Reading Reviews From Member: MidnightBlue_x
  
234 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MidnightBlue_xSunshine.: Of Overheard Conversations and Apologies.

8th August 2014:
I love this story so much! I can't wait to see a bit more of Regulus, and some Claire/Regulus action soon I hope.

x Ely

Author's Response: Thank you so very much! I'm hoping to get some more writing done soon, it warms my heart that you love it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by MidnightBlue_xAlright, Alright: Alright, Alright

30th July 2014:
This is AMAZING. I adore Death Eater/Order romances (Is that weird?), especially Rabastan Lestrange- he's so interesting to me. I loved this story! You wrote Emmeline really, really well.

x Ely

Author's Response: Thanks so, so much, Ely! I love them too. Dark guy/Good girl ships. LOVEE THEM! Thanks for the kind review!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #3, by MidnightBlue_xThe War of Roses: Chapter One: A Hungry Lion

16th July 2014:
This is exactly the kind of Sirius/OC story that I love. I hope you keep updating!

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #4, by MidnightBlue_xAlphard Black: Alphard Black

19th April 2014:
Hi there, it's ElysiumJayne here. Firstly, I want to thank you for entering my challenge. I hope you had fun writing this piece!

As for the actual story, I love it, really I do. I was really interested to see where you would take Alphard, because there is really very little known about him at all. I really like what you've done.

I loved reading from Alphard's point of view. I think the last few lines were incredibly wonderful, that very last one in particular. I think it perfectly sums up how many of the disowned Blacks would feel, so well done!

Thanks again for taking part in my challenge!

x Ely

Author's Response: I certainly did! But Thank you for posting this challenge!
I'm glad you like it! Yes, I had to wiki him to understand his character and there isn't much about him, but I think he obviously played such an important role in Sirius' life.

Thanks for the review ! =DD


 Report Review

Review #5, by MidnightBlue_xTime, Space, and Blunt Force Trauma: for old times' sake.

19th April 2014:
Hi, it's ElysiumJayne here!

Firstly, I'd like to thank you for entering my challenge. I hope you enjoyed it! Secondly, I know I said I couldn't accept this story as Sirius, but I just have to mention how amazingly you've written him. I've never read anything like this, and I really enjoyed it.

I know Bellatrix's part was only very small, but I liked seeing her from Sirius' view (well, sort of). I especially loved the nickname!

Once again, thank you for entering my challenge. I really think you did a wonderful job with this piece!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey Ely!

Thank you for this lovely review! I most certainly enjoyed participating in your challenge; I don't really know the Black family that well, and writing this fic certainly helped me learn a few more things about them - or at least Sirius. I'm glad you like the way I wrote Sirius!

Ah, yes, Bella's part is regrettably tiny. I wish I could've written a separate fic for her for this challenge, but I didn't have time, unfortunately. And I'm glad you like that rather silly nickname she had. It just seems so incongruous with her vicious character! I have to credit The Mistfit / apondinabluebox for the name 'Trixie'.

Thank you so much again, Ely! This was a wonderufl review to receive. :D

-teh


 Report Review

Review #6, by MidnightBlue_xHouse of Cards: Seven of Hearts

22nd March 2014:
Hi again!

So, firstly. Very mysterious in the first bit there, that makes me think that maybe my theory could be right? Or that could be something completely unrelated...I really have no idea!

Secondly, I absolutely loved the interaction between Bella and Sirius in this chapter. I love how there's obviously feelings of hatred between them, but there's also something else. I really liked seeing that, especially as I think most fics seem to disregard that they are, ultimately, still family.

Even though there isn't much in this chapter, I love the small little interactions between Barty and Regulus. I especially love how Sirius picks up on them and what he believes is going on. So good!

I think the story itself is progressing very nicely. I think developing the family dynamics are just as important as developing the mystery. Well done!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hi there - thanks so much for stopping by again! :)

Ooh, maybe ;) As I said, it is a brilliant theory! But unfortunately, I can't say anything, you understand!

Thanks! I'm so glad you liked it! I've always imagined that Bella and Sirius might have been relatively close when they were both younger, since I always thought they're pretty similar in character, in certain ways, and so I liked having them in a room together and sort of 'ganging up' together. They are family, and I think in a family-bloodline-obsessed pureblood society, that would count for a lot, you know?

