Reading Reviews From Member: bostongurll33
  
36 Reviews Found

Review #1, by bostongurll33Over The Edge: Chapter Seven: Hugo Weasley

25th July 2012:
As always, this was incredibly descriptive and so easy to enjoy. I love diving into Rose's thoughts and seeing the updated Wizarding world through her eyes. She's so relatable and seems like someone I would truly want to befriend.

I'm really excited to hear Ron and Hermione's reaction to their daughter working with Krum--it should definitely be interesting. Please do keep up the good work, this story truly just gets better and better as it goes on! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you are enjoying it. I have to admit, I'm really excited to WRITE Ron and Hermione's reaction. I'm working on the next chapter this afternoon. I hope you continue to like the story. Thanks for the R&R.

 Report Review

Review #2, by bostongurll33Over The Edge: Chapter One: Prologue: The Man In The Suit

13th June 2012:
This story seems to have loads of promise. It's really intrigued me, enough to where I just had to leave behind a review. Please keep writing, so I won't be left wondering what on Earth is going on. Wonderful job, 10/10!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you, boston. I just posted the next chapter. I hope it doesn't disappoint.

 Report Review

Review #3, by bostongurll33Finally Got It Right: Part Four

23rd February 2011:
You know, your writing really is beautiful. I know, it sounds rather cliched, but your words just flow so musically, I can't help but continue to read your writing. I've become completely drawn into this story, and I can't wait for your next update. Definitely a 10/10.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate you saying that. (: Next chapter is up now, if you'd like to give it a read.

 Report Review

Review #4, by bostongurll33The Morning Waffle: People Who Actually Get Paid to Do What They Do

23rd February 2011:
I have to say, everytime I read your story, it really does make me smile and laugh. Your humor is amazing, and I love all of your characters in this story, especially James and Fred. This was wonderful, as always, and I can hardly wait for your next update :)

Author's Response: Thank you!! :-)

 Report Review

Review #5, by bostongurll33Crush: My Obsession

30th January 2011:
I love this story already! I really wish that you had more chapters, lol, so I could figure out what happens next. You've done a wonderful job introducing your main character, and she already seems very likable--what is her name, if you don't mind me asking? I'm not sure if you mentioned it yet, or if you purposefully didn't put in her name.

But, this is an awesome beginning to this story, and I can hardly wait for more. :)

Author's Response: Ah, thanks! I was afraid no one was going to like this, haha. Her name appears in the next chapter, which I will put up right after my other story is validated. I DID originally not put her name in there for a reason (you know... to add an air of mystery to the story) but then decided it was stupid, haha. I should actually go back and put her name somewhere in the first chapter... Maybe I will when I'm not feeling so lazy :P

 Report Review

Review #6, by bostongurll33Forbidden Regrets: Wedding Bells

16th January 2011:
Oh, this is such a lovely story. I love how you portrayed Ron--he's perfectly canon, as is Hermione. I just read this whole story in a couple of hours, and I couldn't turn away from it, haha. The plot is very intriguing, and now I'm very impatient for the next chapter, lol. I caught a few spelling and grammer mistakes, but it's nothing you should worry about too much.

Definitely one of my favorites now (:

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :) I know there are a few spelling/grammar mistakes; everytime I reread I find something. After its finished, I'm going to probably go back and give everything another edit. Thanks for the review, it made me smile!

 Report Review

Review #7, by bostongurll33Whispers of Yesterday: Whispers of Yesterday

12th January 2011:
So, here is my other review. I just finished reading this, and I'm not sure which story I liked most, your prequel or this one. This one was just as lovely, but so much more sad that I could easily feel the genuine emotions from Sirius and Dorcas. You gave just enough information to make the reader understand what happened, but witheld enough to make me want to read so much more. Once again, you've done a lovely job, and this is one of my favorite Sirius/OC one-shots, honestly. Wonderful job!

Author's Response: Wow, I didn't actually expect you to read any of my other work. Thanks so much, two in one day - this has put me in such a good mood!

The writing style in this is different to that of Things Left Unsaid. This was more emotionally charged while Things Left Unsaid was more just me having a bit of fun. I'm glad that you could feel the emotions from Sirius and Dorcas in this, though - I struggled with them and it's always nice to know that a reader could understand what I was trying to portray.

