Reading Reviews From Member: 1917farmgirl
203 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 1917farmgirlAll Aboard the Hogwarts Express: Toot, toot!

1st October 2015:
I'm sorry this review is short. But, the story is short so I think that's probably okay.

Besides, how many words do I need to tell you that I really like this! The idea of the Hogwarts Express being alive and caring about the students he carries...seeing the books through that angle. I love it!

Oh, and I love that the Express argued with the Ford. HA! Great job!

Author's Response:

Thanks Farmgirl! I thought the Anglia would have attitude, and that the Hogwarts Express would want to show him up a bit!


 Report Review

Review #2, by 1917farmgirlThe Family Business: One: Prologue - Disappearing

20th September 2015:
Hey there Lizzie! Figured I'd better stop by and give this a real review, instead of just random comments in a chat.

No Titanic here. PROMISE!

You have a real gift for characters! Right off the bat, in only a very short section, you have created characters that draw your readers in and make us care about them. (Which, is probably unfortunate in the case of these two characters, since.yeah. *siffles*) They have depth, emotions, personality, quirks, different voices...everything! And you do it instantly, without having to warm into them at all! That's a really good talent to have, so bravo!

I have to admit I do love the nods to other fandoms. And being a history nerd myself, I love the ancient civilizations side. I'm really excited to see how your mythology unfolds and how you twist myths and history to fill the needs of this story! It's a brilliant premise!

The writing is solid and engaging, as always!

Thanks for sharing this great start! You are amazing.

Author's Response: Farmgirl!! So glad you stopped by!

Awe! Thank you! I'm glad you like Seb and Claire. :D As to their fate... well, you'll just have to find out, huh?

There's going to be loads more mythology and ancient civilizations involved in this story, so it should be something to look forward to! (And don't worry, there's going to be LOADS of references to different fandoms in this story. You know me, I just have to...)

Thank you so much for stopping by! It means a lot to me that you reviewed this! You're so awesome!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by 1917farmgirlNew Destinations : Australia

17th August 2015:
Wow! I loved this! I have often wondered about Hermione and her parents and that whole Australia thing. It's a bit funny and very convenient when read in passing in the books, but when you really stop to think about it, the whole thing becomes oh so complicated and messy and difficult. I loved how you showed that so well! Hermione kept her parents safe, but she also disrupted their lives and erased a huge chunk of their hearts by making them forget her. Forgetting a person you have built your life around is hard to do.

Another thing I really enjoyed about this great and original story was that it was told from Mrs. Granger's POV. That was awesome! I loved that we got to see glimpses of Margaret's life before she married. You gave her a personality - friends, interests, quirks. You explained Hermione's name and love of books and intense passion for things without ever shoving it in the reader's face.

Brilliant story and I've added it to my favorites! Thanks for sharing and I'm so glad I finally took the time to read this.

- Farmgirl

 Report Review

Review #4, by 1917farmgirlPrompt One: Fluffy Oversized Hummingbirds: Fluffy Oversized Hummingbirds

12th June 2015:
You know, this was short and totally different from anything I've ever ready, and a little odd...but I really, really liked it.

Poor Oliver, though. Having to play nice with the media - especially a "pink obsessed" reporter! That car sounds rather torturous. And are you sure that reporter isn't related to Rita Skeeter?

I really liked your cameraman. Thought his personality came across very well and complete, even though we only saw him for a few lines.

And I can honestly see Oliver having anger issues. He always did take the Quidditch thing a little too seriously, so having to be benched and not help his team out would really, really get to him.

The best part was the twist though, that he LIKED the little birds! And that he wanted to stay for a while. Though they do say that animals can help with stress.

Perhaps Oliver should get a pet?

Great story! Really fun to read. So glad I had the chance to come back to your stuff for a bit. Keep up the good work!

House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Yeah, this one was a little bit silly and weird--blame it on the 2014 House Cup, I guess. Oliver definitely has his work cut out for him, dealing with the press and stuff. The reporter isn't directly related to Rita, but she's sort of a follower of the Skeeter Cult, which I imagine to be a thing that exists.

Glad you liked the cameraman! He actually turned out to be much more tolerable than I would've expected, so yay for that! :D

Oliver probably didn't have anger issues quite as bad when he was at Hogwarts, but I imagine that the stress of professional Quidditch sort of brought that side of him out into the open. But I also would like to think that he has a soft side--hence, the birds. Animals are very good for therapy, and with fluffy golden birds flying around, you can't help but appreciate the beauty of nature. :D

Oliver should get a pet. He should get a canary or something, since Snidgets are protected by magical law. :)

Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #5, by 1917farmgirlAesthetic Alterations: Library Aesthetic

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Gryffindor

Hey there! Been far too long since I reviewed anything of yours. Figured this was as good an excuse as any to come back to your impressive collection.

And just a heads up, this is going to be one of those "as you go along" kind of reviews, because I feel like giving you my thoughts as they come to me. :)

Of course the very first thing that pops into my head is crazy, LOL. But I can't help picturing a scene from The Music Man as I start reading this, hehehe. Now I'm going to have "Madam Librarian" stuck in my head as I go.

