Reading Reviews From Member: 1917farmgirl
  
197 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 1917farmgirlFall Apart: I

28th May 2015:
I have much to say about this story, but first...

"What was the point in being a wizard if Fred couldnít be brought back? What was the point in magic?" - AMEN! Why, why, why? Why couldn't JKR fix this? Of all the sad and tragic things that happened in the books, this one is the most wrong. I still deny it every day and spend the majority of my fics trying to fix it.

Second thing - Oh how I wish it had worked! That he could have broken the mirror and pulled Fred out! (Can I request a re-write of this story, where it DOES work and then you go on to write a novel length fic of their adventures together. Pretty please? I can give you...cookies.)

Gah, what a story! Tissues? You owe me like an entire box or two! Fred and George are my favorites. I still get all tingly and happy whenever I see them show up in a story. It absolutely devastated me when Fred died. I'm not over it. I'll never be over it. And so I usually avoid reading fics about George "dealing" like the plague. But for some reason I was drawn to this one.

You have an incredible talent for writing emotions, for drawing the reader in to exactly what your characters are feeling. It almost killed me in this fic, but I still thought I should let you know how good at it you are.

I've seen this idea floating around the internet as well, but I've never read a story that someone made about it because I thought it would be heart-wrenching.

I was right.

Again, excellent story. Amazing descriptions. Emotions off the chart.

And George! GAH! I just need to hug him! Fred too, because you know he wanted to get out of that mirror so badly! (I still vote for that re-write and LONG story...)

I loved that Ron was the one to find him, that he just held him and they both cried. Ron can be so much more than comic relief or a side-kick, and you know his heart is broken for Fred as well.

I don't know if it's a good or bad thing that George can take a bit of glass home with him to see Fred. I'll pretend it's a good thing. But I'm worried.

Thanks for sharing your incredible writing.

The bill for the tissues will arrive later.

I will bug for that Fred and George novel.

- Farmgirl

 Report Review

Review #2, by 1917farmgirlDon't Forget Me: My Hero

28th May 2015:
Wow! So dark and sad!

I know this story was supposed to be short and only 500 words, but it leaves me with SO many questions! I want to know more!

Why did James kill Rose? Why did everyone think Albus wasn't capable of love, was the black sheep? What exactly happened? I've never read a story where the Potter and Weasley kids aren't best friends running around having a great time together. My brain wants to know how something so wrong could happen?

Your words make this a very stark, lonely, full of despair tale, but I'm pretty sure that was your intent. I think it would be hard to write such a short story and inject so much emotion, but you did it wonderfully.

I feel so bad for Albus! Stuck in prison, waiting for a brother to save him that seems to have no intention of doing it.

Well done. And now I need to go read something happy, LOL.

 Report Review

Review #3, by 1917farmgirlJumble: HodgePodge

11th May 2015:
I had to click on this story when I saw the summary. And I'm so glad I did.

This was so perfect! And so true! Poor Harry, who never really got to have a normal childhood, and then spends his adulthood in the spotlight. You have zeroed in on the one thing that he stood out for being excellent at that HE was in control of. And the one place he had always felt absolutely free.

It made my heart happy to see him find a bit of that joy again. Not that he isn't happy with Ginny and the baby and a good life, but still...when he's in the air he's just Harry. Not The Boy that Lived or the famous Potter - Just Harry.

Thanks for sharing! Beautiful writing and a great little story. Almost wish there was more of it so I COULD see that game with Harry and Ginny playing against each other. (hint, hint)

Author's Response: Hey there!

Thank you so much for stopping by to read this!

I really just wanted Harry to be happy in this one and get a chance to do something he's always loved.

I may write a sequel down the road, but I'm not sure when. It's definitely on the list though!

Thanks again for the review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #4, by 1917farmgirlUgly Eloise: Chapter 1

11th May 2015:
Oh, I really loved this story! It was so nice and refreshing to read about a sincerely NICE character! I was so please with Justin and what he did, and the fact that he really likes Eloise and worked so hard to get her to see that made me smile.

I can totally feel Eloise's pain here. Sometimes it can be so hard to believe that others can see beauty in you, either because bullies convince you otherwise, or you convince yourself. I'm so glad that someone convinced her to see beyond that.

I love that she was good at chess! It was so unexpected, but brilliant! And it was fun to see two people starting off on a relationship in a realistic way - by doing something fun and getting to know each other better.

You have a great way with words. The writing really painted a picture in my head of everything that was happening. I felt the emotions of each character - I was sad and mad when Eloise was being picked on, I felt her fear that this might be too good to be true, and then her elation when she realized it really was real! And I loved Justin's dogged determination.

Thank you for a great story. I like your writing a lot and as soon as school is out and I have a bit more time, I will be back for more.

