Reading Reviews From Member: SunshineDaisies
  
225 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SunshineDaisiesGame On: Snitch Snatcher - katwithlove - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Oh man, I love a good hustle:) This was so much fun to read! I absolutely loved watching Hermione school Ron. It was such a cute thing to do. Obnoxious, but cute. I also really enjoyed how you had Ron trying to explain Quidditch to Hermione. I think that shows a lot of affection for her, actually. He wants her to enjoy something he enjoys as well. It's a very cute coupley thing. BUT. I also love that Hermione knew what was going on the whole time, but pretended she didn't because really, she just doesn't care about Quidditch. And it was so funny to watch her show them that by kicking butt at a Quidditch board game. I love the relationship between Hermione and Ginny. It makes me so happy that Ginny taught Hermione about Quidditch, and even taught her how to play the game well! I also really liked that Bill showed her all of Ron's moves. Beating Ron is a wonderful family affair. :)

Great work!

 Report Review

Review #2, by SunshineDaisiesGame On: Speak - TreacleTart - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
hOUSE CUP 2015 HUFFLEPUFF

Wow that was creepy. I love the characters you chose for this. Lavender, Parvati and Padma all seem to be the type that would be so into Oujia boards. It's silly at first, but this took a really sinister twist. I really enjoyed watching as the girls went from having a laugh while playing a silly game, to absolute terror when Voldemort took over. And it's so real for them to immediately accuse each other of moving the piece, despite the fact that none of these girls would ever use the word "Mudblood," let alone in a way that insinuated their demise. I was sort of proud of Lavender for taking the fall for it, she allowed her friends some peace, while she lived with what is probably complete terror for who knows how long? Very brave of her, I think. All of the girls were lovely, really, and Voldemort was so, so creepy. It reminds me a bit of Halloween.

Great job!

 Report Review

Review #3, by SunshineDaisiesGame On: Volume II: Matchday 6 - TidalDragon - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Ooh! This was really interesting! I love the more theoretical side of Quidditch, they dynamics of the players and teams that we aren't privvy to in canon. Obviously they have to exist, they do in every sport. It's so intriguing to think about how things in Muggle sports translate over to Quidditch. Definitely a fun area to explore! I think this was a really great way to explore the "trading" of players. This deal is a bit shady, but I kind of like it because of that. Shady people in this part of sports are super common, I think you'd be remiss to not include at least a glance at one. I think your writing was clear here, which is nice consider I don't actually know that much about how it works in Muggle sports. This has definitely piqued an interest for me, I'll have to poke around and see the other parts of Quidditch you've worked on.

Great job!

 Report Review

Review #4, by SunshineDaisiesGame On: Volume II: Trouble - krazyboutharryginny - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

SO CUTE. I love wizards' childlike wonder at the muggle world. It's so amusing. I really liked how Ron reacted to not knowing what a board game was-- I really liked that Ron didn't know what a board game was! The Grangers were all so lovely and patient with him, and the kindness was so nice to read about. I think you described the game was perfect, it was clear enough for Ron to understand, certainly, and that feeling sort of came through to the reader. I loved the short description of the game being played. Too much detail there and I think it would've boardered on boring. Definitely a good judgment call there :) And Ron ended up wining! How precious! I loved how pleased he was with himself for it. It's so cute when people are smug about board games. I think the end was the sweetest bit, Ron's childlike naivety is coming through and it's so cute. And you can tell Hermione finds it so endearing.

Great work!

 Report Review

Review #5, by SunshineDaisiesGame On: Volume II: What Did I Do Wrong? - Pixileanin - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Awww! Firstie Neville! This was so, so cute. I love the idea of eleven year olds having toad races to amuse themselves. It especially makes sense for Neville, as he owns a toad, and seems the most likely to win. Definitely a game I think he'd pick out. I really liked the way you characterized Trevor as well. I'm not sure you can actually characterize a toad, but I like what you did with him in any case. He seems so insolent and uncaring, but in the end he pulls through for his owner. I loved Lavenders reaction to the toad in her hair! That's definitely something I would freak out about just as much, if not more! Poor girl :( But good for Neville! I like to see him win once in a while. He spends so much of his life in the books defeated, a little victory now and then probably does him a lot of good.

Good work!

