Reading Reviews From Member: Serious_Black
  
77 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Serious_BlackLost: Prologue: My Story

27th December 2010:
RainbowVeins,

I have been such a horrible Secret Santa (mostly because my school didn't let out until the day before Xmas Eve), I decided to give myself an extension until New Years.

I love the beginning of your story, and I will definitely keep reading it as you publish more chapters. Ending it with "This is my story," intrigued me. I want to know more about the relationship between the narrator and the girl described in this chapter.

I really like your writing style. It is fluid and your ideas are very clear. The chapter is clear of glaring grammatical or punctuation errors making it very accessible and easy to understand.

I can't wait to read more of your writing.

Your Secret Santa/New Years Bunny,
Serious_Black

 Report Review

Review #2, by Serious_BlackInvisible: Yeah right, forever

15th November 2010:
Kat,

I really like Liz. She seems cute and quirky and very relatable. I would like to see you explore the reasons why her being with Tyler is Remus' fault, as it wasn't entirely clear in this chapter. Your prose is lovely, and this was an all around great beginning. I can't wait to read more.

- Serious_Black

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I will explain more and more in the coming chapters. (basically she used tyler to get remus' attention, but it didnt work) Im really glad that you think that she is relatable. Thanks again!!
~Kat


 Report Review

Review #3, by Serious_BlackGryffindor Moments: The Letter

13th November 2010:
This was practically begging for a review, so I figured I'd go ahead. First of all, this is amazing! You did a wonderful job of capturing the struggle James is having with wanting to win Lily's heart while still remaining one of the guys. Perfect! This was an awesome contribution!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Serious_BlackCloser to Heaven Above: 7: The Hardware Store

25th August 2010:
RupertsPheonix,

I thought I'd leave you a review, seeing as I've been shamelessly enjoying your story for a while and have neglected to tell you this. I love your portrayal of Percy and your characterization of Audrey is wonderful. She is so sweet and likable, the kind of girl you hope marries into the Weasley family. I can't wait for your next chapter, keep up the good work.

-Serious_Black

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :) This review really brought a smile to my face!

I'm glad that you like both Percy and Audrey. I really enjoy writing them, and I'm glad that I'm making them intriguing and realistic for you as well.

Thanks so much! I'd love to hear your opinion on the next chapter, so please check back when I post!

--Kate/RP :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Serious_BlackJust Average.: I Thought Aussies Were Supposed to be Good at Drinking?

17th August 2010:
This is awesome. I can't wait for the next chapter

 Report Review

Review #6, by Serious_BlackHer Mother's Daughter: Crazy Emotion

24th March 2010:
LizLemon,

Oh my god yes! Hermione's awake!

You did a wonderful job building up to this chapter, and the installment did not disappoint. Hermione's confusion and joy at discovering her daughter at her bedside is very true to the relationship you've established between the two. It will be interesting to see how/if their relationship will change now that Hermione is no longer at death's door. I can't wait!

I'm also curious about what is going on with Kenny... Please update soon?

All in all, lovely chapter.
-Serious_Black

Author's Response: Thanks a ton for the review!! I'm glad you think the relationship between Rose and Hermione is consistant. It's easier to tell only one side of the story, now I've got both. I'll update as soon as I can. Thanks again!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Serious_BlackDursleys, Meet The Wizarding World: t Paris

24th March 2010:
Ghoul in Pajamas,

I like how you're introducing Dudley to the wizarding world. It's good that he is learning to distance himself from his parent's points of view. I can't wait until the next installment of the story. Hopefully it will be soon!

-Serious_Black

 Report Review

Review #8, by Serious_BlackMoonlight: Valentine Birthday

22nd March 2010:
adoranymph,

I love reading your story. You do a spectacular job of providing Remus' backstory while meshing nicely with JKR's books. I can't wait for the next installment.

-Serious_Black

Author's Response: thank you! :) next installment coming soon.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Serious_BlackHarry Potter and the Winters After the War: Boxing Day and the Start of a New Year

18th March 2010:
Mrs_Granger,

I'm so glad Harry finally seems to be pulling his life together. Ginny is finally mature enough to make a commitment and Harry is finally willing to devote the necessary time and effort into their relationship.

