Reading Reviews From Member: propertyoftheHBP
  
285 Reviews Found

Review #1, by propertyoftheHBPRed or Auburn?: Red or Auburn?

22nd August 2010:
Aww, this was so cute! The color of her hair is a very stupid thing to fight over, to be honest, but I can definitely see James and Lily being stupid enough to fight over it. xD Of course it would be something that small to make her storm out of class--I loved that part! The dialogue between James and Lily was really good, especially in the end, out on the grounds. And I loved that part, when they were out with the leaves--which were a nice touch, by the way--it was so sweet and cute. James/Lily fluff usually isn't my favorite kind of story, but I really loved this. *hearts* It was a great piece, fantastic job! [Oh, and now I've reviewed all of your pieces. ;)]

Author's Response: Haha, yes, Lily and James do fight over the most stupid things. He's such a sweet boy, isn't he? I'm so glad you love this piece -- it was my first one-shot and I forgot about it for a while. xD So happy you love it! And haha, yes, you have reviewed all of them! A sticker for you! :D Thank you so much for leaving your reviews!! They always bright up my day.

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #2, by propertyoftheHBPThe Wounded Moon: a wayward dream

22nd August 2010:
This is beautiful. The description throughout was lovely and flowery, and I mean that in no way but the best. I loved the way it was broken up into three parts, and each flowed perfectly into one another, making just perfect sense. Though I loved every single sentence, my favorite part would have to be the last paragraph, especially the line "Her name is the shadow of a star, the shedding of a petal, the perfection of ice." And the "Helena, Helena" following just gave me shivers and chills up my spine. This was eerie, beautiful, perfect, and everything else all in one. I absolutely loved it, an easy 10/10.

 Report Review

Review #3, by propertyoftheHBPAloof as a Bard: Drab as a Fool

22nd August 2010:
I honestly have no clue who this is. I'm thinking Remus or Percy, for some reason...but maybe James II or Albus II? But I like the mysteriousness of it, I think the way it is now is much better than if the main character had been spelled out. I really liked the parentheses in the beginning, too, and I found it (probably because of their content) slightly humorous. And your style of writing in this was so incredibly poetic; it was easily my favorite part, the way everything just flowed. It was beautiful, to put it simply. I really liked this, you did a great job! :-)

Author's Response: Percy it is. :-) It has been really interesting, seeing people's guesses as to the character. Most have been correct, and a few have been very unexpected. You're not the first to guess James II, which is interesting to me!

I appreciate all of your wonderful comments. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by propertyoftheHBPVeela: Monster

22nd August 2010:
Ugh, Beauxbatons sounds like Umbridge in their Dark Magic approach...but I can easily believe it. It was so...creepy when Fleur let loose on that Death Eater, but that part especially was written so well. She really did seem like a monster, being so ruthless to him like that, even if he was a Death Eater. Then her remorse after was so sad, but it was perfect for her character.

It's also so sad to think that Remus died because he was helping someone else out like that, but it's likely how he went. And then Tonks following...I really liked Fleur's "That shouldn't matter compared to the fact that she's dead, but it does, because she should have at least been able to keep that much," line, it was heartbreaking but I loved how Fleur accepted Tonks and her outlandish appearance at least once.

This is a great story! I'm really enjoying it so far, everything great. I'll be keeping an eye out for updates! :]

Author's Response: I didn't think about that! Haha, it's not QUITE to the point that Umbridge took it, but I don't think they'd have thought it "proper" to teach young students things like Unforgivables. The scene where Fleur attacks the Death Eater was influenced by the scene in GoF when the Veelas at the World Cup throw their little temper tantrum; I'm glad you liked it!

Remus and Tonks... their deaths always make me sad when I think about it, yet it's hard to fully accept it since we didn't see it happen. I just had to write it in, for closure, I guess.

I'm working on chapter seven now (although it's being a pain :P). Thank you so much for all the wonderful reviews!

Sami


 Report Review

Review #5, by propertyoftheHBPVeela: Silver

22nd August 2010:
Firstly, I loved the lyrics from The Phantom of the Opera in the beginning. I absolutely love the show and that particular song, and it fit perfectly with the opening mood of this chapter.

