Reading Reviews From Member: LoopyLemon
  
95 Reviews Found

Review #26, by LoopyLemonForever Young: Forever Young

23rd September 2012:
Wow. Such a different take on Myrtle. This was really really good. She doesn't change because she can't change, not because she doesn't want to. I don't think I could ever see her in the same light again. As usual, this is really really well done. The short piece gave me chills up my spine. Wow. Good job :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad it's had some impact and makes people think twice about Myrtle and the reality of her situation. Thanks for reading and the review :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by LoopyLemonShadow Land: Father of Mine

3rd January 2012:
This was a nice a fitting ending. Again, thank you.

 Report Review

Review #28, by LoopyLemonShadow Land: Firmer Foundations

3rd January 2012:
I have to thank you for this. The conversation between Severus and Dumbledore is practically a fight I have with my parents constantly. I am leaving soon and it will be so much easier to ignore what they say but while I'm at home I am much like Draco in your story, struggling to live for the light while there is darkness all around. This story just gave me a booster I need for sometimes I forget to let God into my life. Thank you. I wish there were more stories like this. Not preaching but simply showing what more there could be. In fact I may just write one. It is true that the shadow proves the sunshine but the shadow is sometimes so deep and thick it can be hard to remember what sunshine looks like.

Oh and your story is really good also! I am a picky reader so making it to the 20th chapter is a really good thing. I like the relationship between Severus and Harry and the revelation about Draco is also really believable. I hope Harry forgives Severus. If I had anything that could help you improve your writing it would be to slow down sometimes and focus on showing the reader what is happening rather than telling them. It's a hard concept to grasp but a couple of extra descriptive words go a long way to making a story really interesting to read.

Keep writing. You are a really good writer.

 Report Review

Review #29, by LoopyLemonMorgana Wood: Call Me Emery

26th December 2011:
First off, I loved your drunk Emery. You portrayed the drunkeness really well and continually made me laugh. I also liked the contrast between drunk Emery and sober Emery though I have a feeling lots of those differences are brought on by Emery's own mindset rather than the alcohol.

The camp is portrayed really well. The infirmary in the tree gives the camp a slight magical feel and takes away the muggle aspects of summer camp. I like Emery's feelings on the fat purple lady. The musings are really well done.

Emery's entire monologue is wonderful. You keep up with her thoughts in a way that is believable yet doesn't lose the reader. I like her as a character and can't help but wonder at what happened to turn her into an alcoholic.

I like the inclusion of the mauraders. It is nice to see them in a place where their misguided behaviour is being addressed. Also I can fully see Lily being a student helper. She fits perfectly into the role of wanting to help everyone and anyone.

I can't wait to see where this story goes. You certainly have me hooked.

Author's Response: Thanks for another lovely review :)
I'm glad that you find it entertaining.


 Report Review

Review #30, by LoopyLemonSummer Solstice: Summer Solstice

25th December 2011:
This is beautifully written. The words flow perfectly. It is a story that begs to be read aloud so that each word can play its part. There are no words wasted on unneeded descriptions and feelings. Every piece has a place and every piece is in its place. This piece is beautifully written.

It is unusual to see a piece written from Helga's point of view. As far as I can tell, she is a slightly overlooked character. I love her though because she is the most compassionate of the three and that compassion is her stand out feature. Where the other three are known for their bravery, wit and cunning she is known for something that is often overlooked and dismissed. You use the soft exterior of Helga to tell a story of deep love and to reveal that there is more to Helga Hufflepuff than most people realise.

The form of this piece is amazing. Your paragraphs are constructed beautifully and I just love reading this piece. I like how Rowena realises the depth of Helga's feelings for her before the readers fully grasp it.

This piece opens so beautifully. It is soft and flowing and really shows your prowess as a writer. I'm impressed.