Barty and Regulus... yeah, haha. Little things ;) Sirius is picking up on some things, but he really is a bit oblivious, poor boy :P

Gah, thank you so much! I'm really enjoying developing the family relationships and the way they all interact, because it's something which I find really interesting, and really fun to explore so I'm so glad you like it!

Thank you so much for the wonderful set of reviews - they are always so great to get! Thanks again! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by MidnightBlue_xHouse of Cards: Six of Diamonds

22nd March 2014:
I am completely terrible! Really, I am. I'm so sorry that there was such a gap between the last review and this one. I really have no excuse. I'm finally going to finish my reviews today though!

I know I say this every time but I really do love how to write Regulus and Barty. I love them in general, but I just...can't deal, when you write. That kinda sounds like I'm criticising you...what I mean is I love them so much that I can't even put it into words.

I still have absolutely no idea who the murderer is. I can't remember if I wrote this in my last review, but I have a feeling it might be someone outside of the current casts of characters. There's just something that gives me that feeling. As for who that might be, I have no idea.

I'm sorry this review is a little bit shorter and again, apologies for such a late review!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey there - and seriously, don't worry about it! It's not a problem at all - I completely understand! RL can be such a pain at times.

Gah, thank you so much! Haha, no worries - I love writing Regulus and Barty. They have this friendship and relationship which is so fun to write in this - like, they're so different, but somehow they get along.

Ooh, don't worry about that! I'd be devastated if you did, lol! That is a fabulous theory. I love it. No, genuinely, I do! It's amazing... the cast will be growing a little soon - in a couple of chapters, I think - so maybe that will answer your questions? ;)

It's fine - thank you so much for coming back and thank you so much for the lovely review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by MidnightBlue_xCivil Conversations: Civil Conversations

18th March 2014:
Hiii!

Sorry for the late review! I had read this a while back but I didn't get a chance to review it until now. Secondly, I want to thank you for entering my challenge!

I love this story, really I do. I absolutely love stories about Narcissa and Andromeda, especially after the war. I think you've written them very well, especially how Andromeda wouldn't forgive Narcissa immediately.

Thanks again for entering my challenge!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey, no big. Thank you for the review! And I'm really glad you like what I did with it.
~Lily


 Report Review

Review #9, by MidnightBlue_xBurning Flames: Burning Flames

18th March 2014:
Hi!

Sorry it took me so long to get to this. I had read this back when you first posted it but I didn't get the chance to review until now. Secondly, I'd like to thank you for entry my challenge (and for getting the piece done so quickly!)

I think you did really well writing this, especially since so little is known of Callidora. I would have liked to have seen a little more though, I really liked where you were going with the story!

Again, thank you so much for entering my challenge and sorry for the late review!

x Ely

Author's Response: No problem! I am glad that you liked it and maybe I will write a longer story sometime soon.

 Report Review

Review #10, by MidnightBlue_xRed Silk: A Failed Chai Exchange

8th March 2014:
I wasn't sure whether we were allowed to review our own entries so I never did, but I figured since you reviewed my chapter now that I'd go ahead and do it anyway.

NADIA!

You've been so nice to me, telling everyone that I did all this work and whatnot but you're lying. There is no possible way that I could have ever done this without you, there's no possible way that Gautam would be himself without you.

You are honestly the world's best partner. I couldn't have written something like this without you and so I'm incredibly thankful that I got to work with you. You definitely made this competition much more enjoyable for me than I ever could have expected.

I don't think I could ever say this enough but your chapter is wonderful. I know you said in your note that I bought Gautam to life and I have to disagree with you. It was you. You wrote him as this beautiful charming guy whom everyone just fell in love with, especially me. I just continued on with what you gave me. I did this with every part of my chapter, so technically it's half you.

Anyway, I'm so so glad that we got to work together for this. You're an amazing writer and a lovely person and I can't wait to work with you on some future projects ;)

I love you, my wonderful partner!!

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #11, by MidnightBlue_xHouse of Cards: Five of Spades

21st February 2014:
Sorry that this took a little bit longer than expected. With speed dating and real life, it all got a little crazy there. Anyway, I'm here to review these chapters for you today.

