Reading Reviews From Member: the midnight avenger
  
166 Reviews Found

Review #1, by the midnight avengerDifferent Time, Different Malfoy: Different Time, Different Malfoy

3rd February 2012:
Aww, that was really sweet! I like how you managed to keep the pace natural and give a good sense of the story even in such a short piece of writing. Good work!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #2, by the midnight avengerFor the Love of a Weasley: Never a Secret

3rd February 2012:
That was really good! Your writing is of excellent quality (wow, wasn't that a dorky sentence?), and I really enjoyed reading this! There characterization is great and you get a strong sense of Dom and Felicity's friendship. Ha ha, I too have a black notebook that is not allowed to be read by anyone, so I can only imagine how Felicity felt. I'd really like to see where you go with this!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad to see that someone enjoys what I've written!

 Report Review

Review #3, by the midnight avengerInevitable; It Had To Be You: A Jayded Past

27th January 2012:
That was really good! Your main character is very convincing and you seem to have her figured out very well, which make the story a lot more believable. The whole thing was very realistic and the end was rather intriuging as well. Great first chapter!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so, so very much for your amazing and thoughtful review, dear! I'm very glad you enjoyed it and hope you continue to enjoy the story! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #4, by the midnight avengerHis Eyes: His Eyes

22nd January 2012:
That was SO good. I loved the last line, it was just beautiful. You captured both characters' emotions so well and got more across in such a short piece of writing than most people do in several chapters! Great work, this was really touching to read.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It means the world to me to get reviews like this, and you really give me the motivation to keep writing. And wow, that compliment *huggles* Thanks for the lovely review!
-Naida


 Report Review

Review #5, by the midnight avengerCrazy, Stupid, Love.: Sorting Day.

20th January 2012:
That was awesome! Draco was SO funny in this chapter and very in character too. It made me laugh so much to think of him rating all the girls in the Great Hall (which he totally would do). I also liked the previous chapter a lot. I found it really cool that you involved magic in the character's every day life, because some people just kind of forget to mention it. It made the story a lot more believable. Thanks for entering the competition! The results will be up in a blog post soon, so check back to see how you did.

Author's Response: thanks soo much for the review!! :) and sorry that it hasn't been updated soon.

thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #6, by the midnight avengerLeave It To Astoria: Meet Astoria

20th January 2012:
That was so good! I love how you characterized Astoria. She was so diffrent than other versions of her I've seen and she also seemed very realistic and believable. I also liked how you made the slytherins seem like actual human beings, which a lot of other fanfics don't do. I'd really like to see how this turns out! Thanks for entering the competition; you've certainly got a very good entry here! The results will be up in a blog post soon, so check back to see how you did. :)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! I personally like Slytherin House, so making them human kinda just came. I even almost feel bad about how people portray Pansy in fanfics. Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by the midnight avengerBeing Summer: The Eighth One Plus Another One

19th January 2012:
Huzzah! New chapter! I will start off by saying that picturing electrocuted hedgehogs (I think that's what Summer compared her hair to...) greatly amused me, as did many things about this chapter. I am so happy about Dom and Connor! Well, I mean, there's not much to be happy about yet, actually there's a lot to be sad about, but they are making progress! And I'm glad Summer got mad at James. She's kind of been okay with him ordering her about, so it's nice to see her stand her ground. I'm glad they're spekaing again, too! I wonder how the dates are going to go. I also really want to know the whole deal with Natalie. Update soon please!

Author's Response: whoo! yay for new chapters :)

bahaa, im glad you found that funny. i get what you mean, happy that connor has admitted that he likes her, etc, but not happy about the fact theyre still pretty far away from everything being happy-dandy again.

yeah, she basically has let him walk all over her for a while, and most people seem to be pleased that she stood up to him for once :)

natalie will be soon, as will the update :)

ellie :) xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by the midnight avenger(shenanigans): (al) I'm so selfless.