I loved the lines: "It hides that which should shine. Maybe, in moments of extreme Veelality (not vanity, never vanity) I was more upset that others could not see me than that I could not see anything else". They just fit so perfectly, and it's the essence of Fleur's character, they were definitely my favorite of the chapter.

I really liked Kingsley's speech in the end of the chapter, as well. While I'm not sure if they'd all be in one place together before going out as soon as they could, I really do like the idea and it was a very "Aww"-togetherness moment. :)

I'm off to the next chapter! :D

Author's Response: Ooh, Phantom of the Opera is one of my favorite musicals/movies of all time! Those lyrics came to mind while I was trying to think of something fitting, I'm glad you liked it!

I'm not sure how quick they all left once they got through to the Room of Requirement -- the actual fight took a little while to get started because all the Death Eaters had to arrive (unless I'm making this up, which could be xD). In any case, it was a fun moment to write, and I'm glad you liked it :).

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #6, by propertyoftheHBPVeela: Approaching

22nd August 2010:
Haha, I absolutely loved Molly in this chapter! I suspect that's very much how she would have reacted in canon--mollycoddling every "child" there. Even though the only person underage is Ginny, of course she still would have tried to stop Fred and George from fighting. I also like how you had all the Order members hold a little meeting before going into the castle. While, if I remember correctly, I don't think that Remus knew Tonks had went into battle before it was too late, if he knew it at all, it still worked and I liked the idea.

And I loved Fleur's "I don't approve of that girl. The way she always changes her appearance makes my head spin, even though it's easy enough to pick out the distinguishing features of her face," line. It's perfect for her character, and the way she's trying to hold it all in--with everyone--throughout the chapter is just great.

This was another great chapter, good job! :-)

Author's Response: Haha, I love Molly! Maybe it's mostly because I love her method of parenting. Hmm.

I haven't read DH in so long, I don't even remember if Remus knew Tonks was there! All I can remember about her before she died was how she heard how someone had seen Remus dueling someone (or something...), and she left to find him. I don't remember anything before that, so you might be right.

Your reviews are all very kind and helpful! It's good to have these things pointed out to me, as I'd like for this story to remain canon.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by propertyoftheHBPVeela: Galleons

22nd August 2010:
This was another great chapter!

I loved Dean's "I'd rather die than live in a world ruled by You-Know-Who" line. It's a great glimpse into his character that we hardly ever get to see, and it was absolutely fitting. The abruptness of his and Luna's departure was great as well--they basically up-and-left, which I think is what they would have done in that situation.

And I love how Fleur was the one to initiate hers and Bill's going to Hogwarts. From all you've written of her, it fits perfectly with her character and the dialogue between her and Bill was great, too. (But I just noticed one little thing: I don't think that any of them would have been able to Disapparate that close to the house, as it's unlikely that Disapparation would be allowed there, for safety reasons. I think it would have been better to have them go to the perimiter of the property and then leave, but of course it's just my opinion.)

Again, great chapter! I really like this story so far. :)

Author's Response: I've been doing some minor-character exploration in this fic, which is actually my favorite part of writing it. I have a soft spot for Dean, and I think just about everyone has a soft spot for Luna!

You make an excellent point about Apparating! I wasn't thinking about it at the time, but you're right. Once I finish the fic, that's something I'll have to go back and fix. Thank you very much! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by propertyoftheHBPVeela: Imagine

22nd August 2010:
I really like your characterization of Fleur--I've only read a couple of oneshots about her in fanfic, so this is my first chaptered story about her, but she's consistent from the first chapter to this, which is always good. I only have one little comment to make--it's a bit distracting for me to read Fleur without an accent, which I know sounds odd, because usually it's distracting with an accent. It doesn't sound right in my head, though--I think that even cutting off the "h"s and maybe writing her "a"s more "ah"s would make it more authentic. I do get that accents are difficult to write, however, so I understand where you're coming from if you've purposely avoiding it.