Usually, I sort of take notes for each review while I read, but I was so engrossed in the story that I didn't notice I hadn't written anything down until I'd finished the chapter. And this is probably my third or so reading of this chapter alone. I think that's evidence enough that your mystery is working. I don't really like trying to work out who the murderer is in stories because I think sometimes you can ruin it for yourself, but I don't even know who is innocent in this situation. Okay, so I can't imagine it being Narcissa, but who knows?

I love how you write Regulus. I think the fact that he is so disturbed by his aunt's body really suits him. I know he's close to the age of becoming a Death Eater here but I can't imagine him ever really being 'fine' with death. I think what you've written here supports that, and while others may think differently, I think that he's perfect here- after all, he is only a child. I still love the presence of Walburga and Orion, I especially like how they do care about Regulus in their own way. People often write them as being completely cold to everything, so it's nice to see them like this.

As for the pacing, I think this chapter and the story up to this point is fine. The story is only really starting at this point and going to quick would destroy the mystery of it all as would going to slow. I think at this point, the story still has a unsure tone to it- none of the characters really know what's going on, so the pace suits it perfectly.

I'll see you in the next review!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey - and no worries! I totally understand - speed dating was amazing! So many brilliant entries! :)

Ooh, cool - that's a good thing, right? :P Thank you so so much! I'm so glad you're confused (if that's not mean to say, haha) since it really helps. I'm honestly so terrible at knowing what people will get and what they won't put together, you know, so it really helps for you to say something like that!

Regulus is a child - I think that's a pretty significant thing when I write him here. He's fourteen/fifteen here, so he's close but he's still so young and naive and yeah, I can't imagine him ever just being fine with death either. Gah, yeah, I remember Sirius said in the books, or implied at least, that Regulus was Walburga's favourite, so I kinda played off of that in their relationship, and Orion does care, really, about both of his sons, he just really has no idea how to show emotion at all :P I'm glad you like them, though - they're strange but fascinating characters to write! :)

Thank you so much! I'm always so nervous about pacing because I know I'm just really slow, haha, and it's something I'm trying to improve on so it's so great to hear that I might be starting to succeed with that! :)

Thank you so so much for this! I always love receiving your reviews - they're such gems each time! Thank you! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by MidnightBlue_xmaybe, once.: maybe, once.

17th February 2014:
When I saw you were doing the speed dating as well, I was so excited because it meant I could read more of your stuff. I totally did not expect Barty/Reg, but I love this so much! This is like my head canon for House of Cards, at least where Barty and Reg are concerned.

But yes, I love this piece so so much. And I'm incredibly jealous of your ability to write Barty and Reg so well. Good luck with your entry!!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Gah, thanks so much! I was so excited to do it, too - particularly since so many good writers signed up for it!

Haha, ah, I love Barty/Reg as well - they're not necessarily a mainstream couple, as such, but they're so sweet and I really do ship them ;) As for House of Cards, ah, well, I do ship them, though that's all I can say! :) (But, theoretically, if this were to be linked to HoC, this would be afterwards, timeline-wise. Just sayin'!)

I'm so glad you liked it - I know it's a bit of a weird pairing and perhaps not the most usual idea for a Valentine's one-shot, haha, so it's so lovely to hear!

And it was doubly great that this was so unexpected - thank you so so much for this! :D

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by MidnightBlue_xDevlin Potter: Riddle and Rescue: The Informant

5th February 2014:
Hi there!

I saw your status about a review swap on the forums and I thought I'd give it a go. I've never actually done a review swap before, so we'll see how this goes!

Usually, I would never even consider reading something like this not necessarily because I don't think it but because I'm more of a Marauder era sort of girl. That being said, I did actually really enjoy reading this. It was interesting to see a son of Harry's and Voldemort interacting. I think in those particular scenes you could definitely see Harry's personality in Devlin.

It was different seeing Harry face off against the Death Eaters as an older man. I was so used to him being the reckless teenager that it was nice to read something a little bit different, but I liked how you could still see a bit of that recklessness in him especially when it comes to protecting his family. And Sirius- I could never not adore him so I was very, very happy to see him here.

It'll be interesting to see where the story goes from here and I'm definitely going to continue reading!

