Reading Reviews From Member: brightside14
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by brightside14Illusions: Tainted.

8th September 2012:
I thought that the first and last lines of this were incredibly poetic--definitely one of my favorite parts!

I loved how you characterized James. The line "The wind picks up, and he shifts to protect from it. He wishes it were as easy to protect her from the world" is so perfect and says everything about James's relationship with Lily (especially at this point in their life) for me and just conveyed his love for her in such a small sentence. I loved it.

I also liked how you concentrated on how it really was such a dark time for them. You did a good job showing the reality of all their fears and worries about the future, and how they couldn't just concentrate on themselves. I was really able to understand that. James's emotions especially for all the people he wanted to avenge was very genuine.

I enjoyed reading this, great job! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I really enjoyed writing this because while a lot of Jily is fluffy, and I love fluffy, it's just that not many of them address the fact that it's a dangerous world! Of course, they do put in a snippet about Voldemort here or there, but it's mostly just filler. No offence to people who write Jilys, I've read some great ones with Voldemort in it as well. I just enjoyed addressing James and Lily's feeling about it :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by brightside14Scorpius Malfoy's Guide to Relationships: What To Do When Your Girlfriend's Best Friend Disapproves

4th August 2010:
Ohhh my god, Scorpius singing Party in the USA was like the BEST thing ever. I seriously died laughing :). And I'm really starting to like Ethan! I just love his comments on everything, especially Scorp's little performance haha.

Who is this Maya girl?? Ugh, I don't want to like her because I know the whole thing will probably just cause problems with him and Rose! Like the kiss-he should just tell Rose instead of bribing Lucy because she'll probably end up finding out about it anyway. But I'm loving the drama! Can't wait for more :)

Author's Response: Kudos to you for liking the Party in the USA bit ;) And I'm glad that you're liking Ethan as well; he was just a character that sort of sprang into the story while I was writing, inspired by this boy I knew slash liked who was in the year above me.

As for Maya, well... I don't know. She's just everywhere. She's in love with Scorp. Hopelessly infatuated to the point of lunacy. Hehe. :D But we'll just have to wait and see how it will all pan out from here! The next chapter is in progress :) Thank you for taking the time to read and review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by brightside14Suddenly I See: Running Away

18th July 2010:
I'm really liking reading Sirius's point of view. It's really interesting--the only thing is that I don't know what to think of Sirius! He has his funny points, but most of the time he's just so clueless and frustrating. But I really like how in this chapter however, he's starting to get more...sensitive, if that's the right word, or at least more considerate. Like how he's worried about Ivy, even though she's a girl he can "barely stand." Anyway, I hope there's an update soon!

Author's Response: Sirius is such a complex character. He's so frustrating to write and I never know what to do with him! Thanks for the review and hopefully you're still around for my new update!

 Report Review

Review #4, by brightside14Scorpius Malfoy's Guide to Relationships: What To Do When Sanity Becomes Questionable

12th July 2010:
I just read all of Rose Weasley's Guide to Girls and started on this, and I love it! It's really entertaining and the humor is just great. I love love love the way you write Scorpius- he's super cute and his lines make me laugh :). For your first time writing from a boy's POV, I think you're doing an excellent job!

I love how there's a little side-story with Ethan and Lucy, and I can't wait to see how that develops because Ethan's a cutie too like Scorpius lol. And then, who is that crazy girl?? I really curious because I have no guesses or theories what so ever about her! She's just, I don't even know. The roses and the poem part was so ridiculous but completely hilarious. Poor Scorpius. I'm very excited to see where this goes, especially with stalker girl and with the whole Scorpius/Griffin jealousy thing. I have to say though, Scorpius is extra funny when he's jealous :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you for leaving such a lovely review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed Rose Weasley's Guide to Girls and are enjoying this story just as much. It's good that you like Ethan and Lucy, because I quite like them myself (Lucy is my favorite underrated Next Gen character). More should develop soon, I think. (: I'm happy that you thought the poem was funny; poetry was always my weakest point in English, but I kind of threw the scene together to make it as ridiculous as possible. But I'm glad you enjoyed that as well.

Thank you again for taking the time to read and review :) The next chapter is in progress.