 Report Review

Review #6, by SunshineDaisiesGame On: Volume II: A Blur of Colour - FredWeasleyIsMyKing - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

This is fantastic! I love that you made Ron blind. It certainly seems a likely situation for him given... his entire life basically. Losing your vision is such a loss, and I think you portrayed Ron as grieving for it very realistically. The frustration is so real. He wants to avoid the things he used to love, because he can't love them in the same way anymore. Thank goodness Hugo is around to help him learn to. :) Of course, avoiding some things he loves doesn't mean he isn't learning to live his life without sight. I really liked how you mentioned some little ways that Ron was learning to function. I think the voices bringing out colors is the most beautiful thing. :)

I really liked the language you used in this as well. The introduction was just flawless. I really loved how you began with a summary of how eyes work, it lead so well into the rest of the story.

Good work!

 Report Review

Review #7, by SunshineDaisiesGame On: Volume II: Dragon - TreacleTart - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

This was fun! I really enjoyed reading a more in depth exploration of Harry's encounter of the Hungarian Horntail. It's such a good single moment to focus on in a story. I think you really brought it to life with the details! All of Harry's thoughts, and the way he felt the dragon following him just brought the scene to life. I really liked Harry's thoughts about being a fly, it really was a perfect analogy for him to make! Pestering the dragon enough to make her want to swat him was exactly what he needed to do, and it worked perfectly! I really loved the moment he grabbed the egg and flew off to victory. A much needed happy moment in Harry's life, I think. You can feel the joy radiating from him, and the pride that's just growing inside. I think that's my favorite way to read about Harry, since we don't see it often enough in the books!

Great job!

 Report Review

Review #8, by SunshineDaisiesGame On: Volume II: Learning to Catch a Snitch - looneylizzie - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

THAT WAS SO CUTE. Harry is such a good father, and it's so good to seem him happy with a family, rather than struggling through life mostly alone, like he was for most of the books. I love that Albus wants to be a seeker like his dad! It seems fitting for him. He seems a bit more timid than his older brother, and the seeker position definitely suits him more. I don't think Albus would be quite intense enough to play chaser or beater. And he's so good at seeking! I loved watching Harry's natural talent come out through Albus. It reminds me of reading those first Quidditch matches in the books, and how exciting they were! I laughed out loud when Albus crashed into a tree, and laughed a bit harder when he yelled back that he was okay. I think my heart swelled with as much pride as Harry's did when Albus finally caught the snitch.

Such a great father/son moment :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by SunshineDaisiesGame On: Volume II: Weasley vs. Football - looneylizzie - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Oh my! Arthur sure seems to be in for it with Molly! This was such a sweet story, I loved watching the interaction between Arthur and Ginny. Father/Daughter relationships give me so many feels. I also really liked reading about them trying to figure out how to play football! It's such a common thing, it's very amusing to see people who don't know much about it at all. It was so cute watching them try to figure it out. Watching Ginny take the ball in her hands and chuck it through the goal posts was hilarious. I love that Arthur tried to fix the ball when Ginny complained about it being too hard, that's such a good dad :) Looking out for his children, even when it gets him in a lot of trouble with his wife! This was a really fun read, I'm so glad I stopped by! Great work!

 Report Review

Review #10, by SunshineDaisiesGame On: Volume II: Truth or Dare - Frankie05 - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Aaaah! A happy jily! I'm so pleased and exhausted I could cry tears of joy. This was so much fun to read! I really love reading about truth or dare, it's one of my favorite tropes :D. The way you did it here was just so adorable, I grinned all the way through. I love that you included Frank and Alice, because I love them almost as much as I love jily, and seeing them together and happy and in love gave me the biggest smile. The dare to send Sirius into the lake was hilarious, and to be honest, I think you could've given a bit more detail there, just to make things a bit more interesting. GAH. AND THE JILY. GOD (that was a really drawn out "God" just so you know). That was SO. DARN. CUTE. What a great way for James to find out she fancies him! Must have given his ego a huge boost. I absolutely adored reading that part :)

Lovely work!

 Report Review

Review #11, by SunshineDaisiesGame On: Volume II: Fred (A Fugue) - Roisin - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

That was lovely! I really love the idea of a Malay, it sounds like a really beautiful form of poetry. I think it would've worked quite well with this, but I'm glad it didn't quite work out, I really liked the narrative. In all, it turned out so beautifully. I am a HUGE fan of language that's poetic, and I got exactly that. You captured Percy's emotions so well, and you wrote them in such a lovely, compelling way. I also really like that the title can refer to the structure of the story, as well as Percy within the story. I could feel that loss of awareness of identity, it was like a fog creeping into his head and surrounding his brain. It's a beautiful exploration of loss and grief, and I think this is particularly appropriate for Percy, who regained his brothers only to have one ripped away from him a minute later. I can imagine him taking it really, really hard. :(

Thank you so much for sharing this, it was so wonderful!

