Reading Reviews From Member: MuggleMaybe
93 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MuggleMaybeRadicalia: The world will die screaming...

1st October 2015:
Hi Roisin!

I was so excited to read this ever since you posted in the title help thread. :D I think this is a spectacular start!

I had never considered the implications of the Ministry making Hogwarts mandatory, and I thought how you set that up with the attack at the Burrow and the train and escorts was a great way to start off. It really set a dark, dire tone for the story that drew me in.

I think you've captured Ginny well, which is no easy feat. You've allowed her to be vulnerable without making her weak. And I think it's easy to write her as this super woman, so I'm really glad to see you point out her feelings of fear and anger.

I didn't get enough of the other characters to really have an opinion yet, but so far, so good.

The language and grammar and all of that is every bit as excellent as I knew it would be coming from you. No surprise there!

My only really CC at this point is, I'd like to see a little more humor (the blacker the better) from Ginny, because I think that's a pretty consistent part of her character in the books, and that sort of lively spark hasn't really shown up yet. Or maybe that's deliberate, in which case I guess I'd like to see other characters notice the change? Just a thought. I am uncertain about portraying her as quite this defeated seeming this early on, since she is usually a pretty determined person, but I trust you to have a solid plan for that :)

Overall I really enjoyed it and I am super excited for the next chapter. Good luck with posting as you go - it can be a bit of a roller coaster!

As predicted, this rocks! Please write quickly!
xoxo Renee

Author's Response: YEE RENEE! Thank you SO MUCH for this review!

And YAY because "exploring implications of war-era Hogwarts stuff" is the basic idea behind this whole fic :P So glad you find it interesting!

Especially glad for your feedback on Ginny. I've seen a lot of people argue that she's Mary-Sue-ish, but /I/ would argue that much of that comes from her being seen entirely from Harry's "HAVE MY BABIES" perspective. Like, I really wanted to make a case for her as a nuanced person here, including maybe her flaws (because all living things have flaws. Hell, even ROCKS have flaws). And yeah, I think the best way to show someone's bravery is to show their fear/the best way to show a character's strength is to give them equal obstacles. And like, while WE know her fear because we're in her head, she might come off pretty Super Woman-y to somebody just watching on, you know? Like, she barely even BLINKS when the Death Eaters are being all Death Eatery, but inside yeah, she's a bit of a nervous wreck. YAY HUMANITY!

"So far so good"--exactly as good as I can hope at this point of the story ;)

The humor comment is a good one. I tried to throw in some glib stuff here, but I can understand what you mean about it not being enough. I'll definitely think about that with future chapters (though I do want to keep this story pretty dark and dreary--but as you said, Black Humor would probably work nicely). Her defeatedness is definitely intentional though (Slide pointed out the sort of Monomyth element when she was beta-ing), because characters are more interesting when they have ARCS and CHANGE and stuff. But the feedback is super handy because AH WRITING AS I GO IS SCARY AND I NEED FEEDBACK TO KEEP EVERYTHING ON TRACK!

So yes, this review is SO HELPFUL and SUPER ENCOURAGING and THANK YOU!


 Report Review

Review #2, by MuggleMaybeFire Extinguisher: Fire Extinguisher

29th September 2015:
I don't know if I understood all the jokes or not but I sure laughed a bunch reading this! (In a nice way. You know I loved Ignite! My review was all :wub: all the time.)

But the song! OH MY GOSH! SO FUNNY! And the rhymes are actually brilliant! I think I need to read more entries to this challenge. And also reread Ignite. And also read the rest of the trilogy. Yes. That.

Main point: this is amazing!

Author's Response: The challenge is producing some top lols. Run, don't walk to the forums.

The song was SO MUCH FUN to write! And very difficult to figure out the rhymes. The original has a much easier time with it as 'General' rhymes with so much, but 'aw' noises are oddly harder.

So glad you liked! And yes, read the rest of the trilogy. ;) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MuggleMaybeEvolution: Another Run-In

26th September 2015:
Happy Birthday Kevin!