To be honest, I'm not entirely sure myself why Sirius and Dorcas are in this situation. I originally had an entire backstory to this but then decided to cut it all out because it wasn't working. I like the intrigue and mystery, and I'm glad that you did, too!

This is your favourite Sirius/OC one-shot? I can't believe that. Thank you so much for saying that! I know that there are definitely better ones out there than this, so that is such a huge compliment. (Just to let you know, Dorcas Meadowes is actually a canon character, though).

Thanks so much for this review!

Joop :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by bostongurll33Things Left Unsaid: Things Left Unsaid

12th January 2011:
Oh, wow. This was totally amazing. I, unfortunately, have been in the same position as Dorcas, and I know exactly how she feels in this story. Your depiction of her is flawless, and it is so refreshing to read a one-shot like this that doesn't have some sort of drastic happy-ending. Your grammer was wonderful, as was your word-choice; to be honest, it was pretty much perfect. I'll be going to read your other stories right now, so expect to see some more reviews. :)

Author's Response: I've also been in her position, haven't we all? I had a lot of fun revisiting my younger self in this and remembering what it's like to stare at someone with longing.

Dorcas and Sirius may get their happy ending if I choose to write their story. I don't know if I will, but it was certainly not planned for this. I'm glad that you liked that it didn't have a happy ending. I don't like it when happy endings are squished into the last paragraphs of a one-shot and I'm just glad that the somewhat lack of plot in this wasn't too horrible to read!

I'm thrilled at your praise. I don't know about it being "pretty much perfect" but I certainly enjoyed writing it and it's nice to know that you enjoyed reading it! My use of parentheses in this was an experiment and I think my writing style is quite different in this to what I normally write. I was a little worried about grammar in that regard, so it's a relief to know that it all worked!

You really are too kind!

Thanks so much for your review,
Joop :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by bostongurll33Over My Head: Over My Head

8th January 2011:
This was incredibly realistic and creative. I love the characters and how you made them all rather likable--well, except for Wesley of course. It's very lovely, and I hope you can post up a second chapter to this story soon!

Author's Response: I hope so as well! Right now the plot is still a bit tentative but I certainly enjoy working with these characters again!

Thanks for taking the time to review :)

~TFM


 Report Review

Review #10, by bostongurll33North and South: Due

14th March 2010:
I'm so sorry that I took forever with this review. School has been driving me absolutely insane, and we just lost power again last night, which messed me all up. But, anyways, back to our lovely story here. You said your main concern was length, and I have to say that I would like it a bit more if you did add some more length. But, since you say that it needs to be a bit short, I think it works well. So I wouldn't be too overly concerned about that, my dear.

As for your grammer, it was spectactular; I couldn't find a single issue, so you get two thumbs up for that. I also loved your word choice, and the descriptions you used. They painted a marvelous picture, and I couldn't stop reading them. I think my favorite part was when you mentioned Andromeda's "controlled ivory mask" since it flowed so nicely. You are definitely a great writer, and you've got a good story going here. I'll definitely keep reading as soon as I get a chance. :)

Author's Response: Hey, don't worry about it hon, real life is busymaking and uncontrollable!
I am trying to make chapters a bit longer: not too much, but more substantial.

Ooh good, despite the fact I used to be an english major, my grammer can be wretched >_<

I can't help drowning in description, but I'm glad you liked it! Thankyou so much for a truly lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by bostongurll33Prisoner of Hope: Forbidden Colors

7th March 2010:
Okay, I'll admit, I was a bit apprehensive when I first started reading this story. It was different from what I was used to, especially since it was focused on Moody, which is extremely rare. But, I have to say, what I read was fantastic. Your writing was flawless, and the way you depicted Moody in the past and the present was very drawing, since there is a huge difference between the two. So, I'll start off with Moody in the past, then. His relationship with Dumbledore is very unique; most stories I've read have Dumbledore and whatever character being very close and having a normal relationship. But, with Moody and Dumbledore, I really liked how Dumbledore seemed to be an actual teacher, and actually punished Moody for what he felt was right. So, I'm very happy with that.

Now, Minerva and Moody. I didn't see much, since I just read the first three chapters, so I can't be too critical about that. But, I really found myself liking Minerva--she is one of my favorites, so I'm a bit biased--since she wasn't obsessed with Moody like most of the girls seemed to be, and she had the personality that I would expect when she was a young girl. And her working as the nurse was a great idea too, since it gave an interesting meeting between Minerva and Moody.