 Report Review

Review #12, by SunshineDaisiesGame On: Volume II: Which Weasley - Roisin - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

How funny! I can't imagine how Minerva could handle ALL of those Weasleys. They couldn't be anything but a handful! I really loved how close all the Weasleys seemed to be. I love that they gave each other passwords to their common rooms so they could visit. They all seem like such good friends! Which of course makes their mischief that much worse. I really admire Minerva for her ability to handle all of this, and do so in stride. She can even make a game out of it! That's impressive. I'm a bit surprised she hasn't retired yet :) I don't think I'd be able to last so long. I really enjoyed her conversation with Albus. It seems very fitting that McGonagall would still look to him for guidance, and I'm happy to see that their friendship can continue even after Dumbledore's death.

This was wonderful, thank you so much for sharing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by SunshineDaisiesGame On: Volume II: Sudoku - TreacleTart - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

That was perfect! Sudoku is such a Hermione-type game. She's so darn logical, of course she'd take to it immediately. I was a bit sad for her that it didn't last longer, maybe she should invest in a puzzle book! ;) They way you set this up was wonderful as well. It is so nice to come home, especially after you've been away. It can almost be like escaping your real life for a while. I also really liked Hermione's inner conflict about Ron. It's definitely fair that she wants to go out and explore the world a bit more. She's gone through a lot, and I think it'd be very like her to want to go out to cope with it all. Ron on the other hand, would definitely find solace in family, and he's already started his career, so it makes sense that he would want a family. I understand how that can be quite the struggle. I hope Ron's patient. :)

Lovely story Kaitlin!

 Report Review

Review #14, by SunshineDaisiesGame On: Volume II: Hide and Seek with Fred and George - Pixileanin - Gryffindor

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Gryffindor

That was so sweet! I just loved reading about Fred and George as big brothers, and learning that taking care of kids can be a bit more demanding than it seems at first. A valuable life lesson. I loved watching them take responsibility and clean up after Ron and Ginny, even if they only did it so they would be allowed to go flying. :)

And of course, the end was just fantastic. It's so much fun to just play with your siblings, even if you're meant to be taking care of them. I love that George declared it a great day, it seems like very high praise coming from him. And Bill finding them asleep under the tree was just so cute.

This was an adorable look at the Weasley childhood! I enjoyed it very, very much!

 Report Review

Review #15, by SunshineDaisiesRecipe for Disaster: A Recipe for Disaster

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Oh goodness, THAT WAS HILARIOUS. I love McGonagall so much, and she is so on point here. As much as I love her, it really was amusing to watch her get so flustered. I really enjoyed the shock she experienced when she realized it was Dumbledore of all people, terrorizing the House Elves in the kitchen. Her reaction throughout the piece was absolutely priceless. And Dumbledore was such a treat! He's perfectly his eccentric, mischievous self. I absolutely love that he just wrote off McGonagall's concern, and went ahead with his taffy making, completely unconcerned. Dobby was so cute. I love how excited he was to make taffy with Dumbledore! It was so endearing.

I did feel bad for the House Elves though! What are they supposed to do when the headmaster is destroying their kitchen? It must be very distressing for them.

Anyway, thanks so much for the laugh!

 Report Review

Review #16, by SunshineDaisiesA Last Goodbye: A Last Goodbye

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

A FRIENDSHIP OF OVER A HUNDRED YEARS MY GOD I HAVE FEELINGS ABOUT THIS. This was so, so wonderful. I absolutely love reading about characters as they age (elderly people are my favorite people to talk to in the world, so I think it makes sense). You've done a really splendid job of capturing Ron in his old age. I just loved reading about his thoughts on Harry and their friendship. It was just so touching to see that two people could remain so close for so, so long. A hundred years of friendship goodness, that just gets me. It's a similar feeling to when I see couples who have been together for 70 years or so, and they're still so obviously in love, and still taking care of each other. Obviously it's a bit different here, but the concept is the same. Relationships grow over time, and after a hundred years, I don't think there could be one any stronger.

This was so, so lovely. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by SunshineDaisiesThe Child of my Beloved: The Child of my Beloved

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

I loved this! I love the idea of Sirius harboring an unrequited love for James, I think it's very possible, and even if it weren't it's SO INTERESTING. I wasn't sure how I would feel about Sirius paralleled with Snape, but I really did enjoy it. It was so interesting to see how similar their perspectives were, and I think you used a really effective method of comparing and contrasting them. I think the repetition of the word in both men's paragraphs really drove this home. A bit of a simple method, maybe, but it was super effective here. Drawing the similarities so close in that way made the differences much more pronounced. It actually really startled me how similar their thoughts were, as they are such opposites in canon, but here they were both perfectly in character!