17th January 2012:
LOL that was a brilliant chapter! Oh my gosh I laughed so hard at Al's mental breakdown. His reaction to her saying she didn't find him attractive was SO funny, and Chelsea's outburst when Al tried to kiss her made me laugh a lot as well. Yay! James is coming! I always find it so funny when Al talks about him, and I was actually going to ask in this review if he'd be making an appearence later on, so I'm very excited to read that! I like the pace the story is going at, too. It doesn't drag on, but there's not too much happening all at once either. Update soon!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad you liked it :D I wasn't too sure on this one, as I wrote it when I was high on cold medicine :/ Oh, and James! I'm excited for you to see James. It's going to be fun. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by the midnight avengerOnly a Piece of Wood: Prologue: Unexpected

13th January 2012:
That was a really good introduction! I like that you included Oliver's parents, it was a very original touch and gave a lot of character development that I'm sure will come in handy later on in the story. I also like how you showed Oliver's first time flying, as I think it's probably one of the most important moments in his life for him. The only thing would be that at the "Some day, my son, this will all be yours" line, I couldn't help thinking LION KING!, but that is probably just my brain making wierd connections. Anyways, this a great prologue!

Author's Response: Thank you! I wasn't even thinking about lion king when I wrote it XD Now all I can see is Mufasa .

Thank you for reviewing


 Report Review

Review #10, by the midnight avengerLeave tomorrow for tomorrow: The switch

10th January 2012:
That was really awesome! You personified Audrey very diffrently from what I've seen her as before, and I loved the way she and Percy's personalites clashed. Speaking of Percy, he was perfectly in character in this! I like how you had him be a bit uptight with a (debatable) "lust for power", but at the same time still seem human. The scene with him waking up was very amusing! At first I thought you would make Audrey a muggle, but I think it's a cool twist to have her know both Percy and Penelope from Hogwarts. The last line of the chapter was great as well, and I think it shows a bit of what's to come later on. Great work, I really enjoyed reading this! The contest results will be up in a blog post later this month, so check back to see how you did!

Author's Response: Thank you!
I'll be checking. :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by the midnight avengerPost Scriptum: Eggs and Bacon

10th January 2012:
That was great! I think you really managed to capture the family dynamic of the group, which is a pretty impressive feat considering it's only the first chapter. Kreacher was great in this as well. He sort of seemed like the lord of all house elves, so that was pretty amusing and you kept him in character very nicely. You've also done your Black family research, I see! Ah, Walburga. What an unflattering name. I suppose it fits. Anyways, this was very well written and it definetly fit with all the information we have about the Blacks in the books. Great job!

Author's Response: Hey, thanks! I'm glad the Kreacher portions of the chapter were amusing, as my intention was to use them to lighten the mood a little bit. I did do lots of Black family research, and I'm happy that it shows :) Walburga is a really repulsive name, isn't it? I almost feel sorry for her.

Thanks again for your kind review!

academica


 Report Review

Review #12, by the midnight avengerTheir Finest Hour: The Shadow Spreads

9th January 2012:
That was a great first chapter! I've always wondered about the effects of the war on the wizarding world, as it seems unlikely that they would have let the muggles go about it without interfering. I really like how you've made them a part of it, and just as endangered as the muggles they're fighting alongside. It's a very original idea, and the plot is off to a good start.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review! From what we know about Grindelwald in canon there's just so many parrallels with WWII and I really wanted to expand on that.

 Report Review

Review #13, by the midnight avengerThe Revenge Plan: The Revenge Plan

8th January 2012:
That was so good! You had everyone in character perfectly, which is especially difficult with major canon characters. It was also very realistic; I could totally see this happening. I laughed so hard as soon as James mentioned SPEW. It was a very good prank indeed. Awesome work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this review, glad you enjoyed my little story!
It is very difficult to characterize such major canon characters, especially when you have to imagine them as adults; the balance between the canon personality and the maturity one gains over time isn't always easy to find.

As for the prank, well, I didn't want it to be horrible or really mean, but playing on a man's worst memories seemed like a good scheme. After all, Ron had twenty years free of SPEW until it came back to haunt him!
Thanks again for the reivew, I appreciate it a lot!


 Report Review

Review #14, by the midnight avengerA Hero's Footsteps: Prologue

5th January 2012:
review tag!

That was a really good introduction! I liked how convincingly you were able to pull of the voice of a child. A lot of the time flashbacks to childhood end up sounding cheesey, but yours was very believable. As a prologue, the chapter gives just enough information to make the reader want to find out more, but it also has enough detail to let it stand on its own. Overall, it was a wonderful start!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by the midnight avengerBeing Summer: The Eighth One

5th January 2012:
I AM GOING TO KILL KANE! I WILL UNLEASH THE DEMONS OF FURY UPON HIM!