 Report Review

Review #5, by brightside14Good: Albus

31st May 2010:
I'm having a somewhat hard time trying to start my review, only because what I read was just incredibly good! Even if you haven't written in a long time, your writing is definitely not rusty-this was excellent! Everything was just clear and flowed smoothly, and I loved your use of language and details in developing your characters.

Honestly, Albus was kinda of a jerk in the end. He's just seems so unaware of how his brother feels. Poor Abe. And you're right, I haven't seen many stories with this ship. I mainly read next generation, or sirius fics, so this should be interesting for me to read-definitely in a good way though! This was a great start, can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: First of all, thank you for taking the time to give "Good" a chance! I am very happy that you enjoyed it. Yes, yes, unfortunatly Albus has a bit of a mean streak. I didn't want to portray him as a saint, however. I think the trails of his life were what changed him into the whimsical and righteous man that Harry knew. Once again, thank you for reading the first chapter, and hopefully I will here from you again in the future! -Chelsea

 Report Review

Review #6, by brightside14A Dozen Red Roses: Valentine's Day

30th May 2010:
So, I really enjoyed reading this! I thought you wrote Rose and Ava really well and I loved all their little jokes and conversations throughout the day-it just flowed smoothly. That little bit with "You have a you-know-what on Lord Voldemort?" definitely made me laugh. And then Scorpius is such a cutie as always, but seriously, though. Come on, Scorpius. Why were you so slow??

I liked how you built up the story to the end when he finally askes Rose, but I was like "NO" when she lied! It was a bit anticlimactic, honestly. I was so ready for the cute, romantic, fluffy ending lol. But other than that, I did really like this, it was well written and definitely kept my attention. I very much hope you decide to do a sequel!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad you liked rose and Ava. I kind of made them like me and my friend so that I could keep them in character. :)

I've heard a lot about the ending and am contemplating writing a sequel or turning this into a short story. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #7, by brightside14Suddenly I See: Who's Ivy Bennett

10th May 2010:
OHHH my. You started the sequel! I have to admit, I thought that the sequel would pick up where Nobody ended, which doesn't make sense as Ivy wouldn't be there, lol. I was wondering how that was going to work. And then when I saw the preview "who the hell is Ivy" I was like "omg, he forgot about her!" Silly me haha. (It's all the testing I've been doing, it's fried my brain.)
Anyway, the story's off to an incredibly brilliant start! I love the way you write Sirius and it's exciting seeing his side of the story as well, especially because his relationship with Ivy wasn't this instantaneous thing- how the only reason he started talking to Ivy more was to "humor her," AND, I like seeing how he views her, as with Ivy's story, I felt like she doubted his feelings for her a lot, so it'll be nice to see his side. He's so oblivous in the beginning to Ivy's feelings for him and just her in general lol.
Some of the things Sirius says just make me snicker so much. Like this: "Pining, love, more pining...what was this? A story?" and then "She had writer's block. What the hell was that? I thought things like that were myths, made up by professors to scare you." Ohh, Sirius. I love it all, the subtle humor, the way Ivy gets so worked up at his teasing, how entertained he is by teasing her, James's snogging session with the pillow and Remus's craving for Sirius's chocolate. I'm so so so excited to read more! This is pretty long, but I hope it shows how excited I am about the sequel lol :)
10/10!

Author's Response: Amnesia you know. Terrible. Haha. Yeah, the sequel is basically the same story from Sirius's POV so it will be annoying and somewhat bad at times. Yay!

Haha, I love that you love so many things. I don't even know how to respond, other than thanks for reviewing and you're awesome.


 Report Review

Review #8, by brightside14Nobody Sees Me Wishing: End

26th April 2010:
Ohh gosh. That was so heartbreaking and TOTALLY unexpected- I know that a Sirius story doesn't really ever end happy but I was not expecting that! I had to stop reading to let it sink in haha. And then the ending- I was going crazy and totally freaking out. The thing with Sirius/Sebastian was perfect and I love how it completely wraps up the story in the sweetest way. The note he leaves in the book and that line: "That doesn't matter. If you're by my side, then there isn't anything I wouldn't do. You are, and always will be, my everything."" OHHH my. It definitely brought tears to my eyes, it was just so increadibly heartwarming and sweet and wonderful and totally shows the amount of love in their relationship. I'm such a sap haha. I really wish things could have been different with them, but then. I dunno the whole thing with Sirius would probably have been too much for Ivy? I love how you made such a heartbreaking ending fit so perfectly though. The whole story was just wonderful, and I can't wait for the sequel!
10 x a billion/10? :)

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you liked the ending. I love it. I don't think it could have ended any other way and I'm really glad you got that too.