I like the place in time that you picked to write this--right before the battle, and during it, Fleur is going to have to make a lot of self-adjustments, especially your Fleur, with her monsterish obsession of beauty and all. I really like how she's struggling to love Bill, and how she really does, she's just fighting the monster. Like I said in my last review, it's a really original take and I love it. :)

Author's Response: I haven't actually read too much Fleur fanfic myself, so I don't know much about how she is in other stories. =P There IS a reason I left out the accent, and it's not because I think it's too difficult. As it's first person from her perspective, she wouldn't hear an accent for herself, and I'm trying to write it how she would see it. I know it might be irritating (I get a bit distracted by it too, to be honest), but I don't think it would fit with first person. I do, however, try to use contractions in her speech to show that she's not AS comfortable with English.

Thank you for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by propertyoftheHBPVeela: Human

22nd August 2010:
Wow, I think that this is a great idea. Veelas can be very ugly (not in a literal sense) creatures, as seen by their display at the Quidditch Cup, and it only makes sense that they had some sort of permanant thing against humans. And I can definitely see Fleur trying her very best to rebel against it--I thought that the parts describing how she resisted it and how her mother and grandmother had an even worse time of it (which only makes sense, as they were more veela than she was) were great, especially. I think that this little "issue" would make her words to Molly in HBP about Bill even more genuine...because that's exactly what she would be thinking, that he's not beautiful enough, but she wouldn't truly feel that way.

I think this is a great idea! I'm curious as to where it will go--I'm definitely going to keep reading. ;)

Author's Response: The Quidditch scene was heavily in mind when I was trying to find supporting details to make this more plausible. The scene in HBP also features in the story =P

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by propertyoftheHBPHe did, eh?: He did, eh?

21st August 2010:
The thought of writing a forwards-backwards story scares me immensely, so kudos to you for even trying it. And you pulled it off wonderfully! Both ways work perfectly, each telling their own story. But I must admit, thought I loved them both, I liked it better reading it backwards. :P The scenario was great for this, and you wrote it so well. For some reason, though we see none of her teenage self in the books, I found Lily to be very in character. Hmm, the thought of her warbling a rock song is hilarious. I really liked this! You did a fantastic job. :)

Author's Response: Hola!

Thanks so much for the review! You know, almost everyone likes the backward version; I think its because he makes the right decision there and as humans we tend to appreciate that or something. :P I don't know, I'm making things up, but I do know that I"m really glad you enjoyed the story so much and thought it flowed so well! And that you liked my characterization of Lily!

And I reiterate, that it was difficult to write, but not impossible. And everyone should try it!

Thanks again!
Miranda


 Report Review

Review #11, by propertyoftheHBPAcceptance: Three

21st August 2010:
Oh, I'm so happy that Dominique brought up the rest of the family. While I do think that many of the Weasleys would shun the thought of having a Squib in the family, I know that at least Harry and Hermione would be very disappointed with Bill and Fleur. Dominique's explanation that it would be very awkward indeed for Louis's parents to be saying one thing and the rest of the family to be saying another was absolutely correct, in my opinion--likely, those who disapproved of their explanation would simply and awkwardly change the subject. So, I'm happy you included that. :)

I liked this chapter just as much as I liked the previous two. Louis was written just as well as before, and I couldn't help but feel proud of him when he decided to be himself once and for all. :D After seeing Dominique more, I really like her, as well.

This was a great story! It was short, but hey, that's what labelling it as a "Short Story" was for. :P It was just the right size with the right amount of information. I really enjoyed it; you did a fantastic job! :)

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you liked that! Harry and Hermione must indeed be quite disappointed in Bill's and Fleur's behaviour. I think almost every wizarding family would feel a certain shame at having a Squib amongst them, and the Weasleys won't be an exception. Generally speaking, of course.
Thanks! That's good to hear :) I think you're right - the others would probably try to change the subject as quickly as possible.

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it! Haha, Louis finally made his decision indeed. And I'm glad you liked Dominique as well!

Thanks a lot! Yes, you're right, it is a short story after all :) Thanks for the great compliments :D I'm very glad you enjoyed reading this story!

Thank you very much for your great reviews!


 Report Review

Review #12, by propertyoftheHBPAcceptance: Two

21st August 2010:
Darn it, he missed the ceremony. :p But I didn't originally think that he'd get much time in Hogwarts considering what he was there for--I like how you worked in that walk through the castle. I thought that his mixture of slight longing and rather large hatred--or at least dislike--of it and the fact that he couldn't ever be there for longer than he was was perfect.

