Reading Reviews From Member: SunshineDaisies
  
176 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SunshineDaisiesIt's All In Your Head: Chapter One

1st July 2015:
Hey! Sorry I'm a bit late!

This was a really interesting start. I think you've done an excellent job of introducing Lorcan's character. You're only about 1200 words in and you've already created a really firm foundation for him. You can tell he's a pretty serious person, and he obviously feels disconnected and a bit hostile toward his family. You've done it subtly and with a bit of finesse that makes the story so interesting to read. You've drawn me in, I'm so excited to learn more. A great first chapter indeed.

The last line was particularly good! It definitely had me going "wait, what?" I think it'd be easy to mistake Lysandra as a typo, but because you've paired it with the fact that she's head girl, it's impossible to mistake. It's a really fantastic way to introduce the fact that Lysandra is transgendered. Your audience is familiar with Lorcan and Lysander, so the slight change of spelling in the name makes it obvious that things are a bit different than what would be expected.

I'm also super interested in the progression of this story. I haven't read many stories where not everyone is immediately accepting, which obviously isn't true to life. (Of course, that may be because I don't read many stories.) I'm very excited to see how the story progresses, and how Lorcan's character develops.

You've also done a really lovely job with description. The images are vivid and detailed, and they blend so well with the exposition of Lorcan's character. And I can definitely imagine Luna living in the type of place you described. :)

Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks for coming by! No worries at all about the delay =)

I'm really glad that you chose to read this story. It's a cool one. And I'm even more glad to hear that you liked it - yay!!

Not much happens in this first chapter, but I also see it is critical to setting up the story and characters. I am so glad to hear that you really got a good sense of the story, and that the descriptions worked so well.

"Subtly with a bit of finesse" is just what I was going for ;)

Also, "transgendered" is a bit of a derogatory term (as compared to "transgender"). Krazyboutharryginny explained this well in the "Glossary of Transgender Terms" thread on the forums.

I'm glad that even though you say you don't read a lot, you are excited to read more of this story. It will only be about 10 chapters, and I think you'll really enjoy it.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #2, by SunshineDaisiescover story: one.

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

This is an interesting twist on the story! I enjoyed the exchange on the train, it was a really nice interpretation of what could have happened. I like that Draco didn't actually break Harry's nose, nor did he decide to send Harry back to London. It was very fun to read! I also like that Draco is turning his leaf a bit earlier than we saw in the books, and that he reached out to Harry to help. He seemed pretty much in character, his voice sounded very much like what we hear in canon. Harry's does as well! I love the sass he gives Draco in the Room of Requirement. And of course, it's just like Harry to agree to help Draco, despite the fact that they're "enemies."

This is an interesting concept, and I'm really excited to see where it goes. It's not clear how Ginny factors into this yet, and I'm really excited to see how that turns out. And of course, I'm interested in watching how Harry and Draco's relationship develops.

Great work!

 Report Review

Review #3, by SunshineDaisiesGlance Beyond The Stars: Glance beyond the stars

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Oh gosh, feels all around. I loved reading about drunk Tonks, she was so adorable. I love that she was comfortable enough around Remus to simply be herself, and to straight up tell him how she feels. It does indeed take a lot of courage and strength to tell the truth, and in this case, I think it says a lot about their relationship. Confessing your love is definitely an event that's prone to cause a bit of awkwardness, so the fact that she was able to tell him, again, that she loved him without worrying that it would change things. I think it's a really strong foundation for their relationship when they do eventually get together.

God, and the end! I didn't realize until the end that this was after Sirius had died, and that just brought the whole thing to another level. I loved Remus's thoughts about Sirius at the end. It's very much like Sirius to spill the beans on that little secret, and I thought the bit about the Dog Star was heartwrenchingly beautiful.

Good work!

 Report Review

Review #4, by SunshineDaisiesUnlikely: Abandoned

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Lovely! I really enjoyed reading this. Parvati and Pansy are definitely not two I would expect to be friends, but the way you've written them makes perfect sense. They really do seem to click, despite the fact that they come from pretty different backgrounds. I loved that they talked about their clothes, a lot of time that's seen as vain, but it wasn't here. It was (and is) a perfectly valid topic of conversation. I wish we had gotten to see a bit more friendly conversation between the two, after they decided they could get along. It would've been very nice to read that sort of interaction. (Maybe a sequel? ;))

I think your characterization of Pansy is pretty spot on. You've given her that snobbish air, but you've made her a real person rather than a caricature of a "mean girl." Again, something I'd very much like to read more of!