In your note, you apologized that the first interaction between Lily and James took a while, but honestly I felt it came at a perfect time!

I really appreciate that you've written Lily and James not as parts of a whole, but as individuals. It's refreshing to look at their relationship as an 'evolution' rather than an inevitability.

James trying to be a better man and show his good nature is very endearing. Not an easy task!

Because you are taking a comfortable pace, I don't truly have a full enough sense of the story to be ready for Dobby noms - I have been reading at least through chapter 5, but I don't think I can stop now! Besides, I am really enjoying it!

In general, this story is well written and I honestly can't think of a single criticism. Well done!

I hope it's been a fantastic birthday!

 Report Review

Review #4, by MuggleMaybeEffortlessly Dead: In Motion

26th September 2015:
H Emmi!

I'm doing a mad dash to get the Dobby nominations all read in the next day, so forgive me if this review is a little rushed.

I confess, I wasn't sure if this story would be up my alley when I started - but I am absolutely LOVING it! I'm really impressed by your command over the world of the story and your ability to manage so many characters so effectively. I actually had to create a word doc to keep track of the characters because there are so many! This is not a bad thing - you use the characters all very consistently and they're all interesting and fully formed. (Well, some of the less central characters aren't "fully formed" so much as you provide a sense of each character having their own story, even if we don't get to learn it. Excellent!)

Menna: what a great character! Best OC is going to be a REALLY close race, I think!

The idea of the Shrikes and the Magpie is really brilliant and fascinating. And those names, from the birds - genius! The plot reveal with the different POVs is well done and well paced, and you give plenty of action to keep things moving along.

I have very, very little in the way of CC. There are a few grammatical/word choice errors, but they're very small. I've noticed you seem to have a little trouble with 'in' vs 'on' (prepositions are really weird, so I don't blame you!) For example, in this sentence:
"On another part of the country, a young man was dreaming…"
it should be *In* another part of the country. It's still perfectly clear what you mean, any way :)

The only other thing I noticed was, in this particular chapter, I was surprised the Shrikes weren't more upset about Menna getting caught like that when they haven't been spotted for so many years. But it's possible you deal with that in later chapters.

I really love this story - I will definitely be coming back to read the rest once I've gotten through my Dobbys list!

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #5, by MuggleMaybeOld Habits Die Hard: Old Habits Die Hard

19th September 2015:
Hi Katie, dear!

Sorry I didn't get to this right away, but here I am. :)

The idea of this story - of Regulus loving Mary, a Muggleborn, and that being the reason he betrays the Death Eaters - is so inventive and interesting! And also, really hopelessly romantic in a strange way. (And maybe a little creepy ;) )

The way you capture Regulus' character and his weakness for addiction really struck me. I think smoking, which was so common in the Marauders era, is often skipped over as an issue in fic. I really like that you included that!

I wish I could see Mary's reaction to the letter, even though i understand why you didn't include it. I wonder if she even realized he loved her? Was she surprised by it? Or scared? Or flattered? It's a really fascinating scenario and I'm enjoying pondering it! :)

As far as criticism goes, I did see a number of typos, so it might be worth doing another edit to fish those stinkers out. (Typos are so sneaky! It happens to us all!)

I kind of wished the story was longer, because I would love to see more of these characters and this world as you wrote them.

Nice job, dear :)
xoxo Renee

Author's Response: Hello! :D

I won't lie, I am 100% a hopeless romantic! I'm a soppy bugger :') and it's interesting at you said creepy, because I'm actually trying to play of the idea that Regulus did what Snape never could, which is love the person who took his eye and give them everything, so that's just an interesting parralell for me :)

Aw thank you! Yeah it would have been so common! And actually a lot of the characters in my marauders fic smoke, because it was just such a normal thing back then, but of course the risks were still there!

Ahh I'm planning on including her reaction when I do a continuation of kings and queens in the form of an order of the pheonix novel (first wizarding war) and you aren't the only person that's said that, so I'm really glad I have some people interested in more :)

Yeah Typos are my weakness, but I'll definitely give it another read through! :)

They'll be appearing in Kings and Queens, so keep an eye out for that! :)

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! :D
Katie :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by MuggleMaybeMy One and Only: My One and Only

16th September 2015:
Awww, Cassie! I always read your stories because they are basically guaranteed to make me smile, and this was no exception.

