Reading Reviews From Member: MuggleMaybe
  
192 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MuggleMaybeThe Next Great Adventure: Prologue: An Old Friend

19th April 2016:
*BRB CRYING*

This is just lovely. I love Harry so much, it really hurts to think of him dying - and yet this is the most peaceful death there could be, surrounded by his loved ones. Thank you for giving him that.

Harry can be intimidating to write for some people, and you've come at it from such a sensory angle, it's really impressive to me how well you've captured his way of experiencing things. He was always attentive to details in his environment, and I love how you've shown that trait here in his attention to the nuances in himself.

I'm so excited to see where you take this, and what the Next Great Adventure holds for Harry - and how Dobby comes into play!

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #2, by MuggleMaybeLike a Multiverse on Fire: Spider

18th April 2016:
OMG. OMG, DUDE, YES!

This is exactly what I needed tonight. I am so very pleased! I was thrilled that you were the one to respond for a swap because I love your writing, and you did not disappoint!

Sirius totally works as the brooding art school type. Despite the AU setting, I thought he was pretty well in character with humor, the suave demeanor that falls apart under pressure, and the soft underside. I LOVE that you made him afraid of spiders!

I like Millie too. I enjoy your no nonsense attitude, but then she's still nervous and sort of vulnerable in a way, which I really liked. I thought it was SO CUTE how they both like the other person and both think the other is out of their league. Just, AW. And while that may be a common scenario in fic, I thought the way you wrote it was extra adorable somehow. You just have a WAY with fluff. It's wonderful. ♥

the way they kept checking each other out made me smile. And then I was sad that Millie doesn't think Sirius would ask her out simply because he likes her, but also sort of proud of her for not being willing to do that? It made me empathize with her a lot, and also respect her. Definitely an intriguing OC!

I really enjoyed this so much - thanks for the swap!

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #3, by MuggleMaybeThe Swift Death: How it progressed

17th April 2016:
OH JAYNA WHY?!?

I mean, I knew this story was going to be sad, but this chapter is just heartbreaking. I think the kids' reaction of minimizing the issue, trying to push it away and make it better, is really true to life. That sort of news is so, so difficult to process, you almost CAN'T do it at that age. It's so sad to think Lily isn't even at Hogwarts yet and she's dealing with this *tears*

I really liked everything about this, starting with Ginny's reflection on motherhood, and putting aside her fears to be strong for her kids, and the family conversation. For the record, I thought the dialogue was believable. But my favorite thing, by FAR, is how at the end, having just told them she's dying, Ginny is the one who has to offer comfort. She still has to protect her children, even though in a sense she's protecting them from herself. There is something fundamentally heartbreaking and very powerful about that.

You've thrown in some nice little Next Gen details with the MagiScreens, Ted and Vic's wedding, and them having a dog named Padfoot. (YES PLEASE.) I love the use of Bazinga, by the way!

honestly, I'm sorry this review is so short but I'm just so sad imagining this, I can't find more words right now.

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #4, by MuggleMaybeThe Swift Death: How it began

17th April 2016:
JAYNA I AM SO SORRY THIS IS SO LATE! I am the worst! Please accept my apologies, along with all the virtual cookies and kittens you can handle. I have been completely overwhelmed by grad school lately and I just haven't had time to leave a review when I wasn't half asleep with exhaustion. I did not mean to make you wait SO long!

I think the idea of giving Ginny a disease that causes her to lose control of herself is really brilliant. It's so at odds with her character, because she's this strong, self-possessed, determined person, very much the master of herself, and then this disease comes and takes all of that away. It's so sad and scary - but really a smart way to make the most of the story!

It's too bad Harry is always the center of attention. He doesn't like it, and Ginny deserved her moment in the spotlight. Stupid fangirls/fanboys. (I would totally be one of them but sh :P) I thought it was accurate characterization for her to resent that just a little. And I loved that Harry spotted her fall right away, because that suggests he was watching her the whole game, only her. That's so sweet.