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #14, by MidnightBlue_xIn Sickness And In Health: Perseverance

5th February 2014:
So let's get started straight away.

I liked how this chapter carried on from the last- sure it's not the same day, but it was nice to see the mention of the letter from the last chapter. The fact that Hermione is struggling with writing a letter to Harry and Ron was very nice to read. Even though it is definitely not her fault, it's never easy getting back in contact with someone after a decent amount of time has passed. I think the fact you even included that is wonderful.

I'm already loving the development between Hermione and Draco. I especially loved the scene with the television- it definitely made me laugh. I think the fact that Ron is angry about Hermione's situation immediately without even bothering to get the full story is so very him. Especially as Harry is a bit more willing to accept what's happening. I personally don't think you have to worry about them being in character, I think you've written them very well.

As for the flow, I don't think there is anything majorly wrong. I'd suggest maybe stretching out the scene with Harry and Ron a bit more- like I said in my last review, maybe a little bit more description. Perhaps you could have Hermione brew some tea while she talks to them or something. That's just my personal opinion though!

I can't wait to see Pansy and Blaise (in the next chapter, I assume) especially how they are going to interact with Hermione. I hope I haven't scared you away with my slowness, and I hope you can re-request sometime in the future.

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #15, by MidnightBlue_xIn Sickness And In Health: Healing in Hell?

5th February 2014:
Hi, this is ElysiumJayne here to finish your review request.

Firstly, I want to apologise for how long it took me to get to this review. I feel so terrible for making you wait over a month for these reviews. So without further ado, I'll start on the actual reviews now.

I know that you asked about the dialogue- I think that it's quite well done, the only thing I'd suggest would be to maybe add some descriptions in between some of the lines. Maybe Hermione taking note of some of her surroundings? Or a sudden sharp pain in her leg? I don't know, but something to just break it up a little. I don't think there is too much dialogue, but adding even just a few lines of description here and there would make it flow a little better, I think.

You also asked about the characterisation and reactions of Hermione and Draco. I think they were done very well. I especially liked how their reactions differed- Draco was sort of in a state where he refused to believe it while Hermione was clearly upset. I think it's very realistic that they would have these different reactions and the ones you chose seem very in-character to me. I'm excited to see how Harry and Ron respond to this.

Anyway, loved the chapter and I once again want to say sorry for taking such a long time to get this done. I'll see you in the next chapter.

x Ely

 Report Review

Review #16, by MidnightBlue_xEscaping the Acheron: The Chaser

5th February 2014:
Back again! I'm going to get started right away on the review.

I absolutely loved reading about the younger Weasleys. I couldn't even tell you who I liked the most in the scene- all of them were just brilliant and cute and I just can't pick. I admit, I totally wasn't expecting a scene like this but I love it so much. I think it's one of my favourites so far in the story. That being said, I loved the Quidditch game as well. Usually, I'm not the biggest fan of Quidditch matches in fics but I think you did really well with yours. It was short and sweet and I actually enjoyed reading it. I have to say, I loved Arthur in those bits- he's just brilliant.

I like how you switched back to 'present day', though I would suggest maybe putting a line break between the two times because for the first line or so it's a little bit confusing. Of course, it's up to you though. I liked seeing Angelina- I feel like she's a character that never really gets mentioned, so I really liked getting to know a little bit more about her. I really hope we get to see a bit more of her in future chapters (and that she gets better!)

Again, wonderful chapter and I apologise for taking so long to get to this. If I haven't scared you away with my slowness, then feel free to re-request!

x Ely

Author's Response: Thanks for the reviews!

I'm glad that you liked the bit with the young Weasleys. I loved writing it, they're so much fun.

That's a really good suggestion. I'm currently going through edits, and I'll make that change when I get to this chapter (ugh, editing is so difficult!)

I love Angelina!! She probably won't show up too too much in this one, but enough for me to not feel guilty.

Yay! I'm probably going to go re-request right now:D


 Report Review

Review #17, by MidnightBlue_xEscaping the Acheron: Birthday Surprises

5th February 2014:
Hi! This is ElysiumJayne from the forums here to do your reviews.

First of all, I want to sincerely apologise for the fact that it's taken me over a month to get to these reviews. To be quite honest with you, I've just been incredibly lazy lately, especially where HPFF is concerned. I'm so sorry that I haven't gotten to these before now, but let's get started on those reviews anyway.