Excellent work!

 Report Review

Review #5, by SunshineDaisiesTabula Rasa: One

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Ooh! This is a really great start to a reincarnation story. The scenes leading up to Colin's death are just stunning. You did an excellent job of capturing the chaos that built up during the battle of Hogwarts. The absolute terror Colin felt really permeated the story, there were parts I wanted to cry myself. Despite the fear though, is the determination to keep fighting, to make the world a bit safer for his family, and that's such an admirable quality to have. It definitely fits with what we know of Colin in canon, I think you absolutely nailed his characterization.

Your description of everything is gorgeous and did an excellent job of setting the scene. It created a pretty vivid image, and it did an excellent job of creating the mood of the story.

I'm really excited to see the rest of this, I do hope you update soon!

 Report Review

Review #6, by SunshineDaisiesDon't Forget Me: My Hero

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Hello! What an interesting read! I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but I was not disappointed in the slightest. I love stories like this, it's so tragic when a sibling takes the fall for another, tragic and so full of love. You can see how much Albus loves his family, despite the darkness that encompasses him and makes him the black sheep. He didn't want to hurt his family, so he allowed himself to be sent to Azkaban to protect James. What a selfless act.

I'm interested in the events preceding this. Why would James kill Rose? How was it that Albus could take the fall for it. It's absolutely fascinating, and I wish you had a bit more space to explore it. As it is, I think you did an excellent job of getting the story across in a really limited number of words. You've also done a fantastic job in getting the emotion across! I definitely felt how Albus did, the grudging acceptance, and the hope that James would come through, though you could tell he didn't really believe that.

Excellent work!

 Report Review

Review #7, by SunshineDaisiesSmile: Evil whispers and smiles...

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Oooh! That was delightfully creepy. Your use of second person here was well done and really interesting. It felt like I (or the character) was being spoken to by some anonymous figure. Perhaps one that only exists in his head. It was definitely an effective use of this perspective!

I really liked the way you explored the thoughts of a Death Eater so thoroughly. He's fighting for what he believes is right, but he's not too keen on fighting at all. I loved the moments of hesitation, comforted by the "knowledge" that he is on the right side, and what is right is winning. It's certainly a dark mindset to explore, but it's definitely very interesting to read.

I enjoyed the ending a lot as well. The murder of Colin (Colin! :() seems to have soothed all the fears the Death Eater may have had, and he actually began to enjoy what he was doing. Again, twisted, but very interesting to read.

Fantastic job!

 Report Review

Review #8, by SunshineDaisiesWhere My Demons Hide: There is nowhere we can hide

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

OH MY GOD PLOT TWIST. I was not expecting that at all! That was a spectacular way to end the story, and the relationship as well. Definitely not something I've seen much of before!

I love your use of first person here, it's so effective and charming. I cannot do first person to save my life, so when people use it really well, it's always impressive to me. It certainly helped me get a grasp on Blaise's rather complicated feelings for Ginny, and how despite the fact that he loved her, he couldn't get past his own demons. I also really liked the use of the song here! There aren't a lot of songfics that use lyrics this effectively. The lyrics matched perfectly, and I think they're crucial to the rest of the story as well. They added so much, I don't think I could imagine reading this without them!

I think this was a really excellent, powerful piece of work. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #9, by SunshineDaisiesThe Orphan's Carol: The Orphan's Carol

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

How did you manage to make Voldemort sympathetic? That, my friend, is definitely an impressive feat. I love how you managed to give him that childlike innocence, without sacrificing the tone we saw in the books. It definitely makes you wonder how things could have ended if anyone had shown him kindness in his youth.

The moment where he opened his gift to find a lump of coal was just heart-wrenching. I felt my heart break right along with Tom's, and it stung even more when we found out it wasn't even a gift for him, but for his dog. You did an excellent job of conveying the heartbreak and humiliation he felt, as well as the fondness for his dog, the only living thing that seems to care about him.

These 500 word stories always impress me, I'm not sure how you manage to create such depth in such a short amount of time. Here, you've managed to do what I would have thought to be impossible, in only 500 words. Incredible job!

