Reading Reviews From Member: almonster
  
62 Reviews Found

Review #1, by almonsterTwice Defied: New Beginnings & Old Endings

7th January 2012:
I don't know what you are unsatisfied for because I enjoy it very much :) Literally every time I see there's a new chapter for this story I get really excited and you have yet to let me down (altho don't take that as a challenge lol).

Author's Response: Thank you so much--both for the compliment and for returning to read! It is such a relief to know that I haven't driven off all the old readers of the story. :) I really appreciate your comments.

I certainly won't take it as a challenge, haha! I'm very motivated to improve from here on out. Even though it seems it isn't as bad as I thought, I'd still like to get back to a place of feeling more satisfied with my own writing. And I'm actually happy to say that the next chapter is written already, and I feel much better about it. :) So it shouldn't be too long before you can read that one!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #2, by almonsterThe Marauding Misadventures of a Murderous Beater: Battles and Bandages

2nd September 2011:
Sequel sequel sequel! I love this story. I'm happy all the rampart lions survived, and I definitely like when Kylie stood up to the minister. That was a nice touch. Stupid voldemort and his stupid death eaters...

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!
The lions did manage to survive the fight, and Kylie had to be Kylie and be all like, "In your face, Minister!" Yeah, Moldy Voldy had to do his deal, but I couldn't quite cut him out of the story, can I? Unfotunately, that would make it super duper AU, and I don't think I want to take it that far.


 Report Review

Review #3, by almonsterThe Marauding Misadventures of a Murderous Beater: Illness

18th August 2011:
no! I can't believe they lost! The other team better get disqualified...

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!
Yeah, that happened. I'm sorry! I can't tell you anything that may or may not happen, but, hopefully you'll be satisfied!


 Report Review

Review #4, by almonsterThe Marauding Misadventures of a Murderous Beater: Moscow Midnight

19th July 2011:
I love you. And this story. But you for writing it. Definitely didn't see that coming with Bryson, but Kylie's reaction was adorable. And I'm happy Matt finally told Jaz but I feel so bad for him. Aww. Just, this story is the best ever.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!
I've been waiting to get Bryson's homosexuality out there for so long, it's been killing me to have that secret all holed up in here and unable to get out! But there it is, and I just hope Kylie responded appropiately to her character. Matt and Jaz will hopefully be resolved soon - maybe even next chapter, depending on how it goes - so maybe that won't take too long! I'm glad that you're enjoying it so much!


 Report Review

Review #5, by almonsterHarry Potter and the Not So Dark Lord: The Introduction of Lunaweed

1st June 2011:
I like it. Especially the first bit with little Voldy, seems he might have a heart this time around:P. I'm not so sure I'm a hundred percent on the g-weed, but hey could add for some interesting drama/action later on lol.

 Report Review

Review #6, by almonsterHarry Potter and the Not So Dark Lord: Burrowed in the Burrow

16th April 2011:
Y e e e e s s s s s s s s s s s s s s s. I love it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by almonsterHarry Potter and the Not So Dark Lord: The Perfect Mistake

14th April 2011:
Ahaha this is awesome Case! I have the AVPM voices in my head when I read it. Totally can't wait to see what happens. Also, awesome plot to take down Harry by killing ron. Do you not like Ron? Lol

Author's Response: My response didn't go through on this last time lol but yes I love ron he's just the unfortunate victim of my evil plotting bwahaha what do you think about that moonshoes??

 Report Review

Review #8, by almonsterBroken: And So Where Does my Heart, Belong

20th October 2010:
Wow this story is really good so far. A very interesting take on the relationship between Rose and Scorp. I like it. I also like the intrigue brought on by the rest of the Malfoy family and the competition in general. I can't wait for more. :d

~alex

Author's Response: thank you and I'm really pleased you're enjoying it so far!
xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by almonsterThe Marauding Misadventures of a Murderous Beater: MVP

14th October 2010:
YAY! They WON! That was an awesome game!! I love this story sooo much! I totally thought Sirius was gonna fall, or that James had gone into the dive to catch him but I suppose that was what you wanted me to think lol. But they won!! YAY! Hahaa I like how you had Kylie punch Sirius, it was funny and totally her. I also liked the part during their lap around the pitch the night before the match where the Polar Bear guy gave Kylie the feathers. Can't wait to see what's next!! You are awesome!