This is really intriguing = I'm looking forward to the next chapter!

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #5, by MuggleMaybeMary Su and the Totally Profound Plot: Love and Time Travel

8th April 2016:
OMG.

OMG, Kristin ♥

This is the most amazing thing! You win! You win the challenge!

I was laughing from the first sentence!
This: "No, that’s not a typo - the badge was just being completely honest and telling the truth, which was that Mary was perfection personified. Coincidentally, she was also a Prefect"

DYING ♥ ♥

Voldemortyrannosaurus rex is without question my new favorite animal.

How did you even think of all this stuff??? You are amazingness personified.

I am favoriting this story for bad days!

love you dearly!
Renee

Author's Response: RENEE. ♥

This review made me smile so much. I'm so glad the story made you laugh in all its absurdity! Man, you know, it's a good thing someone wonderful and humble like Mary Su got the badge that says Perfect because if Percy got it instead, we'd never hear the end of it. :P

hahaha, I'm glad you appreciated Voldemortyrannosaurus rex. Really thinking about it kind of makes me just laugh, as I imagine it to be a T. rex with Voldemort's head, but if he tries to cast any spells his arms are too short? like, these are the things I think about :P My brain is so full of clutter and nonsense that sometimes I just have to get it all out in the form of a parody or a really bad fic before I can write real things again. It's quite liberating, really :P

/YOU/ ARE AMAZINGNESS PERSONIFIED I MEAN JUST LOOK AT THIS REVIEW YOU LEFT?!?!

♥♥♥♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by MuggleMaybeHourglass: 3 years, 23 days

6th April 2016:
GINA!

I can't believe I haven't already read and reviewed this chapter!! The first scene in this chapter does a nice job of building character, especially the side characters like Rose and Louis. Not to mention, the discussion about Sophie was telling. He's trying, he wants to be head over heels for her. But he's not. He's just not. And Sophie is wonderful. She deserves someone who IS head over heels for her.

So, with that stage set, the locker room scene between them feels very natural. Sophie's backstory with her family is really interesting.

Oh, and this line:
“It’s okay, Soph, you can still be in Hufflepuff if you call your friend an idiot.”
--> AMAZING

BUT THEN WHAT THE HECK WAS THE GHOST FREAKING OUT ABOUT OMG. You know who else isn't gonna sleep very well tonight? (just kidding)

As engrossing as ever.
You are marvelous! ♥

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #7, by MuggleMaybeMy First Date(s): My First Date(s)

30th March 2016:
SAM! ♥ ♥ ♥

I don't have to pretend I was crying to make a point, because this story is wonderfully happy and fluffy.

But also, not? There is something so real about Katie's experience of trying and trying, and time and time again coming up empty handed. You capture the frustration of that, but in an optimistic way.

I think Katie is an underutilized character in fic. I was excited when I saw you'd used her as the MC! Even though this story is mostly dialogue, you managed to show us that Katie is a multilayered person.

But of course, the main thing is the relationship between Katie and Alicia. Alicia is a wonderful friend, always there to listen when Katie needs her (*cough*) and right from the start I had an inkling that their friendship was more important than simply to serve as a framing device. The way you start out with Katie feeling ignored and bring Alicia into that moment gives her a lot of power right away in Katie's life. It's true she gets almost too zealous about Katie's love life, but I can't stay mad at her when her intentions were so good.

You did a brilliant job of not revealing your hand too soon. I had the feeling earlier on in the story, "oh, I hope they end up together" - but I really didn't know if it was going to happen or not. And then the way you did end it, holding us in suspense until the last possible moment, was perfection.

A few details -

the mention of how Alicia reads Katie's physicality is a nice foreshadow, because it could be simply a friend thing, but it demonstrates that more tangible connection between them.