I have to say, I've actually really missed reading your story and I didn't even notice how much until I started reading again. I think the story and your writing style is very easy to slip into and it's very enjoyable to read. I absolutely adore how you write Hermione and Neville and all the others. I'm really interested to see how things are going to progress for each of them from here. I'm especially interested to see where you take things with Jeremy, I sense that he might become more important alter on? I might be wrong, though.

Anyway, this was a really nice and simple chapter- I liked it. I can't wait to see what's going to happen next! Sorry again for taking such a ridiculously long time to get to this!

x Ely

Author's Response: Don't worry about the delay! I'd honestly forgotten about them, so this was a nice surprise:) And I'm also incredibly lazy. Almost all my requested reviews start with some form of "sorry I took so long".

Things... well things will progress:). I'm glad you like Neville!

Jeremy is important:) I wouldn't've introduced him if he wasn't ;)


 Report Review

Review #18, by MidnightBlue_xSweet Madness: Cauldrons and Cheese

4th February 2014:
Hello There, this is ElysiumJayne from the forums here to review this chapter for my challenge.

First of all, I'd like to thank you for entering my challenge. I hope you're enjoying it so far. Now, onto the actually review! I have to admit this was not what I was expecting at all- I had in my mind that the entries I would get would be all very serious (excuse the pun) but I'm so happy to see that my first entry is as much fun as this is.

I think the little introduction from Snape's point of view was very well done. It's not often that Snape really gets a voice in Marauder centric fics. I can't wait to see where you go with the Marauders themselves though- it'll be interesting to see how Snape's big plan is going to affect them all.

All in all, this chapter was very interesting and mysterious. I can't wait to see more and I wish you good luck!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hi Ely! So sorry it took me so long to respond - I swear I usually answer reviews immediately!

Thank you so much for stopping by! And thank YOU for creating the challenge! I'm having loads of fun with this story :D
I almost went for a serious (love the pun, I'll be using it if you don't mind^^) but as I started adding elements of things going wrong for Reebee's Challenge, I got crazy carried away and it turned into mad fluff ^^

I'm glad you liked Snape; he's often underrated sometimes and has so much potential as a villain that's not really evil :D
I'm really enjoying writing about the Marauders, especially since Sirius is my favorite^^

Thanks again for stopping by and for creating the challenge!!
The second chapter will be up soon ^^


 Report Review

Review #19, by MidnightBlue_xThe Girl from Slytherin : The Future

12th January 2014:
I just love Tor and Terry so much. I can't wait to see how things progress for them. I loved seeing Michael and Anthony too- I really liked seeing how they interacted with Tor. I'm so excited to read on!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hi! :)

Aw, I'm so glad you like them! :D I'm very happy they're back together. It's also great to know that you liked the Ravenclaw boys as well: they're a riot to write and imagine and get along quite well with Tor. :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :D I'm so happy you enjoyed the chapter!


 Report Review

Review #20, by MidnightBlue_xA Melancholy Melody: Cold Shoulder

22nd December 2013:
Hi, this is ElysiumJayne from the forums here to fulfill your request for you. I'm not usually a big Next Gen fan either and I'm also writing one currently, so I understand the difficulties you might be facing.

I already like Allie as a character- she was not at all what I was expecting. I think I've sort of come to expect crazy OC's when it comes to Next Gen in particular, so Allie really was a breath of fresh air for me. I liked hearing about her backstory- even though there was obviously the whole thing with Ethan, I feel like there's more to why Allie is so against love. Maybe, there isn't but either way, I'm excited to read more about it.

I loved your characterisation of Albus- he sort of reminds me of like a cute little brother (if brothers can be cute). I'm really excited to see more of James. It seems like you've written him more of a sweet sort of guy rather than the cocky attitude that people usually give him. I think it'll be interesting to see some real interaction between James and Allie.

I really like your writing style- I think that you aren't trying too hard, and it makes the whole chapter flow really nicely. I can't wait to see where you're going with the story!