What I really like about this is that Teddy doesn't go over the top. He makes it a very special day, but he isn't planning flash mobs or something. It's almost simple, but still so intimate and romantic. :wub:

I loved it!

Great job on the sweet story, sweetie! ;)

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, as soon as I saw that I had a review on this, I just knew that it would be from you! You're so, so sweet! You always come review my stories and it puts the biggest smile on my face!
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! I wanted to make it really happy and fluffy, but also realistic, so I'm glad that it came across that way. I think the fact that Teddy knows how to make Vic happy without huge displays or extravagant gifts says a lot about their relationship, and how much they love one another.
Thank you so much for reading this and being the first person to leave a review!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by MuggleMaybeChicks Before Broomsticks: Sign Up

13th September 2015:
Hi there!

I point blank don't get why this chapter, of all chapters, only has one review. It's THE chapter! I should have all the reviews!! Roxanne's confession was so sweet and I loved it!

But, I digress.

I'm here for the Dobby noms, and I have to admit that I probably wouldn't have read this story without that reason, because I don't usually read femslash (nothing against it, just not something I look for). I am SO GLAD you were nominated because it was, obviously, very well deserved, and also because it pushed me a little bit outside of my comfort zone and I really appreciate that!

Now, enough of me and onto the story. It is insanely readable. INSANELY. I was only planning to read through chapter 5 and then before I knew it I was at the end! The pacing is excellent - and I was impressed and pleased to see that you let this come to its natural resolution rather than forcing it into some long, drawn-out novel with lots of on-again off-again romance. This was a much more classy and satisfying plot arc. You did so well with developing the tension throughout the story!

Hollie manages to be self-assured and relateable at the same time. I like that she has self-doubts, but not about her fundamental self. The contrast between her certainty and relative ease with her sexuality contrasted with Angelina's struggle to understand herself was really nice.

Angelina in general was great - I can totally see why Hollie likes her! And I like that she is the golden girl, the one everyone adores, but she's also the one with more insecurities. Also, I like that she has some trouble accepting herself as bisexual even though she clearly isn't prejudiced. I think that's very honest and refreshing.

To be honest, I was worried when I started reading this, because I've read the "fake girl-friend" story line before and it can easily become a trope. This may be the first time I've seen that idea put to truly excellent use - outside of a Shakespearean comedy, at least. ;) Their relationship just developed so believably over the course of the story, and Angelina did not use Hollie too badly for me to forgive it when they ended up together.

Yeah. This was SO FUN and SO CUTE and I really, really enjoyed it so much!

A huge congratulations on the nomination, hon!


 Report Review

Review #8, by MuggleMaybeChai, Carrots, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning: Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

13th September 2015:
I read this story quite some time ago, but I'm going through the Dobby noms and I decided to reread it just because I love it SO MUCH.

It is definitely a fluffy piece - it makes me go all tingly every time I read it. Especially when he kisses her dimple. It's just so, so incredibly sweet and lovely.

But, apart from that, you are too good a writer to let it be nothing but fluff. There is definitely substance here, too. Both Hannah and Neville are somewhat insecure about their budding romance. They're both tired and overworked. They have interests and hobbies and they are just so well-rounded. I don't always see that in fluff, and I think that's the thing that makes this piece truly exceptional.

The only problem here: Neville was supposed to be mine ;)

I absolutely LOVE this series and, it just so happens, this one is my favorite of them all. Congratulations on the well-deserved Dobby nomination!

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #9, by MuggleMaybebroken, broken: during the Departure.

13th September 2015:
Emily, this is outstanding.

I felt like I was *right there* next to Daphne, inside of her, almost. It's a point of view I hadn't fully considered before, but it rings so, so true. Being forced to hurt someone is it's own form of torture, and a very cruel one at that - I think the pain the Slytherins went through under the Carrows is often forgotten or overlooked. I had overlooked it myself, but I won't anymore.