His character is really great, too. I liked the mention in the beginning of this chapter of how he just stood in front of the mirror and repeated "Squib" over and over again. It was a great way to show how it had sort of become routine for him, just living his life. And his overall resentment towards his family and the wizarding world is great as well. I loved Anna! She was quirky and funny and sort of reminded me of Luna. ;)

Author's Response: Yes, he missed it indeed ;) You're right, he wouldn't have much time there if he would have gone to the ceremony. The walk through the castle was much more interesting to write, so I'm glad you liked that :) And thank you! I think Louis must have some very mixed feelings about the entire wizarding world, as a matter of fact, so that definitely includes Hogwarts, a place his entire family has happy memories of. Thanks!

Thank you! :D I'm very glad you like his character! I thought I read about that once in a book, calling yourself something until it doesn't mean anything anymore, and it now seemed like something Louis would do. It's good to hear you thought his resentment towards his family and the wizarding world was great, thanks!
Haha, I love Anna as well ;) She's pretty much the exact opposite of Louis. I didn't write her to be like Luna, but who wouldn't want to be compared to Luna?

Thanks a lot for your review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by propertyoftheHBPAcceptance: One

21st August 2010:
Oh, I saw this challenge on the forums a while ago...but I didn't have the guts to attempt it. :P So kudos to you, and it seems that you've done a very good job with it so far! When I saw "Squib at Hogwarts", both on the forums and in your story summary, my mind automatically went to "Squib attending Hogwarts". But Louis visiting Hogwarts for his sister's graduation totally wasn't what I was expecting--it was definitely an original choice, and I can't wait to see it unfold!

I love that you picked Louis Weasley, too. I haven't read many fics about him, so his character is rather ambiguous to me--I can absolutely see him being a Squib. And I think that Bill and Fleur's reactions were spot-on. Squibs are highly, highly, highly frowned upon in the wizarding community, obviously, and I don't think that even the ever-perfect Weasleys are above a bit of prejudice, despite how they try to mask it. So I liked the honesty with which you portrayed them. :)

This is definitely an interesting start! I'm off to the next chapter. :)

Author's Response: Thanks :) It was actually a very nice challenge, so I'd definitely recommend taking part anyway if another challenge like this will be issued some time! And thank you, it's good to hear that you thought that was original :D

That's what I love about NextGen characters: you can bend their characters (and, of course, whether or not they're magical) in any way you please! I think Louis is definitely one of that generation's most underwritten characters, but I liked writing this :)
I'm glad you thought Bill's and Fleur's reactions seemed realistic, thank you! I didn't think the Weasleys would be completely above prejudice either - not the entire family, at least. It's good to hear you liked this portrayal of them :)

Thanks a lot for your review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by propertyoftheHBPRat.Wolf.Dog.: One.

21st August 2010:
Wow. Your Peter here is so incredibly different from what I've ever seen of him before--he's so aware, so conniving, so...evil, and I'd honestly never thought that he'd be capable of honestly wanting the death of his ex-friends that badly. But you've convinced me, and his characterization here is beyond words. It's flat-out creepy, but I love it. I love how he made this scheme up himself, to turn Remus and Sirius against each other. (At least, I assume that it's his idea.) It really would make the two of them all the more mad at Peter once they found him when Harry was at Hogwarts, and it makes their reunion then all the more bittersweet.

And the thing is, Peter's right about nearly everything, except for Remus liking Lily. (I'm not sure if he ever did, in my opinion, but I'm not sure if that's wholly relevant to the story or the point I'm trying to point out, but I digress.) Sirius really was extremely vicious in school and it's so...scary how Peter touches on that with Remus.

Gahh, I'm absolutely in love with this so far. I'm going to favorite it and be sure to keep up on the updates, you're doing fantastically so far. :D

Author's Response: Hello again!

And thanks! i'm glad i could surprise you, and that you find my Peter unique. I suppose I made him the way he is, because at this point he has been corrupted by power, which Remus and Sirius hint at at the end of PoA. And i thought that if they so easily believed that the other was a spy, something must have happened to weaken their trust...

