Reading Reviews From Member: 1917farmgirl
  
177 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 1917farmgirllow tide: a meditation

21st October 2014:
That's it.

I quit.

How could anyone possibly hope to write George ever again after reading this?

And just when I thought my heart MIGHT have started to mend, you rip it right back open.

Seriously, I'm hanging up the Fred and George hat and bowing to your mastery.

AMAZING fic! Incredible imagery and use of words. You didn't tell this story, you let it wisp in to us on the tide, in the smell of the air, the feel of the sand.

It might be the fact that it wasn't a sobbing, distraught George that told this story, but a quietly sad one. George doesn't do quiet. That alone expressed the magnitude of his grief, even as he fought back and tried to be alive again.

Yep, you are the master and I sit here in awe.

Incredible. 100/10

Author's Response: NO DON'T QUIT! Because then who will bring Fred back to life?! I'm counting on you for that!

Gah, thanks so much for your comments about the imagery and the words! I'm really proud of how the descriptions turned out in this story and it just makes me so happy when people notice them! ♥

It was definitely a bit weird to write the wild and funny George as so subdued - I wasn't sure if it would seem like him. But I love what you pointed out there, how his silence speaks volumes. Also, the fact that you were impressed by this portrayal of George means so much to me because you are one of the best writers of Fred and George on the site! And so to hear that from you is just asdkjfjakl. Thank you for your amazing review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by 1917farmgirlseventeen, eighteen.: countdown.

18th October 2014:
Wow.

I was not expecting this. I must admit, had I known what it was about, I might not have read it. This is a tender and emotional topic that unfortunately does carry with it some very real and very sad memories.

That said, I started, and finished, and I don't like to leave something I've read without a review.

I can say with utmost confidence that you have a gift for writing and the use of language to set a scene and a particular mood. The way you wrote Molly and showed what she struggled with, on the surface it appeared slightly odd and maybe even funny, but the whole time there was this undercurrent of pain and despair and loss of control. Very poignant! And particularly well done. It would have been very easy to lose the story in the repetition and you didn't do that.

My heart did break for Molly here. You write with strong emotion.

Very good writing, especially about such a hard topic. And I really hope you can see that this review is very much meant as a compliment and aren't upset by it.

- Farmgirl

 Report Review

Review #3, by 1917farmgirlStarving Artists: New Horizon

13th October 2014:
WOW, Kevin! That was so beautiful! I've never had the chance to read anything of yours yet, though I plan to work my way through your page eventually, but that was truly remarkable!

You have a real gift with words and an ability to paint a picture with them! I love how you use little details that wouldn't be important at all, to show a character's personality. The cup, for example. That whole thing COULD have been left out without hurting the plot at all, but the story would have been so much poorer for it. It showed Rionach's character and made the telling very rich.

I love that this was about Dean...well, Dean through the eyes of someone else, but still. I always had a soft spot for him, though I've never really written him. This made me very fond of him again.

And I have to compliment you. You mention you were worried to write from the perspective of a female character, but you did a BRILLIANT job at it! Seriously, it was so spot on it was a little creepy. You know things you shouldn't now about how a female brain works...*eyes Kevin suspiciously*

So glad I stopped by and read this. It really was beautiful and moving and SO eloquent! Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: WOW, to you! This review is so kind and coming in the midst of my mayhem it was so good to get and read. Thank you!

I'm really glad you enjoyed the story and the bit about the cup. It was something I went back and forth on including as it (despite being tiny) was giving me a bit of trouble when I tried to get across what I was aiming at, but you've made me very glad I did!

Ahh the female character thing. Yes. I was VERY worried actually. I mean, I've been complimented on writing female characters before in third-person, but it's a totally different thing to do first-person, especially in a romance so I'm glad you think I did such a good job with it. I'll ignore the suspicious look :p

Thank you so much for reading and leaving this wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by 1917farmgirlRabbit Heart: Trusting Hearts

13th October 2014:
You know, for purportedly writing a story about teen angst and drama and mushiness and most likely spoons, you sure manage to put in an awful lot of intense, real, human emotions. I literally just had this conversation with WYHO about this fic:

Me - How the heck does Pix's supposedly silly story about blood-sucking rabbits and teen angst always make me cry?

WYHO - Cause she's brilliant like that?

Me - Amen.

And it's true! You went and made me cry again. There is just something so touching and personal about those sections with Gran. It just...GAH! You owe me lots and lots of tissues.

And then, you throw in a creepy little kid.

I know much about this Dillon...which I shall refrain from saying. But, I'm still so curious! Despite what I know, he seems so...normal...in a completely non-normal way. Is he evil? Or just alone? Who is this mother?

And the most important question? Why do you have to make little kids and sweet little bunnies evil?

Bunny - :(

Teen angst and vampires? - yeah right. This is really tragedy and real life and emotion and truth mixed up with crazy writing skills and great descriptions, all stirred by the spoon of AWESOMENESS...because you are.

Seriously, Pix, you are fooling no one here, with your claims of it "just being a teen drama story."

 Report Review

Review #5, by 1917farmgirlLying Josephine: Eye of the Storm

12th October 2014:
WYHO,

Sometimes I hate writing you reviews. For many reasons.

The first is that when I read your stuff, I remember that you are absolutely the best Fred and George writer out there, and then I get filled with jealousy and nasty feelings, and I don't like those.

