Reading Reviews From Member: SunshineDaisies
262 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SunshineDaisiesThe Order of the Serpent: Horizons

22nd August 2016:

I'm here for the gift tag thread and I'm so pleased that I did because I discovered this and this is kind of my jam. I mean obviously I'm obsessed with marauders era, but I've recently become enamored with the idea of OCs existing in the periphery of canon.

I've never seen anything like this done before! I love the idea of people who are resisting but aren't necessarily in the resistance. That's probably where I would end up in a war, so it's super interesting to look at how that's going to play out for Mandy and Melanie. I also adore the fact that you're writing about SLYTHERINS. They're such an unappreciated group, especially in this era. Obviously there were innocent Slytherins during this time, just as there were in Harry's time, they just tend to get overshadowed by the bad guys.

You've certainly done a great job of introducing the story, and it definitely reads as a stand alone novel as well as a sequel. I've never read The Brave At Heart (but apparently I need to check that out), and I don't feel like I've really missed anything. I do wish I knew a bit more about Charlotte, but I feel pretty confident I can get that information from reading TBAH. I also don't feel like this is necessarily a story about Charlotte, or the aftermath of her death, so knowing about her isn't vital at this juncture. Their motives are still clear. (Not that one needs a ton of motivation to work against Voldemort, really.)

I really hope you update this soon because I'm so excited for it!

Author's Response: HI KATIE ♥

Eep, thank you so much for visiting this story! I'm so glad to hear that you're excited about it.

Ahh and I'm especially glad to hear that you think the idea is original. I think I would end up somewhere like this in a war too, and when reading the books it never seemed like there was a place for those people. You either had to battle Voldemort, or do nothing, and the people who didn't battle Voldemort in the book were totally frowned on. But in reality I think there would be a lot of people who cared but weren't up for duelling with Death Eaters, and that's totally fair. :P And yes! I love Slytherins and I think they get a pretty unfair representation in the books/a lot of fic because of the ones that Harry decides to talk about. They can't have ALL been bad.

Glad to hear that it reads well as a stand alone. While this story won't have much to do with Charlotte, I'm glad you pointed out that it'd be nice to know more about her - I think I'll drop some hints in this story about what happened to her just in case you're not the only one who wonders! :P And... haha, a disclaimer for TBAH, if you decide to read it: It was my first fic, and I started writing it nearly ten years ago. So it's... not my best, in terms of writing style, but I do still love it and it will always have a special place in my heart. (I mean, here I am many years later still writing a sequel with those characters.)

Thank you SO much for this kind review. ♥♥♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by SunshineDaisiesSweetheart Tom: The Gold Children

20th August 2016:
Hello! I am here for the gift tag (finally!)

Listen I am so excited about this. It's been on my list since I first saw you talking about it and MAN I SHOULD HAVE STARTED READING THIS A YEAR AGO.

You know I've tried writing this review like three times now and had to rewrite it every time because I'm just like, in awe. I don't know where to start commenting!

I am such a sucker for pretty language, and I just adore fairy tales (the two are related), so this is just like, my definition of perfect. I love the way you've written this so that it feels so much like a fairy tale, but everything is still recognizable from HP. I like the way you've distributed the characters with the different fairy tales. I wouldn't have thought of Fleur as Little Red Riding Hood, but it fits her so perfectly. I also like the way you've started to intermingle the timelines, so Sirius is hanging out with Bill and Fleur and Regulus and James still seem to be alive.

I'm so enthralled by this already. I'm so curious about how all of this fits together, you've done such an excellent job of drawing in the reader and creating suspense. I really just want to read more and figure out what is going on, where grand-mere is and I JUST WANT MORE LAURA. GIVE ME MORE NOW.

Okay hopefully I'll be back to read more soon!

 Report Review

Review #3, by SunshineDaisiesThe Fortunate Ones: Chapter 1

17th August 2016:
Hello! I'm here for the gift tag thread!

I've been meaning to read this for ages, and I'm glad I finally got a chance to! I absolutely love the idea of Mary and Lily having some sort of romantic relationship, I think it adds so much to both of their characters! This is my feminist coming out, but Lily's story and character arc revolves so heavily around men it's like a splash of cold water to see her relationships with other women explored.

This was an excellent start to this story! I love how Mary is immediately infatuated (like, who wouldn't be honestly), but also seems a bit confused about her feelings. Certainly something an eleven year old would experience. Especially a muggleborn in the 70s.