 Report Review

Review #10, by SunshineDaisiesRose: Unrequited

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Oh, how lovely! This was so beautiful, really. I love all the comparisons between Rose the person, and rose the flower. I think it could have easily seemed a bit cliche and trite, but you managed to do it in a way that was really really interesting. I also really liked the type of love story this turned out to be! It was wonderful to watch their friendship grow, and instead of turning into a romance, they simply remained friends. I loved reading Scorpius's thoughts on the matter, it was so refreshing to read an unrequited romance where nothing changes, but the one in love is just okay with it. It's a very selfless type of love, and not one we get to read about too often. I think it fits Scorpius very well, and I love how you managed to convey this part of his character so simply. It wasn't a big deal that he loved her so selflessly, it's simply what needed to be done. And I'm so impressed you managed to do all of this in just 500 words. :)

Lovely work!

 Report Review

Review #11, by SunshineDaisiesSirius Ate My Homework: Did you say that you ate my homework?

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Oh my gosh. That was hilarious. The Marauders are my faves and I love how you've written them here! I love seeing the lighter sides of their characters, mischievous and playful, but really rather funny in the end. I loved the dynamic you set up between them as well! I'm not personally a fan of wolfstar, but it just worked so naturally in this piece! They didn't feel at all disconnected from the rest of the group, which happens occasionally in this ship. Instead they all felt a bit like brothers. They casually threw out fairly intimate details of each other's lives, and very specific knowledge of each other's habits, tendencies, homes, everything, basically. When you can tell your friends you were blackmailed into doing something because your teddy bear was held hostage and their only response is to tell you it has a stupid name, you know you're in that friendship for a lifetime.

Gaaah! Wonderful wonderful wonderful!

 Report Review

Review #12, by SunshineDaisiesNot My Type: Square One

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

I don't think I've ever considered a deaf person in the magical community. It's fascinating, and I sort of wish this was a bit longer so it can be explored more. Like, how does he cast spells if he doesn't talk??? NOW MY MIND IS RACING WITH ALL THESE QUESTIONS. Okay, sorry. This was really wonderful to read. I thought it was so sweet that his friends had learned to sign to communicate with him, it's not an easy undertaking, learning a whole new language for someone. I'm hoping Seth realizes that when he finally talks to Oliver...

I think you did a fantastic job with characterization here. The main characters are OCs, and I feel like it's always a bit harder to get them to come across, especially in a oneshot. I felt as if I knew all of Seth's friends, and I felt like I could sit down to have a conversation with Meghan, actually. And of course, Seth came across just beautifully. I absolutely adore him :)

Fantastic work!

 Report Review

Review #13, by SunshineDaisiesMagical Beasts: A Documentary: Merpeople

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

What an interesting concept! I love the idea of a story like this, that focuses on one animal each chapter, and is still strung together with a plot. I think Bryn's wonder at the magical creatures, and her thirst for adventure give us a wonderful set of eyes to discover the creatures through. The fact that she's documenting all of them strings everything together in a coherent way, so the segments all feel connected. Granted, I'm assuming that's the plan, and I could be very wrong. In any case, I love what you did with this chapter! I like Bryn's desperation, and I love the thrill she got during her little adventure. It made me excited as well, which is always a sign of good writing. :) I also really, really enjoyed reading the article as she was writing it. It was so amusing to read that, and especially amusing to imagine her quill following her into the lake, writing all the while. I also think it's a really clever exposition technique! It gives you a built in tool to describe the situations in a really interesting way.

Lovely work!

 Report Review

Review #14, by SunshineDaisiesThinking About You: You, You, You

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

I have GOT to start paying attention to the stuff in the story shells. I had NO idea where this was going and then it went there and it was BRILLIANT. I think the story is very effective when you don't know who who's talking until the end. I commend you for not putting that in the story shell. I loved reading this so much. The sections were all just gorgeous, they had me melting before I figured out who was speaking :) (I was still melting a little but it was a very confused sort of melting.)

I love the subtle details you gave us to introduce the characters. It made me think a bit, Umbridge is obvious, but it took me a while to pick up on Lockhart. Of course once I realized it it was obvious, and it makes certain parts of this sort of hilarious.

I could read only what you write and that for the rest of my life: tales of your might, your cunning, your bravery, your kindness, your talent.

^ That got me. That got me good. I'm still chuckling about it, actually. I sometimes forget that Lockhart was believed to be famous for quite a while before his memory was wiped. I suppose he must have had those charms during school as well. It's very fun to read about.

