Reading Reviews From Member: 1917farmgirl
  
188 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 1917farmgirlThis Treasure: You Make Me Smile

14th March 2015:
You know, I really hate writing reviews.

Which I'm sure is not the sentence you wanted this to start with. But let me explain.

When I read something like this that is so incredibly good I can never find the words to express that, to tell the author exactly how amazing it was. It feels like my pitiful little attempts always fall so far short of what the story deserves.

I hope you know that you have written a masterpiece here (not to mention a three-tissue-box story.) This was so...so... SEE, again with the not having the right words thing!

The emotions you portrayed were so beautiful to read, and I loved the snippets of Ron and Hermione's life you showed over time, loved that they weren't grand or amazing or fairytale like - but they were REAL!

And your writing. HOLY COW you have talent girl! Every time I read your stuff I am in awe and then I sit there and wonder why I don't read your stuff more often because you are SO GOOD!

You say you don't write Ron and Hermione very often - well, I firmly believe that needs to change. You are obviously brilliant at them.

Thanks for sharing such a touching, gentle, moving story. Even if I knew what would happen at the end right from the start and knew it would break my heart, I had to keep reading. I couldn't stop. This was lovely and you have every right to be completely proud of it.

- Farmgirl

 Report Review

Review #2, by 1917farmgirlThe Last Snowy Feather: Biding Her A Silent Farewell

2nd March 2015:
*sniffles*

You, my friend, owe me a box of tissues. Seriously. A whole box.

Okay, so I probably should NOT have read this story. I am the biggest animal lover of all time and second only to Fred dying, Hedwig's death in DH just killed me. It was made even worse by the fact that it was hardly even acknowledged! She was there, then she wasn't, and Harry was expected to go on like she didn't even matter.

So, while I shouldn't have read this story because now I'm bawling like a baby, I don't really mean that because I'm very grateful that someone recognized that Hedwig was important and Harry deserved to grieve for her.

Pets are special. Loving them isn't complicated like it can be with loving people. You love them, they love you in return - it's as simple as that. And it's a loyal love that is very hard to break. And when a pet dies it's like a hole has been ripped in your heart, but all too often society has the attitude of "they're just a pet, just an animal...get over it." But they are so, so much more.

I have to admit I was torn by Harry letting the feather go at the end - his last reminder of Hedwig. I don't think I could have done that, let her fly one last time. I would have kept the feather. I guess that makes Harry much stronger than I am.

Thank you for a beautiful, thoughtful, gentle story - and for giving Harry the chance to grieve and say goodbye to his first and most loyal friend. This was a wonderful story.

And I'm so glad you found your ability to write again and are feeling happy about it! That's something I'm still struggling with.

Bravo.

(P.S. This is for the Gryffie Feb. exchange, just in case you didn't figure that out, which I'm sure you did. :) )

Author's Response: Aw! *hands you a box of tissues - a big box.*

I'm sorry, and not sorry that you cried. I do get what you mean though, their deaths really did blew me. I did not even... Like... Reading when they first died... it hadn't hit me until... a while later. And it is sad that Hedwig's death wasn't even... explored. It was only a brief mention of her, after everyone made it to the Burrow.


Yes, pets are just as special when it comes to taking a places in one's heart. It's a shame and downright depressing the abuse and cruelty they have go through. Once, when I was young, and I was living with my grandmother, she had a lot of cats, and I loved them... until they were either taken away by someone else or they died off. The house felt lonely when they were all gone. There were two black cats I grew really attached too, and I cried when they both died. (At that time, we didn't have proper living arrangements or food - especially for the cats, sadly.)


Ahhh! Mostly though, because this is a one-shot, Harry would have to have let her feather go to move the story. However, now that you said that if it were you, and you wouldn't have let go of Hedwig's feather, it gives me the idea of... like having that in a novel one day... like... me writing the Aftermath of the second war through Harry's view. And he discovers it, and he doesn't let it go... at all at first... but maybe some time later... he might when he grieves properly. So yeah! Thanks for the inspiration!


You're welcome! I was happy to have the chance to write this, since I think everyone needed closure with Hedwig's death as much as Harry did.


Shoot... it's been months since I've wrote this one-shot. I'm still having difficulty writing like how I want to. *sad face*

Maybe we both will find our rhythm again.

(Lol, I do know it's from the previous Month review exchange. *smiles*)


Thanks for reading and reviewing! ♥



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #3, by 1917farmgirlBuilding Dollhouses In The Sand: Chapter Two

19th February 2015:
Just a heads up, I think that last two sentences of your chapter here might have been misplaced. Do they belong back at the conversation with Fred?

So I have to say, I really don't like that Katherine is trying to do anything to please her father. Didn't he kill her mother? Does she know that? I don't want him having any influence over her at all.

And I'm worried about this Quidditch game. Something is going to happen to her, I can tell.

Now, George needs to be nice and tell her his name. Or Katharine needs to get smart. Pay attention to little differences...learn to tell them apart. LOL

 Report Review

Review #4, by 1917farmgirlBuilding Dollhouses In The Sand: Chapter One

19th February 2015:
Oh, George, that is just evil. Brilliant, but evil. Tell the poor girl your name! She's smart, she's gonna figure it out if you don't, and I think this will turn around and bite you in the behind.

And I did feel so very bad for Katherine at the beginning here, when they broke her snow globe. Poor girl. And to find out her uncle died. I don't think he killed himself either, and hope you answer that question in this story. Also, what or who did he fail to rescue? I'm intrigued.

So, her dad is a Death Eater. That can't be good. So many more questions.