Secondly, I cannot ever, not matter how much I try, put into words the talent that I see here in your stuff. Your ability to capture emotions and people and put them onto a page. How you can go from humor to anguish in literally 2 words and have it be so true and perfect. You always seem to have the right words and the right phrase and I don't know how you do it! You truly have a gift.

But the third reason is this - I know not matter how much I tell you this, you won't believe me, because we are such good friends and you for some reason think I'm just saying nice things. But I'm not. You ARE amazing and this story is incredible, and sometime I will get you to accept that.

Bravo. This is pure genius.

P.S. The "T" key is not working well on my computer tonight, so bear that in mind as you read this review.

P.P.S. I still think Fred would be smashing bald.

Author's Response: *blushes* You are too much, farmgirl.

You're also absolutely insane. :-p

First: Am not! I do believe you hold that title. Ask anyone. But it's huge that the Queen of the Twins approves of my versions! Really, thank you, it means so much! *hugs*

Second: *dies* What do I even say to that?!? haha Thank you so much. Really, I don't know how to respond to this except maybe to say that you of all people should know how tedious I am when it comes to editing, and it's only after the 8,000th read-through that I'm satisfied, so my 'ability' or whatever only happens after a ridiculous number of edits.

Third: hahaha Well... All I can say to that is you sure are the pot calling the kettle black! :-p But I sincerely appreciate the kind words and support. This chapter would not be up yet without your help and guidance.

Ugh. You're too nice. Thank you.

P.S. No worries. haha

P.P.S. LOL Personally, I'm a fan of his hair, so it's staying! But feel free to make your own bald twin. ;)


 Report Review

Review #6, by 1917farmgirlThe Fall of the Town : A Stranger In the Dawn

27th March 2014:
Okay, WOW! It's been too long since I read this story. I forgot just how meaty a work it is!

Seriously, reading this is like digesting Dickens or Tolstoy, and I mean that as the highest compliment. Your writing is incredible! It's so full and there are so many plots and characters weaving throughout this story that I have to read carefully to make sure I don't miss anything. Very, very rarely does that happen in fanfiction!

I can't believe all the parts you are bringing together in this! I'm so worried I'm gonna miss something! And I honestly don't even know who I'm rooting for yet...what I want to have happen. I know what probably will happen, at least to a small extent, giving I know the fairy tale, but still, you've twisted this so much to new paths and ideas I'm not even sure about that!

Marigold - I don't know if I want her to end up with Stephane or stay true to Trip, or if I just want to tell her she's too young to think about that anyway! And I feel so sorry for Vincent and want things to turn out well for him!

I don't want the Muggles to turn on their neighbors! And I don't want anything Stephane does to backfire! And I'm still very worried about Death lurking around. That image of the dead rats was disturbing, and I'm worried somehow they aren't done with that Plague.

See, all these questions you leave me with! Such AMAZING writing! How do you do it? Put so much detail and weave so many strands through each chapter? How do you keep track of it all?

I really like your almost backwards sort of story-telling. The present tense, the way you start a scene in the middle and then let us discover how it actually started. It's unique and so effective! I read your stuff and wonder what my silly little attempts at writing are doing out there in the world when there is writing like this happening!

Great story! I will be back to see what happens, promise!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Wow, thank you so much! I absolutely love that comparison and am really quite honoured as Dickens especially is a literary icon of mine. I love how he writes "in excess" and so for you to compare this to his methods of writing is really amazing. ♥

I really enjoyed coming up with all the plots and sub-plots, and how they tie into one another. What I found in writing this story is that there was no real possible happy ending where everybody is happy, so I'm glad you're worried and unsure about what you want to happen.

I agree - she is a bit young, but right now she's quite taken with Stephane and how different and exciting he is. Girls in that time would get married very young, but Marigold has a lot of other things to worry about right now. And I know, poor Vincent!

I'm glad you're wondering all these questions about what is going to happen, it's quite exciting for me to read. I really have no idea how I keep track, except for making lists. The tricky part for me was making sure all the loose ends were tied up and all the characters accounted for, which was challenging.

I'm glad you liked the way the narrator hedges into the story - I didn't plan it that way, but it felt right for the nature of the story. And don't call your writing silly, you're a wonderful writer! :)

Thanks so very much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by 1917farmgirlEverto Trucido: The Trial

26th March 2014:
Okay, THAT was a whirlwind ride! Talk about characters coming at you from right and left! And SO many questions!

Seriously, though, it's brilliant. Throwing readers right into the thick of things and shoving stuff at them left and right. If that doesn't make people want to keep reading, I don't know what will!

You have a very, very nice writing style. It draws readers in and lets them see the story playing out before them. And even though I only know about half of these characters, they seem real and I already care about them and want to know what's going on.

I also have to give you bonus points for handling such a HUGE amount of characters in this chapter. I know I always struggle when I write large crowds with making sure I don't "lose" people in the writing. You did a very good job!

So, now I need to know exactly who Grace is, what she can do, how she changed everything... And then there's this rather dodgy sounding conversation with Death. Death doesn't make good deals, usually, so I'm very nervous! What did Grace have to give him?

See, hooked already. Told you I would be! I promise I'll be back for more.