The thing with Sirius probably would have made Ivy cynical and Ivy's a romantic at heart, so that couldn't have happened!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by brightside14Nobody Sees Me Wishing: Broken

23rd April 2010:
That was probably the darkest chapter in the story, but it makes sense because the war's getting more intense. That's so sad that Dorcas died! All those points where she was dreaming actually had me scared that Sirius instead died, even though we all know what happens to him.

"We were going to have to live like this and slowly lose each other it was inevitable." Ohh gosh, that's such an ominous line! I'm so interested to see how this ends now, despite the fact that there will be a sequel :). Amazing, as always!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the chapter. I also like how dark it was...a part of me likes writing the dark and depressing stuff. Must be college, haha.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by brightside14Just Color Me Squib: Where James Convinces Me

20th April 2010:
Ohh my gosh. I really like this! I think the plot is incredibly original-the title definitely caught my eye, and I like the way you've gone with the whole squib thing. I've never read a story where the main has been a squib, I'd always felt like the author would make them feel too sorry for themselves or whatever, like a "woe is me" thing. But I definitely like the way you've written Hugo, especially in how he doesn't want anyone's pity about it. I'm so excited that I discoverd this, and I'm super interested to see where this goes! Please update soon :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by brightside14Nobody Sees Me Wishing: Ceremony

20th April 2010:
Whoa. So much happened in this chapter! Firstly the wedding was definitely super perfect- it was totally a "warm and fuzzy" moment when they were saying their vows. I loved how you totally kept hinting at the marriage part! Sneaky lol. And then, OMG Sirius. I loved how worked up he got about the dress, lol. Ivy, of course he was waiting all day to get you alone. That part was perect-it just had the right amount of steam? Haha, I can't think of the right word. And they're getting married! That's a biggie. Hmmm. I'm curious to know how the whole thing will turn out though, I feel suspicious about it. I love the humor you work into this, especially like the bit with Remus catching the bouquet, and then Sirius hiding under the bed. Definitely snickered at both of those :). Amazing, as always!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked so much about the chapter. Steam? I'll take that. I'm trying not to go into too much detail about that side of their relationship, just in case I'd offend. I often suck at humor, so I'm really, really glad you liked those parts.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by brightside14Nobody Sees Me Wishing: Forever

15th April 2010:
That was so perfect. I love how all your chapters are such an emotional rollercoaster for me haha. I love how all these feelings like doubt, uncertainty, impatience, (but part of that is from me reading to find out what happens next haha), are balanced out with a perfectly simple and sweet ending, I love it. And I loved her realization towards the end! What was she thinking, asking Remus on a date?? LOL. Aww, I'm glad Sirius is back though, for good right? Perfect, perfect, perfect. And James and Lily! :). By the way, I can't wait for read Sirius's povs, that should be interesting. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like my chapters and the ending of this chapter. Sirius's POV is pretty interesting, I'll admit.

Thanks for reviewing! I always love your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #13, by brightside14Seer: II

15th April 2010:
Awww, all of her excuses were so ridiculous. Like the one about him dying his hair-that made me giggle. They made me feel so bad for her though! That's such a horrible situation to be in. Hmm, Renee and Chris don't make me sick though. They seem like a cute couple and Chris is obviously super sweet to her. I feel like Chris will start being unbearable as the story goes on though, and as "DHG" becomes a bigger part of the story. Her friends seem pretty hilarious and obnoxious-I love it lol. And I really like Renee as well, you're developing her into such a loveable character :). I can't wait for more and for when DHG is finally introduced!

 Report Review

Review #14, by brightside14Nobody Sees Me Wishing: Learn

13th April 2010:
While I was reading, my reactions were like "NONONO" while they were arguing, and then "yesyesyesyes!" when Sirius came back, and then it was back to "NONONO!" (And then I felt somewhat silly.) I'm kinda glad they're arguing though-I think it's weird when couples are just cute and happy all the time and avoid problems. The title was perfect-she's learning that it's okay! I hope they can patch things up, and I hope Ivy stops doubting Sirius's feelings for her too. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Hahaha, yeah. Are they just arguing now or did they break up is the question...