I did notice a few things that make it hard to follow the story at times. Sometimes your use of pronouns instead of names leaves people wondering exactly who is being spoken about, or doing the talking. You might what to check that over. Also, when you change POV or scenes, it would be helpful to put a break of some kind, so people can tell that it's happening.

Keep up the good work. I shall keep reading, though I'm a slow reader, just so you know.

 Report Review

Review #5, by 1917farmgirlBuilding Dollhouses In The Sand: Prologue

19th February 2015:
I saw you mention this on the forums and thought I'd give it a look. I'm always up for a story featuring the twins. :)

Very intriguing start! You have left me with so many questions about Katherine and her background! How do Gideon and Fabian play into all of this. She can't be a daughter to either of them, or the hinted relationship between George and her eventually would just be a bit icky. So, what is their relationship to her mother? And poor Elizabeth! Why was she killed? How did she know her killer? And how was Katherine spared? Who did Katherine go to live with and how did she get there?

See, told you, questions. Good stories always leave you with them.

I'm also excited to get a glimpse of the twins at school, see Hogwarts through their eyes.

Nice start! Off for more.

Author's Response: Eeek!

I am so absolutely flattered that you've read and reviewed something of mine *blush* I mean I love your work, huge fan and to have you read something written by little ol' me means a lot, so feel free to read on and comment anything you feel necessary :) The story will answer all your question :) Thank you again for the review this made my week! Heck, it made my month!

Ps: I'm editing the story so it'd mean a lot that if you found anything leave it in a review! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by 1917farmgirlComplicated: Complication #2

10th February 2015:
I can totally understand your chapter summary today. It hasn't been a particularly good day in my world either.

Also, I have to admit that given your story summary, I kind of figured things couldn't go all that well for Blaise and Abigail in this chapter, not of James is going to come into this story somehow. ;)

It's sad to see how full of stuff a life can be, and yet how empty just the same. I had to read that book, The Great Gatsby in school...you know the one, the classic, and I hated it. Because it was just so...empty. No one meant anything to anyone else. Poor Abigail's parents have set that up for her, and even though the silk is nice, I really do hope she finds more than just that. You can tell she wants it...but she's going to have to work a little harder for it.

I thought your line about love and hate was really, really profound. Makes you wonder about her parents, actually. All that hate and animosity is probably just hiding the fact that part of them still cares for the other and they are way to proud and stubborn to admit it.

Great writing again. You do have a way with characters and settings and moods and a very good attention to detail. I was honored to be your review exchange partner!

 Report Review

Review #7, by 1917farmgirlComplicated: Complication #1

9th February 2015:
First of all, I am SO sorry for how late I am with this review. It's been a rough start of the new year for me and I'm behind on everything. Trying desperately to catch up now. I hope you can forgive me.

Now, to the review. I also have to confess that I am not a big fan of Next-Gen. I have a great love for the original characters but I have a harder time stretching it over to characters we know so little about. I guess I'm just odd.

But I do think you have done a wonderful job of creating characters here. I read the whole thing (until the very last section) thinking how shallow and rather stuck-up these girls were and wishing they would talk about something other than clothes and boys. Don't read that the wrong way - that's a compliment. It takes a great writer to create characters so real they can annoy you!

And then you flip it around. That last section peels away the layers and reveals that at least for Abigail, they are partly for show. There is a real her hiding beneath them, yearning for more than clothes and money and popularity. That adds so more to her and is the mark of great writing. It's like a hook, to pull your readers in, but a very subtle and deft on.

Great writing, stellar characters, and pretty dresses. What more could you want?

Thanks again for the review swap and I'm so sorry it's taken me such a long time!

 Report Review

Review #8, by 1917farmgirlIcarus: Cultivated Arts

19th November 2014:
Okay, you miss, are a sneaky author. I caught several things in this story that have nothing to do with this story, hehehe.

1. I see the interest in the ever interesting and arrogant, if slightly insane, Lockhart continues. Nice plug.

2. Swearing in Chinese? I'm on to you, dong ma. I am, I am.

3. So, Agatha Christy was a witch, huh? Interesting...

I knew it! I knew it! I knew Marta somehow was responsible for that cube showing up. She stole it. This can't be good at all.

You know, I don't know this new Connor dude, but I have to be a little on his side. They should be more careful what they are talking about in public. Some of us Muggles are not as dumb as we look.

Now, is Connor from the future? Is this all a set up to something? Am I overthinking? Probably.

A screen with weird writing, a strange button. HELLO LILY! You DO NOT PUSH STRANGE BUTTONS!!! Didn't your mother ever tell you about her experience with a strange diary? Man, this family needs to share personal stories.

I have a bad feeling about this. I have seen too many of these scifi things. There will be a wormhole, or a vortex, or a fluxation in the time-space continuum or something and then bad things will happen.

You should have just read that book, Lily.

Author's Response: 1. You caught me. I actually do love writing Lockhart, and I missed it. Not necessarily a plug for the other story, more like me just reliving his fun POV :p

2. Haha! This will not be a Firefly crossover, just throwing that out there. Unfortunately.

3. The titles of her books, particularly those two, were just too good to ignore!

You guessed it! Maybe I should just have you guess the entire plot and then that'll give me clues as to what I should actually write from here on out. XD

Conor does have a point. Marta can be quite self involved sometimes and not think about things like that. As for Conor being from the future, I won't say a word because I like to be evil and mysterious, but I love your hypotheses! :D

Lily inherited an unfortunate trait from her father which is that she sometimes pokes her nose where it doesn't belong!

There will be... something. Wouldn't it be cool if it was actually an ice cream machine?