This was such a lovely story! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by SunshineDaisiesSky and Stars: Infinite

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

That was beautiful. Absolutely stunning. I loved the way you wrote Seamus' feelings, the language you used was gorgeous, and the feeling behind them was powerful. I could feel the way Seamus felt, the heat in his cheeks when he blushed, the butterflies in your stomach when you're talking to a crush. It was so much fun to read that. I liked the different sections you used as well, all short, and not one that wasn't necessary. It told their story in a short, but super effective way. And it leaves me a little bit of room to play with my imagination. :) I loved the ending so, so much. I think that's the part that pulled on my heart the most. I love that they've really had a happy ending, they've married and grown old together, and I'M SO PLEASED ABOUT IT. There are not enough happy endings in fic. I'm so glad this was one of them. :)

Author's Response: Hi Katie!

Ah *flails* Thank you so much for this review! I love Seamus and Parvati together but this one-shot hasn't had as much attention as some of my other stories, so I was really excited to see that you'd chosen to read it.

I'm so pleased you liked the way that I wrote Seamus's feelings in this - it was so fun to write and I didn't want to tell /too/ much of it - still giving you room to imagine parts of it for yourself (and potentially write them again one day?).

I'm probably (definitely) guilty of contributing to those stories that don't have enough happy endings, but I really loved writing this one and I'm glad that you were happy for them, too, being happy!

Thank you for your lovely review ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by SunshineDaisiesIn Every Stitch: Eight

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

A STORY ABOUT KNITTING!!! I was so excited to read this, I absolutely love knitting so pretty much anything related to it makes me happy. And you're right when you say that it's not just the jumpers, it's the love you put into every stitch. This is so true, for anything made for you by someone else. Especially when that someone is a mom. I loved reading Molly's introspection into taking Harry into her family. I just about cried when she thought of Lily and James, who would absolutely want Harry to know how loved he was, how loved he still is. It made my heart swell that Molly considered Lily's feelings while making the jumper. And honestly, my heart just swelled through the whole thing. I love Molly's capacity to love, it is just astounding that she can do so much for so many children, with very little in return, and then take in another, completely unrelated child.

This was so wonderful. So wonderful.

 Report Review

Review #20, by SunshineDaisiesEvent Three: Fragile Hope: Hermioneís Return Home

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

This was a lovely read! You captured the emotions of Hermione brilliantly. I could feel the burning desire to see her parents again mixed with the fear of how they might react. I think it's a rather complicated emotion, and you managed to put it all into what? 600 words? So impressive. As for the points you asked for feedback on: 1) you went a little heavy on the description, technically speaking, but it suited the piece as a whole, so I think it balanced pretty well. I actually think the way you described the story added a lot to the emotional aspect of it. The paragraphs were pretty short, which added to Hermione's fervency for seeing her parents again. Which leads into point 2) the flow of the story was perfect. :) Point 3) I didn't notice any stative verbs at all, so there certainly wasn't an overabundance of them, at any rate.

Lovely work!

 Report Review

Review #21, by SunshineDaisiesPain Makes You Beautiful: Rated Mature for themes and content.

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Crap. I knew reading this was a bad idea because now I'm all upset. :( I don't even ship wolfstar and I'm upset. Ugh.

You absolutely nailed Sirius's character. You can see his absoluteness so plainly. As you said, he's one for black and white. He loves someone with every thing he has, or he hates them with the fury of a thousand suns. Which is almost exactly the opposite of Remus. Remus is hesitant to accept love at all, it's not surprising he'd be overwhelmed by someone who loves with everything they have. I don't think he'd know what to do with it all. You've gotten them both so perfectly, I think this is probably one of the best Wolfstar fics I've ever read. No this is definitely the best one I've ever read, and definitely the best characterization of Sirius I've ever read. I could probably go on for years about how amazing this is, but, it's the House Cup. :)

Really phenomenal work!

Author's Response:
This got me upset too, and I'm not usually a Wolfstar shipper either, but somehow this worked, so I went with it.

I always saw Sirius as a very intense personality. He'd have to be, to have done what he did from what we know in canon. Thanks so much for your amazing review!