I love this piece and hope you continue to write so beautifully
.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this wonderful review :D
I'm so glad that you enjoyed it and it really means a lot to me. It encourages me :)


 Report Review

Review #31, by LoopyLemonThe Promise: ...I Believed

25th December 2011:
I'm speechless. That was so good. Song-fics are overdone and I find it frustrating when people use the lyrics of a song to tell a story but you did it so perfectly. You didn't rely on the song merely used the lyrics to capture Ginny's emotions and simplify them. The song helped the reader truly understand Ginny and added rather than detracted from the story.

I really liked the way you managed to give the reader all the background information they needed, such as how Harry died and what happened to Voldemort, without detracting to the story. You didn't give a long monologue of what happened but rather relayed the information coloured by Ginny's emotions and made it fit perfectly with the story you were attempting to tell.

Grief is very hard to portray. It is an emotion that I struggle to write as it is very hard to keep in character and still have the reader experience their pain. I am impressed with how well you have portrayed Ginny's grief. It is completely believable and it is not hard to understand why she is in so much pain. Her unbearable grief is so easy to empathise with and you had me almost in tears.

All the characters were completely in character. Ron's way of dealing with her grief is perfect as is Hermioneís and Mrs Weasley's. I liked the fact that you showed the effect of Ginny's grief on the rest of the family as it showed that she was not the centre of the world but rather a catalyst for her world falling apart. It was a nice way of keeping everything believable as she slowly lost herself to grief.

The ending. I love happy endings so much. Yours was so perfect. You twisted the song to fit her and made it your own. As far as I can tell the song didn't have a happy ending yet your story does and I find that wonderful. Having his child is a perfect way to complete a circle and close the story. I also liked the fact that Ginny wondered herself why she was so angry and the child settled any OOCness of Ginny as the reader realises that pregnant equals hormones which equals unpredictable behaviour.

The sentence where Harry says that he will always look down on Ginny even if he does die fits really nicely with the realisation in St Mungos that he was laughing with her from above.

I simply loved this story, it's now one of my favourites :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!! Grief is really hard to write without making it sound overly done. I was a bit worried about this one since I wrote it a while ago with some edits along the way. I'm glad that you like it and that it's one of your favorites :). Again, thanks for the lovely review. It made my day

 Report Review

Review #32, by LoopyLemonKismet: Childhood Memories

8th December 2011:
Wow. This is amazing. I love it already. I can see the threads of a interesting plot starting to intertwine and I can't wait to read more. I really like the contrast between the broken down house that is drained of colour and when it is restored but Pierre isn't. The changes of scenery are well done and don't stutter or break the flow of the story at all. When I first realised it was from Pansy's point of view I was skeptical but as I started reading everything fell into place and I think I might finally be reading a fic where I like Pansy.

 Report Review

Review #33, by LoopyLemonDragons Awakening: Democracy

29th November 2011:
How did wetas end up in this story? How did Teddy even know what a weta is? I loved it! The entire world should know just how amazing New Zealand is! I love how many other stories have American references and you manage to get so many New Zealand references in your stories (I'm kidding. American references make me cringe. Your New Zealand references are awesome though). Oh and since I'm writing a review anyway I should probably mention how much I love this story and can't wait to see what happens :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by LoopyLemonDragons Awakening: Authority

29th November 2011:
*like*

(this tablet is annoying to type on but I couldn't resist) :D

 Report Review

Review #35, by LoopyLemonPortrait: Portrait

29th November 2011:
YAY!! I always wanted Lily and Snape go make up! I want to know more about Lily Luna. I can imagine her being able to paint. Anyone named after Luna Lovegood would have to have some sort of artistic side. Severus and Lily were completely in character. This is really well done. I loved it :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by LoopyLemonHermione Granger and the Implausible Romance(s): Hermione Granger and the Implausible Romance(s)

29th November 2011:
Hahahaha it was a cross between the cliched stories and a novel study! I loved the notes about symbolism! It was crack up!! Good job :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by LoopyLemonRed Hair and a Beater's Bat: Resolution

29th November 2011:
I loved this story!! The characters were really well done. I loved Athena. She was so aware of herself. The relationship with Fred was really well done. I loved the in involvement of Umbridge and how this wasn't a purely romantic fix. You are an amazing writer and come up with the most amazing characters and ideas. This story was as good as usual with all JKR's characters in character and all your characters were three dimensional and believable. Beautiful!!

