Reading Reviews From Member: GuardedHeart
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GuardedHeartKill Your Darlings: Proposal

28th February 2014:
Oh my goodness. I haven't been on here in ages, and I remembered reviewing the first or second chapter of this story...I was SO THRILLED to see how many updates there were!

You have converted me from fascination with Tedromeda to full-on shipping. I love the way you characterize both Andromeda and Ted, and it has been interesting to read about how Andromeda is slowly shedding her long-held beliefs and biases in exchange for something better and more real. To me, this feels more like the way the story would have played out - it's hard to think that Andromeda could have grown up as a Black without much of that disdain for Muggles and Muggleborns being instilled in her as a child. And as for Ted, he is perfect (but not too perfect, which is wonderful). I love the way you present his difficulties with being a Metamorphmagus - it's incredibly interesting that something that ends up being such a talent an defining feature of his daughter is such a burden for him, and I'm kind of dying to know why it affects him so differently.

I also think you're spot on in your characterization of Narcissa - she's got a good enough heart to realize that Andromeda's breakup with Rabastan was completely warranted, but she isn't quite brave enough to stand up to her family and defy their wishes. It will be very interesting to see how the dynamic between Andromeda and Narcissa changes as Andromeda gets closer to Ted and Narcissa becomes everything her parents ever wanted her to be.

Anywho, that's the end of my rambling review. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this story and can't wait to see more updates soon! :)

~GH

Author's Response: Why, hello there! This review put me in such a happy state. :] I'm so glad to hear that you're enjoying it--but especially that you have officially joined TEAM TEDROMEDA. Whooo! JKR drew some fantastic preliminary lines for their story, and I've had so much fun coloring them in.

I agree, I think it would be almost impossible for Andromeda to grow up surrounded by her pureblood family, friends, and ideals without growing up a bigot. I know there are some interpretations of her as a kind-hearted anomaly in the Black family, but I've always imagined her as very capable of the cruelty and narrow-mindedness exhibited by her sisters. And I've loved writing her that way, because kind-hearted anomalies aren't nearly as fun. :]

Never fear, there are more of Ted's Metamorphmagus shenanigans and reveals to come! And yes, I'm both dreading and looking forward to writing Andromeda and Narcissa's progression and eventual split. They're cozy to write now, but soon... D:

Thanks so much for reviewing! I hope to have a new chapter on its way soon!


 Report Review

Review #2, by GuardedHeartKill Your Darlings: Dark Arts & Doubts

9th January 2014:
Two chapters in and I am already loving this! Ted and Andromeda are one of the couples that I've always found very fascinating, and I'm excited to see how you develop their story :)

I really enjoy your characterization of Andromeda. It will be really interesting to see how she ends up conflicting with her family, especially since she seems to be so close to her father and Narcissa. Can't wait to continue reading!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I've always found Ted/Andromeda equally fascinating, and it's been so much fun to craft out their story. They're certainly the definition of a slow burn in my books. And yes, the family drama in store... Dromeda has a tough road ahead. D: So glad you're enjoying the read!

 Report Review

Review #3, by GuardedHeartLexis Logos Lord: Bunbley

29th August 2013:
This is such a cool, creepy, and well-written story! Very original and interesting...I can't wait to find out where it's going :) I hope you get more reviews on it soon, you deserve it!

Author's Response: Hi GH,

Glad you like it so far, and thanks for the vote of confidence. Unfortunately, I don't expect Ginny to get the same love as some of the more popular characters. Nevertheless, I enjoyed writing it.


 Report Review

Review #4, by GuardedHeartBeing Mrs. Weasley: Chapter 1

8th March 2012:
I think this story has some really good potential. Interesting plot line and I like the characters. I'm interested to see more and see some of Fred and Amy's backstory! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by GuardedHeartRun: In Plain Sight

5th March 2012:
I still love this! It was nice to see Lily and James, and to see Lily's reaction when she found out why Severus had done so much for Harry. And Lily's won thirteen times...she must have been really motivated to see Harry :)

I really enjoy this story. Thank you for writing!

Author's Response: Lily's won thirteen times, and that means she's defeated thirteen people and subsequently had them killed. So yes, she is definitely motivated! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #6, by GuardedHeartRun: Like Dreaming

28th February 2012:
I really like this story! Such an interesting plot line and concept. I don't know who to root for...I don't want any of these characters to cease to exist! I'm excited to keep reading :)

Author's Response: It's going to be difficult to kill off a character who's already had to die once, that's for sure. I'm so glad that you liked it! I will update within a week or so. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by GuardedHeartBoy Meets Girl: The Invitation

24th February 2012:
I love this! It's such an interesting idea and so cute! :) I hope you keep on with this!

Author's Response: I definately will. The next chapter will be a buildup of their friendship of their friendship and the hogwarts acceptance letter will come soon :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by GuardedHeartJust say Yes.: Just say Yes.

14th February 2012:
I was so glad you reviewed me, I thought I'd come over and check out some things of yours! I really liked this little one-shot. Lily and James are my all-time favorites, and I really liked this portrayal of them. I loved how passionate James was about Lily, and how nervous he was about what she was going to say to him. He thinks she hates him...and she loves him. Love it.