Oh, I really like your line about Victorian poetry! So deep, just like the poems you are writing about. Seriously, how do you think of these beautiful sentences?

"The Lady of Shaloot" - and now I have scenes from Anne of Green Gables in my head as well.

Really, Lily, you're going to blame him for ending his sentence in an preposition? Everyone does that!

Hehehehe. I love the little details in this story! "She didn't like the way his pencil behind his ear tilted." That's brilliant.

You know, Lily, you really aren't being that approachable for someone who is supposed to HELP people.

Love James sneaking up on her! Great part!

Ooh, snippy Lily! Picture books? Really? That's a little harsh.

(Totally random and off topic, but this story makes me miss my old library so much! It was my favorite place, and the kids books were in the basement. During the summer I would ride my bike there, and it was cool and smelled of musty books down there, and I would disappear to far off places for hours. When the city tore that old building down they took a part of my heart with it.)

So, why would James be researching Lupis? (And loved the "wolf" part. :)

OOoh, I sense a shift in the wind. She's starting to like him. :D

Lily reads fantasy novels! YES I love it! Little Miss Perfect Evans isn't as prim as she thinks.

AH! Remus is the one with Lupis. That, my friend, is completely genius! And James researching to help him. It's JUST LIKE THE BOOKS, only in real life! YOU ARE AMAZING!

Library priest. nice.

I adore your "ah-ha" moment of Lily realizing she has become a idea, not a person. And that James is real. SO insightful! Again with the brilliance!

“What would you like to take out?” she asked, maintaining a neutral expression.

James set his books down. “These books, and…” He leaned closer, eyes glimmering. “The librarian.”

This fic was adorable! It's my new favorite Lily/James piece EVER! Totally going in my favorites! Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Thanks for another review! :D

Yes, The Music Man was exactly what I was thinking of when I wrote this one! I'm glad that this made you think of it, and of Anne of Green Gables when I mentioned the Lady of Shalott, haha. :)

Lily is quite standoffish to James because he's totally ruining her aesthetic. I agree--I end sentences with prepositions all the time, but it seemed like something that would get on this version of Lily's last nerve. And James is quite a sneak indeed, though he didn't mean to be. :)

I love the library--and I'm sorry that your old one got torn down! It's always really hard when libraries close. Like losing an old friend. :/

Yes, she's definitely starting to like him. ;) They will never not be together because they are one of my OTPs. I like to draw parallels between whatever universe I'm writing about and the HP universe, so having Remus come down with Lupus seemed like a good parallel--although it is a really sad one. And James is just helpful and loyal to his friends in any universe. :)

Lily will have lots of "ah-ha" moments as she starts to get to know James better--for instance, she's not as "strict librarian" as she wants to be, and that's okay. :D

Yep, took that one straight from The Music Man! I giggled when I wrote it, but it just fit in so well!

Aw, thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #6, by 1917farmgirl(Sometimes) Love: Just Ain't Enough

11th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Wow. It has been far too long since I read any of your amazing writing! I had completely forgotten how much I loved it.

You should know that when I think of Remus/Tonks stories, YOU are the author I think of. No one else can write them like you do. And one of the things I love about how you write them is that they aren't perfect. You don't clean them up and smooth them out and round off their corners. They are flawed, HUMAN characters who do dumb things, but have good hearts.

It was really painful here, to watch them fighting and know how this fic would have to end. And it was even more painful to see that they both died before they were able to set things straight, but again, that's what makes these characters so painfully human.

I did love that we as readers got to see exactly how strong their love is. Not without issues or troubles, but strong.

A few specific things:

The part where Tonks is running through the school, and you showed that the Auror in her wanted to help, but the woman in her needed to find her husband - I loved that. And that it was the woman that won out.

Remus, Remus - YOU DO DESERVE THEM! I feel so sad that he always seems so in doubt of his own worth! I wish I could fix that.

I really liked the glimpse of Tonk's mum, and the bit about Augusta.

Another great story! Thanks so much for sharing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by 1917farmgirlThe Possibility of After: The Viewing

4th June 2015:

So, I'm not sure if I've ever reviewed anything of yours before, but I see how that was a mistake. You have an amazing gift for using words. I was reading this, seeing the way you had worded sentences and put out descriptions, and sitting there going - yep, this is a true writer. You have that old "show don't tell" thing down to a fine art! Makes it such a treat to read!

I guessed early on that this must be Amelia Bones, though I have to confess to not knowing much about her backstory or family. I have purposefully NOT kept myself up-to-date on all the new information JKR has put out, or the Pottermore stuff. I like a little room for imagination in my Harry Potter world. So you could write these characters anyway you chose and I wouldn't mind a bit. :) I do like how you are doing it, so keep up!

