is innocent in this situation. Okay, so I can't imagine it being Narcissa, but who knows?

I love how you write Regulus. I think the fact that he is so disturbed by his aunt's body really suits him. I know he's close to the age of becoming a Death Eater here but I can't imagine him ever really being 'fine' with death. I think what you've written here supports that, and while others may think differently, I think that he's perfect here- after all, he is only a child. I still love the presence of Walburga and Orion, I especially like how they do care about Regulus in their own way. People often write them as being completely cold to everything, so it's nice to see them like this.

As for the pacing, I think this chapter and the story up to this point is fine. The story is only really starting at this point and going to quick would destroy the mystery of it all as would going to slow. I think at this point, the story still has a unsure tone to it- none of the characters really know what's going on, so the pace suits it perfectly.

I'll see you in the next review!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey - and no worries! I totally understand - speed dating was amazing! So many brilliant entries! :)

Ooh, cool - that's a good thing, right? :P Thank you so so much! I'm so glad you're confused (if that's not mean to say, haha) since it really helps. I'm honestly so terrible at knowing what people will get and what they won't put together, you know, so it really helps for you to say something like that!

Regulus is a child - I think that's a pretty significant thing when I write him here. He's fourteen/fifteen here, so he's close but he's still so young and naive and yeah, I can't imagine him ever just being fine with death either. Gah, yeah, I remember Sirius said in the books, or implied at least, that Regulus was Walburga's favourite, so I kinda played off of that in their relationship, and Orion does care, really, about both of his sons, he just really has no idea how to show emotion at all :P I'm glad you like them, though - they're strange but fascinating characters to write! :)

Thank you so much! I'm always so nervous about pacing because I know I'm just really slow, haha, and it's something I'm trying to improve on so it's so great to hear that I might be starting to succeed with that! :)

Thank you so so much for this! I always love receiving your reviews - they're such gems each time! Thank you! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by MidnightBlue_xmaybe, once.: maybe, once.

17th February 2014:
When I saw you were doing the speed dating as well, I was so excited because it meant I could read more of your stuff. I totally did not expect Barty/Reg, but I love this so much! This is like my head canon for House of Cards, at least where Barty and Reg are concerned.

But yes, I love this piece so so much. And I'm incredibly jealous of your ability to write Barty and Reg so well. Good luck with your entry!!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Gah, thanks so much! I was so excited to do it, too - particularly since so many good writers signed up for it!

Haha, ah, I love Barty/Reg as well - they're not necessarily a mainstream couple, as such, but they're so sweet and I really do ship them ;) As for House of Cards, ah, well, I do ship them, though that's all I can say! :) (But, theoretically, if this were to be linked to HoC, this would be afterwards, timeline-wise. Just sayin'!)

I'm so glad you liked it - I know it's a bit of a weird pairing and perhaps not the most usual idea for a Valentine's one-shot, haha, so it's so lovely to hear!

And it was doubly great that this was so unexpected - thank you so so much for this! :D

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #21, by MidnightBlue_xDevlin Potter: Riddle and Rescue: The Informant

5th February 2014:
Hi there!

I saw your status about a review swap on the forums and I thought I'd give it a go. I've never actually done a review swap before, so we'll see how this goes!

Usually, I would never even consider reading something like this not necessarily because I don't think it but because I'm more of a Marauder era sort of girl. That being said, I did actually really enjoy reading this. It was interesting to see a son of Harry's and Voldemort interacting. I think in those particular scenes you could definitely see Harry's personality in Devlin.

It was different seeing Harry face off against the Death Eaters as an older man. I was so used to him being the reckless teenager that it was nice to read something a little bit different, but I liked how you could still see a bit of that recklessness in him especially when it comes to protecting his family. And Sirius- I could never not adore him so I was very, very happy to see him here.

It'll be interesting to see where the story goes from here and I'm definitely going to continue reading!

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #22, by MidnightBlue_xIn Sickness And In Health: Perseverance

5th February 2014:
So let's get started straight away.

I liked how this chapter carried on from the last- sure it's not the same day, but it was nice to see the mention of the letter from the last chapter. The fact that Hermione is struggling with writing a letter to Harry and Ron was very nice to read. Even though it is definitely not her fault, it's never easy getting back in contact with someone after a decent amount of time has passed. I think the fact you even included that is wonderful.

I'm already loving the development between Hermione and Draco. I especially loved the scene with the television- it definitely made me laugh. I think the fact that Ron is angry about Hermione's situation immediately without even bothering to get the full story is so very him. Especially as Harry is a bit more willing to accept what's happening. I personally don't think you have to worry about them being in character, I think you've written them very well.

