Reading Reviews From Member: Leigh Kelley
  
257 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Leigh KelleyGenesis: Gormless

20th November 2012:
Hallo (:.

Interesting start. I have a fondness for Albus/OC stories (oh, who am I kidding? I have a fondness for everything next gen), especially when the original characters are intriguing. I don't know much about Gen yet, but any girl who can ask a guy for er, IoFH (as Al puts it), is pretty brave. (Sure she doesn't belong in Gryffindor? =P) I don't even want to talk to my fiance about it, wimp that I am.

But yes. Al seriously is a terrific friend. Though, I suppose she wouldn't have left him alone and he'd have had to get what she needed irregardless. You'd want to think that this is a regular occurrence, or that it has happened before, because he wasn't grossed out, like most teenage boys would be. Either that, or he's just really chill. Not many guys like him, or none that I know of.

Anyway. Good, funny start. There's a little error in the paragraph where Al wakes up though, or maybe I'm just misreading. It says, 'The Second-born son of the Chosen One and the Hottest Female Chaser'. The second bit is still referring to Al, right? In which case, it should be 'Hottest Male Chaser'? Maybe I'm not reading right though =P.

Update soon!

Leigh

Author's Response: Hi :)!

Thank you! And, hmm, don't we all? Miss Rowling was unknowingly creating a group of crazy fangirls when she introduced the next gen. Gen is pretty brave, yes, but that mostly comes from the fact that she has three elder brothers, and has picked many tomboyish attributes. She may display Gryffie-like qualities, but she most definitely isn't. And don't worry, love. You're not the only one. I wouldn't talk about IoFH to my fiancé too, if I had one.

Trust me, there was a time when Al was grossed by all the gory details, but I feel that teenage boys' dicomfort at the topic has always been exaggerated. Besides, he's been Gen's friend for far too long to be more than slightly uncomfortable.

Actually, I kinda have trouble with that para too, I meant to talk about Ginny, as in "Hottest Female Chaser...". I'll just re-read and edit it though, thanks for pointing it out.

Love you for you wonderful and most insightful review.

I will as soon as I can!
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Leigh KelleyThe Pink Hippogriff Caf: Carrot Cake

15th November 2012:
Hello (:.

So, to start off, I haven't read a story with Daphne before. She's one of those forgotten, minor characters, so major points to you for deciding to tackle her.

Now, because she's so minor, you're free to do whatever you like as far as characterization is concerned. She's a pureblood, we know, and therefore it's really easy to lump her with the lot and give her a similar personality. But you didn't, so another point for you. I love how she's so easy to relate to. She just seems like your average day-to-day woman, working for a living, and fortunate enough to be doing a job that she loves. Not only that, but she has an extra few pounds on, so this woman over here can definitely relate to her =P.

Also, I love your description. I love having a scene unfold right before my eyes. I myself struggle with description (tendency to forget to set the scene), whereas you don't. I think my mouth watered a little at the thought of carrot cake.

And shame on you for leaving us with a cliffhanger! Astoria's entrance may have been a bit too dramatic considering the setting, but I still enjoyed it. There may be some gossip about, seeing as she chose to Apparate into a crowded cafe with her trunk, and with the announcement that she's left him (so curious to know who this him is! draco? awr, please don't be draco, aha). I'm so anxious to read what happens next!

I loved everything about this first chapter. I love Daphne and the fact that she's a working gal. I love that she feels something for her friend, who may not feel the same way. I love the fact that she has a klutz for a waitress, and that everything's not so perfect. I love the way you write. I love this.

Going into my favourites.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hey there, Leigh! Wow thank you for such a wonderful review!

Hehe I'm glad you like Daphne. I really enjoy writing minor characters for exactly that reason- there's so much more freedom with them. It makes me so happy that you can relate to her- I suppose that to some extent she is just your average working woman, although her Pureblood roots haven't left her totally behind. In fact, a lot of this story is going to be about her new, happy Pink-Hippogriff life versus her old Pureblood-y one.
And haha yes- I don't think she could work at a cafe like that with being a bit on the plump side! :P

So pleased that you enjoyed the description- I have such a clear picture of the cafe in my head that I was very anxious to get it across! I too am usually horrendous with description, so it's great that it came off well in this story.

Hmm yeah maybe it was a little melodramatic... Cliffhangers are a guilty pleasure for me and I wanted to do Astoria justice! (And it's okay, it's not Draco- I'm saving him for later chapters!)

