Reading Reviews From Member: magiccarpet
  
109 Reviews Found

Review #1, by magiccarpetLife of Your Life: Life of Your Life

26th March 2012:
The last few lines of your story are also descriptive of the story itself...it's perfect :)

Great job, I really enjoyed reading this because it was so obvious how much Ron and Hermione love each other. You should definitely keep writing about these two!

Author's Response: I'm a true Ron/Hermione shipper, I'll admit! I can enjoy the occasional Dramione (well, not so much these days, but I used to), but there's no denying those to are meant to end up together. It's been so obvious from the start!

I'm really glad you liked it. Thank you so much for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by magiccarpetThe Quiet Outcast: The First Name

18th June 2011:
"It seems like Uncle Harry has moved on, but Dad is famous for holding grudges, and lord knows he's holding onto this one with an iron grip."

Why, why, why? Why did you have to fall into the cliche that Ron is the only one who still hates Malfoy? I really enjoy this story, but you write Ron in this story like he's still an immature 15-year-old. He's not the same person he was 20 years ago; nobody is. Doesn't Ron become a successful auror, businessman, husband, and father? You don't become those things by holding grudges, not working hard, being petulant, and only thinking of Quidditch. He'll never be friends with Malfoy, but Harry and Hermione won't be either.

By the way, I am officially a Glen/Lily shipper now!

Author's Response: Hmm...an interesting point to be sure. I suppose I wrote Ron that way simply because I thought that was the way he would turn out. He is successful and he is a good husband and father, he just has the ability to cling to the past a little bit more than the other two. I'm glad Lily and Glen rub you the right way though! Thanks for the insight!

 Report Review

Review #3, by magiccarpetThe Cure For Nightmares: Chapter 1

25th March 2011:
This story was excellent, I enjoyed everything about it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by magiccarpetMaybe: Ron

4th March 2011:
This was a beautifully written story with a lot of emotion, but why does it seem like every fanfic has fanfic!Ron as an insensitive buffoon who seems to push Hermione into Draco's arms? And how is Draco always a perfect lover whose past transgressions are ignored? Hermione can forgive and forget that Draco verbally and racistly abused her for six years but she walks away from Ron just like that? I don't really understand how that happens, but oh well...nicely written!

Author's Response: Hmm, now that you mentioned it I realize you're right. It usually does happen that way,doesn't it? I'm falling into cliche more than I think. I guess all I can say is that: The heart has reasons that reason cannot understand (Jacques Benigne Bossuel). Thanks for reading and reviewing by the way! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by magiccarpetThe World According to Triple Chocolate Ice-Cream : Fooling Ginny

27th February 2011:
Hermione's right, there's no way I'd tell Ginny if I were in a relationship. I don't need her stampeding all over that like she did when she barged into Hermione's home! That said, I'd hate to see Ron's reaction if a blind date for Hermione shows up...

The scene in the closet was hilarious! I could see Ron's reaction when Hermione asked him to turn around. As if there were any chance of that happening!

Author's Response: Well, I would tell her, but just EVENTUALLY! I think sometimes stampeding all over can be good, but for other things... like trying to get them back together! Well, I daresay you just may be seeing what happens there ;) I like that scene too... I don't think Ron would really turn around... I mean... they're DATING... why should he suffer? ;) ~writergirl8

 Report Review

Review #6, by magiccarpetJane: Fancy Seeing You Here

25th February 2011:
Hmmm, Hermione's yelling at the person she wants forgiveness from. Interesting strategy, lol.

Also, don't go back to Tommy, Hermione! He's a loser! Anyone who's name doesn't start with R and end in -on is a loser. She should know that. ;)

Author's Response: Hahaha, I completely agree! Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by magiccarpetAll There Is To Hold Me: Anguish Eyes

24th January 2011:
I started reading partly because the gorgeous banner caught my eye, and partly because the summary was so interesting. But I didn't start reading it because of the author; I didn't notice who wrote it until I had already read the chapter.

And it turns out that one of my favorite authors wrote it! This story was beautiful, both in a loving and heartbreaking way. The juxtaposition of their new child coupled with the pain of Ron's departure was very well done. I can't wait to see where the story goes next!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love how you R&R all of my stories, and you're always so unfailingly kind about my writing... even in the dark ages when I was awful. anyways, I'm thrilled that I am one of your favorite authors. And I love the banner, too, the resistance is amazing, don't you think? I'm happy you like my summary, though, I've always considered them to be a bit of a weakness. There are five chapters so I hope that you like the rest of them! ~writergirl8

 Report Review

Review #8, by magiccarpetJane: Smoking

17th January 2011:
I knew the boyfriend was Ron! I wasn't 100% sure, because Lauren was from America, but there he is! Now we get to the good part: the interactions between Ron and Hermione. I can already feel the electricity.

I'm enjoying this story very much and can't wait to read more of it. I'll keep my fingers crossed for quick updates!

Author's Response: Hahaha, you're so lovely! You've made my day with these reviews :) I'll be updating as quickly as possible. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #9, by magiccarpetJane: Corner of My Heart

17th January 2011:
This is a very interesting and original plot, and very well-written. I enjoyed the backstory and explanations of what Hermione's been up to here.

My one nitpick is that I was a bit skeptical of Hermione entering such a serious and long-term romantic relationship when one of the reasons she left was to become less vulnerable. I'll also admit that this nitpick is somewhat rooted in my distaste for Hermione being with anybody other than Ron, lol!

