Reading Reviews From Member: ladybella
  
30 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ladybellaThe tale of Rory Delaney.: Rory Delaney

17th May 2012:
Hey!
I'll admit what made want to read this is because the oc had quite and Irish sounding name. :P

This story was very well written and very easy to read, so well done.

I like how as a reader you grow to care for an oc who has no contact with any canon characters so well done for that too!

It was very interesting to see the memories of someone you dont know and care about what's going on and Rory seems to have a very interesting back story.

I like how calm he is while fighting in a war, its almost like he knows things probably wont end rosy but he's ready and accepts it without question or something. I dont know. hes very likeable!

And I loved the blue tack bit. :P

Well done!

Ladybella.

Author's Response: Hi.
This was my first attempt at writing a story from an OC pov, and when I was given the details of this charactor to do for the challenge, this just popped into my head.
When Rory was thinking about his memories I just thought that it would be apt to have him think back over his life.
The person who issued this challenge that this story came from has sent me the details of all the other characters that were never used in the challenge. So look out for a few more stories.
He was calm because he was thinking of his father who (though he had arguments with) he loved and respected. He thought he'd never see him again. So I thought I'd have him come to stand side by side with his son in the final battle.
Thanks for the read and review. So glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #2, by ladybellaUntil death do us part: Until death do us part

15th May 2012:
Hi there! It's Ladybella from the forums! :)

I'm on a total angst kick at the minute so I was intrigued when I saw the title, Till death do us part is a line said by thousands of couples but never by a couple like Remus and Tonks.

This story though short was beautifully bittersweet and the range of emotions flowed great through out without feeling rushed and unrealistic.

I always imagined Remus needing Tonks more than the other way around so it was so lovely to see this side of Tonks as she always seems like a character that is often there for comic relief.

It was such a beautiful end to such a sad story and I actually think a series of short stories like this would be lovely reads. :)

Beautifully written, well done. :)

Ladybella.

Author's Response: Hey :) Thank you for the review!

I'm glad it intrigued you in! I love the idea of marriage vows because they're so universal and as you said thousands of people have said them.

I wanted this story to be short in a way because a lot of the time there is the tendancy with me to go a little overboard and originally this was a lot longer but it just didn't feel right you know.

I don't know I think Tonks fell very deeply for Remus which is why she loved him so much and needed him!

I'm glad you liked it


 Report Review

Review #3, by ladybellaStill Delicate: Awkward.

19th September 2011:
Hey! Thanks so much for such a quick update after the last one! As a massive fan of your work its very much appreciated! And I cant believe there are Tom haters?! I love Tom! I cant believe its nearly time to say goodbye to Rose! *Cries* Really enjoyed this chapter! Cant wait for the next chapter!

Ladybella

 Report Review

Review #4, by ladybellaStill Delicate: A New Direction

13th September 2011:
Finally! Yey an update! I understand life gets in the way of things like updating but that hasnt stopped me checking this constantly for a new chapter anyway! Ha ha!

I love Tom! He and Rose are just... Perfect!

Cant wait for another chapter! (And I cant wait for more Aiden! He's my favourite!) Please update soon!

Great writing! Congrats! I'd give this a 100/10 if i could!

Ladybella

 Report Review

Review #5, by ladybellaThe lies our parents told us: Prologue

13th August 2011:
Hey!

I really dont know what to say about this other than it was completely perfect! You really did your research (or at least sound like you did) And the whole chapter flowed through seamlessly, despite the fact the chapter was mostly just background information you wrote in a way that it wasnt boring!

I loved the line "Orion wasn't much of a father to him, but, occasionally, he was a good cell mate." I really like that!

Loved this and i'll be reading on now! :)

Ladybella

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. The prologue wasn't much of funny, but I promise next chapters are. :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by ladybellaThe Waitress: Company for Lunch

12th August 2011:
Hey!

Yey for second chapter! Im really excited about this story! It's seems really original and you definitely have me wanting more!

Rahael is a very interesting character, I cant wait to find out more about her! She seems the type to be quite self destructive? With the whole eating thing and inviting a hmeless stranger to stay with her, however I could be wrong! Either way im very intrigued about her back ground!

As usual I cant fault your writing! Another perfect chapter!

If I was to be really nick pickity and point out some constructive criticism it would just be some slight "americanisims" as I like to call them, for example as Rachael is from london and its set in england we would call apartments, "flats" and we dont really do the whole tip thing. However thats the only thing I can pick out and to be honest it's not even an issue! It doesnt fault the story what so ever!

Thanks again for a great read and i'll be waiting patiently for an update soon! :)

Ladybella.