It means so much that you've taken the time to leave such a kind and encouraging review- it makes me smile every time I read it. I'm so so glad that you've enjoyed this chapter, and that you've favourited and everything. I hope you'll continue reading!

-Bethany


 Report Review

Review #3, by Leigh KelleyIrrational: Prologue

8th November 2012:
Haha. After reading Paradox, I just had to scroll through your author page. And lookie here; the story from Malfoy's view.

I love his voice. He's just so hilarious, especially when he's thinking that she's annoying and then finding her passionate and attractive at the same time. Love the conflicting emotions, especially since he's supposed to be hating her guts.

But, I can't wait to see how you tie it all together. How he goes to kissing her for the first time, and getting beat up because of it. I'd love to read that from his pov.

Anyway. Can't wait for an update.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello again!

Nice to see you again! Awh thank you, I just could not resist. It was too sad to just stop writing about them and I was curious about what was going through Scorpius' head during Paradox.

Oh the inner workings of the teenage boy. I'm afraid I am lacking much knowledge on that point but I hope I make a reasonable Scorpius. He's an oddball anyway.

Well it is all coming up soon(ish) but this story isn't my main priority at the moment. I do hope to update soon though, as I love his inner workings.

Thanks for coming to read this, I hope you enjoy what is to come!

GirlOnTheSidelines x


 Report Review

Review #4, by Leigh KelleyParadox: Epilogue

7th November 2012:
Love it. Although I wasn't prepared for the time jump, it works. The names are adorable, and pretty unique. Haven't heard Runa before. And yes, Scorp, I hope it's a boy. What would you name him? Hopefully not Scorp Jr, hehe.

So, I wonder how Rose is? I don't know if they've made up, but I really hope that she hasn't carried a grudge for all these years.

I'm sorry that this is finished, because you've introduced me to a new pairing that I can very well see working perfectly. And it has, with the way you've written it. Their relationship was fiery, had it's fair share of ups and downs, and you've created characters and a storyline that I couldn't help but become invested in. I read this in one sitting, so that should tell you that I really enjoyed this.

It's honestly a shame that it doesn't have more reviews. Anything outside of the ScoRose pairing doesn't always get much love though, which I just don't understand, especially when it's as beautifully written as this. While there were a few errors, such as run-on sentences and some spacing issues, they didn't take away from the story for me. I hope that you'll write about this pair again sometime in the future.

If your other stories are anything like this, I'll have to take a look at them. Thank you for writing. I enjoyed every minute of it.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello,

Thank you so much. I had the Epilogue planned from about halfway through the story. I think I am becoming just as obsessed with the Next Generation's children as I was with the Next Generation! I wanted to try and continue with the Malfoy (and Black) tradtion of naming their kids after starts and constellations. Which is where Rana and Miram come in. And as for the baby... well maybe that will come up in Irrational's Epilogue. Maybe. Or maybe I will just write them all stories. But I can assure you, it will NOT be called Scorp Jr!

I suppose I kind of left the Rose situation hanging a bit so I might go back and edit that in. But if it helps now, she did not hold a grudge all these years but they are not as close as they used to be before the situation with Scorpius.

I'm sad it's finished too, which is why I started Irrational. I just missed them too much. And I have a story planned for two of their three children already. I'm so happy you love this pairing! It's good to know someone else thinks the same way as me about them! They wouldn't be them without their ups and downs and they will conitnue having them. Wow, thank you so much, I know I keep saying this but I really mean it. As you said, this story doesn't get many reviews but I love it and it makes me happy when other people take them time to read it and enjoy it. So thank you. Agan.

I will eventually go back and edit this and correct all the little mistakes but for now I think I will focus on my other stories. I may also do some one shot from their future. Maybe.

Please do check out my other stories! I would love to hear what you think about them too. And you will see Roxanne and Scorpius' relationship through other people's eyes.

You are very welcome, I enjoyed writing it. Also, if you are interested in my stories and are curious or just want to ask questions, there is a link to my blog on my Author's Page which you can check out. It has pictures and everything.

Anyway, thank you so, so much for taking the time not only to read this but the review every single chapter! I really appreciate it and I'm sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you. So thanks and I hope to hear more form you,

GirlOnTheSidelines x


 Report Review

Review #5, by Leigh KelleyParadox: Dust

7th November 2012:
Aw. This was a sweet chapter. I liked Malfoy's question. Was it worth it? If Rose won't talk to her, then what's the point? Maybe I'm just biased though, because I want them to be together. It's clear that they belong with each other, and Rose will just have to get over it.