I hope this review helped in some way and please feel free to re-request.

x Ely

Author's Response: Hi! Glad to know you found Allie likeable :) Actually, there's more, but that will be revealed on later chapters. And don't you worry, they'll interact in the next chapter, yay! :)

Thank you so much for your nice review! It really motivates me to keep writing! I'll be sure to re-request when the next chapter is posted! :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by MidnightBlue_xSticks and Stones: This Means War...or Friendship

22nd December 2013:
Hi! Thank you so much for re-requesting a review from me. I'm excited to see where this chapter goes.

I instantly liked the interaction between Mason and James. I wasn't so sure of them in the first chapter/prologue, but now I've grown to like them as characters. Their friendship sort of reminds me of James and Sirius a little, but I think they've got their own personality and whatnot as well, which I think is very important. I loved seeing the interactions between the Potter family, especially the sort of brotherly interaction between James and Al.

I don't usually correct spelling, but I did notice that you wrote 'Countess times' instead of 'Countless'. Other than that, I didn't really pick anything up.

All in all, I loved this chapter. Honestly, I think you definitely approved on the first one. I loved Pippa even more in this chapter- I think she's definitely a character that you can go places with. She's got more than one side to her which is always very good. I'm interested to see how the friendship between James and her will develop over the story, and I can't wait to see where the plot is going to go from here.

I hope this review helped you in some way. Thank you for re-requesting, and feel free to do so again in the future.

x Ely

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thank u for the sweet review! I do love your reviews!

Thanks so much!! I love James and Mason! They sort of are based off James and Sirius! Except, you know, next gen :)thanks so much! Don't you lie bromance?

Ah, grammar and syntax, I totally need to work on that!

Thanks so muh! Pippa is definitely one of my favourite characters to write! Yeah, James and her relationship is definitely like a roller coaster! :)

Thanks so much! Total confidence booster with this story! :) thanks I will! :D



 Report Review

Review #22, by MidnightBlue_xEscaping the Acheron: Finding a Place to Sleep

22nd December 2013:
Okay, third and final review time. Of course, feel free to re-request more reviews, if you would like to.

I had a feeling that this chapter would revolve around Harry, or at least I was hoping it would. After the mentions he got in the last few chapters, I was really interested to see what he'd been up to. I like how Harry wasn't just throwing his life away because of the battle, but because he was scared. The fact that he still sees and feels Voldemort would have been terrifying to him, especially after everyone he lost. As much as I disliked it, I could see why he was acting the way he was. I think the fact that he's still tortured by all of it is incredibly realistic- sometimes I feel like people don't express the pain he would have felt, so I'm very glad that you did.

It was really interesting to see this side of Harry. I think he's darker here that almost any other time we saw him in the books. I think you handled it very well. Again, I still think there are maybe parts you could any more description too. Especially the part where he thought he saw Ginny- with a bit more description you could really show the panic that Harry would be feeling. I think that would make this chapter better and would help the reader understand a bit more. Of course, that's just my opinion.

I hope these reviews helped you in some way and please feel free to re-request!

x Ely

Author's Response: I've said it before, but thank you for the reviews! Feedback is so nice to get! Harry is difficult for me... It took me a long time to write this chapter, but it could definitely use an over-haul. I've always been surprised that Harry never really hit a breaking point after all he's been through... I guess this is his breaking point.

Thanks for the suggestion about the dream/hallucination thing. I'll take that into consideration when I eventually get around to going through an editing process.

I'll be bugging you for more reviews soon:)
Thank you, once again!


 Report Review

Review #23, by MidnightBlue_xEscaping the Acheron: Unexpected

22nd December 2013:
And here I am! Back with your second review. Let's get to it straight away.

The moment I read the first line of this chapter, I was very happy. I was really hoping we'd get to see some Hermione as well as Ron. I really like reading about the different lives that the Golden Trio are living after the War- I love seeing how they all cope with it differently. I feel so sorry for Ginny. I understand that Harry would want time to recover, but I really hope he sucks it up soon. I like how Hermione is still upset by all the deaths she saw. I think it's especially important that she feels sorry for Lavender, even after the whole thing with Ron. That definitely struck me as being very Hermione-like.

Like in the previous chapter, I'd like seeing some of the more minor characters too. I'm hoping that we do get to see a lot more of them in future chapters. I'm still really enjoying the story- I absolutely loved hearing from Hermione's point of view. I'm especially interested about the rebuilding of the castle, I like how the students are getting the chance to participate. That seems like a very Hogwarts thing to me.