You've also done an excellent job of introducing Mary. I've got a really solid picture of her, and she already seems tangible; even though we've only seen this short scene! I think one's first trip to Hogwarts and their sorting is such a crucial part of development. You can learn so much about a character by how they react to the castle. ("like something out of a fantasy novel." I lol'd.)

I'm super excited to see how this story progresses and how Lily's relationships develop throughout. Like really, I'm bouncing in my seat trying to piece out how Mary might play into Lily's relationships with James and Snape and what their own relationship is going to be and like


You have written this for my soul I swear.

 Report Review

Review #4, by SunshineDaisiesBattleground: Robbed

14th August 2016:
HELLO THERE IT'S BEEN A WHILE. I'm reviewing for the gift tag thread :)

So I saw you mention this on twitter, I think, and the title sounded intriguing so I gave it a click and like, wowza.

I was not expecting that.

HUGE props for writing a story about the sexual assault of a male victim, and the total grossness of love potions. I'm surprised this topic isn't explored more in fic, honestly. Maybe it's just not in what I'm reading. I think you did a fantastic job of exploring the concept and imagining the feelings that would have plagued Tom Sr. after he left Merope. He's sort of painted as the villain even in canon, and that's really just not fair. I'm glad you mentioned his family and neighbor's reactions, because that seems like such a big part of his experience after returning. And really, the "it doesn't happen to men" mentality is so gross.

I'm rambling and not making any sense and I'm really sorry.

Okay this is brilliant and i am terrible and i should stop by your ap way more often


Author's Response: Hey Katie!

It has been awhile! Thanks for the lovely gift! *wub* I was honestly surprised that it isn't explored more often as well, but I think it's a topic that people are often afraid to touch on.

You're so right about the "It doesn't happen to men" mentality being wrong. Men can be raped and often have horrible ptsd afterwards. Hopefully this little piece will help to get rid of that myth.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #5, by SunshineDaisiesHero: Something Wicked This Way Comes

14th August 2016:

I feel like I should start by saying that I had ever intention of reading and reviewing this whole story, but then somehow I was already on chapter 3 because I just could not stop reading. I AM SO ENGROSSED. I basically had to physically restrain myself to leave a review here because I JUST WANT TO KEEP READING

Okay so, like I said, totally engrossing beginning. I was basically hooked after the first sentence. You have done such a wonderful job of drawing in your readers, giving just enough information to spark interest without giving too much away. You've set a really nice pace so far too. You keep feeding me just enough information to keep me satisfied and curious. Like seriously perfect pacing.

In the same vein, you've done an amazing job setting up this mysterious aura. (Is this even a mystery fic? idk I don't pay attention to genres.) It all feels very "It was a dark and stormy night"-ish. I'm dying to know what happened with Hero and Noah, and what happened with Hero and Theo and omg their names rhyme I'm pretty sure I'm not supposed to ship it BUT I DO SUE ME. Obviously I know what's going on with the roosters and petrified students, but I want to know if/how Finn is involved and is Hero gonna find out and how is he doing this anyway?

I love the way you've written your characters here. They're just leaping off the page. I can clearly see all of them while reading, and they're coming across as very real. Hero especially, but even characters who haven't gotten a lot of screentime yet, like Emory and Finn. I'm actually thinking about screentime now and I'm realizing that this is chapter 3 and your chapters are fairly short so like, you've done all this in what, 6000 words? what the heck.

And you know I like to try and leave cc but I have none. Except maybe slightly longer chapters, but that mostly has to do with me being greedy.


Author's Response: KATIEEE!

Oh my goodness I can't even tell you how happy this review made me, and it was so wonderfully unexpected. I'm staring at your words trying to figure out how to answer this and I'm just stunned! All I can say is THANK YOU!

Much love ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by SunshineDaisiesSurvival of the Fittest: Is this the end of the world?

13th August 2016:
Hey there pretty lady!

The internet has informed me that IT'S YOUR BIRTHDAY! So I thought I'd drop by and leave you a little something.

I've been so excited watching you work on this over the past month or so (despite being a completely awful nano parent... oopsie), and I absolutely love the final product! You have a really, really excellent start here. You've given us a solid view of Riya (and oh my goodness I lover her SO MUCH ALREADY.) and enough of a glimpse into the world she lives in to really get a feel for it.