 Report Review

Review #5, by 1917farmgirlMothering Sunday: Godric's Hollow

9th May 2015:
*sniffles like crazy - determined not to cry because I don't have tissues by me*

Dan, this was amazing! I loved every word of it! Your amazingly powerful description set the tone and painted a vivid picture, and then the heartfelt emotion you piled into the characters was just so perfect! It pushed away all the fluff and crap that we so often dump into our fanfiction and got right to the heart of what HP is all about - family. It really, really touched me and I wanted you to know that.

Thank you as well for returning to the roots of the Harry Potter world and writing Harry and Ginny. They are a growing rarity in HP fanfic these days and I find myself missing them greatly.

I love the idea of Harry keeping his parents up to date on his life, sharing things with them. And I absolutely adored that Ginny was there as well, of her own accord, to speak to her mother-in-law. Her realization that she now understands the concept of loving someone so much you're willing to die for them is a poignant full circle and really completed your story.

Glad inspiration struck you tonight and you wrote this little gem! It's one of my favorites!

Author's Response: Hi, farmgirl! Sorry I caught you without your tissues.

Thank you for all of the compliments. I wrote this on the spur of the moment, which is apparently the only way I can write lately. I'd love to claim that I had a master plan to keep the story stripped down and focused on their feelings, but the truth is that I wrote it so fast that I didn't have time to go into a lot of description. Family was the major theme, though.

I loved Harry's visit to Godric's Hollow in DH and I felt like he would have wanted to visit his parents again after the war was over. Ginny's visit added a little more depth to the story. Being the youngest of her family, Ginny wouldn't have been able to watch her parents tend to younger siblings. I've never felt like she would have really understood that bond between mother and child until she had children of her own.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks for the review and all the kind words. It means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #6, by 1917farmgirlThe Story of You: The Story of You

3rd May 2015:
I know this is going to sound weird, but I think the thing that struck me most about this story wasn't so much the plot of it (though that was stellar as always!) but rather the craft behind it. You know I've been struggling with how to put into words what reading this made me feel, and so I hope I can express it now.

I think what you did here was amazing. It's like you used a story made up of words to pay homage to all words and all stories. The very essence of why we struggle to write and why words can be so very powerful was contained in this one-shot, wrapped and tucked neatly inside the plot - but also in a way, independent of the plot. It really touched me, because I can relate to so much of it. Some of my very best friends are found in books. Fictional characters are often so much more real to me than real people. It's not something I'm always proud of, but I do deeply understand the sentiment.

And while we are on the subject of words, I am once again in awe of yours! You are so gifted with writing! You paint a picture in my mind with the words that you chose and it's so amazing to me. Everything flows smoothly and has such a beauty about it. Seriously, I love your writing so much. I really need to make time to read more of it.

This isn't the longest review, and for that I'm sorry, but I do hope you can realize that it's a very sincere one.

Thank you for sharing your talent with the world. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by 1917farmgirlMeant for Two: You and Me

27th April 2015:
Hey there,

So it's high time I started working my way through your impressive collection of writing. Besides, I know that life has been a little stressful lately for you and I know reviews always help my mood when life is like that. (Please, don't feel any obligation to respond to this - the point is to help you smile, not add to your load of things to do.)

I have plans to dive into your novel, but after responding to 37 reviews today I didn't quite have the stamina for that tonight. Figured I'd start with your one-shots.

I remember you talking about this one, as you tried to get it done in time. Now I can see why you were so fastidious with it - WOW, what an impressive bit of writing!

I love how you said SO much without really saying who you were writing about! I admit I had to read it twice to make sure my guess was right (Katie is it?) but that didn't matter. It wouldn't have mattered if I had guess Sue Smith - it was the emotions that fueled this story for me anyway.

How do you do that? Capture emotions so well and stuff them onto a page? The unrequited, sad love that this girl felt for Harry, while he was so obviously happy without her was heartbreaking to see. And even though I LOVE Harry and Ginny together, and absolutely adore how you portrayed them here, I couldn't help having a bit of regret for the storyteller and her own feelings.

I never would have thought of using this particular paring! Where did that come from?

So glad you powered through and managed to get this story out! It's really great and you should be proud of it!

Author's Response: Haha I don't know if "impressive" is the right word, but thanks for stopping by! And it just so happens that I actually LOVE responding to all reviews and despise seeing anything but 'Unanswered Reviews (0)' (unless of course it was already at zero before).

You are a hero for responding to that many reviews when you got backed up too by the way! IMPRESSIVE!

You were definitely right that it was Katie Bell. Truthfully, this story came from me wanting to explore the idea of Harry/Katie in a more canon-specific context before I MAYBE explore them in the AU series I'm going to start after I finish Evolution. Now, as an ardent Harry/Ginny fan, I have a MAJORLY developed plan where Harry/Ginny remains despite the AU (in a believable non-ridiculous way), but I have also been exploring contingencies, one of which is Harry/Katie so I wanted to see how I could play with them a little more in the canon sandbox before going forward. Because if I can't make emotion work with them in my mind, even if I change them some I don't know if I can make it work in the story.