I adore the humor and frankness in this line:
-- “Mostly just sat there and thought about how pretty she was,” I admit.

and this, one, so perfect!
-- I nod immediately. “It’s like I’m learning…” I stumble over my words as they fall out of my mouth, “what I want.”

and something about this line made me positively grin.
-- “You’re killing me here, Bell.”

I really loved this so much! Thank you for the wonderful recommendation! :wub: I agree with what you said about CH 1 of WIGOWY, except more broadly - there is something bright and liquid about the way you put words together that is overwhelmingly pleasant.

I got really sleepy part way through this review, so hopefully it makes some kind of sense :P

lots of love!
Renee

Author's Response: Agh, I love you so much!

I'm glad I recommended this for you, and that you liked it as much as I hoped you would. And thank you for leaving such a lovely, thought out long review, regardless of the sleepies.

Optimistic frustration is actually something that is very me.

I am glad that you both didn't cry or pretend to ;) I actually cried at the end when I reread it tonight because, ya know, it is my feelings

I'm happy that you wanted Katie and Alicia to get together, and that you liked the way it played out.

Not going to lie, the first date story was more autobiographical than fiction, as was that first line you said you liked.
Also, I didn't remember until I reread this that Daphne is in it, characterized the same as my Daphne/Gabriella one-shot. Those two kind of accidentally became headcanon and I decided that even though they don't tie into any other Polyverse stories yet, they will if the opportunity to. Which makes this story part of Polyverse! Totally making this up as I go.

Anyway, I love that you love my words!

(also you)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by MuggleMaybeA Spoonful of Sugar: Eight

6th March 2016:
WHAT!?!?!?

Oh, this is for the HPFF Review-A-Thon

That came entirely out of the blue! Well, no, it didn't, but I wasn't expecting him to be quite *that* brash about it all. And she said yes! I mean, really, Darcy, which is worse? Pretending to like/date someone for who knows how long, or having people know you were seen in a towel?

To quote a favorite person of mine, "She needs to sort out her priorities!"

Fake dating though... this should be fun to read! ;)

Man, she can't catch a break on the Lucy/Lysander front. At least that means Lys has a bit more time to tell her himself and have it all go down without drama. Not that I'm expecting that, mind you.

Really, I am dying for the moment that Darcy and Louis have a truly genuine conversation. I think I'll be hooked on this story for quite a while now!

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #9, by MuggleMaybeA Spoonful of Sugar: Seven

6th March 2016:
Another review for this brilliant story, and for the HPFF Review-A-Thon.

Why is Lysander so afraid to tell Lucy the truth?? Actually, I get it. I truly do. But I wish he would have told her. I'm sure it would have worked out. Plus, now Darcy is going to make a mess of things, probably ;)

Don't get me wrong, I really like Darcy. She's awesome! But she has a bit of a knack for trouble at times!

So, the rest of the date... I knew she was starting to fall for Louis and his gorgeous eyes! But I am frustrated that Louis doesn't seem to get that his approach is really messed up - if he'd been less of a jerk about it, maybe she would WANT to be with him by now, but he has to be all manipulative :( He'll learn though. Right? i hope so!

You're awesome, Cassie!

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #10, by MuggleMaybeA Spoonful of Sugar: Six

6th March 2016:
Hello again, dear! If you haven't guessed, this is for the HPFF Review-A-Thon.

And also because I don't ever want to stop reading this fic. :D

I think Darcy might be caving, just a little. It seems like she's making up excuses not to like him now. I like where this is going...

At least, I think I do. I'm still undecided about Louis, because he does things in a controling sort of way. I don't think that's his intention, so I still have hope. I guess I'll just have to read on and see.

As always, your dialogue is pitch prefect.

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #11, by MuggleMaybeA Spoonful of Sugar: Five

6th March 2016:
Hola amiga :) Here for the HPFF Review-A-Thon

The interactions between the girls at the start of this chapter were fun. I adore Carrie. What a sweetheart!