Good chapter (I say that a lot, but it's true).

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello,

Aw, thank you. I didn't want to make it too dramatic so there you go. It was a valid question really. I think we are all a little biased for them but they kind of are meant to be... otherwise this would have a really unsatisfactory ending. Oh Rose. She still has a little way to go.

Thank you so much!

GirlOnTheSidelines x


 Report Review

Review #6, by Leigh KelleyParadox: Messages

7th November 2012:
Love the interaction between Fred and Rox. It's very clear that they love each other. Also, good to see the cousins having fun together. I always like family chapters. Gives us an insight into something other than just the romance aspect of things, you know? And you have me wondering about Lucy and Charlie. His words were so cryptic. Have/Are you planning on giving them a story?

Evil little cliffhanger at the end there. Must know what happens.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello,

I think because their parents have prehaps been somewhat distant when they were kids, Fred and Roxanne are exceptionally close siblings. Also, I just remembered that there is a one shot for George and Angelina if you are interested, although I must warn you that it is rated M for a reason.

I love the whole big Weasley family and felt it was about time I showed some more of them in this story. And there always has to be a bit of a Burrow scene. And more Quidditch obviously. So it was a fun break to write.

I'm afraid Lucy and Charlie do not have a story but they feature some more in my other story, Daughter of Fire. Lucy also has a one shot but that contains some spoilers for some of my other stories. I may give them a one shot though. He's a Ravenclaw by the way. Hence the cyptic words.

I do love my cliffhangers.

Thanks once again,

GirlOnTheSidelines x


 Report Review

Review #7, by Leigh KelleyParadox: Rejection

7th November 2012:
Hm. I'm glad that Roxanne ended up getting mad. If Rose won't give an inch even after her sacrifice, then something's wrong with her. It shouldn't all rest on Roxanne.

Well, that was a really grown up decision on Scorpius's part. I'm glad that he stopped her, because I agree with him. She probably would have ended up regretting it. Good lad. Good chapter.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello,

Can you really blame her? She is struggling between what her heart wants and what she thinks is right. Rose is a very complex character (who also has a story, Daughter of Fire, if you are interested, I must warn you it is going through edits at the moment).

Oh Scorpius. Sometimes I wonder if I should have made him more flawed but he just comes to me like this and I cannot help it. She definitly would have regretted it as she is normally a very rational person.

Thanks again,

GirlOnTheSidelines x


 Report Review

Review #8, by Leigh KelleyParadox: Accused

7th November 2012:
Wait. Hold the press. Rose likes Scorpius. When on earth...?

I agree with Nina. She's being completely out of order, and I hate that Rox has to sacrifice her happiness over it. Especially taking into account the fact that she never even knew! Roxanne isn't a mind reader, and maybe Rose should have just kept it to herself and let Rox have her happiness. Ugh. I'm upset because I so love the pairing. Gah.

Reading on to see if this sorts itself out.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello,

Yeah. Kind of unexpected? That's what Roxanne thought.

Nina is definitly the wise one in the dorm, after Roxanne of course. But Roxanne is a true Gryffindor and her loyalty lies with her family before her own heart. And Rose is not just family, but her best friend. Roxanne is flawed too and this time her loyalty overcame her logic. Poor Rose, she's just in shock too because Roxanne never actually told her about Scorpius either... Oh dear.

Thanks again,

GirlOnTheSidelines x


 Report Review

Review #9, by Leigh KelleyParadox: Falling

7th November 2012:
I'm so confused. It's a good confusion though. I think my face sort of resembles Rose's.

So, I still don't understand why Nott was in the hospital wing. Then I thought I was right about it being James's baby, but then Rox cleared it up and I am still so confused. I can't wrap my head around any of it.

At least Rox is ready to come out about their relationship? Er... never mind, seeing as Al's about to curse Scorpius. So confused.

Hahaha. Good chapter.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello,

Sorry about the confusion, this needs to be cleaned up a bit as sometimes I add things from my other stories and forget to develop them here as well. So sorry about that.

Haha. Yeah sorry about that cliffhanger as well. I just couldn't help myself. Tut tut, Albus Severus Potter.

Thanks for the review,

GirlOnTheSidelines x


 Report Review

Review #10, by Leigh KelleyParadox: Crossroad

7th November 2012:
Really good chapter.