I'm glad you thought the emotion was well done though! Truthfully, I don't know how I do it, just that for some reason people seem to think I do it well :p When it comes to the love side of things, I think the unrequited side comes very easily to me because (though I'll spare you the blah details) I have A LOT of experience with that. And that tends to make the positive side of love flow out of me quite strongly too because despite it all it's SO aspirational for me. #heartsleeveover

But seriously, thank you so much for leaving this review, it really made my day at the end of the first day of a week that's proven every bit as UGH inducing as I expected (even more than expected today). So thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!


 Report Review

Review #8, by 1917farmgirlLying Josephine: Breakable Girls and Boys

27th April 2015:
How on earth did I never review this chapter? That's just not right. Not right at all.

Tanya, I'm seriously at a loss as to how to review this. I wanted to give you one of those massive detailed reviews that you seem to excel at so well when you review my stuff, but as I read, I found myself unable to stop and make mental notes about all the parts I wanted to mention to you. I was way, way too caught up in what was playing out on the page before me to do that.

I've read this before, many times, actually, as you worked it over (and over, and over, LOL.) But that doesn't matter. I don't know how you do it, but when you take those thoughts and ideas and emotions you have and let them pour out onto paper, something magical happens.

This story is literally one of the best I have ever written. Your Fred, your George...they are all I could ever hope and dream my beloved twins to be. And Josephine is SO AMAZINGLING REAL! How can you not love her?

The genius of this set up, making me laugh and love Fred in the first part - because he is just so FRED! So perfect. And then ripping my heart out in the next part.

Just so you know, I don't care how long it takes you to finish this story, I will be right here, waiting and begging for more, because this is THE ultimate Fred and George fic and nothing else I read can ever compare.

Now excuse me while I go have a good cry.

 Report Review

Review #9, by 1917farmgirlLady Mondegreen: Conversations with a Portrait

25th April 2015:
But, wait! She is still stuck in the portrait! You can't just leave her there! And I wanna know the whole story of how she got there! It's intriguing and you left me hanging. *pouts*

Okay, okay, I'll stop being demanding. But, seriously, these questions will haunt me forever now...

Now on to the real review.

I have actually thought a bit about portraits and how they work. How can a portrait of a person who died, continue to be them? And have not only their memories, but personality to react to new things that happen. Like, if couple married, and say the wife died, and he hung a portrait of her in his house, and then later her remarried...would that be awkward?

So, a fic like this is very intriguing to me. And then you throw in the fact that she is still alive! WOW! Talk about plot twist! I liked it!

But the fact that she's a little hard of hearing and not getting her facts straight is HILARIOUS! How on earth did you think of these great play on words? You must have played the game Telephone a lot as a child!

Giving Harry a box with "peas on earth" is nothing short of brilliant. Again, how did you think of these things!

Thanks for sharing. Thise was a great read and I really, really enjoyed it.

Now, go free Lady M from that portrait. Or at least get her moved to a better spot in the school!

- Farmgirl
?

Author's Response: Heeheehee!

How portraits work is sort of explained by Rowling on Pottermore, so I just stuck with what I know from there. She says that portraits are painted while the subjects are actually living, and enchanted by the artist to move and speak, although the degree and depth to which they interact with others is dependent on the original subject's power. Which is why the Headmaster/mistress's portraits are so much more helpful than the others might be.

The real key is that the portrait's personality is not a direct echo of the original subject, but rather, from how the subject appeared to the painter.

So, yeah, odds are if a man hung up a portrait of his wife and then remarried, it'd probably be awkward.

The fact Lady M is, in fact, alive, is one that I've had in my head for YEARS! I've got another novel length fic that I'm working on which has a muggle girl get trapped in a portrait while defending a Queen. She didn't have a name or really much of a character until I accepted the challenge and got the word "Mondegreen". The word comes from a writer who misinterpreted a Scottish ballad and substituted the words "and laid him on the green" with "Lady Mondegreen." Combine that with the definition of Mondegreen, it just fit!

And since I didn't want to write about her during her time period (founders era), because that would be TOTAL SPOILERS for my other story, I decided to write her with one of my other OC's in the future as a portrait. That way I could just tease people a little bit with her story. Heehee. :D

The play on words were actually ALL mondegreen's that I actually have done in my life. Most of them were from when I was little (like: hostages vs sausages, or Jews vs. juice), but the "Peas on Earth" is completely from my Dad. He cracked that pun so many times that I finally gave it to him. He hasn't cracked that pun since. :)

I can't tell you whether or not Lady M gets freed or not...that would involve more spoilers. ;)

Thanks for reading hun! I really appreciate it!! (And I apologize for the ridiculously long response)
LL


 Report Review

Review #10, by 1917farmgirlThis Treasure: You Make Me Smile

14th March 2015:
You know, I really hate writing reviews.

Which I'm sure is not the sentence you wanted this to start with. But let me explain.

When I read something like this that is so incredibly good I can never find the words to express that, to tell the author exactly how amazing it was. It feels like my pitiful little attempts always fall so far short of what the story deserves.