You've done a fantastic job of drawing in the reader. I want to know so much more! I think with first person narration especially, it's easy to fall into the trap of telling rather than showing. It'd certainly be easy to have Riya just tell the reader what happened, "THE GOBLINS HAVE TAKEN OVER THE WORLD AND EVERYTHING IS AWFUL." would not have been nearly as alluring as a first line. Instead, you've shown me pieces, and allowed me to sort of figure out what's going on on my own. I want to know so much more-- What is the current governmental situation? How did the Goblins take control? What's happened to Hogwarts? And I really want to know what's going to happen to Riya and Theo. And what happened to Riya's family?

Also, excellent job mentioning why they didn't just slip into the muggle-world. That was my first thought as I was reading, so I'm glad you brought it up and pointed out the flaws. (I was not expecting Goblins to be Voldemort level Evil but NOPE JUST AS BAD.)

Excellent work deary, I'm excited to see more!


Author's Response: HELLO LOVELY! :D

You were a lovely NanoParent! Riya is my spirit animal.

I went back and forth on first person because sometimes I forget the emotional bits that normal humans feel (being a robot and all, it's to be expected).

When I did my research on goblins in the HPverse I kept coming across this stereotype that they were vicious and blood thirsty. I definitely didn't see any of that in the stories themselves, but I decided to really play it up. So now every wizard that decides to hide in the muggle world is risking the lives of all of their neighbors. That's a hard decision to make.

I'm so thankful you took the time to leave me such a wonderful birthday review! It seriously means the world to me! :D Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #7, by SunshineDaisiesUnforgivable: Imperio

8th May 2016:
Hello! Here for the TGS review exchange! I was so excited to be paired with you, your writing is always phenomenal.

I really enjoyed reading this, it was such a good fit for Kevin's challenge theme. It was a really excellent interpretation of the dissolution of a relationship. I love that you chose to focus on the dissolution of sisters rather than a romantic relationship. I have a complicated relationship with my sister, so I always really like reading about them.

And the situation is just brilliant! Astoria is rightfully angry with Daphne, but Daphne really was trying to look out for Astoria. It's sort of terribly poetic that by trying to save her sister, she ended up ruining the relationship. That might be a charitable interpretation, based on Daphne's reaction. (I prefer to see the good in people.) I think it's also interesting how you touched on Daphne's relationship with Brendon, and all the tension that exists there.

This was such a nice read, and really such a complex examination of the relationship between siblings. Great work! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by SunshineDaisiesThe Unaccounted: June 28, 2032: SNITCHED by Lillian Potter

9th April 2016:

What a fun story! I loved this challenge, I think this can be such an interesting way to tell a story! And this is certainly proving that true.

I love the idea of Lily Potter II being an investigative reporter, it's sort of combining both of her parents' careers in a really interesting way. I also loved the mention of Auror Malfoy. That is not a phrase I'd ever thought I'd read.

I love how you've started to weave in the details of this story. It's feels very much like we're on the outside looking in, which is a really unique perspective. Im really interested in seeing how this story unravels!

 Report Review

Review #9, by SunshineDaisiesThe Fifth House: Remedial Lessons

31st March 2016:

Goodness, I'm so sorry it took so long for me to get over here! It's been a crazy month and I have to be careful when I pull this up because I honestly am just so captivated by this story! I love the way the story is developing. You're doing an excellent job of pacing it so we're learning about the new mysteries at the same time Willow is, but you're also giving us some tidbits where we know more than Willow does. It's a really great way to keep the reader pulled in. I'm interested to know what is happening, but am invested because of the things I recognize from canon. The plot is certainly coming along nicely!

I realize that I just said the same thing like five times, but I don't have a ton to comment on! (And honestly I just want to keep reading before I review but I'm LATE for the review exchange and it makes me anxious.) (but now that I've got it done I'm going to keep reading :))

Author's Response: Katie,

Sorry I'm just getting to these responses now. I took a couple of weeks away from HPFF when RL came calling, but I'm back now. I mentioned that I would review the remainder of the chapters in your story and I've drafted the review for chapter 3 already, so my plan is to have the last few chapters reviewed and posted by next week.

Since this story is so different from most others on HPFF, I struggled to make as many connections between this story and the original series as I could (knowing that the setting, time, and characters would all be different). I'm glad to know that those canon connections are doing their job to keep you interested in the story.

Thanks so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by SunshineDaisiesHolyhead: one.

28th March 2016:

What an exciting beginning. I mean, I was excited from the time you said "Quidditch, lesbians" or whatever. The world needs more lesbians.

I really like the way you've tackled it here, as a societal issue rather than a self-struggle. Both are super important, but you see more of one than the other.