Louis! He's playing with fire now - blackmail is NOT okay! I was kind of liking him, but now I'm reserving judgement. I can't deny I'm excited to read about their trip to Hogsmeade, though. It's sure to be disastrous. *evil grin*

Having Seamus' son work in pyrotechnics is pure BRILLIANCE! I hope we get to meet Dean at some point. (Well, I know he's in the first chapter, but that was quite brief.)

Another fab chapter - i don't know how you do it!

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #12, by MuggleMaybeA Spoonful of Sugar: Four

6th March 2016:
Here for the HPFF Review-A-Thon

So, as I was reading this I realized I got confused in my earlier review and thought Darcy was a Prefect, when it's LUCY who's the Prefect. Sorry! This is what I get for doing so many reviews this weekend :P

ANYWAY

This chapter was my favorite yet! I know I ought to find Louis irritating, but I can't help it... I kind of like him. I mean, he is definitely a prat, but he's a charming prat. I like it that he can stay so calm all the time and that makes Darcy more annoyed.

Considering he's Head Boy, she was kind of asking for it when she used the Prefect's bath. Silly girl. I can see why she was uncomfortable, standing there in a towel, but it was so fun to read his flirtations anyway.

Too bad about charms - hopefully she'll get it next time.

You've done a great job with the pacing of this story. It moves just quickly enough to keep me hooked without feeling like I'm missing out on the details. Well done!

Thanks for another great chapter :)
xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #13, by MuggleMaybeA Spoonful of Sugar: Three

6th March 2016:
Back once more for the HPFF Review-A-Thon

Teddy is the DADA professor. I admit, I didn't see that coming! I enjoyed reading the scene with that class. The letter from 6-year-old Darcy is ADORABLE! I have a feeling a few of the students are going to be crushing on their new professor ;)

Having them do Boggarts was clever because, for one thing, it establishes Teddy as a fun professor right away. And, more importantly, Darcy's Boggart was a helpful insight to her character. She clearly really loves her family. *happy feels*

As before, the interaction between your "trio" was witty and entertaining. Looking forward to Chapter 4!

 Report Review

Review #14, by MuggleMaybeA Spoonful of Sugar: Two

6th March 2016:
Hi again! I'm back for the HPFF Review-A-Thon. :)

My first reaction is, what a stupid thing for Louis to do! I mean, I know he was young and stuff, but that was pretty much guaranteed to make Darcy mad. Why couldn't he have been sensible and just *talked* to her??? (I know the answer: Because 13 year-olds are not sensible people. But still.) On the other hand, Darcy seems to have taken it all a bit too seriously, but I suppose that's just her nature.

It makes me so happy that the MC is a Puff! YAY PUFFS! I like the diverse personalities you've shown in the house.

I love the natural banter between Darcy and her friends, it's funny and makes my smile.

I already knew you had a great knack for OCs because of Clem, but I can see now just how true it is! On to Chapter 3!! :D

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #15, by MuggleMaybeA Spoonful of Sugar: One

6th March 2016:
Hello Cassie! *hug* I'm here for the HPFF Reveiw-A-Thon!

I am excited about this story. I haven't read The Boy With The Blue Hair (on the list!!), but I already quite like Darcy. I can see why you decided to return to her. She's got a nice bit of sass, doesn't she? ;D

I think in another review someone said Louis is the new James I, and that's very apt. What a prat :P His crush on Darcy is clear from the hints you expertly throw in, but I wonder if he knows he likes her yet or not? She certainly doesn't seem to like him - well, who can blame her? But I suspect things will change.

I am excited that you've set up Lucy and Lysander as a pairing - I ship Lucy/Lorcan, but this is the closest I've seen. Anyway, my own shipping aside, it's cute that Lys is so head over heels, while she is basically oblivious. Either that, or she ignores it really well. haha

Side note: If Louis is Head Boy and Darcy is a Prefect, I wonder who the Head Girl is.. and , if she'll cause any trouble for our leading lady.

very excited to read more!
xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #16, by MuggleMaybeMonochromatic: Just the Coffee

6th March 2016:
Hello dear! I'm here for the HPFF Review-A-Thon.