As for Harry's promotion... You alluded heavily to it in previous chapters but I was pleasantly surprised by the committee Kingsley established. I had been concerned with how realistic it would be to give a 19-year-old (I think thats his age at this point) public control of the department. The committee will both facilitate Harry's skills as a leader and as an auror while not bogging him down with bureaucracy too early in his career. It is my view that Harry is probably not mature enough to control the department as he is still very impulsive and a tad reclusive when it comes to fighting death eaters (i.e. he tends to care too much about everyone else and therefore leave them out of decisions). This new structure should facilitate both Harry's personal growth and his development as a leader.

As always, I can't wait to read your next chapter!
-Serious_Black

Author's Response: Serious Black,

Thanks for your review. It is nice to see some of the problems being resolved.

As for Harry's promotion ... I am hoping the Cabinet situation will help Harry mature. He is still really young, even though he has quite alot of experience already when it comes to DADA and Death Eaters. I was hoping here to allude to Kingsley's wisdom in the matter. Harry has the new thinking to get things done, but experience is important. He knows that and has made sure that two out of three cabinet members are experienced Aurors who can out vote Harry so he doesn't go off half cocked.

I'm glad you liked the idea too.

Mrs_Granger


 Report Review

Review #10, by Serious_BlackLosing Harry: Twenty-Four

14th March 2010:
taylorj828,

It's strange... I've always abhorred Harry/Draco slash because I have always doubted that the two could ever get over absolutely hating eachother and being life-long enemies. Somehow, your story has made the ship believable; I quite enjoyed it.

It still bothers me that Harry has so isolated himself from his family. While he knows that they have not heard from him in half a year, he has no idea that his son has left Hogwarts. I hope he makes an effort to contact his loved ones soon.

Great chapter, I can't wait to read more of your story.
-Serious_Black

Author's Response: Hi there, Serious Black! You've left me quite an interesting review, especially since it started out with your abhorrence of Harry/Draco! Hee! But it helps me really appreciate the fact that you feel the pairing is believable in this story. That's saying quite a lot, and I really do appreciate it. It is always my goal to write a story, characters, and pairings which are realistic and believable. So thanks for those comments!

As for Harry, I agree, it bothers me as well, even though I know what's going on with him. Still, I don't like seeing his struggle and his isolation. And as you said - he's not even aware that his son left Hogwarts! Anyway, we should find out more next time, I suppose, to see where these characters take us next. (o: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I hope you'll like the upcoming chapters!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Serious_BlackMoonlight: Final Exams

11th March 2010:
adoranymph,

I loved this chapter, it moved the story along nicely. One thing though, Ted addresses his Uncle "Remus" in this chapter. I'm pretty sure you meant to write "Ramarius" because Remus Lupin is Ted's father.

Keep writing, I can't wait to read what happens next!
-Serious_Black

Author's Response: ah yes, thank you for point that out! that mistake is being rectified as we speak. :)
and thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Serious_BlackDudley at the Wedding: Part One: The Owl

10th March 2010:
Lily_Roselyn,

I really enjoyed this first chapter, this has potential to be a really interesting fic. I can't wait to read more.

-Serious_Black

Author's Response: Thanks!
Chapters 2 & 3 just need touching up, and it's a short que so it shouldn't be long now.
Totally apreciate the review!
Cheers
Rosie


 Report Review

Review #13, by Serious_BlackSaved by Luna: New Year and New Beginnings

10th March 2010:
ScorpiousRoseLover,

I absolutely love this twist you've put on your story. I hope Luna stays with Rolf. But I guess I'll have to wait until the next update to find out - hope it's up soon!

-Serious_Black

Author's Response: Glad you like it! Don't worry, the next chapter will be up shortly! Can't wait to hear see response to it :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Serious_BlackCronus Rising: Number 12 Grimmauld Place

10th March 2010:
Hey, I just wanted to leave a review saying how much I've enjoyed your story so far and how much I wish you would finish it. You really are a talented writer and this is a wonderfully compelling story-line. I'd hate to see it go unfinished. So... yeah...