I have to admit to having a soft spot in my heart for Gideon and Fabian, even though we (or maybe it's just "I") don't know much about them. In my head cannon they are twins, but I am quite enjoying this take on them as well. And as a Fred and George girl I like that you can see small traits of the twins in these uncles of theirs.

I'm intrigued to see where this story goes, though I can only guess it's going to end in more heartache, given what we know of cannon.

Amazing writing! Thanks for sharing.

 Report Review

Review #8, by 1917farmgirlFall Apart: I

28th May 2015:
I have much to say about this story, but first...

"What was the point in being a wizard if Fred couldn’t be brought back? What was the point in magic?" - AMEN! Why, why, why? Why couldn't JKR fix this? Of all the sad and tragic things that happened in the books, this one is the most wrong. I still deny it every day and spend the majority of my fics trying to fix it.

Second thing - Oh how I wish it had worked! That he could have broken the mirror and pulled Fred out! (Can I request a re-write of this story, where it DOES work and then you go on to write a novel length fic of their adventures together. Pretty please? I can give you...cookies.)

Gah, what a story! Tissues? You owe me like an entire box or two! Fred and George are my favorites. I still get all tingly and happy whenever I see them show up in a story. It absolutely devastated me when Fred died. I'm not over it. I'll never be over it. And so I usually avoid reading fics about George "dealing" like the plague. But for some reason I was drawn to this one.

You have an incredible talent for writing emotions, for drawing the reader in to exactly what your characters are feeling. It almost killed me in this fic, but I still thought I should let you know how good at it you are.

I've seen this idea floating around the internet as well, but I've never read a story that someone made about it because I thought it would be heart-wrenching.

I was right.

Again, excellent story. Amazing descriptions. Emotions off the chart.

And George! GAH! I just need to hug him! Fred too, because you know he wanted to get out of that mirror so badly! (I still vote for that re-write and LONG story...)

I loved that Ron was the one to find him, that he just held him and they both cried. Ron can be so much more than comic relief or a side-kick, and you know his heart is broken for Fred as well.

I don't know if it's a good or bad thing that George can take a bit of glass home with him to see Fred. I'll pretend it's a good thing. But I'm worried.

Thanks for sharing your incredible writing.

The bill for the tissues will arrive later.

I will bug for that Fred and George novel.

- Farmgirl

Author's Response: I have always thought that! What is the point?! Haha I'm glad that you could agree! I deny it as well, in my head Fred moved out of the way in time.

I wish that it had worked as well :( Maybe I need to write another version of this where he does come out of the mirror? It'll make me so happy! I am writing it at some point for you! YES COOKIES!!

*gives entire crate of tissues* I'm glad that you gave this one a chance *hugs you*

Awww thank you so so much! And I'm sorry that it's so heartwrenching *hugs you tighter*

I'm going to pretend it's a good thing as well :D

Awww yay! Keep bugging me! I will write it for you!

Thank you so so much! You are amazing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by 1917farmgirlDon't Forget Me: My Hero

28th May 2015:
Wow! So dark and sad!

I know this story was supposed to be short and only 500 words, but it leaves me with SO many questions! I want to know more!

Why did James kill Rose? Why did everyone think Albus wasn't capable of love, was the black sheep? What exactly happened? I've never read a story where the Potter and Weasley kids aren't best friends running around having a great time together. My brain wants to know how something so wrong could happen?

Your words make this a very stark, lonely, full of despair tale, but I'm pretty sure that was your intent. I think it would be hard to write such a short story and inject so much emotion, but you did it wonderfully.

I feel so bad for Albus! Stuck in prison, waiting for a brother to save him that seems to have no intention of doing it.

Well done. And now I need to go read something happy, LOL.

Author's Response: I'm so tempted to do a short story collection about what caused James to do this, and having people work out that he isn't the golden child everyone assumes he is.

There are so many questions! Albus looks up to James so much, so to him it made sense to cover for James. James definitely manipulated him into it.

I wanted to have this quite dark, and make people feel sorry for Albus. It was quite hard to write it in just 500 words, so was definitely a challenge.

I feel bad for him too, and a little guilty for making this happen.

Thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by 1917farmgirlJumble: HodgePodge

11th May 2015:
I had to click on this story when I saw the summary. And I'm so glad I did.

This was so perfect! And so true! Poor Harry, who never really got to have a normal childhood, and then spends his adulthood in the spotlight. You have zeroed in on the one thing that he stood out for being excellent at that HE was in control of. And the one place he had always felt absolutely free.

It made my heart happy to see him find a bit of that joy again. Not that he isn't happy with Ginny and the baby and a good life, but still...when he's in the air he's just Harry. Not The Boy that Lived or the famous Potter - Just Harry.

Thanks for sharing! Beautiful writing and a great little story. Almost wish there was more of it so I COULD see that game with Harry and Ginny playing against each other. (hint, hint)

Author's Response: Hey there!

Thank you so much for stopping by to read this!

I really just wanted Harry to be happy in this one and get a chance to do something he's always loved.

I may write a sequel down the road, but I'm not sure when. It's definitely on the list though!

Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by 1917farmgirlUgly Eloise: Chapter 1

11th May 2015:
Oh, I really loved this story! It was so nice and refreshing to read about a sincerely NICE character! I was so please with Justin and what he did, and the fact that he really likes Eloise and worked so hard to get her to see that made me smile.

I can totally feel Eloise's pain here. Sometimes it can be so hard to believe that others can see beauty in you, either because bullies convince you otherwise, or you convince yourself. I'm so glad that someone convinced her to see beyond that.

I love that she was good at chess! It was so unexpected, but brilliant! And it was fun to see two people starting off on a relationship in a realistic way - by doing something fun and getting to know each other better.

You have a great way with words. The writing really painted a picture in my head of everything that was happening. I felt the emotions of each character - I was sad and mad when Eloise was being picked on, I felt her fear that this might be too good to be true, and then her elation when she realized it really was real! And I loved Justin's dogged determination.

Thank you for a great story. I like your writing a lot and as soon as school is out and I have a bit more time, I will be back for more.

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm glad you enjoyed this story. Fluff is not my strongest suit, so this was a bit of a departure from the normal for me.

I think pretty much everyone has felt how Eloise does in this at least a time or two. I just wanted her to be understandable and someone most people could relate with.

I don't know why, but I've always imagined her as being a brilliant chess player.

I'm so glad the emotions came through. I was most anxious about conveying them properly. The reason I have a hard time with fluff is because usually the emotions come across as fake or overly dramatic, so I tried to work really hard to keep them real.

Thank you so much for stopping by to check this out!


 Report Review

Review #12, by 1917farmgirlMothering Sunday: Godric's Hollow

9th May 2015:
*sniffles like crazy - determined not to cry because I don't have tissues by me*

Dan, this was amazing! I loved every word of it! Your amazingly powerful description set the tone and painted a vivid picture, and then the heartfelt emotion you piled into the characters was just so perfect! It pushed away all the fluff and crap that we so often dump into our fanfiction and got right to the heart of what HP is all about - family. It really, really touched me and I wanted you to know that.

Thank you as well for returning to the roots of the Harry Potter world and writing Harry and Ginny. They are a growing rarity in HP fanfic these days and I find myself missing them greatly.

I love the idea of Harry keeping his parents up to date on his life, sharing things with them. And I absolutely adored that Ginny was there as well, of her own accord, to speak to her mother-in-law. Her realization that she now understands the concept of loving someone so much you're willing to die for them is a poignant full circle and really completed your story.

Glad inspiration struck you tonight and you wrote this little gem! It's one of my favorites!

Author's Response: Hi, farmgirl! Sorry I caught you without your tissues.

Thank you for all of the compliments. I wrote this on the spur of the moment, which is apparently the only way I can write lately. I'd love to claim that I had a master plan to keep the story stripped down and focused on their feelings, but the truth is that I wrote it so fast that I didn't have time to go into a lot of description. Family was the major theme, though.

I loved Harry's visit to Godric's Hollow in DH and I felt like he would have wanted to visit his parents again after the war was over. Ginny's visit added a little more depth to the story. Being the youngest of her family, Ginny wouldn't have been able to watch her parents tend to younger siblings. I've never felt like she would have really understood that bond between mother and child until she had children of her own.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks for the review and all the kind words. It means a lot!

 Report Review

Review #13, by 1917farmgirlThe Story of You: The Story of You

3rd May 2015:
I know this is going to sound weird, but I think the thing that struck me most about this story wasn't so much the plot of it (though that was stellar as always!) but rather the craft behind it. You know I've been struggling with how to put into words what reading this made me feel, and so I hope I can express it now.

I think what you did here was amazing. It's like you used a story made up of words to pay homage to all words and all stories. The very essence of why we struggle to write and why words can be so very powerful was contained in this one-shot, wrapped and tucked neatly inside the plot - but also in a way, independent of the plot. It really touched me, because I can relate to so much of it. Some of my very best friends are found in books. Fictional characters are often so much more real to me than real people. It's not something I'm always proud of, but I do deeply understand the sentiment.

And while we are on the subject of words, I am once again in awe of yours! You are so gifted with writing! You paint a picture in my mind with the words that you chose and it's so amazing to me. Everything flows smoothly and has such a beauty about it. Seriously, I love your writing so much. I really need to make time to read more of it.

This isn't the longest review, and for that I'm sorry, but I do hope you can realize that it's a very sincere one.

Thank you for sharing your talent with the world. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by 1917farmgirlMeant for Two: You and Me

27th April 2015:
Hey there,

So it's high time I started working my way through your impressive collection of writing. Besides, I know that life has been a little stressful lately for you and I know reviews always help my mood when life is like that. (Please, don't feel any obligation to respond to this - the point is to help you smile, not add to your load of things to do.)

I have plans to dive into your novel, but after responding to 37 reviews today I didn't quite have the stamina for that tonight. Figured I'd start with your one-shots.