I'm most impressed by Pansy. I really, truly felt for her, in a way I'd never imagined I could. I have always found her easy and enjoyable to dislike, but the way you've written her as being so afraid, so sad, so trapped... I couldn't dislike her. I wanted to hug her.

I love how Daphne coaches herself into accepting her friends and how they cope, taking them as they are, and I love how you use that method on her, too. She copes by pushing it down, and the others think she's so brave, so strong. They think she's 'okay' - but she isn't at all and I'm really glad you showed how a person might be hurting even when no one can see it.

Your writing had this beautiful flow to it that swept me through the piece like a current.

I am thoroughly impressed. :wub: A very well deserved nomination indeed!

Thanks for writing such a brilliant story!

 Report Review

Review #10, by MuggleMaybeBeautiful Mess: Beautiful Mess

12th September 2015:
Ooo, Katie, this is SO SWEET! I am very relieved that you can't enter your own challenge, because you'd be sure to win!

Ginny's love for her family is so palpable and pure, it made me smile like crazy reading it. Warm fuzzies everywhere! :wub:

All the descriptions were excellent, but the one that really, really got to me was the description of Lily.
"Lily Luna looked exactly like her grandmother namesake, except for the eyes. She had her mother's eyes. And she definitely had her Daddy's heart."
I LOVE that! I love the parallel with people always saying Harry had his mother's eyes, and now saying it about his daughter. And, yes, Harry does have such a good heart, doesn't he? Sometimes I read fanfic, and I kind of miss Harry. So thank you for that. :wub:

Congratulations on your nomination! It is easy to see why this story was nominated and I really enjoyed it so much!

xoxo Renee

Author's Response: Renee,

Thank you for the review! It was incredibly sweet and thoughtful of you to write such kind words for my story :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by MuggleMaybeA Study in Silver: Meet the Wotters

12th September 2015:
Hey Roisin!

I'm making my way through Dobby entries, but I had been wanting to read this one anyway. I love Sherlock (both the original and the BBC show) and this is a brilliant take on it.

First things first: well, this is certainly a unique characterization of Scorpius! And I'm exceedingly pleased that you've used Roxy as the MC and characterized her so well. I see very few stories about her in comparison to most of the other Next Gen kids.

One of the things I thought very shortly after I started reading this story was, "Whoa, Roisin is really smart!" This wasn't at all surprising, but the way you were able to jump into this and have Scorpius make those deductions about Roxy and explain them so well - it was really, really impressive to me! So props on that.

So far the plot is fantastic. It's engaging and exciting, and it moves quickly. But, not too quickly. You aren't revealing too much too fast or lessening the mystery. It helps that you've made Roxanne intelligent enough to know just as much as most readers could figure out in this situation.

I really enjoyed getting to meet your version of the Weasley/Potter clan in this chapter. It is so different from mine, which was really cool to see! :) And you did a great job of capturing the different personalities in a short amount of space.

These first five chapters are SUCH a strong start. The mystery is well-crafted, the characters are fine-tuned, the prose itself is clean and personable, and the whole story has a very enjoyable quirkiness about it. I am really, really hoping to come back to this one ASAP (once I've at least gotten a start on all the other nominees). Your nomination was extremely well deserved - Congratulations!

xoxo Renee

Author's Response: Hi Renee! Thank you so much for leaving a review :D

As soon as I got the idea for this I knew I wanted Scorpius to be the Holmes character, and then Roxanne just popped out to me as the Watson. Partially, I think, because she does have a lot of implied raw charisma, for being George and Angelina's daughter, but also because I wanted to avoid a pre-established ship (like Scorose or Scorbus) and because I'd always imagined her as being a bit older. And then I'd seen very few multi-chaptered fics that featured a protagonist of color and wanted to do something about that.

Aw shucks thanks! The conversation with the deductions was actually the first thing I wrote for this, and it was the first very specific idea I had, and then I went back and wrote the beginning after.