Thanks so much for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by 1917farmgirlIcarus: Old and New

17th November 2014:
Okay, so first off, you have a knack for writing characters! Seriously, I never in a thousand years would have thought you could take this group of dysfunctional characters and weave them together into a story, but you did! And they are so vivid in their portrayal! It's like I can see them in my head. You have given them strange flaws, but in the end that just makes them more human. Although, I'm not sure I could handle Marta as a roommate/friend. She is very intense, and I would feel the need to clean all the time as I don't do weeks old food. hehehe

Next - Wow has Lily got a voice! Not as in she was yelling or anything, but this character comes right off the pages and tells me she knows exactly who she is. There is nothing generic about her. Bravo to your writing skills!

I also love how you are melding Muggle and magical stuff in this. Though I must admit I was a little worried when Lance came over. I thought he might be a Muggle and they were going to have to hide stuff fast. Was relieved that he's Muggleborn and knows what's up.

He talks to ghosts?!?! WOW! What a job! And, do I sense that somehow, that little nugget of information will be important in the future? Of course I could have just watched too many scifi shows so who knows.

LILY, DO NOT TOUCH THE BOX!!! That can't be good! Where did it come from? Did Marta leave it? Is she not who she seems to be? Did it just appear?

I know you've never seen it, but there is this strange, pulsating cube that exists in Andromeda known as the route of ages that can take you to different times and spaces. Makes me really worried about what this box is.

Well done! Will be back for more.

Author's Response: Hi Farmgirl! Eeee, this review made my day! Thank you so much, it means so much to me that you like the way I write my characters!! Haha though you're right, they are quite a dysfunctional bunch. There is a reason Marta is a friend rather than a roommate - neither Iris nor Lily could handle that kind of mess either! :P

Wow thank you so much for that compliment about Lily's narrative voice! I am so glad she is that clear and individual, aah thank you!

Lance is actually half-blood, but his dad is a Muggle so he's quite familiar with the Muggle side of the world and can relate to the Muggle-born Iris. I realise that at this point in the story Lance's background hasn't been discussed (as I didn't realise he was going to be a main character, believe it or not), but it is a couple of chapters later :p

Talking to ghosts would be super cool. Who knows if that's actually what he does though, because Lily has no idea. This is just her nearest guess. :D

LILY SHOULD LISTEN TO YOU. I'm so glad you're intrigued about the box!

Thanks sooo much for your reviews!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by 1917farmgirlIcarus: Prologue

17th November 2014:
Well, this is certainly interesting! I thought for just a moment I was in the wrong place and reading a Star Trek fic, with that captain's log at the beginning! That little paragraph has me very worried for how this story is going to turn out. I'm all for the occasional AU story to stop certain people from...er...dying, but even I know better than to mess with time! Grandfather clause and all that! WATCH OUT LILY!!

I think it's interesting that Lily seems very comfortable around both magic and Muggle things. Watching movies with her neighbor but having moving pictures in her flat and a magical family.

I also think it's interesting that she doesn't really like her name. Never thought before about how the Potter kids would react to their names. Nice spin.

Sorry if this review is a little on the short side. I just wanted you to know I was intrigued and reading. Nice writing, as always!

Author's Response: Hahaha, apparently it does seem to have that feel to it, you're not the first person to mention the Star Trek similarities :P Lily would do well to listen to you, as she seems to have a different opinion...

I figured that with Hermione for an aunt, and even with her father having grown up with Muggles, Lily would be more aware of the Muggle world than your average pureblood, for example.

haha, I'm glad you liked that about the names :P No worries about a short review, short is still lovely! I really appreciate the encouragement, thanks so much!!


 Report Review

Review #11, by 1917farmgirlCount Me In: Spring

26th October 2014:
Hello there! I know I'm a little slow getting to this and I hope you can forgive me.

You don't see many stories about Fred and George on the Archives. I know, because I've looked. So I'm really excited that you've decided to give them a go!

Okay, interesting start! It's always so hard to bring in a new character in a first chapter. You want people to instantly connect with them and like them so they will keep reading, but you also need to disguise an information dump so everyone knows the basics - personality, appearance, age, quirks... I think you've done a great job of fitting all that in without making it a chore to read, and you have created a very likable character that readers will want to know more of.

I am a little confused on why Fred and Gemma are the troublemakers, but George isn't. Or did I miss something in there?

And Angelina being all jealous! That's pretty brilliant. I don't think I've ever seen that done before in a story. I'm not a fan of Fred/Angelina or George/Angelina very often, so I don't mind, but I do think it's an interesting twist. (And don't get me wrong, I do LIKE Angelina, just not paired with the twins.

So, you have them starting out as friends and friends only, but from your story description I gather that eventually becomes something more. I'm intrigued to see how you get there and develop that relationship.

Great start! Keep going! The twins are sorely under-represented in fanfiction and very much deserve more stories out there!

Author's Response: Hiya! I appreciate the swap, timing is never a problem. I agree with the lack of Fred and George fanfiction. I am pretty sure I've read nearly every single story there is to read.

I'm very glad you like the characters, I like them quite a lot myself. :)

So Fred and Gemma being the troublemakers, rather than Fred and George...let me say that this was not my intention. Another reviewer commented on this as well, and while I don't see it myself, I do admit I am a little bit biased (seeing as I am the one who wrote it). Here is my explanation: Never do I claim they are the sole troublemakers of the school. Instead, I reference when they started pulling pranks together regularly. That doesn't mean Fred and George are any less than the amazing prank-pulling masterminds we know and love, it just means sometimes Fred would wreck a little havoc with Gemma. Also, because Ava and Gemma are talking about Angelina being jealous about Fred, the boy she likes, they don't really need to talk about George. Does this make sense? I feel like it will more as the story progresses, and Fred and Gemma's feelings and actions are described in a little bit more depth than the intro chapter.