Author's Response: Yeah, I was worried about including Tommy in the story, but I will try to clear up her reasoning behind that in coming chapters. Plus, I thought he would add extra conflict with Ron :)

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by magiccarpetJane: The Problem with Being Logical

17th January 2011:
This is a great starting chapter. It presents very believable reasons for why Hermione would leave her old life--and all the people in it--behind.

Great job of fracturing the trio!

 Report Review

Review #11, by magiccarpetTwo Wizards, One Ring, and Absolutely No Plan At All: Epilogue: Announcement

11th January 2011:
Wow, that was quite an interesting and unexpected ending!
Great story!

 Report Review

Review #12, by magiccarpetTwo Wizards, One Ring, and Absolutely No Plan At All: A Late Night Talk

11th January 2011:
Ugh, I'm not a Ginny fan. She can do whatever she wants, like tell Ron about Krum, or Hermione about the potential proposal and no one can get angry with her. But if anyone says one word to her she'll turn on them with the wrath of God. It's quite irritating.

But I loved the proposal. It was pure Ron! I wanted to ask if you worte his rambling speech off the cuff or if it was a deliberative effort to get the tone just right?

 Report Review

Review #13, by magiccarpetTwo Wizards, One Ring, and Absolutely No Plan At All: Tweedle Dee

11th January 2011:
Wow, is Ron really sure he wants to marry that?

 Report Review

Review #14, by magiccarpetThe World According to Triple Chocolate Ice-Cream : Finally

8th January 2011:
Finally, indeed! A perfect word to describe how long it took both first kisses to happen.

Author's Response: Yep! I felt that it was a decent chapter name, because it was how I felt about them finally kissing. ~writergirl8

 Report Review

Review #15, by magiccarpetThe World According to Triple Chocolate Ice-Cream : Adorable

8th January 2011:
"Ron gave her a look, and Ginny folded her hands into little mouths and stuck them together, moving them around to simulate snogging while jumping up and down."
Ha ha!

This might sound strange, because I want them to get back together so badly, but I really enjoyed this last scene. I can totally understand Ron's actions. He's feeling hurt that Hermione ran away from him so he wants to make things difficult for her. He's scared of getting back together with her because what if he does and it ends up not working out again? He's nervous because he heard that Hermione wants him back, but what if it's a trick to hurt him for the things he's done in the past? Anyway, after reading the last few lines it seems like Ron's ready to move past these emotions and on to some better ones.

Author's Response: Lol... I had a really hard time writing that line because I wasn't sure if it really made sense, or if people would be able to visualize that. So thanks for complementing, because that means SOMEONE got it :D

Yeah, I realized when I was writing the story that I was making Ron all too patient. I was like, wouldn't he be so much more hurt then this? So this was my way of making Ron seem more wounded. And, yeah, you really hit his emotions on the head with that explanation! Good job- you've made me much happier about this chapter, now! ~writergirl8


 Report Review

Review #16, by magiccarpetHermione's Gift: Mindgames

25th November 2010:
You managed the change in POVs really well. It's great how the tables have turned!

Author's Response: Thanks! It was quite dificult getting into Hermione's head. Much more so than Ron's whom i can relate to much more than any other character in the books. I guess that's why I write fanfics most around Ron... :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by magiccarpetHermione's Gift: Worth every insult

25th November 2010:
Ha ha, I hate Malfoy! Have fun fishing...

 Report Review

Review #18, by magiccarpetHermione's Gift: "Lavender, I don't want this"

25th November 2010:
I love reading the moments of closeness you write between R/Hr, and how Hermione gives Ron what he needs without him even knowing it. It's also great how Ron is finally starting to accept his feelings for Hermione, and displaying an ability to think about his actions and how they will affect the people close to him before he does something.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I did make Ron somewhat more mature, but IMHO JKR really pushed him into that direction directly after snogging lavender. Ron's behaviour really did change, though he remained quite ineffective in his interactions with girls.

 Report Review

Review #19, by magiccarpetAll's Fair: All's Fair

25th November 2010:
Ha ha! I love the way you write these two. It's so obvious that their bickereing in the books was foreplay, and this demonstrates that perfectly.

 Report Review

Review #20, by magiccarpetTo Be This Lost Inside Ourselves: Sometimes

25th November 2010:
You should write an epilogue! This was a great story.

 Report Review

Review #21, by magiccarpetTo Be This Lost Inside Ourselves: Ginny

25th November 2010:
Stupid Harry and his running away, lol.

 Report Review

Review #22, by magiccarpetTo Be This Lost Inside Ourselves: Harry

25th November 2010:
Ron's threatened? No!

 Report Review

Review #23, by magiccarpetTo Be This Lost Inside Ourselves: Ron

25th November 2010:
Why are they fighting it? We all know they are supposed to be together!

 Report Review

Review #24, by magiccarpetTo Be This Lost Inside Ourselves: Hermione

25th November 2010:
this is great and original. I like the idea of Ron owning his own business (and Molly too!). You give Ron the credit he deserves instead of labeling him with the unwarranted ignorance tag like much of fandom. I also like how the characters are still in character, but you've given them their own twists because of their life experiences.

 Report Review

Review #25, by magiccarpetThe Night That Followed: The Night That Followed

23rd November 2010:
I love all of your stories.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>