You've done an excellent job of setting the scene and introducing us to Jenny. It's kind of amazing that in so few words, I have a pretty clear picture of Chilton's, and I kind of feel like I know Jenny. The Holyhead is foreign, but it is to Jenny too, and I could totally feel her excitement.

I'm a little disappointed there was no quidditch in this chapter, but I think it was necessary to set the scene. I just really love Quidditch. And I'm so excited to see how this bar is related to the Harpies and I really hope there is lots of the Holyhead Harpies in this story because I love them.

I want more!

 Report Review

Review #11, by SunshineDaisiesWhen I Go Out With You: You Didn't Look 'Round

11th March 2016:
I kind of want to punch Ernie in the face. What an unlikable human. Is he even human? I think that's up for debate. How could someone cheat on Hannah? She's so cute! She's all doe-eyed and romantic and her heart is so, so big and she is WONDERFUL and Ernie is TERRIBLE and I'm wondering what on earth she saw in him in the first place.

Ugh you are making me angst!

But lovely chapter as ever ♥

Author's Response: Oh wow, what a wonderful surprise review to receive!

I knew you had read this, I think from back in Dobby nomination season, but unless I'm wrong this is the first review you've left on it! And how very fitting that you have joined the many people threatening violence against Ernie in the reviews for this chapter XD

It probably says something about me that this is my favorite chapter to receive reviews on!

Much love to you, Katie!


 Report Review

Review #12, by SunshineDaisiesThe Last Five Years: Still Hurting

4th March 2016:
Hello! I'm here for the review a thon!

I'm so excited for this! I haven't seen The Last Five Years, but I absolutely love non-chronological stories, and this is promising to be a good one! I love that you've started with the end. It creates so much drama and really hooks the reader. How did things get to where they are now? What mess did Blaise leave behind? What happened between these two people? And maybe most importantly, how did they get together in the first place? The death of relationships has always been really interesting to me (probably because I've never really experienced them, personally OR by proxy), how do two people go from falling in love, being best friends, sharing everything, to having nothing? How do you go from any form of intimacy to nothing? It's different for everyone and I'm so excited to watch you explore this.

I also have to mention that I love the details you mentioned here. The fact that she insisted they use keys instead of wands, the pictures she picked out, the missing books, the letter on the desk, it all pointed to a life that he was creating, but didn't seem to exist anymore. Right away, you get the sense that something is wrong, and that something probably has been wrong for some time. (They key part especially, like that is just GOLD.)

I'll be back for more of your AP this weekend :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by SunshineDaisiesThe Fifth House: The Broom Ride

21st February 2016:

I was a bit unsure of this story at first. I tend to prefer stories with a clear connection to canon. It's hard to get invested with a completely original character without a connection to a major canon character. But here I am, invested.

This story is so captivating! I just had to keep going. I only stopped when my eyes started to go a little blurry.

I just love everything about this. I love that you've made Willow so normal. She's interesting and compelling, and you can see an extremely interesting plot developing, but she's not "the chosen one," or extraordinarily magical, or anything of the sort. I love stories like this. I find it far more interesting than stories about people who are "destined" for greatness.

The way you've begun the story is really on point as well. You've successfully made a scene that we've already experienced with Harry fresh and newly interesting. And because you're telling the story of a muggleborn, we are still being introduced to everything with fresh eyes.

I really like the connections you've drawn between Ilvermony and Hogwarts. I think you've done an excellent job of Americanizing it while keeping the fundamental parts of Hogwarts.

And the plot! The plot is fascinating. I'm very intrigued to find out more. How did Gryffindor House become so awful? Why is it so much larger than the other houses? Why is the staff letting all this hazing go on? Why do all these traditions even exist? WHAT THE HECK GRYFFINDOR. And the prejudice she's getting as a nomaj born makes the story all the more compelling.

Okay this is not a helpful review at all in any sense. When I finish the whole story I'll go back and comment on individual chapters :)

Author's Response: You have no idea how much I appreciate this review. I knew it was going to be an uphill battle to interest a HPFF reader in a whole new world. Knowing that I've managed to invest you in the story is incredibly reassuring. And then seeing that you made it 25,000 words into the novel is awesome.

I'm so glad you appreciate Willow's character being normal. I really wanted her to be an 'everygirl' in the sense that she could be you (or anyone). I imagined that it would be easier for the reader to step into her shoes. Also, I've always believed that the times make the person - that we all have the ability to rise to the occasion based on our circumstances rather than have our destiny already set.