Wow, we are right on the same spectrum. Angelina's great, I just don't like her with either of the twins. Also, I'm a little jealous, because she got to go to the ball with Fred...my dream. Sigh.

Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked it!

- Joanie


 Report Review

Review #12, by 1917farmgirlChai, Samosas, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning: Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

26th October 2014:
You know, I've always admired your writing. Every time I read something of yours I remember this. You have a way of cutting to the heart of the matter and expressing simple truths in a beautiful way.

I really loved this story. Now, I've not read my Harry Potter for a long time, so I don't remember if I missed something about Hannah being partly from India, but I do have to say I really liked it a lot in this story. It gave an otherwise sometimes unremarkable character from the books real life and personality here in your story. And I loved how you wrote about what for a lot of us is unfamiliar objects and foods with such familiarity. I might not know what it all was, but Hannah did and through your portrayal of her I still felt perfectly at ease with everything.

The real reason I loved this story though? It was just sweet! Such a cute and fun way to start off a story we know happened. Neville was adorable, and Hannah had such a strong "character" voice, I feel like I know her so well now. And I loved the humor as well. Very nice.

My favorite line was the one about knowing when things are done. Brilliant insight there.

Thanks so much for sharing. This really was beautiful.

Author's Response: Aww! That means so much to me! Your writing is great and I love it a lot, although I don't get the time to read fanfic all that often anymore, so coming from you... just, ugh. Thank you.

No, Hannah isn't partly Indian in canon, but it seemed to fit her somehow. And family and culture has a way of manifesting in our everyday lives in the most subtle of ways, and I wanted to write Hannah that way. I'm Indian, so all the stuff I talk about is things with which I am familiar. Hannah's struggles are to some extent my struggles. It was interesting writing from personal experience in that way - something I've never done before.

I'm glad you found this story to be sweet! It was the sort of vibe I was going for - that feeling of finding someone new and you're just like "yes! You get this!" And of course, because in canon Hannah and Neville are married, it feels so much better because you KNOW what's in store for them.

Thanks so much for your lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by 1917farmgirllow tide: a meditation

21st October 2014:
That's it.

I quit.

How could anyone possibly hope to write George ever again after reading this?

And just when I thought my heart MIGHT have started to mend, you rip it right back open.

Seriously, I'm hanging up the Fred and George hat and bowing to your mastery.

AMAZING fic! Incredible imagery and use of words. You didn't tell this story, you let it wisp in to us on the tide, in the smell of the air, the feel of the sand.

It might be the fact that it wasn't a sobbing, distraught George that told this story, but a quietly sad one. George doesn't do quiet. That alone expressed the magnitude of his grief, even as he fought back and tried to be alive again.

Yep, you are the master and I sit here in awe.

Incredible. 100/10

Author's Response: NO DON'T QUIT! Because then who will bring Fred back to life?! I'm counting on you for that!

Gah, thanks so much for your comments about the imagery and the words! I'm really proud of how the descriptions turned out in this story and it just makes me so happy when people notice them! ♥

It was definitely a bit weird to write the wild and funny George as so subdued - I wasn't sure if it would seem like him. But I love what you pointed out there, how his silence speaks volumes. Also, the fact that you were impressed by this portrayal of George means so much to me because you are one of the best writers of Fred and George on the site! And so to hear that from you is just asdkjfjakl. Thank you for your amazing review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by 1917farmgirlseventeen, eighteen.: countdown.

18th October 2014:
Wow.

I was not expecting this. I must admit, had I known what it was about, I might not have read it. This is a tender and emotional topic that unfortunately does carry with it some very real and very sad memories.

That said, I started, and finished, and I don't like to leave something I've read without a review.

I can say with utmost confidence that you have a gift for writing and the use of language to set a scene and a particular mood. The way you wrote Molly and showed what she struggled with, on the surface it appeared slightly odd and maybe even funny, but the whole time there was this undercurrent of pain and despair and loss of control. Very poignant! And particularly well done. It would have been very easy to lose the story in the repetition and you didn't do that.

My heart did break for Molly here. You write with strong emotion.

Very good writing, especially about such a hard topic. And I really hope you can see that this review is very much meant as a compliment and aren't upset by it.

- Farmgirl

Author's Response: Hi Farmgirl.

I hope that if you ever need to you can PM me as it's a sensitive topic for me as well. Thank you so much for this stunningly beautiful review. It means so much to get that kind of praise from someone on the same side of the looking-glass as I'll put it.

Lo


 Report Review

Review #15, by 1917farmgirlStarving Artists: New Horizon

13th October 2014:
WOW, Kevin! That was so beautiful! I've never had the chance to read anything of yours yet, though I plan to work my way through your page eventually, but that was truly remarkable!

You have a real gift with words and an ability to paint a picture with them! I love how you use little details that wouldn't be important at all, to show a character's personality. The cup, for example. That whole thing COULD have been left out without hurting the plot at all, but the story would have been so much poorer for it. It showed Rionach's character and made the telling very rich.

I love that this was about Dean...well, Dean through the eyes of someone else, but still. I always had a soft spot for him, though I've never really written him. This made me very fond of him again.

And I have to compliment you. You mention you were worried to write from the perspective of a female character, but you did a BRILLIANT job at it! Seriously, it was so spot on it was a little creepy. You know things you shouldn't now about how a female brain works...*eyes Kevin suspiciously*

So glad I stopped by and read this. It really was beautiful and moving and SO eloquent! Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: WOW, to you! This review is so kind and coming in the midst of my mayhem it was so good to get and read. Thank you!