Now. I see that there's tension between Al and James. What could have possibly happened to Nott to have landed her in the hospital wing. Don't tell me that she...?

Also. I like Penelope. This may have been just a glimpse of her, but she's hilarious. Kind of reminds me of Lee.

And that match. Scorpius and Roxanne up there in the air. I don't know why, but reading that makes me picture them dancing. They are so in sync that it's insane.

Then the end. Glad she realises that she doesn't hate him. Is that the first time she calls him Scorpius, by chance?

Reading on.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello,

There is an awful lot of tension between Al and James. And it will stay that way for a good while yet. I'm afraid if you are curious, you'll have to check out Twist of Fate as I wouldn't want to give anything away in case you do decide to read it.

Ah, Penelope, I like her too. She is based of Lee (who is her dad obviously). She doesn't have a particularly important role but I just liked the idea of having a little minor character that was a bit of fun in what can be a fairly serious story.

Like I said, I love Quidditch. And so do Scorpius and Roxanne. Therefore, it was only fitting that Roxanne realised how she really felt whislt playing Quidditch. It did kind of turn into a dance... on broomsticks.

I think that might be the first time she calls him Socrpius, at least out loud at any rate. And she finally realises what we've known for a while...

Thanks again,

GirlOnTheSidelines x


 Report Review

Review #11, by Leigh KelleyParadox: Fire

7th November 2012:
Wow. Just... wow. Well, well, well. Miss Roxanne. What can I say really? Those poor house elves, haha. But that was quite the scene. I may have fanned myself a couple of times before I arrived at the bottom. The title of this chapter is apt, is all I'm going to say.

I think Malfoy likes getting under her skin. Why else would he be trying to get her worked up? Unless it's just because she seems to be willing to kiss him back after they fight. But hey, I love you and I hate you works for me.

And oh goodness. Him telling her that he loves her? I was totally not expecting that. I think he means it. Is Rox afraid? Does she feel the same way? Curious.

Also. The last section of this chapter? Wow. Al and Nott? Surprise. They may be getting married? Double shot of shock. Nott being pregnant with Al's baby? May as well just dig a hole and shovel dirt over me because I may have died from disbelief. Okay, dramatic, I know. But, it's just so surprising. Now I'm wondering why Al punched James, because now I think that it may have something to do with her. Does James like her? Is the baby James's? Yes, I like to jump to conclusions. Sue me. But I just have this strong suspicion that their fight had something to do with Nott. Ahhh.

Reading on.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello!

Yes. Well. I got a little carried away. Sorry about that. Unfortunatly for the House Elves, I do not think this is the first time they have been exposed to something so... fiery.

Oh Malfoy loves getting under her skin. In fact, he just loves any attention he gets from her. As you have already found my story Irrational, you will know that Malfoy's thoughts will be revealed in time.

That bit? That was unexpected for me too. It just happened. And I was like 'oh, that wasn't in the plan'. But there you go, it was as impulsive for me as it was for him. Roxanne is probably confused. That is probably the best way of summing it up.

Haha. Yeah, about that, this mainly comes from my story Twist of Fate which occurs at the same time as Paradox and continues afterwards (so you get to see a bit more of Scorpius and Roxanne after Paradox finishes). It is from Vivian Nott's point of view so if you are interested, check it out, it is a bit longer than Paradox and deals with some (obviously) more serious themes. But I think Roxanne is just as shocked as you are when she finds out. But I will give you a clue, one of your two potential conclusions may be correct.

Thank you so much, once again,

GirlOnTheSidelines x


 Report Review

Review #12, by Leigh KelleyParadox: Empty

7th November 2012:
Well. Rox is just a bottle of emotions, isn't she? I get it.

This was a sad chapter. I feel so bad for Fred II, because I can understand why he'd feel that way. I suppose it's worse for him because they never even told him about Fred I. I'm sad that he got to the conclusion that he's just some cheap replacement of his dead Uncle, and I truly hope they get through to him. At least, I hope that wasn't why they named him Fred. Gah. I want to cuddle him. He's so adorbs, and it just makes me a sad panda that he's so upset.

And can I just say that I am falling in love with this pairing? I have never considered it before, but that may be because I am a staunch supporter of Lucy/Scorpius (Tried ScoRose once and have yet to get past the first chapter). But, your writing is so beautiful, and the pairing is so fresh that I just can't help but love it.