- Farmgirl

Author's Response: It has taken me FOREVER to respond to this, along with my other reviews...I'm working my way up the list :D.

I'm glad that you enjoyed this, like we've discussed, this one isn't everyone's cup of tea!

This chapter was rewritten so many times, but I think I've managed to, well...manage the characters finally. There's a ton of name-dropping in here that gets confusing!

Why does everybody want to hate on Death? ;) ...don't answer that.

Thanks so much!!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #8, by 1917farmgirlOn Air: On Air

25th March 2014:
You know, for a series of kids books, JKR wrote some pretty grown-up stuff.

I've studied a lot about WWII history, the war, the underground movements, and you have completely captured that same feeling here with this story. You really are a master at storytelling. I could feel the nervousness, the anguish of being apart, the helplessness of Reg as he didn't know what to do or how to keep his family safe.

I can't believe how you keep taking these characters who had maybe one line in the books and turning them into flesh and blood with whole back stories and everything. You leave me wondering who Sean was, and if Mary tied into the Marauders somehow. And if they ever came back, after the war was over.

I wonder about Maisie's experiences at Hogwarts during that nightmare year. You captured the way warm makes kids grow up way too fast in the reactions of Reg and Mary's kids in this story.

The best part about your stories is that as I'm reading them, I don't remember I'm reading a story at all. I get sucked into what's going on and can see it all playing out in front of my eyes instead of the words I'm actually reading.

And I also love how all your stories tie together. If I'm not mistaken, this Carol was the same Carol from your last Luna story. That's a really cool touch.

Glad I got to read another one of your great stories! At this rate, I might catch up someday. Of course, you still have a novel with 37 chapters I'm going to have to work my way through, so I've still got a ways to go!

Beautiful writing, as always. You're a Pro!

Author's Response: Right? Pretty intense, with wars and genocide and prejudices and a lot of stuff in disguise that's really just the same problems the non-magical world has. :-/

Aaa! Wow, thank you! I am so glad it captured that intense wartime feeling. I think WWII history is really interesting too, but I don't know much about the underground movements to be honest, and that's why it's especially cool to hear that the underground movement in this fic resembled that of WWII. Thanks!

Minor characters are my favourites for that reason - since there's not much established about them already, it leaves a lot of room for creativity with back stories. Hm, I like to think they came back, but who knows? ;)

I thought Maisie's story was important to tell because Harry didn't experience any of that year at Hogwarts, and not everyone was hiding in the Room of Requirement - it must have been an awful year especially for those without any hope. :(

Aw, thank you! I'm glad my stories are that captivating! Yours are too, btw.

Yes, it is the same Carol ;) I think you're the first person to point that out, actually. A lot of my stories have a bit of overlap, I love making little connections!

Haha - the novel was my first fanfiction, and I hadn't quite figured out what a plot was. It's basically 20 chapters of serious/Sirius puns and 19 chapters of actual story. Well, you've been warned :p

Thank you so much for your amazing review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by 1917farmgirlRabbit Heart: Have a Heart

25th March 2014:
"She hated crying. It always gave her a headache for hours afterward." - I know EXACTLY how Wren feels here. Because I'm in that boat.

Pix, you amaze me. I mean that with all of my heart. You see, I've known Wren for a long time now - before she was ever Wren. We've talked and chatted and I've seen you work and re-work and re-work again on your stuff. You have a dedication I've never seen in any other author here. But even after all of that, and reading parts of this story and knowing the characters and knowing how good you are, I never expected this chapter to hit me like this. Never.

Don't get me wrong - the first part, with Wren and packing her room and Albus and James and Rose - it's all perfectly good Teen stuff, just like you are wanting. Better than most Teen stuff - true - but still firmly in the genre that I know this story is for.

And I know this story is about Blood-sucking things and vampires and more blood and probably even some pie somewhere, or a spoon, but I do hope you also realize that in the middle of writing all of that "stuff" you have written something much more. Something far more powerful.

You have written someone saying goodbye to their childhood, and that is a powerful, powerful thing.

See, despite the fact that I'm a baby and cry over anything with fur or little feet or tiny pink noses (and I am crying and I want personal assurance that the squirrel and the injured bird made it and were fine!) what you've done is simply amazing. Wren's grief is real and palpable as she says goodbye to her home, and her animals, and her childhood. Because she's also saying goodbye to her Gran, at least as she knew her.

My heart is breaking because I know what it's like to leave somewhere that your heart has carved out as your own. To worry that you will wake up someday and not remember how it sounded when the screen door slammed shut, or the way the dirt felt under your toes. That no one else will love it as much as you did.

This is probably the craziest, most off the wall review you've ever had. Sorry. I will try to be more normal from here on out.

Seriously, though. The squirrel and the bird. I need to know.

Author's Response: Hey!

So, I probably sat on this review for longer than should be humanly allowed, but I seriously don't know how to respond appropriately to such praise, except to say thank you.

Wren's a girl, and a friend, and a granddaughter and loves her animals. It's hard to find interesting ways to introduce a character in the first chapter that makes the reader pay attention and get to know them the way that I do... or at least the way I want them to. I'm glad that all of those things I showed gave you a connection to her.