 Report Review

Review #38, by LoopyLemonCheesy Nachos, Clingy Cat Suits, and Viktor Krum: The Handoff

24th November 2011:
Gah I really should check stories before I start reading them!
This is really good. All your characters are three dimensional and believable. You have built the plot up wonderfully and you can't possibly leave it there. I want to know what happens!! I hope you haven't abandoned this story. I would love to see it continued.

 Report Review

Review #39, by LoopyLemonBigger on the Inside: Silence in the Library

25th October 2011:
Gah! It's amazing. I love your portrayal of the characters and the very Doctor Whoish way of how this story opens. You set it up to be a very realistic and believeable cross over. It is most definatly set at Hogwarts with the tell tale signs of High school life but you managed to introduce the invisible monster in such a way that leaves a perfect opening for the Doctor to come and help. Loved your insight into the going ons of Ravenclaw and the way you introduced your characters. You are an amazing writer. I love your summary as well. It just makes me want to read more. You now have two stories that have me totally hooked. I'm not sure if I should read any more of your stuff... :P Oh and I can help Steph with betaing if you want. I quite enjoy betaing :D
Really good job on this. Can't wait to read more and to meet the Doctor. It will be awesome to see everyones reactions to whats going to happen.

Author's Response: Yay! Yayayayayay! You found it! (I got your text, by the way, but I don't have credit atm) Anyway.
This makes me so happy. It's Doctor Whoish! *dances with glee* I was worried about doing a crossover, they get a pretty bad rap in the world of fanfic, but I'm glad you think it's realistic and believable. And the perfect opening for the Doctor to come and help? I guess it is! :D I admit, I'm pleased with the way these characters have turned out, even now, and the pure Ravenclaw-ness of them :P
You should so read more of my stuff. *nods* The more you read, the less time there'll be between updates, because I always have a chapter for something in the queue :P Betaing sounds good! We could get a group going :P
Thanks! The Doctor comes along in the next chapter, which is ALREADY IN THE QUEUE BECAUSE I LOVE THIS STORY. This review has completely made my day, thank you! :D


 Report Review

Review #40, by LoopyLemonSouthern Cross: Orientation

16th October 2011:
Love. Need I say more? Really really loved. Really really really loved. You know what? I'm not going to do that here :P I loved the fact that you see Adalaide shy here. It makes her character believable and makes you really sympathise with her. I love your one liners. You have some really good ones that just make me laugh. Adalaide's internal dialouge is beautiful and really well done. I'm loving the continual slights on the Aussies. We are going to win tonight. We have to.
I want to start quoting my favourite lines but then I would have to quote the whole chapter and I don't think you are allowed to do that in reviews...
Can't wait for the next chapter!!

Author's Response: DON'T YOU DARE DO THE REALLY THING.
Thanks! I was really aiming for a non-cliched, believable and realistic awkward-confession moment here, and it makes me happeh that I pulled it off :)
WE ARE GOING TO WIN. WE MUST. GO ALL BLACKS.
Thankies for the review :P


 Report Review

Review #41, by LoopyLemonAn Isolated Insanity Ward: Most Call it Azkaban

11th October 2011:
Oh no!! Poor Stan. I wonder if he survived the war? This fic is also rather sad. Its really well written though. I like the moss. Its really quite clever. And that big room which ends up with no furniture in. This fic was really well written!! I really liked it :D

Author's Response: It's assumed that he did though not actually stated anywhere (just so you know). The moss is one of my favorite things about this story so I'm glad that someone else likes it to! Emma you are wonderfully sweet. Thank you so much for the review and the kind words about my writing. :D love ya!