I'm really glad you enjoyed the story and the bit about the cup. It was something I went back and forth on including as it (despite being tiny) was giving me a bit of trouble when I tried to get across what I was aiming at, but you've made me very glad I did!

Ahh the female character thing. Yes. I was VERY worried actually. I mean, I've been complimented on writing female characters before in third-person, but it's a totally different thing to do first-person, especially in a romance so I'm glad you think I did such a good job with it. I'll ignore the suspicious look :p

Thank you so much for reading and leaving this wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by 1917farmgirlRabbit Heart: Trusting Hearts

13th October 2014:
You know, for purportedly writing a story about teen angst and drama and mushiness and most likely spoons, you sure manage to put in an awful lot of intense, real, human emotions. I literally just had this conversation with WYHO about this fic:

Me - How the heck does Pix's supposedly silly story about blood-sucking rabbits and teen angst always make me cry?

WYHO - Cause she's brilliant like that?

Me - Amen.

And it's true! You went and made me cry again. There is just something so touching and personal about those sections with Gran. It just...GAH! You owe me lots and lots of tissues.

And then, you throw in a creepy little kid.

I know much about this Dillon...which I shall refrain from saying. But, I'm still so curious! Despite what I know, he seems so...normal...in a completely non-normal way. Is he evil? Or just alone? Who is this mother?

And the most important question? Why do you have to make little kids and sweet little bunnies evil?

Bunny - :(

Teen angst and vampires? - yeah right. This is really tragedy and real life and emotion and truth mixed up with crazy writing skills and great descriptions, all stirred by the spoon of AWESOMENESS...because you are.

Seriously, Pix, you are fooling no one here, with your claims of it "just being a teen drama story."

Author's Response:

Um... hi. How do I respond to that?

Okay, firstly in my defense, I am still allergic to angst, the drama has been comparatively low-key, and Albus has never gotten Wren over for toffee pudding yet, so the spoons are a bit absent at this point.

*hands tissues*

I don't know if it will make you feel any better, but Gran doesn't have a lot of scenes in the story as a whole, so maybe you could bear with the whole of it, and we'll sneak Gran out the back when it gets to be too much.

As for Dillon and the bunnies, you were absolutely forewarned about that.

Ahh, the human condition! It's something I don't think I come close to doing justice most of the time, and you are making me feel like I've got a bit of it right. You have flattered me to no end, which seems to be a talent of yours, so I can only thank you for your kind words and bask in this ridiculously flattering review.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #17, by 1917farmgirlLying Josephine: Eye of the Storm

12th October 2014:
WYHO,

Sometimes I hate writing you reviews. For many reasons.

The first is that when I read your stuff, I remember that you are absolutely the best Fred and George writer out there, and then I get filled with jealousy and nasty feelings, and I don't like those.

Secondly, I cannot ever, not matter how much I try, put into words the talent that I see here in your stuff. Your ability to capture emotions and people and put them onto a page. How you can go from humor to anguish in literally 2 words and have it be so true and perfect. You always seem to have the right words and the right phrase and I don't know how you do it! You truly have a gift.

But the third reason is this - I know not matter how much I tell you this, you won't believe me, because we are such good friends and you for some reason think I'm just saying nice things. But I'm not. You ARE amazing and this story is incredible, and sometime I will get you to accept that.

Bravo. This is pure genius.

P.S. The "T" key is not working well on my computer tonight, so bear that in mind as you read this review.

P.P.S. I still think Fred would be smashing bald.

Author's Response: *blushes* You are too much, farmgirl.

You're also absolutely insane. :-p

First: Am not! I do believe you hold that title. Ask anyone. But it's huge that the Queen of the Twins approves of my versions! Really, thank you, it means so much! *hugs*

Second: *dies* What do I even say to that?!? haha Thank you so much. Really, I don't know how to respond to this except maybe to say that you of all people should know how tedious I am when it comes to editing, and it's only after the 8,000th read-through that I'm satisfied, so my 'ability' or whatever only happens after a ridiculous number of edits.

Third: hahaha Well... All I can say to that is you sure are the pot calling the kettle black! :-p But I sincerely appreciate the kind words and support. This chapter would not be up yet without your help and guidance.

Ugh. You're too nice. Thank you.

P.S. No worries. haha

P.P.S. LOL Personally, I'm a fan of his hair, so it's staying! But feel free to make your own bald twin. ;)


 Report Review

Review #18, by 1917farmgirlThe Fall of the Town : A Stranger In the Dawn

27th March 2014:
Okay, WOW! It's been too long since I read this story. I forgot just how meaty a work it is!

Seriously, reading this is like digesting Dickens or Tolstoy, and I mean that as the highest compliment. Your writing is incredible! It's so full and there are so many plots and characters weaving throughout this story that I have to read carefully to make sure I don't miss anything. Very, very rarely does that happen in fanfiction!

I can't believe all the parts you are bringing together in this! I'm so worried I'm gonna miss something! And I honestly don't even know who I'm rooting for yet...what I want to have happen. I know what probably will happen, at least to a small extent, giving I know the fairy tale, but still, you've twisted this so much to new paths and ideas I'm not even sure about that!

Marigold - I don't know if I want her to end up with Stephane or stay true to Trip, or if I just want to tell her she's too young to think about that anyway! And I feel so sorry for Vincent and want things to turn out well for him!