I hope you know that you have written a masterpiece here (not to mention a three-tissue-box story.) This was so...so... SEE, again with the not having the right words thing!

The emotions you portrayed were so beautiful to read, and I loved the snippets of Ron and Hermione's life you showed over time, loved that they weren't grand or amazing or fairytale like - but they were REAL!

And your writing. HOLY COW you have talent girl! Every time I read your stuff I am in awe and then I sit there and wonder why I don't read your stuff more often because you are SO GOOD!

You say you don't write Ron and Hermione very often - well, I firmly believe that needs to change. You are obviously brilliant at them.

Thanks for sharing such a touching, gentle, moving story. Even if I knew what would happen at the end right from the start and knew it would break my heart, I had to keep reading. I couldn't stop. This was lovely and you have every right to be completely proud of it.

- Farmgirl

 Report Review

Review #11, by 1917farmgirlThe Last Snowy Feather: Biding Her A Silent Farewell

2nd March 2015:
*sniffles*

You, my friend, owe me a box of tissues. Seriously. A whole box.

Okay, so I probably should NOT have read this story. I am the biggest animal lover of all time and second only to Fred dying, Hedwig's death in DH just killed me. It was made even worse by the fact that it was hardly even acknowledged! She was there, then she wasn't, and Harry was expected to go on like she didn't even matter.

So, while I shouldn't have read this story because now I'm bawling like a baby, I don't really mean that because I'm very grateful that someone recognized that Hedwig was important and Harry deserved to grieve for her.

Pets are special. Loving them isn't complicated like it can be with loving people. You love them, they love you in return - it's as simple as that. And it's a loyal love that is very hard to break. And when a pet dies it's like a hole has been ripped in your heart, but all too often society has the attitude of "they're just a pet, just an animal...get over it." But they are so, so much more.

I have to admit I was torn by Harry letting the feather go at the end - his last reminder of Hedwig. I don't think I could have done that, let her fly one last time. I would have kept the feather. I guess that makes Harry much stronger than I am.

Thank you for a beautiful, thoughtful, gentle story - and for giving Harry the chance to grieve and say goodbye to his first and most loyal friend. This was a wonderful story.

And I'm so glad you found your ability to write again and are feeling happy about it! That's something I'm still struggling with.

Bravo.

(P.S. This is for the Gryffie Feb. exchange, just in case you didn't figure that out, which I'm sure you did. :) )

Author's Response: Aw! *hands you a box of tissues - a big box.*

I'm sorry, and not sorry that you cried. I do get what you mean though, their deaths really did blew me. I did not even... Like... Reading when they first died... it hadn't hit me until... a while later. And it is sad that Hedwig's death wasn't even... explored. It was only a brief mention of her, after everyone made it to the Burrow.


Yes, pets are just as special when it comes to taking a places in one's heart. It's a shame and downright depressing the abuse and cruelty they have go through. Once, when I was young, and I was living with my grandmother, she had a lot of cats, and I loved them... until they were either taken away by someone else or they died off. The house felt lonely when they were all gone. There were two black cats I grew really attached too, and I cried when they both died. (At that time, we didn't have proper living arrangements or food - especially for the cats, sadly.)


Ahhh! Mostly though, because this is a one-shot, Harry would have to have let her feather go to move the story. However, now that you said that if it were you, and you wouldn't have let go of Hedwig's feather, it gives me the idea of... like having that in a novel one day... like... me writing the Aftermath of the second war through Harry's view. And he discovers it, and he doesn't let it go... at all at first... but maybe some time later... he might when he grieves properly. So yeah! Thanks for the inspiration!


You're welcome! I was happy to have the chance to write this, since I think everyone needed closure with Hedwig's death as much as Harry did.


Shoot... it's been months since I've wrote this one-shot. I'm still having difficulty writing like how I want to. *sad face*

Maybe we both will find our rhythm again.

(Lol, I do know it's from the previous Month review exchange. *smiles*)


Thanks for reading and reviewing! ♥



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #12, by 1917farmgirlBuilding Dollhouses In The Sand: Chapter Two

19th February 2015:
Just a heads up, I think that last two sentences of your chapter here might have been misplaced. Do they belong back at the conversation with Fred?

So I have to say, I really don't like that Katherine is trying to do anything to please her father. Didn't he kill her mother? Does she know that? I don't want him having any influence over her at all.

And I'm worried about this Quidditch game. Something is going to happen to her, I can tell.

Now, George needs to be nice and tell her his name. Or Katharine needs to get smart. Pay attention to little differences...learn to tell them apart. LOL

 Report Review

Review #13, by 1917farmgirlBuilding Dollhouses In The Sand: Chapter One

19th February 2015:
Oh, George, that is just evil. Brilliant, but evil. Tell the poor girl your name! She's smart, she's gonna figure it out if you don't, and I think this will turn around and bite you in the behind.