I'm also pleased that I've managed to maintain that sense of wonder and discovery. When I wrote the story, I kept in mind the concept that somebody who had never read the Harry Potter series could read it and follow along. I think that idea has helped keep the 'outside' perspective.

Deciding what was going to be new about Ilvermorny and what was going to be imported was a tough decision. One thing I knew had to stay were the houses. There's only one sorting quiz and all of us on the Forums identify so strongly with them that it seemed imperative to keep them. This way I can still be both an American and a Hufflepuff.

Your review was actually much more helpful than you realize. All of those questions you asked - your expectation as a reader is that they are eventually resolved. Well, I can tell you right now that some I do and some I don't. I'll look into those thoughts much more carefully and I think I can definitely make some changes in later chapters to address them.

Thanks so much for the review and I'm so glad you are enjoying Willow's journey.


 Report Review

Review #14, by SunshineDaisiesRadicalia: Hell is Empty...

19th December 2015:
Okay so you probably don't know this but I have been beyond excited to read this since you asked for help with chapter titles on the forums however long ago that was. This story is like, EXACTLY EVERYTHING I LOVE IN A STORY. Like, I'm going to pretend that this was a gift to me because IT IS. EVEN IF IT WASN'T INTENDED.

These three chapters have been such an excellent start to this story! You've set the scene, the mood of the story and the world you're working in and it's all done SO WELL. I actually really like the way you've used the Death Eaters so far. A lot of stories start out with a calm before the storm, and you've alluded to one here, but really you've started right at the start of the hurricane. (That's the nice thing about fanfic, a lot of that sort of stuff is in place for you, so you don't have to waste time with it.) I think starting out this way is very effective for your story, by the way. It really throws us right in there with Ginny, experiencing the terror of Hogwarts under Voldemort's regime. It definitely makes Ginny's actions thus far understandable. I would have guessed she'd be gung-ho to start rebelling and standing up to the Carrows. I have to say, I like this better. Of course she wants to fight, but she's tired and she's scared and it's really hard to keep going. Totally realistic, and it makes me so excited to see how she grows and develops and starts fighting back.

Okay and NEVILLE. Neville is also different from what I would've expected. I thought it'd take a bit for him to get rolling with the rebellion, but now that I've read it, it makes more sense that he's ready to go. Especially with his grandmother and his parents, "I promised I'd fight." That's wonderful and terrible and I love it. And I love how angry he is with Ginny, and the rest of the DA who are just sitting there LETTING IT HAPPEN. I love Neville and I love that he's come into his own, but he's still struggling. He wants to lead, but no one is stepping up to follow. Which, in honesty, I think is fair. Neville doesn't exactly have natural leadership skills, at least not that we've seen, and I think he still needs to prove himself. I'm excited to see that develop as well.

Okay I'm sorry for mostly telling you things that you already know BUT I'M SO EXCITED. This is amazing and I can't wait to see it continue.

Author's Response: OK so I REALLY love responding to reviews, so I promised myself I would hold off on that pleasure until I actually updated. Like a prize. Then I took a bloody AGE to update, and I'mSorryI'mSorryI'mSorry!

BUT YAY, finally get to reply to this amazing review! Everything you said just makes me want to yell "YES, EXACTLY!" and I'm just so stoked that you're digging this interpretation :D

I definitely think family would be a really big factor on everyone's decision-making, since they're still so young. Neville's gran has always wanted him to be tougher and braver and generally MORE, while the Weasleys have always been more about trying to stop Ginny from doing dangerous things or things she's not ready for. Neville kind of has the responsibility of being the only heir with a lot to live up to, while Ginny has Youngest Daughter syndrome.

So yeah, with everything with the war and what's going on at Hogwarts, both of them end up relying a lot on what their family's want to guide their decision-making.

And like, I definitely agree that it might seem more obvious at first to have Ginny be the excited one and Neville be the one needing encouragement, but I thought it would be a lot more interesting to invert that dynamic. You know, for DRAMA reasons. I'm REALLY glad you thought it worked, and made sense, and was convincing!

This is seriously (siriusly) such a FANTASTIC review, and I'm so sorry it's taken me so long to reply (and update!)