I remember you talking about this one, as you tried to get it done in time. Now I can see why you were so fastidious with it - WOW, what an impressive bit of writing!

I love how you said SO much without really saying who you were writing about! I admit I had to read it twice to make sure my guess was right (Katie is it?) but that didn't matter. It wouldn't have mattered if I had guess Sue Smith - it was the emotions that fueled this story for me anyway.

How do you do that? Capture emotions so well and stuff them onto a page? The unrequited, sad love that this girl felt for Harry, while he was so obviously happy without her was heartbreaking to see. And even though I LOVE Harry and Ginny together, and absolutely adore how you portrayed them here, I couldn't help having a bit of regret for the storyteller and her own feelings.

I never would have thought of using this particular paring! Where did that come from?

So glad you powered through and managed to get this story out! It's really great and you should be proud of it!

Author's Response: Haha I don't know if "impressive" is the right word, but thanks for stopping by! And it just so happens that I actually LOVE responding to all reviews and despise seeing anything but 'Unanswered Reviews (0)' (unless of course it was already at zero before).

You are a hero for responding to that many reviews when you got backed up too by the way! IMPRESSIVE!

You were definitely right that it was Katie Bell. Truthfully, this story came from me wanting to explore the idea of Harry/Katie in a more canon-specific context before I MAYBE explore them in the AU series I'm going to start after I finish Evolution. Now, as an ardent Harry/Ginny fan, I have a MAJORLY developed plan where Harry/Ginny remains despite the AU (in a believable non-ridiculous way), but I have also been exploring contingencies, one of which is Harry/Katie so I wanted to see how I could play with them a little more in the canon sandbox before going forward. Because if I can't make emotion work with them in my mind, even if I change them some I don't know if I can make it work in the story.

I'm glad you thought the emotion was well done though! Truthfully, I don't know how I do it, just that for some reason people seem to think I do it well :p When it comes to the love side of things, I think the unrequited side comes very easily to me because (though I'll spare you the blah details) I have A LOT of experience with that. And that tends to make the positive side of love flow out of me quite strongly too because despite it all it's SO aspirational for me. #heartsleeveover

But seriously, thank you so much for leaving this review, it really made my day at the end of the first day of a week that's proven every bit as UGH inducing as I expected (even more than expected today). So thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!

 Report Review

Review #15, by 1917farmgirlLying Josephine: Breakable Girls and Boys

27th April 2015:
How on earth did I never review this chapter? That's just not right. Not right at all.

Tanya, I'm seriously at a loss as to how to review this. I wanted to give you one of those massive detailed reviews that you seem to excel at so well when you review my stuff, but as I read, I found myself unable to stop and make mental notes about all the parts I wanted to mention to you. I was way, way too caught up in what was playing out on the page before me to do that.

I've read this before, many times, actually, as you worked it over (and over, and over, LOL.) But that doesn't matter. I don't know how you do it, but when you take those thoughts and ideas and emotions you have and let them pour out onto paper, something magical happens.

This story is literally one of the best I have ever written. Your Fred, your George...they are all I could ever hope and dream my beloved twins to be. And Josephine is SO AMAZINGLING REAL! How can you not love her?

The genius of this set up, making me laugh and love Fred in the first part - because he is just so FRED! So perfect. And then ripping my heart out in the next part.

Just so you know, I don't care how long it takes you to finish this story, I will be right here, waiting and begging for more, because this is THE ultimate Fred and George fic and nothing else I read can ever compare.

Now excuse me while I go have a good cry.

 Report Review

Review #16, by 1917farmgirlLady Mondegreen: Conversations with a Portrait

25th April 2015:
But, wait! She is still stuck in the portrait! You can't just leave her there! And I wanna know the whole story of how she got there! It's intriguing and you left me hanging. *pouts*

Okay, okay, I'll stop being demanding. But, seriously, these questions will haunt me forever now...

Now on to the real review.

I have actually thought a bit about portraits and how they work. How can a portrait of a person who died, continue to be them? And have not only their memories, but personality to react to new things that happen. Like, if couple married, and say the wife died, and he hung a portrait of her in his house, and then later her remarried...would that be awkward?

So, a fic like this is very intriguing to me. And then you throw in the fact that she is still alive! WOW! Talk about plot twist! I liked it!

But the fact that she's a little hard of hearing and not getting her facts straight is HILARIOUS! How on earth did you think of these great play on words? You must have played the game Telephone a lot as a child!

Giving Harry a box with "peas on earth" is nothing short of brilliant. Again, how did you think of these things!

Thanks for sharing. Thise was a great read and I really, really enjoyed it.

Now, go free Lady M from that portrait. Or at least get her moved to a better spot in the school!

- Farmgirl

Author's Response: Heeheehee!

How portraits work is sort of explained by Rowling on Pottermore, so I just stuck with what I know from there. She says that portraits are painted while the subjects are actually living, and enchanted by the artist to move and speak, although the degree and depth to which they interact with others is dependent on the original subject's power. Which is why the Headmaster/mistress's portraits are so much more helpful than the others might be.