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm not sure self-destructive is the word I would use. The eating thing is an issue in and of itself, but she is a little reckless. Besides, if you remember, she knows him from the past, so he's not really a stranger to her. Anyway, more will be coming on that front later on.

I'm an American, so I've never really tried to put the emphasis on using "Britishisms" in my writing (especially outside of dialogue), though I appreciate your comments. I'm pretty sure I primarily used flat in the other chapters, but I threw in the word apartment so that it would sound less repetitive.

Thanks for your review :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #7, by ladybellaI, Ginny: That's Telling

12th August 2011:
hey!

i really enjoyed this! It was very believable and cute! Ginny was funny and I loved george! You wrote everyone spot on and it was a really great read! Well done! :)

Ladybella

Author's Response: Thank you very much. It makes me so happy, hearing that my characters are well... themselves. lol. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by ladybellaDisgusted: The Appointment

10th August 2011:
Hey there!

This chapter again made me laugh! I love your use of wit, which tends to be taking its form from Lily which is nice as i always think she is a very under rated character.

Characterisation of Snape was very good! And Lucy seems likable and funny! She also doesnt come across Mary-sueish at all so great job on that front!

All in all very enjoyable.
Well done!
Ladybella.

Author's Response: Hey again!

I'm glad you liked my characterization of Snape, since I tried not to take him *too* far out of canon just to make him into the romantic hero. And I'm always worried about writing the dreaded Mary-Sue, so I'm very, very happy that I succeeded in avoiding that with Lucy.

Thanks for all of your wonderful reviews! :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #9, by ladybellaA Tale of Two Princes: Introduction

10th August 2011:
Hey there!

Interesting! Snape with a child! What a thought! I like this so far! Im starting to develop a soft spot for Draco recently so i enjoyed this! It's refreshing to read about characters from a different house as everyone tends to write about Gryfindor.

The flashback to when they were kids was my favourite bit! Very cute!

Well done!
Ladybella

Author's Response: Hey again!

Thanks, yeah, it was fun to write little kids (but also hard, as far as vocabulary and language and such). They were sort of cute, weren't they? :)

I always love it when I get people to see the softer side of Draco, so that's great :)

Thanks for your sweet review!

academica


 Report Review

Review #10, by ladybellaDisgusted: The Delirium Draught

10th August 2011:
hey there!

Great first chapter! You seem to have a great way with first chapters! What is your secret? I always find them the hardest to write!

I really liked seeing your take on writing humour as i've yet to see that yet! I enjoy reading humour the most and I love how you do it without being over the top and in your face about it!

For example, "Besides, he's probably available on weekends as well." That made me laugh!

Well done and thanks for another good read! :)
Ladybella

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm not sure. I sometimes feel that my work goes downhill after I do the first chapter, haha :) I think maybe it's because I get so excited about writing a new story, and everything is all fresh and new in my mind. Thanks for the compliment!

Yeah, Lily's got some moments of real humor in this one. Gotta love her! :) I'm glad you think I did it well, because I don't write it particularly often and I especially like to get feedback on things I don't do all the time.

Thanks for the review!

academica


 Report Review

Review #11, by ladybellaAt Great Personal Risk: Two Owls

10th August 2011:
Hey there! Well this was interesting! As per usual i am loving your description and what I really liked about this was the flow, you write so fluidly and beautifully I always get totally lost in your work! Which s a truly wonderful thing!

Great work as usual! Well done!
Ladybella.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I really appreciate your compliments :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #12, by ladybellaThe Waitress: The First Taste of Freedom

10th August 2011:
hey there!

I was so glad when you asked me to review a Sirius/oc! Squeel! I love Sirius and reading about him, however it also means im very hard to impress! I get incredibly sick of reading the same stories all the time! It has become very hard to find a Sirius/oc that has not already been done.

That being said however this seems really original! It was a grat first chapter! And i feel very excited for future chapters! Please update soon because I think you may have something special here!

Like I said before I am in love with you pictorial story telling, the way you can make me feel, smell and see everything you describe!

I will be looking out for the next chapter so please dont leave it too long. :)

Well done!
Ladybella.

Author's Response: Haha, thanks! I'm glad to have you hooked! Chapter two is in the queue as we speak so hopefully it will show up soon and you can continue on.

I'm glad you thought it was an original idea and that my imagery is appealing to you as well. I've been trying to work very hard on my descriptions (since I find it easy to get lost in dialogue) so I'm happy to see that it's working out.

Thanks for the review!

academica


 Report Review

Review #13, by ladybellaMiss Weasley: Mrs. Potter

2nd August 2011:
hey! here to review for the challenge! :)

This was such a nice read! Im a big fan of the Weasley's as most are and this was such a lovely piece!

Your characterization was spot on! I really felt like Mr Weasley was there with me, reading those very words!