I don't want the Muggles to turn on their neighbors! And I don't want anything Stephane does to backfire! And I'm still very worried about Death lurking around. That image of the dead rats was disturbing, and I'm worried somehow they aren't done with that Plague.

See, all these questions you leave me with! Such AMAZING writing! How do you do it? Put so much detail and weave so many strands through each chapter? How do you keep track of it all?

I really like your almost backwards sort of story-telling. The present tense, the way you start a scene in the middle and then let us discover how it actually started. It's unique and so effective! I read your stuff and wonder what my silly little attempts at writing are doing out there in the world when there is writing like this happening!

Great story! I will be back to see what happens, promise!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Wow, thank you so much! I absolutely love that comparison and am really quite honoured as Dickens especially is a literary icon of mine. I love how he writes "in excess" and so for you to compare this to his methods of writing is really amazing. ♥

I really enjoyed coming up with all the plots and sub-plots, and how they tie into one another. What I found in writing this story is that there was no real possible happy ending where everybody is happy, so I'm glad you're worried and unsure about what you want to happen.

I agree - she is a bit young, but right now she's quite taken with Stephane and how different and exciting he is. Girls in that time would get married very young, but Marigold has a lot of other things to worry about right now. And I know, poor Vincent!

I'm glad you're wondering all these questions about what is going to happen, it's quite exciting for me to read. I really have no idea how I keep track, except for making lists. The tricky part for me was making sure all the loose ends were tied up and all the characters accounted for, which was challenging.

I'm glad you liked the way the narrator hedges into the story - I didn't plan it that way, but it felt right for the nature of the story. And don't call your writing silly, you're a wonderful writer! :)

Thanks so very much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by 1917farmgirlEverto Trucido: The Trial

26th March 2014:
Okay, THAT was a whirlwind ride! Talk about characters coming at you from right and left! And SO many questions!

Seriously, though, it's brilliant. Throwing readers right into the thick of things and shoving stuff at them left and right. If that doesn't make people want to keep reading, I don't know what will!

You have a very, very nice writing style. It draws readers in and lets them see the story playing out before them. And even though I only know about half of these characters, they seem real and I already care about them and want to know what's going on.

I also have to give you bonus points for handling such a HUGE amount of characters in this chapter. I know I always struggle when I write large crowds with making sure I don't "lose" people in the writing. You did a very good job!

So, now I need to know exactly who Grace is, what she can do, how she changed everything... And then there's this rather dodgy sounding conversation with Death. Death doesn't make good deals, usually, so I'm very nervous! What did Grace have to give him?

See, hooked already. Told you I would be! I promise I'll be back for more.

- Farmgirl

Author's Response: It has taken me FOREVER to respond to this, along with my other reviews...I'm working my way up the list :D.

I'm glad that you enjoyed this, like we've discussed, this one isn't everyone's cup of tea!

This chapter was rewritten so many times, but I think I've managed to, well...manage the characters finally. There's a ton of name-dropping in here that gets confusing!

Why does everybody want to hate on Death? ;) ...don't answer that.

Thanks so much!!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #20, by 1917farmgirlOn Air: On Air

25th March 2014:
You know, for a series of kids books, JKR wrote some pretty grown-up stuff.

I've studied a lot about WWII history, the war, the underground movements, and you have completely captured that same feeling here with this story. You really are a master at storytelling. I could feel the nervousness, the anguish of being apart, the helplessness of Reg as he didn't know what to do or how to keep his family safe.

I can't believe how you keep taking these characters who had maybe one line in the books and turning them into flesh and blood with whole back stories and everything. You leave me wondering who Sean was, and if Mary tied into the Marauders somehow. And if they ever came back, after the war was over.

I wonder about Maisie's experiences at Hogwarts during that nightmare year. You captured the way warm makes kids grow up way too fast in the reactions of Reg and Mary's kids in this story.

The best part about your stories is that as I'm reading them, I don't remember I'm reading a story at all. I get sucked into what's going on and can see it all playing out in front of my eyes instead of the words I'm actually reading.

And I also love how all your stories tie together. If I'm not mistaken, this Carol was the same Carol from your last Luna story. That's a really cool touch.

Glad I got to read another one of your great stories! At this rate, I might catch up someday. Of course, you still have a novel with 37 chapters I'm going to have to work my way through, so I've still got a ways to go!

Beautiful writing, as always. You're a Pro!

Author's Response: Right? Pretty intense, with wars and genocide and prejudices and a lot of stuff in disguise that's really just the same problems the non-magical world has. :-/

Aaa! Wow, thank you! I am so glad it captured that intense wartime feeling. I think WWII history is really interesting too, but I don't know much about the underground movements to be honest, and that's why it's especially cool to hear that the underground movement in this fic resembled that of WWII. Thanks!

Minor characters are my favourites for that reason - since there's not much established about them already, it leaves a lot of room for creativity with back stories. Hm, I like to think they came back, but who knows? ;)

I thought Maisie's story was important to tell because Harry didn't experience any of that year at Hogwarts, and not everyone was hiding in the Room of Requirement - it must have been an awful year especially for those without any hope. :(

Aw, thank you! I'm glad my stories are that captivating! Yours are too, btw.

Yes, it is the same Carol ;) I think you're the first person to point that out, actually. A lot of my stories have a bit of overlap, I love making little connections!

Haha - the novel was my first fanfiction, and I hadn't quite figured out what a plot was. It's basically 20 chapters of serious/Sirius puns and 19 chapters of actual story. Well, you've been warned :p

Thank you so much for your amazing review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by 1917farmgirlRabbit Heart: Have a Heart

25th March 2014:
"She hated crying. It always gave her a headache for hours afterward." - I know EXACTLY how Wren feels here. Because I'm in that boat.