And I did feel so very bad for Katherine at the beginning here, when they broke her snow globe. Poor girl. And to find out her uncle died. I don't think he killed himself either, and hope you answer that question in this story. Also, what or who did he fail to rescue? I'm intrigued.

So, her dad is a Death Eater. That can't be good. So many more questions.

I did notice a few things that make it hard to follow the story at times. Sometimes your use of pronouns instead of names leaves people wondering exactly who is being spoken about, or doing the talking. You might what to check that over. Also, when you change POV or scenes, it would be helpful to put a break of some kind, so people can tell that it's happening.

Keep up the good work. I shall keep reading, though I'm a slow reader, just so you know.

 Report Review

Review #14, by 1917farmgirlBuilding Dollhouses In The Sand: Prologue

19th February 2015:
I saw you mention this on the forums and thought I'd give it a look. I'm always up for a story featuring the twins. :)

Very intriguing start! You have left me with so many questions about Katherine and her background! How do Gideon and Fabian play into all of this. She can't be a daughter to either of them, or the hinted relationship between George and her eventually would just be a bit icky. So, what is their relationship to her mother? And poor Elizabeth! Why was she killed? How did she know her killer? And how was Katherine spared? Who did Katherine go to live with and how did she get there?

See, told you, questions. Good stories always leave you with them.

I'm also excited to get a glimpse of the twins at school, see Hogwarts through their eyes.

Nice start! Off for more.

Author's Response: Eeek!

I am so absolutely flattered that you've read and reviewed something of mine *blush* I mean I love your work, huge fan and to have you read something written by little ol' me means a lot, so feel free to read on and comment anything you feel necessary :) The story will answer all your question :) Thank you again for the review this made my week! Heck, it made my month!

Ps: I'm editing the story so it'd mean a lot that if you found anything leave it in a review! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by 1917farmgirlComplicated: Complication #2

10th February 2015:
I can totally understand your chapter summary today. It hasn't been a particularly good day in my world either.

Also, I have to admit that given your story summary, I kind of figured things couldn't go all that well for Blaise and Abigail in this chapter, not of James is going to come into this story somehow. ;)

It's sad to see how full of stuff a life can be, and yet how empty just the same. I had to read that book, The Great Gatsby in school...you know the one, the classic, and I hated it. Because it was just so...empty. No one meant anything to anyone else. Poor Abigail's parents have set that up for her, and even though the silk is nice, I really do hope she finds more than just that. You can tell she wants it...but she's going to have to work a little harder for it.

I thought your line about love and hate was really, really profound. Makes you wonder about her parents, actually. All that hate and animosity is probably just hiding the fact that part of them still cares for the other and they are way to proud and stubborn to admit it.

Great writing again. You do have a way with characters and settings and moods and a very good attention to detail. I was honored to be your review exchange partner!

 Report Review

Review #16, by 1917farmgirlComplicated: Complication #1

9th February 2015:
First of all, I am SO sorry for how late I am with this review. It's been a rough start of the new year for me and I'm behind on everything. Trying desperately to catch up now. I hope you can forgive me.

Now, to the review. I also have to confess that I am not a big fan of Next-Gen. I have a great love for the original characters but I have a harder time stretching it over to characters we know so little about. I guess I'm just odd.

But I do think you have done a wonderful job of creating characters here. I read the whole thing (until the very last section) thinking how shallow and rather stuck-up these girls were and wishing they would talk about something other than clothes and boys. Don't read that the wrong way - that's a compliment. It takes a great writer to create characters so real they can annoy you!

And then you flip it around. That last section peels away the layers and reveals that at least for Abigail, they are partly for show. There is a real her hiding beneath them, yearning for more than clothes and money and popularity. That adds so more to her and is the mark of great writing. It's like a hook, to pull your readers in, but a very subtle and deft on.

Great writing, stellar characters, and pretty dresses. What more could you want?

Thanks again for the review swap and I'm so sorry it's taken me such a long time!

 Report Review

Review #17, by 1917farmgirlIcarus: Cultivated Arts

19th November 2014:
Okay, you miss, are a sneaky author. I caught several things in this story that have nothing to do with this story, hehehe.

1. I see the interest in the ever interesting and arrogant, if slightly insane, Lockhart continues. Nice plug.

2. Swearing in Chinese? I'm on to you, dong ma. I am, I am.

3. So, Agatha Christy was a witch, huh? Interesting...

I knew it! I knew it! I knew Marta somehow was responsible for that cube showing up. She stole it. This can't be good at all.

You know, I don't know this new Connor dude, but I have to be a little on his side. They should be more careful what they are talking about in public. Some of us Muggles are not as dumb as we look.

Now, is Connor from the future? Is this all a set up to something? Am I overthinking? Probably.

A screen with weird writing, a strange button. HELLO LILY! You DO NOT PUSH STRANGE BUTTONS!!! Didn't your mother ever tell you about her experience with a strange diary? Man, this family needs to share personal stories.