 Report Review

Review #15, by SunshineDaisiesAnd Then There Were None: The Island

19th December 2015:

So I've never read And Then There Were None, so I had absolutely no frame of reference for this and I'm so mad about it because I'm hooked and THERE ISN'T ANYTHING ELSE YET. You've done a really excellent job of drawing the reader in here. The vibe I'm getting is ominous, but isn't heavy handed in any way. I'm not super invested in any of the characters yet, I don't think we've seen enough of any of them to really make a connection. Except for Dennis because he is just like ? WHAT THE HECK DENNIS

But everyone else is more like ~Tra la la my life is boring/sad/hectic/disappointing and I'm just casually being stranded on an island with a bunch of strangers and mystery hosts because that is totally normal and not at all creepy~


And ok I just goggled the Agatha Christie novel and I AM UPSET WITH YOU SAM. I mean you've done an excellent job in choosing the characters to bring in to the story. It's a perfectly eccentric group, and an excellent mix of 'this makes perfect sense' characters and 'WHAT THE HELL DID THEY DO' characters.


Okay I'm done shouting at you now :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by SunshineDaisiesMisery: After detention

17th December 2015:

I love Neville and Hannah so much. They have become my secondary OTP, I think, but it's so hard finding stories about them! I mean, there are a lot of really lovely, fluffy one-shots, but I am a masochist and I want the serious stuff. And this was just beautiful! I love the story you're telling, it's a wonderful little scene between Neville and Hannah, and I think you captured both of their characters perfectly. The Hannah you have written here is definitely the anxious, clumsy character that we see in the books, and Neville has just come into his own and RENEE I'M SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS

The writing is absolutely exquisite and I can't even form words right now honestly. AMAZING.

(Also Im sorrry I'm late to your hot seat!)

Author's Response: Ah, Katie, don't you dare be sorry! This review is wonderful!

I can absolutely guarantee that I am not, in fact, trying to kill you. Promise! ;)

I love Hannah/Neville so much, too! I was actually nervous to write this because I ADORE the Chai series about them - it has basically become my head cannon - and this contradicts it slightly. So now I have two head cannons for them :P

Anyway, the point is I am SO THRILLED you liked the story, and THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for you AMAZING review!!

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #17, by SunshineDaisiesShine: Shine

14th December 2015:
Hello! I am so behind on everything but I am determined to get at least review to every person on the hot seat!

Unsurprisingly, I love this. I adore reading about Hufflepuffs (obviously), and I love reading about somewhat misunderstood characters, so this was like a double whammy.

I love that you gave Zacharias such an interesting background and allowed him to be... not such a jerk. You've made him a much more likable and well rounded character.

Excellent work! :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you for stopping by! :)

Thank you! I love misunderstood characters, and there was a lot to work with for Zacharias :P One thing I really like about him is that he's such an atypical Hufflepuff and doesn't really fit the mold - he's argumentative and annoying - and it makes him stand out and gives a lot to work with as a character. I'm so glad that after reading this you saw him as more rounded and slightly less of a jerk - that was definitely a goal :) Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by SunshineDaisiesIn Love: You Are In Love

7th December 2015:
Hello! I am here belatedly reviewing my challenge entries!

I've been in love with this story since the first time I read it after it was posted. I absolutely adore this song, I think it's probably one of the best love songs ever written, and you did a spectacular job of capturing the emotion in it. I got the same feeling reading it as I do when I listen to this song. It gave me shivers. I love the way you focused so strongly on the feelings rather than the plot, which is exactly what I was looking for in this challenge! You were able to create a scene that was absolutely beautiful and haunting and was focused on happiness instead of sadness or angst. It was gorgeous and lovely and I'm a little obsessed with it, honestly.

I think your characterization was spot on. I don't usually read Romione, but I was able to clearly tell who you were writing about, and I think you captured their character so well.

God, this is just perfect.

Author's Response: AH!

I was totally going to act cool in my review response, but like...your review just makes me feel so happy and the fact that it portrayed exactly what I wanted it to and that you picked up on all those little things and that you could tell which characters it was about! I was so unsure if it was clear, due to the pairing and my head cannon but just...thank you so, so much for this review! I don't know if I can even put to words how much this review means! I'm so very glad you enjoyed the story and I thank you dearly for making up such an amazing challenge! Never knew I could write a story with such a percise focus on happiness!

Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #19, by SunshineDaisiesLying Josephine: Nice to Meet You

7th December 2015:
I'M SO BEHIND ON LIFE. (Reading this story AND the hot seat.)