Of course you're not going to like it when I tell you that we will see neither the squirrel or the bird after this chapter. Neither will Wren, for that matter. That said, you are welcome to imagine that they became fully healed after a time and made their home somewhere in the woods in the back of old Gran's bungalow and are merrily preparing for winter. And you're right. Wren might not remember them, or the tree, or the way her toes squished into the mud by the lake, but she has those pictures. Maybe that will be enough.

Thanks for reading my story with potential blood, and maybe a vampire, and perhaps pie and a spoon... (I haven't decided if the spoon subplot will stay or not. A lot of things are getting axed in revision.)

Most of all, thanks for the incredible review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by 1917farmgirlA Selection of Yellow Things, Including Streelers and Mortimer's Socks: Loony

24th March 2014:
I LOVE THIS STORY!!!

YES, THAT MUCH! YES, I'M SHOUTING!!

This was THE best Luna story I've ever read! I want to just hug you! I love Luna, but writing her can be so hard, and so many people botch it, but I usually just don't bother reading about her anymore. This was incredible!

I loved the clouds in the sky, and how she was so concerned about the little duckling cloud that she walked into someone.

I loved her thoughts about Harry. They were so true, which is the beauty of Luna. She believes in the fantastical but is still pure truth.

I love Luna's umbrella! A little bit of sunshine in the rain!

And the old lady from Roswell. GAH! laughing really hard!

The fact that Luna worked in the menagerie was perfect for her! Such well thought out plans!

And I LOVED Mortimer! You created a wonderful character. And how Luna interacted with him, and how insightful she was.

BRILLIANT GIRL! I will be back for more of your amazing stuff soon!

- Farmgirl

Author's Response: HOW DO I EVEN RESPOND TO THIS AMAZING REVIEW

Seriously, I kept coming back and just reading it over and over - it has me grinning from ear to ear. Thank you so much! I'm so flattered it's the best Luna story you've read! Eeep ♥

Luna always seemed like someone who would have her head in the clouds a bit. I mean, that's what she focused on at the one Quidditch game where she was commentating :D

But yes, aside from the airiness, I think she really is quite perceptive, and honest. Belief in the fantastical, but still pure truth - a great way to phrase it, I like that.

I'm glad you liked the umbrella hehe. I want an umbrella like that!

Aw! I'm so glad you liked Mortimer! I loved writing their interactions since the two of them are pretty much opposites - but a little similar in their eccentricity.

I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the story and my portrayal of Luna. Thank you so so much for this review! ♡


 Report Review

Review #11, by 1917farmgirlDouble Trouble: A Twin Affair

24th March 2014:
So, I am THE WORST partner ever, finally getting around to leaving you the amazing review you deserve on this story. And I'm so sorry. Life has just been crazy since Christmas time and hasn't slowed down yet.

It was so much fun to work with you and get to know you. I loved the way we thought the same and had the same ideas for this story.

Aziza and Akila were AMAZING characters and I'm so glad you had the job of inventing them instead of me. I'm not very good with OCs, but the way you wrote them here just made them come alive.

I love how funny you are! There were so many sections of this story that made me laugh out loud. I still laugh reading it again, even though I know exactly what happens.

My favorites parts: the way the two pairs of twins met, roping Bill into helping them and his OUTFIT! *giggles again*, Bill forgetting his lines, Mrs. Weasley trying to figure out what was going on. Oh, there's too many. I can't list them all.

Brilliant writing, my dear! You have so much talent and I'm so glad I was able to work with you. This was a blast!

Author's Response: You are not the WORST partner ever, stahp it silly!!! You don't have to apologize!!!

I'm so flattered that you enjoyed working with me. It was such a pleasure to have you as a partner. I was so glad that our ideas meshed and you're absolutely brilliant. Especially with F&G.

Thanks! I had so much fun coming up with them, I was so happy you let me kind of have my way with them. I really wanted to make them as goofy and ridiculous as the boys, I felt like they'd be better off as perfect matches rather than anything.

Haha, Thanks! I had so much fun writing random stuff. I think my favorite part is when the boys banter with Bill, so great! I don't even know where I got the idea for his outfit. Oh man, I was just going crazy. You went even crazier though, lady! Belly dancing house elves. I would have never thought of that!

Thank you, you're brilliant as well! I'm flattered that you say that, and I'm so glad I was able to work with you, as well.

It really was so much fun!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #12, by 1917farmgirlLying Josephine: Nice to Meet You

24th March 2014:
Worst friend ever finally showing up to give you a review on this beauty!

And, you know, if you didn't make your chapters almost 8,000 words long, it wouldn't take you so long to edit them. That's like three normal people's chapters...just sayin'. LOL.

BUT, I LOVE THIS CHAPTER! I love it all! I want to wrap it up and take it home with me so I can see it always. (Or maybe I just want to wrap Fred up and take him home with me so I can see him always...I sometimes get those two things confused.)

The advertisement was CLASSIC Fred and George, and makes me laugh every time I read it.

And then there is the interview. Seriously, how do you THINK of this stuff? I wish I had the talent for long and amazing reviews like you give, and the ability to put into words exactly how much I LOVE that scene, but every time I try I just end up laughing, and the tears start to stream down my face, and I can't breathe and...yeah. This is seriously one of the FUNNIEST things I've ever read, and I read a lot of humor.

Not that I don't feel sorry for Jo. Fred was AWFUL to her, from the chair to the comments to him and George standing there when she disappeared, but it's just so funny! And then the moment he GETS it, and realizes what is going on.