The one part I am a bit unclear on is the time frame of the story. I assumed they were students, but I wasn't quite sure about it. Of course, it could just be that I'm oblivious. It happens.

Lovely work!

 Report Review

Review #15, by SunshineDaisiesThis is Chemistry: SN1

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Well hello there! I'm going to be straight up here and say I didn't understand most of this, at least jargon-wise. Probably should have paid a bit more attention in Chemistry... Anyway, despite the fact that I have no idea what half of these words mean, I think you did a really lovely job of stinging them together! I could follow the story without necessarily having to know all of the titles, which I think means you did an excellent job in telling the story.

I also think that this is probably the most unique story I've read. I love the whole thing: the concept behind it, the execution, the fact that it's about house elves, everything. It's such a clever way to tell a story, and as I said before, you did an excellent job of telling it. It was super fun to read, and now I'm interested in similar stories. I'll have to stalk your page a bit. I'm also interested in looking up chemistry terms now...

Lovely work!

 Report Review

Review #16, by SunshineDaisiesInvictus: I thank whatever gods may be

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Ouch. I knew this was going to happen about halfway through and I still wasn't prepared for it when it came. Once again, you've done an absolutely lovely job of getting into a character's head. The thoughts are so appropriate for this moment in his life, appropriate for anyone at war, really. I liked the simplicity of the action sequence here. It's easy to put a lot of detail into those, but I think the terseness really suits the whole style of the story. And of course, you only have so many words to work with. It's very impressive to me that you've been able to capture characters so well in only 500 words. Especially three characters that are so different from each other and in parts of their lives that are so different from each other. Amazing, really.

I think you've done a really excellent job of writing three very powerful stories and giving us a glimpse into three characters lives. Very good work, I hope to see more soon!

 Report Review

Review #17, by SunshineDaisiesInvictus: Black as the pit from pole to pole

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

What an interesting interpretation of Narcissa! I haven't read one quite like it before, and I'm really quite fond of it. You always see her painted as a very vain, proper upper class lady, but here you've done a really great job of making her something a bit different. It was such a joy to get inside her head! I never would have expected Narcissa to feel invisible, let alone want to be invisible. Of course, it makes perfect sense. Her sisters seemed to have pretty big personalities, and we know that she never took a real stance on the war. She just wanted to protect her family. You portrayed that so well here! You can see it now, eighteen years before she lies to Voldemort's face because she wants to protect her son.

Your writing is really lovely as well. You're using the second person masterfully (and I love second person so so much), and the language is just lovely. (This stands for the first chapter as well, I just thought I'd mention it now. :))

 Report Review

Review #18, by SunshineDaisiesInvictus: Out of the night that covers me

27th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Oooh! I really like where this story seems to be going. The characters you've chosen to focus on so far are some of my favorites (minor characters! ah) and I'm excited to see what you do with them! You're off to a really great start with this one. I think Sirius is a really difficult character to capture, and I think you've done a really good job here. Obviously we don't see too much of him, but the little glimpse we do have is just spectacular. His thoughts and feelings seemed to be so inline with how Sirius acts in canon. It really does sound like his voice, and JKR is hard to imitate. I love that you chose to depict this scene in particular. I hadn't thought much about Sirius's escape, and the thoughts and feelings he must have had directly afterward. So on point.

I loved the references to the dog star as well. I think that's a really cool comparison to make with the Black family, and I think it's especially appropriate for Sirius. He's definitely the brightest star in the sky.

 Report Review

Review #19, by SunshineDaisiesWhimsy: Rain Rain Go Away

21st June 2015:
HAPPY BIRTHDAY KAITLIN! I wanted to stop by and give you at least one review today, sorry it's a bit late!

I'm so happy I chose to click on this story. Generally speaking, I don't like children. They're terrifying and sticky. The exceptions to this are my cousin and nephew, both of whom absolutely love Where the Wild Things Are. Once when my cousin was three and I was babysitting, he recited the whole thing verbatim. I thought of him the whole time I was reading this. I think you did a really great job of capturing the childlike wonder Luna displays. I can definitely see my cousin acting in a similar way. I think listening to children's imaginations can be a really beautiful thing, especially when the parents are involved. It's such a nice bonding moment, and it always really touches me. This scene displays that perfectly.