I really wanted Roxanne's strengths to be equal to her obstacles. So she's a very smart and 'together' person, who's suddenly found herself completely adrift and out of her element. This was also my first attempt at Intricate Plot, so I'm glad you dug it :)

I had a lot of fun with all the cousins, especially James ;)

This was all hugely fun to write, and I was definitely having a ball working on it and let myself get pretty weird at times :P I think it gets crazier as the plot intensifies, which was SO fun to do!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, and being such a CHAMPION for reading all the nominees!


 Report Review

Review #12, by MuggleMaybeAnd Then: Six Years.

12th September 2015:
OH MY FREAKING GOODNESS, and in my last review I was all like "How much sadder can it get?"

IT GOT SADDER, DEE. IT. GOT. SADDER. What are you doing to us? Are you alright?? I hope you're alright. This is just.

"and for the first time in six years, you smile"

I seriously think I might need a microscope to find the tiny pieces you just broke my heart into. I hope you're proud of yourself.

No, really: I hope you're proud of yourself. Despite (or rather, because of) the insanely difficult feels, this is a profoundly moving piece. Not to mention, extremely well-rendered. It makes me ache to imagine Amos passing 6 years like this, wasting his life away in pain and unable to escape it.

Your writing is breath-taking in its honesty.

The only extremely minor bit of CC I can squeeze out of this is a missing period after the first sentence in the last paragraph.

You, my dear, are an incredibly perceptive person and an incredibly talented writer. :wub:

I, meanwhile, am currently a puddle of feels.
xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #13, by MuggleMaybeAfter: One.

12th September 2015:
Hi, Dee, dear!

I already read this some time ago but, I'm ashamed to say, I did not leave a review. I think I was too moved, too heartbroken, to leave a review. But I'll try.

Everything about this is brilliant. The very idea of this piece is so original and smart. The structure, moving back through time, packs such a punch! I love that you open and close with the same line. (I actually love this circular structure so much, I am thinking of making it my next challenge.)

Really, this is a heart breaking rendering of a parent's greatest possible loss. You write his emotions so perfectly - I was going to say 'powerfully', but one thing that makes this so incredibly REAL is that he feels detached and powerless, and you capture that really well, and the different sort of pain that carries.

Your descriptions have this subtle beauty that makes me want to read every sentence twice. I mean -

"Cedric’s pale lifeless body, as cold as the chill that ran down your spine"

so, so good Dee!

You truly deserved the Dobby nomination for this. I'm going to put myself through Hell now and read And Then. I mean, how much more broken can my heart get, anyway?

lots of love!

 Report Review

Review #14, by MuggleMaybeFish out of water: The Leaky Cauldron

10th September 2015:
All of the relationships in this are PERFECT! Dom and Vic, Fred and Teddy, Vic and Fred, and *of course* Vic and Teddy! They seem to balance each other out - she's a little crazy and he's cool headed. Together they're perfect :wub:

You have this way of writing that makes the scene read very quickly and easily. Maybe it's the dialogue - your dialogue is very strong, and I always feel like I'm standing right there listening in on the conversation when I read your stories.

The only downside to this fast pace is that now I want more! ;)

This was a super fun read!!
xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #15, by MuggleMaybeHere With You: Here With You

10th September 2015:
Cassie, I loved this! Hugo's emotions in this were so believable - he's hurt, but he's also excited, and that's an uncomfortable combination. Luckily, Finn was amazing and helped him to be comfortable. They seem like a perfect couple! And Emma seems like a great friend, too. I'll have to check out your other story with them for more warm fuzzies!
Great job!

 Report Review

Review #16, by MuggleMaybeA Galaxy Shy of Tradition: our smile

10th September 2015:
Hello dear!

I know you pointed me this way for a bit of fluffy goodness, and I really enjoyed it! However, I didn't find it all that fluffy. (Which is in no way a criticism!) I thought it was actually very moving how relieved and overjoyed Ted and Andromeda were to get married without interference. It really shows how scary the Black family could be, and how brave she was to defy them. I love that!

Although I didn't find it exactly fluffy, it was very sweet, and you did a great job of capturing all the emotions she is feeling at this moment.