I just love Roxanne's emotions, and I love being inside her head. I like the change from the fury to the emptiness. And I like how deep Malfoy is under her skin.

Really good chapter.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello,

The once calm and collected Roxanne really has become a little emotional wreck.

I felt horrible writing this because I love all of them, especially Fred II. I might actually do an additional one shot of Fred's reaction and the thoughts going through his head and maybe one where he talks to George about it all. I hate it when my Freddie is upset too.

Ah, thank you! Most people are so fixed on Rose and Scorpius they don't really give other pairings a chance. While Rose and Scorpius have grown on me, in this world, there is no one for Scorpius except Roxanne. I've never considered Lucy and Scorpius, they sound like a very interesting pairing. Thank you so much, that really means a lot.

Roxanne's head is a strange place in which to be sometimes. Her moods swings can be somewhat crazy sometimes. And Malfoy? He most definitly is under her skin... In fact, I think he might be somewhere beneath her left ribs.

Thank you!

GirlOnTheSidelines x


 Report Review

Review #13, by Leigh KelleyParadox: Darkness

7th November 2012:
So many questions. Why does Rose hate Nott so much? What if Rose never interrupted? What did that note say?!

Haha. At this point in time, Roxanne's knuckles must really hate her. Lots of punching walls, aye? But if Malfoy makes her so angry, I wonder how he's going to have her change her mind about him. That is, I wonder when she'll begin snogging him back without an angry outburst after. Well, I suppose if she'll snog him back may be a better question.

Fred's an idiot. An adorbs idiot. Fits that he'd be something like his namesake, in terms of enjoying prank stuff and such. Do you by chance have a story from his view? And if not, any plans to have one?

Reading on!

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello,

Ah, I do love leaving my readers with questions... All of which are hopefully answered in time (please let me know if they are not).

At this point, Roxanne is particularly greatful that she knows a healing charm or two. Those poor walls, what did they ever do to her? But I suppose it is better than punching our Scorpius, right? And Roxanne snog Scorpius without having an outburst? I think that moment is a little way off still.

Oh my Freddie. He is a complete plonker. An absolute idiot and one of my favourite characters. I don't currently have a story about his yet but I am planning one, I just have to finishes the rest of the ones I have posted first. So look out for it, it may be quite unexpected.

Thanks once again,

GirlOnTheSidelines x


 Report Review

Review #14, by Leigh KelleyParadox: Quidditch

7th November 2012:
Okay. This chapter was amazing.

While I would have liked to see the aftermath of the meeting with her parents, this was still good. We finally get a taste of Malfoy, and discover the reason for her beating him up. I must say, it's a very good reason, though if we believe him, she enjoyed it, heh. Could her rage have been because she enjoyed it and didn't want to, as opposed to just because he kissed her? Curious. Curious.

And I loved the Quidditch match. I like the finish, and I especially love that paragraph where Bella and her are racing for the snitch. It was just so well done, and I read it again just because I enjoyed it so much. 'a glimmer of white-blonde hair; a tilt of the head;' Perfect. Seriously.

I also like that she's concerned some about her anger. I mean, she's getting to the point where she doesn't even realise that she's punching glass until after the fact. I hope she's able to sort it! But I'm still enjoying her character so far, and can't wait to see where this is going.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello yet again,

Wow. Thank you.

I probably should have paced myself a little better and included that so I migh add that in at some point, thanks for pointing that out. Oh Malfoy... It is a very good reason. Or at least, that is was Roxanne will always say. That is a very good theory, although I suspect she would deny it entirely.

I love Quidditch. So I enjoyed writing the match, I didn't want to make it too long and tedious though so I'm so pleased you liked it. I love favourite quotes too! So thank you very much.

Oh, at this point, she is very concerned about her increasing anger problem. And with good reason. I would be worried if I were her... But then again, she has a particular cause for all her anger.

Thanks for the review,

GirlOnTheSidelines x


 Report Review

Review #15, by Leigh KelleyParadox: Revelations

7th November 2012:
It seems strange that no one at all mentioned Fred I. I know that her parents walked out of the room whenever the war is mentioned, but do they take the kids with them too? Also, do Fred and Rox not see the rest of the family often? I don't know. For them to not know, everyone else would have been hush hush about it, and Nana seemed stunned that Fred was never brought up. I'm not picking at this or anything; just trying to figure it out in my mind. Do you mind explaining? Or maybe I should just read on =P.