I love your story and hope you update soon!
-Serious_Black

 Report Review

Review #15, by Serious_Blackblood.: Once Upon the Low Road

4th March 2010:
FannyPrice,

Oh my god... this is awesome! I can't wait to read the next chapter! There are pros to waiting this long to start reading a story - less waiting! Keep writing, I can't wait to find out how this one ends.

-Serious_Black

Author's Response: Serious_Black,

I'm glad to see you're still enjoying this story, and yep, while everyone else had to wait on the edge of their seats, you can just keep right on going! I'll definitely keep writing! Thanks for reading and reviewing, it means a lot to me!

--FannyPrice


 Report Review

Review #16, by Serious_Blackblood.: Missing the Exit to the High Road

4th March 2010:
FannyPrice,

Oh my god that was a good ending to the chapter!

-Serious_Black

Author's Response: Serious_Black,

I'm ever so glad you enjoyed my cliff hanger!! There will be plenty more to come!

--FannyPrice


 Report Review

Review #17, by Serious_Blackblood.: History and Mystery

4th March 2010:
FannyPrice,

I love how you keep building suspense then having it turn out to be something harmless. Like how the shriek was Chrys and a mouse, and the tug on Lucy's ankle is probably James having joined her in the water. I can't wait to read more!

-Serious_Black

Author's Response: Serious_Black

hahaha, yeah. I'm playing with my readers by building false suspense, but is it all really harmless? You shall see, you shall see.

-FannyPrice


 Report Review

Review #18, by Serious_Blackblood.: They're Finally Getting Married

4th March 2010:
FannyPrice,

I quite enjoyed your "character parade." You managed to capture the hectic nature of having such a big family at a get-together such as this. Somehow, I feel like the fact that they're alone on this island is going to prove to be disastrous for one reason or another. I can't wait to find out

Author's Response: Serious_Black,

Thank you, and I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter as well. It was hectic, and I really didn't like to introduce the characters this way, but i feel like its best for the genre. And, as you will see, when you read on, it will prove disastrous, I'm afraid. Thanks again!

--FannyPrice


 Report Review

Review #19, by Serious_Blackblood.: Prologue: Forever Lost

3rd March 2010:
FannyPrice,

Wow... This is really dark... I kind of love it! I can't wait to read the rest of the story!

As a side note, I'm sorry I actually never got around to starting this story until now. I fell ski racing and had to have surgery in February and basically spent the month in and out of physical therapy. But, I'm walking again and have some free time once more to devote to frivolous activities such as HPFF.

I'm going to go read your next chapter now. Can't wait!
-Serious_Black

Author's Response: Serious_Black,

How lovely to hear from you! I'm sorry to hear about your surgery; that sounds painful. And there is certainly no need to apologize about not reviewing. Any review is grand! I'm glad you like the story so far! Thanks so much for the review!

--FannyPrice


 Report Review

Review #20, by Serious_BlackHarry Potter and the Winters After the War: Solutions for the Holidays

3rd March 2010:
Mrs_Granger,

As always I loved your new chapter. It's great that Harry and Ginny are getting along and sharing with each other now.

I did have one question though. I was wondering about the role of the media in this story. In JKR's books, Harry was constantly in the papers for being the Chosen One or the Boy Who Lived. Wouldn't it be natural that they would continue to hound him after having won the war, joining the auror department, etc.? And wouldn't Ginny have to deal with the press to some extent as well? Usually sports professionals have to do interviews and as she is the fiancee of one of the most famous wizards in the UK, it is also very probably they would want to talk to her about that.

That little quandary aside, thank you so much for the update. I eagerly await your next chapter!

-Serious_Black

Author's Response: Serious_Black,

Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

You are right about the media and all the publicity Harry usually endures. I have left that out of the story. Maybe I shouldn't have and I always assumed that was part of the background landscape for Harry's life, but I felt I had enough story threads to be dealing with. If you look closely enough, there are a couple other elements that should probably be in the background too. Sorry for leaving them out, but I didn't think they added much to the central plot.