Pix, you amaze me. I mean that with all of my heart. You see, I've known Wren for a long time now - before she was ever Wren. We've talked and chatted and I've seen you work and re-work and re-work again on your stuff. You have a dedication I've never seen in any other author here. But even after all of that, and reading parts of this story and knowing the characters and knowing how good you are, I never expected this chapter to hit me like this. Never.

Don't get me wrong - the first part, with Wren and packing her room and Albus and James and Rose - it's all perfectly good Teen stuff, just like you are wanting. Better than most Teen stuff - true - but still firmly in the genre that I know this story is for.

And I know this story is about Blood-sucking things and vampires and more blood and probably even some pie somewhere, or a spoon, but I do hope you also realize that in the middle of writing all of that "stuff" you have written something much more. Something far more powerful.

You have written someone saying goodbye to their childhood, and that is a powerful, powerful thing.

See, despite the fact that I'm a baby and cry over anything with fur or little feet or tiny pink noses (and I am crying and I want personal assurance that the squirrel and the injured bird made it and were fine!) what you've done is simply amazing. Wren's grief is real and palpable as she says goodbye to her home, and her animals, and her childhood. Because she's also saying goodbye to her Gran, at least as she knew her.

My heart is breaking because I know what it's like to leave somewhere that your heart has carved out as your own. To worry that you will wake up someday and not remember how it sounded when the screen door slammed shut, or the way the dirt felt under your toes. That no one else will love it as much as you did.

This is probably the craziest, most off the wall review you've ever had. Sorry. I will try to be more normal from here on out.

Seriously, though. The squirrel and the bird. I need to know.

Author's Response: Hey!

So, I probably sat on this review for longer than should be humanly allowed, but I seriously don't know how to respond appropriately to such praise, except to say thank you.

Wren's a girl, and a friend, and a granddaughter and loves her animals. It's hard to find interesting ways to introduce a character in the first chapter that makes the reader pay attention and get to know them the way that I do... or at least the way I want them to. I'm glad that all of those things I showed gave you a connection to her.

Of course you're not going to like it when I tell you that we will see neither the squirrel or the bird after this chapter. Neither will Wren, for that matter. That said, you are welcome to imagine that they became fully healed after a time and made their home somewhere in the woods in the back of old Gran's bungalow and are merrily preparing for winter. And you're right. Wren might not remember them, or the tree, or the way her toes squished into the mud by the lake, but she has those pictures. Maybe that will be enough.

Thanks for reading my story with potential blood, and maybe a vampire, and perhaps pie and a spoon... (I haven't decided if the spoon subplot will stay or not. A lot of things are getting axed in revision.)

Most of all, thanks for the incredible review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by 1917farmgirlA Selection of Yellow Things, Including Streelers and Mortimer's Socks: Loony

24th March 2014:
I LOVE THIS STORY!!!

YES, THAT MUCH! YES, I'M SHOUTING!!

This was THE best Luna story I've ever read! I want to just hug you! I love Luna, but writing her can be so hard, and so many people botch it, but I usually just don't bother reading about her anymore. This was incredible!

I loved the clouds in the sky, and how she was so concerned about the little duckling cloud that she walked into someone.

I loved her thoughts about Harry. They were so true, which is the beauty of Luna. She believes in the fantastical but is still pure truth.

I love Luna's umbrella! A little bit of sunshine in the rain!

And the old lady from Roswell. GAH! laughing really hard!

The fact that Luna worked in the menagerie was perfect for her! Such well thought out plans!

And I LOVED Mortimer! You created a wonderful character. And how Luna interacted with him, and how insightful she was.

BRILLIANT GIRL! I will be back for more of your amazing stuff soon!

- Farmgirl

Author's Response: HOW DO I EVEN RESPOND TO THIS AMAZING REVIEW

Seriously, I kept coming back and just reading it over and over - it has me grinning from ear to ear. Thank you so much! I'm so flattered it's the best Luna story you've read! Eeep ♥

Luna always seemed like someone who would have her head in the clouds a bit. I mean, that's what she focused on at the one Quidditch game where she was commentating :D

But yes, aside from the airiness, I think she really is quite perceptive, and honest. Belief in the fantastical, but still pure truth - a great way to phrase it, I like that.

I'm glad you liked the umbrella hehe. I want an umbrella like that!

Aw! I'm so glad you liked Mortimer! I loved writing their interactions since the two of them are pretty much opposites - but a little similar in their eccentricity.

I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the story and my portrayal of Luna. Thank you so so much for this review! ♡


 Report Review

Review #23, by 1917farmgirlDouble Trouble: A Twin Affair

24th March 2014:
So, I am THE WORST partner ever, finally getting around to leaving you the amazing review you deserve on this story. And I'm so sorry. Life has just been crazy since Christmas time and hasn't slowed down yet.

It was so much fun to work with you and get to know you. I loved the way we thought the same and had the same ideas for this story.

Aziza and Akila were AMAZING characters and I'm so glad you had the job of inventing them instead of me. I'm not very good with OCs, but the way you wrote them here just made them come alive.

I love how funny you are! There were so many sections of this story that made me laugh out loud. I still laugh reading it again, even though I know exactly what happens.

My favorites parts: the way the two pairs of twins met, roping Bill into helping them and his OUTFIT! *giggles again*, Bill forgetting his lines, Mrs. Weasley trying to figure out what was going on. Oh, there's too many. I can't list them all.

Brilliant writing, my dear! You have so much talent and I'm so glad I was able to work with you. This was a blast!