Great job, congratulations!

Author's Response: Aww :) Thanks! This was one of my favourite challenges to do, as it just SCREAMED James/Lily, and they are one of my favourite pairings :) Yeah, I wasn't sure whether they'd be friends or not in their seventh year, but I sorta went with the stereotype, but not so much that they're best mates. I love my little one shot :) [I hope that doesn't sound stuck-up..! S:]

Thanks again!

Emily x x


 Report Review

Review #9, by GuardedHeartDraco in Leather Pants: Fandom: Sometimes it's Scary.

8th February 2012:
"Does anyone here like Ron?" - This. This was awesome.

This had me in stitches laughing. Not to knock shippers at all (I ship a few occasionally unpopular and noncanon pairings), but I've never understood Dramione myself (or even where it came from). Some Dramione fics are admittedly very well written, but a lot of them are like this, except without sarcastic asides.

So hilarious. I really enjoyed this.

Author's Response: Ah, I'm glad you thought so. That's normally the thought that always comes to mind when I'm looking for a good Ron/Hermione. I'm sure there are some good Dramiones, but most of them are pure junk.

I'm glad you liked this!


 Report Review

Review #10, by GuardedHeartEverland: The Insanity of Frank and Alice Longbottom.

8th February 2012:
Ugh. This story, I love it. It's so pretty and heartbreaking and wonderful. I just found it today and read all the way through it and loved it, and I'm so glad Lily's feeling better now. Don't worry if updates take a while - quality matters!

Seriously. Beautifully written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Honestly, I've been in such a rut with this story and you've really cheared me up about it. Thank you so much! :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #11, by GuardedHeartStar-Crossed: Six Nights

30th January 2012:
Yay! As expected, I still like this. It's so cute! It's fun to see a different side of Fred and a little bit more of a lighthearted Hermione. Be careful you don't turn me into a Fremione shipper! Hahaha thanks for another good read :)

Author's Response: Haha I'm glad you liked it! Thank you for all these great reviews, the next chapter is almost complete!

 Report Review

Review #12, by GuardedHeartA Rose In November: November Rose

28th January 2012:
This is so sweet! Thanks so much for a great read :)

Author's Response: Why, thankyou very much for a great response! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by GuardedHeartStar-Crossed: Essence of Murtlap

11th January 2012:
I really liked this! Fred/Hermione is never something I've thought about a lot, but looking at it I definitely think it could have worked in the books...if Fred hadn't had such a tragic ending D: They do seem like they would complement each other well - kudos to you for taking this little scrapped idea of JKR's and running with it!

Looking forward to more of this story! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by GuardedHeartNever There: Scenes at a Graveyard

14th December 2011:
Oh my goodness. I've been reading/creeping on your Unsinkable universe for ages and I positively love it. I probably ought to have left more reviews...

But this was heartbreaking and hopeful and beautiful and perfect. I love Reid/Cecilia in your stories and it always made me so sad the way they ended, but I suppose not everyone can get the happy ending at eighteen. I'm glad Reid found somebody who makes him happy at last, though; he deserves it.

And now this review is rambling and probably doesn't make any sense but whatever. I love these stories (you just make me care so freaking much about your OC's! hahaha). Thank you for your amazing work. :D

Author's Response: Well I do love reviews ;) but I understand. I'm not the most dedicated reviewer myself these days, even of stories I really love.

It makes sense! Possibly because I'm a rambler as well, but hey it's all good. I'm really glad you enjoyed the story, and the bit of redemption for Reid. He wasted way too much time trying to re-create his relationship with Cecilia with all the wrong women, poor guy. Good thing he finally found Oriana. Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by GuardedHeartTill Peaceful, the World Lays us Down: IV

29th November 2011:
This story is so completely gorgeous and haunting and sad. Beautifully written. And I love the uniqueness of the plot! I hope more people read and review this story for you, it's really worth it. Thank you so much!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. You just made my day! I'm really glad you enjoyed my story.

 Report Review

Review #16, by GuardedHeartMiss Weasley: Mrs. Potter

11th August 2011:
Precious. This is so sweet and I am in love with it. Makes me want to hug my daddy :)

Author's Response: Thankyou for such a lovely review :) Leanne x

 Report Review

Review #17, by GuardedHeartI Believed, and Still Do : So It Begins

4th August 2011:
I really like this story idea! I feel the same way Camile does sometimes when I reread earlier books...if I see a character whose fate ends up being unfortunate, I get a little sad for them. I think this twist on an already familiar plot could go really fun places. Can't wait to read more! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate your positive feedback, and I hope you stick with this!

I've rewritten this story since I was around 14, so hopefully this one will stick.


 Report Review

Review #18, by GuardedHeartDefying Gravity: 27..Love & Loss

14th September 2009:
So I'm new-ish to HPFF and I stumbled across this story by accident the other day when I was looking through the alphabetical list. I started reading it and absolutely fell in love with it - honestly, I sat and read the whole thing through. When I saw that you updated, I was thrilled! This is an amazing story and I'm VERY excited to see how everything unfolds!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login