As for the flow, I don't think there is anything majorly wrong. I'd suggest maybe stretching out the scene with Harry and Ron a bit more- like I said in my last review, maybe a little bit more description. Perhaps you could have Hermione brew some tea while she talks to them or something. That's just my personal opinion though!

I can't wait to see Pansy and Blaise (in the next chapter, I assume) especially how they are going to interact with Hermione. I hope I haven't scared you away with my slowness, and I hope you can re-request sometime in the future.

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #23, by MidnightBlue_xIn Sickness And In Health: Healing in Hell?

5th February 2014:
Hi, this is ElysiumJayne here to finish your review request.

Firstly, I want to apologise for how long it took me to get to this review. I feel so terrible for making you wait over a month for these reviews. So without further ado, I'll start on the actual reviews now.

I know that you asked about the dialogue- I think that it's quite well done, the only thing I'd suggest would be to maybe add some descriptions in between some of the lines. Maybe Hermione taking note of some of her surroundings? Or a sudden sharp pain in her leg? I don't know, but something to just break it up a little. I don't think there is too much dialogue, but adding even just a few lines of description here and there would make it flow a little better, I think.

You also asked about the characterisation and reactions of Hermione and Draco. I think they were done very well. I especially liked how their reactions differed- Draco was sort of in a state where he refused to believe it while Hermione was clearly upset. I think it's very realistic that they would have these different reactions and the ones you chose seem very in-character to me. I'm excited to see how Harry and Ron respond to this.

Anyway, loved the chapter and I once again want to say sorry for taking such a long time to get this done. I'll see you in the next chapter.

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #24, by MidnightBlue_xEscaping the Acheron: The Chaser

5th February 2014:
Back again! I'm going to get started right away on the review.

I absolutely loved reading about the younger Weasleys. I couldn't even tell you who I liked the most in the scene- all of them were just brilliant and cute and I just can't pick. I admit, I totally wasn't expecting a scene like this but I love it so much. I think it's one of my favourites so far in the story. That being said, I loved the Quidditch game as well. Usually, I'm not the biggest fan of Quidditch matches in fics but I think you did really well with yours. It was short and sweet and I actually enjoyed reading it. I have to say, I loved Arthur in those bits- he's just brilliant.

I like how you switched back to 'present day', though I would suggest maybe putting a line break between the two times because for the first line or so it's a little bit confusing. Of course, it's up to you though. I liked seeing Angelina- I feel like she's a character that never really gets mentioned, so I really liked getting to know a little bit more about her. I really hope we get to see a bit more of her in future chapters (and that she gets better!)

Again, wonderful chapter and I apologise for taking so long to get to this. If I haven't scared you away with my slowness, then feel free to re-request!

x Ely

Author's Response: Thanks for the reviews!

I'm glad that you liked the bit with the young Weasleys. I loved writing it, they're so much fun.

That's a really good suggestion. I'm currently going through edits, and I'll make that change when I get to this chapter (ugh, editing is so difficult!)

I love Angelina!! She probably won't show up too too much in this one, but enough for me to not feel guilty.

Yay! I'm probably going to go re-request right now:D


 Report Review

Review #25, by MidnightBlue_xEscaping the Acheron: Birthday Surprises

5th February 2014:
Hi! This is ElysiumJayne from the forums here to do your reviews.

First of all, I want to sincerely apologise for the fact that it's taken me over a month to get to these reviews. To be quite honest with you, I've just been incredibly lazy lately, especially where HPFF is concerned. I'm so sorry that I haven't gotten to these before now, but let's get started on those reviews anyway.

I have to say, I've actually really missed reading your story and I didn't even notice how much until I started reading again. I think the story and your writing style is very easy to slip into and it's very enjoyable to read. I absolutely adore how you write Hermione and Neville and all the others. I'm really interested to see how things are going to progress for each of them from here. I'm especially interested to see where you take things with Jeremy, I sense that he might become more important alter on? I might be wrong, though.

Anyway, this was a really nice and simple chapter- I liked it. I can't wait to see what's going to happen next! Sorry again for taking such a ridiculously long time to get to this!

x Ely

Author's Response: Don't worry about the delay! I'd honestly forgotten about them, so this was a nice surprise:) And I'm also incredibly lazy. Almost all my requested reviews start with some form of "sorry I took so long".

Things... well things will progress:). I'm glad you like Neville!

Jeremy is important:) I wouldn't've introduced him if he wasn't ;)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>