Pix


 Report Review

Review #22, by SunshineDaisiesEvolution: The End of the Line

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

LOVED THIS CHAPTER. Lily is my favorite character by a long shot, and you've done so well with her here! I think her reaction to the 'incident' is so perfect, because it wasn't just about the word, it's about what's behind it. I love that Lily is in touch with herself enough to figure that out. Her letter to Snape was perfect. Every single word in it was true, and was so in character. She's a character who symbolizes love, a woman who obviously values that before anything else; of course she would be disgusted by hate. It makes perfect sense that she would sever ties with him completely.

I also really liked that she only mentioned James in passing, and didn't spend any time reflecting on him. He isn't really on her radar yet, just a really persistent annoyance. Definitely on point there.

This is a lovely start, I'll be back for more! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! As I've said, I don't know that I've nailed her perfectly in other places due to needing to feature her more in differing contexts, but I'm encouraged every time I hear from folks that they felt this severance with Severus was handled properly in tone, words, and emotion as well.

And you're absolutely right that James is NOWHERE on Lily's radar except as a nuisance (and will stay that way for some time, since I'm writing Chapter 46 right now and they're still some number of chapters - and 2-3 months in time away from dating :p)

Thanks for R&R-ing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by SunshineDaisiesEvolution: Ain't No Sunshine

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Taking a page out of Karen's book:) I've actually meant to read this for ages, despite the fact that I know they both date other people pretty seriously, and that might actually kill me. I've decided to power through because I am actually very interested in reading about relationships falling apart, and other ones growing instead.

I think you've done really well with your characterization of James! You've shown a bit of his kinder side, a bit of playfullness, and the fact that he's a bully. It's not a super easy balance to achieve, and often he turns into a demon or a saint (depending on the ship the author's going for.) I also really love that James reads the newspaper! It definitely suits him, especially going straight for the Quidditch section.

I'm so looking forward to more of his development, and to see what you do with Lily! :)

Author's Response: Howdy howdy! Thanks for the review!

I'm interested to see what you think about James's characterization as the story progresses and how I've maintained that balance. There are some aspects of he and Lily's characterizations in the first half of this story that I think need tweaking (there's always something for editing later, right?), but hopefully it's still solid and I'm glad you've enjoyed it so far here!


 Report Review

Review #24, by SunshineDaisiesKeeping Vigil: Keeping Vigil

12th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

OK BUT REALLY. YOU GUYS HAVE GOT TO STOP GIVING ME JILY FEELS IT IS TEARING. ME. APART. WAS THIS REALLY NECESSARY KAYLA? DID THE WORLD NEED THIS MUCH SAD IN IT?

Probably yes.

Other than the fact that I'm still mad at you for breaking my heart, this was SO good. I love that you approached it in a way that implies heaven is different for everyone. I like that thought much more than sitting on a cloud in a white rob. I absolutely adore the fact that they ended up together, in their cottage. I'm not sure if you intended this, but it reads like they were in Heaven there while they were alive, that living there together with their son was perfect happiness to them. And of course Heaven is supposed to bring you perfect happiness, but how could a mother be happy without her son? I think you got the emotions so right. I suppose there would be a sense of grief when you die, even if Heaven made things feel the same. I think Lily grieving the loss of her son is so, so touching. AND JAMES. Watching him break down when he sees Sirius going to Azkaban just about killed me, because of course he wasn't just mourning for his friend, he was mourning for the life he had planned for his son that would never be.

TOO MANY FEELS.

Author's Response: *hides* I'm sorry! I needed to get it out of my head! I didn't mean to break your heart!

(On the other hand... hehehe.)

I honestly have no clue if there's a heaven or what it's like, but this was one idea I came up with that I felt would allow me to explore the themes and situations I had in mind. Honestly, that thing about their life in their cottage being perfect happiness wasn't intentional :P I wish it was, because that really makes sense! And I'm really happy that you felt like I got all the emotions right here, for both James and Lily :)

Thanks for the review!

-Kayla


 Report Review

Review #25, by SunshineDaisiesFear: Fear

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

But you do short so well! I love the way you delve in to rather minor characters, and explore them so thoroughly in just a few hundred words. It's so much fun to read them! I like what you've done here, with Peter. I like that you showed a bit of guilt for his betrayal, and definite regret. I loved watching him question whether it had been worth it to live the rest of his life as a rat, or in the service of Voldemort. It really showed his cowardice, I think, that he chose a life as a rat over death. I really liked that he realized he was a coward, he admitted it and didn't try to hide it after this.

I think this is a really interesting moment to explore, one I haven't really put much thought into. It's so interesting to get into Peter's head and see the motivation for returning to Voldemort. He might have had a chance at redemption, but instead he chose to run. It's a very interesting character study.

Fabulous work!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>