And yes, he is right about Sirius' visciousness, and i wanted him to touch on something true with Remus, because i dont think he would be an easy man to fool. I also feel like that entire experience with Snape, would have been very painful for Remus as well. As for Sirius, well, i dont think Remus likes Lily either, BUT in my opinion, Sirius is a bit blinded by his strong friendship with James, and think of him as his true family and cares a lot more James than himself.

Anyway, I hope that response makes sense. Thanks again for the reviews! There should be an update in a day or two.


 Report Review

Review #15, by propertyoftheHBPRat.Wolf.Dog.: Prologue

21st August 2010:
Your summary immediately drew me in--I haven't seen a story about Peter's betrayal yet and I really think that this has great potential, especially after reading this prologue. The characterizations of Sirius and Remus (and the teeny bits we get of James, Lily, and Peter) seem to be perfectly done so far. I especially liked the conversation between Sirius and Remus; most stories portray Sirius as incapabale of a delicate conversation, which you did touch on here, and I liked how you showed that it wasn't true. The dialogue between them was very real, and not forced at all. I also love how Sirius is fully submersed in a Muggle rebellion--it fits him and is, admittably, a funny thought.

I really liked this, it looks as though you've got a great start so far! :)

Author's Response: Hello and thanks for the review!!

I'm so happy that you like my characterizations of the Marauders. I think Sirius was more...defensive, rather than truly outgoing. He used charm to deflect people, so to speak, but he was obviously very smart and there is no reason for him to be completely tactless--it would just leave him open and vulnerable if he appeared that way. And im glad you liked the conversation, its designed to exemplify the depth of their friendship before things begin to change...

Thanks again for the review!

Miranda


 Report Review

Review #16, by propertyoftheHBPActor: Actor

21st August 2010:
Hilarious! I loved the running joke about Scorpius being an actor, and the descriptions the entire time he was with Rose were just too funny for words. All of the dialogue, actually, between all of the characters were just too funny for words. It would take me ages to pick out my favorite lines, and I'd probably quote most of your story doing so, so I won't bother and simply say that I loved all of them. :P The idea between this is hilarious as well--Al getting revenge on Rose because seh didn't let him copy her Potions homework? I love it. My only teeny-tiny gripe about this is that the ending seemed a bit rushed and forced, especially with Rose just going along with the flow of everything...but it's really very minor and didn't take away from the fantastic-ness of the piece much at all.

Again: I loved it! You did a fantastic job. :D

Author's Response: :D Glad you liked, no, loved it! :D

Yes, I agree, the end is a bit iffy for me too. I was uncertain on how to end it, so I kinda jumbled it all up in the end. Sometimes when I read it, it works, and sometimes it doesn't. I don't really know how I would change it though. Thank you so much for reviewing! I think you've probably reviewed almost all of my stories, ahaha! :D Means a lot to me!

~foundriapenguin


 Report Review

Review #17, by propertyoftheHBPSensible: Epilogue

21st August 2010:
Oh, I just love the style this epilogue was written in! I also love how you detailed the lives of each of the Potters/Weasleys, just like you introduced them in the first. (Dominique died? Aw, that's too bad. :[ Anyway.) And I absolutely adore how Rose was the one to fade into the background of a whole lot of famous relatives; strangely, it's very like what I've seen from her here and it's fitting. I assume she was made an undercover Auror as well? That's awesome. And, *squee*! Haha, she married Teddy. That is fantastic. :D

I really like how you broke this up. I think it would have been much to mashed together, rushed, and long as a oneshot--not to mention, this ending wouldn't have nearly had as much effect as it did as its own chapter, along with the other cliffhangers meaning nearly nothing. It's absolutely perfect the way it is, and I enjoyed this story very much. :) Great work on all of it!

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, I didn't even SEE these reviews til now!

I wouldn't - couldn't - have written in this style if I had kept the oneshot, but I am so glad you liked it - it wasn't what people expected, and I didn't know how people would react!