Every time I read one of your stories I am left in total awe. Your writing is so effortlessly lovely and lyrical, and it's just so pretty! That is one of my favorite qualities in writing and it's so nice to find it in a fic with such an interesting plot as well! (I'm also insanely jealous because you make this writing seem so easy and I'm just like, banging my head on the keyboard)

I love the way you write Josephine. I am very much the same way she is, so I totally understand falling in love with someone who doesn't know you exist, and then simultaneously wanting to be near them and be as far away from them as possible. It brought back a lot of embarrassing memories, actually. I feel you, Jo. I also love that you've made her so unsure of herself, and maybe not great at magic, but with total business savvy. It's such an interesting idea to explore, because it's not like they teach business at Hogwarts. (HOW DO WIZARDS FUNCTION WITHOUT THESE CLASSES I DON'T UNDERSTAND)

This is such a lovely story and I'm so excited to see what happens! Whether or not Jo starts procreating. ;)

 Report Review

Review #20, by SunshineDaisiesSea of Love: I

3rd December 2015:
Hi Cassie! Happy Hot Seat! Sorry I haven't gotten here sooner!

This was so adorable I think I almost died. You write the cutest fluff in the world, and this in particular made a great start to my morning! I really like how you started out showing Scorpius exhausted and frustrated after a long day of work. Definitely something I can relate to, and it makes Rose's surprise for him even more touching. And that surprise literally almost brought me to tears! I work in a care-giving field, so I can definitely relate to how Scorpius feels, and I can imagine how amazing it would be to get cards from all the people you're taking care of! It's really difficult to work in this field sometimes. It's hard to feel like you're making a difference every day when you aren't necessarily getting that feedback on a regular basis. I work in a nursing home, actually, and it can be so frustrating when you're trying to do what's best for the patient, but it isn't good enough, or it isn't what the family wants etc. I have a lot of people mad at me quite often. I imagine it would feel pretty spectacular to get a bunch of cards from my residents telling me I had made a difference!

Lovely, lovely work, dear!

Author's Response: Hi Katie!
I'm so glad you liked this! I had a lot of fun with it. A lot of the ScoRose I've read on the archives throws some big complication into their relationship (their families don't approve, they hate each other at first, etc.), and those stories are all really great, but I just wanted to write a light story for the two of them.
Scorpius loves his job, and works really hard for his patients, but sometimes it does catch up with him. Rose's surprise was just what he needed. And she had tons of fun planning it! It was all worth it to see him happy.
Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by SunshineDaisiesBeautiful Mess: Beautiful Mess

1st November 2015:
Hello! I'm finally reviewing all the Short and Sweet entries!

This was so cute! I squealed like, the whole time. I absolutely loved how you were able to paint such a sweet little picture of Harry and Ginny's life together. It's a beautiful scene of familial bliss. I feel like that doesn't get shown often enough, as drama tends to be much more popular, so it's very refreshing to see.

The description of this is perfect. I could see every detail just as Ginny could, and I love the details you chose to include! The footprints in the flour were so adorable.


I don't think I can say much more, unfortunately. It gave me feels and now I can't think coherently.

Lovely lovely lovely :)

Author's Response: Katie!

This review made my day. It seriously brought so much joy to my life :) thank for taking the time to read review and host such an amazing challenge. I truly enjoyed writing it!


 Report Review

Review #22, by SunshineDaisiesMy First Date(s): My First Date(s)

1st November 2015:
Ten years later, I am FINALLY here for your requested review! I'm so, so sorry it took me so long to get here. I'm not very good at adulting.

Anyway, this was so lovely! Super enjoyable and very fun to read.

Your characterization was perfect. Katie as someone who is new to the dating scene is so well done. I loved reading about all the struggles that come along when you first start dating people and you're trying to figure out what works and what doesn't. As someone who is also not very experienced in the dating world, I totally related.

Also it was super adorable to read about her thoughts on the girls she was going out with, especially beforehand. It was super cute to see her thoughts about how cute they were.

AND ALICIA. I loved Alicia so much. I AM Alicia, honestly. I am that friend who will sit you down and force you to tell me all about the date you went on and the kissing and then giggle with you about it. It was so great to read about that. :D Everyone should have one of those friends, honestly.

I know you were a little concerned about balance, but I think the longer first section works perfectly. It's necessary to set up the rest of story, and it makes perfect sense for it to be a bit longer than the other sections.

Flow was fabulous. The structure of the story worked so well! I really loved how you had Katie recap the dates to Alicia rather than showing the dates themselves. Of course the story isn't really about the dates, but Katie's perception of them, so it makes perfect sense.

AND THE END. SAM. OH MY GOD. I was so pleased. I had my fingers crossed from at least half way through AND THAT WAS SUCH A SATISFACTORY ENDING. I was so afraid Alicia would be like "uh, no, not a lesiban sorry bye" and I would have just been devastated for Katie but then it worked out AND IT WAS WONDERFUL.