The real key is that the portrait's personality is not a direct echo of the original subject, but rather, from how the subject appeared to the painter.

So, yeah, odds are if a man hung up a portrait of his wife and then remarried, it'd probably be awkward.

The fact Lady M is, in fact, alive, is one that I've had in my head for YEARS! I've got another novel length fic that I'm working on which has a muggle girl get trapped in a portrait while defending a Queen. She didn't have a name or really much of a character until I accepted the challenge and got the word "Mondegreen". The word comes from a writer who misinterpreted a Scottish ballad and substituted the words "and laid him on the green" with "Lady Mondegreen." Combine that with the definition of Mondegreen, it just fit!

And since I didn't want to write about her during her time period (founders era), because that would be TOTAL SPOILERS for my other story, I decided to write her with one of my other OC's in the future as a portrait. That way I could just tease people a little bit with her story. Heehee. :D

The play on words were actually ALL mondegreen's that I actually have done in my life. Most of them were from when I was little (like: hostages vs sausages, or Jews vs. juice), but the "Peas on Earth" is completely from my Dad. He cracked that pun so many times that I finally gave it to him. He hasn't cracked that pun since. :)

I can't tell you whether or not Lady M gets freed or not...that would involve more spoilers. ;)

Thanks for reading hun! I really appreciate it!! (And I apologize for the ridiculously long response)

 Report Review

Review #17, by 1917farmgirlThis Treasure: You Make Me Smile

14th March 2015:
You know, I really hate writing reviews.

Which I'm sure is not the sentence you wanted this to start with. But let me explain.

When I read something like this that is so incredibly good I can never find the words to express that, to tell the author exactly how amazing it was. It feels like my pitiful little attempts always fall so far short of what the story deserves.

I hope you know that you have written a masterpiece here (not to mention a three-tissue-box story.) This was SEE, again with the not having the right words thing!

The emotions you portrayed were so beautiful to read, and I loved the snippets of Ron and Hermione's life you showed over time, loved that they weren't grand or amazing or fairytale like - but they were REAL!

And your writing. HOLY COW you have talent girl! Every time I read your stuff I am in awe and then I sit there and wonder why I don't read your stuff more often because you are SO GOOD!

You say you don't write Ron and Hermione very often - well, I firmly believe that needs to change. You are obviously brilliant at them.

Thanks for sharing such a touching, gentle, moving story. Even if I knew what would happen at the end right from the start and knew it would break my heart, I had to keep reading. I couldn't stop. This was lovely and you have every right to be completely proud of it.

- Farmgirl

 Report Review

Review #18, by 1917farmgirlThe Last Snowy Feather: Biding Her A Silent Farewell

2nd March 2015:

You, my friend, owe me a box of tissues. Seriously. A whole box.

Okay, so I probably should NOT have read this story. I am the biggest animal lover of all time and second only to Fred dying, Hedwig's death in DH just killed me. It was made even worse by the fact that it was hardly even acknowledged! She was there, then she wasn't, and Harry was expected to go on like she didn't even matter.

So, while I shouldn't have read this story because now I'm bawling like a baby, I don't really mean that because I'm very grateful that someone recognized that Hedwig was important and Harry deserved to grieve for her.

Pets are special. Loving them isn't complicated like it can be with loving people. You love them, they love you in return - it's as simple as that. And it's a loyal love that is very hard to break. And when a pet dies it's like a hole has been ripped in your heart, but all too often society has the attitude of "they're just a pet, just an animal...get over it." But they are so, so much more.

I have to admit I was torn by Harry letting the feather go at the end - his last reminder of Hedwig. I don't think I could have done that, let her fly one last time. I would have kept the feather. I guess that makes Harry much stronger than I am.

Thank you for a beautiful, thoughtful, gentle story - and for giving Harry the chance to grieve and say goodbye to his first and most loyal friend. This was a wonderful story.

And I'm so glad you found your ability to write again and are feeling happy about it! That's something I'm still struggling with.


(P.S. This is for the Gryffie Feb. exchange, just in case you didn't figure that out, which I'm sure you did. :) )

Author's Response: Aw! *hands you a box of tissues - a big box.*

I'm sorry, and not sorry that you cried. I do get what you mean though, their deaths really did blew me. I did not even... Like... Reading when they first died... it hadn't hit me until... a while later. And it is sad that Hedwig's death wasn't even... explored. It was only a brief mention of her, after everyone made it to the Burrow.

Yes, pets are just as special when it comes to taking a places in one's heart. It's a shame and downright depressing the abuse and cruelty they have go through. Once, when I was young, and I was living with my grandmother, she had a lot of cats, and I loved them... until they were either taken away by someone else or they died off. The house felt lonely when they were all gone. There were two black cats I grew really attached too, and I cried when they both died. (At that time, we didn't have proper living arrangements or food - especially for the cats, sadly.)