But the chapter was well-written. You're very good with description, and throwing little bones that have the reader wanting more. I'm still curious about the Professor. 'Tonks' as the password is extremely weird, and my mind is stirring with all kinds of possibilities as to just who he is.

Reading on!

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello again,

I can understand your confusion on this point and I think it has been mention by someone else as well. I am thinking of going back and editing this to make it more realistic but for now I have to work on my other stories. I just wasn't sure how George would have handled Fred's death and in my head, he just did not handle it well at all. To be honest, I have never lost anything even remotely close to what George lost so I was a bit in the dark so to speak about how to breach the whole topic. I will hopefully work on this at some point and maybe make it more understandable but I can definitly see your point.

Thank you very much though, this was my first story so it can be a little rough at times but I'm glad you think it is well written. Ah the ever fanscinating Headmaster... Maybe I should do a one shot for him or something?

Anyway, thanks again for the review,

GirlOnTheSidelines x


 Report Review

Review #16, by Leigh KelleyParadox: Fury

7th November 2012:
Hello (:.

Oh, I quite like this. I find that Roxanne is one of the Weasleys that isn't written about often, so kudos to you for writing this from her point of view.

I also love her voice. When she's narrating, it comes off as very pleasant in my head, even when she's beating up Malfoy. Which, I might add, was a great way to start your story. I love when authors just jump right into the thick of things, and reveal things as they go. Much better than having a load of information dumped on my lap right from the word go. While I enjoy some stories like that, something like this is more of a preference.

Now. I'm curious as to why she was beating up Malfoy. I like that you didn't give the reason right away, because it leaves us guessing, wondering, and wanting to read on to discover the reason. It's very intriguing. I can only imagine the type of person that he is, and what he could have done to anger her, a prefect, to the point of wanting to injure him.

Anyway; I like Roxanne. I also like that you didn't make her white (that's a peeve of mine, considering that her mother is Angelina). I'm also curious about the Headmaster (he seems like much the mystery, eh?). All in all, it was a wonderful start, and I can't wait to read more.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello there,

Firstly, thank you so much for reading and leaving a review for all my chapters, I will try and get through as many of them as possible now.

I noticed that and as I wanted to do a story with Scorpius but wasn't too keen on Rose and Scorpius because there were so many stories about them, I decided on Roxanne as I pictured her to be quite a fiery character.

I love writing from Roxanne's point of view so I am glad you like her voice. The beginning just came to me, I started off doing a bit of background information but it just didn't seem to flow and then I pictured their first kiss and this just happened to be how it ended. So that's how it started.

Seeing as you've read the rest of the chapters, you will have figured out why it was that peaceful ROxanne was beating up poor Malfoy, but yes, I did want to keep my readers quessing a little longer. Ah, only Scorpius can get under Roxanne's skin like that.

I don't get how people make her white, it just doesn't make sense in my head. I know in the Epilogue, I make Rana and Miram white but that is due to the Malfoy paleness gene and I am also thinking of writing a story about them and it is kind of important that Rana looks like her second cousin Runa. Which is completely unlikely but I couldn't help it.

And the Headmaster? Well he is just an oddball. I'm still figuring him out in my head. Thank you so much for you review and I so please you liked this story.

GirlOnTheSidelines x


 Report Review

Review #17, by Leigh KelleyFun Times: Chapter III.

3rd November 2012:
It was only a matter of time before they decided that James and her were doing something more. But it's true what they say. The minute someone says that something is true, most people are going to start believing it.

She stands up for herself in a really big way. Yes! I just hope that her slapping him doesn't lead to something worse. But I'm glad that she did it. Maybe the best course of action would have been telling a Professor, but as we've seen, it doesn't always help, or help much for that matter. I really wish that it did though.

Anyways. Keep writing.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Yup! Always the way, huh? As soon as someone says something, it spreads like wildfire! It's absolutely ridiculous.

Slapping him... well my motto is 'violence is not the answer' so that gives you a hint of next chapter. ;)

Best course of action would be telling a Professor but she's human and she has faults.

Thanks for reviewing again! :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by Leigh KelleyFun Times: Chapter II.

3rd November 2012:
That was a really vicious thing that those girls did to her. Really petty too, especially if James isn't even her boyfriend. I bet they were just looking for the smallest of reasons to pick on her.