Sorry, I just can't get over that chair! Seriously, brilliant invention, T! And Fred's questions to her! Can I sign up to be interviewed by your Fred?

Okay, I will attempt to be serious here.

One of the many things I love about you and how you write the twins, besides the fact that you just GET them, is that they are always, always, always two distinct people. You even bring in their subtle differences in appearance. See, this is why I love you.

I also love the way you write them talking to each other. Their banter is SO spot on I feel like I'm reading a chapter out of the books. Wish I could write them that way, but at least I get to read your version of them, so you need to write MORE of this FASTER!

And I'm still stuck on the whole hiding behind the desk scene. It's seriously one of my top 5 fanfic scenes ever. I just love it.

CHEST HAIR! I'm rolling again! You are too good.
I love your twins! I love your Fred!

And then, GAH! You just crush me with the second half of the story. Tear my heart out and leave it lying on the ground.

The hilariousness of the first part clashes so perfectly with the stark emptiness of the second part - it's amazing and heart breaking. The way you change your sentence structure, making them shorter, more too the point. It's amazing.

And now I'm crying. Darn you. *goes for tissues*

You truly have a gift and I'm glad you share it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by 1917farmgirlHolly and the Mistletoe: Holly and the Mistletoe

20th March 2014:
Gah! I'm crying so hard right now I can hardly see to type this review.

Seriously.

This was the most moving thing I've read in ages. I don't even know how to tell you how much this story touched me, and I wish I wasn't doing this for a battle review because I'm not sure I can string five coherent sentences together after that stunning, incredible fic.

I don't know how you can be so creative and so talented at the same time. I want lessons. I want to know how to make my own writing reach out and grab someone the way this story just did to me.

I think I was about 4 paragraphs in when I realized this story was about house-elves, and I right away started alternately praising and cursing (that was the jealous monster in me) your creativity. And about one paragraph later I realized exactly WHICH house-elf you were writing about, at least one of them, and then I knew my heart was going to break.

You know me and my love for the twins, and how much Fred dying just killed me - but the honest truth is that Dobby's death shattered me even more. I BAWLED for a long time after he died. There was just something so innocent and perfect about Dobby that made his sacrifice that much more noble and meaningful and awful at the same time. Seeing it here, through little Holly's eyes just...I don't know how to describe it. It made it more awful, and more incredible, and noble and... He, more than any of them, REALLY lived and died to make the world a better place.

I love Holly. I love this story. It's going in my favorites as soon as this review is done. This alone completely made it worth me staying up tonight to finish my reviews.

You are one talented writer and don't you ever forget it!

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 20/20.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Oh no! :( I'm sorry if this made you cry! I blame JKR for killing Dobby, I always get quite emotional thinking about him. :(

I'm so pleased you found this moving! It really means a lot to know the story gave you an emotional response. And thank you - you're pretty creative and talented yourself, my dear! ♥

Hehe, I didn't want to state outright that they were elves but let the reader figure it out for themselves. I'm so glad that worked for you, and that you had a moment when you realized it was Dobby. I just couldn't resist putting him in. And I agree - Dobby was just so pure, and so new to his freedom and enjoying it - cutting his life off when it seemed to have only recently truly started was one of those horrible effects of the war. He did! He fought and sacrificed so much, and he would do it all again in a heartbeat.

I'm so glad you liked Holly as well! I just thought she was so quiet and adorable and I just wanted to give her a hug.

This review is just beautiful, thank you so much! I really appreciate all your lovely thoughts and loved reading your reactions. Thank you! :D



 Report Review

Review #14, by 1917farmgirlGuilt : Guilt

20th March 2014:
Wow, girl! It has been too long since I read anything of yours! I forgot the beauty and magic with which you put words together!

This was powerful stuff!

I admit - I'm NOT a Poe fan because dark, creepy stuff does just that - gives me the creeps! And this certainly did raise the hairs on the back of my neck as I read, so apparently you did your job well.

I LOVED the rhyming couplets that divided the story up! They said so much with so few words and really set the tone for the story.

Poor, poor Scorpius! What a heavy weight for a little boy to be carrying! And this was just so spectacularly creepy!

I really can't get enough of your ability to paint images with the words you write. I could picture this entire fic with morbid detail, and almost had to stop reading and get up and turn some more lights on. I felt like there were bony fingers reaching after me as I read. Bravo for a wonderful bit of story telling!

The last line was my favorite. It was so blunt and direct and really slammed home the point of how much Scorpius wants to escape from the wrongs of his family, and what he thinks is the only way to do it.

I promise to come back and finish some of your other stories after these battles are over with!

Jealous of your writing talent, as usual!

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 19/20.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Aw, you are too sweet! :) I'm so glad you liked this! Hehe, I know what you mean about Poe - I can only read him when I'm not home alone and all the lights are on. But I love writing creepy things and I'm so pleased you liked it.

Thank you! The rhyming couplets, though they weren't really Poe-ish, helped me get into the mindset for the story.

I know. :( It's so unfair for Scorpius, to suffer for his family's sins. I really like him as a character so felt a little sorry for doing this to him.

Wow, thank you! :) I'm so glad the story felt vivid and visual, and like there were bony fingers... that's so creepy but really perfect for a reader's reaction, so I'm very happy to hear it.