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by brightside14Seer: I

10th April 2010:
This is such a brilliant start, you have to continue it! I love the storyline-it's just super intriguing, I was definitely hooked from the start. The "mysterious groom" is JAMES, I'm guessing? Haha, I hope at least. I feel like Roxy's last line, "What or who the hell is going to be big enough to break you two up?" definitely deserved like a big dun dun DUNN. Anyway, I love this already. I definitely can't wait to see how the story progresses!

 Report Review

Review #16, by brightside14Nobody Sees Me Wishing: Plans

10th April 2010:
So I love how scared Sirius was of her mom, and the whole thing with charming the house made me laugh so much. Mann. Anyway, I know I'm being redundant in all my reviews but Sirius and Ivy are so adorable! I can barely stand it, they're just so sweet together and Sirius is so swoon-worthy, I love it lol. Umm, why do I feel like something bad is going to happen though? I could just be paranoid but, it's like sooo good and fluffy and cute that somethings bound to go wrong? I don't know, that's just me and my random theories. That's so exciting that she got the job though! And I loved the ending, I couldn't stop AWWW-ing.

Author's Response: Ivy's mom is pretty scary. I'm glad you like his character.

Something...may be happening. Maybe something wrong. We shall see.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by brightside14According to Plan: Wise Ones

9th April 2010:
So I just discovered this story today, and I freaking love it! It's so original and I love the way you've written Shivani and James. Shivani seems like such an awesome person lol. And being Indian, I can totally relate to The Plan! I love that haha. Anyway, I also really love the humor in this-I had so many little giggle fests while reading this. I think one of my favorite characters is Zane, by the way. The things he says makes me laugh so much. I can't wait to read more and I'm so excited to see how her relationship with James progresses!

Author's Response: woo, another indian! i'm so glad you like it! and you find it funny! i'm still amazed that anyone does.

i just love Zane because he is a complete tool (can i say that word? hope so). he is completely exaggerated but i still love him.

thanks for the review. :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by brightside14Hide and Seek: Malicious

4th April 2010:
So I actually just read all of this the other day and I love it!
I love Jane, all of her little comments are super adorable and make me giggle. And then Oliver is just perfect and hot, lol. I realy like the way you've written him.
And this chapter! Ohh my god, I could not stop snickering at like the littlest things, especially the whole malicious kitten game thing. And they finally did it! AHHH.

Favorite line: "A little bit of snooping around led me to what I was looking for. I smirked devilishly.

No, maliciously. "

Anyway, I think Oliver and Jane are pefect, and the whole thing was just really sweet but steamy at the same time, hahaha. I loveed how she brought back the nurse costume, after Oliver...was just being unfair with his gladiator one, lol. I hope there's more soon! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the malicious kitten thing. It's just one of those things that came out of my keyboard. Cracked me up while I was writing it. She would. I was totally going for that blend of sweet and hot, so I'm glad I got there. Thanks so much, I promise to update as soon as possible!

 Report Review

Review #19, by brightside14Nobody Sees Me Wishing: Leaving

4th April 2010:
This is such a bittersweet chapter, with all of them leaving and knowing that they want to fight in the Order, but Ivy not really knowing how the future will pan out. Man. My favorite part, though was when Ivy goes into the boys dorm and sees them sleeping:

"Peter,completely hidden underneath his covers, Sirius arm carelessly hanging off the side of the four-poster and covers in a state of disarray. James was even worse than Sirius." I was thought it was super adorable and cracked up for a bit, picturing that lol.

Is this the end?? I see that you're planning a sequel though, which is exciting! :). Haha, I loved how her mom's all excited about Sirius. Anyway, loved the chapter!

Author's Response: Not the end! There's more. It goes up to James and Lily's wedding and a bit after.

I'm glad you liked the chapter! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by brightside14Nobody Sees Me Wishing: Feeling

27th March 2010:
What is up with Remus? If he still likes her, then I'll bash my head against the wall repeatedly at how complicated the whole "remus loves ivy-ivy loves sirius-sirius doesn't notice her-sirius finally notices her-remus gets all moody" circle is! Ha, but I secretly love how complicated this is. Ivy was so cute in the beginning, how she thought it was all a dream and I loved how Sirius was there, already knowing how she'd react. And Ellie! I like the alliance Sirius has with her lol.