 Report Review

Review #42, by LoopyLemonKissed by Butterflies: Devastating Reality

11th October 2011:
Oh my gosh this made me so sad!! This was so wonderfully written!!! I loved DeAnna and I just want her mummy to be alive again!! I loved the butterflies and how you used them to show the change in DeAnna. Poor girl. I loved the father as well. He was so sincere and well meaning and was so good to his daughter. This was really really good!! Keep writing!! I want to see what happens to this pair and the butterflies!!!
I love this so much!!
Emma

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! The next chapter is in the queue and will be out soon so keep an eye open for it! Thank you for the lovely review. :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by LoopyLemonHis Game: His Game

7th October 2011:
Wow this is really good! I liked the way you built it up. You started by introducing the characters and their difference from the rest of the House. You kept up the theme of kings and pawns and made the interest between the two characters seem completely real. I love how in character Bellatrix is and the character you have given Lestrange. This is a really good piece of writing that is developed really nicely and gives wonderful insight into the forming of that relationship and the personalities of characters that end up so devoted to Voldemort.

Author's Response: I really like the two of them so I'm glad you like their characterisation - it was so much fun to write. It worried me a little when I first wrote it, being my first one-shot, but I think it turned out okay.

Thanks for the lovely review!
Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #44, by LoopyLemonThe Letter That Never Came: The Letter That Never Came

5th October 2011:
Wow. That was really good! I love the change in mood of the story. How the story started with the bright hopefulness of childhood and ended darker, as if she has lost some innocence. That was really sad and really really well done. It had a lot of impact for such a short piece. You really made me smile with the anticipation at the start and I was hurting for her by the end.
Well done

Author's Response: Ah thank you so much, and thank you for reviewing this one!

 Report Review

Review #45, by LoopyLemonThe Morning Waffle: Prologue: Another Show, Another Sickle

5th October 2011:
This is brilliant!
I loved the intro. You captured me totally right from the beginning and had me laughing with that line "I couldn't take care of anything more complicated than a cat"
The fast paced style of writing fits a radio show perfectly and I love the fact that Molly hasn't lost any of her motherly attributes.
Fred seems exactly as I would imagine him. He has the sense of humour of his dad and uncle and you pull the dialouge off beautifully.
I loved the touch of the clock, showing the fun in the office and a bit of the relationships through something that is funny in itself.
All in all a beautiful piece of writing that had me laughing the whole way through. Can't wait to read the rest!!

 Report Review

Review #46, by LoopyLemonSouthern Cross: Hoggy Hoggy Hogwarts

3rd October 2011:
Brilliant! I love adelaide. She has an amazing sense of humor. I love how you have summed up hogwarts! Can't wait for classes to begin!

Author's Response: I love Adelaide too, she's fab. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #47, by LoopyLemonSouthern Cross: Welcome to Britain

3rd October 2011:
Percy is minister for magic!! Awesome! Ah I'm excited to see how Adelaide handles the rest of this!! *runs to continue reading*

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #48, by LoopyLemonSouthern Cross: The Formal

3rd October 2011:
Awesome! I love how rose goes with martin. Another great chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #49, by LoopyLemonSouthern Cross: D-Day

3rd October 2011:
Awesome. I love how you handled the Voldemort topic. It's exactly how I could see them reacting to it. Adelaide and Henry are going together. Stoaked!! Haha I can't wait for Adelaide to meet the Weasleys!

Author's Response: Glad you thought it was realistic, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #50, by LoopyLemonSouthern Cross: The Grass Is Always Greener

3rd October 2011:
Can I go to this school? Please. Your teachers are made of win. Beats hogwarts any day. This chapter had me doing my weird suppressed laugh again. There were so many funny bits! I love georgia. She reminds me of a friend of mine. And she is going nerd. That's what excellences do to you *beams over all the excellences she has gained this year*

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! I love Southern Cross as well, wish I could have gone there :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>