I really havent anything to say against this, it was beautiful and warm and fuzzy and everything else that is nice! :)

Well done! :)

Author's Response: Aw, thanks very much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by ladybellaHis Juliet: Act I, Scene I to III

2nd August 2011:
Hey! here to review for the challenge!
I'm very intrigued so far! I never read anything about the Blacks unless it's Sirius! So It was nice to read something different and read about someone who I usually forget about!
I really like your characterization, it's pretty much spot on perfect in my opinion!
This is really different to anything I've come across and I LOVE the whole Romeo and Juliet thing going on! Its clever and quirky! :)
Cant wait to see where this goes. :) Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you! Your challenge and the quote really fit in well and it was so fun!

 Report Review

Review #15, by ladybellaWeakness: Weakness

2nd August 2011:
Hey! here to review your entry for the challenge! :)

I really enjoyed this! I dont normally tend to like reading about the Malfoys or the Blacks, unless it's Sirius! :P So it was really refreshing to read something out of my comfort zone and actually enjoy it!

This was full of lust and passion and you just had the right amount! It was sexy but without being too smutty! So as a reader you weren't blinded by the lust and still got to see how dysfunctional Bellatrix and her relationship were and got to glimpse at her very human feelings.

I usually cant stand Bellatrix (being a major Sirius fan) However I like your characterization of her. She was still the Bellatrix we love to hate but she was behaving very human and you can really empathize with her.

All in all very enjoyable! Well done! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by ladybellaA Touch of Light: Alive

12th July 2011:
Hi! It's Ladybella here to review your entry for "The many faces of love challenge."

First and foremost, I really enjoyed this! I must admit im not much of a Malfoy fan and when I seen this was a story about them I was rather apprehensive! However im pleased to say you converted me to being more open to the idea of reading Malfoy fics because this was very enjoyable!

I loved how you made the cold and untouchable Narcissa very vulnerable and as a reader you could really empathise with her, to the point of feeling quite bad that Bellatrix was dead, (and being a major Sirius Black fan, making me feel sorry Bellatrix dies is quite an achievement!)

I thought the characterisation was spot on, especially with Draco. And you used your quote for inspiration very well! The imagery was great! And I could almost taste the fruit with the way you wrote!

What I loved most was that you really did show "many faces of love" You showed a womans love for life, a mothers love for her son, a wife's love for her husband and grief!

Wonderful entry! Only downside was that I could have happily read on!

Thank you and look out for the results of the challenge on my blog in due course! :)

Ladybella

Author's Response: Thank you for your thoughtful review!

I think fans are quite divided on their opinions of the Malfoy family, in that they sort of tend to adopt a 'love 'em or hate 'em' mentality. That said, I'm very pleased that you enjoyed the fic despite having reservations about the characters chosen. I have read some great Malfoy-centric fics on here and I do hope you give a few others a try! You never know :)

I've always personally felt that Narcissa was the most vulnerable of her sisters, being the youngest and also because I feel that it must have been difficult for her to lose Andromeda and sort of live in Bellatrix's shadow in order to remain in good graces with the rest of her family. Then she was dragged into this Death Eater mess by her husband and came very close to losing her son because of it. I really wanted to convey a sort of redemption for her in this fic; ironically, she has really lost the least out of the three Black sisters after this war. She and her family have a chance to live better lives, or at least keep living, whichever they choose, and she definitely feels relieved because of that.

I'm also a huge Sirius fan, though I do love the way HBC portrays Bella in the films :)

I've been trying very hard to work on my imagery, since it's one of my favorite parts of the fics I read, so I'm pleased that I pulled it off well for you. I'm also glad that my attempt to show many different types of love came through all right in the end.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing, and I anxiously await the results of the challenge!

academica


 Report Review

Review #17, by ladybellaWhat Would The Neighbours Think?: What Would The Neighbours Think?

18th February 2010:
Hey! Ladybella here to review your fic! :D

First of all, your title and summary are both perfect! And your banner is stunning. It's always nice when you see a well thought title and it fits perfectly with what we know of the Dursleys.

The beginning of the story itself was superb, the way you highlighted the monotony of Petunias life, and how normal it was before Harry came along.

The characterization of Petunia was perfect, especially as you showed that she is in actual fact human and not the cold heartless woman she sometimes portrays.

I really liked baby Harry! :D so what I would imagine him to be!