~alex

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!
Yeah, that was kind of what I was trying to get you to think :) I'm glad it worked, but I hope I didn't cause you too much worry! I tried to make the game as realistic as possible, kind of how it would actually work if Quiddich was real - did I mannage?
Kylie slugging Sirius was, I guess, her way of being terrified of him dying. It's kind of like her, isn't it?


 Report Review

Review #10, by almonsterShaping Up With A Marauder: Much Ado About Nothing

13th October 2010:
hahaha butteroinks... I like this so far. I like how you wrote the Marauders and I like the girls too. I can't wait for more :D and for those yummy cookies you're giving out :P

~alex

Author's Response: Oh, wow! What a lovely surprise, Alex! Thank you very much for this very sweet review! It made my day! Yay! *hugs*

You are very familiar, btw. I think I see you around the forums. Is that where and how you found my story? Haha. Thank you for taking time and dropping by to leave me a comment. I really appreciate it. ^_^

I'm happy to know that you liked the Marauders and the girls! In the earlier versions of this story, actually, I was having a little trouble with Sirius' characterization, but I think I got him pinned down pretty well now. Not too sure about Lily yet, to be honest, but I am working on her! Heehee. I love characters. I love developing them and imagining them in my mind and writing about them. I think if there's really something I can be proud of with my story, it will be my characters (even the ones that I am struggling to write) because I feel like I know them personally, you know? Especially my OC's. And it's very nice to hear that you liked them too! Thank you!

Ahhh, butteroinks. Heehee. It has a lot of following. A lot of people seem to like it. Want to know how I came up with that word? The thyroid gland actually resembles a butterfly, see, and I just added the 'oink' to allude to the fact that Quin was having some weight issues related to it. And that's how butteroinks was born! Yay! I'm glad you like it.

Again, thank you for this lovely review! I'll see you around and hopefully on the next chapter too! Thank you! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #11, by almonsterCherry Blossoms: Dame Fortune

28th September 2010:
Oh dear, poor poor Hattie. She's such a good person and to lose her son... I'm happy she's starting to help the order. I love your stories. You're awesome. Can't wait to read more.

~alex

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This story has been percolating in my head (and in my OpenOffice files) for a long time now - two years I think - so I'm glad to finally write it and post it. And I'm very glad you like it! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by almonsterSailing Ship: Sailing Ship

27th September 2010:
This was totally awesome and adorable and all that. I love what you did here with having June constantly follow the two of them around. I think my absolute favorite bit was when Sirius was talking about James being in love with him too and having that secret get out would absolutely ruin him. And the bit about them being furries was brilliant. As was the part where Sirius was arguing about who would be on top. lol.

Anyway, job well done. I'm happy you reviewed my story so I would read and review yours :D Led to an awesome bit of reading.

Author's Response: Thanks haha, I got to throw all my crack-y fic plot bunnies at this and it was lots of fun :D Review trades are my favorite!

 Report Review

Review #13, by almonsterBreaking the Quidditch Code: Underground Tension (and Squiggles)

26th September 2010:
Just finished reading from the start and I really like this so far. I especially like how you show the relationship between James, Al, and Lily because it reminds me of me and my two siblings. Oh man I have to say I was really excited when Avery kissed James in Italy and then sad yet laughing over what James said. And now I'm extremely happy over the turn of events. Snogging buddies sounds awesome to me. I like James and Avery together... I only wonder what will happen to Nia... lol. Also I'm crossing my fingers that Meta leaves and James makes Lily his seeker :P

Author's Response: I'm so glad you're enjoying the story! I really love rereading it from the start. As for James, Al, and Lily, that excites me! I love them as siblings, their closeness yet their need to have their own lives. I am an only child, but the people I was closest to growing up had the same family dynamic.