WHAT a way to start a story! I really, really, REALLY want to read chapter 2. But I will stop to review because you deserve it. :)

The set up of this chapter, to have Cara working and James catch her off guard, looking so worn down - it really got me curios right away. Cara has abandoned the wizarding world, and James is clearly a mess, and Kyla died, and there was a plague?! And, somehow, you are going to rap this up within 6 chapters? They must be 6 really jam-packed chapters then. I'm psyched to read this!

I hope you reveal more backstory in Chapter 2. This is fascinating. I mean, really, you totally deserved the Puff story nom!

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #17, by MuggleMaybeThe Best Day Ever: Bad Start

6th March 2016:
Hi there! I'm here for the HPFF Review-A-Thon to raise money to keep this awesome site going strong.

I loved this! It's a perfect little moment of fluff between them. Ginny seems like she would be one to oversleep - I can imagine that, definitely! (And I'd know - I'm terrible at mornings! :P ) You wrote her very in character.

Having Harry tuck in her tag of her backwards shirt was genius! It was definitely an original way to bring them closer and get them to touch. I could feel the tension between them and I liked it! When they hold hands at the end, it's very sweet.

This was really fun to read. I hope you will keep writing more about Harry and Ginny!

 Report Review

Review #18, by MuggleMaybeThe First Morning: Morning

6th March 2016:
Hello there! I'm here for the HPFF Review-A-Thon! We're trying to review as much as possible to raise money to keep this amazing site up and running.

Remus is one of my favorite characters, so I was excited to read about him and Tonks. I liked that he panics when he first sees Tonks there, because he doesn't want her to be in danger, but then he remembers he took the wolfsbane. It's nice to have that moment to show how much being a werewolf burdens him.

I never thought about the bite wound. The idea that he's in pain literally all the time is SO SAD OMG. *sobs* It's a powerful detail, though. I'm glad you included it.

You relate the story of him becoming a werewolf very nicely. I think, because we sort of know that story from cannon (kind of), it would be even better if you showed more of Tonk's reactions.

I LOVE Tonk's remark at the end, that she'll see him in the afterlife. She's devilish good fun ;)

Keep writing!

Author's Response: Hey there,

Glad you liked the story. I not sure where I got the idea about Remus' scar, I'm not really sure if I was going for physical pain, but maybe a sort of it doesn't really feel right kind of thing if that makes sense. It just sort of bothers him and he knows it's there. Anyway thanks for reading. Glad you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #19, by MuggleMaybeThe Fortunate Ones: Chapter 2

6th March 2016:
Back again for the HPFF Review-A-Thon.

This chapter is SO. CUTE. The experiences are so new for Mary and Lily, and the excitement of this discovery and the shift between them really works. It's not sugary sweet by any means. I think the structure your using, with Mary remembering things more broadly and then diving into a scene, lends the story a sense of somber reflection that keeps the eventual end in my mind while I'm reading. It also helps that Lily is written so well here - you've really captured the essence of her personality as portrayed by JKR. With your own awesome spin, of course ;)

Your language is very evocative. I tried to figure out exactly *why*, so I could point to that strength, but I can't find anywhere to point. I just want to take the chapter as a whole and hand it to you and say "this is magnificent." You weave the world of the story flawlessly - I can picture every moment without even having to try.

Awesome writing, Meg *wub*

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #20, by MuggleMaybeThe Fortunate Ones: Chapter 1

6th March 2016:
Hi Meg! I'm here for the HPFF Review-A-Thon.

I have been meaning to review this story for ages. What a brilliant ship - I don't know why this isn't written more!