Ah, the last line. I'm pleased you liked its bluntness, and how it shows Scorpius exhibiting some of the violence he is witnessing on the ghosts himself. He wants to escape, but not even destroying the house will accomplish that.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by 1917farmgirlImpossible: Impossible

20th March 2014:
You know, to me, the most tragic tale of all from the HP books is that of Snape. And it's superb story telling on the part of JKR that she kept us guessing his real role until the very end, and managed to make a character we could both hate and feel so much compassion for.

I think you have done an amazing job with this small portion of Snape's story here, and the song you used fit perfectly. I felt real, heavy sorrow for Snape as I read this, felt Lily slipping away from him in your words. I really liked the part about him never, ever using the word again. And him coming to tell her congratulations for her wedding, even though his heart was breaking...very moving.

I found myself unsettled by some questions this story raised - take that as a compliment! I don't read many Lily and James fics because it's not my favorite era, but I also am slightly disturbed by the little bit of hypocrisy. In the past, it has focused mostly on James and how everyone thinks he's a perfect hero and sometimes ignores the fact that before he became that hero, he was also sometimes a bit of a bully. But, now I'm questioning Lily a little as well. She wouldn't forgive Snape for his slip of one word, but she could forgive and date and marry a man who tormented others for laughs? Both mistakes were made by boys who were still growing up and learning - surely she could have forgiven them both?

Anyway, I hope this review hasn't been too rambly for you, and that my weird musings don't bother you.

Beautifully written story! Made me see Snape in an entirely new way and I appreciate that!

Thanks for posting.

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 18/20.

Author's Response: Farmgirl, hello!
Thank you for such an amazing review, I was shocked to see the length and thought that had gone into it. I'm afraid my response may not match such a standard, just to forewarn you. I love this song, and it just seemed to fit with Severus's story. I'm glad you liked it.
I think she could have forgiven him, if she managed to look past everything that James has ever done. For why she wouldn't, I don't know. I just don't like James as much as most people because he acts like an idiot most of the time, and isn't very nice to those of a 'lower rank'. So I can agree with you completely!
I loved your musings, they were wonderful! And I'm glad to be of service *tips hat*
Chazzie


 Report Review

Review #16, by 1917farmgirlTask One Challenge: Reclaiming the Sword of Godric Gryffindor

20th March 2014:
I don't read many stories about what Neville, Luna, and Ginny were going through while the Golden Trio were out on their year long quest. I don't know why I don't read them - it's such an amazingly fertile ground for stories! And I love all three characters a ton. I think I will have to go looking for more of these, yours was so good I now need more.

I loved how you wrote Ginny in this. She was such a strong, determined character - just like she is in the books. Maybe one of the reasons I don't read many stories about Ginny from this time frame is that people like to write her pining away for Harry, and that bugs me. Don't get me wrong, I'm sure she missed him and worried about him, but the truth was she was too busy fighting her own version of their war to have much time for pining, I think.

Neville was spot on as well. I really liked how you showed him being brave, and strong, but also admitting that while he knew it was the right thing to do, rule breaking was always harder for him than others.

Luna is just Luna. She is so unique. I love it whenever she gets thrown into stories.

And I LOVED Neville hexing Snape! GO NEVILLE!

And even Snape was right in character - you really showed to the readers how he was playing a part and trying to maintain a cover (the secrecy things, the light punishment for the kids) but at the same time could seem perfectly in character to the kids who were in the story. (I hope that sentence made sense - it's very late and I'm feeling the affects of the cough syrup I just took a bit ago...)

Very nice take on an often overlooked area of the stories! Thanks so much for sharing!

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3, review 17/20.

 Report Review

Review #17, by 1917farmgirlJust One Memory: Just One Memory

20th March 2014:
Aw.! This makes me all gooey inside!

This review battle really has me branching out. I don't normally read fics about Teddy, but that's only because they tend to be romances and that's not really my thing. But this? This was just sweet!

I loved how you showed that Teddy was both loved and adored by his grandma and Uncle Harry, but at the same time deeply felt the void of his missing parents. And he just lapped up any memories of them. That is such a human thing to do.

Teddy requesting a memory that was just his was super special as well, and that he actually got to remember it was SO COOL!.

A few things this fic also made me think of that I never have before: Does anyone really know what an Metomorphmagus looks like? For real? That was a very interesting concept to include, and made it fun to read! Also, I'd never actually thought about who must have helped Tonks have her baby, so that was a fun scene to add to my mental collection!

Thanks for such a sweet, simple and loving tale! You write beautifully and it has been a joy to sample some of your stuff.

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 15/20.

 Report Review

Review #18, by 1917farmgirlSpiders, Dragons, and Love: Spiders, Dragons, and Love

20th March 2014:
HOLY HANNAH!

This was the most insanely unique fic I've read in a long time! It makes me want to shout "how did you think of this?" and "how come I can't be that brilliant?" LOL.

Using the Mirror of Erised as the main character is nothing short of brilliant! And then you go beyond that with the content of the fic!

I'm ashamed to admit that, even after all we learn about Dumbledore in the 7th book, I never once thought back to wonder what he REALLY saw when he looked in the mirror. But of course this is what he did see! It's so cool to have an author acknowledge that.