I'm sorry this one is a little bit shorter than the last one- I didn't want to repeat myself too much. Now, onto my final review.

x Ely

Author's Response: Thank you for coping with my triple-request! I don't mind that it's short, I'd rather that than just rambling. I'm trying to fit in minor characters (they're some of my favorites!), but I always have trouble writing them. Like Luna - I struggle writing her even though I adore her! That's absolutely something that I need to work on. The rebuilding of the castle is sort of pushed aside for a bit, but it comes back into play in a major way later in the novel :). Thanks again for the reviews.

 Report Review

Review #24, by MidnightBlue_xEscaping the Acheron: The Shopkeeper

22nd December 2013:
Hi, this is ElysiumJayne from the forums here with the reviews you requested! Sorry that this took me a little bit longer to get to than I thought it would. Anyway, on with the reviews!

I don't usually read in this era, thought it is something I enjoy. In most of the ones I've read, they usually focus entirely on Hermione or Harry, and while I'm not the biggest fan of Ron- I actually enjoyed reading about him here. I love how he doesn't advertise who he is/what he's done etc. I think that's much more in character for Ron than the alternative. I love how you've written George, he's got his usual cheekiness but it was nice to see how the loss of Fred was affecting him. The fact that he was so worried about losing his business was very realistic in my mind- it was nice to see him in a different light. I think the part of the mirror was particularly powerful.

I think you wrote all the other characters brilliantly. I particularly loved Molly and Fleur who I love the little sort of tension between. I was especially happy to see Andromeda and little Teddy- they are two of my favourite characters and I loved seeing them included.

Moving on from the characters now- you asked about the plot. I think that it was very enjoyable to read. I actually enjoyed reading about Ron which isn't usually something I can say. I'm looking forward to reading the next chapters. My only real suggestion is that there are a few parts that could do with a little bit more description added to- there were parts that seemed to go very quickly that maybe needed a bit more attention.

I'll start on your next review now, see you then!

x Ely

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! You took a fine amount of time, don't worry (I have a review thread, I know). I love Ron. I don't know why, but I really love him, and who I think he'd grow up to be. I'm glad that you think the characters are written believably, I find it hard to find a balance. Obviously, they'd change. Not only from age, but because of what they all went through, but they wouldn't be completely different people. I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. I agree that I could use some more description (I'm such a hypocrite, I almost always say that when I review people). Thanks again, I look forward to reading the other reviews!

 Report Review

Review #25, by MidnightBlue_xIn Sickness And In Health: The Battle

22nd December 2013:
Hi there! This is ElysiumJayne from over at the forums and I'm here to fulfil your request. Before I get started with the actual review there are a few things I'd like to say. Firstly, I'm sorry this review took a little longer than I expected to get to, usually I do them almost straight away but with Christmas upon us I've been busy than I thought. Secondly, this isn't mention on my original post, but I review three chapters for each request. So I'm going to review the first three with this request and then you can re-request for any more, if you wish to do so. Anyway, let's get started.

You said you were worried as to whether the story seemed rushed with the battle happening straight away. Personally, I think this makes the story much more enjoyable. Draco and Hermione are canon characters and despite this being a bit AU, we know the basics of what they think about the war and what they're doing etc. Because of this, I think going straight into the battle is the best thing you could have done. Otherwise, I feel like the story might have dragged too much and that your readers would lose interest. The battle makes it exciting, fast-paced, interesting etc.

Another thing you mentioned was characterisation- I don't really read much about these two, but I think the fact that Hermione sort of agreed to Draco being there but was also a bit hesitant was perfect. I can't imagine her being 100% supportive of either decision, but her being sort of 50/50 is more like her in my opinion. Obviously, there isn't much Draco in this chapter but what we did see of him was pretty believable.

Finally, description wise- it's pretty good. I know how difficult it can be to write battle scenes, especially the final battle but I think you did a good job. The only thing I'd suggest is to maybe extend that last passage a little, I think you could add a little bit more onto that which would really benefit the story- you know, add a little bit more drama and whatnot. I'll leave this review at that so I can start on the next one!

x Ely

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>