Ahhh! Mostly though, because this is a one-shot, Harry would have to have let her feather go to move the story. However, now that you said that if it were you, and you wouldn't have let go of Hedwig's feather, it gives me the idea of... like having that in a novel one day... like... me writing the Aftermath of the second war through Harry's view. And he discovers it, and he doesn't let it go... at all at first... but maybe some time later... he might when he grieves properly. So yeah! Thanks for the inspiration!

You're welcome! I was happy to have the chance to write this, since I think everyone needed closure with Hedwig's death as much as Harry did.

Shoot... it's been months since I've wrote this one-shot. I'm still having difficulty writing like how I want to. *sad face*

Maybe we both will find our rhythm again.

(Lol, I do know it's from the previous Month review exchange. *smiles*)

Thanks for reading and reviewing! ♥

- Asphodel

 Report Review

Review #19, by 1917farmgirlBuilding Dollhouses In The Sand: Chapter Two

19th February 2015:
Just a heads up, I think that last two sentences of your chapter here might have been misplaced. Do they belong back at the conversation with Fred?

So I have to say, I really don't like that Katherine is trying to do anything to please her father. Didn't he kill her mother? Does she know that? I don't want him having any influence over her at all.

And I'm worried about this Quidditch game. Something is going to happen to her, I can tell.

Now, George needs to be nice and tell her his name. Or Katharine needs to get smart. Pay attention to little differences...learn to tell them apart. LOL

 Report Review

Review #20, by 1917farmgirlBuilding Dollhouses In The Sand: Chapter One

19th February 2015:
Oh, George, that is just evil. Brilliant, but evil. Tell the poor girl your name! She's smart, she's gonna figure it out if you don't, and I think this will turn around and bite you in the behind.

And I did feel so very bad for Katherine at the beginning here, when they broke her snow globe. Poor girl. And to find out her uncle died. I don't think he killed himself either, and hope you answer that question in this story. Also, what or who did he fail to rescue? I'm intrigued.

So, her dad is a Death Eater. That can't be good. So many more questions.

I did notice a few things that make it hard to follow the story at times. Sometimes your use of pronouns instead of names leaves people wondering exactly who is being spoken about, or doing the talking. You might what to check that over. Also, when you change POV or scenes, it would be helpful to put a break of some kind, so people can tell that it's happening.

Keep up the good work. I shall keep reading, though I'm a slow reader, just so you know.

 Report Review

Review #21, by 1917farmgirlBuilding Dollhouses In The Sand: Prologue

19th February 2015:
I saw you mention this on the forums and thought I'd give it a look. I'm always up for a story featuring the twins. :)

Very intriguing start! You have left me with so many questions about Katherine and her background! How do Gideon and Fabian play into all of this. She can't be a daughter to either of them, or the hinted relationship between George and her eventually would just be a bit icky. So, what is their relationship to her mother? And poor Elizabeth! Why was she killed? How did she know her killer? And how was Katherine spared? Who did Katherine go to live with and how did she get there?

See, told you, questions. Good stories always leave you with them.

I'm also excited to get a glimpse of the twins at school, see Hogwarts through their eyes.

Nice start! Off for more.

Author's Response: Eeek!

I am so absolutely flattered that you've read and reviewed something of mine *blush* I mean I love your work, huge fan and to have you read something written by little ol' me means a lot, so feel free to read on and comment anything you feel necessary :) The story will answer all your question :) Thank you again for the review this made my week! Heck, it made my month!

Ps: I'm editing the story so it'd mean a lot that if you found anything leave it in a review! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by 1917farmgirlComplicated: Complication #2

10th February 2015:
I can totally understand your chapter summary today. It hasn't been a particularly good day in my world either.

Also, I have to admit that given your story summary, I kind of figured things couldn't go all that well for Blaise and Abigail in this chapter, not of James is going to come into this story somehow. ;)

It's sad to see how full of stuff a life can be, and yet how empty just the same. I had to read that book, The Great Gatsby in know the one, the classic, and I hated it. Because it was just so...empty. No one meant anything to anyone else. Poor Abigail's parents have set that up for her, and even though the silk is nice, I really do hope she finds more than just that. You can tell she wants it...but she's going to have to work a little harder for it.

I thought your line about love and hate was really, really profound. Makes you wonder about her parents, actually. All that hate and animosity is probably just hiding the fact that part of them still cares for the other and they are way to proud and stubborn to admit it.

Great writing again. You do have a way with characters and settings and moods and a very good attention to detail. I was honored to be your review exchange partner!

 Report Review

Review #23, by 1917farmgirlComplicated: Complication #1

9th February 2015:
First of all, I am SO sorry for how late I am with this review. It's been a rough start of the new year for me and I'm behind on everything. Trying desperately to catch up now. I hope you can forgive me.

Now, to the review. I also have to confess that I am not a big fan of Next-Gen. I have a great love for the original characters but I have a harder time stretching it over to characters we know so little about. I guess I'm just odd.