...right, so, now that that's out the way. this was an AWESOME chapter. the re-opening of the queue brings great gifts with it. i'm going to have to scroll over the chapter to remember all the things i wanted to talk about. perhaps i should just start reading this story with a notebook on hand (although that does sound incessantly creepy...)

so, ha ha, Dom is just impossible to stop, isn't she? I laughed so hard when she continued having a girly sleepover all by herself. also, Scorpius saying "chop chop" was very amusing, and the line "Then she'll realise I like her and I'll look like a proper idiot" totally made me think of AVPS. Fred's weakness for strawberry bootlaces was also hilarious. He was kind of like a well-trained dog throughout that scene, but his devotion to James is very admirable. I am also glad to see that summer and james are making some progress in their relationship!

oh my, I wrote a lot. well, all I have to say is, please update soon!

Author's Response: OOH, DEMONS OF FURY. THAT SOUNDS LIKE IT WOULD BE FUN TO WATCH.

thanks, im so glad you liked the chapter. i love the reopening of the queue, so many stories got updated and i was just like YES MAN. hey, i dont think its creepy. i think its really cool :)

dom is an unstoppable force of nature. no friends to have a sleepover with, do it by yourself. thats just the way dom rolls. AVPS rules! yeah! i didnt even make that connection before now, but now i feel like the right cool shizz. fred is amazing - as is his addiction to strawberry bootlaces. he may be very... um... special, but he loves his family more than anything.

im glad you wrote a lot, it gives me more to write back to. thanks so much for such a lovely review,

ellie :) xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by the midnight avengerLife's Curveballs: Tracey Davis

5th January 2012:
review tag!

So, that was REALLY well written. The beginning with Audrey was so convincing and I got a great sense of their relationship, as well as a good introduction to Tracey's relationship with her parents. You also seem to have your characters figured out very well, so they come off as convincing. I also like how you have some Slytherins who aren't total jerks. It always frustrates me because the qualites of being in slytherin aren't "bad" or "mean", but that's how they seem to be taken. Overall, a very great start to a story with a lot of potential!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! I'm so glad that you like this chapte and feel that I have my characters all figured out! I also dont think that slytherins are all mean, i feel that some can be nice but that they have the underlaying factor of being sly in some way. thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #17, by the midnight avengerVoldemort's Christmas Surprise: Voldemort's Christmas Surprise

4th January 2012:
LOLOLOLOL that is BRILLIANT! as soon as Saruman came in I just died of laughter. I'm a big lotr fan so I found it especially hilarious. The Harry Potter action figures were a nice touch as well, and the lyrics to the song were just hysterical. Hipster Voldemort was also anouther highlight. Oh gosh, you have created quite the masterpiece! This will be going straight into my favourites :D

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review! I'ma big lotr fan too and I'd love to see how voldy and saruman would interact. If you enjoyed this one, I have a few others just like it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by the midnight avengerBeing Summer: The Seventh One

1st January 2012:
Oh gosh, at the end of every chapter I think that next one can't possibly be any funnier and it always is. This was hysterical! For some reason I thought the funniest part was Summer wanting to slow clap Fred, and then the really awkward hug afterwards. Fred is the best. I also really liked Kane's appearence. I mean, not that I like Kane, but it was really interesting to finally see him and I think you wrote him really well. Keep up the fantastic work, I can't wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: aww, thank you so much. that's so nice of you :)

i like the bit with summer wanting to slow clap fred as well, and i dont think anyone really likes kane - what with him being a raging pyschopath and all :p

thanks so much,

ellie :) xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by the midnight avenger(shenanigans): (chelsea) I am the epitome of Gryffindor.

1st January 2012:
ha ha ha, quidditchy is my new favourite adjective. So, I really like direction the story is going in! The plot is moving along at a nice pace, and I cannot get over how funny it is. Chelsea tackling James, that was just classic. keep up the awesome work!