I'm glad you're on board with snogging buddies! things could potentially get VERY interesting...that's for sure. As for Nia, she just cracks me up. She'll definitely be making several more appearances.Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #14, by almonsterThe Charm of Al Potter: The Charm of Al Potter

31st August 2010:
heheheh this was cute. I liked it very much. And the pickup line was perfectly cheesy and I loved it. Good job :D

~alex

Author's Response: Teehee, thank you(: I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by almonsterThrough His Eyes: Lovegood and Letters

23rd August 2010:
This is a cute story so far. I like how you've characterized everyone. You've done an especially good job with Ron and the little bit of Luna that was there. I also like how you've shown Draco to be, how you made him regret what he said to Hermione. It shows that he's changed after everything that went down. Can't wait to see how this pans out!

~alex

Author's Response: Thank you! I try to stay down to character, otherwise the story just doesn't work. I have sooo much more written (21 chapters) but because of validating, I only have 3 up, the 4th is validating now. But thank you so much for the review, you made my day :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by almonsterSwan Lake School of Magic: Swan Lake School of Magic

23rd August 2010:
Oh I like this a lot. This is a very interesting view on a different magical school. I like all the descriptions you use, I could see a wonderful castle in my head. I also like your characterization of Percy. I thought the little joke he made about the name of the school was quite funny. :)

Very nice job and well written!
~alex

Author's Response: Thank you for the review :D The castle that I described here is actually real! It's in southern Germany, the same one you can see in the background of my banner. It's called Neuschwanstein, look it up :)

Well, this review was rather nice of you!! Just thanks so much again!!


 Report Review

Review #17, by almonsterHow to tame a Marauder - alternative ending: September 1978

23rd August 2010:
Aww this was good. But as terrible as it sounds, I much rather the real ending to the story. In this version, I'm simultaneously super mad at Laura for ending it, but also understand because I'm sure living like that was absolutely terrible, especially without Mary there...

~alex

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Yes, a lot of people prefer the original ending, myself included. Like I said in the author note I only wrote this to see if I could actually pull it off,and posted it because I had so many people ask me to. However, there are far too many holes in this one to satisfy me. Having said that, I'm very glad that you could at least understand her frustration and isolation, because as you noticed she never really replaced Mary in getting a confidante. In any case, it's only the alternative and it's up as a curiosity, as this is not consistent with the one-shots I'm loading up. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by almonsterI Love Lucy: Can You Keep A Secret?

23rd August 2010:
Oh my gosh this is awesome so far! I love Lucy now too and it's only chapter 1!
These: 'I told my boss at the French Ministry of Magic that I was fluent in French, but all I know is Bonjour and ĎVoulez-vous coucher avec moi?' Which frankly I canít see going over very well..." "I still check under my bed for monsters because when I was eight, a Boggart was underneath and turned into a Mummy..." "Iíll never go visit Roxanne in Egypt because of this..." are definitely my favorites, especially the first. I can't wait to read more!! Well done!

~alex

Author's Response: Thank you so so so so much for leaving a review!! I am so pleased you like Lucy so far and really your review made my day!
xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by almonsterLong Forgotten: Long Forgotten

23rd August 2010:
AW! This was so sweet. It made me cry. I love Neville and feel so bad for him that he has to see his parents like this, I'm sure it's heartbreaking everytime. You did a wonderful job of conveying his feelings in this. I love it. Well done.

~alex

Author's Response: Hey again Alex! Ahh your so awesome for leaving me these reviews. They really do make my day! Especially when someone tells me they love what I've written - it means a lot to me!

I love Neville too! He's one of my all time favourite characters. I agree it must be heartbreaking for him, that's why I was so pleased he gets to be awesome in the final book. I'm really pleased you thought I conveyed his feelings well!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :D

~Helena


 Report Review

Review #20, by almonsterblood.: Not Exactly Friends

23rd August 2010:
GAH! I need more!! This story is SO ADDICTING! AND AMAZING! Part of me had a feeling it might have something to do with Albus, but I'm still hoping that it's not him and there's someone even bigger behind it! I seriously can't wait to see what happens next!!