Well done!

Author's Response: Hi MuggleMaybe (fun username!), thanks for popping by!

Eep, sorry it wasn't flufferfied, I am actually rubbish on the fluff feels I think. I'm glad you enjoyed this one-shot still! Yes the event had a looming element to it with the Black family's room for destroying everything. I'm happy she married Ted though. I ship them so hard. I'm glad you felt I captured the emotions well, thanks!


 Report Review

Review #17, by MuggleMaybeRisk: Five

9th September 2015:
Hi Cassie! I'm here for the swap :)

I know I said I wanted to read fluff, but when I realized you'd updated Risk I couldn't pass it up!

I really love Molly and Kiernan's friendship. They work really well together and have a nice balance. All the dialogue in your writing is excellent - I can really *hear* it, if you know what I mean - but the dialogue between them is especially outstanding.

I've never been very good at predicting endings, so maybe I'm just being slow, but I have no idea how this mystery will wrap up. I can't believe there are only a few more chapters! I was so happy to get a little more info in this most recent letter! (Even if it wasn't actually that helpful, it was still fun to read.) I can just imagine that after the mystery is solved, I'll go back and read this and it will seem so obvious, but right now I'm 100% stumped!

I really wish I was Hermione's niece!

Thanks so much for the swap, dear!
xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #18, by MuggleMaybeThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One With The Plans To Elope

9th September 2015:
Hi Tammi!

I told you I'd leave a longer review, and here I am!

This story is so much fun to read! Seriously, I am enjoying it so much!

I think your characterizations are spot on, particularly of Abigail and James. I can relate to Abigail very well, so I may be a little biased, but she is just so likable, and I truly prefer a likable protagonist in a longer piece. I love that you have made this a coming of age story, with her learning to stand up for herself and be confident and comfortable with who she is. And I love that she likes comics, because it's something I haven't seen in fic before.

Your James is such a dorky, lovable heartthrob. I often read portrayals of James II where he's a complete joker/prankster, and he can often seem like a jerk, an idiot, or both. But you've managed to make him silly and mischievous while also being kind and reasonably intelligent. That is an impressive feat - plus, it makes him 10 times more desirable in my eyes. (Seriously. *swoon*)

I haven't read a non-angsty romance for a while, and it is honestly such a nice change! You've done a fantastic job of maintaining the tension and making this a TOTAL page turner (er... clicker?).

Even though she isn't in this chapter, I wanted to mention Michelle, too. I am hoping for a little mote depth from her in upcoming chapters, but I still think she's an excellent OC. I think I said this in my first review, but friendships and the drama they carry is an often overlooked topic in fanfiction, and you've done a great job of capturing the stress that comes from that, and how trapped people (especially teens) can feel in their social web.

As far as any other comments go - your writing is overall very clean and easy to read, and I love how jam-packed it is with Abigail's unique storytelling voice. :D Your dialogue is also excellent - it all sounds exactly how I imagine the characters would speak.

Also, this story is quite funny!!
"If I dared act that way when I was that age, my mother would hex me into next week, and then my Grandmother would hex me into the week afterwards, then when I recovered from that my father would just look at me in disappointment and tell me that I’ve let him down.”
^^^I laughed out loud! That is Ginny and Harry to a tee!
Apart from the occasional typo here and there - and typos are little devils, aren't they? Always hiding! - I don't see much of anything for CC.

Last and, in this case, least: This story reminds me just the tiniest bit of my long-standing favorite on the archives, "How to Tame a Marauder" by Melian. If you haven't read that, you might enjoy reading it once you're finished with this story :)

Wonderful job, Tammi, dear! I can't wait to read more!

 Report Review

Review #19, by MuggleMaybeThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One With The Chewed Quill

9th September 2015:
I LOVE ISABELLA! She finally said what we were all thinking! And Michelle is the WORST BFF ever!!!

Better review coming later, I swear!


 Report Review

Review #20, by MuggleMaybeSea of Love: III

7th September 2015:
I WANT A SCORPIUS!!! Seriously, where can I get one???