Ugh, this is so fantastic. Then again, ALL of your stuff is fantastic. Thank you so much for requesting it and I'm so sorry it was so late!

 Report Review

Review #23, by SunshineDaisiesIn Moonlight: In Moonlight

1st November 2015:
Okay the review I left on And Then was so not quality I thought I would definitely come leave you another one :)

This was like a punch in the gut man. I'm not a huge fan of Wolfstar, but once in a while I find a really delightful portrayal, and this is definitely one of them. I love the way you wrote their characters, especially Sirius. He was so perfectly snarky and broken and sweet. He had some really excellent one-liners that I quite literally giggled at. I loved seeing him be so vulnerable with Remus, at both points, and it hurts so much to know that they only got to have those few precious moments together.

And Remus was so wonderful. Nervous and cautious and self-martyring. I loved getting to see things from his perspective, and I think it made Sirius's vulnerability even more pronounced, because we're seeing it from the perspective of someone who sees him as this cool, collected person.

It's really excellent characterization.

AND THEN THE END. MY GOD THE END. I knew that was coming but it didn't hurt any less when Sirius was gone and Dumbledore was there telling him James and Lily were dead and I spent all day yesterday NOT thinking about them being killed AND YOU JUST THREW IT IT MY FACE DEE THAT IS VERY RUDE.

Anyway, this was an absolutely fantastic story and I'm very glad I snuck over to read it:)

Author's Response: KATIE♥

I'm not an avid WolfStar shipper either, but I think they're a plausible ship, though not one that would ever have had anything but an angst-filled time of their relationship :p

I'm sorry for throwing the sadness in your face, Katie! Please forgive me :p

I adore you♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by SunshineDaisiesAnd Then: Six Years.

31st October 2015:
Okay so I read this for the first time like three weeks ago and I've been trying to come up with a coherent review ever since. Obviously, that hasn't gone so well.

This is just absolutely haunting. It quite literally has followed me around for weeks. It was honestly a bit difficult for me to read, emotionally. You did an excellent job of writing accurate emotions and it definitely affected me.

This is brilliant and I don't know how you managed it in 500 words but I am so impressed. And I'm sorry I can't leave a better review but it left me speechless!

Author's Response: Katie you are just one of my favourite people ever. This review is seriously so amazing. Thank you so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #25, by SunshineDaisiesEvery Moon Wanes: Thinking Out Loud

10th October 2015:

I am finally here for your requested review. I'm so, so sorry it took me this long. I got a new job and it's been exhausting. Now on to your story!

I really love the structure of this. It was so nice to see Tonks as a baby, I especially loved how close she was with her dad. The parallels between the two relationships were done really well, and I think that choosing to display Andromeda and Ted's relationship through Ted's stories was particularly effective. Rather than seeing the difficulties her parents actually faced, she only heard stories about them, and saw that in the end, everything was happily ever after. I think it gives the story a really interesting perspective. You can see how Tonks is hopelessly optimistic, and her parents obviously think it's a very naive way of thinking. But of course Tonks thinks that way, it's how her father has taught her.

I think you've done a really great job of keeping Tonks's character intact. She is sort of hopelessly optimistic throughout the books, but it's never something that makes her seem foolish. It's written much more as a strength, and it's almost like she wears it as a badge of honor. Even when she looses her metamorphagus powers, she's still able to produce a patronus, and I think that says a lot about who she is as a person, and I think you've done an excellent job of replicating that in your story. I also really love how you incorporated her losing her abilities into the story, and you didn't bring them all back at once. It was a nice addition :)

It's a bit more difficult for me to comment on Remus, simply because we didn't see a ton of him in this story. He definitely seemed in character from what we see in canon, but he didn't seem to jump off the page quite as much as Tonks did. Granted, that could definitely be a difference in personality-- Tonks is a bit more lively than Remus is. I'd like to have seen him a bit more humorous and a bit more in love with Tonks, but I think that's just a personal preference.

I think your description was lovely, you managed to paint the necessary pictures without it being super obvious. I'm not sure that makes sense the way I intend it to, but it works very well for the story.

On a sort of description related note- I really loved Ted's stories. Those were gorgeous :)

I think the flashbacks worked really well, and none of the transitions made the story too choppy. I actually think it flowed really wonderfully! Aaaand consistency is perfect.

I don't really think I have anything to add in the way of CC. I saw like, one typo but I don't even remember where it was.

Overall, really lovely story! :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>