As always, your imagery is so lovely. Listening to the characters describe fictional creatures was so much fun. I definitely would have enjoyed reading a bit more description in the narrative, so you'd have a bit more freedom with language, but that's just because you do such a great job with images and I really like to read them. :)

I hope you had a great day!

 Report Review

Review #20, by SunshineDaisiesVisibly Scarred.: Concern.

21st June 2015:
Hello!

This was another great chapter. I think Lydia's reaction to waking up in the hospital was so appropriate. You could sense the simultaneous relief and despair at seeing her grandmother. It's nice to be around family, of course, but I understand how it's a terrible feeling to burden your family.

It's nice to see Lydia at home and starting to take care of herself. The effects of the trauma are becoming still more apparent, and it's nice to see that she's at least sort of coping.

I think you're doing a really excellent job of handling the subject matter sensitively and accurately.

Good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review. It means a lot to me to hear people think I am portraying the situation sensitively and accurately, as I know it is a sensitive topic and it's one where research only goes so far.

Lydia does have a lot of people who care about her and of course, her grandmother would never think her a burden, but she does feel like she should need less support than she does.

Thank you again.


 Report Review

Review #21, by SunshineDaisiesResolution: Resolution

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

I don't think I've ever read a fic about Celestina, but I've been really interested by her character since JKR released new information about her! I really like this little snippet of her life, it's nice to see people for just a moment or two in their lives. Here, you've done a really excellent job of displaying that moment, but enough history that it all made sense, and with solid characterization as well! I loved her thoughts on aging, especially the comment about the banshees, which made me smile. I also loved that despite her increasing age, she kept on performing because it was what she loved to do. There really is a certain kind of magic that happens when you do what you're meant for, and I think you did a really great job of exploring that here.

Great work!

 Report Review

Review #22, by SunshineDaisiesThe Possibility of After: The Viewing

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

This is fantastic! The first war is my favorite era, so I love getting to read stories about those characters, especially the ones we don't know much about. I love the grief you've shown through Amelia, it was heartbreaking, but so accurate. Fabian's was as well, though in a very different way. I haven't seen these two shipped before, but I think the way you're writing them makes them a really great couple, if only for the time being. This certainly has the makings of a really great story, and I'm very excited to see more!

 Report Review

Review #23, by SunshineDaisiesUntil the End: Together

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

PREWETT FEELS. I absolutely love the Prewett brothers, and you never get to see them in fic. I love what you've done with them here. They fit into the idea we have of them from their nephews, but aren't carbon copies of Fred and George. I love the sync they have with each other, and the repetition of "until the end," just tore at my heart. The end really struck a chord after that, especially with both of them knowing the fight was already lost.

"They fought like heroes," rings so true.

And now I'm sad. :(

 Report Review

Review #24, by SunshineDaisiesCreperum: Chapter One: Anguish

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Ooh! What an interesting start! I love the idea of this, or at least the idea I have of where the plot is going. Having Harry stay with other family members, even if they aren't exactly grandparents (or even blood related? It doesn't matter, they're family), is such a nice change of events. Rebecca and Amadeus seem to genuinely love the Potters, which is more than can be said for the Dursleys. (I have my fingers crossed that they get to take him and that this is a HAPPY AU.)

I already love Rebecca and Amadeus. I mean, Amadeus seems a little bit pretentious, but I think that comes with the territory of being old and pureblooded :) Rebecca is absolutely lovely. Her dedication to her children, even the ones that aren't really hers, is so wonderful and heartbreaking at the same time. I love her already simply because she seems to love others so much, and I'm completely heartbroken for her and the tragedies that seem to have befallen her children.

This is a fantastic introduction to a story, I'm excited to read more!

 Report Review

Review #25, by SunshineDaisiesBall Date: Proposals

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Fluff! Yay! This made me smile the whole way through. Ginny's excitement about the Ball was just contagious. It took me right back to being thirteen myself. And surprisingly, that was a good thing. :) Ginny is just so adorable in this. I loved reading about her wanting so badly to find a date to take her, and her palpable excitement when Neville finally asked her. It was so nice to see her actually excited to go with Neville. He could easily be seen as a last resort, instead she was overjoyed to go with him.

I really liked reading about Hermione and Ginny's friendship as well. That certainly gets overlooked in the books, so it's really nice to see it explored in fic. And I just really like lady friendships. :)

Great work!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>