I love how tangible Mary's emotions are in this. There's that lovely, fluttery sense of desire, but tempered by confusion because she doesn't understand what's going on. I got butterflies right along side her, but it was sad because she feels like there's something wrong with her feelings. I like that you made her a Muggleborn, because it gives her instant common ground with Lily.

I know others have probably said this already, but I think Sorting scenes are hard to write in an original way. You did a great job with it though, because you made it about the characters rather than about the Sorting itself.

I'm already loving this!

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #21, by MuggleMaybeBirthday Cupcakes: Birthday Cupcakes

6th March 2016:
Hi Kayla! I'm here for the HPFF Review-A-Thon.

I'm so glad you won the Writer's Duel - this story is absolutely so sweet. I think this is head cannon for me now.

I completely adore the way this created a bond between Lily and James early on, so that even when they were young and James was a prat, Lily knew he was a good person. It's their own little secret.

As you know, I've spent a lot of time thinking about the relationship between Lily and Petunia, and I think you captured it wonderfully. (Actually, I guess we must see this really similarly because I feel like this could be the same universe as Beyond Repair. Not that that matters.)

Every single one of the scenes is lovely. I loved that she's petty about her 8th birthday. Her 18th birthday is so cute. Jilly forever!

"because of her cravings" hahahahahaha, love it!

The 22nd birthday. Oh, God, Kayla. You broke me.

This:
“Mama?” Harry said, cocking his head to the side.
Petunia couldn’t stop her eyes tearing up. “No,” she said sternly. “Aunt Petunia, Harry. Your mama isn’t here.”

It's so painful to imagine Harry as a young child with the Dursleys. I'm glad you've given us this moment of tenderness from Petunia. She might not love Harry - she certainly never acts like she does - but she *did* love her sister, no matter how much she tries to deny it.

Really, this was so, so wonderful. 10/10

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #22, by MuggleMaybeFamily: Family

6th March 2016:
Hi Emm! I'm here for the HPFF Review-A-Thon. I must say, it's been far too long since I read any of your stories!

Usually, Sirius is depicted as hot headed and, yes, impulsive. But you've captured something unique in his vulnerability toward his family. Of course it would hurt so much to lose your family, even if it was your own choice, and I don't think the fact that he might miss his family is addressed often enough. Well done!

The moments you captured in this were well chosen, as well. I especially like the scene where he gets his first wand. It shows us what Sirius is leaving behind by defying his family - I mean, the good things. The things he'll secretly miss.

When I read that Bellatrix was there, I knew exactly where things were headed. How awful, to be told you must either become a Death Eater or the family will disown you. I mean, poor Sirius! He really is so, so brave, isn't he?

The Twisted Zodiac Challenge seemed like a tough one - I think you did a good job showing how being impulsive, in this case, was a good thing. It was good that Sirius escaped from his parents before it was too late. Congratulations on 2nd place!

much love,
Renee

 Report Review

Review #23, by MuggleMaybeHaunting Shadows: Shadows

5th March 2016:
Hey :) I'm here for our swap for the HPFF Review-A-Thon.

I was psyched to see you'd updated this story. Lucky me!

The dream was really helpful this time - I think I have a sense of what happened over the summer now. How terribly sad. I actually think she's coping really well, considering.

I suspect there are still important things you haven't revealed, but I can't help but feel that Cate is shouldering too much of the blame. And Tommy sure isn't helping. I get why he's frustrated, but I don't see why he has to be so mean to her! Alas, siblings.

Insomnia is the worst. I feel for her!

Also, I am intrigued by Lee's appearance as her partner. I thought Fred liked her, but if that's the case then what's going on with Lee? He seemed very friendly... I'm excited to find out more.

The end is spooky. I can't decide if weird things are actually happening, or if she's just imagining things because she's upset.

Keep up the good work! And thanks very much for the swap :)
xoxo Renee

Author's Response: Hey, Renee!

I'm glad you're back for chapter 2.