Yes, Rose was made undercover.. if I had time, I would LOVE to write about Spy!Teddrose, I just don't :(
This story however, gave me the foundation for another wip, From Roxy, with Love. They aren't compliant, but it is the same ideas on a wider scale and is probably going to end up a teddrose as well :) (such a sucker for this ship!)

Thanks for the lovely reviews!


 Report Review

Review #18, by propertyoftheHBPSensible: Saviour

21st August 2010:
Wow, an undercover Auror? That's really interesting--I haven't seen it before in fanfics, it's definitely original as well. And who doesn't love a secret agent Teddy? *hearts* But really, I like this. The whole idea of it, especially of Harry having his own little group of secret Aurors that very few other people know about, it's just plain awesome. The description of his job and his room was great as well--I can really visualize what it all entails and I love it.

Also, the thought of another magical war being imminent is creepy but really interesting and great as well. Poor creatures, being tagged and followed probably because some guy thinks they're inferior. :( The explanations on the entire political magical situation were just fantastic, too, it's a believable yet vague scenario--definitely not cliche. And Harry's sick? Aww. :(

I loved this chapter just like I loved the past two! I'm on to the last. ;)

 Report Review

Review #19, by propertyoftheHBPSensible: Secrets

21st August 2010:
Ooh what is it? Haha. But he's asking her to go to Transylvania with him? How romantic. It's interesting that he asked when they weren't even together (yet) in the first place, though. I like the friendship you've written for them so far, it has a very original air to it and it's interesting. The dialogue between the two of them is especially nice--it isn't forced at all and flows well.

Louis and James were hilarious when they were threatening Scorpius--I really like your version of Louis so far, it's new, I haven't seen it before. And Hermione made a super secret lair-like room? That's so awesome, for lack of a better word. The thought of Tonks having a portrait in Teddy's house--Grimmauld Place, at that--is so sweet. I really like it.

This chapter is just as great as the last, I'm on to the next! :D

 Report Review

Review #20, by propertyoftheHBPSensible: Surprise!

21st August 2010:
O_O How did I only just notice that you had a Teddy/Rose? Shame on me.

This is hilarious so far! I'm one who absolutely loves Weasley-Potter-Lupin family gatherings, so on top of the ship, this was pure heaven for me. I'm still rather curious as to what Teddy was going on about in the beginning, though...hmm. I just loved the line "You know nothing happened between me and Soph, right?" and then Rose's walking away from him. Haha, it just made me squee kind of. :-]

I absolutely love the descriptions in this. First of the flat, which sounds both hilarious and marvelous all at once. And then of the characters--I loved the paragraph devoted to most of them, everything you've handed them all seems to be very un-cliche, not to mention totally hilarious. :)

I'm loving this so far!

 Report Review

Review #21, by propertyoftheHBPPaws Off: One

21st August 2010:
Hahaha, this was hilarious! To be honest, I have to admit that I was with Molly in the beginning...I really thought that Teddy was going utterly crazy, you wrote his alleged "jealous" very confusingly. xD And I absolutely loved the end where Moppet was outside of the door. You totally captured the air that a cat has there--the names "The Angry One" and "Snuggler" were possibly the most hilarious things of this whole piece. Then again, I loved the line "The Angry One could be so rude" as well. :] I loved the whole thing! This was a hilarious idea and you pulled it off very well, great job! :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by propertyoftheHBPWendy Can't Fail: I Wanna Be Sedated

20th August 2010:
(Just a note: I just typed the whole review up and lost it. -__- Bear with me, please. :])

Hi there! I'm here with one of your reviews for winning my challenge. :)

I really like this idea so far. The thought of Remus and Sirius running a Muggle car shop is certainly an original one, and I'm sure they'll be getting into many more escapades as the story progresses. Their dialogue flowed very nicely, they definitely came across as Marauders. I particularly liked the line where Remus compared Sirius to a "cantankerous...old man who'd misplaced his false teeth at suppertime - with hunger pains". It was certainly a different way to describe Sirius being grumpy! I liked it, haha. :P

I also really like Wendy. I loved how you introduced her as an American--well, at least culturally American--character in an uncliched way. Actually, her entire character isn't cliched which is always a plus. I like how she reflects her time period--it's also always nice to read about OCs who aren't drastically ahead of their time or any other unrealistic thing.