I loved how you drew parallels between Harry, Dumbledore, and Hagrid - and my favorite was showing that they all had the strength to leave on their own. I really loved that of all of them, Hagrid never looked back.

And I have to add here, something that probably often goes overlooked: Ron also looked into the mirror, and he left of his own accord, and never went back either. Ron is a lot stronger than he or others give him credit for.

Hagrid's desires were SO perfectly in character. I loved it. And I had also honestly never thought about how Dumbledore got the stone inside the mirror, so that was fun to read as well.

I think my favorite part was the character of the mirror itself. You wrote it SO well, with such nuance and depth. I started the fic feeling sorry for the mirror, all alone and just wanting someone to talk to, but by the end of the fic, it didn't seem nearly so innocent. It was well aware of it's power to trap people, but felt it was okay because it wanted company. That was a powerful yet subtle way of writing.

Amazing story! Thanks so much for posting!

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle fround 3 review 15/20.

 Report Review

Review #19, by 1917farmgirlFace for the Brave: Face for the Brave

20th March 2014:
NEVILLE!!!

You know, right from the very start, in book one, I've always loved Neville! And I also knew he was important and would do something big by the end. Don't know how, just always new. So it surprises me that I always forget to read stories about him, as he's such a great character!

I really loved how you wrote this story! Neville was so in character I felt like it was just a missing scene from the book. And I loved the thought process you had him go through, especially where he was thinking he wanted to be brave like his parents.

It is always interesting to me to see Harry portrayed through his friend's eyes as well, and that was very cool in this fic.

I LOVED when Neville broke free from the spell. There was no magic, no spell, that did that. It was just Neville reaching inside himself and FINALLY seeing and understanding his full potential that did it.

As for the writing, you have a very fluid, easy to read style that is a treat to read.

Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful fic! I vote you write MORE Neville as you are so good at it.

Thanks for writing!

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 14/20.

 Report Review

Review #20, by 1917farmgirlThe Fred to his George: His Fred

19th March 2014:
WOW! This was so unique! I loved it! I don't read a lot of next-gen, but when I do, Fred II is invariable portrayed as a jokester, just like his dad and uncle. And I've always just accepted it. It might be cliche, but I like some cliches.

This, however, was such a cool and touching way of looking at WHY he might be that way. The thought that he became a joker to try and help his dad smile again, it's just so moving! And so perceptive of a kid. (They are much more adept at seeing and understanding what's going on around them than we give them credit for, aren't they.)

I was also really touched by the fact that you didn't just heal George over night. There is still a huge sadness about him, that is very much a part of him.

The term "his Fred" was just the best tribute to the bond between the twins.

Thank you for a lovely, moving story that made me cry. Fred's death is the hardest part of the series for me, so it's hard for me to read stories like this sometimes, but I really loved how you showed this one.

Thanks again.

Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 13/20.

Author's Response: Sorry for the late response, been off HPFF for exam/coursework season. :) Thankyou for a great review, I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #21, by 1917farmgirlMolly smiles: Nothing's Wrong When Molly Smiles

19th March 2014:
Wow. I never really read song-fics, but this was a very powerful story and I'm glad I found it.

I've always had a soft spot for Percy. All through the books, even when he was being a jerk, I was rooting for him to come back to his family and see that he was acting stupidly. When he finally did, I cheered.

I haven't read much about him after Hogwarts, but I do try to include him in my post Hogwarts fics whenever I can.

To see him as a father was a very touching thing to read. I really think he would be an excellent father. I'm sure he'd still be Percy, a bit fussy, worried about rules, etc, but I also think his time away from his family and on the wrong side of things would have tempered him a bit. I think he'd be just like you portrayed him here - very doting and loving.

Your character of Molly was also so neat. She was a sweet, kind girl and you really showed that with how you wrote this. And I'm amazed you found a song that fit so perfectly! Did you have the song in mind before the story, or did you go looking for a song to fit the story?

The ending was heartbreaking. And leaves me with so many questions. What happened to her? I want to know more!

Thanks for a great story!

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 12/20.

Author's Response: Oh my Godric... Farmgirl I promise I didn't forget about you! I have just been so busy- every time I'd look at my screen again, a half written review awaited, I'd finish, Send it, and then the site told me to log in.

I am glad you took a look at this story, song fics are unusual after all... I liked parts of Percy- but I really wanted to avoid his stiffness, so I had to trade it for some fatherly doting. I actually knew the song long before I knew about HPFF actually. It's in the Dakota Fanning movie "Uptown Girls", every time I watch it I cry.. and after I wrote the other song fic Gone the whole story fell into place. I might go back and add more onto the ending, but I'd have to talk to some validators first...
Thank you for reading this, it really does mean a lot to me that people are still looking at what I write for fun.
XOXOXOXO,
LLG


 Report Review

Review #22, by 1917farmgirlThis is not a Drapple: Chapter One

19th March 2014:
Okay. I can't lie. This has to be one of the strangest stories I've ever read, LOL. And, until a month or so ago, I also admit I was blissfully unaware of the concept of "Drapple." I mean, SERIOUSLY? People write that stuff?

But, I guess who can resist a good parody. Draco finding humanity over the summer, wanting to sit by the lake in the sunshine but not wanting to ruin his reputation. And I loved the part where you admited it made no sense, but it was there for Plot, because haven't we all done that before. Stuck something in a story that really makes no sense but we are like BUT I NEED IT TO IT'S STAYING. LOL.