All in all a lovely read and very well written story you should be very proud of! :)

With love,
ladybella

Author's Response: Thanks very much! :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by ladybellaFighting Is Perfection: Fighting is What we Do

18th February 2010:
hey there! Ladybella here to (finally) review your story! :D

first of, I really enjoyed this! Im a huge fan of this ship and there fore im very picky and particular about all Ron/Hermione stories but I cant fault this at all! :)

I found your characterizations all very good and very canon, I particulary enjoyed Hermione feeling paranoid and nervous at the beggining and how Ron sat in silence for ages! Thats so how Ron would behave in that situation!

all in all a very nice read and thank you for taking part in my challenge! :D

with love,
ladybella

Author's Response: Thank you so so much! It means a lot to me that I was able to get your favorite pairing correct! Cannon is very important to me and I always strive to have my characters in character. OOC on purpose is one thing, but I don't like to write it.
:)BaletGir


 Report Review

Review #19, by ladybellaAlways At War With The Butterflies: Bathroom and Ballroom Blues

4th February 2010:
NO!

how could you!?

i was going to leave a lovely comment, raving about how much i loved the dialogue and seeing anna's soft side, but you dont deserve nice after that cliffhanger!

you are a mean person!

update soon!

with love,
ladybella

Author's Response: I'M SO SO SORRY! i really am! ahah, i am not a mean person - seriously - just thought we needed a little bit of drama. so, yeah, the update went in a couple days ago so it should be up ASAP! thank you so much for reveiwing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by ladybellaAlways At War With The Butterflies: Never Alone

4th February 2010:
this was fun!

more james! Yey! *attempts james' victory dance*

i love your dialogue! especially between anna and james! they are just too adorable together!

well done!

with love,
ladybella

Author's Response: ahaha, yeah, james is going to start appearing A LOT in the next couple chapters. it will be good fun. thank you so much! i love your reviews! aha.

 Report Review

Review #21, by ladybellaAlways At War With The Butterflies: Neverending White Lights

4th February 2010:
awww another sweet read!

we got to see more of anna's personality showing through on this chapter which was great!

"my mother and I yelled around the house about who was the one to get their lazy arse out of the door and grab a box of tampons from the corner store."- i thought that was hilarious!

think this may just have to be favourited. ;)

with love,
ladybella

Author's Response: awe, thank you so much! her personality is being developed gradually, ahah. awe, i would love it if this was favorited! and i know, i know - it's really sad that i took that line from my own life. and i live with one girl and three males! aha!

 Report Review

Review #22, by ladybellaAlways At War With The Butterflies: It'll Seem So Yesterday

4th February 2010:
oh and the plot thickens!

i loved how you got in some of annas background without just stating it, you slipped it in, and in a way that it was interesting and easy and enjoyable to read.

another great chapter!

with love,
ladybella

Author's Response: yes! that was so my goal. i was like .. gotta weave this in somewhere without being 'BAMN!' so yes! thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by ladybellaAlways At War With The Butterflies: Oh, Mamma Mia, Here We Go Again

4th February 2010:
aww this was beyond adorable!

i love how original this! its very different to any other james ll/oc i've read!

Your James isnt like the usual "james" we see, he is not a cocky play boy and he shows vulnerbility which is so nice to see!

the bit where james got embarassed in the kitchen was so cute!

all in all, refreshing, sweet, funny and im reading on :) great job!

with love,
ladybella

Author's Response: awe, thank you. yeah, i got a little bored of playboys. i mean, i've never really met one to be perfectly honest. not one without flaws, anyway, that you can visibly see so yeah, i thought he'd be a nice change! thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by ladybellaAlways At War With The Butterflies: Step Back Into Line

4th February 2010:
well well well what a great lil opening chapter!

first of i LOVE that you didnt begin at the start of the year at platform 9 and 3 quarters! that can get a little tiring.

you had everything a good first chapter should have and it was nicelt balanced with dramma, conflict and humor.

.your descriptions were great and Anna is a fantastic oc! she is sarcastic, funny, smart but still has flaws which gives her depth and makes her different and real.

all in all, very original, funny, enjoyable and im hooke. :)

with love,
ladybella

Author's Response: awe, wow, thank you! i couldn't asked for a nicer review! i thought about starting with platform nine and three quarters but i couldn't think of anything that can be done there that hasn't been so i was like .. i'll pass! ahaha. thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by ladybellaA Blank Canvas : No Antipasto

3rd February 2010:
another gripping chapter.

again i love your dialogue, and im warming very much to Remus in particular.

you have left on a great cliff hanger and i cant wait to see where this is going.

original, gripping, and inspiring.

good job.

with love,
ladybella

Author's Response: ladybella,

Thank you for your support. I'm glad that you like this side of Remus. As I understand it, he's quite a loner (and I still think he is with my additions of a family outside of Leo.) I go for the original because everything seems to have been ritten over and over ... I'm glad you enjoy the cliffhanger and the next chapter should be up soon. I hope you have an open mind *crosses fingers* I have a point. Remember the professor ...

-sleeping paige


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>