I think Sirius and Ivy adorable together- that little speech he made about why he loves her was so perfect and swoon-worthy. But I feel like something bad is coming that will ruin their relationship, or make it dumb and awkward where they just stop talking and avoid each other, especially with this party, and firewisky and drunkness. Ohh gosh. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Remus is sort of that thing that keeps popping up and throwing itself in the whole plot and ruining everything. But I love him, so, he's allowed.

Something bad is coming, but I'm not going to say what it is. Must continue being vague!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by brightside14Still Delicate: Daughter Dearest

26th March 2010:
So I've actually been lurking around reading this for awhile, and I decided to make an account so I could comment! First things first, Scorpius is so frustrating! I can't believe how unfair he's being with the whole custody thing with Aiden, I just can't get over it. It makes me super angry, like stamping my feet, screaming, throwing a tantrum status. He's such a SQUIB. And that's horrible that the hearing is on her birthday. I was so excited about the "dirt" on Daisy, I was totally thinking up scandelous scenarious like Rose. But I'm glad Rose doesn't want to use it against her. And I think Aidan is adorable, even though I guess he didn't really do much in this chapter. Just his presence is adorable, haha.
Anyway, I love this! It's just written really well, and I love how connected I can feel with the characters, especially Rose. I really really hope there's more soon!

 Report Review

Review #22, by brightside14Nobody Sees Me Wishing: Stay

25th March 2010:
Ohh my god, this chapter was so perfect! I couldn't stop smiling the entire time I was reading it-and I totally called why Sirius was being ridiculous and grinning like a crazy person lol.
Umm, I thought she was adorable, how flustered she was getting because of it. I swear, my heart stopped when Sirius was like "Sebastian is falling for Anne." And then my favorite line, hands down in this was "Sebastian would really love it if Anne would stop running away from him!" That made me giggle for awhile.
And then the ending was so perfect! Seriously, I had like a mini-spaz-freak out for a couple minutes before I finished reading. I feel really giddy lol. I'm soo happy that it finally happened :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. And I giggled a lot when writing it too. Those are some of my favorite lines also. I love it when the book connects with her real life.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #23, by brightside14Nobody Sees Me Wishing: Valentine's

21st March 2010:
I just read all of this today and I love it! The way you portray the characters, especially Sirius is just really great, I totally feel her pain in all of her awkward situations with Sirius/Remus, etc. I like how Sirius is slowly starting to change, like the flowers and the little scene in the hospital were so completely sweet. I really hope there's more soon, I'm so eager to find out what happens next!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you like it. I will probably post tomorrow; I hope that's soon enough.

 Report Review

Review #24, by brightside14Bedposts and Broomsticks: Taking Action

28th December 2009:
Aww I really like this! It's a superb next generation fic, I totally love the way you've written Lily and the guys in her family, especially Teddy! Luke seems so dashing lol. I can't wait to read more Lily/Luke interactions-their whole bumping into each other and Luke's smooth line was adorable! And Scorpius was hilarious, I'm secretly hoping that he really is having a scandelous relationship with Rose.
I really do love this though, it's really cute and makes me laugh. I hope there's an update soon!

Author's Response: Yay! I am so glad you like it! I am working on an update but i t may be a while! But I will try to have it up by the end of january!
Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #25, by brightside14Lies: Chapter 22

28th December 2009:
Okay, I just read all of this today and I think it's fantastic! The Dramione fics I've looked at recently are way too fluffy or way too serious but this one is just perfect. I really like the way you've written the Malfoy family, especially Narcissa. It's nice to see the kind side of her and Lucius doesn't seem as evil either-the thing with Lucius and the rose garden was adorable!
I think that Draco and Hermione's relationship is moving at the perfect pace and I'm so intrigued as to the whole deal that Malfoy is in. . You're writing is amazing and I hope there's an update soon, I'm excited to see how their relationship progresses!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoy the Malfoys. I love them. I love making them more human, with their own little quirks and faults.

Thank you so much for the review.

The newest chapter will be up soon, so I hope you get to read it and enjoy it!

Thanks again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>