But I do think you have done a wonderful job of creating characters here. I read the whole thing (until the very last section) thinking how shallow and rather stuck-up these girls were and wishing they would talk about something other than clothes and boys. Don't read that the wrong way - that's a compliment. It takes a great writer to create characters so real they can annoy you!

And then you flip it around. That last section peels away the layers and reveals that at least for Abigail, they are partly for show. There is a real her hiding beneath them, yearning for more than clothes and money and popularity. That adds so more to her and is the mark of great writing. It's like a hook, to pull your readers in, but a very subtle and deft on.

Great writing, stellar characters, and pretty dresses. What more could you want?

Thanks again for the review swap and I'm so sorry it's taken me such a long time!

 Report Review

Review #24, by 1917farmgirlIcarus: Cultivated Arts

19th November 2014:
Okay, you miss, are a sneaky author. I caught several things in this story that have nothing to do with this story, hehehe.

1. I see the interest in the ever interesting and arrogant, if slightly insane, Lockhart continues. Nice plug.

2. Swearing in Chinese? I'm on to you, dong ma. I am, I am.

3. So, Agatha Christy was a witch, huh? Interesting...

I knew it! I knew it! I knew Marta somehow was responsible for that cube showing up. She stole it. This can't be good at all.

You know, I don't know this new Connor dude, but I have to be a little on his side. They should be more careful what they are talking about in public. Some of us Muggles are not as dumb as we look.

Now, is Connor from the future? Is this all a set up to something? Am I overthinking? Probably.

A screen with weird writing, a strange button. HELLO LILY! You DO NOT PUSH STRANGE BUTTONS!!! Didn't your mother ever tell you about her experience with a strange diary? Man, this family needs to share personal stories.

I have a bad feeling about this. I have seen too many of these scifi things. There will be a wormhole, or a vortex, or a fluxation in the time-space continuum or something and then bad things will happen.

You should have just read that book, Lily.

Author's Response: 1. You caught me. I actually do love writing Lockhart, and I missed it. Not necessarily a plug for the other story, more like me just reliving his fun POV :p

2. Haha! This will not be a Firefly crossover, just throwing that out there. Unfortunately.

3. The titles of her books, particularly those two, were just too good to ignore!

You guessed it! Maybe I should just have you guess the entire plot and then that'll give me clues as to what I should actually write from here on out. XD

Conor does have a point. Marta can be quite self involved sometimes and not think about things like that. As for Conor being from the future, I won't say a word because I like to be evil and mysterious, but I love your hypotheses! :D

Lily inherited an unfortunate trait from her father which is that she sometimes pokes her nose where it doesn't belong!

There will be... something. Wouldn't it be cool if it was actually an ice cream machine?

Thanks so much for your review! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by 1917farmgirlIcarus: Old and New

17th November 2014:
Okay, so first off, you have a knack for writing characters! Seriously, I never in a thousand years would have thought you could take this group of dysfunctional characters and weave them together into a story, but you did! And they are so vivid in their portrayal! It's like I can see them in my head. You have given them strange flaws, but in the end that just makes them more human. Although, I'm not sure I could handle Marta as a roommate/friend. She is very intense, and I would feel the need to clean all the time as I don't do weeks old food. hehehe

Next - Wow has Lily got a voice! Not as in she was yelling or anything, but this character comes right off the pages and tells me she knows exactly who she is. There is nothing generic about her. Bravo to your writing skills!

I also love how you are melding Muggle and magical stuff in this. Though I must admit I was a little worried when Lance came over. I thought he might be a Muggle and they were going to have to hide stuff fast. Was relieved that he's Muggleborn and knows what's up.

He talks to ghosts?!?! WOW! What a job! And, do I sense that somehow, that little nugget of information will be important in the future? Of course I could have just watched too many scifi shows so who knows.

LILY, DO NOT TOUCH THE BOX!!! That can't be good! Where did it come from? Did Marta leave it? Is she not who she seems to be? Did it just appear?

I know you've never seen it, but there is this strange, pulsating cube that exists in Andromeda known as the route of ages that can take you to different times and spaces. Makes me really worried about what this box is.

Well done! Will be back for more.

Author's Response: Hi Farmgirl! Eeee, this review made my day! Thank you so much, it means so much to me that you like the way I write my characters!! Haha though you're right, they are quite a dysfunctional bunch. There is a reason Marta is a friend rather than a roommate - neither Iris nor Lily could handle that kind of mess either! :P

Wow thank you so much for that compliment about Lily's narrative voice! I am so glad she is that clear and individual, aah thank you!

Lance is actually half-blood, but his dad is a Muggle so he's quite familiar with the Muggle side of the world and can relate to the Muggle-born Iris. I realise that at this point in the story Lance's background hasn't been discussed (as I didn't realise he was going to be a main character, believe it or not), but it is a couple of chapters later :p

Talking to ghosts would be super cool. Who knows if that's actually what he does though, because Lily has no idea. This is just her nearest guess. :D

LILY SHOULD LISTEN TO YOU. I'm so glad you're intrigued about the box!

Thanks sooo much for your reviews!! ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>