I'm curious as to how they got the photo out so fast though. It wasn't a digital camera, right? Since those wouldn't work at Hogwarts. Ah well, it's just a minor detail. Still a curious one though, ehe. Also, you called Smith by the name Smithson a couple of times.

But, I really liked this chapter as well. You're doing a fine job at showing how cruel people can be, without making it too over the top. I'm glad that Clara had friends when this incident happened, because those girls probably would have gotten away with it. Clara's backbone seems a little stronger here, and I think the more that she hangs out with James and co., the more she'll be able to hold her head high. It's quite apparent that she doesn't deserve to be picked on (no one does), and it's high time that she sticks up for herself.

I liked the dialogue in this chapter as well. James wondering about his grandfather, and Severus saying that he's just like him, was a nice touch.

I have this strong feeling that things will get worse for her before they get better though. Bullies don't like being told on.

Reading on!

~Leigh

Author's Response: It was petty. But she was in sixth year and held a silly grudge. I've actually seen things like that happen in action so it IS real, but usually not as bad. :/ They were just looking to pick on her.

The photo thing, you're the first one to ask! :D It's a magical camera, like Colin Creevey had (in CoS) but they are in sixth year so they were much more adept in producing the photo and creating copies for the newspaper/magazine/thing.

Ack! Thanks for pointing that out! I originally had that as her last name but then I wanted her to be related to the previous tormentor so I went and changed it, I fixed that up now. Thanks for telling me! :D

Yup, James and co. are helping her become a stronger person. And that's usually what happens in real life, you make friends and you (usually) become a better/stronger person. :) That's also what I wanted to show, that friendship is important. :)

I'm glad you liked the Snape bit. It was a little sweet. :p

I'm not going to say anything on that subject! ;)

Thanks for leaving me another review, I'll respond to your next one now! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by Leigh KelleyFun Times: Chapter I.

3rd November 2012:
Hello (:.

This was a really good start to your story. I could really feel what Clara was, and I almost wanted to cry myself. I don't think people realise just how hurtful words can be. They get a good laugh out of it, but for the person living with being bullied for a long time, it's not easy.

I think this story hit me especially hard after everything that has been happening as of late. I've read too many news articles about teens, bullying, and the end result of it. I truly hope that Clara becomes one of the few that stands up to her tormentors. As difficult as it may be.

I like that you have James apologise to her. And I do like the thought of them being friends. Maybe with him by her side, things will improve a little. But who knows? Sometimes something like that can make the bullying increase.

Ehe. I rambled. But this was a really good start and I'll be reading on.

~Leigh

Author's Response: Hello! :D

I'm glad you like it! Aww, I'm sorry I didn't want to make anyone cry! D: It isn't easy being bullied, more people need to know that!

Many things have been happening about bullying lately and it always will, which is so awful. I just wanted this fic out to show that people are affected by it. And, Clara will stand up to her tormentors, it's just later in the fic. ;)

It won't increase, I promise you! It gets better, but I'm sure you saw that in the other chapters. :p

Don't worry about rambling, I do it all the time! ;)

Thanks for the review! I'll go answer your other ones now! :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by Leigh KelleySo Many Unanswered Questions. : The Five Goals.

28th October 2012:
Hello (:.

While stalking the forums, I noticed this story and decided to give it a read. I'm writing the review while reading, so please bear with me. It might seem a little over the place xD.

I think you have a nice start here. I'm very interested in Ava. At the moment, I don't know a lot about her yet, but she seems like a fairly happy individual.

She and Dom seem to have a very good friendship, and I can't wait to see more of that. Judging from what was said about them applying makeup to the boys, I suppose they are a couple of pranksters.

I'm noticing a lack of punctuation marks. Whenever you close your speech quotation marks, there should be a period or comma right before it.

She can see thestrals? I wonder who she saw die.

Also, I find it intriguing that they have a 'goals for the year' ritual. I'm curious to see if Ava will complete any of hers. What does number four mean, though? Does she usually flip off the Professor? Or am I reading 'flip off' in the wrong context? Does it mean giving him the bird, or getting him angry?

Can I make a suggestion? You should break up some of your paragraphs. When Mel is telling them to get up the stairs, Ava sighing should be the start of a new paragraph. It just seems a bit too jammed together.

But all in all, it was a good start. Keep writing!

~Leigh

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review and taking the time to read the chapter, I really appreciate it!

I'm glad you're interested in Ava, that was something I was worried about. I thought people may find her boring or uninteresting.