And then, after everything, after Apple turns out to not really be an apple but a girl, and he unfreezes her and she wants him, you have him walk away.

Must have had fun writing this. Sometimes it's nice to not take our hobby too seriously and just let silly things out, isn't it. Thanks for having the guts to post.

-Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 11/20.

 Report Review

Review #23, by 1917farmgirlJust a Little: Just a Little

17th March 2014:
Oh my goodness, that was hilarious! Seriously, SO WELL WRITTEN!

I absolutely loved it! You has such a gift for writing dialogue, do you know that? The snappy comebacks, the way your words played off of one another. Yes, I'm feeling very, very jealous here!

I usually avoid "Locked in the Broom closet" fics like the plague, but this was so unexpected and...I just can't figure out how to tell you how much I loved it. I wish I could quote the whole fic back to you, and after each line say "And this was my favorite line." :)

One thing that really made this stand out was the inclusion of little, everyday details that grounded your off the wall conversation in reality. The window cleaner, and James wondering how it could be tall enough to dig him in the back. The extra sturdy door from the middle ages. Naming their first son have the magician! (BRILLANT!)

You write James with such a sarcastic, tongue in cheek attitude! I loved it. I can handle James like that. And Lily gave just as good.

Loved turning the tables on Sirius, and that for once James was innocent, and Sirius was wrong. hehehe.

Brilliant fic! I will be back to read more of your stories, that's for sure.

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 10/20.

Author's Response: *blushes* I'm glad you liked it!

Aww! Thank you so much! I don't usually have trouble writing dialogue, but I did in this story, so I was worried about how natural it would sound. There's nothing more annoying than unnatural dialogue!

I love writing cliches. And I chose to write this one because it's been done so often before. I wanted to offer something that might not have been seen before, but was still familiar ground - which is what I like to read when I come across a cliche. It was an overt, and somewhat risky, choice and I'm glad you think it worked!

Ah! You liked my attempt at writing description! I'm so pleased! I suck at writing description, so this was about as close as I was ever going to get. And I couldn't help include my headcanon that Harry was named after Harry Houdini!

Poor Sirius always gets a lot of grief in my fics! Would you be surprised to know that he's my favourite character? I just love surprising him and throwing his world view all helter-skelter! He always bounces back though...

Thanks so much for this fantabulous review! Seriously squeeing right now!


 Report Review

Review #24, by 1917farmgirlThat Halloween Night: That Halloween Night

17th March 2014:
You know, I hate reading Halloween '81 fics. Almost as much as I hate reading Dead Fred fics. They are just so emotional and painful and...yeah. And yet I keep reading them.

I loved the warmth you infused this story with - showing how much they all cared for each other as a family, and how much love Harry was surrounded with as a baby. It is such a contrast to where we first see Harry in the books - living under the stairs.

The beginning of this was so normal - just a regular family on Halloween dealing with messy babies and silly things and affection. It was heartbreaking to turn from that to what I knew was coming.

You also managed to awaken all sorts of questions in my mind. Not about your fic - your fic was wonderful, but about how JKR chose to do this in the first place. Why would Lily run upstairs? To a dead end? She was a witch after all, and from what we've been told, a pretty amazing one. Why didn't she escape through a back door? And if there wasn't a back door, surely she could have taken Harry while James distracted Voldie and escaped through a ground floor window or something. Even a Muggle mother would have tried to smash out a window and run with her child.

See, so many questions! That's the mark of good writing - you get me wondering about things!

Thanks for this fic, even if you made me cry.

- Farmgirl

Blackout battle round three review 9/20.

 Report Review

Review #25, by 1917farmgirlSo the Saying Goes: It's the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

17th March 2014:
Awww! I loved this story! It was so cute and so well put together.

First of all, I loved how annoyed Ginny was with Harry! That is such a Ginny thing, and of course, Harry can be quite daft sometimes. :) I love the boy, but he doesn't always use his head.

I'm glad Ginny's friend got her to go out shopping. And can I just say THANK YOU for remembering Fred. That line stopped me in my tracks for a bit, but I'm so glad you included it. So many after the war fics act like he never even existed. I loved that she still remembers, and still counts him as there.

Coming back to her hotel room and tipsily realizing something is wrong with her room was SO much fun to read. I loved her comments about surviving a war but going to be murdered in her hotel room. And her gathering her Gryffindor courage. The best part was the relief that there were lights on, cause surely a murderer would want darkness. LOL.

I totally love that it was Ron who spoke first. By this point I was expecting Harry, and then you threw in another loop and had it be Ron and Hermione! Brilliant!

This story was just so much fun! Thanks for posting! Hope you write more of the trio and Ginny as you do such a good job with them!

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 8/20.

Author's Response: Haha, Harry can be very daft sometimes. Even when he thinks things through, like with the letter, he gets it wrong. But we love him anyway. :)

I know, I feel so sad when people don't include Fred. He was her brother, he shouldn't be forgotten and I'm glad you liked the inclusion because I just couldn't imagine that line not being there.

I loved writing that part; I could just see it happening. It's totally something you'd think about, isn't it? :P

Yes, it had to be Ron. Ginny had to figure it out before she saw Harry, or she might have just hexed him. :P

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>