Author's Response: Well, Chelsea did say that she likes to make up words. Yay for Quidditchy! :D Anyway, I'm glad you think the plot is moving at a quick place. I don't want to drag it out too long. Ooh, and I'm glad that it's still funny. Haha, and I think you mean Chelsea tackling Al, not James. It's an understandable mistake, though, as I think most people usually portray James this way, not Al ;p Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by the midnight avengerCount Your Cards: Games

9th December 2011:
review tag!

ahhh that was SO good! you're an amazing writer and i was really cativated throughout the whole chapter. I thought you had Ginny and Hermionie in character very well and pace of the story just seemed to flow all the way through it. I'm also very intriuged as to where the plot is going to go in future chapters, so look forward to some more reviews and once again, great job!

Author's Response: Yay for the review tag!

I'm glad you liked it :) I'm always worried about characterisation because i've never been overly good at it. Hopefully, the next chapter should be up soon - I just need to put my challenge stories into the que :)
*jaz


 Report Review

Review #21, by the midnight avengerA Family Album: White Wedding

8th December 2011:
That was really great! I loved how you went into such detail with all the Weasley and Prewett relations and that you researched everything as well. You also really stuck with canon in that it seemed as if everyone really were wizards, which a lot of fanfiction doesn't accomplish. The characterization of Molly and Arthur was also very well done. Awesome job!

Author's Response: Hey!
Thanks for the lovely feedback :) It always means a lot hearing that I managed to pull off the awesome characters of the HarryPotterVerse!


 Report Review

Review #22, by the midnight avengerUnwanted,Abandoned,Alone: Unwanted,Abandoned, Alone

6th December 2011:
review tag!

so, this was really, really original and you gave a great sens of character in such a short piece. I also LOVE the name Talen. I've never heard it before, but I think it suited your character. oh gosh, this was also very sad and you captured all the emotions so well. Too much Hufflepuff abuse goes on in the HP world! We must end it once and for all! Anyways, great work, this was an awesome read!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review. This was actually for a challenge so I was given the name!

Too much Hufflepuff abuse does go on but Im a proud Gryffie :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by the midnight avengerDreamcatcher: Prologue.

2nd December 2011:
that was really beautiful! I think it could have been easy to go a bit over the top, but you made the whole thing seem very real and it was AMAZINGLY well written. the imagery was so clear and the words just flowed right into each other. normally this much text without any dialogue gets tedious after awhile, but you pulled it off very well and at the same time made it into a very intriuging introduction. great work!

Author's Response: Oh thank you so, so much! I have been so concerned about this chapter because, yes, I know that without dialogue things don't flow a lot of the time and I was worried it would be long winded and dull. You have made me so happy. You're lovely. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by the midnight avengerBeing Summer: The Next One

1st December 2011:
oh connor. how i love him. and scorpius, gosh he is just classic, but poor rose. I hope things turn out okay for the pair of them.

so dude, this was such a funny chapter! summer has these hilarious moments of randomness that are just hysterical. also, everytime THE AWESOME GIRLS are mentioned I just have to stop reading and laugh for a minute or two. the plot is getting very interesting as well! I like how there's so much stuff going on and that it's not just focused on one aspect; with so many people involved, it makes the story a lot more real to have a vareity of sub plots. the connor POV was cool. it would be neat to see some more from a few of the other characters. gosh, i feel like a such a dork everytime i use the adjective 'neat'. anyways, update soon!

Author's Response: I love Connor too - and Scorpius is mine the moment he's managed to get over that pesky Rose. I HOPE THINGS DON'T WORK OUT FOR THEM SO HE WILL BE MINE, ALL MINE!

... ahem, moving on.

THE AWESOME GIRLS - the sad news is that is actually inspired from what me and my friends used to call each other when we were like in year 2 or something.

Well, I'm a bit worried because there are just a lot of little plots rather than one big plot, and I was worried that it might get boring/confusing after a while...

hm. I'm still undecided on the POV from other characters thing, but I'm considering it ;)

Thanks for another lovely review,

Ellie :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by the midnight avengerWe are golden: Introductions on a train

1st December 2011:
LOL alecto/sirius. actually, that's kind of disturbing. anyways, what a great story introduction! i know you said it gets better in future chapters, but personally I thought this one was great! it's very original and I like your take on all the characters. nice work!

Author's Response: Hey the midnight avenger! Alecto/Sirius, I know! It's so silly! And thank you for liking this chapter so much! I mean, I always find my first chapters are awkward because it all fact and no fun, but hey! If you guys like it then I must be doing something right, right?
Anyways, thanks for the reviews!
-Emily


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>