Author's Response: You are not the WORST partner ever, stahp it silly!!! You don't have to apologize!!!

I'm so flattered that you enjoyed working with me. It was such a pleasure to have you as a partner. I was so glad that our ideas meshed and you're absolutely brilliant. Especially with F&G.

Thanks! I had so much fun coming up with them, I was so happy you let me kind of have my way with them. I really wanted to make them as goofy and ridiculous as the boys, I felt like they'd be better off as perfect matches rather than anything.

Haha, Thanks! I had so much fun writing random stuff. I think my favorite part is when the boys banter with Bill, so great! I don't even know where I got the idea for his outfit. Oh man, I was just going crazy. You went even crazier though, lady! Belly dancing house elves. I would have never thought of that!

Thank you, you're brilliant as well! I'm flattered that you say that, and I'm so glad I was able to work with you, as well.

It really was so much fun!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #24, by 1917farmgirlLying Josephine: Nice to Meet You

24th March 2014:
Worst friend ever finally showing up to give you a review on this beauty!

And, you know, if you didn't make your chapters almost 8,000 words long, it wouldn't take you so long to edit them. That's like three normal people's chapters...just sayin'. LOL.

BUT, I LOVE THIS CHAPTER! I love it all! I want to wrap it up and take it home with me so I can see it always. (Or maybe I just want to wrap Fred up and take him home with me so I can see him always...I sometimes get those two things confused.)

The advertisement was CLASSIC Fred and George, and makes me laugh every time I read it.

And then there is the interview. Seriously, how do you THINK of this stuff? I wish I had the talent for long and amazing reviews like you give, and the ability to put into words exactly how much I LOVE that scene, but every time I try I just end up laughing, and the tears start to stream down my face, and I can't breathe and...yeah. This is seriously one of the FUNNIEST things I've ever read, and I read a lot of humor.

Not that I don't feel sorry for Jo. Fred was AWFUL to her, from the chair to the comments to him and George standing there when she disappeared, but it's just so funny! And then the moment he GETS it, and realizes what is going on.

Sorry, I just can't get over that chair! Seriously, brilliant invention, T! And Fred's questions to her! Can I sign up to be interviewed by your Fred?

Okay, I will attempt to be serious here.

One of the many things I love about you and how you write the twins, besides the fact that you just GET them, is that they are always, always, always two distinct people. You even bring in their subtle differences in appearance. See, this is why I love you.

I also love the way you write them talking to each other. Their banter is SO spot on I feel like I'm reading a chapter out of the books. Wish I could write them that way, but at least I get to read your version of them, so you need to write MORE of this FASTER!

And I'm still stuck on the whole hiding behind the desk scene. It's seriously one of my top 5 fanfic scenes ever. I just love it.

CHEST HAIR! I'm rolling again! You are too good.
I love your twins! I love your Fred!

And then, GAH! You just crush me with the second half of the story. Tear my heart out and leave it lying on the ground.

The hilariousness of the first part clashes so perfectly with the stark emptiness of the second part - it's amazing and heart breaking. The way you change your sentence structure, making them shorter, more too the point. It's amazing.

And now I'm crying. Darn you. *goes for tissues*

You truly have a gift and I'm glad you share it!

 Report Review

Review #25, by 1917farmgirlHolly and the Mistletoe: Holly and the Mistletoe

20th March 2014:
Gah! I'm crying so hard right now I can hardly see to type this review.

Seriously.

This was the most moving thing I've read in ages. I don't even know how to tell you how much this story touched me, and I wish I wasn't doing this for a battle review because I'm not sure I can string five coherent sentences together after that stunning, incredible fic.

I don't know how you can be so creative and so talented at the same time. I want lessons. I want to know how to make my own writing reach out and grab someone the way this story just did to me.

I think I was about 4 paragraphs in when I realized this story was about house-elves, and I right away started alternately praising and cursing (that was the jealous monster in me) your creativity. And about one paragraph later I realized exactly WHICH house-elf you were writing about, at least one of them, and then I knew my heart was going to break.

You know me and my love for the twins, and how much Fred dying just killed me - but the honest truth is that Dobby's death shattered me even more. I BAWLED for a long time after he died. There was just something so innocent and perfect about Dobby that made his sacrifice that much more noble and meaningful and awful at the same time. Seeing it here, through little Holly's eyes just...I don't know how to describe it. It made it more awful, and more incredible, and noble and... He, more than any of them, REALLY lived and died to make the world a better place.

I love Holly. I love this story. It's going in my favorites as soon as this review is done. This alone completely made it worth me staying up tonight to finish my reviews.

You are one talented writer and don't you ever forget it!

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 20/20.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Oh no! :( I'm sorry if this made you cry! I blame JKR for killing Dobby, I always get quite emotional thinking about him. :(

I'm so pleased you found this moving! It really means a lot to know the story gave you an emotional response. And thank you - you're pretty creative and talented yourself, my dear! ♥

Hehe, I didn't want to state outright that they were elves but let the reader figure it out for themselves. I'm so glad that worked for you, and that you had a moment when you realized it was Dobby. I just couldn't resist putting him in. And I agree - Dobby was just so pure, and so new to his freedom and enjoying it - cutting his life off when it seemed to have only recently truly started was one of those horrible effects of the war. He did! He fought and sacrificed so much, and he would do it all again in a heartbeat.

I'm so glad you liked Holly as well! I just thought she was so quiet and adorable and I just wanted to give her a hug.

This review is just beautiful, thank you so much! I really appreciate all your lovely thoughts and loved reading your reactions. Thank you! :D



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>