~alex

Author's Response: Hello again! I'm glad to see you're still enjoying the story, and I will try my best to get more of this story up soon. Were getting down to brass something or other (I forgot the expression halfway through typing it) so there should be lots of twists coming up to take you off guard...I hope! :P

Thanks again for all the reviews!

Miranda


 Report Review

Review #21, by almonsterblood.: Letters from the Sky

23rd August 2010:
MAGIC MAKES THIS STORY SO MUCH MORE INTERESTING! I love it! I love you for writing it! I'm off to read more!!

~alex

Author's Response: WOOT! I'm glad you're enjoying it so much!

Thanks for another review!

Miranda


 Report Review

Review #22, by almonsterblood.: Once Upon the Low Road

23rd August 2010:
Oh my gosh, this story is amazing so far. I just had to take a break to tell you that. I can't believe Lucy and Lois are already gone! The attack on Louis definitely scared me, as soon as he stepped out of the fireplace I was like OH NO! GO BACK! RUN! lol. Also, I love the name of the island because isn't the last person to die in And Then There Were None Vera? Maybe not I haven't read that story since 7th grade which was 9 years ago. If it is then awesome. Anyway, I love this story so I'm just gonna go continue on reading.

~alex

Author's Response: Hello! And thank you for taking the time to read and review my story! I really appreciate it!

I'm happy to hear that the story is suspenseful enough to keep you on edge! And you are totally correct on And Then There Were None---well, the last person we know of...until the twist, right? hahaha, great book though, really. I read that all in one sitting and couldnt fall asleep until the sun came up! :P

Thanks again for the review, and I'm glad you like it so much!

Miranda


 Report Review

Review #23, by almonsterThe Final Battle: Small Packages

22nd August 2010:
Aww! Poor Colin! It was so sad that he died. This was a great way of showing how he died to save someone else, because it seems like he would. Very good job. It was short but very well written. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by almonsterThe World, Biscuits And Sirius Black According To Nellie OíNeill.: Home Truths, Zombies, Falling Apart And Me

22nd August 2010:
Aww that bit at the end with Nellie and Izzy almost made me cry. I hope Sirius wakes up soon for everyone's sake, but mostly James, he seems like he'd break if Sirius didn't. Very good chapter, I can't wait for more!

~alex

Author's Response: Aw :( I wanted this chapter to be all about friendship. And I really wanted to show how deep Sirius and James' friendship went. Thank you so much for the review! I'll try to update soon.
xxx


 Report Review

Review #25, by almonster:

21st August 2010:
Yay new chapter! I definitely liked this one. I really like the insight into Melody's past, that was nice to see even though it wasn't so happy. And when they kissed after the Quidditch match, that made me very happy, I like them together. Also, having Lavinia have a crush on Hank is adorable. The first years are definitely my favorite class.

I wonder what is gonna happen when the end of the year rolls around, if he keeps the job will he be able to go to his brother's wedding and to see his parents off? Well, you probably aren't gonna tell me that so I'll just have to keep reading (like I'd even stop). But I hope he will be able to. I love how Lavinia is Melody's insider, and that Melody is going to celebrate Thanksgiving for him! That was very nice of her. Thanksgiving is delicious. Which reminds me, this quote, "I doubted the whole 'weíre celebrating because the Native Americans didnít let us starve in our new home to get away from you English lot' thing would ever catch on over here in the UK." made me laugh a bunch.

Anyway good job, and can't wait for chapter 12! :D

~alex

Author's Response: Thank you, Alex. I glad that you enjoyed the chapter, and I think you will find things have a way of working themselves out, be it bad or good.

You're absolutely right I'm not going to tell you what happens, or else it wouldn't be any fun? I could tell you "everybody dies in the end" but that isn't much fun at all. :P

As for the quote, well Hank does have a snarky side, and every now and then it comes out.

Keep reading, new chapters are coming soon.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>