I loved what she said to the old lady (who is also totally awesome): "Most people stare at me. Why didn't you?" It's surprisingly genuine and true. None of the dialogue between them was forced, it all flowed very well and was extremely unrealistic. I'm also intrigued as to what her secrets were that she spilled to the old lady. It doesn't seem as though we'll be finding them out any time soon, however, so you've done a good job of keeping me pulled in and hooked.

I really like the start you've got! Your characters are interesting and the plot definitely seems original so far. Great work! :-)

Author's Response: I absolutely loathe losing an entire review like that! I completely understand!

Oh, escapades. You can bet on it. That particular comparison what supplied by JulNoWriMo and sleep loss, but I love it anyway. There was a lot that I had to edit out, but I didn't have the heart, there.

I know that Americans in Harry Potter are typically considered cliche. But I have this desire to write what I know, so I have to come up with plots that make sense having Americans in them.

I love Wendy's punk rock attitude. She's a lot of fun to write. And as a historian, anachronism with what characters do or the way they act bothers me. My eye actually twitches. Its comical.

Wendy is that way. She doesn't really beat around the bush and she doesn't really care if what she says is outrageous. Yay! My dialogue flows nicely! I'm always striving for those realistic moments.

Nope, no secrets here. Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain.

Thank you for the awesome review and again for picking my story as challenge winner! :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by propertyoftheHBPCast Away: Hurt

19th August 2010:
Pansy was written so heartbreakingly here. I could really feel the betrayal and hurt that she felt, it was very emotional--especially near the end. The "I would never abandon you, you're my best friend," line was so sad, knowing that Draco simply doesn't feel what she does. I usually see Pansy as someone Draco left connected to his school life--he moved on as fast as he could and then married Astoria, in my mind. But I really like how you've put this here. I can definitely see his side, as well as hers. This was wonderfully written and so tragic. You did a great job. :-)

Author's Response: Hey propertyoftheHBP!

After reading ciararose's novel-length, I became a bit more in-tuned to Draco/Pansy, a ship which I never really cared for before. The plot itself popped up one afternoon after reading a few more chapters so I got up to actually write it out. I imagined they would've been something during their days at Hogwarts and I always thought that he would've married her. I was shocked to see he married Astoria instead. I understand what you're saying though, he would have wanted a fresh start after the war.

Hmm, that sentence seals her fate, doesn't it? It puts her in her place, so to speak. Unrequited love is the worst kind, I think, especially in a situation like this. But I'd like to imagine that she moves on. My original intention was to have someone else bring her in out of the rain but it worked better that Draco came instead, to reassure her that she isn't completely gone from his life.

Thank you for your review!
Lia


 Report Review

Review #24, by propertyoftheHBPThe Final Battle: Like a Dream

19th August 2010:
I absolutely love this. I've read a couple of other pieces about Lily returning from the afterlife, but this is the first one where she's not alive and in full conciousness. I loved the question in the beginning, "Was she half-here, or was this only a half-world?" I'd never thought of being called back, despite the huge discussion of the ressurrection stone last month, from the dead person's point of view. I suppose it's a bit of both. And then the line "It was not for the dead to know anything of life, just as it was not for the living to know anything of death," was just perfect. It's as if Lily was an entirely different person, which is true in many ways.

Again, I just loved this. Lily's characterization was spot-on and this was written so originally and well. :]

 Report Review

Review #25, by propertyoftheHBPThe Final Battle: Not Yet Dead

19th August 2010:
Wow. This is (for lack of a better word) awesome. The AU twist was genius and I absolutely loved it. I'm very inclined to think that it would have went this way exactly had Narcissa told the truth to Voldemort. What she did in the books was very risky, though she was likely overthinking the situation. Here she knew--or thought she knew--plain and simple, that Harry had to be absolutely dead for her to find Draco. And then Harry already knew that Voldemort's bit of soul inside of him was dead, so he took off running. My favorite part was definitely where Voldemort was saying "Avada Kedavra!" over and over and over. It's so eerie and disturbing, but that's very much what he would have done at the thought of not being able to kill Harry.

Shortly, I loved it. The idea was a wonderful one and you executed it perfectly. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>