And, now we come to Druella and Moody. Now, I found her a bit annoying for some reason, just from the way she acted with Moody, and how she called him "Allie" and everything. But, that's probably because I'm not a big fan of nicknames. :) But, her secret relationship with Moody was really interesting, especially since she's supposed to get married to Abraxas Malfoy, right? Sorry, I don't know too much about the time before the Marauders :) But, yeah, I'll probably have to read more to get more of her personality, since all I got was a small sample.

So, the overall story: I really, really enjoyed it. Your scene with Moody and the giant was very detailed, but not so much that I get bored and want to skip right through it, you know? And that's really good if you're going to write about Moody, since he's got a lot of action in his life, yeah? ;) It definitely is one that I'll have to read more of when I have the time. Great job, hun! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the great review.

I'm glad I could coax you over to the dark side. Come back and check in on Moody sometime. He's going to have a rough go of it I imagine. ;p


 Report Review

Review #12, by bostongurll33What It Is To Burn: Stuttering

6th March 2010:
Wow. I've seen this story around for a while, but I never got a chance to read it until now. First off, your main character, Eleanor, was really fascinating. I found how she's really quiet and unnoticed, and just the way her mind worked(especially the voices in her head, which made me laugh so much) really original. She's definitely not a Mary-Sue, and her flaws were written perfectly by you. I also like how you made her really easy to relate to(being clumsy, awkward, etc.), which is pretty rare with some of the characters these days, you know?

As for her relationships with Remus and Sirius, I really enjoyed the contrasts between the two. Her relationship with Remus was very normal and easy, while everything with Sirius was very unnormal, if that makes sense, haha. I'll admit, I was definitely rooting for Sirius throughout the story, just because I'm completely biases since he's my favorite character. But, you still managed to make Remus likable and someone that you actually pity at the end, since he ended up having his heart broken, and yet was so...good about it, really.

So, to make a long story short, I completely, utterly loved it. This is one of the best Sirius/OC stories I've read in a long time, and I'm very happy I read it. Excellent job, my dear! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by bostongurll33Ask Lily: About A Girl

25th February 2010:
okay, your lily has to be one of my favorites. i loved her rant on a woman's world. and i absolutely agree with her--men are all pains in the butt, and it would be so much easier. lily is definitely a likeable character, and one that doesn't annoy me to no end. and, believe me, that's quite rare :)

as for your use of marlene and mary, i'm really happy that you brought them into the story. i've always been interested in what marlene, mary, and dorcas were all like when they were in school. and the relationship between marlene and sirius is really fascinating--i just have to say, they'd make a cute couple. and i hope mary's relationship with chuck is in this more too; it could definitely get interesting, especially if chuck turns out to be a jerk.

overall, a really great chapter, and i can't wait for the next chapter. :)

Author's Response: I'm so happy that you like Lily. I hope she doesn't get annoying with all the moaning she does. I try and make her funny and sarcastic and I hope it's working :)

I'm trying to stick to canon which is why I'm using Marlene and Mary instead of two random OCs I made up. Marlene and Sirius are funny to write because they annoy each other so much. Mary and Chuck... he's actually quite important in the story, especially in later chapters.

Thank you for the review!
x


 Report Review

Review #14, by bostongurll33All Together Now: Sweets, Treats and Injured Feet

24th February 2010:
oh god, poor davey. he's just so sweet, and iris is probably eventually going to hurt him. i'm sure this sounds weird, but i'm almost hoping that he and gwen get together. and the party is definitely going to be interesting, i'm sure. another great chapter, and i'm really excited for the next. lovely job, dear! :)

Author's Response: That he is, and the poor kid just can't understand that maybe Iris doesn't like him back. Meanwhile Iris is trying to be as polite as she can about it, but it's difficult to be mean to a Hufflepuff!

Huh, that's a weird pairing... I never really thought about it, but that's quite a good suggestion actually!

Well, hopefully the party will be interesting, but it's not going to be in the next couple of chapters unfortunately. No, I have to build up tension first :D

Thanks so very much for reviewing my love!


 Report Review

Review #15, by bostongurll33According to Plan: Fun with Flobberworms

19th February 2010:
lol, i loved this chapter. the whole flobberworm mucus fight scene was really adorable, albeit slightly gross :) i love how this story is turning out, and i'm really happy with how fast you updated. excellent job as always!