I have a bad feeling about this. I have seen too many of these scifi things. There will be a wormhole, or a vortex, or a fluxation in the time-space continuum or something and then bad things will happen.

You should have just read that book, Lily.

Author's Response: 1. You caught me. I actually do love writing Lockhart, and I missed it. Not necessarily a plug for the other story, more like me just reliving his fun POV :p

2. Haha! This will not be a Firefly crossover, just throwing that out there. Unfortunately.

3. The titles of her books, particularly those two, were just too good to ignore!

You guessed it! Maybe I should just have you guess the entire plot and then that'll give me clues as to what I should actually write from here on out. XD

Conor does have a point. Marta can be quite self involved sometimes and not think about things like that. As for Conor being from the future, I won't say a word because I like to be evil and mysterious, but I love your hypotheses! :D

Lily inherited an unfortunate trait from her father which is that she sometimes pokes her nose where it doesn't belong!

There will be... something. Wouldn't it be cool if it was actually an ice cream machine?

Thanks so much for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by 1917farmgirlIcarus: Old and New

17th November 2014:
Okay, so first off, you have a knack for writing characters! Seriously, I never in a thousand years would have thought you could take this group of dysfunctional characters and weave them together into a story, but you did! And they are so vivid in their portrayal! It's like I can see them in my head. You have given them strange flaws, but in the end that just makes them more human. Although, I'm not sure I could handle Marta as a roommate/friend. She is very intense, and I would feel the need to clean all the time as I don't do weeks old food. hehehe

Next - Wow has Lily got a voice! Not as in she was yelling or anything, but this character comes right off the pages and tells me she knows exactly who she is. There is nothing generic about her. Bravo to your writing skills!

I also love how you are melding Muggle and magical stuff in this. Though I must admit I was a little worried when Lance came over. I thought he might be a Muggle and they were going to have to hide stuff fast. Was relieved that he's Muggleborn and knows what's up.

He talks to ghosts?!?! WOW! What a job! And, do I sense that somehow, that little nugget of information will be important in the future? Of course I could have just watched too many scifi shows so who knows.

LILY, DO NOT TOUCH THE BOX!!! That can't be good! Where did it come from? Did Marta leave it? Is she not who she seems to be? Did it just appear?

I know you've never seen it, but there is this strange, pulsating cube that exists in Andromeda known as the route of ages that can take you to different times and spaces. Makes me really worried about what this box is.

Well done! Will be back for more.

Author's Response: Hi Farmgirl! Eeee, this review made my day! Thank you so much, it means so much to me that you like the way I write my characters!! Haha though you're right, they are quite a dysfunctional bunch. There is a reason Marta is a friend rather than a roommate - neither Iris nor Lily could handle that kind of mess either! :P

Wow thank you so much for that compliment about Lily's narrative voice! I am so glad she is that clear and individual, aah thank you!

Lance is actually half-blood, but his dad is a Muggle so he's quite familiar with the Muggle side of the world and can relate to the Muggle-born Iris. I realise that at this point in the story Lance's background hasn't been discussed (as I didn't realise he was going to be a main character, believe it or not), but it is a couple of chapters later :p

Talking to ghosts would be super cool. Who knows if that's actually what he does though, because Lily has no idea. This is just her nearest guess. :D

LILY SHOULD LISTEN TO YOU. I'm so glad you're intrigued about the box!

Thanks sooo much for your reviews!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by 1917farmgirlIcarus: Prologue

17th November 2014:
Well, this is certainly interesting! I thought for just a moment I was in the wrong place and reading a Star Trek fic, with that captain's log at the beginning! That little paragraph has me very worried for how this story is going to turn out. I'm all for the occasional AU story to stop certain people from...er...dying, but even I know better than to mess with time! Grandfather clause and all that! WATCH OUT LILY!!

I think it's interesting that Lily seems very comfortable around both magic and Muggle things. Watching movies with her neighbor but having moving pictures in her flat and a magical family.

I also think it's interesting that she doesn't really like her name. Never thought before about how the Potter kids would react to their names. Nice spin.

Sorry if this review is a little on the short side. I just wanted you to know I was intrigued and reading. Nice writing, as always!

Author's Response: Hahaha, apparently it does seem to have that feel to it, you're not the first person to mention the Star Trek similarities :P Lily would do well to listen to you, as she seems to have a different opinion...

I figured that with Hermione for an aunt, and even with her father having grown up with Muggles, Lily would be more aware of the Muggle world than your average pureblood, for example.

haha, I'm glad you liked that about the names :P No worries about a short review, short is still lovely! I really appreciate the encouragement, thanks so much!!


 Report Review

Review #20, by 1917farmgirlCount Me In: Spring

26th October 2014:
Hello there! I know I'm a little slow getting to this and I hope you can forgive me.

You don't see many stories about Fred and George on the Archives. I know, because I've looked. So I'm really excited that you've decided to give them a go!