It is so unusual to see truly, purely happy stories like this, that I am a little nervous about the final chapter. I'm afraid you're just luring me in. ;) (But you wouldn't do that, would you?)

I thought you captured Rose very well. Her stress is so tangible, and it's so difficult for her to let go of control and allow herself to relax. But she also truly loves her family and it is SO SWEET.

I think your Scorpius might be a Hufflepuff. Just saying. :D

Great job, as always!

 Report Review

Review #21, by MuggleMaybeTraitorous Hearts: The Lady of Greengrass Hall

7th September 2015:
Hi Penny!
So I told you I was planning to read your stories, and now you can see that I meant it. ;)

The first two chapters are brilliantly intriguing. And Lavinia! WHAT a story! I love it! And now you've got me completely desperate to read the next chapter with the mention of Ginny!

One thing I particularly like is how you consider various reasons people might have joined the Death Eaters, apart from being actually evil. It's very realistic.

I'll leave a longer review at some point, but for now, on to chapter 3 :)

Author's Response: Hi Renee!

Thank you so much for coming by!

Oooh! I'm glad that you're intrigued (can I 'muahahaha? now? I'm gonna. MUAHAHAHAHA!)

Oh, Lavinia, beloved of many. You have done so many bad things, but for understandable reasons (and maybe some bad things for reasons that can't be understood).

Oooh, good, I'd love to hear what you end up thinking about Ginny! She's one of my favorite characters in this story.

Thank you. This fic is, in large part, my Slytherin exploration fic. What makes a Slytherin a Slytherin? How do those traits manifest, for good and for ill? In the books, the Slytherins aren't given a *ton* of nuance. Mostly they're relegated to being the House of Evil. But it can't possibly be that simple, and I wanted to work with that, which naturally led to exploring the Death Eaters as well. I'm sure there was no shortage of Death Eaters who were fueled by hate alone, and some who were there because they desired power. But there had to have been some people there for other reasons, so I'm really glad that you like hearing about why a woman like Lavinia Greengrass might have joined up!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Renee! You're a gem :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by MuggleMaybeThe Lark and the Nightingale: Chiara Nightingale

6th September 2015:
Hello lovely!

You said this is your favorite story, so I thought I'd stop by and give it a read :)

I absolutely loved the opening scene. The use of Italian worked really well (and I got all excited because I was able to translate a few lines on my own using Spanish ;)). It really gave that scene a long ago, dramatic feel that I found very intriguing. I kept wondering how you were going to bring the story into the magical word, and then they drew wands and it was perfect!

Chiara is my kind of girl to be interested in Remus! (I assume that's what's coming?) I love him! You did a nice job of introducing Chiara, her family, and her friends. I'm really looking forward to meeting your versions of the Marauder boys! I also appreciate that you've given Snape something of an ally in Chiara - I don't see that very often.

This is a strong start - I'm looking forward to chapter 2 :)

xoxo Renee

Author's Response: Hey, Renee!!!
Oh, wow! Thank you so much!
I'm so thrilled you decided to give this a try!!!

I'm so happy you liked the prologue, and the Italian!!! That must be a good feeling! :) Spanish and Italian are very similar (or so they say, the only Spanish I know is bits of lyrics of some Salsas and Bachatas).
I'm very happy you enjoyed my version of Romeo and Juliet. I skrewed up their story a tiny bit... :P

Oh... Possibly? Right now her only interest is Matthew Corner... But she might change her mind soon... Or not... I don't know... You'll have to keep reading... :P
I love Remus, too!!!

I'm glad you liked my introduction of her and the people around her! She is sort of an ally for Snape. I will dig into their relationship a bit later on.

Thank you so much for the amazing surprise review, honey! It was really appreciated!!!

Hope I'll see you around here again!!!

All my love,

 Report Review

Review #23, by MuggleMaybeRabbit Heart: 31. Closer to the Heart

6th September 2015:
The end! Well done! I am so impressed by how you balanced all these different conflicts and plot lines and brought them to a strong end.

Wren and Albus are just SO CUTE together, I can hardly stand it. That's a lie. I'd love to read more about them!