Alas, siblings. That about sums up Cate and Tommy's relationship, haha. I have so much fun writing them.

I don't want to say too much without giving it away, but both Lee and Fred are going to play large roles in this story as it progresses, so be on the lookout for them in the future!

Thank you for the great review and the great swap!

~Jill


 Report Review

Review #24, by MuggleMaybeThe Siren's Song: Silver and Emerald

5th March 2016:
Hi Stefanie!
I'm here for the HPFF Review-A-Thon.

When you won Archive MOTM (CONGRATULATIONS) I was dismayed to realize I've read very little of your writing - I'm now even more dismayed because I ADORE fairy tale adaptations. They're seriously my favorite! I can't believe I was missing out on this.

You captured the language of fairy tales very well. I think they often have this particular, timeless voice and it was fun to read an HP story with that voice to it.

Also, the idea of making this an origin story for Slytherin's locket and tying in the lake and Slytherin as representing the water element - it's all brilliant!

Despite The Little Mermaid being a classic story, you managed to keep me guessing. I really didn't know how this was going to end. The ending is bittersweet; she gets to be her real self again, but she's forced to live in a new place and never see her family. (fyi, bittersweet endings are my *favorite*)

It was really cool how you took elements from the Odyssey's sirens and Han Christian Anderson's version and interwove them with HP and your own ideas. The part where the sailors are entranced by the sirens is magnificently written. I got pulled into it, just like the sailors did!

Seriously, this story is beautiful and just plain COOL! You definitely deserved your win!! I'll have to come back and read the Rowena story sometime soon.

xoxo Renee

Author's Response: Hello Renee!

I'm so glad you liked this story! I love fairy tales, so I couldn't resist writing one.

You noticed right? It's the Black Lake. Salazar's at the Black Lake! There's a tie in to Hogwarts in Rowena's story too, but no one noticed that one :P It is pretty subtle...

I'm glad this kept you guessing. That's my fear with basing these stories off fairy tales - everyone already knows the story. But there's a little twist in these and I'm glad you like the bittersweet endings. They're my favourite too.

So happy you liked this!! I hope you read the other one too :)

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #25, by MuggleMaybeWhen I Go Out With You: I'm Coolin', No Foolin'

5th March 2016:
Back with your 4th (and final) prize review for the HPFF Review-A-Thon.

Can I just take a moment to say that the song lyrics fit each chapter, like, /ludicrously/ well? It's amazing!

*reads first line* Hmm, yes. I can see that Hannah and I are of the same mind on this topic. Jerkface.

Susan is quite an interesting character. I loved how she was so calm while Hannah was raging. It was such an interesting contrast.

Poor Hannah - it's the worst when what you think and what you feel don't match up. Very upsetting. (Hugs for Hannah!)

When she tries to blame herself I was so sad for her. It's very, very believable that she would have that reaction, though.

I'm glad she has Susan - Susan better not hurt her, though! It's interesting, the way they talk. Sometimes it's like any two best friends, and then other times it's something more.

This is a wonderful story, Sam! I'm so, so glad I've had the chance to start reading it. I definitely plan to continue, even though your prize reviews are done now.

xoxo Renee

Author's Response: Hello again!

I'm glad you said that about the lyrics. Once I got the rough idea for this story (a prompt from Kapa essentially asking for a polyamorous Hannah story) I knew that I wanted to use Lesley Gore's music. I listened to as much as I could find, and essentially came up with ideas that could fit with each song, and selected a bunch and put them in order. So really, the music came before the plot did, which is a really interesting way to play with this story. There is a definite added layer if you listen to the songs with each chapter, as I did my best to match the tone of the chapter with the song. Not to mention, I got inspiration for much more of the lyrics than I could pick four lines for.

I'm really glad you like this story so much! I totally understand if you want to spread the love to other authors for the Review-A-Thon, but I look forward on hearing your thoughts on future chapters. Also, thanks for hosting the great challenge!

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>