Author's Response: haha, thank you! i'm glad you liked it. i quite like that scene myself. :)
thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by bostongurll33Just Ordinary: Poison Ivy

16th February 2010:
hmm, ivy seems.interesting. i dunno, i think i'm with laney on this one--she just seems a bit...off. like kind of fake or something. lol, and, laney's right--daniel is really weird. overall, great chapter, and i totally adored the albus/laney conversation. and how she flipped out when she used the word "neat". can't wait for the next chapter! (:

Author's Response: Hello there!

She does, doesn't she? I love writing Ivy because she has this sort of mysterious element to her...it's entertaining, I believe! And I'm happy you noticed how odd Daniel is! He is a strange one...

Thank you so much for the fabulous review!!

cheers, ash


 Report Review

Review #17, by bostongurll33It's Never That Simple: Introduction

15th February 2010:
hmm, this is a very curious beginning. i like how you didn't give too much away, and left me wanting more. i'll definitely keep my eye out for updates. nice start! (:

Author's Response: sorry it took so long to respond. thanks for reviewing, it is HUGELY appreciated. have posted a new chapter, it's validating now. it's short, but i will write more soon. 3rd year at uni is HECTIC. anyway. please review again, your thoughts mean a lot!

 Report Review

Review #18, by bostongurll33Game, Set, Match: Game, Set, Match

14th February 2010:
wow, your writing is incredible. i'll admit, i was a bit skeptical because of how different this story is compared to most that i read, and the fact that it was so far back in the past, but because of the way that your writing flows, and how incredible your characters are, i was blown away by this story. the passion between alberta and samuel was so...real and fascinating, that i had no choice but to continue reading. just.brilliant, hun! (:

Author's Response: Thankyou so much both for reading and for leaving such a lovely review! Always fun to hear from new readers!

I don't expect this to be too popular because of the era/OCs, but I loved writing it, and I'm very happy you enjoyed it!
I was definitely trying for some passion here, so hearing that description is huge relief!
Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #19, by bostongurll33All Together Now: Iris In Wonderland

14th February 2010:
oh boy, this'll be interesting. lol, i love iris' reaction to this. poor davey, i knew that was coming eventually, but this was definitely the most random way for him to do it (: amusing chapter, and i can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Haha yes, poor Davey! He should really learn when it's appropriate to ask someone out (preferably not when they've just taken a big gulp of their drink). Thanks so much for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by bostongurll33Conventional Wisdom: Toeing The Line

13th February 2010:
oh god, please, update soon. this story is completely addicting, and i got through the entire thing in about two hours. no matter, i adore mara's personality, and albus is definitely my favorite with his inappropriate jokes (: brilliant as always!

 Report Review

Review #21, by bostongurll33Always: I.

13th February 2010:
okay, this is was absolutely adorable. i loved the last sentance of this, it practically gave me shivers. of course, i'm a hopeless romantic, so i'm sure that didn't help much (: i always love your stories, and this one is no different. absolutely amazing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by bostongurll33Never Let Go: Promise

13th February 2010:
i really liked how you portrayed neville. the entire moment with him and hannah was just really sweet. brilliant job, dear! (:

Author's Response: Thank you! I really wanted to show Neville in a different light, but still keep some of his old... Neville-ness as well. Ah, well, what's done is done. Thanks for the lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed reading :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by bostongurll33Brotherhood: The Inner Workings of a Male's Mind

13th February 2010:
aww, these two are totally adorable. i love the albus and sharon together--it's just a really sweet couple. your writing is really impressive, and i just can't get enough of those two! can't wait for the next chapter! (:

Author's Response: Thanks. This isn't supposed to be a big, meaningful story; "adorable" is definitely what I'm aiming for. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by bostongurll33Whimsical Matchmaker: Wayward

13th February 2010:
ooh, i wonder what rose realized. this is a really cool story, and it's a really fun, original idea. great job, and i can't wait for your next update!

 Report Review

Review #25, by bostongurll33Why Not?: A Leap of Faith

10th February 2010:
aww, this was a really sweet chapter. this is a bit different to the stories that i normally read, but it's really fascinating, and i adore finn and molly. they're just really cute together. can't wait for the next chapter! (:

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you're enjoying the story so far!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>