Okay, interesting start! It's always so hard to bring in a new character in a first chapter. You want people to instantly connect with them and like them so they will keep reading, but you also need to disguise an information dump so everyone knows the basics - personality, appearance, age, quirks... I think you've done a great job of fitting all that in without making it a chore to read, and you have created a very likable character that readers will want to know more of.

I am a little confused on why Fred and Gemma are the troublemakers, but George isn't. Or did I miss something in there?

And Angelina being all jealous! That's pretty brilliant. I don't think I've ever seen that done before in a story. I'm not a fan of Fred/Angelina or George/Angelina very often, so I don't mind, but I do think it's an interesting twist. (And don't get me wrong, I do LIKE Angelina, just not paired with the twins.

So, you have them starting out as friends and friends only, but from your story description I gather that eventually becomes something more. I'm intrigued to see how you get there and develop that relationship.

Great start! Keep going! The twins are sorely under-represented in fanfiction and very much deserve more stories out there!

Author's Response: Hiya! I appreciate the swap, timing is never a problem. I agree with the lack of Fred and George fanfiction. I am pretty sure I've read nearly every single story there is to read.

I'm very glad you like the characters, I like them quite a lot myself. :)

So Fred and Gemma being the troublemakers, rather than Fred and George...let me say that this was not my intention. Another reviewer commented on this as well, and while I don't see it myself, I do admit I am a little bit biased (seeing as I am the one who wrote it). Here is my explanation: Never do I claim they are the sole troublemakers of the school. Instead, I reference when they started pulling pranks together regularly. That doesn't mean Fred and George are any less than the amazing prank-pulling masterminds we know and love, it just means sometimes Fred would wreck a little havoc with Gemma. Also, because Ava and Gemma are talking about Angelina being jealous about Fred, the boy she likes, they don't really need to talk about George. Does this make sense? I feel like it will more as the story progresses, and Fred and Gemma's feelings and actions are described in a little bit more depth than the intro chapter.

Wow, we are right on the same spectrum. Angelina's great, I just don't like her with either of the twins. Also, I'm a little jealous, because she got to go to the ball with Fred...my dream. Sigh.

Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked it!

- Joanie


 Report Review

Review #21, by 1917farmgirlChai, Samosas, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning: Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

26th October 2014:
You know, I've always admired your writing. Every time I read something of yours I remember this. You have a way of cutting to the heart of the matter and expressing simple truths in a beautiful way.

I really loved this story. Now, I've not read my Harry Potter for a long time, so I don't remember if I missed something about Hannah being partly from India, but I do have to say I really liked it a lot in this story. It gave an otherwise sometimes unremarkable character from the books real life and personality here in your story. And I loved how you wrote about what for a lot of us is unfamiliar objects and foods with such familiarity. I might not know what it all was, but Hannah did and through your portrayal of her I still felt perfectly at ease with everything.

The real reason I loved this story though? It was just sweet! Such a cute and fun way to start off a story we know happened. Neville was adorable, and Hannah had such a strong "character" voice, I feel like I know her so well now. And I loved the humor as well. Very nice.

My favorite line was the one about knowing when things are done. Brilliant insight there.

Thanks so much for sharing. This really was beautiful.

Author's Response: Aww! That means so much to me! Your writing is great and I love it a lot, although I don't get the time to read fanfic all that often anymore, so coming from you... just, ugh. Thank you.

No, Hannah isn't partly Indian in canon, but it seemed to fit her somehow. And family and culture has a way of manifesting in our everyday lives in the most subtle of ways, and I wanted to write Hannah that way. I'm Indian, so all the stuff I talk about is things with which I am familiar. Hannah's struggles are to some extent my struggles. It was interesting writing from personal experience in that way - something I've never done before.

I'm glad you found this story to be sweet! It was the sort of vibe I was going for - that feeling of finding someone new and you're just like "yes! You get this!" And of course, because in canon Hannah and Neville are married, it feels so much better because you KNOW what's in store for them.

Thanks so much for your lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by 1917farmgirllow tide: a meditation

21st October 2014:
That's it.

I quit.

How could anyone possibly hope to write George ever again after reading this?

And just when I thought my heart MIGHT have started to mend, you rip it right back open.

Seriously, I'm hanging up the Fred and George hat and bowing to your mastery.

AMAZING fic! Incredible imagery and use of words. You didn't tell this story, you let it wisp in to us on the tide, in the smell of the air, the feel of the sand.

It might be the fact that it wasn't a sobbing, distraught George that told this story, but a quietly sad one. George doesn't do quiet. That alone expressed the magnitude of his grief, even as he fought back and tried to be alive again.

Yep, you are the master and I sit here in awe.

Incredible. 100/10

Author's Response: NO DON'T QUIT! Because then who will bring Fred back to life?! I'm counting on you for that!