Until next time ...

Mrs_Granger


 Report Review

Review #21, by Serious_BlackHarry Potter and the Winters After the War: A Muggle and Wizarding Legend

20th February 2010:
Mrs_Granger,

I love how you've brought together all of the elements of the case with this mysterious legend. While they are closer to solving the case, each development seems to create more mysteries. I can't wait to see how you resolve this case.

I also especially enjoyed the entrance of Esme Fletchley to your story. I had been wondering about a significant other for Dudley and her occupation will probably prove to be useful for Harry as he continues on the case. Since she is one of the descendants of Mac Lir, she should be able to bypass any protective magic on the burial ground. Magic which is probably the cause of the various disappearances that have been occurring on the excavation site.

Thank you for the wonderful update. As always, it was a pleasure to read and I can't wait until your next chapter is posted.

-Serious_Black

Author's Response: Serious Black,

Thanks for your review. You are absolutely right, that for every question they answer, more seem to appear to take their place. Things are starting to fall into place though. If you think back to nearly a year ago, their only clue was that muggles were disappearing. They know alot more now than they did then, so they are definately getting closer.

As for Esme Fletchley, I'm glad you enjoyed her for the brief time you saw her. Gradually we'll see a bit more of her several chapters from now.

So until next time, thanks again for your comments.

Mrs_Granger


 Report Review

Review #22, by Serious_BlackSaved by Luna: Quidditch and Christmas

27th January 2010:
ScorpiousRoseLover,

Yay! Luna and Rolf are finally together! I can't wait to see how you develop their, now romantic, relationship! Please update soon?

-Serious_Black

Author's Response: I know, I'm so happy too! :D And I'll update as soon as I can! :D

 Report Review

Review #23, by Serious_BlackMoonlight: Gloves

27th January 2010:
adoranymph,

OH MY GOSH YOU UPDATED! This chapter legit made my day!

I love how your transitioning from Remus' post-mortem relationship with Lily to his relationship with Tonks. And I can't remember if I've already reviewed your story or not, but I also adore the way you have spliced Teddy and Remus stories allowing the reader to watch both of them grow up and discover who they are. Really, really fantastic job!

Hopefully you'll update soon. I quite enjoy reading this story.
-Serious_Black

Author's Response: thank you! i'm glad you like the splicing. :)
i'll try to update soon. i'm studying abroad in england at the moment so it may take a little longer than usual.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Serious_BlackHer Mother's Daughter: Dear Rose...

27th January 2010:
LizLemon,

Once again, a marvelous chapter. I loved Lily and Rose's confrontation. You left us on a nice note; perhaps Rose will grow up a little and get over her feud with her mother. While mother-daughter relationships are rarely perfect, Rose seems to be being a tad childish at this point. Her mother was her age when the charm was cast! Hopefully, after reading Hermione's unfinished/unsent letters Rose will come to understand her mother's love and find new drive to investigate the mystery of her past.

Thanks for updating!
-Serious_Black

Author's Response: Thanks for another super review. I know Rose can be a little frustrating with her attitude toward Hermione, but it is all for a reason. Hopefully, Lily's attitude towards it shines some light on Rose's stubbornness.

Thanks again :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Serious_BlackA Little Past Logical, A Lot About Love: Enter Harry James Potter

25th January 2010:
FannyPrice,

Awww! Don't worry, their transformation is incredibly realistic. It is especially evident in the ways you hint to the fact that they are, at least in part, still very childish by the end of the story. For example, while James rushes to tell his friend to mind Harry's head, he has to resist doing a jig in front of all of his friends and family.

I'm so sad this story is over! I had grown accustomed to its installments. Well, I guess I'll just have to check out your other stories. Next week, of course, when I have some more time.

Again, lovely job!
-Serious_Black

Author's Response:
Serious_Black,

It's good to hear from you! I'm really glad that you found my character development realistic. And, I'm super happy that you liked the part about the jig. One of the saddest things about James and Lily is just how young they are, so I thinks its important that their youth is apparent.

I'm sad its over, too. But, I look forward to hearing from you in the future!

-FannyPrice


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>