Wren's ability to sense vampires could pave the way for an excellent sequel... you know, if you wanted to make me the happiest ever ;)

I'm really tired because I stayed up half the night reading this, so I will leave you with the words, YOU ARE FANTASTIC, and call it a day.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading all the way through. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! And by gosh, go SLEEP!


 Report Review

Review #24, by MuggleMaybeRabbit Heart: 12. Heartburn

5th September 2015:
Hi Pix!

I'm a little ashamed that I got through 12 chapters before stopping to leave a review, but here I am, at last!

This story is so original! I've never read anything quite like it before, in fanfiction or elsewhere. Wren is a brilliant OC, a well. It's actually kind of frustrating (in a good way) because I want to get to know her really well, given that she is so likable and interesting, but a lot of the time her brain is being invaded by a fuzzy little devil with rabbit ears. All the same, I think you've done an excellent job with her character. :nods:

And ALBUS! Wren had better hurry up and lay claim, or I'm going to steal him! ;)

One of the most impressive things about your writing is that you have revealed Dillon's story at just the right pace. I'm not confused, because you've given me enough to start putting things together, but I'm still dying for more info because you haven't given too much away.

This story is excellent in every way and much deserving of the many Dobby nominations! (Congratulations, by the way!)

Time for the next chapter!

Author's Response:

Hi Renee!

No worries on the lack of reviews. I'd much rather have you read to the end and then tell me all about it. So when you get there... :)

The crazy idea I had about Wren's mind being all fuzzy... that gave me fits because it was hard to introduce a character and show what she's like when she's so not like herself. It was a constant struggle, but in the end, I think it all worked out.

Albus. He's a good guy. ;)

I'm so glad you feel that way about Dillon's character. This was the first time that I wrote something where I gave away so much at the beginning of the story, yet I really wanted to maintain a mystery. The reveals were difficult to navigate, but it looks like you're feeling them the way they were laid out. Thanks for letting me know!

Thanks so much for reading! I can't wait to see what you think of the whole thing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by MuggleMaybe'Dromeda: 'Dromeda

5th September 2015:
Hi Katie!

I've been reading more about Ted and Andromeda lately. They are a fascinating couple, and I think you captured the tension inherent in their relationship very well.

I really like the way you've written Andromeda as loving toward her family but also disturbed by their increasing fanaticism. It's interesting that she already knows she disagrees with them, but doesn't openly admit this - I wonder if she feels guilty for lacking the bravery to act on her principles the way Sirius did? (Of course, she eventually does gain the courage to do this, since she marries Ted.)

I also enjoyed meeting your Ted. His mannerism call his daughter to mind, and I love it when writers are able to show that parent-child connection in Marauders fics. Great job! I could practically hear his conversation with Dromeda. His casual charm next to her prim intelligence. You struck a nice balance with that.

At least for me, this didn't really read like a one shot - there isn't a feeling of the curtain falling. (I hope that makes sense!) When I got to the end, I was perplexed not to see the next chapter button, because I want to know what happens next! So that's excellent, actually, but I would encourage you to expand this piece into a short story/novella/novel if that's something you're interested in doing. :) I would certainly read it!

Thanks for doing this swap, dear! I absolutely enjoyed reading this so much, and am determined to take a look at your WIP, despite my endless Dobbys-inspired reading list.

xoxo Renee

Author's Response: Hello! :D

Thanks for the swap! :)

I love Ted and Andromeda! I'm glad you liked this little one shot :) I think she definitely feels guilty about lacking Sisius' bravery to start with, (and if you think about it all of the Black children show bravery in different ways! :')) and she will definitely be confronting her family and their beliefs in time when she realises just how wrong they are. But I also think in a weird way, she will always love them :)

Yes! I like to believe that Tonks definitely acts like her dad! That's what I was trying to portray, so I'm really glad that you got that! :)

I plan on making it a series of one shots! :D So keep an eye out for the next one! I'm planning it at the moment :)

Aw thank you so much! This was such a lovely review to get! :D I hope we can swap again :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>