Gah, thanks so much for your comments about the imagery and the words! I'm really proud of how the descriptions turned out in this story and it just makes me so happy when people notice them! ♥

It was definitely a bit weird to write the wild and funny George as so subdued - I wasn't sure if it would seem like him. But I love what you pointed out there, how his silence speaks volumes. Also, the fact that you were impressed by this portrayal of George means so much to me because you are one of the best writers of Fred and George on the site! And so to hear that from you is just asdkjfjakl. Thank you for your amazing review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by 1917farmgirlseventeen, eighteen.: countdown.

18th October 2014:
Wow.

I was not expecting this. I must admit, had I known what it was about, I might not have read it. This is a tender and emotional topic that unfortunately does carry with it some very real and very sad memories.

That said, I started, and finished, and I don't like to leave something I've read without a review.

I can say with utmost confidence that you have a gift for writing and the use of language to set a scene and a particular mood. The way you wrote Molly and showed what she struggled with, on the surface it appeared slightly odd and maybe even funny, but the whole time there was this undercurrent of pain and despair and loss of control. Very poignant! And particularly well done. It would have been very easy to lose the story in the repetition and you didn't do that.

My heart did break for Molly here. You write with strong emotion.

Very good writing, especially about such a hard topic. And I really hope you can see that this review is very much meant as a compliment and aren't upset by it.

- Farmgirl

Author's Response: Hi Farmgirl.

I hope that if you ever need to you can PM me as it's a sensitive topic for me as well. Thank you so much for this stunningly beautiful review. It means so much to get that kind of praise from someone on the same side of the looking-glass as I'll put it.

Lo


 Report Review

Review #24, by 1917farmgirlStarving Artists: New Horizon

13th October 2014:
WOW, Kevin! That was so beautiful! I've never had the chance to read anything of yours yet, though I plan to work my way through your page eventually, but that was truly remarkable!

You have a real gift with words and an ability to paint a picture with them! I love how you use little details that wouldn't be important at all, to show a character's personality. The cup, for example. That whole thing COULD have been left out without hurting the plot at all, but the story would have been so much poorer for it. It showed Rionach's character and made the telling very rich.

I love that this was about Dean...well, Dean through the eyes of someone else, but still. I always had a soft spot for him, though I've never really written him. This made me very fond of him again.

And I have to compliment you. You mention you were worried to write from the perspective of a female character, but you did a BRILLIANT job at it! Seriously, it was so spot on it was a little creepy. You know things you shouldn't now about how a female brain works...*eyes Kevin suspiciously*

So glad I stopped by and read this. It really was beautiful and moving and SO eloquent! Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: WOW, to you! This review is so kind and coming in the midst of my mayhem it was so good to get and read. Thank you!

I'm really glad you enjoyed the story and the bit about the cup. It was something I went back and forth on including as it (despite being tiny) was giving me a bit of trouble when I tried to get across what I was aiming at, but you've made me very glad I did!

Ahh the female character thing. Yes. I was VERY worried actually. I mean, I've been complimented on writing female characters before in third-person, but it's a totally different thing to do first-person, especially in a romance so I'm glad you think I did such a good job with it. I'll ignore the suspicious look :p

Thank you so much for reading and leaving this wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by 1917farmgirlRabbit Heart: Trusting Hearts

13th October 2014:
You know, for purportedly writing a story about teen angst and drama and mushiness and most likely spoons, you sure manage to put in an awful lot of intense, real, human emotions. I literally just had this conversation with WYHO about this fic:

Me - How the heck does Pix's supposedly silly story about blood-sucking rabbits and teen angst always make me cry?

WYHO - Cause she's brilliant like that?

Me - Amen.

And it's true! You went and made me cry again. There is just something so touching and personal about those sections with Gran. It just...GAH! You owe me lots and lots of tissues.

And then, you throw in a creepy little kid.

I know much about this Dillon...which I shall refrain from saying. But, I'm still so curious! Despite what I know, he seems so...normal...in a completely non-normal way. Is he evil? Or just alone? Who is this mother?

And the most important question? Why do you have to make little kids and sweet little bunnies evil?

Bunny - :(

Teen angst and vampires? - yeah right. This is really tragedy and real life and emotion and truth mixed up with crazy writing skills and great descriptions, all stirred by the spoon of AWESOMENESS...because you are.

Seriously, Pix, you are fooling no one here, with your claims of it "just being a teen drama story."

Author's Response:

Um... hi. How do I respond to that?

Okay, firstly in my defense, I am still allergic to angst, the drama has been comparatively low-key, and Albus has never gotten Wren over for toffee pudding yet, so the spoons are a bit absent at this point.

*hands tissues*

I don't know if it will make you feel any better, but Gran doesn't have a lot of scenes in the story as a whole, so maybe you could bear with the whole of it, and we'll sneak Gran out the back when it gets to be too much.

As for Dillon and the bunnies, you were absolutely forewarned about that.

Ahh, the human condition! It's something I don't think I come close to doing justice most of the time, and you are making me feel like I've got a bit of it right. You have flattered me to no end, which seems to be a talent of yours, so I can only thank you for your kind words and bask in this ridiculously flattering review.

Thank you!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>