Thanks for the tip on the punctuation marks, I'll make sure to change it for the next chapter.

Yes she can see thestrals, it will all be revealed soon...

Sorry that would be my fault about number 4, in my head to 'flip off' means to swear at them. I'll change it to avoid further confusion, thank you for telling me you didn't find that clear.

Your suggestion is accepted, I'll break up my paragraphs. I did think it was a wee bit jammed up.

Thank you very much for the review, I've found it very helpful!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Leigh KelleyAn Unusual Comfort: An Unusual Comfort

12th October 2012:
Cute little piece.

Packed a good punch for something so short. I really liked it. Keep it up.

Leigh

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like it :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by Leigh KelleyLost in Time: Lost

9th October 2012:
Hi there (:.

Your summary was intriguing, and so I decided to give your story a read. I think you have an excellent idea here. Not only that, but your writing is on par. It may not have been a long chapter, but I really feel that it did it's job with drawing in the reader. This reader, anyway.

I like the little glimpses we've seen of the characters so far. Rose seems a nice combination of her parents. Father's looks and excellence at chess, and Mum's brains. And I like how Al's not exactly like his father. Well, they do have the same ability for getting into sticky situations though, eheh.

It's a great start, and I can't wait to see what comes next. Keep writing (:.

Leigh

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so happy you liked the summary and the chapter. And I'm ecstatic to hear that you liked my view of the characters. :) I didn't want Al to be too much like his father, and I'm glad you liked that. Again, thank you so so much for the amazing review. :D

~Rosie


 Report Review

Review #23, by Leigh KelleySecond Chances Come To Those Who Take. : Memories, Cigarettes and Slytherins.

6th October 2012:
You have a thing for description. You take care to set up the scene so that we can picture where your character is and what she's doing. So, good job on that.

What's her name? In the previous chapter, when Fred was laying into her, Maxxie called her Emma. But in one of your review responses, I saw that you called her Constance? I just want to place a name to the face, since everyone calls her by her surname for the most part.

This was a good chapter, I feel. There's something going on with James, something deeper that he doesn't usually let anyone in on, apparently. It was a private moment that she inadvertently intruded on, but it's good for the reader.

I'll say that maybe you should give your chapters another read, just to catch some errors that interrupt with the flow. But other than that, it's an interesting story, and I'm looking forward to the next chapter. Keep writing.

Leigh

Author's Response: Thank you for your reviews, it really means a lot that someone sacrifices their time to help someone else by reviewing their story. And i'll be sure to fix the slip-up's, the characters name is Constance :$

I'll try my best to upload a new chapter! Thank you :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by Leigh KelleySecond Chances Come To Those Who Take. : Parties, Angry Drunks and Misunderstood Situations

5th October 2012:
Huh. Who would have known that Maxxie could be so deep? I like him.

Curious as to what happened to Lily. I suppose she wasn't trying to off herself. Reading on.

Leigh

Author's Response: Haha, I like Maxxie too :D And in time you'll know what happens with Lily :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Leigh KelleySecond Chances Come To Those Who Take. : Accidents, hospital beds and brunettes who talk to much.

5th October 2012:
You know, I kind of feel like they are being unfair to her. Yes, she messed up big time, but I want to feel they haven't thought about what possible circumstances could have have led her to do what she did. I mean, if they were friends with her for some time, surely they would have seen that her messing with Sean was completely out of character for her. But hey, maybe that's just me.

Maxxie is quite an annoying bloke, hm? But still cute all the same. I don't know if I'd be able to put up with his rambling. In a way, he kind of reminds me of Lockhart.

And, she's very brave. I wouldn't have had the guts to face anyone! I'd have probably tried to blend into the walls before joining the team again, especially knowing how everyone is feeling about me. I have to give her points for holding her head up.

Leigh

Author's Response: I know! I felt that way too but then again, what she did was horrible. That's why I didn't want to play safe, I want to step out of the box and make her do something horrible.

Maxxie is annoying but isn't it a fresh feeling rather than having a broody boring best friend? :D I wanted to create a character who is unique-yes, annoying a times but I have a really good back-story planned out for him.

It's a stupid thing she did but she's fighting for something that she loves, she had wasted all these years in high school being blended in the walls and she doesn't want to feel that way anymore. Your reviews are so poetic and beautiful, I love the metaphors you write, especially the one you said about her blossoming in your previous one!

Thank you Leigh :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>